Cavan vs. Armagh, Sun. May 19, Breffni Park, Ulster c'ship prelim

Started by Oraisteach, April 11, 2013, 01:08:47 AM

Jaysus ye Armagh lads are horrid pessimistic.
While ye didn't have the best league campaign,there is a mountain of talent in that Armagh panel.
As for Cavan,Before last night i would have said, 3 of the under 21's from last night would start against Armagh,Jason McLoughlin,Killian Clarke and Jack Brady would be definite starters with Fergal Flanagan and perhaps Turloc Mooney being potential starters.
Now i wouldn't be suprised to see the likes of Chris Conroy,Conor Gilsenan(He is a better option in goals ahead of Miller) McVitty,Sexton.O Connor and Enda O Reily figure in the panel although with the exception of Gilsenan,they will hardly start.
Gerard Smith who is going to be an absolute star and  big Michael Argue may also be called in,both have 2 more years left at under 21.
It would be a good man that would be able to pick Cavans starting 15 right now.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 11, 2013, 04:27:47 PM
Jaysus ye Armagh lads are horrid pessimistic.
While ye didn't have the best league campaign,there is a mountain of talent in that Armagh panel.
As for Cavan,Before last night i would have said, 3 of the under 21's from last night would start against Armagh,Jason McLoughlin,Killian Clarke and Jack Brady would be definite starters with Fergal Flanagan and perhaps Turloc Mooney being potential starters.
Now i wouldn't be suprised to see the likes of Chris Conroy,Conor Gilsenan(He is a better option in goals ahead of Miller) McVitty,Sexton.O Connor and Enda O Reily figure in the panel although with the exception of Gilsenan,they will hardly start.
Gerard Smith who is going to be an absolute star and  big Michael Argue may also be called in,both have 2 more years left at under 21.
It would be a good man that would be able to pick Cavans starting 15 right now.

Mickey Lyng had been going well in training,so he will be on the 40, Sean Brady half forward, Ciaran Galligan and Ray Cullivan at midfield, Mickey Hannon corner back and Mickey Brides in  he other corner. Anthony Gaynor Centre back

After that, the Armagh lads will be guessing...

Oraisteach

Well, PaddyPower has us at 15/2 and Cavan at 33/1 for Ulster. With such punter confidence, make room on the mantel for the Anglo Celt . . . the newspaper, I mean.

supersub

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 11, 2013, 12:42:41 PM
I was just looking at the Armagh team that beat Galway.
That is a very Strong half back line of Aaron Kernan,Kieran Toner and Finian Moriarty.
Midfield,I know of James Lavery who is a good player but who is this Stephen Harold guy, and how good is he?
Johnny Hanratty or David McKenna will surely start at Centrefield on May 19th ?
When you add in Vernon,Dyas,Forker, the Kiernans and the brilliant Jamie Clarke into it,you just see the huge potential there in this Armagh team.

Firstly the half back line will include McKeever, the captain. Harold is a solid player, this season first time he has had any real run in the team and proved his worth when needed on Sunday. Vernon is only back one game and Dyas can be hit and miss. David McKenna isn't even on the panel so would say Harold has a good chance of staying put at midfield.

Quote from: supersub on April 11, 2013, 04:59:56 PM
That is a very Strong half back line of Aaron Kernan,Kieran Toner and Finian Moriarty.
Midfield,I know of James Lavery who is a good player but who is this Stephen Harold guy, and how good is he?
When you add in Vernon,Dyas,Forker, the Kiernans and the brilliant Jamie Clarke into it,you just see the huge potential there in this Armagh team.

Firstly the half back line will include McKeever, the captain. Harold is a solid player, this season first time he has had any real run in the team and proved his worth when needed on Sunday. Vernon is only back one game and Dyas can be hit and miss. David McKenna isn't even on the panel so would say Harold has a good chance of staying put at midfield.

