Don't think we've a thread of this yet...
Derry obviously favourites, but one would hope that Donegal will put up a good fight in Ballybofey. The vital areas for Donegal are midfield and our forwards. We've struggled at midfield over the past few years, and if Derry get control here, it doesn't matter how well Karl Lacey does on Bradley, as there is only so much a back can do against a man of his class. At the other end, McFadden needs to have a good day, but at this stage it is anyone's guess as to the identity of the rest of the forwards. Kavanagh will obviously start (apparently had a good game at the weekend for Eunan's), while Roper seems to have featured heavily again this season (is that good when you're talking about a man who's been in the squad since 1996?). Apparently Devenney did well at the weekend too, but who knows if he'll start. Michael Murphy is still young (and presumably sitting his Leaving), while Leon Thompson got his jaw broken against Dungloe a few weeks back. There's plenty of other options who have featured under McIvor, such as Michael Doherty and Kevin McMenamin, but none of them have set the world alight so far. The likes of Toye needs to regain his form as well, as he has been very up and down, especially as the half-forwards will need to do well around the middle of the field.
Line-up for Donegal...(a lot of question marks!)
1. Durcan or Boyle?
2 Barry Dunnion? (he'll play, but where?)
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Frank McGlynn?
6. Eamon McGee
7. Kevin Cassidy
8. Neil Gallagher
9. Kevin Rafferty?
10. Rory Kavanagh
11. Michael Hegarty?
12. Brian Roper?
13. Michael Murphy?
14. Colm McFadden
15. Brendan Devenney?
Other possibilities: Christy Toye, Ryan Bradley, Kevin McMenamin, Michael Doherty, Stephen Griffin, Paddy McDaid, David Walsh, Barry Monaghan etc.
I thought Devenney was injured again ??
Quote from: J70 on May 19, 2008, 07:20:53 PM
Don't think we've a thread of this yet...
Derry obviously favourites, but one would hope that Donegal will put up a good fight in Ballybofey. The vital areas for Donegal are midfield and our forwards. We've struggled at midfield over the past few years, and if Derry get control here, it doesn't matter how well Karl Lacey does on Bradley, as there is only so much a back can do against a man of his class. At the other end, McFadden needs to have a good day, but at this stage it is anyone's guess as to the identity of the rest of the forwards. Kavanagh will obviously start (apparently had a good game at the weekend for Eunan's), while Roper seems to have featured heavily again this season (is that good when you're talking about a man who's been in the squad since 1996?). Apparently Devenney did well at the weekend too, but who knows if he'll start. Michael Murphy is still young (and presumably sitting his Leaving), while Leon Thompson got his jaw broken against Dungloe a few weeks back. There's plenty of other options who have featured under McIvor, such as Michael Doherty and Kevin McMenamin, but none of them have set the world alight so far. The likes of Toye needs to regain his form as well, as he has been very up and down, especially as the half-forwards will need to do well around the middle of the field.
Line-up for Donegal...(a lot of question marks!)
1. Durcan or Boyle?
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Frank McGlynn?
6. Eamon McGee
7. Kevin Cassidy
8. Neil Gallagher
9. Kevin Rafferty?
10. Rory Kavanagh
11. Michael Hegarty?
12. Brian Roper?
13. Michael Murphy?
14. Colm McFadden
15. Brendan Devenney?
Other possibilities: Christy Toye, Ryan Bradley, Kevin McMenamin, Michael Doherty, Stephen Griffin, Paddy McDaid, David Walsh, Barry Monaghan etc.
Alex ferguson and arsene wenger would be proud of ye J70 ! getting the psycological dig in early :D
I haven't seen all that much of him but I think wee Wappa McMenamin could be useful for Donegal if they played in the right role, like a roving corner-forward the way Gilligan does for Derry, his size wouldn't count against him much and his eye for a pass would be utilised well.
For Derry the big decision will be whether McCloy will start. He is captain and current all-star and would be very hard to drop, but he has been out of sorts this season (perhaps due to not being 100% fit) and McCusker has proven that he'd be able to slot in FB very easily. IMO this is Derry's game to lose, I don't think Donegal have the inside forwards to really hurt us. I wouldn't necessarily say Derry will lord midfield even though Fergal Doc is a much better player than anyone likely to start there for Donegal, as Donegal's HB and HF lines are pretty tenacious and should win a fair proportion of breaking ball.
Devenney isn't injured and played well for St Eunan's against Glenswilly in the championship play off at the weekend. In reality Devenney isn't in the offical Donegal panel of 30 which was in all the local papers last week. The Derry People then ran a story with Devenney saying he wasn't fit for the Derry game but if Donegal won he hoped to be in the set up for the Ulster Semi Final. Devenney wil not start against Derry and i doubt if he will even be a sub. Walse might start because i think Mc Iver has good time for him. I also Think Paddy Mc Daid will start in the corner instead of Dunnion who missed a league game at the weekend with some injury. Also think he will go for Durkan instead of Boyle. After that it's hard to know but i think J70 has it pretty close. A big decision is will he start Toye or Roper?
Lads, lets stop kidding ourselves here. We all know what happpens to Derry when they're praised to high heaven.
