Championship Draw 2008 - Official Thread

Started by Barney, October 14, 2007, 01:29:17 PM

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:34:11 PM
I'm not too happy with the draw,I would have preferred us to be in Dublin's side of the draw as i think Kildare and Meath are going to be tough this year.Actually my money would be on Meath to win Leinster year

Good man LL, knew you wouldnt let the side down!  ;)

Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:19:07 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:34:11 PM
I'm not too happy with the draw,I would have preferred us to be in Dublin's side of the draw as i think Kildare and Meath are going to be tough this year.Actually my money would be on Meath to win Leinster year

Good man LL, knew you wouldnt let the side down!  ;)

Im not sure i get ya?

Yeah you do!
Lets just say you were never going to say you were glad to avoid the Dubs  ;)

The time to play the Dubs is as early as possible when they've shown they're there for the taking. Anyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs - Louth and if the Dubs play anywhere near 60% it'll be Louth in the semi...

Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:31:40 PM
Yeah you do!

No honestly i would have preferred to have been in Dublins side of the draw,I don't think we were that far off in the Leinster Final.
I can't see us getting to final next year now with the way the draw has worked out

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:40:37 PM
Yeah you do!

No honestly i would have preferred to have been in Dublins side of the draw,I don't think we were that far off in the Leinster Final.
I can't see us getting to final next year now with the way the draw has worked out

So you reckon you would have a better chance against the Dubs than against Meath or Kildare?
Based on the last two years that surprises me but sure its all about opinion and I know you long enough on this site to never expect you to give the Dubs credit  ;)

I do think Meath will be the biggest challengers to Dublins throne this year, but there are several teams capable of doing it.

Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:47:56 PM
Yeah you do!

So you reckon you would have a better chance against the Dubs than against Meath or Kildare?
Based on the last two years that surprises me but sure its all about opinion and I know you long enough on this site to never expect you to give the Dubs credit  ;)

I do think Meath will be the biggest challengers to Dublins throne this year, but there are several teams capable of doing it.

As i said i would have preferred to be in Dublins side of the draw.
I see next year as a bit of a transition year for Laois but i also think we would need no more motivation for playing them than to watch last seasons Leinster Final..Laois were not that far off Dublin despite what anyone says..
As you say it's all about opinion  :)

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:55:11 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:47:56 PM
Yeah you do!

As i said i would have preferred to be in Dublins side of the draw.
I see next year as a bit of a transition year for Laois but i also think we would need no more motivation for playing them than to watch last seasons Leinster Final..Laois were not that far off Dublin despite what anyone says..
As you say it's all about opinion  :)
Did you say that before this years Leinster final ?

QuoteAnyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs

Really Croi? You expect to be in the semi, or just hope? I'm not that pleased with the draw, because Longford will have a tough game under them when they play Offaly, but if Offaly have any self respect whatsoever they will at least put in the effort in the Gym and the muck and sh1te this year, unlike last year. If they do, they can come as close as anybody in Leinster to the Dubs.

I'm pleased enough with that draw AZ; we'll have a game under our belts, without having to peak, and will be ready for youse Biffs.  A bit like this year - we should have beaten Laois on our second day out.

Is it our turn or your turn to travel?

Must be yers. Have we played ye since '93?

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 15, 2007, 02:59:39 PM
QuoteAnyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs

Really Croi? You expect to be in the semi, or just hope? I'm not that pleased with the draw, because Longford will have a tough game under them when they play Offaly, but if Offaly have any self respect whatsoever they will at least put in the effort in the Gym and the muck and sh1te this year, unlike last year. If they do, they can come as close as anybody in Leinster to the Dubs.

Maybe I've been living beside the Jackeens for too long but I would expect us to make the semi. After what happened last year in de second half there should be no room for error against de Slashers. Add that to the fact that we haven't won a Leinster Champ game for the last four years no stone should be left unturned. I suppose a lot will depend on injuries etc but all being well I'd expect us to win. Most of the team will be in or around their prime and should be fired up. We'll have a Div 2 campaign behind us (hopefully a successful one) wheras yous will only have a Div 4 and will be coming in cold against us.

It's written in de stars I tells ya...  ;)

QuoteHave we played ye since '93?

Don't think so - I'll defer to Shamrock Shore's anorak knowledge though!  ;)

QuoteI would expect us to make the semi

Quotewe haven't won a Leinster Champ game for the last four years

You need to go back on the tablets Croi!  ;)

My Predictions for Provincial winners

Leinster - Meath
Connacht - Galway
Munster - Cork
Ulster - Derry