Ulster Championship 2026

Started by tonto1888, March 25, 2026, 09:26:37 AM

Quote from: thewobbler on April 29, 2026, 08:35:13 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on April 28, 2026, 12:08:42 PMThe condensed season would have a lot to answer for.  A 1 week turnaround between matches is going to hammer teams in terms of injuries.  The game has got faster, the turnaround less, which is mad from a player welfare perspective. 

We are actually having conversations about whether it is worthwhile progressing into a league final/provincial final at the risk of hampering preparations for the AI series. 

Personally, I think Armagh will be aiming for an Ulster title, it has been too long for them, giving they are performing quite well in recent times. 
The big question this weekend is whether Down can match that intensity they brought the other day. 

Ethan I'd suggest this is mostly a perspective issue than a real issue.

Because e.g. Down have known for months who their first round opponent would be, they've had months to prepare for it. They know only have 7 days for Armagh.

Here's the thing though, 7 days is plenty. It just looks a little warped by the preparation time available for the openers.

Personally, I believe the less time managers have to overtrain and prepare themselves to serve up doses of shite, the better it is for our sport. 
Far from me to praise Down but they were super to watch the other day, brought a game plan and executed it brilliantly. Doubtful they get near Donegal without that level of preparation. Will be interesting to see what they do this weekend.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 28, 2026, 04:57:56 PMWell to be honest there was a derry cub(early 20's) behind me stone drunk mouthing curse words the whole game Ulster final 2023, had tell him to be quite, making a bollix out of himself But that support in the centre of the hill that day, i presume from Lurgan direction, from accents, simply awful.  All hammered, not sure they know half the players

I'd love to test a few to see if they could tell the difference in accents between Lurgan, Craigavon, Portadown, Maghery, Ballyhegan, Armagh etc.

All counties have this element and it is pot luck when you pick your spot on that hill in Clones as to what kind of day you are about to have. Over the past number of years we have had big games there v the likes of Donegal, Tyrone, Derry, Down and Tyrone.  Every one of those counties, including my own, have brought an element that would have little interest in what is going on on the grass, pissed up and hurling slurs. Clones is the worst for it IMO.  With other venues it isnt as bad for some reason.

Quote from: lurganblue on April 29, 2026, 08:48:19 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 28, 2026, 04:57:56 PMWell to be honest there was a derry cub(early 20's) behind me stone drunk mouthing curse words the whole game Ulster final 2023, had tell him to be quite, making a bollix out of himself But that support in the centre of the hill that day, i presume from Lurgan direction, from accents, simply awful.  All hammered, not sure they know half the players

I'd love to test a few to see if they could tell the difference in accents between Lurgan, Craigavon, Portadown, Maghery, Ballyhegan, Armagh etc.

All counties have this element and it is pot luck when you pick your spot on that hill in Clones as to what kind of day you are about to have. Over the past number of years we have had big games there v the likes of Donegal, Tyrone, Derry, Down and Tyrone.  Every one of those counties, including my own, have brought an element that would have little interest in what is going on on the grass, pissed up and hurling slurs. Clones is the worst for it IMO.  With other venues it isnt as bad for some reason.
Once you go north the city it's all Lurgan :D.

Only messing, there's plenty from Keady, Cross and everywhere else acting the bollix usually too.

downtothecore

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 29, 2026, 08:41:48 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on April 28, 2026, 12:08:42 PMThe condensed season would have a lot to answer for.  A 1 week turnaround between matches is going to hammer teams in terms of injuries.  The game has got faster, the turnaround less, which is mad from a player welfare perspective. 

We are actually having conversations about whether it is worthwhile progressing into a league final/provincial final at the risk of hampering preparations for the AI series. 

Personally, I think Armagh will be aiming for an Ulster title, it has been too long for them, giving they are performing quite well in recent times. 
The big question this weekend is whether Down can match that intensity they brought the other day. 

Because e.g. Down have known for months who their first round opponent would be, they've had months to prepare for it. They know only have 7 days for Armagh.