Donegal will stroll through this one. We'll take our traditional route through the qualifiers
Quote from: Donegal Danny on May 20, 2008, 11:32:44 AM
Devenney isn't injured and played well for St Eunan's against Glenswilly in the championship play off at the weekend. In reality Devenney isn't in the offical Donegal panel of 30 which was in all the local papers last week. The Derry People then ran a story with Devenney saying he wasn't fit for the Derry game but if Donegal won he hoped to be in the set up for the Ulster Semi Final. Devenney wil not start against Derry and i doubt if he will even be a sub. Walse might start because i think Mc Iver has good time for him. I also Think Paddy Mc Daid will start in the corner instead of Dunnion who missed a league game at the weekend with some injury. Also think he will go for Durkan instead of Boyle. After that it's hard to know but i think J70 has it pretty close. A big decision is will he start Toye or Roper?
I didn't see the panel Danny, and was wondering when it was going to be finalised.
Do you have any links to it?
Sorry J70 I am no good at that kind of thing but it was in last Thursday Donegal Democrate. They had previously said there were 29 players certain with 1 place left which lead to all the talk about Devenney getting it after his 2 goals against Glenswilly in the first game but after playing poorly and coming off injuried in the second leg i think Mc Iver gave up on him and included Niall Mc Cready as the last man according to the paper.
Louth played yous there the weekend in a challenge
any reports your end?
So Devenney's gone! :o
Any surprises? What about Stephen Griffin? He played in the Wexford challenge I think, although he wasn't in the league panel.
From a Derry point of view I am really worried about this game. Two very major factors which havent been mentioned yet....firstly Brian McIvor will know the Derry team inside and out and will know exactly how to play against them and can make the tough calls, Crozier will be at a disadvantage here. Secondly, I worry about how complacent the players will feel after beating Kerry in a League final...time and again over the years Derry have had a good result and then go out and get tanked by a team they should beat.
Add to that, a defeat by Offally in a challenge match and the confidence gets very shaky.
Derry should win regardless of team selections, but a draw wouldnt surprise me nor would a comprehensive Donegal victory.
Anyone know what time throw in is for this game?
Any more info on de Derry Offaly challenge game, what teams lined out, etc???
Edit: Just found this on hoganstand
Offaly defeat the league champions
19 May 2008
A very determined and full-strength Offaly side produced a storming second-half performance to record a five points win over Derry - 2-13 to 0-14 - in a senior football challenge game at the weekend.
The league champion dominated the opening half of this game with Paul Murphy hitting three first-half points and Paddy Bradley hitting four as they raced into a four points lead - 0-8 to 0-4 - ten minutes from the interval. However, Offaly got themselves right back into the game just before the interval break when Paschal Kellaghan got in for the first goal of the game just before the interval to leave the sides going in at the break with Derry narrowly ahead by one point 0-9 to 1-5.
Derry started the second-half well with an early Conleith Gilligan point. However, that was as good as it got for the Derry side as the Faithful county upped their game all over the field with their top scorer Niall McNamee - he finished the game with a personal tally of 1-8 goaling two minutes into the half.
Paddy Crozier the Derry manager rung the changes in that second-half but all to no avail as Pat Roe's side ran out comfortable and deserving winners at the opening of the new pitch at Slaughtmanus.
Anyone got de list of de teams???
Quote from: fer fox ache on May 19, 2008, 04:24:31 PM
AZ here's the teams ans scorers. Derry were well below strength only McGuckin, McEldowney, Bradley and Gilligan started the league final. No one in the half-backs, midfield or half-forwards started against Kerry. Having said that ye looked very sharp Niall McNamee got 1-6 from play, okay he was given plenty of room but still. From the way your management were going on you could tell they were taking it seriously. Ye'll give Westmeath their fill of it
Derry: John Deighan; Kevin McGuckin, Kevin McCloy, Francis McEldowney; Paul Cartin, Michael McGoldrick, Joe Keenan; James Conway, Patsy Bradley; Ryan McElhone, Paul Murphy (0-3), Enda Lynn; Collie Devlin (0-1, free), Paddy Bradley (0-4, two frees, sideline), Conleith Gilligan (0-4, 45, two frees)
Subs: Michael McIver (0-1) for Keenan, Michael McBride for McGoldrick, Ryan Dillon for McGuckin, Enda Muldoon for Murphy, Raymond Wilkinson for Lynn, Fergal Doherty (0-1) for Patsy Bradley, Mark Craig for McEldowney, Rian Kealey for McElhone
Offaly: Padhraic Kelly; Ger Rafferty, Shane Sullivan, Brian Darby (0-1); Paul McConway, Scott Brady, Nigel Grehan (0-1); Alan McNamee, Alan Smith (0-1); Ciaran McManus (0-1), Pascal Keelaghan (1-0), Karl Slattery; Thomas Deehan (0-1), James Keane, Niall McNamee (1-9, three frees)
Subs: Willie Mulhall for Deehan, Niall Darby for Sullivan. Blood sub: Gerry Grehan for Brady.
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 20, 2008, 02:29:08 PM
From a Derry point of view I am really worried about this game. Two very major factors which havent been mentioned yet....firstly Brian McIvor will know the Derry team inside and out and will know exactly how to play against them and can make the tough calls, Crozier will be at a disadvantage here. Secondly, I worry about how complacent the players will feel after beating Kerry in a League final...time and again over the years Derry have had a good result and then go out and get tanked by a team they should beat.
Add to that, a defeat by Offally in a challenge match and the confidence gets very shaky.
