GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 03:22:41 PM

Title: If you were giving out All Stars at this stage, who would be shoo ins ?
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 03:22:41 PM
Who would be certain of An All Star at this stage ???

Shefflin
Larkin
Ben and Jerry O'Connor
Gardiner
Canning Joe
Mc Graths of Waterford
Brown
Eoin Kelly
Shane Mc Grath
Brendan Cummins
JJ Delaney

??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Title: Re: If you were giving out All Stars at this stage, who would be shoo ins ?
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 03:23:53 PM
Where is Corbett? I think he has been Tipps best palyer
Title: Re: If you were giving out All Stars at this stage, who would be shoo ins ?
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 03:27:07 PM
No doubt - put him in there.

I've a similar thread going on in the football section - this is one subject that really sparks debate.

I was also saying that we should pick a team now just to see what the effect the AI final has on the selection. A player who is haing a decent year can seal it with a big game in the AI final.
Post by: davereilly on August 11, 2008, 03:41:39 PM
Seán Óg Ó hAilpín has been on fire this season, he deserves one too.

John Mullane too.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 03:42:42 PM
O hAilpin got his fill of it yesterday.

Mullane has been good no doubt.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on August 11, 2008, 04:28:59 PM
A few outsiders that have caught my attention this year
David O'Callaghan  - Dublin
Joe Bergin  - Offaly
Brian O'Connell - Clare
Niall Gilligan - Clare
Seamus Callinan - Tipperary
Rory Jacob - Wexford

Also others who should be mentioned
Eoin kelly  - Waterford
Lar Corbett - Tipperary
Diarmuid Lyng - Kilkenny

Post by: gallsman on August 11, 2008, 04:37:01 PM
Ken McGrath? Seriously? This year?
Post by: youngfella on August 11, 2008, 04:39:04 PM
how can you pick a forward thats not from kilkenny after that display yesterday? All six of them can play in any position they want, I seen henry back helping out this half backs. I love how canning plays but the kilkenny forwards are special and shouldnt be broken up.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 04:50:53 PM
Couldn't give one to Joe Bergin. He was quiet against Waterford, and his only great game was against Limerick, he missed time with Injury as well.

I wouldn't pick All Stars just yet positionally, but some lads I have seen that would be there or thereabouts so far would be... (not exhaustive, just off the top of my head)

Goalies
Cummins
Donal

Backs
Conor O'Mahoney
Tommy Walsh
JJ Delaney
John Gardiner
Tony Brown
Eoin Murphy
Shane O'Neill

Midfielders
Cha Fitz
Shane McGrath
Tom Kenny
Derek Lyng

Forwards
Seamus Callinane
Eoin Kelly Tipp
Eoin Kelly Waterford
Aidan Fogarty
John Mullane
Lar Corbett
Joe Canning
Ben O'Connor
Eoin Larkin
Post by: imtommygunn on August 11, 2008, 04:51:46 PM
You wouldn't pick Power or Comerford on yesterday.

Also Eoin Kelly, of Waterford, has been consistently hammering over big totals. Don't think he can be left out.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 05:03:03 PM
Very hard to pick yet if you ask me, for Wexford only Quigley has played well in all games but I still think there will be quiet a few ahead in the pecking order. To be honest I'd find it very hard to pick guys above most of the Kilkenny team

Probably Kilkenny plus Lar Corbett and either of the Eoin Kellys (Less Power and Comerford) Possibles Shane McGrath, Mullane and I need to watch a replay of yesterday before I'd make a decision on Tom Kenny although Cha Fitz would be nailed on so only one of McGrath or Kenny.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 05:04:00 PM
If it's a toss up between McGrath and Tom Kenny, I'd have to say McGrath.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 05:11:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 05:04:00 PM
If it's a toss up between McGrath and Tom Kenny, I'd have to say McGrath.

I'd go for Kenny - was it 3 from play yesterday ? Thought Kenny had a great year.
Post by: gallsman on August 11, 2008, 05:13:00 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 11, 2008, 04:39:04 PM
how can you pick a forward thats not from kilkenny after that display yesterday? All six of them can play in any position they want, I seen henry back helping out this half backs. I love how canning plays but the kilkenny forwards are special and shouldnt be broken up.

Richie Power was played (and taken) off the pitch.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 05:14:04 PM
McGrath also has been great, next weekend will probably be the deciding factor. I expect McGrath will once again win the midfield battle and rubber stamp his claim on the All-Star.
Post by: Canalman on August 11, 2008, 05:15:09 PM
Only 3 imo

Joe Canning
John Mullane
Shane McGrath

No shoo ins yet for KK imo......Good AIF performances will be needed by the likes of Fitzpatrick, Lyng, Shefflin,Brennan, Fogarty etc to copperfasten their claims.

I think Pat Vaughan of Clare will be in with a shout also.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2008, 05:19:17 PM
Plus I think McGrath played very well against Cork down in the Park.
Post by: davereilly on August 11, 2008, 05:23:30 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 11, 2008, 04:39:04 PM

Can't consider Eddie Brennan after yeasterday, poor match.

what about Lyng from Wexford? (can't remember his first name)
Post by: EddieMerx on August 11, 2008, 05:43:43 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 11, 2008, 05:15:09 PM
Only 3 imo

Joe Canning
John Mullane
Shane McGrath

No shoo ins yet for KK imo......Good AIF performances will be needed by the likes of Fitzpatrick, Lyng, Shefflin,Brennan, Fogarty etc to copperfasten their claims.

You are giving Joe one based on one game yet Kilkenny have played Wexford, Offaly and Cork so far and pretty much destroyed all three yet Mullane gets one for playing two of the same teams and a Clare team who were beaten by Cork ??? ???
Post by: imtommygunn on August 11, 2008, 05:52:34 PM
I didn't see all of the Waterford Wexford game but I didn't think Mullane was that great from what I saw? Good no doubt but not all star material.

Likewise in the Limerick game to be honest though he was brilliant against Clare.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 08:49:20 PM
Could Noel Hickey get one for yesterday's performance alone ?

