Who's in Russia's Group?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: weareros on February 13, 2026, 04:57:46 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 13, 2026, 04:02:57 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 13, 2026, 03:41:46 PMEurovision came under a lot of pressure to boycott, and did, but as I suspected the soccer lads won't come under the same pressure.

Those are our principles, and if you don't like them... well, we have others.
The FAI
Harsh. They are the only European association to directly take on Israel. The consequences for Irish soccer to refuse to play are deliberately extreme. How many jobs go and what happens to youth development if Irish football is cut adrift for 8 years?

Word on the street is the FAI will concede home advantage and play it in Paris or whatnot. So a statement will be made and they avoid an Amsterdam scenario.

Let them kick us out. Call their bluff. FiFA and UEFA have been going down a road of cozying up to tyrants. Infantino and his peace award. We look like we folded like a cheap suit if we don't boycott this fixture.
100%.

Look at the teams being given tournamnets, Qatar, Saudi, Russia, Trump's new reich. Be no bad thing being banned from that shite.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 13, 2026, 05:22:12 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 13, 2026, 03:41:46 PMEurovision came under a lot of pressure to boycott, and did, but as I suspected the soccer lads won't come under the same pressure.

The FAI
Harsh. They are the only European association to directly take on Israel. The consequences for Irish soccer to refuse to play are deliberately extreme. How many jobs go and what happens to youth development if Irish football is cut adrift for 8 years?

Word on the street is the FAI will concede home advantage and play it in Paris or whatnot. So a statement will be made and they avoid an Amsterdam scenario.

Let them kick us out. Call their bluff. FiFA and UEFA have been going down a road of cozying up to tyrants. Infantino and his peace award. We look like we folded like a cheap suit if we don't boycott this fixture.
And you can go into Abbotstown and let most of the staff go. Tell every promising player tough, there are no acadameys anymore. Or tell Shamrock Rovers 80% of their turnover is gone for 8 years.

This isn't the Eurovision. UEFA are draconian on swerving fixtures for political reasons. The consequences are brutal and massively over the top. We are definitely out of competitive fixtures and possibly friendlies for 8 years.

Refuse to host it in Dublin. Make the point that way.

What were the consequences when the Uk associations wore Poppies, against FIFA rules having political symbols on shirts. Nothing. FIFA went and lifted the ban on poppies on shirts. The amount of players, young and old, who have been slaughtered in Palestine, is a justification to boycott the fixture. I'm willing to bet that Ireland has enough friends in the world that UEFA will back down. We'll lose points that is all in a shite tournament. But we will have our self-respect.

The difference is that UEFA don't give a fiddlers about children and players being blown to bits. FIFA taking on England over the poppy is where a global giant (in terms of profile) broke a bye-law rule.

Like it or not FAI can't afford to not fulfill the fixture but we can use it as a protest as the international media will be all over it.
You can take it as a given the pro-Israel crew will label us the most anti-Semetic country in the world, etc.

It will go ahead but I'd rather not see them come to Dublin. You'd have carnage in the streets and the Mossad lads would be agitating and the Israeli police won't co-operate
Sure look a Amsterdam. They were sending military planes to evacuate the Jewsish population and then eventually it shows that the Macabi crew set it all off, but the story stands that they were the victims.

I really really hate it, but in the real world it won't be stopped, so I'd keep it away from Lansdowne.

Quote from: weareros on February 13, 2026, 05:36:03 PM

The FAI

And you can go into Abbotstown and let most of the staff go. Tell every promising player tough, there are no acadameys anymore. Or tell Shamrock Rovers 80% of their turnover is gone for 8 years.

This isn't the Eurovision. UEFA are draconian on swerving fixtures for political reasons. The consequences are brutal and massively over the top. We are definitely out of competitive fixtures and possibly friendlies for 8 years.

What were the consequences when the Uk associations wore Poppies, against FIFA rules having political symbols on shirts. Nothing. FIFA went and lifted the ban on poppies on shirts. The amount of players, young and old, who have been slaughtered in Palestine, is a justification to boycott the fixture. I'm willing to bet that Ireland has enough friends in the world that UEFA will back down. We'll lose points that is all in a shite tournament. But we will have our self-respect.
I agree. This is not a minor issue. If there is ever a case for a boycott then this is it. I don't believe Ireland would be put out for 8 years. And I believe they may find more support.
It's an opportunity for Ireland to do the right thing.

Quote from: Capt Pat on February 13, 2026, 05:02:04 PMI am not pro Israeli but I am not sure I like all this talk of boycotting them and making Ireland suffer. There was talk at the time of the nfl game of people boycotting that because the US or nfl supported Israel. Boycott Israeli goods yourself if you are so concerned about it but leave me and my sports out of it.

That last line in particular could well be the ballbagiest sentence I've read on this board.

Hopefully you don't have to suffer too much

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: weareros on February 13, 2026, 05:36:03 PM

The FAI

A bye law on match kit is not the same as refusing to fulfil a fixture.

UUFA have this gun lined up

AustinPowers

Looks like the FAI talk the talk but don't walk the walk..
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 13, 2026, 09:48:26 PMLooks like the FAI talk the talk but don't walk the walk..

The draw has only just been made. It's the players / fans that hold all the power

Let them come. Fly the right flag combo, and for Gods sake beat them.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 13, 2026, 10:37:30 PMLet them come. Fly the right flag combo, and for Gods sake beat them.

You've seen what they are doing and what they have done, yes? And yet...'let them come'?

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 13, 2026, 10:37:30 PMLet them come. Fly the right flag combo, and for Gods sake beat them.
You'd be kidding yourself if you think they'll allow any Palestinian flags to be flown.
I see MM has weighted in to say the game should go ahead as well. There's as good a reason as any to scrap it.
I would love to see some of the players withdraw from it. Force the FAI's hand. The managers comments were interesting saying it would be down to each player to decide. Is that leaving the door open, especially after his comments last year?

The FAI

As a nation we have to stand against this. Fulfilling these fixtures would be an absolute disgrace

AustinPowers

Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 13, 2026, 11:23:02 PM
You'd be kidding yourself if you think they'll allow any Palestinian flags to be flown.
I see MM has weighted in to say the game should go ahead as well. There's as good a reason as any to scrap it.
I would love to see some of the players withdraw from it. Force the FAI's hand. The managers comments were interesting saying it would be down to each player to decide. Is that leaving the door open, especially after his comments last year?

He's only auditioning for  his next move. A cushy number  in the IMF or  the world bank. Cretin.