Here's the thing though, 7 days is plenty. It just looks a little warped by the preparation time available for the openers.

Personally, I believe the less time managers have to overtrain and prepare themselves to serve up doses of shite, the better it is for our sport. 
Far from me to praise Down but they were super to watch the other day, brought a game plan and executed it brilliantly. Doubtful they get near Donegal without that level of preparation. Will be interesting to see what they do this weekend.

It will be interesting this weekend. An insane amount of focus and prep was done by down to oust Donegal. Lets hope this helps for this sundays game. The need is greater for Down because of qualification for sam maguire. It's a big challenge for us as Armagh are top class experienced setup. It's a Derby game also so should be a great atmosphere...

Quote from: downtothecore on April 29, 2026, 09:37:01 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 29, 2026, 08:41:48 AM

It will be interesting this weekend. An insane amount of focus and prep was done by down to oust Donegal. Lets hope this helps for this sundays game. The need is greater for Down because of qualification for sam maguire. It's a big challenge for us as Armagh are top class experienced setup. It's a Derby game also so should be a great atmosphere...
If news comes through that Kildare have beat Westmeath will it lower the stakes any? I can't see it.

An Ulster title would be massive for either of those teams and should be bigger carrot than getting into the All Ireland series. Been far too long for both.

Am I going mad here or was this not a foul by Mooney? Don't get me wrong it was unreal determination and will but he pulls O'Donnell's arm which stops him from being able to grab the ball.

https://x.com/coachshanerice/status/2049468567955902770?s=20

Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2026, 03:58:27 PMAm I going mad here or was this not a foul by Mooney? Don't get me wrong it was unreal determination and will but he pulls O'Donnell's arm which stops him from being able to grab the ball.

in real time i thought it was a foul  and still do but you can`t fault the grit and sheer will from caolan Mooney

Are Down now favourites for Ulster?. After beating Donegal and beating them well at that surely they're the fav's. They're in a good place atm and the old Down swagger is back, God help Armagh on Sunday

Quote from: illdecide on April 30, 2026, 02:13:28 PMAre Down now favourites for Ulster?. After beating Donegal and beating them well at that surely they're the fav's. They're in a good place atm and the old Down swagger is back, God help Armagh on Sunday
Got to be. We've too many missing.

Quote from: naka on April 29, 2026, 04:13:14 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2026, 03:58:27 PMAm I going mad here or was this not a foul by Mooney? Don't get me wrong it was unreal determination and will but he pulls O'Donnell's arm which stops him from being able to grab the ball.

in real time i thought it was a foul  and still do but you can`t fault the grit and sheer will from caolan Mooney

dunno lads, would have been a very soft foul for me.

Quote from: illdecide on April 30, 2026, 02:13:28 PMAre Down now favourites for Ulster?. After beating Donegal and beating them well at that surely they're the fav's. They're in a good place atm and the old Down swagger is back, God help Armagh on Sunday

Armagh have to be favourites - the panel, the players with AI medal in the pocket, playing div 1 football vs a team just promoted from Div3 and who have had one massive performance.
A bit of the auld cute-hoorism there I think!

Dayman

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 30, 2026, 02:41:42 PM

But we all know that Geezer's built the deepest squad football has ever seen so that shouldn't make any difference. Frankly I'd spend the week brushing up on Derry or Monaghan rather than waste time on some Division 3 outfit.

Quote from: Dayman on April 30, 2026, 02:59:38 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 30, 2026, 02:41:42 PM

But we all know that Geezer's built the deepest squad football has ever seen so that shouldn't make any difference. Frankly I'd spend the week brushing up on Derry or Monaghan rather than waste time on some Division 3 outfit.

All cute hoorism aside should be a good one. Hopefully it's a better watch than 2024 but not just as nerve wracking!

Predictions time:

Derry v Monaghan - Derry by 3 (for no good reason other than I hope this is the result)
Armagh v Down - Armagh by 6 because they are awesome (all you armagh boys have convinced me yous have shaken off the serial choker tag and are a force to be reckoned with....so long as it doesnt go to penalties).