He played more yesterday than most men will play in 3 or 4 games.
Post by: INDIANA on August 11, 2008, 10:31:02 PM
eddie brennan scored 4 points from play. really poor game, are you taking the piss?
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 09:07:36 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 11, 2008, 10:31:02 PM
eddie brennan scored 4 points from play. really poor game, are you taking the piss?
[/b]

That's what I thought as well considering the ENTIRE Cork front six scored 3 from play all day.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2008, 09:37:53 AM
Every one of those Kilkenny scoring bursts which puts teams away seems to be instigated by Eddie Brennan. He's a man that can do bugger all half a game and then boom he'll demolish you.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2008, 09:48:39 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 12, 2008, 09:37:53 AM
Every one of those Kilkenny scoring bursts which puts teams away seems to be instigated by Eddie Brennan. He's a man that can do bugger all half a game and then boom he'll demolish you.

Remember Galway last year - he did the same thing - 2 goals in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: johnneycool on August 12, 2008, 05:02:59 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 11, 2008, 05:15:09 PM
Only 3 imo

Joe Canning
John Mullane
Shane McGrath

I'll put my money on Derek Lyng with Colin Lynch getting an allstar for posterity's sake in the midfield although McGrath may just oust Lyng depending on how he goes in the next game or games as the case may be.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 12, 2008, 05:13:07 PM
Neither Cha or Lyng!!! That would make a mockery of the All Stars. Kilkenny have the best midfield in the country due to the fact they have two of the best players.
Post by: ExiledGael on August 12, 2008, 05:21:41 PM
Anyone know the record for players from one county getting All-Stars? Cats could end up in double figures though Shane McGrath, Mullane and Canning must feature.

Just checked myself, Kilkenny had 9 in 2000, Tipp and Clare had eight each in 2001 and 1995 respectively.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 05:39:03 PM
And at this point I will now roll out the obligatory spake on this (sort of) matter.

Who are the only county to have an All Star in every position in both football AND hurling?

Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2008, 05:45:15 PM
Realistically I couldn't see Kavanagh, probably Tyrrel and Hogan getting one. I'd be surprised if they'd two in midfield.

I'd say Power / Comerford would need a massive game in the final to get one and Fogarty would probably too. If those two have massive games they'll probably take another Kilkenny players all star too...

Nine could well be beat though!

Post by: ExiledGael on August 12, 2008, 09:25:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 05:39:03 PM
And at this point I will now roll out the obligatory spake on this (sort of) matter.

Who are the only county to have an All Star in every position in both football AND hurling?

Would have thought the Rebels but assume you've some sort of agenda here AZ so I'll guess Offaly.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 09:30:17 PM
Correct EG. The Faithful County it is.

I'm sure Cork will do it soon as well, and probably Galway, at which point I will change the question to 'The First County blah blah blah'. We have to hold on to such trinkets at this stage.
Post by: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:09:05 AM

Offaly is right - I knew that one - most people guess Cork, but Offaly were a superpower when the awards started - and they're on the rise !  ;)
Post by: EddieMerx on August 13, 2008, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:09:05 AM

Offaly is right - I knew that one - most people guess Cork, but Offaly were a superpower when the awards started - and they're on the rise !  ;)

Get a room will ye ;)
Post by: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:24:55 AM
Quote from: EddieMerx on August 13, 2008, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:09:05 AM

Get a room will ye ;)

;D ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 08:27:08 PM
After today --

Eoin Kelly Waterford - definite
Eoin Kelly - Tipp - deifinite
John Mullane
Shane Maher - definite
Shane Mc Grath - definite
Eoin Mc Grath has had a good year as well

What has happened to Big Dan - he has really lost form - he won't even get a nomination this year !
Post by: youngfella on August 17, 2008, 10:12:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 08:27:08 PM
After today --

Where do you put these two fellas? Almost all of the cats forwards were more impressive last day.
Post by: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 10:13:48 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 17, 2008, 10:12:49 PM
After today --

Where do you put these two fellas? Almost all of the cats forwards were more impressive last day.

I know but you can't have 15 cats on the team, now can you ?  ;)
Post by: youngfella on August 17, 2008, 10:17:52 PM
Im still in awe of what they did too cork, and it wasnt one or two boys it was a full team game.
Post by: johnneycool on August 18, 2008, 08:39:09 AM
After today --

John Mullane
Shane Maher - definite
Shane Mc Grath - definite
Eoin Mc Grath has had a good year as well

What has happened to Big Dan - he has really lost form - he won't even get a nomination this year !

Too many presentation dinners in big Dan by the looks of him.

Conor O'Mahony and Shane McGrath are the only two Tipp certs for All-stars after yesterday.

Maher and Corcoran are maybe's but I don't think Eoin Kelly was anything spectacular this year.
Post by: theskull1 on August 18, 2008, 10:02:33 AM
Eoin Kelly (Tipp) is seriously overhyped and has been for years IMO (Babs wasn't that far off the mark). He possesses immaculate stickwork, but lacks that cutting edge of pace that would make him the legend some people make him out to be. Lar Corbett also lost out after yesterday. His performance had a real negative impact on Tipp's fortunes yesterday

Eoin McGrath to me has been the real surprise package this year. He has been consistently influential in all of waterfords matches this year. In open play he would be ahead of Eoin Kelly (Waterford) for me. Wouldn't say that Mullane was shoe an at this stage. Just because he jumps around shouting at the crowd every time he scores doesn't make any more affective than Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan & , O'Connor for example.

Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 11:02:12 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 18, 2008, 10:02:33 AM
Eoin Kelly (Tipp) is seriously overhyped and has been for years IMO (Babs wasn't that far off the mark). He possesses immaculate stickwork, but lacks that cutting edge of pace that would make him the legend some people make him out to be. Lar Corbett also lost out after yesterday. His performance had a real negative impact on Tipp's fortunes yesterday

Eoin McGrath to me has been the real surprise package this year. He has been consistently influential in all of waterfords matches this year. In open play he would be ahead of Eoin Kelly (Waterford) for me. Wouldn't say that Mullane was shoe an at this stage. Just because he jumps around shouting at the crowd every time he scores doesn't make any more affective than Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan & , O'Connor for example.

