?

?
16 (50%)
?
16 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 32

p3427977

Quote from: jb77 on July 30, 2026, 07:38:08 PMhttps://derrygaa.tv/ Can't mind what it was year but £55 for anyone buying it now
Anyway to watch it on a TV without hooking up a laptop?

jb77

I can't get into last years game to test that unfortunately

Fr. Cyril McDuff

Quote from: p3427977 on July 30, 2026, 07:51:17 PM
Quote from: jb77 on July 30, 2026, 07:38:08 PMhttps://derrygaa.tv/ Can't mind what it was year but £55 for anyone buying it now
Anyway to watch it on a TV without hooking up a laptop?

90% sure you can stream to a smart tv from a phone/tablet. Can definitively log in via the browser on a fire stick - it's fiddly though.

Topmarks

Could anyone really argue that we are any better than 14th in Ireland?

https://x.com/i/status/2083176275108139161

The only thing I would say is this lad has Meath 13th and they were hammering Mayo for a good while in that game, so there isn't a pile in it across most division 1 and 2 teams.

Quote from: Topmarks on July 31, 2026, 05:35:26 PMCould anyone really argue that we are any better than 14th in Ireland?

The only thing I would say is this lad has Meath 13th and they were hammering Mayo for a good while in that game, so there isn't a pile in it across most division 1 and 2 teams.

Plus they, Meath, gave Derry a beating in Celtic Park.

Derry never looked to be in the game in the second half.

Topmarks

Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2026, 05:43:48 PM
Quote from: Topmarks on July 31, 2026, 05:35:26 PMCould anyone really argue that we are any better than 14th in Ireland?

Plus they, Meath, gave Derry a beating in Celtic Park.

Derry never looked to be in the game in the second half.

I rate that Meath team tbh, they dominated us in Celtic park. Be interesting how they go in the next year or 2. I think they may get close.

Ryan O

Went to Newbridge Kilrea game there thought it might be pre championship warm up with two teams who meet again in 4 weeks.

Turns out it was two half teams. Newbridge flying first half actually looked like Kilrea wouldn't score. Turned into a game in 2nd half with only 1 in it at a stage. All out just go for it stuff from Kilrea.

As a neutral attending this game its great to have hopefully unbiased opinion. Not a dirty tackle, few hard enough hits. No verbals between players.

The game ended with I reckon 6 yellow cards, a black card, a red after the final whistle. I think the ball was moved to 13 yard frees about 4 maybe 5 times.

When are Derry GAA going to step up with the standard of refs we are using, do we learn nothing from watching the like of Sean Hurson and Paul Faloon. Not a massive fan of Martin Mc Nally but he was superb on Sunday, mainly because he was invisible. The game is so fast players will get on with it any niggling will quickly fizzle out.

There was only one show in Newbridge this evening and unfortunately for double championship winners Newbridge and Kilreas 22man squad, he was wearing blue.

Stickman

Quote from: Ryan O on July 31, 2026, 10:12:11 PMWent to Newbridge Kilrea game there thought it might be pre championship warm up with two teams who meet again in 4 weeks.

Turns out it was two half teams. Newbridge flying first half actually looked like Kilrea wouldn't score. Turned into a game in 2nd half with only 1 in it at a stage. All out just go for it stuff from Kilrea.

As a neutral attending this game its great to have hopefully unbiased opinion. Not a dirty tackle, few hard enough hits. No verbals between players.

The game ended with I reckon 6 yellow cards, a black card, a red after the final whistle. I think the ball was moved to 13 yard frees about 4 maybe 5 times.

When are Derry GAA going to step up with the standard of refs we are using, do we learn nothing from watching the like of Sean Hurson and Paul Faloon. Not a massive fan of Martin Mc Nally but he was superb on Sunday, mainly because he was invisible. The game is so fast players will get on with it any niggling will quickly fizzle out.

There was only one show in Newbridge this evening and unfortunately for double championship winners Newbridge and Kilreas 22man squad, he was wearing blue.

I heard from a ref that things are a bit of shambles in terms of referees being giving little to no notice of matches and that they couldn't get enough referees together for a pre-championship meeting.

In fairness when you see some of the referees who have been about for numerous years consistently being given the big game appointments you have to ask why aren't the younger refs getting more games.

Develop them, let them make mistakes and learn from them. How else do they improve?

I also appreciate some of them are under immense pressure in terms of work then refereeing 3 or 4 times per week.

When do they do recovery sessions? Video analysis sessions etc? If our clubs and counties are becoming more professional then surely our referees need to become more professional too.

I have the utmost respect for them as without our refs then we have no games and they could probably be doing something else with their families during the hours they are refereeing so this is by no means a swipe at them.

You also have to wonder how many of them are just in it for the money!

Ryan O

I agree its a completely thankless job and always remember that when they are refereeing games theres a fair chance their club is playing somewhere else so they miss that also.

There are numerous young refs in Derry and having took underage teams find them very approachable lads, but the old guard you are hinting of is just streaming with arrogance at times. Players are going to be frustrated with decisions and feeling show, verbal abuse it obviously not the be tolerated but verbal disappointment isn't banned yet.

