Booze at GAA games

Started by Truth hurts, May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AM

general

Fine where i was - i had a bagpack with me for the wee lad with sweeties, crisps and capri suns etc but i was very surprised i was able to dander right up from the town past the garda and stewards without having to open it up for inspection. was loose enough.

saying that - i think it was isolated incidents - take 28k + to clones the bars are going to stock up and make their day of it also. the town was busy and for the whole was a good days craic with plenty of mixing of both supporters.

a minority as usual

Yeah a minority surely, don't think it really warrants that much discussion. 2023 I remember bag searches even before you were walking up to the ground, there was a lot of talk about flares that year which is what they were focussing on.

I had a bag with me too, water bottles, sambos etc.  The bag has 3 sections.  They checked 1. Maybe I'm just not one to be concerned about.

I stood on the hill for a few mins after the game and let the crowd disperse a little before I attempted to leave. Bottles of drink everywhere. Big wine bottles, Whiskey, Vodka etc. It clearly isnt hard to get stuff in if you want too.

donelli

Its not the bag searches (or lack of)that is the problem.
unfortunately the issue with this carry on is lads 'on the bag'.
turns them into obnoxious pricks

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think there was no public sale of tickets for the UF?
Were the various drunken dickheads Club members then?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Truth hurts on May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AMAt the weekend there we seen fights in Clones ad fights on the Hill. What can we do to stop young ones congregating to matches full of Drink and drugs acting like soccer hooligans.
What soccer did to stop it happening there.

Arrests and bans. Expulsion from the association if members.

Is the will there to admit there is a problem and have scenes of riot cops snatching folk from games?

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 12, 2025, 12:55:11 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AMAt the weekend there we seen fights in Clones ad fights on the Hill. What can we do to stop young ones congregating to matches full of Drink and drugs acting like soccer hooligans.

Is the will there to admit there is a problem and have scenes of riot cops snatching folk from games?
No. its not that big a deal

reddgnhand

Come on is the problem really that big. Take the weekend if you were to replicate it with England there would be carnage. No segregation in a soccer ground. We really put ourselves down in this country. Hooliganism in England is organised. Do you think the lads fighting yesterday left home with the intent to get involved in a public scrap?

Quote from: reddgnhand on May 12, 2025, 01:28:38 PM

Come on is the problem really that big. Take the weekend if you were to replicate it with England there would be carnage. No segregation in a soccer ground. We really put ourselves down in this country. Hooliganism in England is organised. Do you think the lads fighting yesterday left home with the intent to get involved in a public scrap?

Don't feed the troll lads.

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

There could be an issue if not stamped on quickly though - but all this would take is McGeeney and McGuinness (or a couple of big name players) to do a public interview calling out the knobheads for acting like knobheads

Maybe soccer fans are acting like gaelic hooligans?

Well if pubs open at 12, and games early at 2pm would cut out alot of it. U can't stop drinking on buses [though u not supposed to now, up North]

Segregation is frowned upon when suggested but personally think for big games it makes perfect sense and would create a better atmosphere. All Ireland final day used to be one got the hill the other the canal end and it worked just fine and looked a better spectacle in the context of colour etc

Social media has made a lot more people angrier..... Stay with me on this.
In the old days - you lost - you could drift off into your own world.
Now you are bombarded with various garbage online - Bottlers, losers etc after a loss.
Memes comparing your team/county.

Look at the past week - Louth people repeatedly asked about 2010 before and even after the game.
Even in triumph there was some media looking to open old wounds and hoping for a story.
Winning has become the only way to curtail this and losing (even in heroic fashion) leaves you open to goading even from players on the pitch.

As Paudi said
"It takes a good man to take his beating, but it takes a better man whose a winner to keep it inside and hold his head"

Quote from: larryin89 on May 12, 2025, 03:30:58 PMSegregation is frowned upon when suggested but personally think for big games it makes perfect sense and would create a better atmosphere. All Ireland final day used to be one got the hill the other the canal end and it worked just fine and looked a better spectacle in the context of colour etc

This arrangement was introduced in 1977 in the Dublin-Armagh final, as the whole Hill thing had started with Heffo's army, and there had been fights etc there, and it was felt that some of the Armagh supporters were not shrinking violets.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Drugs are a problem in society these days. Ds to be tackled in general. Not just at GAA games