Leinster Senior Football Championship 2025

Started by Shamrock Shore, March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AM

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AMIt's almost on us.

(cue some Sky Sports whooshes)

Does anyone care?

We'll be hockeyed by Wicklow Sun week. Wicklow will then be ate by the Dubs in Aughrim.

I'm bored with it all.

I've read your posts for many years on GAA Board, but this is a very sad post.

For me, I'd like to ressurect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.

Quote from: Orior on March 31, 2025, 11:10:09 PM

Does anyone care?

We'll be hockeyed by Wicklow Sun week. Wicklow will then be ate by the Dubs in Aughrim.

I'm bored with it all.

For me, I'd like to resurrect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.

Feck me Orior. no way split Dublin. 4 behemoths instead of one. GAA is massive in capital. The fantasy 'Dun Laoghaire Rathdown' team on its own would give Leinster a good rattle.

I can handle despair. It's the little seeds of hope that kill you.

TBH being a Longford ultra gives me a certain respect in GAA circles here in Dublin. People nod heads...........there's yer man...........no hope...........still goes to all the games.........

Or else they think I'm a class of a simple bollix.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2025, 07:22:47 AM

Does anyone care?

I'm bored with it all.

For me, I'd like to resurrect the split Dublin idea with either a North Dub and South Dub, or Dub City and Dub County.

Feck me Orior. no way split Dublin. 4 behemoths instead of one. GAA is massive in capital. The fantasy 'Dun Laoghaire Rathdown' team on its own would give Leinster a good rattle.

TBH being a Longford ultra gives me a certain respect in GAA circles here in Dublin. People nod heads...........there's yer man...........no hope...........still goes to all the games.........

It's definitely the former sir!

Then they abolished the O'Byrne cup on ye.....
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

mup

Quote from: armaghniac on March 31, 2025, 08:47:31 PM
Quote from: mup on March 31, 2025, 06:02:02 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 28, 2025, 11:49:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.

Ulster teams and the likes of Roscommon don't yap about unfair advantages, they put the heads down and maximise what they have.

Kildare haven't won the AI in nearly 100 years and still have twice as many as Armagh.

Perhaps previous generations in Kildare were of more use. However, your comment understates the challenges of playing GAA in the 6 counties in the past.

Indeed. Two of Kildares titles were pre 1922. Challenging is right.

mup

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 28, 2025, 07:54:36 PMWhat Kildare and Meath excuse with bigger populations than say teams like Roscommon, Monaghan, etc.
Balls.

Ulster teams and the likes of Roscommon don't yap about unfair advantages, they put the heads down and maximise what they have.

Kildare haven't won the AI in nearly 100 years and still have twice as many as Armagh.
Fairly embarrassing for Kildare given the population difference and the fact about half of what we do have wouldn't be too GAA inclined. And the fact we were abit busy with the Brits up here for most of the GAA's existence

We were busy with the Brits pre 1922 as well.

Kildares population have huge interest in rugby and horse racing. As well as a decent percentage being Dubs.

Kildare and Meath used to draw teams from rural towns and villages years ago. The big commuter towns are a more recent phenomenon.

Dublin have a head start on them in getting people engaged in GAA in places that are anonymous and with less identity.
Meath used to thrive off an identity of being tough and (cave)manly. That's a harder sell in a commuter town where everyone speaks with a Dub accent.

Quote from: trileacman on March 31, 2025, 09:12:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 31, 2025, 08:56:04 PM
Balls.

Fairly embarrassing for Kildare given the population difference and the fact about half of what we do have wouldn't be too GAA inclined. And the fact we were abit busy with the Brits up here for most of the GAA's existence

If population is all that matters then Antrim are the GAAs greatest failures.

But it isn't and your just on the WUM.

Kildare has more people than the useful population of Antrim and a less challenging environment.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

onefineday

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2025, 07:22:47 AM

Does anyone care?

I'm bored with it all.

You're right, and I can't understand how dubs don't get this, the huge numbers involved in underage gaelic football in Dublin mean that splitting Dublin (which I'm totally in favour of) would result in 3/4/5 teams equal in strength to the current team. I hear you though, it wouldn't improve longford's lot or chances of adding to that Leinster haul, but at least we'd have a third provincial championship worth tuning into.

Kildare haven't been a strong football County for 90 plus years.

Meath on the other hand went from a glorious 16 years to being a bang average at best mid ranking County for the next 24 years.

The only question about this year's Leinster SFC is who will Dublin play in the Final and what effect that will have on the Sam/TC lineup.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Its a real shame Offaly most likely will have to play Tailteann cup this year given Clares munster draw.

Will definitely fancy their chances at winning it though.

The Boy Wonder

In fairness to Clare they were denied promotion on score difference despite beating the 2 promoted teams - Kildare and Offaly.

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on April 02, 2025, 06:11:48 PMIn fairness to Clare they were denied promotion on score difference despite beating the 2 promoted teams - Kildare and Offaly.
Fait enough.

I think a fairer way for a 3 way tie breaker is a mini league between the 3 teams and if they've all won one lost one then only take into consideration score difference in the games between the 3.

Louther

A wee moan.

Leinster and the provincials all "launched" this week. We get a few journos invited to various locations including the Gaints Causeway, few token soundbites given and few stock photos that could be 2025, 2015 or whenever.

Year in, year out, different competitions, same launch - player X in county jersey sitting in stand or on pitch togged out with cup/cup/ball/hurley etc.

When are the GAA going to actually think outside the box and come up with something different that might actually build a talking point particularly, get a marketing campaign that goes viral, go after the TicTok youth market, create something.

It mightn't generate much of the older generation but you'd be surprised and the youth need to be engaged to get wanting to attend games.

Rant over. Insert photo of Sam Mulroy with Delaney Cup here.