Derry should win regardless of team selections, but a draw wouldnt surprise me nor would a comprehensive Donegal victory.
I agree totally and think that Donegal away is the worst possible Draw Derry could have got in the first round.
Donegal are a top quality team, with a ruthless manager who probably knows the derry team better than PC and they have floated in under the radar.
Hoping that Derry will have learned from Donegals mistakes last year and that the defeat by Offaly will have knocked them a little and that they are 100% focused on whats ahead.
Should be a cracking game and Ballybofey should be filled I think.
Honestly cant wait.
Thanks screen
Mc Ivors knoweledge of Derry is vital in this game, if he can raise Donegall's Tempo enough before the game, I wouldn't be surprised with a Win for them, although as said if Derry win midfield thats half th battle won.Surely big Christy is a better option than Roper?
i think youve covered all possibilities there brick ;D
Get yourself down to the bookies quick Brick!!
From the Donegal News...
Life in the old dog yet- Devenney
BY HARRY WALSH
DONEGAL ace forward Brendan Devenney has hit back at claims that he has been dropped from Brian McIver's championship panel.
Speaking to the Donegal News yesterday (Thursday) Devenney said that he has pencilled in the Ulster semi final on Sunday, June 22, to make a come back from his latest injury.
Having limped out of St Eunan's club championship defeat in Glenswilly last weekend, Devenney knew deep down that he wouldn't be available for the Derry match on Sunday week, June 1.
county training
"I trained with Donegal these past couple of weeks and things had been going well. At County training last Thursday I tweaked the groin and when I limped out of the Glenswilly game I knew that I wouldn't make the Derry game.
"I'm not fit enough to play for the club this weekend and, therefore, I'm not fit enough to be part of the Donegal squad for the first game of this year's championship. We'll see what happens after the Derry game but I would like to think that I will play some part to play this summer," he said.
"There's life in the old dog yet," he laughed.
Meanwhile, his club St Eunan's go into this weekend's play-off match with Glenswilly with a number of injury worries. The game will take place in Convoy (thorw-in 4.45pm)with the winners playing Ardara.
I'm supporting Derry.
Remember Drumboe.
Quote from: glenullinabu on May 20, 2008, 08:12:30 PM
i think youve covered all possibilities there brick ;D
I dont like to commit myself ;D
I think what I was trying to say is that overall Derry have a better set of players than Donegal, but with the McIver/complacency factors added in the game is impossible to call.
Might go for an each way bet... ;)
1. Durcan or Boyle?
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Frank McGlynn?
6. Eamon McGee
7. Kevin Cassidy
8. Neil Gallagher
9. Kevin Rafferty?
10. Rory Kavanagh
11. Michael Hegarty?
12. Brian Roper?
13. Michael Murphy?
14. Colm McFadden
15. Brendan Devenney?
[/i]
I'd like to see Ryan Bradley given a shot in the half forward line or in midfield. I saw him in a game recently, and was very impressed. I've also head that Kevin McMenamin has been playing very well of late too ... however I guess it's very hard to judge anyone based on club form.
I don't understand why there's a feeling of such doom and gloom around Donegal about this match. League and championship are so so different, as we found to our expense last year. I think McIvor will have the players right this time around, we're not as far off the mark as some think in my opinion.
Anyways all will be revealed pretty soon! It should be a good match, and hopefully we'll hit the ground running!
Barry Dunnion out injuried again with the same groin problem. He went to this specialist in Germany but like Joe Mc Mahon from Tyrone it only seemed to work short term and he may be back to square 1. I think Paddy Mc Daid from Termon will start in the corner. Manus Boyle had a good team in the democrate yesterday but i would go with Neil Mc Gee at full back, and Eamonn at Centre half with Lacey and Mc Daid in the corners and Cassidy and Mc Glynn on the wings, with Gallagher and Kavanagh in midfield.
Who did Manus have in the line-up?
Manus Boyle's team is Durkin
Lacey E Mc Gee N Mc Gee
Caddidy Monaghan Mc Glynn
Gallagher Kavanagh
Rafferty Hegarty Toye
Roper Murphy Mc Fadden
I'm really worried about this game after yesterday... feckin favourites tag has never done us any favours and it's the exact same setup as that match yesterday which I had suspected for some time Fermanagh would win.
McIver is every bit as tactically astute as O'Rourke and definitely has an advantage over Crozier here. I just hope the lads have taken notice of what happened yesterday and don't approach this match with any complacency. If we play well we will win but any slip ups and we could well be in trouble!
Quote from: Donegal Danny on May 26, 2008, 09:18:04 AM
Manus Boyle's team is Durkin
Lacey E Mc Gee N Mc Gee
Caddidy Monaghan Mc Glynn
Gallagher Kavanagh
Rafferty Hegarty Toye
Roper Murphy Mc Fadden
Interesting. Derry certainly won't havemuch of a height advantage if that is the team!
The half-forward line looks weak enough to me though, unless Hegarty and Toye get the finger out and produce on the day. If Roper has a good day on the breaks, we might have a decent chance of winning a bit of possession.
think derry are settig themselves up 4 a fall.alot of their supporters are expecting an ulster title and though they do have a good chance donegal in ballyboffey isnt easy for anyone.would def fancy donegal plus a few points
Quote from: screenexile on May 26, 2008, 10:07:02 AM
...If we play well we will win but any slip ups and we could well be in trouble!...
