Connacht senior football final Galway v Roscommon July 10th

Started by giveballaghback, June 18, 2016, 09:46:19 PM

oliverkelly

Quote from: BennyHarp on July 11, 2016, 08:10:34 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 11, 2016, 07:24:15 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 12:41:02 AM
Neither team would get by an Ulster first round. The angry grey minions Longford must be hoping for these guys in the draw. Twice the team. Black weekend for Connaught football.

Bullshit comment rosconmon beat the bollox of Cavan last two years in championship that's same Cavan team that brought Tyrone to replay. As I said unless you were at game and seen conditions first hand don't consent cause your only making yourself look like a clown

Fair enough, But the weather doesn't explain why you play with 15 men behind the ball with a gale force wind at your back. The weather doesn't explain why, time after time, there was nobody supporting the man in possession off his shoulder, criminal if your playing a defensive system with men behind the ball. The weather doesn't explain really poor decision making in when facing a defensive wall hoofing the ball wide on numerous occasions. But sure you beat Cavan a few years ago then you should be fine.

Oh yeah but sure it was worst match of all time and was so so so defensive, Fook off there was one more point each scored in the great ulster game between Monaghan and Donegal in perfect conditions. I agree our tactics were all wrong but it was not as easy play out there yesterday than it looked like on the tele. I would have no problem playing any ulster side. Sure didn't we hammer Donegal in there home patch only few months ago and some clown reckons we wouldn't win a first round game in Ulster

Quote from: oliverkelly on July 11, 2016, 08:30:24 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 11, 2016, 08:10:34 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 11, 2016, 07:24:15 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 12:41:02 AM
Neither team would get by an Ulster first round. The angry grey minions Longford must be hoping for these guys in the draw. Twice the team. Black weekend for Connaught football.

Bullshit comment rosconmon beat the bollox of Cavan last two years in championship that's same Cavan team that brought Tyrone to replay. As I said unless you were at game and seen conditions first hand don't consent cause your only making yourself look like a clown

Fair enough, But the weather doesn't explain why you play with 15 men behind the ball with a gale force wind at your back. The weather doesn't explain why, time after time, there was nobody supporting the man in possession off his shoulder, criminal if your playing a defensive system with men behind the ball. The weather doesn't explain really poor decision making in when facing a defensive wall hoofing the ball wide on numerous occasions. But sure you beat Cavan a few years ago then you should be fine.

Oh yeah but sure it was worst match of all time and was so so so defensive, Fook off there was one more point each scored in the great ulster game between Monaghan and Donegal in perfect conditions. I agree our tactics were all wrong but it was not as easy play out there yesterday than it looked like on the tele. I would have no problem playing any ulster side. Sure didn't we hammer Donegal in there home patch only few months ago and some clown reckons we wouldn't win a first round game in Ulster

What was the weather like in the Bronx?? 😂

This thread is hilarious.
The Roscommon lads are as easily wound up as the Tyrone lads it seems.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: oliverkelly on July 11, 2016, 07:49:19 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 07:36:21 AM
We have all went out in the rain before.

Great reply. Have you ever been in salthill on a day like yesterday? Anyway nice see you had no comeback when I pointed out we have bet shite out of both Cavan and Down in last few years clearly making your original statement show you up to be a clown. Galway have also beaten Ulster teams in recent years.
Ulster football is shore end of story. We all seen what a D3 side like Longford can do to the reigning champions of that Micky mouse province up there.
Exposed to poorly weather, no shelter..rains a part of it...never heard worse...We overcame struggles up here your sheltered western arses never had to deal with.

Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 09:27:57 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 11, 2016, 07:49:19 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 07:36:21 AM
We have all went out in the rain before.

Great reply. Have you ever been in salthill on a day like yesterday? Anyway nice see you had no comeback when I pointed out we have bet shite out of both Cavan and Down in last few years clearly making your original statement show you up to be a clown. Galway have also beaten Ulster teams in recent years.
Ulster football is shore end of story. We all seen what a D3 side like Longford can do to the reigning champions of that Micky mouse province up there.
Exposed to poorly weather, no shelter..rains a part of it...never heard worse...We overcame struggles up here your sheltered western arses never had to deal with.

Oh Christ... the Rossies and Tymoanies are some combo :-D

oliverkelly

My point is the weather was one of the main factors yesterday was a shite game, Every Ulster game is shite simples.Next Saturday will be much better game in better pitch in hopefully better conditions. At least Connacht teams try play football when conditions allow.
Benny Harp was quite similar to yesterday not as bad
https://www.google.ie/search?q=roscommon+v+new+york+rain&biw=1920&bih=985&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjDlbL1guvNAhXpBcAKHfXGD1QQ_AUIBygC#imgdii=EXhdP0AsXC1RRM%3A%3BEXhdP0AsXC1RRM%3A%3BBMSNsBl2WUbIRM%3A&imgrc=EXhdP0AsXC1RRM%3A

Fair enough. Both team management need to plan ahead though and take into account that football gets played on rainy days as well. Some hypothetical wet weather training could really boost their chances and may just acclimatise them better.

