Russia invades Ukraine Feb 2022

Started by Main Street, February 12, 2022, 09:38:45 PM

Munchie

Putin must have serious tank on the yanks, has Trump imposed any sanctions on this regime since coming to power.  Ukraine are doing serious heaving lifting with their drones on oil depots, oil tankers, why they would suddenly cede a quarter of their country to Russia?

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 03, 2025, 09:45:52 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 03, 2025, 09:25:47 AMTwo things can be right. Putin is a dictator and should be tried for war crimes and the US previous and current leaders should be tried for war crimes along with Tony Blair and co?

Why the defending on any part is beyond me

tankie

Saying US leaders should be tried for war crimes that they committed does not make one a tankie.

Utterly clueless and childish take.

PadraicHenryPearse

you have labeled people tankies for doing that... cannot critise Russia/Putin without mentioning the west!!!

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Hand of God on December 03, 2025, 08:48:03 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 03, 2025, 12:37:51 AMPBP  statement at the time of Zelensky's Dail visit,

called "Putin's brutal invasion".

But it added 'that it had always rejected the idea of a military solution to this conflict and had opposed calls for military escalation'.

I take it that the super brains at PBP opine that defending your country from "Putin's brutal invasion" is a "military escalation"?
What else  do the PBP propose how a country can defend itself against such a "brutal invasion" other than by all military means at their disposal? And what do the PBP propose that Ukraine do instead of military action to defend itself against this "brutal invasion"?  sit down on the road holding sunflowers? or just surrender wholesale  to the demands of the "brutal invader"?
Possibly the PBP have the idea that the countries that support Ukraine should non-violently sanction the crap out of the "brutal invading" Russia, grab all their EU banked assets, block their floating potential toxic discharge  ships from sailing the oceans and do all within their means to scuttle Russia's economy in order to get them to back off Ukraine?

But will we ever know what the PBP actually have in mind to stop this "brutal invasion"?  What is this unspoken plan that the PBP have, apart from a vague bumper sticker slogan?

It's an odd thing for you to contend. Here's a serious question that will seriously undermine your credibility and the point you make. The people in Irish politics who are fanatics for Ukrainian militarism, the journalists from the mainstream media who are fanatical for Ukrainian militarism were some of the biggest advocates for doing nothing during sectarian pogroms in the north. Indeed the leader in the 26 went on live TV during the last general election and wholly blamed the IRA for the trouble.

This is where people like you badly let yourselves down. Your past positions show your current stance on Ukraine to be a phony one. It's nothing to do with invasions or imperialism or freedoms, you just think the West has the right to rule the world.

It will be interesting to see how outraged you get about the forthcoming happenings in Venezuela. The yanks up to their usual tricks again and it's not the first time in Venezuela yet you'll still probably deny they played a major role in destabilizing Ukraine and setting the motions in play for a change to a Western aligned gov which they knew would provoke Russia.

People should be aware that what has happened in Ukraine is a proxy war between two imperialist superpowers - Russia and the US - who are fervently supported by the EU/UK. The Ukrainians are the unfortunate victims in it all.

It's incredible that people can say with very valid grounds that say the Russians are an imperialist superpower, who have a dictator who should be trialled in the Hague as leader and who have committed war crimes in Ukraine yet still be accused of being pro Russian all because you are critical of the West and the US involvement in creating and throwing accelerant on a war in Ukraine.

The level of shilling and smear neo libs get involved in to deflect the role of the West in this conflict is mind-blowing.

Utter bullshit from start to finish as usual.

1. 'Ukrainian militarism' is tankie-speak for Ukraine's undeniable right to defend itself. See Richard Boyd Barrett tying himself up in knots on RTE radio yesterday and making a fool of himself for further reference.

2. Journalists and MM stance on troubles in north completely irrelevant to the topic.

3. No one here is advocating for the west's right to rule the world. Total fantasy.

4. American deeds in Venezuela irrelevant to the topic of the right of Ukraine to defend itself from invasion.

5. Ukraine defending itself is not a 'proxy war'. Ukraine is fighting an existential war for their own survival, sovereignty and territory. It is a direct conflict for them, they are not fighting on behalf of another power. Ukraine government and military also set their own objectives and strategies. If it was a 'proxy war' the Trump admin would have surrendered already. Their adversary on the other side is Russia - who are they a proxy for? Iran?? Your 'proxy war' is just more tankie muppetry soundbites.

You won't even attempt to refute any of the points above because you can't. You will just repeat it endlessly like a good little tankie.

btw, did yo ever manage to find an agreement that Ukraine broke with Russia? Nah, you didn't, did you. 

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 03, 2025, 09:55:33 AMyou have labeled people tankies for doing that... cannot critise Russia/Putin without mentioning the west!!!

Saying X and Y are both bad and should be punished is different from trying to excuse X because of what Y has done in the past. Like a tankie would.

Hope that's clear for you.

