NFL Division 1

Started by macdanger2, January 26, 2016, 10:48:11 PM

westbound

Quote from: JoG2 on March 08, 2016, 10:43:57 AM
the monetary fines are a complete balls, they're punishing the wrong people. They're punishing the fundraisers, the people keeping the whole thing afloat. Retrospective suspensions for anyone involved on the field if anyone needs punished

Quote from: westbound on March 08, 2016, 10:55:46 AM
the monetary fines are a complete balls, they're punishing the wrong people. They're punishing the fundraisers, the people keeping the whole thing afloat. Retrospective suspensions for anyone involved on the field if anyone needs punished

+2
And next home game at a neutral venue perhaps?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 08, 2016, 10:57:22 AM
Quote from: westbound on March 08, 2016, 10:55:46 AM

+2
And next home game at a neutral venue perhaps?

Roscommon must have been really dirty so!

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

The only way it will have an effect.

Beffs

Bingo. Punish the wronger doer on the field of play. It is the only way to stamp out all this nonsense.

Anyway, these paltry fines of 5000 or 10,000 quid are nothing to a county board that is spending anywhere from a few hundred thousand, to over million a year on their county teams. It's a shed load of money to the likes of you and me, it's a drop in the ocean to them. Does sweet eff all to deter the hardmen types from all their stuff and nonsense.

Conallach

Yeah, I have to agree with the above. The fines are an ineffective procedure really.

Anyway, the results are out, and as per DonegalSportHub:
"The two counties have each been hit with fines of €7,500 while Donegal full-back Neil McGee has been given a one-game ban."

Much like biting or eye-gouging incidents, from an administrative point of view it strikes me as strange that they feel comfortable enough with the evidence to place a ban, and yet place such a short one. If they'd come back with no ban (lack of evidence) or three games (we're confident that the incident took place) it'd make a bit more sense.

For the record, no other played deserved a citation, and credit to the committee for dealing with it quickly.

Credit also due to most on here for the level of discussion in this thread, a cut above what I'd find elsewhere. Now, on to the Rossies for me!

Quote from: Beffs on March 08, 2016, 02:51:52 PM

Bingo. Punish the wronger doer on the field of play. It is the only way to stamp out all this nonsense.

Anyway, these paltry fines of 5000 or 10,000 quid are nothing to a county board that is spending anywhere from a few hundred thousand, to over million a year on their county teams. It's a shed load of money to the likes of you and me, it's a drop in the ocean to them. Does sweet eff all to deter the hardmen types from all their stuff and nonsense.

5k to 10k would make a big dent in our fiances.

Beffs

Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2016, 12:03:34 AM

No it wouldn't. What was it Roscommon spent last year, according to that report in the Indo? Over 700,000, or something like that? Five grand is less than 1% of your over all spend.

You'd consider 5000 euros grand well spent, if you were in locked in a relegation battle, some of your lads starts a melee, the star player(s) on the other side throws a few digs & gets sent off or black carded. You win the game and, go on to secure your spot in Div 1 for next year.

You'd make that 5 grand back several times over the following year, when the Dubs or Mayo or Kerry come to town. Easy peasy !  (That's presuming the Hyde is open. Which it probably won't be.  ::) ) When I say you, I don't mean you personally btw. I mean you in the general sense.

These fines are quite paltry in the grand scheme of things. Unless they are a lot stiffer, players have to face longer bans, or a sin bin is brought in, inter county managers have little incentive to reign their players behavior in more. It's a vicious, repetitive cycle. Everyone blames every one else for starting it, but no one wants to step up to the plate, to end it.

Quote from: Beffs on March 08, 2016, 02:51:52 PM

Exactly. Club lads around here out selling county board tickets - a hard sell. Bord Na nÓgs doing pub quizzes to buy kit. Clubs selling tickets for 25 card games for a weanling calf. Most years I contribute to something like 9 club fundraisers (including a couple in a neighbouring county).
Oh hold on, maybe these fines are covered by the main sponsors ::)
It's a joke imo.

