Seamus Scanlon
Bryan Sheehan

Paul Galvin
Darran O'Sullivan
Sean O'Sullivan

James O'Donoghue
Kieran Donaghy
Barry John Keane

Nice mix of old and young, looking forward to seeing how O'Donoghue and BJ Keane get on, either one of them could potentially force their way into the Championship line up with strong NFL campaigns.

Peter Crowley is another one I'll be keeping an eye on, he's very highly rated but I haven't seen much of him. Delighted to see Killian Young in the HB line instead of at cornerback.

It will seem weird that Mugsy could be the only one from the starting team from 2003 final doesn't it. I know Stevie came on that day but it really is a whole new era.
I remember thinking that this is a very young team and they could be around for 10 years or more
Well looks like the 10 years are up and whilst I expect a lot of our past leaders to be missing on Sat night we should still have quite a strong team

I'd like to see Joey back in at FB to be honest as I think Justy has regressed a lot the last year or so.
Maybe it's his way of trying to get moved out the field though I doubt it
I would like to see Joey at FB, Justy at CHB or even MF but I can't see that every happening.
Has Mickey ever played him there.

Peter Harte has definitely become our most important player but there is still the dilemma of CHB OR CHF?
Hughes seems to have done well this January and has Mat Donnelly but are they good enough yet for the bigger guns.

I hope Kildare play an open match and don't be pulling and dragging all day. I'm probably being unfair but I fear McGeeney's influence will mean they could use the rough them up tactics a bit and they'll see us as a new young team that can be pushed about. Not a game for Ronan O'Neill I would say but maybe I'm not being fair at all
I can just recall when McGeenery took over Kildare his first league game was in Omagh and it was an awful negative game.

Keane

How many probably first choice players are Tyrone going to be missing?

The two Cavanaghs, Conor Gormley - anyone else I'm missing? What's Davy Harte's story?

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 11:27:33 AM
It will seem weird that Mugsy could be the only one from the starting team from 2003 final doesn't it. I know Stevie came on that day but it really is a whole new era.
I remember thinking that this is a very young team and they could be around for 10 years or more
Well looks like the 10 years are up and whilst I expect a lot of our past leaders to be missing on Sat night we should still have quite a strong team

I'd like to see Joey back in at FB to be honest as I think Justy has regressed a lot the last year or so.
Maybe it's his way of trying to get moved out the field though I doubt it
I would like to see Joey at FB, Justy at CHB or even MF but I can't see that every happening.
Has Mickey ever played him there.

Peter Harte has definitely become our most important player but there is still the dilemma of CHB OR CHF?
Hughes seems to have done well this January and has Mat Donnelly but are they good enough yet for the bigger guns.

I hope Kildare play an open match and don't be pulling and dragging all day. I'm probably being unfair but I fear McGeeney's influence will mean they could use the rough them up tactics a bit and they'll see us as a new young team that can be pushed about. Not a game for Ronan O'Neill I would say but maybe I'm not being fair at all
I can just recall when McGeenery took over Kildare his first league game was in Omagh and it was an awful negative game.

I thought thar Mr Hollow as I typed it but I think you'll find the team we field on Sat won't have too many "hard" or dirty men in it. Both McMahon's are always too nice and no Gormley and Dicey Ricey so the only player ye might love to hate on the night is Mugsy and I don't think ye'll get much outta him.

All I'm saying is McGeeney seems to have toughened ye up a lot more which was probably needed.
The same way McGuinness have "toughened up" Donegal.

I'd like to see but doubt I ever will.

Devine
McCrory
Joey
PJ Quinn
McCarron
Harte
Carlin

Justy
M.Murphy

Penrose
Mugsy
Hughes

Mat Donnelly
SoNeill
Mark Donnelly

BTW I got sorted with 2 premium tickets. That premium ticket exchange thing is a great job.

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 02:16:06 PM
I thought thar Mr Hollow as I typed it but I think you'll find the team we field on Sat won't have too many "hard" or dirty men in it. Both McMahon's are always too nice and no Gormley and Dicey Ricey so the only player ye might love to hate on the night is Mugsy and I don't think ye'll get much outta him.

All I'm saying is McGeeney seems to have toughened ye up a lot more which was probably needed.
The same way McGuinness have "toughened up" Donegal.

Ah here. Everyone knows Kildare are soft out. Didn't Tyrone horse us out of it up in Dungannon last year. Sure isn't McGeeney trying to recruit in every disillusioned footballer in Ulster in a vain attempt to toughen us up a bit.

