Laochra Gael Mick Lyons 22.00 TG4 Tonight

Started by EugeneGeraghty, January 31, 2008, 09:10:40 AM

I'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...

Quote from: red hander on January 31, 2008, 01:18:10 PM
I'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...

Was actually planning to watch it, must be letting the side down  :P

How exactly did Withnell finish Lyons? I don't remember much about that game except that Lyons was carrying an injury. What did Withnell score?

QuoteI'd say there'll be plenty of jackeens tuning in for that tonight ...

I'm sure Gerry McEntee will be watching ;)

I was at that game and never seen it in TV. From memory Lyons who was the hardest man in football and Withnell (the new boy with 2 goals in the semi) were getting physical and Withnell who was a martial arts expert threw lyons over his shoulder onto the turf. It gave Down a real lift and sent out the message that they would not be out physiqued and seemed to shake Lyons confidence.
It as the Dubbliner pointed out dosent take away at all from Lyons great career.  hye would have been one of the elders in 1991, but it shifted the balance of power perhaps.

Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 01:48:20 PM
I was at that game and never seen it in TV. From memory Lyons who was the hardest man in football and Withnell (the new boy with 2 goals in the semi) were getting physical and Withnell who was a martial arts expert threw lyons over his shoulder onto the turf. It gave Down a real lift and sent out the message that they would not be out physiqued and seemed to shake Lyons confidence.
It as the Dubbliner pointed out dosent take away at all from Lyons great career.  hye would have been one of the elders in 1991, but it shifted the balance of power perhaps.

Did this actually happen? Again I was only a nipper at the time but this all sounds new to me.

No1

QuoteWithnell who was a martial arts expert

Back to the thread, Mick Lyons = Legend.  Pity there isn't more like him playing football today.

Here here, no poncin' about with hair-dos or diving or other shite that you see some young players getting into these days.

We need more men like that, cut from rock so to speak. (and would take a cut out of rock, barney, that is). He was great, though i think he used  his elbows more than his shoulders when checking his opponents. ill try watch this online if tg4.tv is still up and running.

Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 01:56:40 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 01:48:20 PM

Did this actually happen? Again I was only a nipper at the time but this all sounds new to me.

Ah Jinxy you must remember it, i remember withnell hit the post one time and with one karate chop he cut the post in half, the game was delayed
for 15 minutes ;)

He had a lethal one inch punch too I'm sure.

ildanach

Quote from: No1 on January 31, 2008, 01:59:49 PM
Back to the thread, Mick Lyons = Legend.  Pity there isn't more like him playing football today.

i agree. There was none of this shit of rolling around, he gave hits and took them  He was very good in the compromised rules also.  I think he was a second generation mayoman to add to his value too !! ;)
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

Quote from: ildanach on January 31, 2008, 02:12:49 PM

i agree. There was none of this shit of rolling around, he gave hits and took them  He was very good in the compromised rules also.  I think he was a second generation mayoman to add to his value too !! ;)

I've had just about enough of the wild accusations being bandied about this thread!!

Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 02:12:36 PM
He had a lethal one inch punch too I'm sure.

Aye he had jinxy and you should have seen him waxing cars

Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2008, 02:14:33 PM
Quote from: ildanach on January 31, 2008, 02:12:49 PM

i agree. There was none of this shit of rolling around, he gave hits and took them  He was very good in the compromised rules also.  I think he was a second generation mayoman to add to his value too !! ;)

I've had just about enough of the wild accusations being bandied about this thread!!

Sure jinxy thats why we like youse in meath sure youse are one of our own :D

I remember Mick Lyons playing full back for Meath against Offaly in the late 80s/early 90s. Offaly wore the white kit with green sleeves that only lasted one year. Anyway, Offaly were barely able to keep the ball kicked out to Meath, I'd say it hadn't crossed halfway in about 40 minutes.

The managerial geniuses on the line realised a change was needed, so they sent on Willie Reynolds of Clara. At Full Forward. To 'Run' Mick Lyons.

Willie was probably 19 or 20 at this stage and mad keen. He went in and stood beside Lyons down at the Canal End. Anyway after about 30 seconds of watching the ball bouncing around from Meath man to Meath man up in the forwards, Willie takes off at 100 mph over to the Hogan Stand sideline. Mick looks after him.

Willie sheepishly walks back into the square.

Another 2 or 3 minutes pass, and Willie dashes off to the Cusack stand sideline. Mick stands in the square, talking to Mickey McQuillan and looking at Wille over on the sideline, as the ball is kicked over the bar down in the Hill goal. Willie saunters back on over.

Another minute, and Willie gets pissed off, so he stamps on Lyon's foot, trying to enrage him so he'd follow, and tears off towards The Big Tree again. Lyons seems not to notice, and stands there sunning himself. Willie is bulling so he storms back into the middle and starts jostling Lyons. (remember Willie's naive).

Anyway, once he thinks he has at least made Lyon's acknowledge his existence, he runs off towards the Cusack. He makes it about 2 feet when a clothesline from Lyons catches him around the head and lays him out. Panned out on the ground, looking up dazedly into the sunlight.

Next thing a big Meath shadow comes into his eyeline and says
'Would you, for fcuk's sake, ever stand still. You're making me dizzy looking at you.'

Mick Lyons. Respect.