When the new rules were introduced I do think it made massive difference in respecting refs, but I do think respect is a two way street.
Shouting, dictating and gesturing to players about fouls or making them stand for a scolding and a yellow card is schoolyard stuff, and won't help.

Quote from: Stickman on July 31, 2026, 10:29:15 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on July 31, 2026, 10:12:11 PMWent to Newbridge Kilrea game there thought it might be pre championship warm up with two teams who meet again in 4 weeks.

I heard from a ref that things are a bit of shambles in terms of referees being giving little to no notice of matches and that they couldn't get enough referees together for a pre-championship meeting.

In fairness when you see some of the referees who have been about for numerous years consistently being given the big game appointments you have to ask why aren't the younger refs getting more games.

Develop them, let them make mistakes and learn from them. How else do they improve?

I also appreciate some of them are under immense pressure in terms of work then refereeing 3 or 4 times per week.

When do they do recovery sessions? Video analysis sessions etc? If our clubs and counties are becoming more professional then surely our referees need to become more professional too.

I have the utmost respect for them as without our refs then we have no games and they could probably be doing something else with their families during the hours they are refereeing so this is by no means a swipe at them.

Fair points Stickman.

Is there a full time admin in charge of referees? That'd be needed to get things up and running.

Doing a recruitment drive etc. I know Dublin GAA recruit young (teenage) referees for GO Games. I think they do it through their TY year and they do all the modules on it.

In Ulster GAA, I think the coaches on their Level 1 & 2 courses, there should be a module on refereeing. Maybe there is?

But in a lot of counties,refereeing is in dire straits.

Ryan O

Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2026, 10:44:04 PM
Quote from: Stickman on July 31, 2026, 10:29:15 PM

Fair points Stickman.

Is there a full time admin in charge of referees? That'd be needed to get things up and running.

Doing a recruitment drive etc. I know Dublin GAA recruit young (teenage) referees for GO Games. I think they do it through their TY year and they do all the modules on it.

In Ulster GAA, I think the coaches on their Level 1 & 2 courses, there should be a module on refereeing. Maybe there is?

But in a lot of counties,refereeing is in dire straits.
Can we not pay them more? Even double there money so they can take someone with them and throw them a few pounds.
We all know how important they are but we need to start getting the right young people in as you say.

Brendan

The new rules will eventually pay off in the long run as refs are defnitly getting an easier time of it compared to before, players and management teams can't afford to be abusive, 50m advances and 20m frees if management cross the line. Haven't seen it used yet but the 2nd half can be started with a 20m free if the ref gets abuse during the interval. The game is so fast flowing now with the solo and go there isn't time to be giving off. However as has been said there are still an old guard and some of the younger ones who are so arrogant and unapproachable but they are in the minority as the majority of the time I go to a match as a neutral I can see the ref has actually had a solid unbiased performance

Stickman

Just a thought on how to improve our referees. Our clubs have senior, reserve and underage players.

Why can't we do this with referees and collate a panel of our referees for various ages groups.

X amount equals Division 1 and 2 matches
X amount equals Division 3 and reserve matches

All referees are available for underage games.

The referees for Division 3 and reserve matches then do the matches at A grade underage level.

Thus allows a fair oppurtunity/ challenge to all referees.

I also believe all referees should be assessed at multiple times throughout the season, with the top performers being rewarded for the top matches come championship time, even if assessment has to come from outside of our own county.

Disciplinary procedures within the GAA needs a reform. If a player/mentor appeals a decision and it goes before a hearings panel then the referee should also be made appear to give their side of the view.

Disciplinary sanctions should also be published on the county website. If a red card or report is overturned a referee should also be given the reason as to why as it will help him/her develop as a referee as something has gone wrong.

If we have select a panel of referees for Division 1+2 and they aren't performing etc then they get demoted and the top performer in the next category takes their place.

I also believe that the pay structure for referees should be tiered. From my understanding referees get £40 per game regardless of grade. I believe this should be a starting point. All underage games £40, reserve and Division 3 games £50 and senior games £60.

This will allow a referee the chance to develop and push on to represent our clubs and county across the island.

It may also encourage others to take up the whistle and will soon weed out those who are only there for the craic or because "our club needs a ref"

Derry club fball players are indisplined in general, been at 17 games in the league and certain club players spend they time arguing obvious frees with the ref. Somebody talked about 50m frees for management abusing refs. If they enforced it, there be a fair few brought up. There seems to be up to 5 management members in each team all crying at the ref steady, even the obvious fouls are contested. You wouldnt know who the manager is. The best one is giving out about 3 man breaches when an attack is on. U think the ref had eyes in the bck of his head. Then u get the general supporters, some of which never kicked a ball, giving the ref large. People should give it a go, you see what the problems are.

U think £60 a incentive for the abuse they get lol. I wouldnt do that crap for £100. Whats the managers getting roughly a week. Why dont both teams paid the GAA ref fee at a decent rate.i still wouldnt. do it.