O'Byrne Cup & Bihatimber 2012

Started by thejuice, November 16, 2011, 05:00:04 PM

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2012, 08:01:48 PM
I'd would worry about getting over DCU but if we do end up playing the Royals I will be either in Longford or Navan.

Final could be switched to Croke Park if it's Longford v Dublin.

Jesus - our hearts were broken a few years ago in Parnell Park when Dubs scored two late goals in floodlight final. That was a superb match. It was amazing the number of texts I got from lads watching it live on TG4. I couldnt believe that anyone would be tuned in.

I think it's a worthy competition as the gate, after, ahem, expenses, goes into a players' fund and now that Bord na Mona are on board there is a few extra bob.

Yeah was a cracking game alright. Was at it and there was some celebrating afterwards even for an O'BC game. One of those strange breed of games that takes legs once a game starts way beyond the actual competition involved. Jayo struck twice iirc to win it.
Truth be told I was half hoping Longford would have won it. Think the Longford minors beat us later that year as well.

I see Banty has brought in Derval O'Rourkes coach, Sean Cahill from Skryne.
Good move in my view.
We badly need to improve our speed.

Quote from: Hound on January 06, 2012, 04:49:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 06, 2012, 04:14:07 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 06, 2012, 03:56:58 PM
Gilroy anxious not to give Carlow any advantage, so won't name the team until shortly before throw-in.

A few new faces in the squad, including one just out of minor, half back John Small from Ballymun Kickhams. I was hoping they'd bring Ciaran Kilkenny straight into the senor squad, but that doesnt seem to be the case.

Ciaran Kilkenny is off to Oz Hound, big loss for ye.
Not till after he finishes his Leaving Cert this year.

Being involved with the senior team might give a small chance of him changing his mind

I think that would be rather foolish, couldn't see Gilroy accommodating him either on the off chance he has a change of heart. I presume though that he will be involved with the U21s since it'll be completed before the Leaving. You never know, like many before him he could be back in a couple of years.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2012, 05:22:46 PM
Great win for Offaly in front of tens of supporters. Beat the Westmeathians back over the border. 3-6 to 0-7.

Hope we can keep our feet on the ground after that.

Goals win games and Mulhall had us in bother from the start. Fair play to young Sheridan though, he stuck with it and came to grips with him as the game wore on. Interesting to see both teams drop men back, hope it's not a sign of copycat tactics for the season ahead. After seeing the team Kildare had out I'm glad we didn't prevail, they would have chewn up the young lads. A victory over DIT is very achievable next Sunday and another competitive outing will stand to us ahead of the league.

Westmeath highlights were: the return to competitive action of Natchie (great to see him back after a year out, gave great leadership, looked lean and keen and made a couple of his trademark lung bursting runs in behind the opposition) McCormacks display inside (won most balls and kicked some lovely scores, needs to take the early shot when its on) and Kieran Martins ball carrying (was unlucky with a couple of pointed efforts from the wrong side).

Feckin 7.45pm for Dublin v UCD on Saturday night. Why so feckin late? Especially on a dark January night. 5.30ish would be perfect, like a lot of the Leinster rugby matches, and a lot more kids would've been brought too.

I see David Henry has announced his retirement. Unlikely to be anything more than a bit player under Gilroy so no surprise. I seen him at St. Annes Park watching a Raheny league game during the year, when he was a very frustrated viewer. Not allowed play by Gilroy despite being a unused substitute in the previous Dublin game. Raheny will be putting a big push on getting out of Division 2 this year, with a few great talents coming through and Whelan taking over as manager.

Anyway, go luck to Davie, always one of my favourite players.

Longford County Board dragging the poor auld students out to feckin Ballymahon again for Sunday's clash. What's wrong with Pearse Park at the moment or is this a cunning plan? I'd say DCU will be strong and by no means will it be easy for Longford.

Gilroy has named his panel for the UCD game on Saturday night. New faces for 2012 include:
Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams)
John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
Davy Byrne (Ballymun Kickhams)
Conor McKiernan (Templeogue Synge St)
Declan Treanor (Templeogue Synge St)
Rory Corcoran (Castleknock)
Miceál McCarthy (St Sylvester's)
Gavin McIntyre (St Brigid's)

Neither of the Brogans nor Cluxton involved yet. Going to be strange to have Rory O'Carroll on the opposition.

Quote from: Hound on January 13, 2012, 11:30:04 AM
Gilroy has named his panel for the UCD game on Saturday night. New faces for 2012 include:

Neither of the Brogans nor Cluxton involved yet. Going to be strange to have Rory O'Carroll on the opposition.

Davy Byrne & McCarthy were impressive last week.

I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 13, 2012, 09:40:39 AM
Longford County Board dragging the poor auld students out to feckin Ballymahon again for Sunday's clash. What's wrong with Pearse Park at the moment or is this a cunning plan? I'd say DCU will be strong and by no means will it be easy for Longford.

Doesn't Pearse Park nearly always get rested before the league begins?

Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!
I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys

What's this about Heffo? Has by-passed me...

begrudger

is that rory ocarroll full back for definite? it was down as r o connell in all reports last week

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 02:34:56 PM

Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!

Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.

Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).

QuoteDoesn't Pearse Park nearly always get rested before the league begins?

I suppose, but this is only relatively recent - within the past 3-4 years. You'd get more of a crowd if it was in Pearse Park....who the feck wants to head to Ballymahon with the cows looking at at you on the far side  :-\

Quote from: begrudger on January 13, 2012, 02:40:28 PM

is that rory ocarroll full back for definite? it was down as r o connell in all reports last week

It was him alright.

Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:58:30 PM

Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.

Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).

Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 03:30:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:58:30 PM

Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province

It's true, there was a nice sales job lined up. Sure all Brigids can do for him is a porter job in Vincents through McEntee. He told them he was going to give Dublin another year and see how he got on.