The usual bollix from PBP in not applauding Zelensky in the Dáil yesterday, what do you expect?
However, it is clear that several SF TDs also did a Connolly in having a short applause to make some sort of statement.
On what planet does an Irish nationalist act in a begrudging way towards another country being bullied by a bigger neighbour who denies its right to a separate existence? What rabbit hole have these people disappeared into?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Hand of God

Quote from: armaghniac on December 03, 2025, 10:50:52 AMThe usual bollix from PBP in not applauding Zelensky in the Dáil yesterday, what do you expect?
However, it is clear that several SF TDs also did a Connolly in having a short applause to make some sort of statement.
On what planet does an Irish nationalist act in a begrudging way towards another country being bullied by a bigger neighbour who denies its right to a separate existence? What rabbit hole have these people disappeared into?

You get exercised at funny things.

Sadly toddlers being picked off by drones and hospitals being bombed into submission don't outrage you but left wing politicians not salivating over Zelensky does.

You're a very strange individual.

Zelensky's right hand man has got the road over corruption allegations. Russia is totally in the wrong but Ukraine (government) are a shower of crooks.

It's the ordinary civilians in Ukraine and the soldiers Putin is using as cannon fodder who'll bear the brunt as per.   

Hand of God

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 03, 2025, 04:04:23 PMZelensky's right hand man has got the road over corruption allegations. Russia is totally in the wrong but Ukraine (government) are a shower of crooks.

It's the ordinary civilians in Ukraine and the soldiers Putin is using as cannon fodder who'll bear the brunt as per.   

Exactly. The only reason he is in power is controlled by the West. The West have put many tyrannical leaders in power - Noriega, Pinochet, Saddam, Batista - they don't give a damn about rights of citizens or corruption so long as these dictators tow the Western line.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Hand of God on December 03, 2025, 04:11:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 03, 2025, 04:04:23 PMZelensky's right hand man has got the road over corruption allegations. Russia is totally in the wrong but Ukraine (government) are a shower of crooks.

Exactly. The only reason he is in power is controlled by the West. The West have put many tyrannical leaders in power - Noriega, Pinochet, Saddam, Batista - they don't give a damn about rights of citizens or corruption so long as these dictators tow the Western line.

More bullshit from you as usual.

1. Zelenskyy won an election in Ukraine. He is not a dictator, he wasn't placed anywhere by anyone in the west.

2. If he was controlled by 'the west', the big dog, the US would have gotten rid of him by now.

3. He remains in power precisely because of the Ukrainian constitution. And it's the Ukrainian parliament that extends Martial Law, not Zelenskyy, so even if he wanted to call an election, he couldn't.

4. The fact that Yermak got the road shows that Ukraine has problems but they are on the right track. Such a thing would never happen in Russia, the US and many European countries. There is corruption in every country. Look at the shite that went on in the UK during Covid ffs.

5. You just say stuff you can't back up. Because you're thick.

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 03, 2025, 10:07:14 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 03, 2025, 09:55:33 AMyou have labeled people tankies for doing that... cannot critise Russia/Putin without mentioning the west!!!

Saying X and Y are both bad and should be punished is different from trying to excuse X because of what Y has done in the past. Like a tankie would.

Hope that's clear for you.

I gotta ask. What on earth is a tankie?

Hand of God

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 03, 2025, 04:23:01 PM

1. Zelenskyy won an election in Ukraine. He is not a dictator, he wasn't placed anywhere by anyone in the west.

2. If he was controlled by 'the west', the big dog, the US would have gotten rid of him by now.

3. He remains in power precisely because of the Ukrainian constitution. And it's the Ukrainian parliament that extends Martial Law, not Zelenskyy, so even if he wanted to call an election, he couldn't.

4. The fact that Yermak got the road shows that Ukraine has problems but they are on the right track. Such a thing would never happen in Russia, the US and many European countries. There is corruption in every country. Look at the shite that went on in the UK during Covid ffs.

Thanks for that contribution Goebbels. You spew propaganda and you relentlessly shill for for Western backed genocide.

I'm not compromised like you. I can condemn Putin for the monster he is and the war crimes he has committed. You on the other hand relentlessly attempt to justify Western backed genocide and deflect away from its meddling in democratically elected nations.

Shame on you, fascist.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Hand of God on December 03, 2025, 04:30:03 PM

Thanks for that contribution Goebbels. You spew propaganda and you relentlessly shill for for Western backed genocide.

I'm not compromised like you. I can condemn Putin for the monster he is and the war crimes he has committed. You on the other hand relentlessly attempt to justify Western backed genocide and deflect away from its meddling in democratically elected nations.

Shame on you, fascist.

Point out to me which point above is untrue and in what way it is untrue.

I'll wait.

Hand of God

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 03, 2025, 04:33:18 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on December 03, 2025, 04:30:03 PM

Shame on you, fascist.

Point out to me which point above is untrue and in what way it is untrue.

I'll wait.

All of it is untrue. You have relentlessly smeared and represented people. Your dishonest tropes against the Irish President expose you for the smear artist and propagandist you are.

The difference between me and you is I can call Putin a war criminal and Russia and imperialist state without equivocation whereas are stuck on loop defending war crimes and war criminals of the Western world. How can you continue to denounce people so unequivocal of their opposition to Russia and their acts as pro Russian. You have zero credibility and no shame and just use smear to hide behind your own bloodlust and supremacist beliefs.