St Brigids v Ballymun St Patricks Day 2013

Started by orangeman, February 16, 2013, 05:17:18 PM

Bejazes ye can keep that hoor anyway. ;D
Fair play to the 2 Macs but they are indicitive the way Brigid's are organised on so many footings.
Our Co Board should contract out the running of the County to the Kiltoom/Camites.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

CorkMan

Fair play Brigids, it was a brilliant game but I think Ballymun bottled it. How many frees did Rock miss when the game was tight?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/kevin-mcstay-hails-liam-mchale-s-determination-as-elusive-all-ireland-prize-is-landed-1.1329213

Sun, Mar 17, 2013, 21:23

Kevin McStay has seen big days from all sides of the fence at this stage. He's lost an All-Ireland final in his time as a player, sliced and diced countless more from a pundit's couch in his time since.

But nothing beats being the man in the arena, the one who gets dirt on his hands and grey in his hair. And when it was all done yesterday, he took a minute to think out loud on what it takes to continue to seek out that arena, even as each visit feels colder than the last.

"We made a big thing of not walking away from this today. We spoke an awful lot about the man who keeps coming back being very hard to beat and you've a lot of players there for whom this is their third or fourth time at it. And we talked a lot about perseverance and not walking out of here today without this cup.

"You may not know this but today is Liam McHale's 10th All-Ireland final as a coach and as a player. And it's the first one he's won. That's a real sign of somebody. It's easy for Kerrymen and Corkmen to be coming back here every three years because they will get an All-Ireland to sustain them. He came back here today for his 10th one and he leaves as a champion. I think of all the things that has happened with the team, that's one of the great things that I'm going to take from it. That he came with us. He didn't walk away."

Quote from: seafoid on March 17, 2013, 09:58:42 PM

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/kevin-mcstay-hails-liam-mchale-s-determination-as-elusive-all-ireland-prize-is-landed-1.1329213

Kevin McStay has seen big days from all sides of the fence at this stage. He's lost an All-Ireland final in his time as a player, sliced and diced countless more from a pundit's couch in his time since.

But nothing beats being the man in the arena, the one who gets dirt on his hands and grey in his hair. And when it was all done yesterday, he took a minute to think out loud on what it takes to continue to seek out that arena, even as each visit feels colder than the last.

"We made a big thing of not walking away from this today. We spoke an awful lot about the man who keeps coming back being very hard to beat and you've a lot of players there for whom this is their third or fourth time at it. And we talked a lot about perseverance and not walking out of here today without this cup.

"You may not know this but today is Liam McHale's 10th All-Ireland final as a coach and as a player. And it's the first one he's won. That's a real sign of somebody. It's easy for Kerrymen and Corkmen to be coming back here every three years because they will get an All-Ireland to sustain them. He came back here today for his 10th one and he leaves as a champion. I think of all the things that has happened with the team, that's one of the great things that I'm going to take from it. That he came with us. He didn't walk away."

Fair play to him for his continuing enthusiasm. I ve been depressing myself recalling the multiple losses. 5 senior AIs ( including draw and one as a selector) and a club AI final as a player top the bill.

Line Ball

Quote from: moysider on March 17, 2013, 10:20:50 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 17, 2013, 09:58:42 PM

Fair play to him for his continuing enthusiasm. I ve been depressing myself recalling the multiple losses. 5 senior AIs ( including draw and one as a selector) and a club AI final as a player top the bill.

I always thought of him as an arrogant toolbag and my view of him hasn't changed after that win today.  Mc Stay would not be that far behind him either in that respect.

Quote from: Line Ball on March 17, 2013, 10:27:32 PM
I always thought of him as an arrogant toolbag and my view of him hasn't changed after that win today.  Mc Stay would not be that far behind him either in that respect.

How well do you know them?

Quote from: Line Ball on March 18, 2013, 12:00:37 AM
Why?

If you anonymously  post on a public forum that someone is an 'arrogant toolbag' I thought it would be interesting to see how well you knew the man.

Line Ball

Believe me, I know he is and I would imagine that I wouldn't be alone in my perception of this individual.

dublin7

Having watched Tyrone win last night with a performance that showed cynical fouling at its worst & everything that is wrong with modern day football, it was refreshing to watch that game today.

While Ballymun will be wondering how they lost, fair play to St Brigids. They took there their chances & got the win.

After watching the game in Croker last night , it was refreshing to see both teams going at it & giving it everything to win. Neither team resorted to the cynical fouls/dives/ time wasting that Tyrone did last night when the game was on a knife edge.

I'm sure it will be a great night in Brigids tonight

McStay has given a whole hell of a lot to Roscommon football over the years and anyone whose seen St. Brigid's transformation this season from a good team to a great team can't help but notice how much of it has been down to McStay, McHale and of course Benny O'Brien. They developed a real match-day panel this year by genuinely offering players chances if they performed well in training or could offer something different against the next opponents.

Tactically Brigid's were on another level this year, they were able to adjust to many types of play and so much of that is down to the management's football brains and how well they prepared the team. They brought Cake back to the starting line-up and my God if he wasn't essential to this year's success.

McStay helped the team become more comfortable on the ball and knowing where their outlets were. People always talk about doing the basics right but St. Brigid's are the proof of that maxim.

The players' efforts these past three years have been unreal but I don't think without the energy McStay infused in the panel Brigid's would have even been playing football today.

I remember walking out of Pearse Park 13 months ago and fearing that Brgid's would probably fall back, at least in the near-term, after the dedication they'd put in over the last years. To build towards an All-Ireland in any grade buy knocking on the door for three years is one of the hardest things of all to do in sport.

I can't praise the two Mc's and O'Brien enough for what they did this season and to watch the sheer decency of McStay after the match you couldn't help but like the man.

Some people don't like his punditry and they consequently don't like the man. Whatever. This man has a serious football head on his shoulders and a whole lot of good in his heart.

Quote from: Line Ball on March 18, 2013, 01:09:19 AM
Believe me, I know he is and I would imagine that I wouldn't be alone in my perception of this individual.

Quote. After watching the game in Croker last night , it was refreshing to see both teams going at it & giving it everything to win. Neither team resorted to the cynical fouls/dives/ time wasting that Tyrone did last night when the game was on a knife edge.     

Yeh, yeh, yeh. That's not even worth a bite.

Well done St B. finally got there and beating Cross on the way. Doesn't get better than that.

Hard luck on BM. Amazing to think they were novelty tv stars a few years back. Some progress.

Quote from: Line Ball on March 18, 2013, 01:09:19 AM

Really? Well I would imagine I'm not alone in thinking the very same thing avbout yourself.