What do you all make of this jumping around and putting the hurl up to the crowd ?? Eoin Mc Grath did it yesterday as well.

By the way, I thought Eoin Mc Grath was a disgrace yesterday, feigning injury and lying down. He bought frees early on yesterday.

I really hope that Eoin stops this auld shite of lying down. One time in particular he lay down and you'd have thought he was shot - the referee went over to hom and told him to get up - without even the aid of a sponge, he jumped up and ran on !! The referee must have had healing hands !!  ;D ;D ;D

The Waterford corner back after being hit by Crobett, you can see on the replays, had a look round to see what the reaction was - somebody obviously told him to lie down and he seemed to pass out !!!  ;D ;D ;D

Davy Fitz runs in and shows the referee that his man is nearly dead and is appealing for a red card !!! This is one part of Waterford's play yesterday that I was very surprised at - even more surprised that it came from Davy Fitz !
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:10:03 AM
I answered this on the other thread, but you're being very harsh on Eoin Murphy. I agree Davey 'Scrappy Doo' Fitz looked silly pointing out the blood to the ref, but it was a bad enough belt.
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 11:12:07 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:10:03 AM
I answered this on the other thread, but you're being very harsh on Eoin Murphy. I agree Davey 'Scrappy Doo' Fitz looked silly pointing out the blood to the ref, but it was a bad enough belt.

Scrappy Doo ??
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:15:14 AM
Seperated at birth?

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/138/398001588_2f30145c7b.jpg?v=0)

(http://images.fanpop.com/images/image_uploads/Scrappy-Doo-scooby-doo-54729_300_300.jpg)
Post by: youngfella on August 18, 2008, 11:22:04 AM
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 12:09:16 PM
Scrappy Doo isn't as angry as that now is he ?  ;) ;) ;D ;D
Post by: Onlooker on August 18, 2008, 12:24:46 PM
Shane McGrath has to be Tipp's best bet for an All Star.  He was otstanding all year.  Seamus Callinan would have a great chance of getting "Young Hurler of the Year" only for a certain teenager from Galway called Joe Canning.  Canning is also a certain All Star.  As Munster and National League winners, Tipp might get a second award, but as always, the All Ireland finalists will get the bulk of the awards.
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 12:27:52 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on August 18, 2008, 12:24:46 PM
Shane McGrath has to be Tipp's best bet for an All Star.  He was otstanding all year.  Seamus Callinan would have a great chance of getting "Young Hurler of the Year" only for a certain teenager from Galway called Joe Canning.  Canning is also a certain All Star.  As Munster and National League winners, Tipp might get a second award, but as always, the All Ireland finalists will get the bulk of the awards.

They'll divide it up - give Callinan an All Star and give Joe Young player of the year.

But who will be player of the year ??

Kilkenny again ?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 12:36:49 PM
Eoin Kelly of Waterford will get player of the year if Waterford win the All Ireland. That's money on.

2-13 v Offaly, 1-9 or something v Wexford, 1-10 yesterday.

Shane McGrath will get an All Star, and I think Conor O'Mahoney might be Tipp's second All Star.

A lot depends on the AIF of course, but at the moment, I think the All Stars could look something like this (assuming Kilkenny win the AIF, but nobody goes ape altogether)

Clinton Hennessy

Eoin Murphy Noel Hickey Jackie Tyrell

Tommy Walsh Conor O'Mahony John Gardiner

Cha Fitzpatrick   Shane McGrath

Ben O'Connor      Henry Shefflin      Eoin Larkin

Eddie Brennan     Eoin Kelly (WD)    Eoin McGrath
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 12:53:09 PM
I think Brendan Cummins will get the goalie.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 12:58:21 PM
Depends. Goalie is one of those positions that is usually given to pad either the finallists, or winners, representations. I think Tipp wil get two, and I think O'Mahoney and McGrath will get them. (Unless Ken McGrath has a fantastic final).

If Waterford lose the final, I think they'll still get 4 All Stars, and Kelly and Eoin McGrath are in the driving seat for 2 of them.
Post by: theskull1 on August 18, 2008, 01:09:49 PM
So who is Davy's Uncle Scooby? :)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 01:17:14 PM
No, they were seperated at birth, so the real scrappy doo got brought up by Scooby. When Davy grows up he wants to be like the man who raised him, Skeletor.

(http://apnu.runswithscissors.com/images/skeletor.jpg)

(http://www.beo.ie/2002-06/loughnane.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 01:29:17 PM
 ;D :D :D :D :D Scary boy !
Post by: theskull1 on August 18, 2008, 02:18:35 PM
Don't think Shaggy and Scrappy get on ;D

(http://clubdir.gaa.ie/tipperary/thurles_sarsfields/images/2002%20County%20Final%20Redser%20thro%20the%20thatch.jpg)
Post by: youngfella on August 19, 2008, 12:57:12 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 12:36:49 PM

Clinton Hennessy

Eoin Murphy Noel Hickey Jackie Tyrell

Tommy Walsh Conor O'Mahony John Gardiner

Cha Fitzpatrick   Shane McGrath

Ben O'Connor      Henry Shefflin      Eoin Larkin

Eddie Brennan     Eoin Kelly (WD)    Eoin McGrath

I'd imagine there'll be a few more black n amber forwards than that, Didnt think ben preformed that well against them last time out. Watch the cork galway game on utube, canning really really really stands out, I starting to change my mind about him. I think he may get an award. Possibly in place of McGrath, imagine hitting a wide ball for a 70 yard line ball....  :o he's the real deal
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 09:14:00 AM
Fecking hell. I forgot about Joe Canning.

If Eddie Brennan plays well in the final, he'll get one, but maybe it'll look like this

Eoin Kelly (WD)   Henry Shefflin    Eoin Larkin

Eddie Brennan    Joe Canning       Eoin McGrath

If Eddie has a poor final, I think Eoin Kelly will go in the corner, Ben will stay wing forward and Joe will be full forward.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 09:47:07 AM
Ben O'Connor for me has to get one. I don't think they'll give Kilkenny any more than 3 forwards and they'll have to fight it among themselves in the final.

