Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

MalluskMan

'Antrim' you're some craic!! Firing out nonsense left right and centre hoping there's some fact in your statements somewhere. Endas are not my team, have t got an allegiance in Antrim hurling, merely an interested follower, with a smidge of intel!!
Does Tosh take Glenariffe?? Does ray Matthew's side with anyone but himself?? Did St John's really throw the dummy out, for it looked like handbags between both initially until Loughgiel waterboy thought he was Hercules. Crowd trouble, takes two to tango, but one thing is right, there's an incident every year surrounding Loughgiel and never a thing done about it. County board has no balls, for St John's, Loughgiel, Dunloy Cushendall all have them squeezed that tight, any sniff of a sanction, there would be boycotts all over the shop.

But still, st Endas and Dunloy for the double tomorrow.

Not knowing what had happened, I'd have picked out one club for certain who'd be involved in the ugly stuff.

Usual behaviour at all age groups.

Antrim

Quote from: marty34 on September 13, 2026, 08:16:37 AMNot knowing what had happened, I'd have picked out one club for certain who'd be involved in the ugly stuff.

I agree with this 100%. St John's are a disgrace.

Antrim

Quote from: MalluskMan on September 13, 2026, 01:01:21 AM'Antrim' you're some craic!! Firing out nonsense left right and centre hoping there's some fact in your statements somewhere. Endas are not my team, have t got an allegiance in Antrim hurling, merely an interested follower, with a smidge of intel!!
Does Tosh take Glenariffe?? Does ray Matthew's side with anyone but himself?? Did St John's really throw the dummy out, for it looked like handbags between both initially until Loughgiel waterboy thought he was Hercules. Crowd trouble, takes two to tango, but one thing is right, there's an incident every year surrounding Loughgiel and never a thing done about it. County board has no balls, for St John's, Loughgiel, Dunloy Cushendall all have them squeezed that tight, any sniff of a sanction, there would be boycotts all over the shop.

But still, st Endas and Dunloy for the double tomorrow.

Made an assumption based on Enda's being the closest club to Mallusk, Malluskman plus your last 10 posts youve mentioned Enda's quite a bit in a championship where they dont matter. But if you're saying that's not your club then thats fair enough.

So I did happen to in Loughiel yesterday and St John's supporters ere a disgrace. I was at the other side from the row. Where I was there was a load of older men screaming everything at our resident referee and then fighting with every counter call from Shamrocks people. Loughiel ones didnt cover themselves in glory but I can tell you now as someone who was there that they were a disgrace on the sidelines.  Their players were filthy. High blocks, leaving tackles in after ball played, trailing helmets off. Why would they do that? Because the game wasnt going their way. They were exposed by the better team.

The triumphalism from the Shanrocks wasnt great either. Real hostile bitter atmosphere yesterday but dont take that as me saying it was Loughiel who created it. That said all of those North Belfast big club venues can be horrible. Its all they have. Not a moviehouse cinema or a let's go hydro in sight.

Anyway, glad I was correct in my prediction. Who did you say would win that one Mallusk?

Admittedly I got the Rossa one wrong in a tight game. Fair play to the town. Played for pride and nice shoots of green seeming to appear with the younger lads.

Hopefully both predictions tofay go the way I thought for 3/4.

Ps I didnt say that Tosh was on their line. He does a lot of screaming from the sidelines. Ffs hes like a banshee. Good commentator but a pain in the hole from the sideline.

Malluskman, your boys might come close but I think Glenariffe will bring the Steele today.

Torcrua

Got my money's worth in Loughgiel yesterday... albeit after the final whistle with the handbags and the discovery of a wee chippy next to the pitch...

I always like to position myself between the two dugouts at any game ringside yesterday!

Loughgiel are a fantastic club with a hurling tradition to envy. Unfortunately, there has always been an undercurrent with a number of their supporters, and yesterday I heard and witnessed it in full force. Year after year, they continue to let their club down. This is what happens when people go unpunished for incidents like this.

