Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: tiempo on January 07, 2026, 10:58:37 AM
Quote from: Armamike on January 07, 2026, 10:11:21 AMThe answer to how to fix Man U is simple - new ownership!  Everything else is just tinkering.

The same owners at the helm for 5 PL titles, a third of Fergies league haul and all 3 of Utds CL finals this century

The Glazers have nothing to do with what happens at Carrington or match day performance, they've bankrolled gross incompetence, if anything they've backed the wrong horse (pardon the pun) a few times with goons like Ed Woodward, Sir Jim Ratcliffe and Jason Wilcox, and sure wasn't it SAF himself who selected Moyes, so yeah, all the Glazers doing

Exactly. 5 league titles and christ knows how much money spent in the last 10 years.

I don't know what else United fans want from them.

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 07, 2026, 11:07:09 AM
Quote from: Armamike on January 07, 2026, 10:11:21 AMThe answer to how to fix Man U is simple - new ownership!  Everything else is just tinkering.

The same owners at the helm for 5 PL titles, a third of Fergies league haul and all 3 of Utds CL finals this century

The Glazers have nothing to do with what happens at Carrington or match day performance, they've bankrolled gross incompetence, if anything they've backed the wrong horse (pardon the pun) a few times with goons like Ed Woodward, Sir Jim Ratcliffe and Jason Wilcox, and sure wasn't it SAF himself who selected Moyes, so yeah, all the Glazers doing
Was about to type a response to that shite but you're clearly trolling so what is the point

Absolutely +1

Look-Up!

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 06, 2026, 07:13:13 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on January 06, 2026, 04:59:08 PMStubbornness can also be equated to self belief, an essential trait when trying to achieve what most see as the impossible.

I seem to remember criticism for ETH from some quarters for having no discernable style and abandoning his Ajax principles after quickly realising the enormity of the task at Utd. I'm in no way defending him because his transfers were terrible but this "flapping" was equated to indecisiveness and weakness on his part.

You certainly couldn't accuse Amorim of abandoning his principles. In fact his major criticism is for not doing what ETH did and adjust his style. Although a bit contradictory I think it's fair to accuse him of being too unbending but I will say this in his defence. He made no secret of his style when he came to Utd. No one was under any false impressions. The club head hunted him and even pressured him into coming half a season too early no less. And I'm sure there were many many lofty promises made to him of being given the time and backing to achieve his vision. But the club have obviously since baulked at those promises and he was only recently told they will be reneging. So although he was very unprofessional in how he handled it you can understand his anger and frustration.

I don't know where that leaves the club though or what route they'll go next. But what the hell was the point of hiring Amorim and all the grandiose pronouncements of philosophy and new Utd if they just flap after one window? And what will the next man be thinking upon listening to the latest raft of promises and visions?

Hit the nail on the head there.

ETH was slated for changing his system at United and Amorim was slated for being to rigid in his system.

No matter what you do at united the media and former players and pundits will pile the pressure on you.

The club will continue is this cycle unless they come up with a long term vision and stick through it... Most rebuilds you need to get worse before you get better and ignore the outside noise.
Yep. An awful lot of outside noise. And that's all it mostly is with their big ideas, noise.

Amorim was his own man and a step in the right direction. Didn't take any crap, didn't hark back, called out laziness and introduced a bit of speed into attack. Limited and didn't work out for him for many reasons but the club and rebuild goes on. A good manager with a bit of backing and a few tweaks would have a great project on his hands. CL football very achievable. Winning big things a different matter and will need time because resale value of players is such a problem area for the club. And the board do seem very flappy and rudderless.

AustinPowers

QuoteHe was the managerial equivalent of Rashford, deluded

Put it to you like this, Real or Barca offer him the job with 1 single caveat, he has to play 4 at the back 4-1-2-2-1, does the take the job and comply, you bet your ass he does

The man took one incredible opportunity and pissed it against the wall, that was his peak, he'll never reach that height again, what a muppet

Surprised you haven't asked for Roy to be manager in this post... been in most of them lately lol

I hear that Darren Fletcher rang SAF for his blessing before accepting the interim role

Honest to dog, wall to wall wet wipes hankering to a bygone era

Roy walks in the room the players sit up straight and run harder, similar to MON at Celtic due to their icon status at both clubs, maybe it doesn't work longer term, maybe Roy has limitations like Gatusso Xavi Pirlo who all had a stab a managing massive clubs, or maybe Roy pulls a Zidane type midas touch

Whats obvious is that Utd lack the imagination to make the obvious appointment, or even go for someone like Joachim Low as interim who only won the WC with Germany, what you are now witnessing is Jason Wilcox in survival mode - he'll appoint a doormat as interim, stroke the season off at the mid point when CL football is very much achievable and he'll try to reboot with Tuchel next year ... but apparently its all the Glazers fault
Yeah, that is weird. A bit like the new British PM meeting the Queen  before  heading to Downing Street 

What if Fergie had said, nah don't touch it... would Fletcher have turned it down?  Does Fergie have to approve everything at United even  now?

tiempo

Quote from: NAG1 on January 07, 2026, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 07, 2026, 11:07:09 AM

Was about to type a response to that shite but you're clearly trolling so what is the point

Absolutely +1

The truth hurts lads, there'd be no word of the Glazers if the managers and decision makers in recruitment appointed post SAF actually cut the mustard. SAF appointed Moyes, grand, Moyes signed Fellaini, not grand, thats a simple lack of football IQ in the building, someone needed to step across that shit, its been a bag of spanners since, note Moyes exit to Bayern is the only CL knock out tie Utd have played post SAF, yep, all the Glazers fault

tiempo

Quote from: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 11:19:17 AM

Exactly. 5 league titles and christ knows how much money spent in the last 10 years.

I don't know what else United fans want from them.

Ye have to wonder about fans, storming the pitch to have a game cancelled indicates low IQ isn't confined to the boardroom and Carrington

tiempo

Quote from: AustinPowers on January 07, 2026, 11:30:48 AM

Put it to you like this, Real or Barca offer him the job with 1 single caveat, he has to play 4 at the back 4-1-2-2-1, does the take the job and comply, you bet your ass he does

The man took one incredible opportunity and pissed it against the wall, that was his peak, he'll never reach that height again, what a muppet

Surprised you haven't asked for Roy to be manager in this post... been in most of them lately lol

I hear that Darren Fletcher rang SAF for his blessing before accepting the interim role

Roy walks in the room the players sit up straight and run harder, similar to MON at Celtic due to their icon status at both clubs, maybe it doesn't work longer term, maybe Roy has limitations like Gatusso Xavi Pirlo who all had a stab a managing massive clubs, or maybe Roy pulls a Zidane type midas touch

Whats obvious is that Utd lack the imagination to make the obvious appointment, or even go for someone like Joachim Low as interim who only won the WC with Germany, what you are now witnessing is Jason Wilcox in survival mode - he'll appoint a doormat as interim, stroke the season off at the mid point when CL football is very much achievable and he'll try to reboot with Tuchel next year ... but apparently its all the Glazers fault
Yeah, that is weird. A bit like the new British PM meeting the Queen  before  heading to Downing Street

What if Fergie had said, nah don't touch it... would Fletcher have turned it down?  Does Fergie have to approve everything at United even  now?

Quite possibly the single blocker to Roy Keane, deserve all the malaise they get if so

Why the long face?

Quote from: tiempo on January 07, 2026, 11:36:41 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 07, 2026, 11:30:48 AM

Yeah, that is weird. A bit like the new British PM meeting the Queen  before  heading to Downing Street

What if Fergie had said, nah don't touch it... would Fletcher have turned it down?  Does Fergie have to approve everything at United even  now?

Quite possibly the single blocker to Roy Keane, deserve all the malaise they get if so

Why the long face?

You'll be telling us Jamie will be the new manager at Liverpool is the season is crap! Or worse Stevie!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

tiempo

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2026, 11:46:00 AMYou'll be telling us Jamie will be the new manager at Liverpool is the season is crap! Or worse Stevie!

They had their Souness Evans Kenny (second stint) phase and have run that dirt out of the engine

You can bet your boots Stevie is desperate for the call, even lately when Slot getting a bit of stick Stevie thought it was appropriate to say he'd help "in any department at any minute of every day" a complete goon statement that should prevent him getting near it, Rio Ferdinand esque

Back to my original point today

OGS is the Kenny Dalglish of Roy Evans'

Nevermind shocking if he gets it, shocking that he's even in the frame

New ownership needs to be a group of competent people in charge what Man City,Liverpool and Arsenal all currently have. Radcliffe and Co are just extension of the incompetence under the Glazers.

Look-Up!

Quote from: Blowitupref on January 07, 2026, 12:06:07 PM

New ownership needs to be a group of competent people in charge what Man City,Liverpool and Arsenal all currently have. Radcliffe and Co are just extension of the incompetence under the Glazers.
I'd say there's a fair bit of chess going on behind the scenes between Glazers and Radcliffe. Yanks are majority stakeholder and it's a massive cash cow they will not give up without huge compensation. The Brit is the minority stakeholder and any money he pumps in, half will immediately be lining the Glazer's pockets. Plus he's the face of operations and getting most of the day to day shit. Quite the pickle.

Look-Up!

Just to add to that, any major success Utd have will increase value of the club and make a full takeover more expensive.

A cynic would say it would be better financially in the long run for Jim to ruin the club further, turning off the Glazers and getting it much cheaper down the line.

AustinPowers

QuoteYou'll be telling us Jamie will be the new manager at Liverpool is the season is crap! Or worse Stevie!

They had their Souness Evans Kenny (second stint) phase and have run that dirt out of the engine

You can bet your boots Stevie is desperate for the call, even lately when Slot getting a bit of stick Stevie thought it was appropriate to say he'd help "in any department at any minute of every day" a complete goon statement that should prevent him getting near it, Rio Ferdinand esque

Back to my original point today

OGS is the Kenny Dalglish of Roy Evans'

Nevermind shocking if he gets it, shocking that he's even in the frame
If I was Ole, I'd tell  them where to go.  If I was  deemed not good enough 3 years ago , then  I'm not good enough now.

Have some dignity, and tell them to  get f**ked.

Don't think so Austin.

If Solskjaer has serious intentions of being a top flight football manager, then let's be realistic United is his only fast track opportunity. No other semi-major European club would have him on their radar.

And sure if it doesn't work out, there's a 7 figure sweetener on the way out the door.

Nobody in his situation is turning that down.

square_ball

Quote from: thewobbler on January 07, 2026, 01:15:49 PMAnd sure if it doesn't work out, there's a 7 figure sweetener on the way out the door.

No 7 figure sweeteners when you are only on a 5 month contract. Although if he goes on a winning run no doubt Rio will be shooting his mouth off about Ole being at the wheel again.