Certainties:
Walsh
Fitzpatrick
O'Connor
O'Mahoney
McGrath
Kelly(WD)
Brennan
Larkin should be too
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 09:55:50 AM
If Ben O'Connor gets one, I'd say Eddie Brennan and Eoin McGrath might be going head to head for the last one in the AIF.
Post by: youngfella on August 19, 2008, 10:02:15 AM
id give one to deane before oconnor. but i wouldnt give any of them one to be honest. id have Mullane before them two air heads. Allow he doesnt deserve one sean og will likely get one
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 10:12:08 AM
There isn't a hope Joe Deane will get an All Star.

Ben O'Connor was very good against Galway and Clare, he kept Cork in it for long periods. Sean Óg wasn't spectacular this year, one absolutely fantastic catch against Galway notwithstanding. (It was amazing, he glided in from left half back across between Iarla Tanian and Ronan Curran. Jumped up between them and his momentum took him out the other side of them).

I think John Gardiner was their best half back for Cork this year, and his job on Gilligan and even Joe Canning probably helped Cork win those two games.

Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 10:53:55 AM
Have to agree with AZ - Deano hasn't a hope - rotten against Clare and the Cats - taken off in both -
Sean Og hasn't had a vintage year - will be surprised if Sean Og gets one.
I think you're going to have an All Star team dominated by Waterford and Kilkenny - the rest will be made up with Maher of Tipp, Mc Grath Tipp, Scallinan Tipp, Joe Canning Galway, John Gardiner of Cork and Ben O'Connor Cork.
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:01:48 PM
I've only seen him mentioned once, but I've got to say Shane O Neill had a fine season.
I also think that Naughton had a really good season till the KK game.
Ben has to be a shoe in. Great season. Kept Cork in the championship.
Tom Kenny as well had a stormer of a season, as did Ronan Curran. Gardiner as well should get one.
But I wouldn't be surprised, that if KK won, that, deserving or not, all 15 got All Stars,
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:05:41 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:01:48 PM
I've only seen him mentioned once, but I've got to say Shane O Neill had a fine season.
Tom Kenny as well had a stormer of a season, as did Ronan Curran. Gardiner as well should get one.
But I wouldn't be surprised, that if KK won, that, deserving or not, all 15 got All Stars,

KK will get 7 or 8 - Waterford 3/4 - Tipp 3 - Cork 2 Galway 1
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:08:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:05:41 PM

KK will get 7 or 8 - Waterford 3/4 - Tipp 3 - Cork 2 Galway 1

I doubt it. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:18:36 PM

So Reillers, you have, let me count them, 6 Cork All Stars?

Good to see your body rejected the dose of reality it received a couple of weeks ago. ;D
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:25:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:18:36 PM

Good to see your body rejected the dose of reality it received a couple of weeks ago. ;D

I know ya, it was touch and go for a while but it's all good now.
I don't mean all of them should get it..even though they were pretty good. Better then some of KK's players majority of the season, what I've seen here is players, Canning (even though he probably should be made an exception for) get an All Star for playing one good game. I thought consistency had something to do with these awards, not history and hype. But that's the way it is I suppose.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:29:30 PM
There has to be an even spread - Winners always take 7 or 8 - Finalists will always get  3/4 and a 2 or 3 for the rest.

That's the way it is and most times it usually works out ok.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:33:28 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:25:09 PM

I don't mean all of them should get it..even though they were pretty good. Better then some of KK's players majority of the season, what I've seen here is players, Canning (even though he probably should be made an exception for) get an All Star for playing one good game. I thought consistency had something to do with these awards, not history and hype. But that's the way it is I suppose.

Ah hold on there now. Joe Canning will get an All Star based on his performance against Cork AND his performances in the League. As for consistency having something to do with these awards, I think Kilkenny have proven to be the most consistent bunch again. Everyone else has lost at least one game, and I know Kilkenny haven't been tested yet  ;) but perhaps that's because they are so far ahead. And even in terms of consistency, you'd be hard pressed to put more than 2 Cork lads on the team (I've picked Gardiner and O'Connor). O'Connor may get squeezed out, but he'll probably lose out if Eddie Brennan score 1-3 or something in the final and Kilkenny win it.

I agree about Shane O'Neill (I mentioned him initally), but I think that Kilkenny's tactics against Cork (basically ignore the Rock when everyone else assumed they'd try and take him to the cleaners) had a negative impact on O'Neill. Aidan Fogarty and Eddie Brennan scored 0-8 or something from play between them. I think that's opened the door for Jackie Tyrell and Eoin Murphy.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:33:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:29:30 PM
There has to be an even spread - Winners always take 7 or 8 - Finalists will always get  3/4 and a 2 or 3 for the rest.

Except when Brian Whelehan lost out one year. That was unbelievable.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:33:57 PM

Except when Brian Whelehan lost out one year. That was unbelievable.

Funny,  when I was tyrping that, that's exactly who I was thinking about and why I put in the word "usually" -

Brian's ommission was probably the balls up of the millenium !
Post by: Lecale2 on August 19, 2008, 01:42:37 PM
Does anyone know what criteria the panel use when making selections? 

Is it just championship performances that are considered or does NHL count? What about the Walsh Cup? 

If there are 3 exceptional mid fielders could one of them be named as a half forward or does an All Star have to have played in the position they are rewarded for? Could Fitzhenry be named at full back if Hennessey is selected in goals?

Is it still journalists that make the selection?
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 01:45:49 PM

Even if it's not deserving. It doesn't always work out.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 02:03:50 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on August 19, 2008, 01:42:37 PM
Does anyone know what criteria the panel use when making selections? 

Is it just championship performances that are considered or does NHL count? What about the Walsh Cup? 

If there are 3 exceptional mid fielders could one of them be named as a half forward or does an All Star have to have played in the position they are rewarded for? Could Fitzhenry be named at full back if Hennessey is selected in goals?Is it still journalists that make the selection?

