Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Not sure if the international break is coming at a good or bad time for the team.

Might be a couple of weeks to reset and try to come back with some more intent, they are so passive lately it is becoming a worry.

OakLeaf

There's zero steel in the midfield. Maybe Baleba will help with that, but the work rate needs to improve massively. Teams can have an off day but what's happening now seems systemic. A lot of that is down to the manager. Maybe he's tired of the toxic boardroom.

AustinPowers

Didn't see any highlights yet but  pundits giving out about United's poor  energy and  basically being lazy hoors

Contrast that to Brighton  who worked their nuts  off v Arsenal. Never gave them a second on  the ball.  And should have won 5 or 6 nil

Are United players incapable of  chasing down, putting opponents under pressure? Surely you don't need a manager telling you  to  do that?

I don't think Carrick was ever the answer but  the least anyone would expect  from any player is a bit of   energy and fight

Armagh4sam2024

Every playershould be afraid of losing their place. None are, that's half the problem. The other half is that Carrick won't boot them up the hole when they deserve it.

befair

Don't think Utd have been that bad; Fulham keeper was v effective. Mid-table most-likely. Made same with mistake as with Ole; a few good early results and a permanent appt. Manager has to be the biggest dog in the yard.

Quote from: gallsman on September 20, 2026, 06:45:04 PMWhat time can we expect your "anyone who thinks United have started the season atrociously and they look dreadful is massively overreacting" piece tomorrow, Seanie?

Sorry I'm late Gallsman. Nice to be appreciated.

I think it is undeniable that there are overreactions to United's performances. Gary Neville for example - suggesting it was the worst 15-20 minutes he had ever seen from United - is so beyond pathetic it's untrue. He started out quite well as a commentator but he's sank to Micah Richards level now.

It's not great but I do think they have been unfortunate. Blatant penalty (and red card) Tarkowski v Everton and the incorrect goal for City. Should have a few more points. Baleba fit and hopefully Amad back will help. It's too samey. Sesko has become massively important but it seems he is very injury prone. Just haven't managed a few scruffy wins like others.

Regarding management - Carrick earned the job with good results last season. Pulling the rug after 5 games would be ridiculous. Any realistic United supporter knew 5th was a super end result this season. Yes - need to stick a few wins together soon but it is quite early yet.

The club is a toxic mess due to the ownership. Blaming the manager is letting the scumbags who own the club off the hook. Supporters should get after them rather than the team and management. United's fanbase (online) is septic and adds to the problems. Until the owners are gone it is difficult to see huge improvment I'm afraid.

gawa316

I always wondered why there hasn't/isn't a more concerted effort to try and force the Glaziers out...and not just your Norwich scarfs...I know it was RBS and the legal stuff ultimately got rid of Hicks and Gillette from Liverpool but the fans absolutely did their part. Not sure what utd fans are doing, maybe stuff behind the scenes but it obviously isn't working

Players don't look fit at all, Rashford is a disaster who shouldn't be allowed near the place, Cunha who was very good last year is lost playing out of position to accommodate that tosser. Would sooner put Mbuemo through the middle and give Lacey a chance on the right.

Baleba, De Ligt and Amad will all be upgrades if and when they're fit.

I don't buy into the fitness thing at all. I haven't seen any evidence of lack of running. And while I understand dislike for Rashford due to his past issues the stats show he has been more than decent.

Bottom line is United have been poor in opponents box and that's why they are lower in the table than they should be, along with some dreadful decisions). They lead the league in shots and touches in opponents box (and I think Rashford has the most in the entire league).

Quote from: magpie seanie on Today at 10:05:40 AMI don't buy into the fitness thing at all. I haven't seen any evidence of lack of running. And while I understand dislike for Rashford due to his past issues the stats show he has been more than decent.

Bottom line is United have been poor in opponents box and that's why they are lower in the table than they should be, along with some dreadful decisions). They lead the league in shots and touches in opponents box (and I think Rashford has the most in the entire league).
If you want to go down the stats route they're near bottom of the league for sprints, total distance, high speed running etc, but I don't need stats to tell me when players are arsing about like they don't care. Same old story with Rashford, can't finish his fecking dinner

Look-Up!

