Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

Quote from: greatpoint on May 12, 2025, 02:48:47 PM
Quote from: naka on May 12, 2025, 02:28:50 PM
Quote from: mackers on May 12, 2025, 01:40:44 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 12, 2025, 01:01:20 PM
Quote from: naka on May 12, 2025, 09:35:58 AMOn suspensions it will be both sides getting them and if videos are correct it should be Armagh reserves and mc faddrn  ferry ( his choice language if what is being said is quite the comment )
Tyrone and Derry will be content

I only saw a video that I couldn't make out players from but seemed to be all Armagh doing the punching. What did Donegal players do to warrant suspension? Genuine question by the way....only saw some videos doing the rounds and what was on tv.

What was said is the usual shite that comes from a 26 county team playing a 6 county team. Given he run in front of a defeated opposition dugout he run the risk of getting what he got.  I've been told that the player in question is a member of the Irish Armed Forces and I know for a fact that he was heavily involved in similar verbals in the row in Letterkenny a few years back.
was obvious that when mc  fadden ferry was calling them british ....... that  a guy from south armagh would correct him

How was that obvious? Seems unlikely a native speaker from the Gaeltacht would say something like that.

Does this claim have any basis whatsoever or is it just further deflection from the violence?
Yeah. Similar stories about that bastard from the previous row with Donegal as well. Didn't box him hard enough.

Quote from: naka on May 12, 2025, 09:35:58 AMOn suspensions it will be both sides getting them and if videos are correct it should be Armagh reserves and mc faddrn  ferry ( his choice language if what is being said is quite the comment )

I only saw a video that I couldn't make out players from but seemed to be all Armagh doing the punching. What did Donegal players do to warrant suspension? Genuine question by the way....only saw some videos doing the rounds and what was on tv.

What was said is the usual shite that comes from a 26 county team playing a 6 county team. Given he run in front of a defeated opposition dugout he run the risk of getting what he got.  I've been told that the player in question is a member of the Irish Armed Forces and I know for a fact that he was heavily involved in similar verbals in the row in Letterkenny a few years back.
was obvious that when mc  fadden ferry was calling them british ....... that  a guy from south armagh would correct him

How was that obvious? Seems unlikely a native speaker from the Gaeltacht would say something like that.

Does this claim have any basis whatsoever or is it just further deflection from the violence?
There'll be stewards that can act as independent witnesses. We'll see what comes out in the investigation. If correct he should get a suspension that matches any given to anyone throwing digs. 

What the difference on McFerry acting the p***k to McQuillan on the goalkeeper?  No need for it in the game. As far as I can see, 2 Armagh men striking plus 1 rugby tackling u man to the ground. This craic has never went out of Armagh going bck to Kierans tenure at the start, with the Cavan parade.leading on to Tyrone league game, Galway couple yrs ago and sats game. Where the overall team Displince at?

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2025, 02:59:32 PMWhat the difference on McFerry acting the p***k to McQuillan on the goalkeeper? No need for it in the game. As far as I can see, 2 Armagh men striking plus 1 rugby tackling u man to the ground. This craic has never went out of Armagh going bck to Kierans tenure at the start, with the Cavan parade.leading on to Tyrone league game, Galway couple yrs ago and sats game. Where the overall team Displince at?
The answer to that is staring you in the face. Your obvious dislike for Armagh is blinding you here. You post more on Armagh than you do Derry FFS.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2025, 02:59:32 PMWhat the difference on McFerry acting the p***k to McQuillan on the goalkeeper?  No need for it in the game. As far as I can see, 2 Armagh men striking plus 1 rugby tackling u man to the ground. This craic has never went out of Armagh going bck to Kierans tenure at the start, with the Cavan parade.leading on to Tyrone league game, Galway couple yrs ago and sats game. Where the overall team Displince at?

nothing you need to worry about

greatpoint

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 02:51:15 PM

Yeah. Similar stories about that bastard from the previous row with Donegal as well. Didn't box him hard enough.

So no basis at all then? Sure if we're just basing it on things that have apparently happened in the past then Armagh have plenty of previous in terms of violence on the pitch. Doesn't seem to require someone saying something upsetting to get them going. 

How did they manage to control themselves a few years ago and not on Saturday?

Justifying violence in response to words really isn't a good look lads, I'm sorry.

Ah, got you.
Hate that crap and its a disgrace. Is there a rule that means players can get suspended for that? If not, there should be.
I do disagree with you though about the part where he can "run the risk of getting what he got". Should never be that risk on a football field, no matter what.

as i said a few  will get suspensions

both teams have hard games coming up and both Tyrone and Derry will be happy enough where they sit going into the game.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2025, 02:59:32 PMWhat the difference on McFerry acting the p***k to McQuillan on the goalkeeper?  No need for it in the game. As far as I can see, 2 Armagh men striking plus 1 rugby tackling u man to the ground. This craic has never went out of Armagh going bck to Kierans tenure at the start, with the Cavan parade.leading on to Tyrone league game, Galway couple yrs ago and sats game. Where the overall team Displince at?
Say theres a difference in a player in the middle of the game trying to get into a keepers head and put him under pressure and a tr**p calling fellow Irish men Brits. Couldn't bate him hard enough.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 12:23:28 PM
Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on May 12, 2025, 12:14:44 PMNo prizes for guessing the name of the club that so-called fans who caused the trouble in the Topaz are attached to. County board needs to take action as it's always the same culprits.
Kilcoo?

I did see a sheep  being thrown all right

Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on May 12, 2025, 12:14:44 PMNo prizes for guessing the name of the club that so-called fans who caused the trouble in the Topaz are attached to. County board needs to take action as it's always the same culprits.

I might be missing the obvious here

Calling someone Brits,? you men not play Monaghan before.It's the standard line from them, foreby taking the Queens pound.

Galway game last year, and number of supporters (not young either) there British bastard this, and that. when  McKinless got send off, and no i didn't let it go either, but u wonder what down Souths general attitude is to the wee 6, then this is a standard line from them.

greatpoint

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 03:16:13 PM
Say theres a difference in a player in the middle of the game trying to get into a keepers head and put him under pressure and a tr**p calling fellow Irish men Brits. Couldn't bate him hard enough.

So your argument boils down to if someone believes the words are mean enough then assault is a justified response? No surprise we saw that on Saturday if that's the mentality held by some. Puzzling.

Quote from: greatpoint on May 12, 2025, 03:40:31 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 03:16:13 PM

So your argument boils down to if someone believes the words are mean enough then assault is a justified response? No surprise we saw that on Saturday if that's the mentality held by some. Puzzling.
Yep. Big problem in the world is that a lot of people seem to think they can say and do what they like with no repercussions. Sometimes a belt in the jaw is not only justified but badly needed.