Cummins is getting goalkeeper - Hennessy will be corner back and Fitzhenry could he left half forward !  ;)
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 02:08:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:33:28 PM

Ah hold on there now. Joe Canning will get an All Star based on his performance against Cork AND his performances in the League. As for consistency having something to do with these awards, I think Kilkenny have proven to be the most consistent bunch again. Everyone else has lost at least one game, and I know Kilkenny haven't been tested yet  ;) but perhaps that's because they are so far ahead. And even in terms of consistency, you'd be hard pressed to put more than 2 Cork lads on the team (I've picked Gardiner and O'Connor). O'Connor may get squeezed out, but he'll probably lose out if Eddie Brennan score 1-3 or something in the final and Kilkenny win it.

I agree about Shane O'Neill (I mentioned him initally), but I think that Kilkenny's tactics against Cork (basically ignore the Rock when everyone else assumed they'd try and take him to the cleaners) had a negative impact on O'Neill. Aidan Fogarty and Eddie Brennan scored 0-8 or something from play between them. I think that's opened the door for Jackie Tyrell and Eoin Murphy.

Since when do they give out All Stars for the League. Canning is been given the All Star for the Cork match. This year, this is about this year, if we start handing out all stars for how consistent players have been over a few years, then we should give half to KK and half to Cork. This is about this season. KK have had and always will till Leinster is changed, circumstances go for them. Gaa, Ben, Cathal, Tom, Curran, O Neill..etc all have been consistently good this season. But what, a few have lost All Stars for playing one bad game, but 7 or 8 gained them for playing one good game, come on.
Post by: mouview on August 19, 2008, 02:10:01 PM

Absolutely correct Reillers, consistency should count.

Let's see; instrumental performances in victorious club march to AI title, check.
Hugely influential presence in epic Fitzgibbon cup final, check.
Auspicious senior county debut in league semi-final v. Cork, check. (remember, wonderful line ball from 50 metres into wind?)
Strong performance again in league final, check.
Good showings v Antrim and Laois (trinkets really).
Outstanding one-man display in one big championship game v Cork, check.

Add it all up.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:11:20 PM
Reillers just has a blind spot for Cork mouview. I think it's true what they say. A Cork man with an inferiority complex only thinks he's as good as anyone else :D
Post by: mouview on August 19, 2008, 02:12:57 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 02:08:32 PM

Since when do they give out All Stars for the League. Canning is been given the All Star for the Cork match. This year, this is about this year, if we start handing out all stars for how consistent players have been over a few years, then we should give half to KK and half to Cork. This is about this season. KK have had and always will till Leinster is changed, circumstances go for them. Gaa, Ben, Cathal, Tom, Curran, O Neill..etc all have been consistently good this season. But what, a few have lost All Stars for playing one bad game, but 7 or 8 gained them for playing one good game, come on.

In reply, a trivia question. Which player won a hurling All-Star despite not playing championship hurling for his county that particular year, though he did represent his county in championship football in the same year?

The reason answers your question.
Post by: Reillers on August 19, 2008, 02:13:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:11:20 PM
Reillers just has a blind spot for Cork mouview. I think it's true what they say. A Cork man with an inferiority complex only thinks he's as good as anyone else :D

As good..try better. ;D ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:14:04 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 19, 2008, 02:12:57 PM

In reply, a trivia question. Which player won a hurling All-Star despite not playing championship hurling for his county that particular year, though he did represent his county in championship football in the same year?

The reason answers your question.

John Leahy?
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 02:18:44 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 19, 2008, 02:12:57 PM

In reply, a trivia question. Which player won a hurling All-Star despite not playing championship hurling for his county that particular year, though he did represent his county in championship football in the same year?The reason answers your question.

Jimmy Barry ?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:45:02 PM
I'd say it was John Leahy. I seem to remember him doing cruiciates or something in a match for Tipp footballers maybe around 2001-ish? I think Tipp had won the league hurling, and I seem to remember Babs going apeshit at him playing football.
Post by: mouview on August 19, 2008, 02:46:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:45:02 PM
I'd say it was John Leahy. I seem to remember him doing cruiciates or something in a match for Tipp footballers maybe around 2001-ish? I think Tipp had won the league hurling, and I seem to remember Babs going apeshit at him playing football.

Correctomundo, won an All-Star on the back of a great display v Galway in league final. Went  out the following week for Tip footballers and did cruciate.
It shows that you can win an award purely through the league.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:48:04 PM
And Tipp went on and won the All Ireland that year without him, so his league must have been sensational.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 03:10:58 PM
Leagues seemed to have more bearing on all stars in years gone by than currently - perhaps through more games with the qualifiers so more chance to go from memory.

Take the football this year - you couldn't seriously expect a derry player to get an all star.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 03:16:07 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 03:10:58 PM
Leagues seemed to have more bearing on all stars in years gone by than currently - perhaps through more games with the qualifiers so more chance to go from memory.

Take the football this year - you couldn't seriously expect a derry player to get an all star.

I think that's a fair point. The more championship games a player plays in, and plays well, obviously the greater exposure and greater chance of an All Star. I do think Canning is a special case this year because he was so good all year, League and Championship, while he had the chance.

Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 03:18:46 PM
Personally, and I could be wrong on this, I don't think he'll get one.

I think his decent game in championship was Cork while the Antrim / Laois ones really will mean nothing.

I don't think he played before league semi did he? Not sure he did enough in semi / final. (Obviously he did against Cork but ultimately was one game)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 03:22:25 PM
In fairness it was more than a 'decent' game. It was one man versus 15 (14 actually) for long periods almost. I can see where Galway's early exit might and will count against his claims, but I suppose it depends what the All Stars are.

If they are supposed to represent the best 15 players of the year, he'll have to get one I think.
If they are supposed to represent the 15 players who have had the most impact on the championship, he probably will miss out, through no fault of his own.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 03:28:07 PM
I would agree fully. On best 15 he has to be there but I think your comment about the most significant impacts on the championship seems to be the way they pick.