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/man-utd-financials-results-fiscal-37692887

Latest financials tells a tale of slightly increased revenue, drop in wage bill, big increase in operating profit but overall an increase in net loss plus increase on debt.

Maybe CL revenue might help them this year but can't see them investing too heavily in the squad going forward unless they start plummeting down the table. Stricter wage caps too apparently of 200k base but that will increase with add-ons for performance bonuses and CL appearances. But they're getting away from the massive contracts with Rashford and Fernandes just the legacy ones remaining.

So hands look tied for now. That debt figure really is mind boggling. INEOS have it all do do although the likes of Neville don't seem as vocal on the ownership any more and seem to be focusing more on manager. Or maybe I'm imagining that or just reading less of his shite.

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 11:10:43 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on Today at 10:05:40 AMI don't buy into the fitness thing at all. I haven't seen any evidence of lack of running. And while I understand dislike for Rashford due to his past issues the stats show he has been more than decent.

If you want to go down the stats route they're near bottom of the league for sprints, total distance, high speed running etc, but I don't need stats to tell me when players are arsing about like they don't care. Same old story with Rashford, can't finish his fecking dinner

Liverpool and Man City have "run less" than United so cling on to those running stats if you like but I do not believe they tell you what you are interpreting.

United have the most shots, most touches in opponents box and have hit the woodwork the most in the league. That's fairly impressive if they are just walking around wouldn't you think? Rashford has the (edit - 2nd most) most touches in opponents box and has also created the most chances from play in the league (despite playing less minutes than the other top chance creators). As I said earlier - I get the residual dislike of Rashford but it is laughable to suggest he hasn't been playing well.

Quote from: Look-Up! on Today at 01:23:40 PMhttps://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/man-utd-financials-results-fiscal-37692887

Latest financials tells a tale of slightly increased revenue, drop in wage bill, big increase in operating profit but overall an increase in net loss plus increase on debt.

Maybe CL revenue might help them this year but can't see them investing too heavily in the squad going forward unless they start plummeting down the table. Stricter wage caps too apparently of 200k base but that will increase with add-ons for performance bonuses and CL appearances. But they're getting away from the massive contracts with Rashford and Fernandes just the legacy ones remaining.

So hands look tied for now. That debt figure really is mind boggling. INEOS have it all do do although the likes of Neville don't seem as vocal on the ownership any more and seem to be focusing more on manager. Or maybe I'm imagining that or just reading less of his shite.
Hasn't Neville some role to do with the new stadium? Mightn't want to speak out against his paymasters.

Quote from: magpie seanie on Today at 02:05:45 PM

Liverpool and Man City have "run less" than United so cling on to those running stats if you like but I do not believe they tell you what you are interpresting.

United have the most shots, most touches in opponents box and have hit the woodwork the most in the league. That's fairly impressive if they are just walking around wouldn't you think? Rashford has the most touches in opponents box and has also created the most chances from play in the league (despite playing less minutes than the other top chance creators). As I said earlier - I get the residual dislike of Rashford but it is laughable to suggest he hasn't been playing well.
0 goals, 0 assists, minimal effort from him and has us playing a far better player in Cunha in a role he's not suited to.

Not to mention the toxicity a p***k like with his massive contract is bound to bring to what seemed a happy and hard working side since Carrick came in.

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 02:09:12 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on Today at 02:05:45 PM

Liverpool and Man City have "run less" than United so cling on to those running stats if you like but I do not believe they tell you what you are interpresting.

United have the most shots, most touches in opponents box and have hit the woodwork the most in the league. That's fairly impressive if they are just walking around wouldn't you think? Rashford has the most touches in opponents box and has also created the most chances from play in the league (despite playing less minutes than the other top chance creators). As I said earlier - I get the residual dislike of Rashford but it is laughable to suggest he hasn't been playing well.
0 goals, 0 assists, minimal effort from him and has us playing a far better player in Cunha in a role he's not suited to.

Not to mention the toxicity a p***k like with his massive contract is bound to bring to what seemed a happy and hard working side since Carrick came in.

If you think Rashford is putting in minimum effort you are simply not watching the games or allowing your anger with him to cloud your judgement.

Rashford has 6 seasons with United where he scored more goals than Cunha did last season for United. There's absolutely no evidence to support the notion that Cunha is a "far better player" than Rashford.