The rain must have taken them by shock. It never rains in the West!

Very disappointed with the result in the end, thought Galway had control on the game from start to finish and always looked the likely winner. You have to give Roscommon credit for coming back though as I couldn't see them scoring 2 points in the final few minutes.

The football was poor but lets what the replay brings first before completely righting off both teams. Last years All Ireland final was hardly a spectacular game with a scoreline of 0-12 to 0-09, some of the Roscommon lads are too quick to bite. You'd have to be very biased to suggest the ref was in favour of Galway, both teams scored 3 points from free's, I did think Cummins should have had a free near the end and I'd like to see the free that was awarded to the Ros in the build up to the goal although Galway  had enough defenders to cope with it.

I see some see some are suggesting Galway should have pushed up on Roscommon kick outs but you've go to consider Galway were in control and were 2 points up with only a few minutes to go so it would have been daft to change tactics when Galway were in control. If Galway were 2 points down I'm sure they would have pushed up and applied a lot more pressure.

6 days doesn't give any time to really change the game plan so both teams will play the same way. I thought we scored some nice points especially against the wind and Cummins had his best game for Galway, I just hope he can keep that level of consistency in front of the posts.

oliverkelly

Quote from: rrhf on July 11, 2016, 10:01:43 AM
Fair enough. Both team management need to plan ahead though and take into account that football gets played on rainy days as well. Some hypothetical wet weather training could really boost their chances and may just acclimatise them better.

I agree they should have and they got it wrong like I have said our tactics were completely wrong. But don't judge a team on one performance in nightmare conditions. I couldn't understand why we weren't shooting from distance in first half with what looked like a gale on our backs but wind was swirling all over the shop when I was on pitch after game and makes Conroys long distance free all the more spectacular.
I am hoping conditions are better next week and I can assure you it wont be as hard on the eye

I remember John Maughan buying all the Mayo lads new gloves when rain was promised for '96 AI semi-final.
Now that was proper, proper management.

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 11, 2016, 10:04:48 AM
Very disappointed with the result in the end, thought Galway had control on the game from start to finish and always looked the likely winner. You have to give Roscommon credit for coming back though as I couldn't see them scoring 2 points in the final few minutes.

The football was poor but lets what the replay brings first before completely righting off both teams. Last years All Ireland final was hardly a spectacular game with a scoreline of 0-12 to 0-09, some of the Roscommon lads are too quick to bite. You'd have to be very biased to suggest the ref was in favour of Galway, both teams scored 3 points from free's, I did think Cummins should have had a free near the end and I'd like to see the free that was awarded to the Ros in the build up to the goal although Galway  had enough defenders to cope with it.

I see some see some are suggesting Galway should have pushed up on Roscommon kick outs but you've go to consider Galway were in control and were 2 points up with only a few minutes to go so it would have been daft to change tactics when Galway were in control. If Galway were 2 points down I'm sure they would have pushed up and applied a lot more pressure.

6 days doesn't give any time to really change the game plan so both teams will play the same way. I thought we scored some nice points especially against the wind and Cummins had his best game for Galway, I just hope he can keep that level of consistency in front of the posts.

Ye gave us easy possession all day so it was a literal 50:50 game when it came to nearly every meaningful stat. Two teams afraid to attack, Galway at home will be most worried after that performance because it won't be the same sort of game the next day and I have my doubts Galway can play any other game than the one they just did anyways effectively.

With no midfielders and a dodgy defensive I can understand why we set up so defensively.
But management please how about fast "transition" to attack and kicking with the wind???
Replay Sunday now they say in Prenty park .
If ever there was an argument for Banning tossball yesterday strengthened it.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

westbound

Quote from: Rossfan on July 11, 2016, 11:34:00 AM
With no midfielders and a dodgy defensive I can understand why we set up so defensively.
But management please how about fast "transition" to attack and kicking with the wind???
Replay Sunday now they say in Prenty park .
If ever there was an argument for Banning tossball yesterday strengthened it.

Confirmed for Sunday @ 3.30.

And your point in bold is the key problem I have with yesterday's tactics!
It's all well and good setting up defensively but if you don't attack at pace from defense it just gives a team (Galway) time to set up there own blanket defense.

An Fhairche Abu

Scheduling it for Sunday ensures that the losers have the bare minimum recovery time for the qualifier match on the 23rd.
The winners of the Mayo/Kildare match aren't out the following weekend and don't play until the 30th I think, no reason they can't play on the Sunday instead, I don't want to hear about the Kildare minor match, we are talking about Senior games here.
Disgraceful decision.