(Yep sorry I should have said stand out and not decent - obviously one of, if not the, best performance of the year vs Cork with Eoin Kelly v Offaly to challenge)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 03:29:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 19, 2008, 03:28:07 PM
I would agree fully. On best 15 he has to be there but I think your comment about the most significant impacts on the championship seems to be the way they pick.

(Yep sorry I should have said stand out and not decent - obviously one of, if not the, best performance of the year vs Cork with Eoin Kelly v Offaly to challenge)

Amazing they were both on the same day.
Post by: Onlooker on August 19, 2008, 04:06:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 02:48:04 PM
And Tipp went on and won the All Ireland that year without him, so his league must have been sensational.
It was as long ago as 1994 that John Leahy won an All Star for his performance in the National League Final.  He was injured playing for Tipperary in the Munster Football Championship against Clare and missed Tipp's defeat by Clare in the Munster Hurling Championship.  There wre no "back doors" in those years.  I don't have to tell you that Offaly won the All Ireland that year.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 04:08:34 PM
I remember the incident. I think the football was inside in the old Gaelic Grounds? Time flies :D. Or was it Clonmel?
Post by: Roashter on August 19, 2008, 05:59:00 PM
It was in the old gaelic grounds alright, and as far as I can remember Tipp won that game, and Clare had a pretty good football team between 1991-97.
(was actually at the game but the memory is not what it used to be...I blame buckfast)

I could be wrong but is that when Leahy tore his cruciate ?
Post by: Onlooker on August 19, 2008, 08:03:46 PM
Tipp beat Clare in the Football and lost to Cork in the Munster Final in Cork.  John Leahy's injury was not a cruciate injury.  That was a few years later when he came on as a sub against Clare (Hurling) in Cork.
Post by: youngfella on August 19, 2008, 10:07:45 PM
Its frightening to think but the non starting 15 of KK are:

James McGarry-Goalkeeper- Bennettsbridge
17 James Ryall- Right Wing Back- Graigue-Ballycallan
18 Richie Mullally- Midfield- Glenmore
19 Eoin Reid Left Corner Forward Ballyhale Shamrocks
20 John Dalton Centre Back Carrickshock
21 P.J. Delaney Centre back Fenians
22 Michael Fennelly Midfield Ballyhale Shamrocks
23 Michael Rice Left Wing Forward Carrickshock
24 Eoin McCormack Right Corner Forward James Stephens
25 Richie Power Right Wing Forward Carrickshock
26 Peter Cleere Midfield Blacks and Whites
27 Donnacha Cody Left Corner Back James Stephens
28 T.J. Reid Left Corner Forward Ballyhale Shamrocks
29 Michael Murphy Left Corner Forward Mullinavat
30 John Tennyson Centre Back Carrickshock

no wonder they near murder each other in the training matches.
Post by: orangeman on August 20, 2008, 09:47:18 AM
Quote from: youngfella on August 19, 2008, 10:07:45 PM
Its frightening to think but the non starting 15 of KK are:

James McGarry-Goalkeeper- Bennettsbridge
17 James Ryall- Right Wing Back- Graigue-Ballycallan
18 Richie Mullally- Midfield- Glenmore
19 Eoin Reid Left Corner Forward Ballyhale Shamrocks
20 John Dalton Centre Back Carrickshock
21 P.J. Delaney Centre back Fenians
22 Michael Fennelly Midfield Ballyhale Shamrocks
23 Michael Rice Left Wing Forward Carrickshock
24 Eoin McCormack Right Corner Forward James Stephens
25 Richie Power Right Wing Forward Carrickshock
26 Peter Cleere Midfield Blacks and Whites
27 Donnacha Cody Left Corner Back James Stephens
28 T.J. Reid Left Corner Forward Ballyhale Shamrocks
29 Michael Murphy Left Corner Forward Mullinavat
30 John Tennyson Centre Back Carrickshock

no wonder they near murder each other in the training matches.

Ryall was ever preset in a lot of campaigns - can't get a look in now - the rest of the subs are frightening !
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2008, 01:59:59 PM
John Tennyson! Wasn't he hurler of the year, or at least an All Star in the last year or two?
Post by: Bacon on August 20, 2008, 03:44:09 PM
Very hard to call these things before the final. An excellent display in the final often seems to count for more than 3 excellent displays on the way to the final (or an excellent display in the Munster final).
Post by: orangeman on August 20, 2008, 03:59:28 PM
The mundter final is but a distant memory in come August and September.

Tipp won't be getting many gong this year based on the Munster final.
Post by: Reillers on August 20, 2008, 06:12:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 20, 2008, 03:59:28 PM
The mundter final is but a distant memory in come August and September.

Tipp won't be getting many gong this year based on the Munster final.

The Munster final is a distant memory but apparently according to some, the League isn't.
Ye can't have it both ways. Come on. First yere saying players, ie Canning and KK players, should get All Stars based on the League, but now the Munster final is a distant memory and shouldn't count.

So here we are again rewarding players for one good game.

This will probably be the typical attitude of the GAA

....Sure the eh..KK players (lets say they win the 3 in a row, which I don't think they will but anyway..) played 2 good games, lets give all 15 of them All Stars, the players who played outstanding in Munster and thew qualifiers..eh forget them, that was ages ago, and plus, KK will get more media coverage. The headlines will look better if we give as many All Stars to them as we can. Forget about the Munster teams efforts it's only Munster and that was ages ago, it doesn't matter how hard it was, KK won the AI. It doesn't matter how little work they have to do to get there compared to the Munster teams, they won it and that's all that matters. 

I can hear it now.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2008, 06:56:24 PM
Also Reillers, there is the small matter that they are better than their Munster counterparts, which is probably the most pertinent issue.
Post by: Reillers on August 20, 2008, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 20, 2008, 06:56:24 PM
Also Reillers, there is the small matter that they are better than their Munster counterparts, which is probably the most pertinent issue.