The general feeling has been that if Derry perform, they'll win. I'm not so sure it's that simple. If the match was this time last year, people would be saying the exact same about Donegal. I don't think things have changed
that much in the last year. Derry will be very tough, but I'm reasonably confident (well as much as you can be in an Ulster championship match against Derry, which isn't much) that Donegal will win on Sunday.
And just a little thing or two for Donegal to sort out:
- The breaking ball; we can't compete with Derry in the air (Gallagher excepted), so mopping up the ball on the ground is where the match will be won or lost.
- A penalty taker (anybody but McFadden!)
Would you not trust McFadden with the penaltys VOR?
What way is Donegal team looking at this present minute?
The Donegal Team will be Durkin, Lacey, Mc Gee, Mc Daid, Cassidy, Mc Gee, Mc Glynn, Gallagher and kavanagh, Roper, Hegerty, Toye, Walsh, Mc Fadden, Murphy.
As you can see i have made 1 change from my first selection with Walsh replacing Rafferty in the forwards, this because i am hearing that Mc Iver has god tme for Walsh, which was very evident in all the league game where Walsh started all games except the last one against Derry.
Quotewould def fancy donegal plus a few points
I text you those exact words ladt night Charles just before you wrote this durin Corrie!! You just gonna write up everything I tell you?!
Quote from: Against the Breeze on May 26, 2008, 09:00:04 PM
Would you not trust McFadden with the penaltys VOR?
We used to till he started missing them all! :D
i defo fancy Donegal to win this one
I predict a Monaghan style collapse for Derry--the favourites tag wont sit well with Derry
Brendan Devenney has been left out of the Donegal squad for Sunday's Ulster SFC clash with Derry while the Oak Leafers also have late injury worries.
A recent groin injury meant that time ran out for Devenney although he played for St Eunan's at the weekend.
Liam Hinphey and Joe Keenan are out for Derry while Gerard O'Kane (knee), Michael McGoldrick (hamstring) and Barry McGoldrick (knee) are all doubts.
Even with the injuries, Paddy Crozier will have some tight selection calls.
Paul Murphy is believed to be pushing hard for a starting place and Barry McGoldrick's fitness concerns could mean that the Dungiven man gets the nod to start in the half-forward line.
James Conway is also itching to get back into the starting line-up after being ruled out of the National League final because of injury.
Joe Diver replaced him against Kerry and performed impressively so Crozier has some thinking do over his midfield selection.
Like Liam Hinphey who has a pelvic problem, Joe Keenan is ruled out of contention for Sunday's game by injury.
Devenney's hopes of playing against Derry were ended when he suffered a minor groin strain earlier this month.
Donegal boss Brian McIver had wanted the St Eunan's player to build up his fitness by playing for his club but the corner-forward was forced off by the groin injury in two club matches.
Ironically, the injury now appears to have healed as Devenney played for Eunan's at the weekend "pain free".
"I felt 100 per cent at the weekend. Never better," Devenney told BBC Sport Interactive on Monday evening.
I was flying yesterday but Brian had already made up his mind
Brendan Devenney
"I'd love to be involved on Sunday but unfortunately it is not to be.
"All I can do now is to keep training away and hope to be involved in our next game, which hopefully will be against Fermanagh in the Ulster Championship.
"I was flying yesterday but Brian had already made up his mind and decided that it was too late for me to be involved.
"It's disappointing after the injury (stomach muscle) that I had last year.
"I played through that and maybe shouldn't have and then missed all the National League. Hopefully, my luck will change."
With Devenney out of contention, Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden look certain to start in the full-forward line while David Walsh is also being tipped to make his Ulster Championship debut at corner-forward.
Corner-back Paddy McDaid is also expected to make his Ulster Championship debut while Kevin Cassidy could well start at midfield with Christy Toye earning a starting berth in attack after some impressive performances in recent challenges.
any stabs at who derry team is, can he play both kevein McCloy and Niall McCusker?? if he does, is he accomdating McCloy?
Gillis
McGuikin McCloy SML
G Okane McCusker M McIvor
Diver Doherty
Big Enda Paul Murphy Lynch
Eoin B Paddy B Gilligan
any thoughts?
Ticketmaster have tickets for the the Eastern Terrace for Sunday's match in Ballybofey.
Does anybody know if the Eastern Terrace is opposite the stand, or is it behind one of the goals?
good to see alot of talk about the game
Quote from: HalfFitHalfBack on May 27, 2008, 05:25:59 PM
Ticketmaster have tickets for the the Eastern Terrace for Sunday's match in Ballybofey.
Does anybody know if the Eastern Terrace is opposite the stand, or is it behind one of the goals?
It has to be the one opposite the stand. The ground lies in a roughly north-south orientation, with the river goals at the north end and the town goals at the south end.
Got the tickets. Which simply state 'Terrace'. Any of youse Daniel fans care to enlighten me as to were the 'Terrace' is?
will gerard o kane be fit?? who will be derrys wing backs then?
Quote from: the green man on May 28, 2008, 11:48:23 PM
Got the tickets. Which simply state 'Terrace'. Any of youse Daniel fans care to enlighten me as to were the 'Terrace' is?
In that case, I would think you can go anywhere except the stand, which means the Stranorlar side and behind the two goals.
