The Official Shamrock Rovers in the Europa League Thread

Started by laoislad, August 25, 2011, 10:04:06 PM

Rovers holding their own. Could nick a goal if they hang on long enough. You'd miss watching Liverpool on the Thursday night all the same.

Some goal in fairness. Should have pegged one back down the other end straight away. 0-2

Well done Shams. Great result to only lose 0-3 to a team that played in the Champions League group stages last year. Fantastic night for Irish soccer.

saw a few mins of this last night. jees that really was sihte.
How much are these rovers fellas getting -if its more than €20 a game , i'll dust off the old boots and tog out myself again.
No one seems to be able to head the ball any more.
Gaelic football will be the winner here in comparison to that tripe.
There was more skill in the leinster junior counties leage when I played in it last.
Martins last night didnt look remotely interested. Couldnt stomach more than 9 mins of this farce before turning over.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 16, 2011, 10:21:24 AM
saw a few mins of this last night. jees that really was sihte.
How much are these rovers fellas getting -if its more than €20 a game , i'll dust off the old boots and tog out myself again.No one seems to be able to head the ball any more.
Gaelic football will be the winner here in comparison to that tripe.
There was more skill in the leinster junior counties leage when I played in it last.
Martins last night didnt look remotely interested. Couldnt stomach more than 9 mins of this farce before turning over.

Yeah, you'd be brillant alright I'd say  ::)

Quote from: ballinaman on September 15, 2011, 07:09:43 PM
Some goal in fairness. Should have pegged one back down the other end straight away. 0-2

Yeah should have scored straight after Rubin's second goal.

I thought they played decent enough in patches last night and should have had a goal or two.
The Russians 2nd and 3rd goal were top quality finishes,the first goal has to be put down to nerves and the big occasion getting to them,it was dreadful defending really.
I don't think it should be forgotten what a huge step up in class this is for Rovers,and it's only going to get harder against Spurs in the next game but all this experience should stand to them and hopefully will see them and other Irish clubs qualify more regularly for these European competitions. 
The real achievement was getting to the group stages,any points won was always going to be a bonus.

It's a pity they don't have Celtic in their group,it would probably have guaranteed Rovers a couple of points at the very least.
Nordie Tayto is shite

They did ok but there was a serious difference in class. Rovers wouldn't have anyone over a grand a month and rubin are owned by people with serious bucks.

Seanie - what you doing here sneering. You have such a massive chip on your shoulder you were probably cheering on the Russians.

Atticus_Finch

Is anyone making the trip to White Hart Lane on Thursday ?

In London for a while and i'd love to get to the game.  Hold my hands up, i'm not a big fan at all but say it would be some occasion and atmosphere. See on the website that 2,300 fans are expected to make the journey and be joined by 1,000 based London supporters.

Wouldn't mind getting a few tickets in the away end - take it the whole away allocation is sold out.   If anyone knows of any away tickets floating about can you give me a shout please ?  Thanks
"The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience."

Good defensive display but would remind you of Donegal! Need to stop hoofing the ball forward when in possession.

Forever Green

Get f**king in there Rovers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

rossie mad

Fair play rovers.cant ee them holding out but they are putting up a decent show

Nordie Tayto is shite

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/sep/29/tottenham-hotspur-shamrock-rovers-live

GOAL! Tottenham Hotspur 0-1 Shamrock Rovers (Rice, 50 mins) Incredible scenes at White Hart Lane, as McCabe's free-kick is blocked, but comes back out to Pat Sullivan outside the area. He sends in a low drive which Cudicini probably had covered, but Rice was standing about a yard in front of the keeper and stuck a boot out to nick it up over him and into the net.

52 mins Well if the Shamrock Rovers fans were making a fair old noise before, you should hear them now. Pandemonium in the away section at White Hart Lane.

Wish gimps on C5 stop calling them 'Shamrock'! They are 'Rovers' FFS! Great goal. Redknapp looking sicker than usual!