And they get that from one match. Come on. If, like lets say a Cork player like Ben who's had a fantastic season might get pipped by a KK player who in total, so far, has played one good game.

And also, some are saying that players should get an All Star for League form, and now people are turning around saying that Munster shouldn't count cause basically it was ages ago, which one is it.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2008, 07:28:34 PM
Well I never said the Munster Championship shouldn't count. For example I'd be giving Conor O'Mahony and Shane McGrath an All Star based largely on their League and Munster form, even though both played well against Waterford.

Have you forgotten what Kilkenny did to Cork? It's a ludicrous argument to say that because they are better than everyone else, they don't deserve All Stars because they haven't been tested. They've been tested as well as Wexford, Offaly or Cork were able to test them. The very fact that they strolled past each of those tests proves that they are better players, and a better team, than anyone they've played.
Post by: youngfella on August 20, 2008, 07:30:41 PM
Here Here
Post by: imtommygunn on August 20, 2008, 08:23:28 PM
Any Kilkenny players that get an all star reillers will have earned it over more than one game. The way I see it KK players will actually play themselves out of all stars in the final and not into it. Anyone who has a bad / average game will probably not get one while anyone who has an outstanding game will get one providing they've backed this up with a few games before this.

I'll give you some examples I'm thinking of here...
Michael Kavanagh / Brian Hogan, outstanding as they are, will not IMO be able to play themselves to an all start no matter how good they are . Why - because they've been the least outstanding of KK players so far. Quite possibly likewise with the goalie.
If players like Eddie `Brennan or Eoin Larkin are average in the final they'll play themselves out of it. If either are outstanding they'll supplement their previous performances.

Your theory about one game and your previous theory about KK not being challenged so shouldn't be favourites etc is nonsense - they haven't been challenged because no one can challenge them.
Wexford and Offaly were demolished and yet gave very tough games to Munster opposition and even beat Munster opposition.

IMO the league should only count if backed up by championship performances. O'Mahoney and McGrath are two men who have very much done this so should get one. I don't think Canning has done it in latter stages in c'ship and had only a league game or two so may not get it.

It would be bad if Ben O'Connor didn't get one but I think he will.

I'm not sure but do think that Eoin Kelly / Henry Shefflin may be victims of their own success. They're not racking up the scores they have done previously. Shefflin has a chance yet and may well get one but Kelly, while being excellent(that last 65 aside), will most likely not.

Post by: youngfella on August 20, 2008, 08:42:25 PM
IF Henry Shefflin doesnt get an all star, ill eat my moldy old trainer
Post by: orangeman on August 20, 2008, 10:51:26 PM
Quote from: youngfella on August 20, 2008, 08:42:25 PM
IF Henry Shefflin doesnt get an all star, ill eat my moldy old trainer

I think you're safe enough !!! ;)
Post by: Reillers on August 21, 2008, 12:01:46 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 20, 2008, 08:23:28 PM
Any Kilkenny players that get an all star reillers will have earned it over more than one game. The way I see it KK players will actually play themselves out of all stars in the final and not into it. Anyone who has a bad / average game will probably not get one while anyone who has an outstanding game will get one providing they've backed this up with a few games before this.

I'll give you some examples I'm thinking of here...
Michael Kavanagh / Brian Hogan, outstanding as they are, will not IMO be able to play themselves to an all start no matter how good they are . Why - because they've been the least outstanding of KK players so far. Quite possibly likewise with the goalie.
If players like Eddie `Brennan or Eoin Larkin are average in the final they'll play themselves out of it. If either are outstanding they'll supplement their previous performances.

Your theory about one game and your previous theory about KK not being challenged so shouldn't be favourites etc is nonsense - they haven't been challenged because no one can challenge them.
Wexford and Offaly were demolished and yet gave very tough games to Munster opposition and even beat Munster opposition.

IMO the league should only count if backed up by championship performances. O'Mahoney and McGrath are two men who have very much done this so should get one. I don't think Canning has done it in latter stages in c'ship and had only a league game or two so may not get it.

It would be bad if Ben O'Connor didn't get one but I think he will.

I'm not sure but do think that Eoin Kelly / Henry Shefflin may be victims of their own success. They're not racking up the scores they have done previously. Shefflin has a chance yet and may well get one but Kelly, while being excellent(that last 65 aside), will most likely not.

Leinster teams going in against Kilkenny have lost before they've even got in the gate. They not only expect to loose, they expect to be trashed, and they are.
Why should Shefflin get an All Star, he was crap in Leinster, only scoring from frees. He played one good game against us. And there's my case and point. He'd one good game, and you're so sure he'll get an All Star.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 21, 2008, 09:36:59 AM
How do you know they expect to lose?

Wexford stayed with Kilkenny until Eddie Brennan opened up.

Cork stayed with Kilkenny until pretty much the same thing happened.

If Shefflin has a poor final I don't think he'll deserve an all star however I'd be very surprised if he were to have a poor final. Leinster was getting fit for him and he did a right bit of damage of O'Halpin and not many can ever say that. He was decent in Leinster - not his usual standard but to be expected considering. Cork he was back to that.
Post by: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:09:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 21, 2008, 09:36:59 AM

If Shefflin has a poor final I don't think he'll deserve an all star however I'd be very surprised if he were to have a poor final. Leinster was getting fit for him and he did a right bit of damage of O'Halpin and not many can ever say that. He was decent in Leinster - not his usual standard but to be expected considering. Cork he was back to that.

That seemed to be a deliberate Kilkenny ploy that day - Cody seemed sure that Shefflin would take on OhAilpin and beat him - ad that's exactly how it panned out.

For that game alone he'll get the gong.
Post by: Reillers on August 21, 2008, 05:47:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 21, 2008, 09:36:59 AM

Until a lead opened up. All Leinster teams have the same attitude. They've lost to KK before the balls been thrown in. If the manage to stay with KK for a while, then great, but nothing more then a loss is expected. They just hope they don't get trashed.
Post by: orangeman on September 08, 2008, 03:59:52 PM
As for Kilkenny. They get to not just write the history but to own it too. And not a voice in the house can begrudge them. Hand them 15 All Stars and be done with the year

What do you think ??