Terrace is a bar in John Street, Omagh
From Hogan Stand
Boyle blasts Devenney omission
29 May 2008
Donegal All-Ireland hero Manus Boyle has accused Brian McIver of showing a "lack of appreciation" to Brendan Devenney by omitting him from his squad for Sunday's Ulster SFC showdown with Derry.
Boyle, who scored 0-9 in Donegal's historic 1992 All-Ireland final victory over Dublin, has taken issue with the decision to drop the experienced St. Eunan's attacker.
He said: "I'm very disappointed for Brendan. Maybe this was his last year but I know he's trained hard since Christmas with injury, trying to get himself ready for the Derry game.
"To be told so close to the game shows lack of appreciation by management. It's not all down to McIver, he's taking on board what others are saying to him as well.
"The summer is not over if Derry beat us. Brendan is still going to be the best forward in the county and when you don't pick him it just doesn't sound good.
"I feel sorry for him because he's been such a good servant to Donegal over the years and to be treated in such a manner is not right."
From Boylesports...
Donegal +1 1/1
Derry -1 21/20
Even money for the draw or a Donegal win. hmmm....
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 29, 2008, 02:38:28 PM
From Boylesports...
Donegal +1 1/1
Derry -1 21/20
Good laying price!
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 29, 2008, 02:38:28 PM
From Boylesports...
Donegal +1 1/1
Derry -1 21/20
bookies not giving much away here, i would say this is part due to derrys national league and fermanagh upsetting the odds on home soil laseek
USFC: Donegal v Derry
The Derry team for the Ulster Senior Football Championship First round game against Donegal on Sunday has now been named
Competition: Ulster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final
Date: Sunday 1st June 2008
Team: Derry
Opposition: Donegal
Captain: Kevin McCloy
Manager (s): Paddy Crozier (Manager);
John McCloskey; Bernie Henry; Peter Doherty; Martin Heaney.
No. Name (As Gaelige) Name (In English) Club (As Gaelige)
1 Seán Ó Díochon John Deighan Léim an Mhadaidh
2 Caoimhín Mag Eoghaín Kevin McGuckin Baile an Doire
3 Caoimhín MacLuaidh Kevin McCloy An Leamhaigh
4 Seán Máirtín Locard Sean Martin Lockhart Beannchar
5 Gearard Ó Catháin Gerard O'Kane Gleann Iolar
6 Niall Mac Oscair Niall McCusker Baile an Doire
7 Mícheál Mac Íomhair Michael McIvor Baile an Doire
8 Fearghal Ó Dochartaigh Fergal Doherty Baile Eochaidh
9 Seosamh Mac Duibhír Joe Diver Baile Eochaidh
10 Marcas Ó Loingsigh Mark Lynch Beannchar
11 Pól Ó Murchú Paul Murphy Dún Geimhin
12 Éanna Ó Maoldúin Enda Muldoon Baile an Doire
13 Connlaodh Mac Giollagáin Conleth Gilligan Baile an Doire
14 Pádraig Ó Brolcháin Paddy Bradley Gleann Iolar
15 Eoin Ó Brolcháin Eoin Bradley Gleann Iolar
16 Barra Mac Giolla Íosa Barry Gillis Machaire Fíolta
17 Pádraig Ó Brolcháin Patsy Bradley Leacht Neil
18 Pól Mac Artáin Paul Cartin Beannchar
19 Séamas Ó Conbhuí James Conway Baile an Doire
20 Coilín Ó Doibhilin Colin Devlin Baile an Doire
21 Riain Diolún Ryan Dillon An tSuaitreagh
22 Seosamh Ó Cianáin Joe Keenan Machaire Fiolta
23 Mícheál Mac Giolla Bhríde Michael McBride Baile na Scrine
24 Proinsias Mac Giolla Domhnaigh Francis McEldowney Leacht Neil
25 Rian Mac Giolla Chomhain Ryan McElhone An Droichead Nua
26 Barra Mac Gualraic Barry McGoldrick Cúlraithin
27 Mícheál Mac Gualraic Michael McGoldrick Baile Eochaidh
28 Ciarán Ó Maoláin Ciaran Mullan Druim Sorran
29 Pól Ó hAodha Paul O'Hea Baile an Stil
30 Réamann Mac Uilcín Raymond Wilkinson Baile an Doire
1 Paul Durcan Na Ceithre Máistrí
2 Karl Lacey Na Ceithre Máistrí
3 Neil Mc Gee Gaoth Dobhair
4 Paddy Mc Daid An Tearmann
5 Frank Mc Glynn Gleann Fhinne
6 Eamon Mc Gee Gaoth Dobhair
7 Barry Dunnion Na Ceithre Máistrí
8 Kevin Cassidy Gaoth Dobhair
9 Neil Gallagher Gleann tSúilí
10 Christy Toye Naomh Mícheál
11 Michael Hegarty Cill Chartha
12 Rory Kavanagh Naomh Adhamhnáin
13 Michael Murphy Gleann tSúilí
14 Colm Mc Fadden Naomh Mícheál
15 David Walsh Naomh Bríd
Cassidy back at midfield? Talk about robbing Peter to pay Paul! Might not be too bad if Barry Dunnion is actually fit (any Donegal residents know anything?). Looks like a two-man full forward line of Murphy and McFadden - one undoubtedly lethal, but inconsistent, the other a young kid. David Walsh to make his debut, presumably taking Roper's place dropping back.
