New York

Started by illdecide, January 04, 2008, 10:47:14 AM

If they are over for a few days only Id say avoid travelling to Bronx or Queens for a pub.
There are plenty around Manhattan.

If they stay in that hotel on Washington Sq they are a short dander from some decent places.

FL/MAYO

Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
If they are over for a few days only Id say avoid travelling to Bronx or Queens for a pub.
There are plenty around Manhattan.

If they stay in that hotel on Washington Sq they are a short dander from some decent places.

I agree, why would you go to New York to hang out in an Irish bar in Queens or the Bronx, we laugh at the Brits going abroad and refusing to eat nothing bit fish & chips when we do something similar like hang out in Irish bars when abroad.

if there's some game on that you must see- football/ Hurling Fiona's 88th and 1st , rugby baker street 63rd and 1st and soccer Nevada Smiths on 3rd between 11th and 12th. But seriously whats the point in going to nyc and only hanging around in Irish bars?

Quote from: heganboy on January 09, 2008, 02:47:51 PM
if there's some game on that you must see- football/ Hurling Fiona's 88th and 1st , rugby baker street 63rd and 1st and soccer Nevada Smiths on 3rd between 11th and 12th. But seriously whats the point in going to nyc and only hanging around in Irish bars?

I ask my friends that all the time

4 exiles thinking the same thing. Interesting. :-\

Wll lads if they are like the irish bars at home the will be fecking empty it aint what it used to be >:(

miss mess

The pubs out in queens are like home from home.  The Irish bars in the city surprisingly enough havent that many Irish people drinking in them.  Most of the bar staff are Irish and they are the best guides you'll get.

Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 04:03:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2008, 03:53:45 PM
4 exiles thinking the same thing. Interesting. :-\
eh?

I think the point Puck is trying to make is what's the point in leaving Ireland for another country if all you do is sit in an Irish pub every weekend with other Irish people

well I know thats the point I was making- not sure if Puck agrees or disagrees? Puck?

ye the four lads who are living in the states stated that they couldn't understand the irish heading to irish bars when they went to New York

The last Irish bar I was in outside of Manhattan was the Kilmegan Arms in Queens. I dont think its there anymore....it was like walking into Gormans in Mayobridge. I knew every second person in it....as well as that everybody was flat out smoking (despite the ban being in force for years in NYC), boys sitting at the bar hammered in their work clothes and the odd row breaking out in the corner....just like home.

On the other hand as someone else said above... the Irish Bars in Manhattan are full of yanks lettin on they're Irish.

Dont get me wrong fellas, a bit of irishness and familiarity is great, especially when the homesickness hits in a little bit. I just dont get the people on holidays, or there for a couple of months who cant think outside the irish box. Irish food, drink, clubs, pubs. Experience a little. I seem to be looked at funny by the irish clique here for stepping away from them just a little. That said, I make a little money from playing irish music in an irish bar... Anyways, thats all I have to say about that before I get lambasted.

Oh, and people who go to the chinese and order a steak. I dont get that one either.

got ye now puckoon;)

I agree with you there.
When im in NY I dont tend to hit the irish bars much (apart from Ulysses round the corner from work, Puck Fair with its late night lock ins and Bua on st Marks Place which doesnt seem remotely like and irish bar)

Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2008, 04:15:56 PM
Dont get me wrong fellas, a bit of irishness and familiarity is great, especially when the homesickness hits in a little bit. I just dont get the people on holidays, or there for a couple of months who cant think outside the irish box. Irish food, drink, clubs, pubs. Experience a little. I seem to be looked at funny by the irish clique here for stepping away from them just a little. That said, I make a little money from playing irish music in an irish bar... Anyways, thats all I have to say about that before I get lambasted.

Oh, and people who go to the chinese and order a steak. I dont get that one either.

what instrument do you play puckoon?