Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

I don't think I'd subscribe to the idea that Tyrone are back in the top tier. We have a tendency in the GAA to confer top 4 status on the four semi finalists regardless of their path there or their record in the last 18 months. I only saw highlights of the game so can't comment on Tyrone's performance last Sunday but a team's path to success is rarely straight forward. Young lads like Bradley and Meyler wouldn't be the first to make a splash in their first season and then struggle for 2 or 3 before coming good again. There's an issue with the goalkeeper and Tyrone conceded 18 points in torrential rain while playing lots of bodies back. As far as I can see they don't have any really top defenders, Harte's a top footballer but not a top defender, a poor ball winning midfield (though two fine footballers) and a physically small forward line. They are probably at the head of the chasing pack but could as easily be caught by some of those teams as easily as they might break into the genuine All Ireland contender category.

redhandefender

I doubt the credentials and commentary from a man who didn't even watch the all Ireland semi final lol.

Love all these lesser counties taking pot shots at tyrone and sean cav. He has clearly broke a lot of hearts over the 14 years he has been playing. every single one of you would dream to have him in your team

Quote from: redhandefender on August 25, 2015, 12:04:46 PM
I doubt the credentials and commentary from a man who didn't even watch the all Ireland semi final lol.

Love all these lesser counties taking pot shots at tyrone and sean cav. He has clearly broke a lot of hearts over the 14 years he has been playing. every single one of you would dream to have him in your team

Would you now??? I missed it due to the underage team I coach having a game but if you'd take the view of an armchair pundit more seriously than one involved in the game at all levels for many years then more luck to you.

Only a Tyrone man could take a post that basically says you're probably 5th or 6th in the country at the moment and not top 4 yet as having a pop.

Quote from: barelegs on August 24, 2015, 07:27:36 PM

From the other angle. Note O'Mahony's hand here and McNulty still hasn't tugged his shirt

Note left hand/arm on back and neck, right arm about to grab O'Sé's right arm, look at Mark McHugh in deep concentration giving O'Sé's left boot the evil eye.........

reddgnhand

Quote from: Disillusioned on August 25, 2015, 10:32:55 AM
One of the most interesting aspects of the game from a neutral perspective was the ability of the Tyrone management to turn off the sledging/bad mouthing, diving and other forms of cheating for this game.  Virtually, no Tyrone player fell to the ground clutching his face or rolled/writhed in apparent agony at the slightest contact.

This shows that the management has control of such behaviour. 

Good to see the referee taking the time to send the Tyrone assistant manager off the field on one of his many excursions, not many referees monitor this level of interference.

How do you know there was no sledging?

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2015, 09:16:04 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:09:56 PM
Still not certain that's a red.

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.

I don't think it was red - mcnabb was coming across full tilt to shoulder him, and gooch dives to get extra momentum in his fisted effort at the last minute, so theres a bad connection. Its clear on the video. The only intent from mcnabb was to challenge him fairly.

Quote from: Zulu on August 25, 2015, 11:59:23 AM
I don't think I'd subscribe to the idea that Tyrone are back in the top tier. We have a tendency in the GAA to confer top 4 status on the four semi finalists regardless of their path there or their record in the last 18 months. I only saw highlights of the game so can't comment on Tyrone's performance last Sunday but a team's path to success is rarely straight forward. Young lads like Bradley and Meyler wouldn't be the first to make a splash in their first season and then struggle for 2 or 3 before coming good again. There's an issue with the goalkeeper and Tyrone conceded 18 points in torrential rain while playing lots of bodies back. As far as I can see they don't have any really top defenders, Harte's a top footballer but not a top defender, a poor ball winning midfield (though two fine footballers) and a physically small forward line. They are probably at the head of the chasing pack but could as easily be caught by some of those teams as easily as they might break into the genuine All Ireland contender category.

I'd agree but we'll have to wait until next year for confirmation.

Quote from: easytiger95 on August 25, 2015, 11:13:00 AM
Good Jaysis lads, take your beating. I was around the board for the aftermath of 03 and this is even more infantile than that.

I think that should be directed at one person in particular

Club Rossa

Tyrone gave it an almighty crack on Sunday and yes,we did miss our share of chances but that doesn't hide the fact that the better team with the classier forwards won the game.McCurry,McAliskey and Bradley are all good forwards but lack the killer instinct of the marquee forwards that Kerry,Dublin and Mayo have.
Looking forward to next season.The likes of Armagh,Derry and Fermanagh will provide us with some tough derby games in division 2.I would expect a few more of the u-21s to be introduced.The likes of McGeary and Cassidy would fit well into Tyrone's running game.Would like to see how Lee Brennan would cope with the step up to seniors also.Conan Grugan has been playing very well for Omagh and I would like to see him back in.As someone else on the thread said,it's arguable if we're top 4 or not but great strides have been made this year in comparison to last year.

Estimator

Quote from: haranguerer on August 25, 2015, 01:04:48 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2015, 09:16:04 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:09:56 PM
Still not certain that's a red.

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.

I don't think it was red - mcnabb was coming across full tilt to shoulder him, and gooch dives to get extra momentum in his fisted effort at the last minute, so theres a bad connection. Its clear on the video. The only intent from mcnabb was to challenge him fairly.

You do realise that it was a trip by McMahon that caused Cooper to fall forward like that.
Ulster League Champions 2009

It wasn't, he was launching himself to propel the ball over the bar.

But even if it had been, that wouldn't change the point re McNabb.

Quote from: Estimator on August 25, 2015, 01:28:50 PMYou do realise that it was a trip by McMahon that caused Cooper to fall forward like that.

I suggest you look at the incident again

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 25, 2015, 01:44:37 PM
Quote from: Estimator on August 25, 2015, 01:28:50 PMYou do realise that it was a trip by McMahon that caused Cooper to fall forward like that.

I suggest you look at the incident again

Yeah, I didn't think it looked like he had been tripped by McMahon