The waterboy started the melee by putting his hands on a player, so he deserves all he got.

The Johnnies are no angels either, but as has been said, there seems to be a recurring theme with Loughgiel that runs across different teams and mentors in the club  a winatall costs mentality where any player, official or supporter who gets in the way is fair game in their eyes.

It's time for Antrim County Board to grow a set and put an end to this nonsense.

Regardless of who started it, when you hear of disorder at a hurling match in Antrim it's an inevitability that Loughgiel are involved.

Antrim

Just received more videos of the crowd incident.

Idiots all around but one absolute coward threw a bottle at the St John's supporter in green and it seems to kicked off after that. As I said I was on the other side and it was toxic.

Another video followed showing a Shamrocks supporter calling people "scum b@stards".

Depressing scenes. Something the GAA is going to have to deal with. Throw both clubs out of the championship and let them cry about it. Disgraceful.

Everything I said was a bit of tongue in cheek helped by a few pints and the hangover this morning but that is deeply depressing stuff.

Quote from: Antrim on September 13, 2026, 08:23:15 AM
Quote from: marty34 on September 13, 2026, 08:16:37 AMNot knowing what had happened, I'd have picked out one club for certain who'd be involved in the ugly stuff.

I agree with this 100%. St John's are a disgrace.

Not St. John's.

Cannon Fodder

Unless you were actually there you would be best not to speculate too much.

Firstly whatever happened on the pitch should have stayed on the pitch, the actual game didn't have a dirty stroke during it so unsure why it blew up at the final whistle.

But a certain St John's footballer who hails from Co Louth has a lot to answer re what started in the terrace - fact.

paddyjohn

Big couple of weeks ahead for the county board. Sanctions needed for both clubs and hopefully a permanent ban for a certain county "footballer" after his actions were read out in court last week.

Sherman1915

Quote from: Antrim on September 13, 2026, 11:57:51 AMJust received more videos of the crowd incident.

Idiots all around but one absolute coward threw a bottle at the St John's supporter in green and it seems to kicked off after that. As I said I was on the other side and it was toxic.

Another video followed showing a Shamrocks supporter calling people "scum b@stards".

Depressing scenes. Something the GAA is going to have to deal with. Throw both clubs out of the championship and let them cry about it. Disgraceful.

Everything I said was a bit of tongue in cheek helped by a few pints and the hangover this morning but that is deeply depressing stuff.

It was a St John's supporter threw the bottle at a Loughgiel supporter, fella in the green hoodie that was hit with the bottle is a former underage hurler for Loughgiel. Maybe don't fire out so many accusations

Antrim

Quote from: Sherman1915 on September 13, 2026, 01:12:51 PM
Quote from: Antrim on September 13, 2026, 11:57:51 AMJust received more videos of the crowd incident.

It was a St John's supporter threw the bottle at a Loughgiel supporter, fella in the green hoodie that was hit with the bottle is a former underage hurler for Loughgiel. Maybe don't fire out so many accusations

I actually meant to write Loughiel instead of St John's when I was talking about the man in green hoodie. So mea culpa.

As I wrote before the St John's support were a disgrace from where I was. They were really aggressive and nasty from the get go. One man in particular in his late 40s early 50s was itching for a fight. Think he might be the father to a few of the footballers in their club if memory serves me right.

Both clubs need heavily sanctioned. This will make news across the country.

takeyourpoint

Why a permanent ban Paddy John?

paddyjohn

Quote from: takeyourpoint on September 13, 2026, 02:25:09 PMWhy a permanent ban Paddy John?

Surely our county board has an obligation to ensure our county players conduct themselves in a way that is acceptable. Driving off and leaving a young mother to die and then lying about it isn't really acceptable. 

Showed no remorse and was then made county poster boy.

Disgusting and disgraceful from our county board.

takeyourpoint

Of course none of that is true but crack away.