Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 12:07:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on Today at 10:58:32 AMGrown up world comes to 6 Counties!
Maybe if you's hoors hadn't abandoned us back in the day...!

ouch ;D

I caught some of radio Ulster yesterday. Stormont is a glorified (and hugely inefficient) county council. I don't blame the stooges up there riding the gravy train per se. They are for the most part useless, but they're part of a wider system of government that is not fit for purpose, governing a failed entity that is likewise unfit for purpose. Throw in the tribal element and is it any wonder nothing gets done?

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 12:11:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on Today at 09:21:52 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 08:56:57 AM
Quote from: gallsman on Today at 08:56:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 06:52:10 AMDaft move all round to be raising any type of rates or taxes at the minute, given the extortionate amounts we already pay and the ridiculous state of silly little things like hospitals and roads..

Where do you think the money for hospitals and roads will come from?

Ok, so with nothing more coming in, presumably you think everything can and should be funded through spending cuts?

I'd fully sign up to public sector reform, but we all know it'll never happen.

Welfare reform? Good luck with that.

Perhaps you disapprove of how so many of your fellow county men (as openly discussed on this forum) readily avoid paying VAT and insist on cash. You'd advocate a real clamp down on this, yeah?
Where on earth is the money going? The ordinary man is paying more than his fair share of VAT, tax and rates. Start by taxing the 1% of earners a lot more.

Not too bothered by John up the road saving a few quid by doing cash jobs, a drop in the ocean compared to the top earners

We all want the benefits of the public sector, education, hospitals, infrastructure, social housing and so on, but when asked to pay for it lets just hit the big earners for it, shouldn't have to work like that as they are actually paying more anyways

The money coming in is being wasted one court case after another, there are enquiries every week, there is bickering over street names in Irish, why the f**k should there be street names in Irish in Loyalist areas, neutral maybe, Catholic yes but ffs cop on..

Wasting money on too many other shite things, too many to mention
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 12:44:42 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 06:52:10 AMDaft move all round to be raising any type of rates or taxes at the minute, given the extortionate amounts we already pay and the ridiculous state of silly little things like hospitals and roads..

Ok, so with nothing more coming in, presumably you think everything can and should be funded through spending cuts?

Perhaps you disapprove of how so many of your fellow county men (as openly discussed on this forum) readily avoid paying VAT and insist on cash. You'd advocate a real clamp down on this, yeah?
Where on earth is the money going? The ordinary man is paying more than his fair share of VAT, tax and rates. Start by taxing the 1% of earners a lot more.

Not too bothered by John up the road saving a few quid by doing cash jobs, a drop in the ocean compared to the top earners

We all want the benefits of the public sector, education, hospitals, infrastructure, social housing and so on, but when asked to pay for it lets just hit the big earners for it, shouldn't have to work like that as they are actually paying more anyways

The money coming in is being wasted one court case after another, there are enquiries every week, there is bickering over street names in Irish, why the f**k should there be street names in Irish in Loyalist areas, neutral maybe, Catholic yes but ffs cop on..

Point is we are paying plenty for it, well I know I am anyway and getting feck all in return- can barely drive up the road without having to dodge potholes, god forbid you'd need to go to A&E or need cancer screening or treatment.

The biggest earners are paying feck all in tax.

Serious money being wasted as you say.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 12:44:42 PMThe money coming in is being wasted one court case after another, there are enquiries every week, there is bickering over street names in Irish, why the f**k should there be street names in Irish in Loyalist areas, neutral maybe, Catholic yes but ffs cop on..

Street signs are not for the residents, who already know the name of their street, but for visitors. The same signs should be everywhere, bigots should not be able to determine the design of street signs. The waste of money in this is all the ridiculous consultation.

But there is genuine waste and it should be addressed so that money can be spent on much needed things.  A comparison of spending and staffing levels with Scotland and the 26 counties would be informative.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

playwiththewind1st

Ordinary people pay taxes, the rich pay accountants and the wealthy pay politicians.

We are living in a world where the economic movers and shakers instruct the politicians what to do, when they meet up for their wee annual secretive chinwag in Davos.

They should just admit that 'democratic' elections are now a charade & a complete waste of time.

Can't wait for my rates bill to arrive, in April....i may as well flush my money down the bog as give it to those cretins in Stormont or, even worse, the so-called super councils.

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 12:49:38 PM

Point is we are paying plenty for it, well I know I am anyway and getting feck all in return- can barely drive up the road without having to dodge potholes, god forbid you'd need to go to A&E or need cancer screening or treatment.

44% to 60% tax is feck all, do you you know who pays feck all tax? The lad in the pub all day or bookies? the one clogging up the NHS waiting times and doctor surgeries, the lad living in free housing cause he's got a bad 'back' but manages to get on Jet skis when on holidays lol!

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: armaghniac on Today at 01:09:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 12:44:42 PMThe money coming in is being wasted one court case after another, there are enquiries every week, there is bickering over street names in Irish, why the f**k should there be street names in Irish in Loyalist areas, neutral maybe, Catholic yes but ffs cop on..

Street signs are not for the residents, who already know the name of their street, but for visitors. The same signs should be everywhere, bigots should not be able to determine the design of street signs. The waste of money in this is all the ridiculous consultation.

But there is genuine waste and it should be addressed so that money can be spent on much needed things.  A comparison of spending and staffing levels with Scotland and the 26 counties would be informative.

Seriously? For the visitors? melt

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 01:14:11 PM

44% to 60% tax is feck all, do you you know who pays feck all tax? The lad in the pub all day or bookies? the one clogging up the NHS waiting times and doctor surgeries, the lad living in free housing cause he's got a bad 'back' but manages to get on Jet skis when on holidays lol!

Not talking about the ones on 150k a year paying their 40% plus tax which is loads, think a level above that.

oakleafgael

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 01:22:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 01:14:11 PM

Not talking about the ones on 150k a year paying their 40% plus tax which is loads, think a level above that.

And just how many of those do you think there are in the North?

oakleafgael

As much as people will/would complain about it, water charges need to come in. It should obviously be metered, although initially will probably be a charge per dwelling. That said a reform of NIW is badly needed.

why shouldnt there be Irish street signs anywhere in Ireland? It is the language of the country. And really, breaking it into catholic v protestant?

playwiththewind1st

AustinPowers

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on Today at 01:11:16 PMOrdinary people pay taxes, the rich pay accountants and the wealthy pay politicians.

Don't know if  you made  that up yourself or not, but it's spot on

QuoteWe are living in a world where the economic movers and shakers instruct the politicians what to do, when they meet up for their wee annual secretive chinwag in Davos.

They should just admit that 'democratic' elections are now a charade & a complete waste of time.

Can't wait for my rates bill to arrive, in April....i may as well flush my money down the bog as give it to those cretins in Stormont or, even worse, the so-called super councils.

As for elections. They were always a  charade.  Who was it said  years ago "if voting  actually affected anything,  they'd  ban it".

Maybe it was yourself that  said it?  ;)

playwiththewind1st

I actually said "no matter who you vote for, the government still gets in" lol.