Kildare team will be something along these lines I'd say:

Connolly
PKelly  Fitzpatrick  McGrillen
Lyons  M O'Flaherty  Bolton
Flynn  Sweeney
Callaghan  Conway  Doyle
Smith  Connor  Kavanagh

Flanagan, the two O'Neills, Rob Kelly and Eoghan Flaherty will be there or thereabouts.

Mick Foley will be eased back in and Fitzpatrick is improving at full-back. Ollie Lyons has been going well and Bolton has played in a recent challenge. Roli will be hard to dislodge from midfield on his O'Byrne Cup form so hopefully it's a return to the forward line for Johnny. It appears like McGeeney is going to give every chance to Conway to try and re-establish himself and Smithy hinted at a bit of a revival in form against Offaly and Dublin.

Quote from: Keane on February 02, 2012, 11:20:08 AM
Kerry team for Saturday:

Brendan Kealy

Shane Enright
Marc Ó Sé
Peter Crowley

Tomás Ó Sé
Killian Young
Brian Maguire

Seamus Scanlon
Bryan Sheehan

Paul Galvin
Darran O'Sullivan
Sean O'Sullivan

James O'Donoghue
Kieran Donaghy
Barry John Keane

Nice mix of old and young, looking forward to seeing how O'Donoghue and BJ Keane get on, either one of them could potentially force their way into the Championship line up with strong NFL campaigns.

Peter Crowley is another one I'll be keeping an eye on, he's very highly rated but I haven't seen much of him. Delighted to see Killian Young in the HB line instead of at cornerback.

Is that Sean O'Sullivan the one with the shaved head or a different one?

Keane

No it's that one. Back after a two year hiatus. Don't think anyone really knows why, he wasn't good enough in his prime and was shit in the County Championship as well.

Bizarre tbh.

I always thought he was a good player.
You Kerry hoors are awful hard to please.

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 08:25:50 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12522

'Ricey' on Bench for Kildare Game

Mickey Harte has unsurprisingly made few changes to the team that saw off Derry in last weekend's Dr McKenna Cup final. Pascal McConnell rotates into the goalkeeping position instead of John Devine while Joe McMahon slots in at midfield to take over from the injured Colm Cavanagh. Ryan McMenamin is back on the bench and will surely see some action in this tough opening game in the league.
Throw in for Saturday evenings match in Croke Park is 5pm.

1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
4 PJ Quinn – Baile na Móna
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Dermot Carlin – Coill an Chlochair
8 Michael Murphy – An Gallbhaile
9 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
10 Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
11 Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
12 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
13 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach
14 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
15 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael

16 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
18 Conor Clarke   - An Omaigh
19 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
20 Ciaran Gervin – Doire Locháin
21 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
22 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
23 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
24 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
25 Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
26 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór

Cill Dara (v Tír Eoghain)

1 Shane Connolly - St Laurences
2 Peter Kelly - Two Mile House
3 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Kilcock
4 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
5 Brian Flanagan - Johnstownbridge
6 Tommy O'Neill - St Laurences
7 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Carbury
8 Daryl Flynn - Moorefield
9 Ronan Sweeney - Moorefield
10 Tommy Moolick - Leixlip
11 Mikey Conway - Nurney
12 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurences
13 James Kavanagh - Ballymore
14 Tomás O'Connor - Clane
15 Alan Smith - Sarsfields

Unchanged team from the one that started against Dublin. Could definitely be a change or two before the throw in. I wouldn't be overly confident with that half-back line on the big pitch at Croke Park.

Keane

That looks a strong Tyrone team, missing anyone besides the Cavanaghs and Gormly?

Keane

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2012, 10:20:55 PM
Cill Dara (v Tír Eoghain)

1 Shane Connolly - St Laurences
2 Peter Kelly - Two Mile House
3 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Kilcock
4 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
5 Brian Flanagan - Johnstownbridge
6 Tommy O'Neill - St Laurences
7 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Carbury
8 Daryl Flynn - Moorefield
9 Ronan Sweeney - Moorefield
10 Tommy Moolick - Leixlip
11 Mikey Conway - Nurney
12 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurences
13 James Kavanagh - Ballymore
14 Tomás O'Connor - Clane
15 Alan Smith - Sarsfields

Unchanged team from the one that started against Dublin. Could definitely be a change or two before the throw in. I wouldn't be overly confident with that half-back line on the big pitch at Croke Park.

Would be pretty amazed if that was the team that lined out.