Directions To Croke Park ?

Started by Bud Wiser, August 07, 2007, 12:10:14 PM

At a time when Croke Park are trying to keep the Croke Park Residents on side I was amused at their effort last Sunday as I made my way into the Cusack Stand from Clonliffe Road.   Just down from Distillery Road where you turn in a resident had a little sign up in his garden with just four words on it.   NO NOISE,  NO LITTER.  Nothing wrong with that.

Except that, and I want to be accurate here, about four yards from his front window/door there stood a galoot with a loud hailer, the battery operated yokes the cops use for "come out with your hands up".   "This way for the Cusack stand, anyone going to the Cusack Stand please come this way" he roared over and over again.  Considering I was in in time for the Christy Brown hurling final I would say yer man with the sign had a right pain listening to him and I would not be surprised if he came out and gave him a kick in the balls.

Surely to jaysus there is no need whatsoever for this, or if there is why nnot just hold a sign with Cusack Stand and an arrow on it.
Only in Ireland.

It's a bit Irish alright.

Leggit! :o

QuoteOnly in Ireland.

QuoteIt's a bit Irish alright.

Can open... worms everywhere!!!!!

Its like the guy on the hill who standard their for 3 hours saying hill 16 only over and over again sure they should just record it

Lads,

Don't click on the jokes link whatever ye do.  Ye might find something like;

Why do the Health Service put cotton wool in the tops of prescription bottles for the blacks?
To remind them they were cotton pickers before they were drug dealers.

Lighten up or we wont be able to mention that there was no Coke on the Hill last weekend and it is only when the Dubs are there and we will all be cahrged with racism

This might be a good thread to add another little observation. A small incident on Saturday reminded me that the GAA, for all its embracing of modern ideas, the fancy stadium, the corporate culture, the hospitality suites, etc. still retains vestiges of the "institutional" culture that we still also see clinging to the other institutions, like CIE and the other former semi-states, the Catholic Church, RTÉ, Aer Lingus before they got their arses kicked by Ryanair, etc. It's a kind of corporate casual contempt for their patrons/clients/customers/victims, as the case may be, that is usually best manifested by their operatives that come into close contact with said victims.

I was lucky enough to be given premium tickets for Saturday by a friend in Cork (I'm getting a taste for it now, Bud!). At half time in the Sligo/Cork match, an officious looking character in his sixties, dressed as if he had stepped out of Louis Copeland's window, by the way, with an orange "tan" and with an ID card hanging around his neck (you probably know him, Bud) came down the steps, peering right and left along the rows of seats. He spotted a man of about thirty in front of me who had a pint glass of water on the floor beside him.

"Is that your glass?", he roared.

"Yes", said the man, meekly.

"Can you not read the sign on the door?", shouts Captain Mainwaring (but in a Dublin accent). "Take it out of here, and if I catch you again, you'll be outside the gate".

The lad said nothing, just took up the glass and went out to the bar area. He hadn't broken any rule I could see, by the way, as the sign on the door just says "no alcohol beyond this point" and this was water. But that's not the point.

Of course I couldn't let it go, so I took it upon myself to tackle Mr. Cordiality. "You can't speak to customers like that", I said to him. "What's wrong with 'excuse me, sir, but drinks are not allowed in this area'?". He was completely taken aback and stood there looking at me with his mouth opening and closing. Finally, all he could think of to say was "I don't know where you got your manners!". This from him! Anyway this led to general hilarity and everyone in the vicinity then got on his back, inviting him to depart in a fornicating fashion, stop hassling the people, etc., and we saw no more of him.

If I'd paid the thousands it costs for a premium seat, I'm sure I'd be very impressed by this particular brand of "hospitality" extended to me or my guests. Not that it would be acceptable in the plebs' seats I usually occupy either.

Fair dues Hardy, well done. Nothing worse than an aggressive goon but an aggressively ignorant goon.

DJGaliv

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 07, 2007, 12:35:13 PM
Lads,

Don't click on the jokes link whatever ye do.  Ye might find something like;

Why do the Health Service put cotton wool in the tops of prescription bottles for the blacks?
To remind them they were cotton pickers before they were drug dealers.

How is that relevant to anything. Head over to hoganstand good man with that immature shite.

Hardy, I think I know which buck you are on about. He looked like an east end gangster to such an extent that my pal elbowed me in the ribs to cop a look at the state of him. He also told us to slow down when we were walking a bit too briskly back to our seats for his liking. If I wasn't totally preoccupied with the game there may have been harsh words. >:(

JBM on the 21

Did you get his name? Irrespective of whether you did or not, you should report the incident to Croke Park. Let them deal with it.

good man hardy
lets give these jobsworth hitlers a blast of reality.

Sandy Hill

Maith thú Hardy; really enjoyed that story!
"Stercus accidit"

Quote from: Jinxy on August 07, 2007, 01:26:57 PM
Hardy, I think I know which buck you are on about. He looked like an east end gangster to such an extent that my pal elbowed me in the ribs to cop a look at the state of him. He also told us to slow down when we were walking a bit too briskly back to our seats for his liking. If I wasn't totally preoccupied with the game there may have been harsh words. >:(

That's him Jinxy - well described.

Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 07, 2007, 01:29:33 PM
Did you get his name? Irrespective of whether you did or not, you should report the incident to Croke Park. Let them deal with it.

Maybe I will - at least it will be interesting to see what response, if any, I'll get. Anyone know the appropriate contact?