Poppy Watch

Started by Orior, November 04, 2010, 12:36:05 PM

AustinPowers

Quote from: thewobbler on November 02, 2025, 07:53:05 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 02, 2025, 07:35:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 02, 2025, 07:09:53 PMDo German players in the PL wear them?

Not sure. But  Argentine Martinez of  Villa was  wearing one yesterday

Matic never wore a poppy  apparently , and there wasn't a word about  it. But, James McClean......

But James McClean has been a poppy mouthpiece for 15 years.

That's the difference.

Nothing else.

He wasn't. He had to explain himself (unnecessarily ) for a  few years on his poppy stance. And he  did so respectfully.

Some of his  posts since then  admittedly haven't been helpful, but  he gets abused  only because he's Irish and dared to  question the poppy fascism.

As I said, Matic never wore one , but never recall him  getting any abuse.  Why wasn't he hounded by the poppy  fascists?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 29, 2025, 10:15:27 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 29, 2025, 09:45:30 PMThe Westlife lads  not wearing their poppies on BBC tonight

That'll be them banned from  Top of the pops now

Is top of the pops still on?
No but top of the poppies is

When all this poppy shit come into the fball anyway, wasn't round the time of the Iraq war?

AustinPowers

QuoteI know it's nearly Christmas, but I've just  been catching up on  my  sporting podcasts, and this one was  mentioned  on one. Very interesting  read

Interesting to note  that it was Leicester City  who started the  poppy on football shirts and the rest were more  or less shamed into it

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2024/nov/05/has-poppymania-gone-too-far
This will explain @wildweasel74

Truthsayer

Quote from: thewobbler on November 02, 2025, 07:53:05 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 02, 2025, 07:35:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 02, 2025, 07:09:53 PMDo German players in the PL wear them?

Not sure. But  Argentine Martinez of  Villa was  wearing one yesterday

Matic never wore a poppy  apparently , and there wasn't a word about  it. But, James McClean......

But James McClean has been a poppy mouthpiece for 15 years.

That's the difference.

Nothing else.
Be more to do with James being Irish. One person's mouthpiece is another's model of courage and integrity.

tiempo

Its a stupid tax for English Nationalists, when pressed on funding for veterans I think it was David Cameron who basically said 'thats what the poppy appeal is for' after all why should sent to war come back and expect to draw from the same slush fund as the Tories

AustinPowers

Quote from: tiempo on November 03, 2025, 11:13:52 AMIts a stupid tax for English Nationalists, when pressed on funding for veterans I think it was David Cameron who basically said 'thats what the poppy appeal is for' after all why should sent to war come back and expect to draw from the same slush fund as the Tories

Exactly.

I remember there were probably a million or more  who protested in London (and  other cities) against invading  Iraq. How many of those protestors  continue to buy  poppies? A huge amount of them I'd say.

So they're inadvertently supporting war , and paying for  soldiers aftercare sustained in a war they were opposed to.  While the government who sent them there  continue to push the poppy appeal , so they don't have to pay for those soldiers. The  gullible British public do. But most are  probably  too stupid to realise that.

tiempo

Its part of the English condition, the former monarch paid for her pedo sons crimes to be bribed under the carpet, and not a bother on her, born to reign over them as the song goes

Quote from: AustinPowers on November 03, 2025, 12:31:27 PM
Quote from: tiempo on November 03, 2025, 11:13:52 AMIts a stupid tax for English Nationalists, when pressed on funding for veterans I think it was David Cameron who basically said 'thats what the poppy appeal is for' after all why should sent to war come back and expect to draw from the same slush fund as the Tories

Exactly.

I remember there were probably a million or more  who protested in London (and  other cities) against invading  Iraq. How many of those protestors  continue to buy  poppies? A huge amount of them I'd say.

So they're inadvertently supporting war , and paying for  soldiers aftercare sustained in a war they were opposed to.  While the government who sent them there  continue to push the poppy appeal , so they don't have to pay for those soldiers. The  gullible British public do. But most are  probably  too stupid to realise that.

Strip away the fascist poppy agenda and at its core its just charity, and whether we like the poppy shoved in your noses from Sept through to xmas, its just a huge charity organisation that has come about due to the lack of money the Gov has to help with the after effects of people that for their own reasons joined up..

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 03, 2025, 02:33:21 PM

Exactly.

Strip away the fascist poppy agenda and at its core its just charity, and whether we like the poppy shoved in your noses from Sept through to xmas, its just a huge charity organisation that has come about due to the lack of money the Gov has to help with the after effects of people that for their own reasons joined up..

This was always my issue with it MR2, the politics never bothers me much, as I do know some people who wear it for the reasons that it started. However there are the majority over here especially who only wear it to rub it in people's faces.

But my biggest issue is that, its the governments responsibility to fund these services for their ex-service men and women, if they are expecting them to go and fight in their dirty wars, the least they could do is look after them when they get home. Not expect a charity sector to do it for them.

If they had to fund these types of services it might make them think twice about getting involved in places they don't belong.

Does the US fund all medical (physical/mental) problems for its servicemen?

If we step into the UK from, oh lets say Mars and you are walking around and there are lots of people wearing Poppies, you ask in your best Martian what's the craic with all the flowers, well the story has good intentions going back as far as the WW1 and this charity came about to help with the wounded and lost ones during horrific times, and they continued to use it as a tool to help cover the cost through the rest of the wars..

Wars, whether we like it or not, will continue, dirty wars will continue, if (and I'm totally against war) the US and Nato decided ah feck that! These wars are pointless and so on, will everyone follow suit?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 03, 2025, 02:33:21 PM

Exactly.

Well that's  the thing.

Even if the average Brit  supports their servicemen,  do they not see the neglect by their own government looking after said  servicemen?  The poppy appeal has been going 100 years or so , and  was set up for that very reason - government neglect of servicemen.

British politicians  will stand silent, heads bowed  in November, pretending they actually give a f**k, while they and their propaganda  wing  in the BBC , push the  poppy appeal. Meanwhile, "patriotic" Brits continue to  fill that  hole with their  donations.

Have you had that conversation to an actual ex service man? Be interesting to hear their response

I tell you what might be interesting, should an economist try to measure the financial benefits to the Royal British Legion, of having James McClean freely available every year to generate eons of publicity and help "gullible" British people to remember their cause.