I don't think McKenna was ever on the Armagh panel in the past either under O Rourke?, Is he not that highly rated in Armagh, looks a good player when playing for Cross, He was class in the All Ireland replay last year in Breffni

Quote from: rodney trotter on April 11, 2013, 05:04:42 PM
Quote from: supersub on April 11, 2013, 04:59:56 PM

I don't think McKenna was ever on the Armagh panel in the past either under O Rourke?, Is he not that highly rated in Armagh, looks a good player when playing for Cross, He was class in the All Ireland replay last year in Breffni

Being from Cross it can be very difficult to get a chance to prove yourself on the Armagh panel as for most of the year you are with your club. McKenna has also been unlucky with injuries that have stopped any chances he might have had. Fit and eager he would be a good addition for Armagh.

tommysmith

Won't be expecting anything other than a Armagh win a Cavan panel thrown together a few weeks before a championship game is no preparation.

I can see the same happening , as its been the same way for the past few years with the u21's not being part of the Senior panel, and not knowing the strongest team. That's result of the u21's success , same as Cross players missing large parts of the league with Armagh most years

Quote from: rodney trotter on April 11, 2013, 08:29:59 PM
I can see the same happening , as its been the same way for the past few years with the u21's not being part of the Senior panel, and not knowing the strongest team. That's result of the u21's success , same as Cross players missing large parts of the league with Armagh most years
Thay Cavan beal bocht is very hard to take seriously. Armagh could have been relegated to D3. How many ulsters have they compared to Cavan ?

Quote from: seafoid on April 11, 2013, 08:38:41 PM
Thay Cavan beal bocht is very hard to take seriously. Armagh could have been relegated to D3. How many ulsters have they compared to Cavan ?

They have 14 compared to our 39,but sure that means nothing. They have been streets ahead of us over the last decade.

tommysmith

They have them well in advance of championship though, at best Cavan will have the U21's 4 weeks before most important Senior Game of year.

Quote from: rodney trotter on April 11, 2013, 08:57:54 PM
Exactly 4 weeks, not the same as being with the panel since Januray to train for the biggest game of the year. 4 weeks is being thrown together. But not much they can do about it, when we all want to see the u21's do well

Rodney,i suppose it depends on how many of the under 21's are drafted in. McLoughlin,Clarke and Jack and Fergal Flan have played a fair bit for the seniors so they would probably slot in easily enough.  If Hyland calls up many more however,we could see some potential problems with the team gelling together. Certain lads who played in that Roscommon decabcle could see themselves missing out on the 26/28 man championship panel altogether.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 11, 2013, 09:08:26 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 11, 2013, 08:57:54 PM
Exactly 4 weeks, not the same as being with the panel since Januray to train for the biggest game of the year. 4 weeks is being thrown together. But not much they can do about it, when we all want to see the u21's do well

Rodney,i suppose it depends on how many of the under 21's are drafted in. McLoughlin,Clarke and Jack and Fergal Flan have played a fair bit for the seniors so they would probably slot in easily enough.  If Hyland calls up many more however,we could see some potential problems with the team gelling together. Certain lads who played in that Roscommon decabcle could see themselves missing out on the 26/28 man championship panel altogether.

Yeah those lads would have played with Cavan in the past, the last game they would have played for the Seniors was back in Feb against Monaghan though. No doubt they will be able to adjust back into the Senior team.

Its still very much guessing a team, as the Ross game was a disaster.

Westside

Can't see anyone else but Jack, Clarke, McLoughlin and Flanagan being in the Senior team come first round time. All have played Senior Championship before and featured in the league already this year. I think the Cavan team is more or less predictable, I'd fancy my chances at naming around 12 of the starting 15. I think Armagh will win simply because they are a better side than us at the moment. I would however expect us to give them a decent game but ultimately fall short.

If you were at the Ross game it would have been hard to pick 12, I wouldn't be surprised to see a few more U21's involved. Possibly Mooney and Conroy. I would actually start Mooney ahead of Pauric Reilly.