All Ireland Championship 2025.

Started by Blowitupref, April 27, 2025, 06:12:46 PM

tyrone08

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 29, 2025, 12:59:09 AMAs a neutral can I ask an honest question of GAA board contributers.

Why do the majority have a disliking for Jim Mcguinness.

Any time I hear the man talk I find him to be mannerly, articulate and an interesting character; never takes the praise himself always puts it on the players and supporters. Stands up for his own and is incredibly proud of where he is from.

Compare him to Davy Fits or even Damien Duff a character who alot of people like. He's the opposite is always blowing his own trumpet and questioning his players.

I know who'd I'd rather have.

Probably cause when hes winning hes full of smiles and fake gratitude. When hes losing he is blaming everyone and everything for being against donegal

Delgany 2nds

Quote from: tyrone08 on June 29, 2025, 01:01:58 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 28, 2025, 10:48:50 PMColdrick let too much go in the second half. Bad decision making from the Dublin forwards but the ref 100% favoured Tyrone.

Assume you missed all the decisions benefiting dublin in first half?

He was equally bad for both teams which had no overall impact on a poor game.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: tyrone08 on June 29, 2025, 01:06:10 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 29, 2025, 12:59:09 AMAs a neutral can I ask an honest question of GAA board contributers.

Any time I hear the man talk I find him to be mannerly, articulate and an interesting character; never takes the praise himself always puts it on the players and supporters. Stands up for his own and is incredibly proud of where he is from.

Compare him to Davy Fits or even Damien Duff a character who alot of people like. He's the opposite is always blowing his own trumpet and questioning his players.

Probably cause when hes winning hes full of smiles and fake gratitude. When hes losing he is blaming everyone and everything for being against donegal

Can't remember him doing much complaining after Galway beat them last year?

Dunneroyal

I personally like him. I do think he gets a lot of stick probably from the style of football he introduced in his first term but none of it was against any rules etc. was it pretty? No was it entertaining? Only if you into snm. Was it effective? Too bloody right it was.
So I think that's where majority come from. But let's be honest the man knows his stuff and is probably the best manager around at the moment with regards to how his players respond
Hon the royal

Quote from: trileacman on June 29, 2025, 12:33:37 AMI thought McGeary was excellent. Good 2-pointer and did a lot of trojan work in defence. Kicked one free straight to touch but I don't remember the other instances of him losing possession. One of the few players to have a good 1st and 2nd half. Thought Morgan was in the running for MOTM too or Teague who got nailed by a blow to the head but never tired.
Thought Morgan was strong yesterday as well. Has got to grips with the new kick outs now, and despite a lack of runners is hitting them well. Good to see.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: trileacman on June 29, 2025, 12:33:37 AMI thought McGeary was excellent. Good 2-pointer and did a lot of trojan work in defence. Kicked one free straight to touch but I don't remember the other instances of him losing possession. One of the few players to have a good 1st and 2nd half. Thought Morgan was in the running for MOTM too or Teague who got nailed by a blow to the head but never tired.
Would agree with you there on all points. If you watch it back you can see McGeary pulled up just before he took that free that went over the sideline. Someone on here said Morgan was poor today? Must be watching a different game. Got majority of his kickouts away and some good ones into the pockets on a bad day to likes of Kilpatrick

tyrone08

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 29, 2025, 02:54:33 AM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 29, 2025, 01:06:10 AM

Can't remember him doing much complaining after Galway beat them last year?

Talking about this year. You must be living under a rock if you havent noticed him giving out this year.

tiempo

Dublin put out of their misery

Hope for 4 Ulster semi finalists at close of play this evening

Tyrone don't really look like All Ireland winners but they might take another scalp yet, McCurry won't be as poor the next day

2 weeks is an awful long wait for the next game  :-X

Quote from: tiempo on June 29, 2025, 08:52:47 AMDublin put out of their misery

Hope for 4 Ulster semi finalists at close of play this evening

Tyrone don't really look like All Ireland winners but they might take another scalp yet, McCurry won't be as poor the next day

2 weeks is an awful long wait for the next game  :-X

Only if Meath or Galway move up the road!  ;D

Grace Murphy

Quote from: thebigfullforward on June 29, 2025, 08:20:48 AM
Would agree with you there on all points. If you watch it back you can see McGeary pulled up just before he took that free that went over the sideline. Someone on here said Morgan was poor today? Must be watching a different game. Got majority of his kickouts away and some good ones into the pockets on a bad day to likes of Kilpatrick

Mcgeary made a bad decision at a crucial time trying a flick up instead of a normal pick up. Could have cost Tyrone the game mucker

WT4E

Quote from: knockitdown on June 28, 2025, 08:50:30 PMhttps://x.com/m_brosnan/status/1939020490951270774?s=48&t=2VlRuG4vJ-fcIX2gPs3ZfQ

Is it just me overthinking it but what i took from this was the unnatural amount of times he said when Tyrone beat us. Trying to start the mentality of having to exact revenge on Tyrone again to win All Ireland.

It's often talked about how good it is to play in Croke Park and how often it lends itself to a better quality game. Being close to pitch side yesterday its unreal what a heavy shower of rain can do to the surface versus a regional ground.

The turf is so firm in Croker that surface was like ice, genuinely think the quality of the Tyrone v Dublin game nosedived because of it. You'd swear the players were wearing trainers rather than boots, serious number of touches on the ground given were a player slipped in the act of the toe lift, a lot of the time under little pressure.

Quote from: omagh_gael on June 29, 2025, 10:07:07 AMIt's often talked about how good it is to play in Croke Park and how often it lends itself to a better quality game. Being close to pitch side yesterday its unreal what a heavy shower of rain can do to the surface versus a regional ground.

The turf is so firm in Croker that surface was like ice, genuinely think the quality of the Tyrone v Dublin game nosedived because of it. You'd swear the players were wearing trainers rather than boots, serious number of touches on the ground given were a player slipped in the act of the toe lift, a lot of the time under little pressure.

Clearly it affected the quality. Even in the last ten minutes of Donegal-Monaghan, there were a few handling errors and slips once the rain started.

EoinW

Thank goodness for this message board!  It'd be terrible to see all the Jim McGuinness & David Coldrick haters homeless.

Armagh Girl

Best of luck to Geezer and the boys today, you can do it - come on Armagh 🧡