AIQ Round 3B - Roscommon vs. Armagh (19/07/14, 5pm - Live on SKY)

Started by Syferus, July 13, 2014, 05:30:59 PM

Quote from: larryin89 on July 20, 2014, 12:06:50 PM
Last years final the man was at about 65% with his shoulder injury. He will be better than the two mentioned in time , i predict he will be poty this year and Mayo wil win Sam Maguire.

He wouldn't be a guaranteed starter in the Dublin team

Saffrongael

Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2014, 12:58:03 PM
Last years final the man was at about 65% with his shoulder injury. He will be better than the two mentioned in time , i predict he will be poty this year and Mayo wil win Sam Maguire.

He isn't from Dublin so he doesn't need to worry about getting a start.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 01:01:22 PM

He made a statement above that he was the best young player in the country.

He's not.

Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2014, 01:19:29 PM

He's not.

Of course not. Diarmuid Murtagh is.

What age do you stop being classed as a young player? 23?

Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2014, 01:19:29 PM

He's not.
In your opinion.

maigheo

Jeez Larry, a few weeks ago you were predicting the Rossies would beat us and we would face an early exit in the qualifiers and now you are saying  we are going to win the all ireland.Cillian o  Connor is a good forward but as of right now he is no where near the level of Brogan,  O Donogue or Cooper.For me Mclaughlin is Mayos best forward and also there most important as when he is in form he makes the whole team tick.Of course himself and O Connor are different players and I do think if OConnor can stay injury free he can be up there with the elite.

Quote from: maigheo on July 20, 2014, 01:56:43 PM
Jeez Larry, a few weeks ago you were predicting the Rossies would beat us and we would face an early exit in the qualifiers and now you are saying  we are going to win the all ireland.Cillian o  Connor is a good forward but as of right now he is no where near the level of Brogan,  O Donogue or Cooper.For me Mclaughlin is Mayos best forward and also there most important as when he is in form he makes the whole team tick.Of course himself and O Connor are different players and I do think if OConnor can stay injury free he can be up there with the elite.

Dont worry about what i say to the rossies, its just a bit of craic. And anyway i wasnt too far wrong on that particular match if the truth be told.

Nowhere near the level of brogan or o donogue ? I beg to differ , his performance against Galway was first class. Kevin Mac is vital to Mayo and how far we go , id agree with you there but he is not in the forward mold of cillian a different type of performer albeit a very important one.

I just have this feeling Cillian is going to have a massive year .Checking odds on poty now.

JP

Meath aren't looking to hot at the moment. Armagh have a great chance to make it to the quarters.

Waited 24 hours so as not to make any intemperate heat of the moment remarks.
The best team on the day won and were wll drilled and organised.
We were well beaten in every facet of the game yesterday. Yet with accurate shooting could have won the damn thing.
We set up a blanket of space marking defenders who in the main just stood there as Armagh kicked good ball in to their FF line who were nearly always 10 yeards ahead of their men going for the ball.
We had one 19 year old playing as a forward who was well marked and marshalled.
We weren't able for Armagh's strength and physicality, kept taking the ball into tackles and losing it. When you're a lighter team you have to let the ball go quickly to players who are breaking/running off the shoulder etc to make sure the ball holder has a few options.
A number of our lads didn't over exert themselves on occasions for the "dirty ball" which is disappointing.
Cregg and Senan Kilbride are not able to cope with good defenders and have no future if we're to become a top 12 team. Ian Kilbride is NOT a County player.( Face facts Syfín)
While being defensive may be ok on occasions we just have to now go with playing to our strengths - quick direct ball into forwards (not one forward) and only go tracking back when the other side wins the ball in their defence/midfield.
Decent enough season, some progress made but a lot to be done if we are ever to become a top 12 side.
Triple Connacht Champions

Quote from: Rossfan on July 20, 2014, 08:30:13 PM
Decent enough season, some progress made but a lot to be done if we are ever to become a top 12 side.

Are there 12 sides better than Roscommon? Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Monaghan, Donegal definitely. Tyrone, Derry, Armagh, Kildare, Meath maybe. Other Div 2 type sides Down, Westmeath, Galway are about the same and you are better than Cavan.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Hmmmmm.....
We wouldn't bate Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan, Dublin, Mayo, Cork and Kerry.
We'd bate all of D3 and 4 plus Cavan although Tipp and Clare might beg to differ this Summer.
That leaves Derry, Down, Galway, Laois, Kildare , Meath, Westmeath.
We need a more positive gameplan against all outside the top 8 though.
Triple Connacht Champions

Quote from: Rossfan on July 20, 2014, 09:29:15 PM
Hmmmmm.....
We wouldn't bate Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan, Dublin, Mayo, Cork and Kerry.
We'd bate all of D3 and 4 plus Cavan although Tipp and Clare might beg to differ this Summer.

It didn't help that all our championship matches his year were wet affairs, be it wet pitches or rain during the game. I think our young lads would benefit from drier conditions because it would mean a swinging arm from a defender won't release the ball as easily. Their pace could have more of an impact on the game.

So much slipping and sliding yesterday. I won't miss the Hyde's pitch.

This is where Paddy Power puts him!

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/all-star-awards?ev_oc_grp_ids=18884

Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2014, 09:34:41 PM
Hmmmmm.....

It didn't help that all our championship matches his year were wet affairs, be it wet pitches or rain during the game. I think our young lads would benefit from drier conditions because it would mean a swinging arm from a defender won't release the ball as easily. Their pace could have more of an impact on the game.

Ah ffs Syferus,  good players play well on dry or wet sod!  Thankfully it was dry for Armagh

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 20, 2014, 10:19:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2014, 09:34:41 PM
Hmmmmm.....

Ah ffs Syferus,  good players play well on dry or wet sod!  Thankfully it was dry for Armagh

Armagh would have won in any conditions yesterday.

Been drenched three times this year in the championship, the other day I was in the stand. I'd just like a game of football where the ball isn't greasy as our bus's axel for a change.

The Hyde in particular seems to get absolutely quare weather. On the way home (10 mins away at most) it was dry as a bone, not a bit of rain all while it was pissing at the Hyde. The pitch is comically bad at this stage, club football on it is like watching a slow motion replay if it's rained at all.