Maybe I'm too pessimistic, but I don't see Derry quaking in their boots. We could have a good day if the likes of Toye and Hegarty and McFadden all play as we know they can, but I am just a tad worried about midfield. Perhaps McIver is planning on dropping Dunnion back in on front of the full-backs to help cut the supply to the Bradleys, pulling Cassidy back into his normal wing-back slot and letting Kavanagh and Toye help out Gallagher.
Despite my earlier prediction that Dunnion wasn't fit it turns out he is. Paddy Mc Daid is struggling and probably will not make it so Cassidy will drop back into the half back line and Rafferty coming into Midfield.
Karl Lacey picked up Eoin Bradley for most of the league game and then played at half-back for a while in the second half if I remember correctly, will he man-mark PB this time?
Quote from: Rav67 on May 30, 2008, 03:08:10 PM
Karl Lacey picked up Eoin Bradley for most of the league game and then played at half-back for a while in the second half if I remember correctly, will he man-mark PB this time?
I would have thought so, but I thought similar prior to the league game. Lacey had a good game on Bradley two years ago, even if he lost the duel by 3 points to 2. :P The same again would be satisfactory! ;D
Thought for a long time Donegal could easily win this, with that team I wouldn't be confident that they will. People have been saying for so long that Donegal can beat Derry that it's probably been more beneficial, motivational wise, to Derry than Donegal. I still have this image of Donegal being brutal in Ballybofey last year and getting out of jail, if they play half as bad on sunday they could get a tanking.
I hope to God Donegal don't play a 2 man FF line cos they're just playing into Derry's hands.
As we saw last Sunday the old tactic of trying to isolate your star forward in loads of space looks to be well over with teams prepared to sacrifice a man or even two to mark the space in front of him
The Derry FB line is pretty awesome anyway but you could see McFadden becoming frustrated again at the lack of decent ball into him and lack of support.
I am looking forward to a cracker of a match though and even if the wife is from Letterkenny and dad will be hard to watch the match with I'm afraid I'm gonna have to shout for the Tir Conaill men.
Donegal must come out all guns blazing though as I think they're a great team when they are leading and believe in themsleves but have no great leaders to stand up and turn a match around on its head.
I fear a Derry win by 4 points but you never know what Donegal team will turn up this time.
Quote from: bennydorano on May 30, 2008, 04:00:39 PM
Thought for a long time Donegal could easily win this, with that team I wouldn't be confident that they will. People have been saying for so long that Donegal can beat Derry that it's probably been more beneficial, motivational wise, to Derry than Donegal. I still have this image of Donegal being brutal in Ballybofey last year and getting out of jail, if they play half as bad on sunday they could get a tanking.
I'd be very surprised if we get a tanking at home, but it could be grim. A lot of Donegal players will need to have excellent games for us to win this. My two biggest worries are winning possession and getting scores (although I suppose there isn't too much else one could worry about!) - I think we're good enough at the back not to get taken apart, but if its one-way traffic from midfield, there's only so much the backs can be expected to do. Up front, we relied on 12 points between Rory Kavanagh, Michael Doherty and Karl Lacey to get that surprise win two years ago - can we get a similar contribution from McFadden, Murphy and Kavanagh this time out?
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 30, 2008, 04:22:40 PM
I hope to God Donegal don't play a 2 man FF line cos they're just playing into Derry's hands.
As we saw last Sunday the old tactic of trying to isolate your star forward in loads of space looks to be well over with teams prepared to sacrifice a man or even two to mark the space in front of him
The Derry FB line is pretty awesome anyway but you could see McFadden becoming frustrated again at the lack of decent ball into him and lack of support.
I am looking forward to a cracker of a match though and even if the wife is from Letterkenny and dad will be hard to watch the match with I'm afraid I'm gonna have to shout for the Tir Conaill men.
Donegal must come out all guns blazing though as I think they're a great team when they are leading and believe in themsleves but have no great leaders to stand up and turn a match around on its head.
I fear a Derry win by 4 points but you never know what Donegal team will turn up this time.
I would have been of the belief that this was true last year Fuzz, especially against Dublin where they were there for the taking and we didn't drive our advantage home after half time. However midway through the Kerry match boys like McCusker, Doherty, Diver and Bradley stood up showed that Derry weren't for lying down this time! I think we've turned a corner this year and I hope we can keep going!
Quote from: screenexile on May 30, 2008, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 30, 2008, 04:22:40 PM
I would have been of the belief that this was true last year Fuzz, especially against Dublin where they were there for the taking and we didn't drive our advantage home after half time. However midway through the Kerry match boys like McCusker, Doherty, Diver and Bradley stood up showed that Derry weren't for lying down this time! I think we've turned a corner this year and I hope we can keep going!
I think he was talking about Donegal!
Really wouldnt want to have any major money on this game. Looking forward to one of the 1st big games of the summer. Derry team on paper looks very strong but it is built on players who have failed to deliver time and time again. Although this year there seems to be an added confidence in the squad and a top class trainer will ensure the fitness levels are good. Fergal Doherty is possibly the best midfielder in Ireland and Bradley one of the top forwards. The one thing is I feel there defence may be slightly overrated. Dont get me wrong its decent and has numerous good individuals. However if it is met with a forward line full of pace it could be in trouble. Lockhart isnt as quick as he once was and McCusker at chb wouldnt be the most mobile player about. McCloy has looked far from convincing since winning that all star last year.
