Longford v Wexford Round II AIQs Sat July 13 at 2 pm

Started by Shamrock Shore, July 01, 2013, 07:40:02 PM

This Years Model

Shamrock, if we've any sense of fair play down in WX, we should just award ye the two points in Div 3 next year, get ye off the mark (ouch!) ...

I had the dubious pleasure of witnessing Paul Barden in action for the first time in a Leinster Championship match in New Ross in the rain way back in '99 I think. That day he was electric and scored one of the most outrageous points I've ever seen to put Longford ahead near the end. He's been top class any time I've seen him since, though I suppose time is catching up on him. At the end of every season lately I'm terrified that Red Barry will call it a day, so I know how you lads are feeling about Barden ... but I guess we'll all have to move on when it happens.

QuoteI had the dubious pleasure of witnessing Paul Barden in action for the first time in a Leinster Championship match in New Ross in the rain way back in '99 I think. That day he was electric and scored one of the most outrageous points I've ever seen to put Longford ahead near the end

I was at that match but I think it was in Enniscorthy. By Jazes it was wet for sure. Took me a week to dry out. It was the first time I saw a lad chip up the ball in his hands in full flight and solo it half the field and pop it over the bar. Wonderful skill and I had to pick my jaw off the ground as had many others. Tony Davis highlighted it on the Sunday Game that night for special mention.

We'll take those 2 points now please.

This Years Model

'Twas Ross alright. Trust me, I've very vivid memories of any match that we didn't lose back in those days ...

And I was wearing my red jumper ...

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 15, 2013, 10:42:43 AM
Glen won't be back.Of course there will be a queue forming now outside Aras Ui Bhriain to lodge in the CVs.......won't there??

Hardy - have you Banty's mobile number?

I see ye're neighbours in Westmeath seem to have a good minor manager. He might just be ready now to step up to Senior  ::)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

North Longford

Was away last week so  didn't make the game but sounds like the same old story. .... just on declan reilly being taken off i heard he spentt the night after in hospital on a drip so we prob can't hang Glen for that one.

Qwerty28

Don't think there's much more to add to what's already been said....shot ourselves in the foot and silly mistakes, such as the turnover that lead to Wexford 2nd goal, will always be costly in a tight match. Ability to win a tight game and running out of steam haunted us, just as last year.

Would be a shame for Paul to bow out on such a note, maybe a new voice and a favourable draw in next years Championship might keep him on, but he owes nobody anything for his performances down through the years. He prob should have waited for the free the other night but that's all if's and but's at this stage, not sure we would have beaten Laois in Rd 3 but good luck to Wexford and hopefully we don't meet ye for about 10 years!!

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 15, 2013, 10:42:43 AM
Hardy - have you Banty's mobile number?

OMG - Won Nothing  Won Nothing  Won Nothing. Nothing.

Thought Ryan did a very good job with Longford. Unlucky on a few occasions but it's hard to say they ever looked a poorly prepared team.

Strange that there would be little appetite in the county for him to return, the county board might find out the grass isn't greener the hard way.

Ara I know Syferus.

But we've had Glen for 5 years - some good times for sure.

I know that one should be careful what you wish for but I do think change is sometimes a good thing and that this desire is not necessarily a reflection on the incumbent.

I seem to recall that Glen has stated he has no desires on the Kildare job once Geezer leaves but who knows. Of course would the lads in Kildare want him? I would be surprised if they didn't but there is always the outsiders view and the often totally different view at the grassroots within a county.

Qwerty28

So who'd be in line for the job if Glen was to call it a day/not get backing for another year (which seems likely going by comments on here). Someone local?

Also, presume ye saw this on the Sunday game the other night!!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/bespectacled-longford-coach-insists-he-tried-to-defuse-melee-237015.html

Dont Matter

Hey you, Longford people. Give us the lowdown on the yellas. What they got cooking? Anything to keep a close eye on?
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn