Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Na Glinntí Glasa

You're clutching at straws here to find something that isn't there.

Even when presented with the facts you're still trying to find something that you want to be wrong.

How can the NA secretary, whoever is in that role, make grading work in their favour?

Do you want it changed to 15 players so that Loughgiel wont have as many players competing in the lower cups? All their players are registered on foireann, all of their team sheets are uploaded to the site and are checked.

There isnt some great conspiracy happening here.

Ill find that out for you about the grading lists being shared to all clubs to see if you are correct about this.

Just need the SW to implode on each other now  ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Tbf the Feis weekend has needed a revamp for a good few years now.

Difficulty is fitting it in the calendar and making all the different competitions in the lead up to it fit in with the rest of everything that is going on.

People complained last year that is was over the holiday period and when they have brought it forward people are still complaining.

theboss11

Players needed to be cup tied per competition otherwise it makes a mockery of it.

Junior Feis dies otherwise and it becomes a reserve reserve cup contested by those with huge squads that can pick whoever they fancy for easy silverware.

Quote from: theboss11 on July 07, 2026, 01:58:29 PMPlayers needed to be cup tied per competition otherwise it makes a mockery of it.

Junior Feis dies otherwise and it becomes a reserve reserve cup contested by those with huge squads that can pick whoever they fancy for easy silverware.

It is a bad look to be fair, but the clubs themselves should have enough cop on that one player doesn't end up playing across 3 grades.

podge

Quote from: NAG1 on July 07, 2026, 02:08:47 PM
Quote from: theboss11 on July 07, 2026, 01:58:29 PMPlayers needed to be cup tied per competition otherwise it makes a mockery of it.

It is a bad look to be fair, but the clubs themselves should have enough cop on that one player doesn't end up playing across 3 grades.

A bit of common sense from the clubs would certainly help things. 

Something clearly needs to change to avoid a repeat of scenarios like this year where seemingly at least 2 lgiel players played all 3 levels of comp.

If Lgiel had 12 subs on Sat evenings junior feis and continued to play 2 lads that they must have known would be starting senior feis the next day then they need a bit of self reflection- they broke no rules of course.

I certainly would be in favour of grading more for the 'championship' style comps than for the junior league in addition to people being cup tied - if they play at a higher grade comp in that year , they can't play at the lower grade. 

Quote from: podge on July 07, 2026, 04:51:56 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 07, 2026, 02:08:47 PM

A bit of common sense from the clubs would certainly help things. 

Something clearly needs to change to avoid a repeat of scenarios like this year where seemingly at least 2 lgiel players played all 3 levels of comp.

If Lgiel had 12 subs on Sat evenings junior feis and continued to play 2 lads that they must have known would be starting senior feis the next day then they need a bit of self reflection- they broke no rules of course.

I certainly would be in favour of grading more for the 'championship' style comps than for the junior league in addition to people being cup tied - if they play at a higher grade comp in that year , they can't play at the lower grade. 

Now that's a joke.

LG developing players - doesn't say much for the managers.

Never mind the 'fairness' issue but what about player burnout.

Silly stuff from LG. It's something you'd see at a underage tournament, where a club, with 2 teams, gets knocked out and they move a few of the players up to the other team. All the while a heap of other lads sit on the bench.

MalluskMan

I think na glinnti glasna, you protest too much!!! You attend the NA meetings, but claim not to know who the secretary is!!!
And you certainly know a lot of the ins and outs of all things north Antrim. Double jobbing going on here, nearly as incognito as milltown row and mr2!!!

As someone else said, feis is dying on its feet. Revamp, maybe, but how?? Maybe look at the dates of everything else going on, it's no secret!!

And in regards grading lists, they're definitely sent out at all county level, all there for all to see. Every team. And 15 players do have to be graded at north Antrim level for teams who want a team in junior league participation. Or maybe that's for a select few.

Jonkunlon

4 players played in (started) all three finals, across 3 different grades/levels: Junior Feis, Countess of Antrim (intermediate) and Senior Feis.

The players are: Shane O'Boyle, Ashdon McGarry, Eddie Smyth and Conan Johnston.

If I can figure this out with ten minutes of research then it makes a complete mockery of the North Antrim Committee. Either they are incompetent or they're turning a blind eye.

Jesus...

Give it a rest lol
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

SaffronSports

How many of those lads will start for Loughgiel in the championship? I know of a few of them and theyre extremely talented young lads but pretty sure when grading was done they probably weren't thought of as players they should be grading.

Maybe showing well in training etc and the senior management wanted a look at them in this and the 2nd or 3rd string management are relying on them week in, week out so didnt want to drop them.

I've seen a few of them in Mageean Cup matches so if the lads are that young and pushing for a place in one of the strongest clubs in the county then fair play to them.

Saffron71

What is the relegation situation across the leagues? I thought it was just one up, one down.  However on the saffron Gael report for the St Endas/Ballygalget game it says about Ballygalget having to play a play off with 2nd in Division 2 (Carryduff). 

Quote from: Saffron71 on July 09, 2026, 08:19:46 AMWhat is the relegation situation across the leagues? I thought it was just one up, one down.  However on the saffron Gael report for the St Endas/Ballygalget game it says about Ballygalget having to play a play off with 2nd in Division 2 (Carryduff). 

It changes from year to year in Antrim.

I think once whoever was top of Div2 didn't want promoted, I have Creggan in mind but not sure.

Delgany 2nds

It is one up & one down only.Ballycran won Div 2.

Quote from: johnnycool on July 09, 2026, 10:34:20 AM
Quote from: Saffron71 on July 09, 2026, 08:19:46 AMWhat is the relegation situation across the leagues? I thought it was just one up, one down.  However on the saffron Gael report for the St Endas/Ballygalget game it says about Ballygalget having to play a play off with 2nd in Division 2 (Carryduff). 

It changes from year to year in Antrim.

I think once whoever was top of Div2 didn't want promoted, I have Creggan in mind but not sure.

The secretary of the club just sent me through the Antrim playing regulations for 2026 and section 3.15 states that only the bottom team are relegated from each division with a caveat that if the top team in the division below not wanting to be promoted the bottom team shall remain in their current league.

I see Carryduff haven't played all 13 games in Div2 and are due to play Loughgiel seconds soon, so if their last game is refixed, they could leapfrog Ballycran!

Does (P) mean it's postponed? Will that be replayed? It's against Shane Uí Néill's who have two games with (P) beside them.

But, I believe Ballycran were presented with the Div2 trophy already!

I've confused myself!