Kilkenny to make up the entire 2008 All Star team ???
Post by: EddieMerx on September 08, 2008, 04:27:27 PM
Agree, even TJ Reid deserves one and he is a sub on the cats team
Post by: slow corner back on September 08, 2008, 07:58:35 PM
15 might be a bit much but 9 or 10 is far from out of the question. PJ Ryan, Hickey, Tommy Walsh,JJ, Cha, Shefflin, Eoin Larkin and Eddie Brennan are certainties. Derek Lyng,Kavanagh, Aidan Fogarty and Brian Hogan all are worthy of consideration as is Jackie Tyrell. However I do think that Joe Canning, Eoin Kelly (Waterford) and at least one Tipp player, probably McGrath is certain. Personally I think it will be 9-10 Cats, two Tipp,1 two Waterford, 1 Galway and 1-2 Corkmen depending on how many the Cats get.
By the way what is the record for most all stars from one team?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 08, 2008, 08:26:15 PM
I think the sunday game had close to what it will be though not sure there'll be so many KK defenders.

Eoin Kelly has to get one as does Ben O'Connor. I think if Fogarty was outstanding yesterday he could have denied Canning but don't think he did enough. I think O'Mahoney does too but Eoin Murphy could have got a corner back spot and played himself out of it yesterday.

On yesterday I thought John Mullane was a credit. People were anticipating him having disciplien problems. Despite the score he plugged away and never a sign of ill discipline in him.

Eddie Brennan can kill a game in 5 minutes flat. I wonder what the story is with him. Does he just decide to turn it on or does it just happen. It's funny the way he just hits a mad scoring burst though never seems to sustain it for a full game.

Post by: ExiledGael on September 08, 2008, 08:29:58 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on August 12, 2008, 05:21:41 PM
Anyone know the record for players from one county getting All-Stars? Cats could end up in double figures though Shane McGrath, Mullane and Canning must feature.

Just checked myself, Kilkenny had 9 in 2000, Tipp and Clare had eight each in 2001 and 1995 respectively.

Had this question a few pages back SCB. This record could well go. Shane McGrath is a cert, Canning almost so and Mullane also. Have a feeling Brendan Cummins may get one too, Ryan's probably unfortunate in this aspect as he has the least to do of all 'keepers.
I'd go with:
                            Cummins
Hickey                Kavanagh             Curran
JJ Delaney           Walsh               O'Mahony
                  Cha           Shane McGrath
Larkin                  Shefflin               Mullane
Brennan            Canning                 Kelly

Ben O'Connor is the most unfortunate but can't look past those two.
Post by: slow corner back on September 08, 2008, 08:53:38 PM
You dont look too far away there EG although I would say that Ryan did not concede a goal all year. I know the fourteen in front had quite a bit to do with that but what more can a keeper do except keep clean sheets and take good puck outs
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2008, 01:21:45 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on September 08, 2008, 08:53:38 PM
You dont look too far away there EG although I would say that Ryan did not concede a goal all year. I know the fourteen in front had quite a bit to do with that but what more can a keeper do except keep clean sheets and take good puck outs

That's right - PJ can do no more - but I think I know where EG is coming from - Cummins had to make saves  -  PJ didn't because of the defence he had in front of him -

Eoin Kelly of Waterford I assume EG ??? Not the Tipp man ?
Post by: Lecale2 on September 09, 2008, 01:34:40 PM
Will they give Cody one?
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2008, 01:47:24 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 09, 2008, 01:34:40 PM
Will they give Cody one?

They might give him all of them.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 09, 2008, 02:36:37 PM
I thought the Sunday Game lads were more or less spot on, with some very hard calls. I'm not sure if 3 Tipp lads will get one, but if they do it will be Cummins, O'Mahoney and McGrath. McGrath might lose out to Cha and Lyng, but he shouldn't. John Gardiner will also feel hard done by if he doesn't get one, but in fairness Walsh and Delaney were brilliant in the biggest games of the year.

The forwards was a good call as well, I think. Shefflin, Brennan and Larkin deserve one, but Gorta, Fogarty and Richie Power have been muted in comparison, even if they've done nothing wrong at all, and Gorta got through a savage amount of work. I'd love to see Mullane get one, but I think, again the Sunday game lads might be right here with Ben O'Connor, Eoin Kelly WD and Joe Canning getting one. By rights, really, Mullane should sneak one ahead of Joe.

So, My All Stars are

Cummins

Kavanagh   Hickey    Tyrell

Walsh    O'Mahony   Delaney

Cha      Shane McGrath

Ben O'Connor King Henry Eoin Larkin (POY)

Brennan Kelly (WD) Mullane
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2008, 02:40:27 PM
Mullane really deserves one - he stood up even on that day against Clare.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 17, 2008, 09:45:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 09, 2008, 02:36:37 PM
I thought the Sunday Game lads were more or less spot on, with some very hard calls. I'm not sure if 3 Tipp lads will get one, but if they do it will be Cummins, O'Mahoney and McGrath. McGrath might lose out to Cha and Lyng, but he shouldn't. John Gardiner will also feel hard done by if he doesn't get one, but in fairness Walsh and Delaney were brilliant in the biggest games of the year.

The forwards was a good call as well, I think. Shefflin, Brennan and Larkin deserve one, but Gorta, Fogarty and Richie Power have been muted in comparison, even if they've done nothing wrong at all, and Gorta got through a savage amount of work. I'd love to see Mullane get one, but I think, again the Sunday game lads might be right here with Ben O'Connor, Eoin Kelly WD and Joe Canning getting one. By rights, really, Mullane should sneak one ahead of Joe.

So, My All Stars are

Cummins

Cha      Shane McGrath

Close enough.
Post by: orangeman on October 20, 2008, 02:27:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 17, 2008, 09:45:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 09, 2008, 02:36:37 PM

So, My All Stars are

Cummins

Cha      Shane McGrath

Close enough.

Not a bad stab at it at all.

Always thought Cummins was a sure thing.