Gambling left Oisin Mc Conville with debts of £100,000

Started by Balboa, September 18, 2007, 11:12:03 AM

new devil

Heard a story in volding MC conville,MC Entee twins and geezer few years back..wonder is that in the book  :P

downtown

Quote from: new devil on September 21, 2007, 12:13:55 AM
Heard a story in volding MC conville,MC Entee twins and geezer few years back..wonder is that in the book  :P

Fill us in Devil!!

longball

Quote from: downtown on September 21, 2007, 10:31:18 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

Downtown i heard of this story as well but i posted it to this asking if it wud be in the book and my post was edited  :-\ >:(
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

downtown

Quote from: longball on September 21, 2007, 11:19:01 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

Downtown i heard of this story as well but i posted it to this asking if it wud be in the book and my post was edited  :-\ >:(

Fair enuf... jus gona have 2 read the book now!! ;)

The Subbie

Quote from: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 11:39:45 AM
He does drywalling, he's busy at the minute as well.

He worked as a brickie before that, was a Sales rep before that, and he started out as a claims handler.

He sold phones for charlie mc guinness in Monaghan as well

QuoteWill anyone, other than Armagh fans, actually have any interest in this book?

I'd say you will 5iveTimes, you'll be looking for ammo for some anti-Armagh postings!
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: The Subbie on September 21, 2007, 06:08:25 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 11:39:45 AM
He does drywalling, he's busy at the minute as well.

He worked as a brickie before that, was a Sales rep before that, and he started out as a claims handler.

He sold phones for charlie mc guinness in Monaghan as well

That's what I meant by sales rep

Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 21, 2007, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 21, 2007, 06:19:27 PM
QuoteWill anyone, other than Armagh fans, actually have any interest in this book?

I'd say you will 5iveTimes, you'll be looking for ammo for some anti-Armagh postings!

My gripe with Armagh is more with their fans than their players. The players seem to be a decent bunch of lads (mostly) and with Big Joe they got their rewards in 2002. If I had wanted "ammo" I could have posted the various rumours involving Oisin, but the lad has problems and needs help, not abuse.
I just dont think it would be a very intersting book and I for one will not be buying it.

Right enough! and of course every player on the Down squad are lilly white and always have been, none of them have ever had   questionable character  :-\

You dont think it would be interesting? you cannot be that interested in gaelic games then, I buy a lot of GAA related books and at last count I had 31 of them and I will certainly buy this one when it comes out.

Like him or loathe him, McConville has been one of the top players in the country for the past decade and I am sure it will be an interesting read like most of them are.

Cloc Mor

Dont talk shit Stew.  I dont want to buy a book to pay of his debts cause he couldn't show self restraint.  Name me any one Down player who has put themselves in a similar position like him, with £100,000 of debts built up because he couldn't say no.  I have no sympathy for him.

new devil

Quote from: longball on September 21, 2007, 11:19:01 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

LB id say were both talking along the same lines but i didn't see your posts....couldn't see the MC Entees giving him a beaten thou! Should be a good read...were on line could you but it?

Quote from: Cloc Mor on September 21, 2007, 09:49:11 PM
Dont talk shit Stew.  I dont want to buy a book to pay of his debts cause he couldn't show self restraint.  Name me any one Down player who has put themselves in a similar position like him, with £100,000 of debts built up because he couldn't say no.  I have no sympathy for him.

Where did i say you had to buy the book and where did I say that a down player racked up agambling debts of $100.000 and who asked you to have sympathy for him cloc mor?

somebody is talking shite on this thread but it isnt me! ;)

i also wont be buying the book.

especially after he hoored himself out the bbc (of all bodies) on a purely PR stunt.

If theres such a concern about gambling, why isnt it said from the start that all proceeds will go to gamblers anonomous ??  ( if tha\t was the case i would buy the book)

or as stated in the interview that the GAA become involved. Put to proceeds to funding a paid representive that give counsel to any gaa player affected !!

haveaharp

Typical thats its only Down men having a pop at Oisin. If any member of their panel (coulter included) had half his talent they might not be so bitter.