If the game was anywere else than Donegal Id probably tip Derry. However at home Donegal are never easy to beat and this could well turn into a low scoring battle similar to the Armagh game last year. Will be interesting to see how Murphy gets on as he could become a real star. The Donegal half forward line on paper looks good but Toye and Hegarty have failed to deliver to often. Im also not convinced that theyre good enough at midfield. I'd probably go for Derry by 2 but its hard to call.
Read this on the Donegal Page - thought it would fit in well here..
Local rivalry that led to greatness
Kieran Shannon
I COME from the rushes. That's what I tell people. I got this coaching job with the Ulster Council four years ago and at this convention of theirs Danny Murphy says to me, "Tony, say a few words." I nearly fell through the floor. I says to myself, 'What the hell am I going to say?'
I just went up there and I said, "You know this, and I'm going to tell you and I'm proud of it - I come from the rushes!" You know what rushes are? Long green things that aren't supposed to be growing in a field if you look after your fields. Well, I come from the rushes.
He's that guy. The one that was on telly the other week, the one Brian McEniff brought in to help Nell McCafferty and Faughanvale, and, in the words of the celebrity bainisteoir herself, "practically levitated" them with an intensity that would make that mister motivator from the lucozade sport ads look as mellow as a Rastafarian.
Nell would hardly have been the first to be mesmerised by that exuberance. A couple of years ago Mark McHugh from Kilcar was part of an Ulster under-16 development squad, and to this day, vouches his father, Mark still talks about the talk Tony Scullion gave them in Jordanstown.
Here they were, among the 45 best in the province. When he was their age, he could barely make the Ballinascreen under-16s.
He never even got a trial for the county minors. "I was told I was too small, not good enough, that I was a failure."
Three years later he was called onto the county under-21 panel. The day of their first round against Armagh, a bag with togs and socks was dropped into the middle of the dressing room and Scullion, being a "backward wee boy from Ballinascreen" and certain he'd be just a sub, let everyone else rush in before gratefully taking the last pair. He soon realised why his socks had been the last pair. There was a hole in both heels. But he gladly put them on, before Mickey Moran and Sean O'Kane named out the team, with a certain Tony Scullion at corner back.
"I could have dropped through the floor.
Oh! Talk about winning the lotto! I was the last out the door, and as I ran out, Jim McGuigan, a great county board stalwart, shouted, 'You, boy, you can't go out there with a pair of socks like them!' And he went to another wee bag and gave me a spanking new pair."
That backward wee boy Jim McGuigan watched frantically slip on those socks and tear towards that field for fear of being late for his own debut would four years later receive an All Star. Scullion was so overwhelmed, he nearly dropped it, but over the years he'd come very familiar with that statute's weight. He'd pick up another three. He played 15 years for Derry. From 1989 on, Ulster won six Railway Cups on the trot. Only Scullion and Martin McQuillan from Armagh started on all six teams. The most anybody else played on was four. In fact, only one other man in the history of the inter-provincials has collected six winners' medals in a row. A fella by the name of Christy Ring.
"Now, boys, " Scullion told McHugh and his peers, "you can achieve more than I ever did. But the law of averages tells us many of ye will fall by the wayside. I don't have to leave my own parish to find far more talented players than I was when I was 18. You can take two roads. The road which leads to high stools and bright lights, or the one in which you go for it and have no regrets later in life."
Martin McHugh could relate to that. It's hard to believe but the man Brian McEniff rightly described as the greatest Donegal football ever was never picked to play minor for the county. He was "too small" as well - and too dogged to leave it at that. On the evening of his 21st birthday, his mother Kathleen had prepared a meal and baked a cake for him after his shooting practice on the club pitch. Down there he had this routine. He'd throw five footballs down at difficult angles and imagine his side were four points down and he had to kick all five over to win the match. If he missed the fifth, he'd start all over again. By the time McHugh returned home that night, his brothers and sisters had finished his meal and cake.
Last Wednesday Martin McHugh - on crutches, unable to drive after a recent operation - made the four-hour round-trip from Kilcar with his loyal friend and neighbour Hugh Shovlin to meet Scullion at Padge Quinn's Corner near Dungannon.
Of course, they had met plenty times before. On the pitches of Ballinascreen and Ballybofey; on the hard - and one notorious day, the treacherous - ground of Clones; in Cavan, Casement, and one time, even Scotland. So intense were some of those Donegal-Derry battles, it appeared they were fuelled on mutual hatred. Not so, Scullion and McHugh claim. They were founded on ambition, desire and mutual respect. McEniff was Scullion's manager for all those Railway Cup wins. In Ulster he might have been ready to kill one of McEniff 's men but for Ulster he would have died for him.
Because what you must appreciate is this. Compared to Dublin and Meath and Cork who formed the more famed, blueblood rivalries of that era, both counties came from the rushes.
A few years ago Tony Scullion had a good chat with John Somers, the old Derry goalkeeping great, who told him how Derry teams used to prepare before Scullion's time. "They'd do a couple of laps of the field in Ballinascreen, kick about a wee bit, then head down to Timoney's for tea and sandwiches and then across the road for Regan's for a few pints. That was Derry training." And they were happy enough with it. Weren't 29 other counties exactly the same?