Quote from: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 12:20:32 AM

No it wouldn't. What was it Roscommon spent last year, according to that report in the Indo? Over 700,000, or something like that? Five grand is less than 1% of your over all spend.

You'd consider 5000 euros grand well spent, if you were in locked in a relegation battle, some of your lads starts a melee, the star player(s) on the other side throws a few digs, gets sent off/black carded. You win the game and go on to secure your spot in Div 1 for next year.

You'd make that 5 grand back several times over the following year, when the Dubs or Mayo or Kerry come to town. Easy peasy !  (That's presuming the Hyde is open. Which it probably won't be.  ::) ) When I say you, I don't mean you personally. I mean you in the general sense.

Yeah, but the money is still coming from grass roots. Gate attendances and squeeze that is put on clubs to cough up - by our county board anyway. I'd prefer to see game bans for the sort of shite we saw last couple of weekends. Including managers etc that get too gobby and het up on the line.

Beffs

Yeah, I'm not denying that the money has to come from somewhere. Unless the Rossie bus has a money printing press in its boot, someone, somewhere on the ground, is coughing up the money

What I'm saying is that in the super cynical world of inter county management, once you get to the very top, the rewards for simply making it to the very next game, can be substantial.

In the summer, it's getting to prolong your summer, go further in the championship & hopefully share in the payouts of a couple of trips to Croke Park. And once you're talking about a share of the regular gate receipts, corporate box sales, premium level tickets and food and beverage sales at Croker, that is a massive amount of money.

In the league, its all about preserving your Division One status, so that you can secure playing against top ranked teams for another year, as well as ensuring a continuous stream of Div 1 gate receipts for the following year. Then there is all that macho man "laying down a marker" crap, in case you meet again in August or September.

That 5000 is an investment in your future, as horribly cynical as it sounds. Until the fines are made a lot steeper, or players have to face longer bans, it ain't gonna change any time soon.

5000 Euro of Club Rossie money probably takes dozens of man hours to raise everything considered. To throw it away on a retarded Macho Man competition when you should be playing football is not worth that in the least. The people putting the work in selling tickets and memberships deserve more than their hard work being thrown away by some pup in the heat of the moment.

Thankfully it's been quite some time since one our our county players has done something worthy of that sort of reprimand.

Quote from: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 12:52:02 AM
Yeah, I'm not denying that the money has to come from somewhere. Unless the Rossie bus has a money printing press in its boot, someone, somewhere on the ground, is coughing up the money

What I'm saying is that in the super cynical world of inter county management, once you get to the very top, the rewards for simply making it to the very next game, can be substantial.

In the summer, it's getting to prolong your summer, go further in the championship & hopefully share in the payouts of a couple of trips to Croke Park. And once you're talking about a share of the regular gate receipts, corporate box sales, premium level tickets and food and beverage sales at Croker, that is a massive amount of money.

In the league, its all about preserving your Division One status, so that you can secure playing against top ranked teams for another year, as well as ensuring a continuous stream of Div 1 gate receipts for the following year.

That 5000 is an investment in your future, as horribly cynical as it sounds. Until the fines are made a lot steeper, or players have to face longer bans, it ain't gonna change any time soon.

I know, I know. But even in counties getting to the big stage, clubs and schools are scratching around the same people all the time trying to keep their head above water as well as stumping up to the board. Where do those fines go I wonder? It's an amateur organisation after all - for most of us anyway ::) It's not like fining millionaire footballers, managers  and clubs in the other code.

Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2016, 01:20:34 AM
5000 Euro of Club Rossie money probably takes dozens of man hours to raise everything considered. To throw it away on a retarded Macho Man competition when you should be playing football is not worth that in the least. The people putting the work in selling tickets and memberships deserve more than their hard work being thrown away by some pup in the heat of the moment.

Thankfully it's been quite some time since one our our county players has done something worthy of that sort of reprimand.

That could all change next weekend when yer' ladeens will have to stand up or be bitch slapped around the place. However I imagine Donegal have made their point and will have mellowed and take stock for a while.