Race for the ARAS 2025

Started by Baling Twine, July 07, 2025, 03:19:19 PM

People who'd have a problem with Ms Humphrey's relations' O.O. connections wouldn't have been voting for her anyway.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Something I've copied

Maria Steen, no longer smiling but toting a sky blue Hermes handbag, yours for a mere €25,000, proclaimed outside the Dail the political consensus had never been so out of touch with 'the grassroots'

The jolly old grassroots, where everyone has a €25,000 handbag and wants Maria to represent them

Friends on Liveline said the 'establishment' was so terrified of her they'd rigged the system, and that she didn't enter the race sooner perhaps because she couldn't afford to

The internet (don't sue me Maria, everyone knows how dodgy internet info is) says she's worth €27 million. And the IONA lot (listed in 2022 as a Hate group by he Global Project against Hate and Extremism) according to WIKI have 'charitable status' so pay no tax, get money from Russia, as well as from America's 'Christian' Right, but wherever it comes from they always seem to have bags of it - like the half a million they spent fighting Marriage Equality - they didn't say what they spent fighting the 8th

Ironically, Maria, who's spent years campaigning against women's right to choose is now raging because 'the Irish people' have been refused the right to choose her -

Democracy, hey? It's a bitch ❤️

Louther

It's my opinion that the reason Maria Steen is so popular in social media circles (and lot of people outside that circle are like "Who") is because she wasn't going to get nominated. If she'd been organised months back, got 4 councils backing or 20 members and was in place weeks ago, they'd be not much said from the same circles. But it's another excuse to get at the "establishment"

She is running with this as per yesterday's campaign conceding she would be running. No self reflection on leaving it late.

The bots are backing this now with getting spoil the vote trending in Ireland. Meanwhile 95% of the Irish people will not have the slightest idea what that even is about.

In saying all that, the debates should be enthralling  ;)  ;)

Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2025, 11:08:17 AMPeople who'd have a problem with Ms Humphrey's relations' O.O. connections wouldn't have been voting for her anyway.
Exactly what I thought.
Attack strategies like that don't always succeed. Padraig Flynn's attacks on Mary Robinson's family life backfired in 1990 and boosted her campaign.

Quote from: Easttyrone23 on September 25, 2025, 09:25:45 AM
Quote from: weareros on September 24, 2025, 11:55:05 PMI have decided not the drive the auld Massey Ferguson around the farm anymore, have stopped supporting Liverpool, and no more Guinness for me. All founded by Orangemen. And can't even sing a favourite Elvis Costello song as just discovered on X our flag is not Green, White & Gold. Also to cap it off: have to stop boasting Oscar Wilde's auld lad was from Roscommon. Turns out another feckin Orangeman. Bring back Maria Steen, a nice Catholic girl.

Tell the truth you stopped supporting Liverpool whenever they booed the British national anthem and sang about the death of Maggie thatcher and the queen.

It was a tongue in cheek on how voters may have a problem with a candidate being granddaughter of an Orangeman who signed Ulster covenant but be oblivious that Guinness funded Loyalist gunrunning at Larne. I actually applaud Liverpool for booing the anthem and describing themselves as Scouse instead of British after the way they were treated by establishment. But I won't ignore their anti-Irish history either. I actually don't support any British/UK soccer teams. Always found Irish people calling those teams "we" a bit weird. And it's dreadfully hard to watch 90 mins of that stuff week in and week out. Club championship for me.

Quote from: Main Street on September 25, 2025, 12:08:58 AMNow we have Cathy Connolly who might well condemn the Russian invasion of Ukraine, but disavows the right of Ukrainians to defend themselves against such aggression. Who knew that Catherine was a make love not war aficionado, that the aggressor should be brought to their knees by the power of the offered flower of peace.

It is to Ireland's shame that that we have leading so called socialist minded people, sheep-like rallying around Kremlin (well flogged) narratives.
No, I don't give a free pass to an Irish version of a socialist who says and freely offers well founded  support for an array of  humanitarian causes but one who miserably fails when it comes to not only recognizing  the aggressive threat of Russia to Europe but one who blithely ignores such a threat.

An unfortunate feature of the Irish far-left is how dismissive they are of the lived experience of the small nations living under the shadow (and threat) of Russia. Especially given Ireland's own experience of being suppressed by a big power.
Russia has been a constant menace to several neighbours and oscillates to being low-level nuisance to outright brutaliser.

The chimes about 'Nato warmongering' look even dafter since February 2022. Moreso again in recent weeks as Putin ramps up the provocation of other countries. He knows well that, far from being warmongers, the Nato security assurances for members are paper promises and were never really intended to be acted on. 

Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2025, 11:08:17 AMPeople who'd have a problem with Ms Humphrey's relations' O.O. connections wouldn't have been voting for her anyway.
Or maybe those voting for her were going to do so regardless of any connections to the OO.
T'is all about how you word it.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2025, 11:34:35 PMHer husband isn't standing for election.

He will likely live in the Aras and have official duties.

Not unreasonable to know if the fella still doesn't recognise the office

Baile Brigín 2

Yes, but she will require transfers from Gavin. And they might well reduce on this basis.

But the problem isn't the OO piece per say. It's her refusal to answer the question by directing the press to 'ask him', while him locked himself in a toilet. Peak FG and points to shite campaign management.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 25, 2025, 01:18:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2025, 11:34:35 PMHer husband isn't standing for election.

Sounds like he has no plans to move in if she wins, but not for any nefarious reasons:

'The land has to come first' — Heather's farmer husband rules out move to Áras if she is elected

FG candidate talks Gaza, a united Ireland and the Orange Order

NIAMH HORAN

The husband of presidential hopeful Heather Humphreys has said he will continue to live on the farm and tend to his cattle if she is elected president.
Speaking exclusively to the Sunday Independent yesterday, Eric Humphreys was emphatic that the farm comes first.
"The reality of farming is that when a cow needs calving — even if the Christmas dinner is on the table — the calf has to come first. That's the reality of life as a farmer."
Mr Humphreys said "the land needs me" and added "when I leave the land, I'll be dead".
He was speaking to the Sunday Independent at Monaghan Peace Campus, where his wife launched her presidential campaign yesterday. He vowed to support Ms Humphreys when he is needed if she's elected president in late October.
"I won't be found wanting. When Heather needs me, I'll be there. I have been for the last 40 years," he said. "She was reared on a farm. No one understands it better than Heather."
Asked who would mind the farm while he is in the Áras, he said: "I have very good neighbours."
He added that he works six days a week on the farm and on Sundays "when work needs to be done" and is on the land "from 7am until dark".
Mr Humphreys said Jim Sheridan's The Field, written by John B Keane, is his favourite film as it illustrates how "the reality" of farming is that "the land has to come first".
On his attachment to the land, he said "it's very hard to explain. Most people wouldn't understand... but I've been a farmer all my life".
He has a farm with 35 cattle on 100 acres of land in Co Monaghan.
Ms Humphreys was asked at a press briefing if her husband is a member of the Orange Order, and whether she has attended any loyalist parades.
"I attended parades with my parents and it was a family day out, it was a cultural day. And when the Troubles started, people were concerned and I didn't go then after that," she said.
Asked if her husband is a member of the Orange Order, she said: "Not that I'm aware of. You'll have to ask him that, but no, he's not a member."
On Gaza, Ms Humphreys said: "Can I say, what's happening in Gaza is absolutely horrific. I look at the television and I see parents carrying their children wrapped in white sheets to bury them. I see people who are maimed. I see people who are starving.
"What's going on in Gaza is wrong. The fighting needs to stop, there needs to be a ceasefire, there needs to be aid let into that country so people can get fed and the hostages need to be released."
She added that she wanted to see a united Ireland. "I'm committed to that, but only through working with people and bringing them together."
Ms Humphreys has said she wants to use the Irish presidency to "facilitate reconciliation and understanding".
The Fine Gael candidate said: "I put myself forward conscious of those who have served with such distinction before me and I do not pretend to be perfect.
"I want to bring my life experience and the values that have shaped me as a person to the office of the president.
"My own story is living proof that regardless of your background, Ireland is a country of opportunity," she said.
Tánaiste Simon Harris said Ms Humphreys was a "Presbyterian republican showing us all what true republicanism means".

Look at all that grass for grasing!

Who ever said he doesn't recognise the office???

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2025, 01:45:29 PM

Who ever said he doesn't recognise the office???
The Orange Order doesn't recognise the Republic. He was in the Orange Order. So it's a legitimate question- when did he leave it and why.

??
When did they say that?

Last I heard from the Donegal Grand Master or whatever his title is, was "we are loyal citizens of the Reoublic of Ireland"
Any of them born in the 26 Counties after 1949 are Irish citizens and aren't entitled to Brit citizenship.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2025, 02:42:59 PM??
When did they say that?

Last I heard from the Donegal Grand Master or whatever his title is, was "we are loyal citizens of the Reoublic of Ireland"
Any of them born in the 26 Counties after 1949 are Irish citizens and aren't entitled to Brit citizenship.
Are you seriously asking me if the OO are unionist?