Jimmy's throwing hacks out!

Started by T Fearon, September 23, 2012, 08:42:20 PM

Mcguinness banned attendance of his players at the book launch before a copy was on sale. How did he know it was full of lies at that stage. My opinion is Jim is a power freak and a bully. His nasty behaviour puts a sour taste on what should be a joyous occasion.

This isn't about McGuinness and Donegal. This is about the relationship between the GAA and the media. To what extent are the media allowed to write about players?

Quote from: cadence on September 25, 2012, 07:53:47 PM
what goes on in teams and groups has to stay private to protect those within the group from being exposed and judged from outside. it's not an easy thing to be honest and transparent about your own failings within a group situation. participants need to be able to feel safe and know that they are protected. break this trust and the group is no longer a sfae and protective space. this damages the group's ability to be an honest and transparent environment and a truly reflective one that analyses what it should be analysing and seeking to improve becasue participants are afraid.

With the greatest respect Cadence, that sounds more like it's for survivors of the Magdelen Laundries than a football team.

My guess - and it's only guess - that McGuinness feels guilty about throwing Cassidy under the bus. As O'Neill says, other players have "broken confidentiality" by talking about their diets and what-nots and they don't sleep with the fishes. McGuinness was emotional after the All-Ireland and threw the rattle. Fair enough. I was emotional myself.

The best thing that can happen to this is for McGuinness to send Bogue a Christmas card and then do a exclusive Christmas-with-Sam piece for the Telegraph or whatever.

On the big picture, the GAA needs to start looking at media access and the needs of both sides. Having press nights two weeks before the All-Ireland means everything you read before the game is guaranteed to be shite. The people deserve better, and the games deserve to be chronicled correctly.

Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2012, 11:01:32 PM
McGuinness shouldn't be allowed to get away with this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5V581Otb3VI
The boys pushing Jim up to sing should check their doors and windows are locked tonight.

It's getting personal now.....................slagging his singing. O'Neill you have gone too far mucker.

That clip definitely proved to me what a bully and power freak the man really is

Daniel was looking longingly at Jim a bit too much I thought.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2012, 10:41:07 PM
Mcguinness banned attendance of his players at the book launch before a copy was on sale. How did he know it was full of lies at that stage. My opinion is Jim is a power freak and a bully. His nasty behaviour puts a sour taste on what should be a joyous occasion.

I wouldn't mind that bully running my county team, though.

Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2012, 11:10:12 PM
Daniel was looking longingly at Jim a bit too much I thought.
He did sing 'Secret Love' at one stage.

here comes 6

Jimmy Fancy bulling our way til Sam?

sheamy

Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2012, 11:01:32 PM
McGuinness shouldn't be allowed to get away with this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5V581Otb3VI

Now that really is 'vile' and 'offensive'

In my opinion or rather my theory on this is that this is the first move by McGuinness to retaining the All-Ireland next year.

Last year (2010) he installed an unbelieveable strenght of mind in the players and had put a huge emphasis on the group and trust within that. When he seen Cassidy break that, he had to cut him loose to re-enforce his position as leader and move on to the next level and make it clear they have unfinished business and that trust must still be unbroken.

As it proved this worked and no doubt the "good teams win the All-Ireland, great teams win more than one" mantra was in his thoughts. His removal or request of removal of this journo ensured that the breach of trust was fresh in everyones mind and that such breachs in this period after the All-Ireland will not be tolerated, as the thrist of info on what Donegal do will be greater than every before.

Well thats my theory on it  :D

Kerry are the only team to retain the GAA fuball all Ireland in the last 20 years.
What has been interesting about the last few years is the number of different teams that won it.
Next year will be more of the same. 

squire_in_navy_slacks

If they start drinking water and tea at the functions with Sam come December, Ill believe the donegal lads are deadly serious about retaining..................................some dublin gombeens are still hungover over from 2011  ;)

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 25, 2012, 10:39:31 PM
How many times do people have to be told SIOBHAN BRADY DID NOT EJECT DECLAN BOGUE This is what Bogue himself wrote in the Indo:

'After Sunday's final, I took my place in the press conference, just as I had for the quarter-final and semi-final that Donegal were involved in," Bogue revealed. "It was made known to me that Jim would not talk to reporters while I remained in the room. With their deadlines in mind, I left as discreetly as possible.'

Okay, neither Siobhan Brady or anyone else in the GAA insisted he be removed, happy to correct the record on that score:

QuoteTHE GAA communications department yesterday explained why an accredited reporter was asked to leave Donegal's post-match press conference last Sunday.

Donegal's All-Ireland-winning manager Jim McGuinness refused to speak on the record until Belfast Telegraph journalist Declan Bogue left the room.

After being informed of this by a GAA official, Bogue departed.

"Jim McGuinness, like all the other people involved in our games, are amateur sports people," said GAA communications manager Alan Milton. "They are not under contract or obliged to speak to anyone they do not wish to speak to."

Asked if this has set a precedent, Milton replied: "We'll look into what happened but the basic principle of the matter remains the same regardless of what stance or protocol we take.

"We are facilitators on the day between professional journalists and non-professional sports people. We are grateful for both players and managers for their utmost co-operation on 99 per cent of occasions – win, lose or draw. Yesterday was a very rare event post-match where a stance was taken by an individual. While it wasn't ideal from our perspective he is entirely entitled to take the stance he took."