Retirements

Started by Maroon Manc, July 09, 2018, 01:50:38 PM

Happy County retirement Davy.
You were a great battler!
2026 the year of the 9 Cups

moonster

Quote from: Rossfan on March 10, 2026, 02:39:06 PMHappy County retirement Davy.
You were a great battler!

One of the greats though he never get the better of Ben Brosnan

2026 the year of the 9 Cups

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2026, 01:05:37 PMCiarán Kilkenny.

That's sad. The last connection to the 2011-2013 Dublin Team, which I have always seen as distinct from the Five in a Row team.

Fair play to him playing for the Boys In Blue in fair and foul weather. We were lucky to get him back from Australia.

However, a well earned retirement.

Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 13, 2026, 01:07:13 PM

That's sad. The last connection to the 2011-2013 Dublin Team, which I have always seen as distinct from the Five in a Row team.

Fair play to him playing for the Boys In Blue in fair and foul weather. We were lucky to get him back from Australia.

Ah thats a pity, thought there was another go in him yet. What a player! Had a brilliant year for Dublin when everyone wrote him off as finished.

Was Davy Byrne not on the 2013 team?

DaleCooper

Proper legend, he was great this year as well. Cant mind which game but he was diving in on dirty ball and going at it with the same intensity as a rookie trying to prove himself. So easy for him to duck out with the rattling of medals in the pocket. Dubs will sorely miss him.

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 13, 2026, 01:10:17 PM

Ah thats a pity, thought there was another go in him yet. What a player! Had a brilliant year for Dublin when everyone wrote him off as finished.

He might well have been. I don't recall him playing that year. Kevin O'Brien was on the right that year (apart from the final). But I think you might be right!

Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 13, 2026, 01:25:16 PM

He might well have been. I don't recall him playing that year. Kevin O'Brien was on the right that year (apart from the final). But I think you might be right!
Thought it was said on commentary that he had 8 medals so 2013, 6 in a row then 2023. Maybe he was on the squad in '13 just.

What age are Dublins other "older" lads? Would imagine the rest will stay on bar maybe Scully? Kilkenny will be a huge loss from a leadership perspective.

Was on extended panel in 2013 but didn't make any match day squad.

JollyGreenGiant

Byrne, Scully and Costello were all members of the 2012 AI Minor winning Team. So they are all 32 (or so). Basquel Murchan and Con are 30. Howard is 28. I think Comerford is 27.

Essentially there is a group of players who will hopefully stick around for another year to guide the transition. But they are all getting on in years.
Most of them have at least a decade behind them.

Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 13, 2026, 01:50:47 PMByrne, Scully and Costello were all members of the 2012 AI Minor winning Team. So they are all 32 (or so). Basquel Murchan and Con are 30. Howard is 28. I think Comerford is 27.

Essentially there is a group of players who will hopefully stick around for another year to guide the transition. But they are all getting on in years.
Don't know why I thought Howard was 32 or 33. Plenty more in all of the above if they want to stick at it.

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 13, 2026, 01:53:32 PM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 13, 2026, 01:50:47 PMByrne, Scully and Costello were all members of the 2012 AI Minor winning Team. So they are all 32 (or so). Basquel Murchan and Con are 30. Howard is 28. I think Comerford is 27.

Don't know why I thought Howard was 33 or 33. Plenty more in all of the above if they want to stick at it.

I'd hope so. I think the last three games will galvanise the players a bit. If the season had finished after Westmeath and Louth, I think we would have seen a plethora of retirements.

Gael85

Byrne and Costello were on extended panel in 2013

Gael85

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 13, 2026, 01:53:32 PM

Don't know why I thought Howard was 32 or 33. Plenty more in all of the above if they want to stick at it.

Howard was Dublin minor in 2015

fullback2023

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 13, 2026, 01:38:21 PM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 13, 2026, 01:25:16 PM

Thought it was said on commentary that he had 8 medals so 2013, 6 in a row then 2023. Maybe he was on the squad in '13 just.

What age are Dublins other "older" lads? Would imagine the rest will stay on bar maybe Scully? Kilkenny will be a huge loss from a leadership perspective.
Think Dublin claim medals for anyone who was on the panel that year so must have been on the panel in 2013 for them to  say he has 8, debut wasn't until 2015. Missed all of 2018 injured as well so should really have 6.