All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Radda bout yeee

Quote from: haranguerer on September 19, 2011, 05:16:48 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on September 19, 2011, 04:11:38 PM
Anyhow I think the match hinged on one tackle - If O'Sullivan had of made any sort of decent challenge on McManamon for his goal then he wouldn't have scored the goal and Kerry would have won!
To make a token tackle a that stage of an all ireland final is shocking!!!

You eejit - he was out on his feet, after taking the rap from Brennan he wasnt the same, he gave away the ball in mf and sprinted as hard as he could to get back to make amendsl, but by the time he got there he was f**ked. He actually did do some good though, he forced McManamon into carrying it twice the allowed number of steps, which he should have been blown for. Just saying like...

Also, Kerry lost becuase they gave away a bad ball in midfield. They were keeping posession, they werent playing defensively. They were still looking to go forward, just not rushing it against a packed dublin defence. Michael Dara McAuley was immense btw I thought

I have seen average club footballers in the same position and they have been able to pull down their opponent to prevent the goal - I wonder if it had of been in the first all ireland final o'sullivan played in would he have been able to do better than he did?

After all the crying we've had here this summer about cynical fouling, Declan O'Sullivan is now being castigated for not deliberately fouling McManaman to prevent him going through on goal? ???

Planes ,trains, automobiles, buses at 2am etc but it was worth it. Unbelievable stuff from the Dubs to win that - I'll never forget that last 7 minutes as long as I live - Croker was shaking - The sense of relief I have is incredible - It doesn't get any better than that - Can't even begin to analyse it but we got the breaks and took them - Delighted and cheers to all the very generous Kerry supporters and other lads who texted me etc for their kind comments. Much appreciated. Jaysus can't wait for the summer holidays now!!     

Quote from: Radda bout yeee on September 19, 2011, 04:11:38 PM
Is it true the Dublin players are still in Coppers? Quality!!!

Anyhow I think the match hinged on one tackle - If O'Sullivan had of made any sort of decent challenge on McManamon for his goal then he wouldn't have scored the goal and Kerry would have won!
To make a token tackle a that stage of an all ireland final is shocking!!!

Congrats to the jacks anyway. First all ireland since you broke my heart as a child in '95 - i'll not even get into that old ground!!!  ;D

in the mansion house now. most of them never went to coppers last night. a couple went in at 4am and stayed till 10 this morning! theyve been to a load of pubs at this stage!

Quote from: J70 on September 19, 2011, 05:46:22 PM
After all the crying we've had here this summer about cynical fouling, Declan O'Sullivan is now being castigated for not deliberately fouling McManaman to prevent him going through on goal? ???
There's quite the difference in the closing stages of an AI final with the game hanging in the balance and that torturous ingrained stuff you boys have going on.

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 19, 2011, 06:01:24 PM
There's quite the difference in the closing stages of an AI final with the game hanging in the balance and that torturous ingrained stuff you boys have going on.

If Donegal are more guilty than other teams and as bad as you say, then boys such as yourself should have no problem backing up your claims with some statistics.

That aside, context has f**k all to do it. Either a dedliberate, cynical foul is acceptable or it isn't.

100% right. Bryan Sheehan dived at Macauley and hauled him down as he was clean through and that's great play?! Fair enough it rewards his team but for all those preaching about the soul of our game being destroyed it robbed Dublin and everyone watching of a great goal chance, something that could have been the highlight of an All-Ireland final. Cynical in the extreme but not a word on it from Pat and the rest of them.

That incident almost proved the Kerry are purists argument by exception I thought. :D Only kidding, but did you ever, in your life, see a lad who looked as uncomfortable fouling as Sheehan that time :) He knew what he was trying to do, but hadn't a clue how he was going to do it. It looked liked a Laurel and Hardy sketch.

To be fair to Sheehan he had some year. Knew he had bags of ability but always thought he would be exposed at some stage and maybe wasn't tough enough for the middle but he got better with every game. Superb footballer.

Jaysus lads  - mobile phone links to David Hickey(true legend) singing the Auld Triangle from city centre while working away - Tissues needed ;)

belleaqua

Can anybody post the Dubs subs as they were listed on the match programme yesterday to settle an oul argument between two eejits for me please? I dont know did it stop at 24 but the more that can be named the better, cheers!

bigfrank

sorry for asking but i never seen banquet or sunday game last night but who got the official man of the match award??

Quote from: belleaqua on September 19, 2011, 08:22:25 PM
Can anybody post the Dubs subs as they were listed on the match programme yesterday to settle an oul argument between two eejits for me please? I dont know did it stop at 24 but the more that can be named the better, cheers!

Heffo posted the subs the other day i guess it's correct
16. Michael Savage
17. Paul Conlon
18. Paul Casey
19. David Henry
20. Eoghan O'Gara
21. Philip McMahon
22. Tomas Quinn
23. Craig Dias
24. Kevin McMamanon
25. Eamonn Fennell
26. Ross McConnell
Quote from: bigfrank on September 19, 2011, 08:29:20 PM
sorry for asking but i never seen banquet or sunday game last night but who got the official man of the match award??

Kevin Nolan.

belleaqua

Quote from: ross4life on September 19, 2011, 08:31:49 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on September 19, 2011, 08:22:25 PM

Heffo posted the subs the other day i guess it's correct
16. Michael Savage
17. Paul Conlon
18. Paul Casey
19. David Henry
20. Eoghan O'Gara
21. Philip McMahon
22. Tomas Quinn
23. Craig Dias
24. Kevin McMamanon
25. Eamonn Fennell
26. Ross McConnell

Cheers for that, was Declan Lally on the panel does of 30+ does anyone know?

never kickt a ball