In the '80s, they picked it up a bit, but it was only when another boy from the rushes, a bricklayer called Eamonn Coleman, took over that they started to train and think like the sport's elite. In 1991 they pushed Down to a replay and Down went on to win that All Ireland. The following spring they won the national league. Then they dumped Down out of the championship. Heading to Clones for the Ulster final, they were ranked the best team in the country.
There, that irresistible force would meet an unmovable object. In 1982 Donegal won the under-21 All Ireland final, McHugh, aptly, kicking five of their eight points. The following year McHugh and five of his under-21 teammates won an Ulster senior title and were within two points of reaching an All Ireland final. "We thought in '84, " smiles McHugh, "it was just a matter of coming back to win something. We didn't get back to an Ulster final until 1989." And they lost that final. In 1991 they lost another to Down. "Walking down the hill in Clones that day, I thought - we all thought - we'd never walk down it again as players."
The following year, they had qualified for another final, but after their semi-final win over Fermanagh McHugh stood up on the dressing-room bench and declared that they were a shambles and that he had no interest in disgracing himself in another Ulster final. It was the cue for Anthony Harkin's famous six weeks of shock training. "Horses, " Anthony Molloy would later say, "wouldn't have done the training we did."
At half-time it looked as if it had been in vain. John Cunningham had just been wrongly sent off. Heading into the dressing room there had been some pushing and shoving, in the midst of which McEniff got a clip, and when he stormed into the dressing room he kicked a bottle of water which flew across the room and busted above Joyce McMullan and Donal Reid.
Then he pinned Joyce McMullan up against the wall. "Do you think that crowd are going to intimidate us?"
What followed was, as Matt Gallagher says, "the best half of football Donegal ever played". They started to run with the ball and at Derry. Gary Coleman didn't know what to do as the spare man. Danny Quinn didn't know what to do with Tommy Ryan.
Scullion didn't know what to do with Declan Bonner. And none of them knew what to do with McHugh, who kicked one of the greatest points Clones ever witnessed. The 14 men had beaten the 15 men by two points, and soon were All Ireland champions for the first time.
Coleman was shell-shocked leaving Clones. "I just can't believe it, " he'd tell reporters. "It will take us a long time to get over this." By the following spring though, they were gunning again for Donegal. In the national league quarter-final in Cavan, Tommy Ryan was stretchered off with a broken jaw and Kieran McKeever was sent off. McEniff got a dig from another Derry player when trying to make a switch. And Anthony Molloy and Brian McGilligan in midfield were going at it again.
The pair of them personified the rivalry.
Before the 1992 Ulster final Molloy attributed his rather subdued displays against Cavan to the fact his marker, Stephen King, was a friend. "The problem I had with Stephen, " he smiled, "is one I won't have with Brian." Thing is, they were friendly, off the field. McHugh and Scullion, like them, were Railway Cup and All Star veterans and noticed how often McGilligan and Molloy gravitated to one another.
Brian Murray noticed how before and after every game, they'd make a point of shaking hands. Between those handshakes though, it was war, and Breffni was their Flanders.
"It got so bad, " Martin Shovlin would tell Damien Dowds and Donal Campbell in Sams for the Hills: Donegal's All Ireland Odyssey, "McGilligan stood in the middle of the field, took off his gloves and said, 'Alright, Anthony, me and you.'" Whatever about Molloy, Donegal shaded that battle and went on to contest the league final. "Looking back, " says McHugh, "we should have forgotten about the league that year because we were an ageing team.
But we were just having so much fun, playing games in places like Longford and Carlow after being out 'til five in the morning, while there was no way we were going to back down to Derry that day."
Derry had resolved to never back down either. "Training leading up to that Ulster final was unreal, " says Scullion. "Two men went fisticuffs and the wee man himself [Coleman] came running on. One of them turned round, 'Were we not told to fight for our place?' Coleman did that wee snigger of his and dandered off with that wee dander of his."
Scullion had his own battle in those weeks. In a league game in Drogheda he broke his ankle, leaving him on crutches.
"The week before the Down game, the wee man said to me, 'Well, what do you think, boy?' And I said, 'I'll go for it if you go for it!' And he says, 'Well, I'm going for it! I want you in there.' I lasted 10 minutes in Newry. I went down to pick up a ball and I fell on my f****n' mouth and nose. I swung a boot at the ball, it trickled to Mickey Linden and he kicked it over the bar. I looked up and saw someone warming up along the line. Derry went on to hammer Down but afterwards I was disgusted. The wee man came over. 'Scully, you have four weeks to get right for Monaghan.'" Scullion wasn't one for the sport sciences. He didn't do weights ("Many's the day I lifted and put in them big brutes of road curbs myself; if you do that, you don't need weights"); didn't do stretching ("[Dermot] McNicholl was really into it - Jesus, he would be down on the floor in a ball before a game, like a hedgehog - but I never stretched in my life - and I'm paying for it now"); didn't believe in "them boys for the head" (I can't remember a thing Craig Mahoney ever said. Coleman might have had him going to certain players but he never came to me. I don't think I needed him, to be quite honest"). The only way he knew was to grit the teeth.
"I'll tell you this, and I'm not telling a lie, any night Derry weren't training that month I went to Dean McGlinchey Park [Ballinascreen's local pitch] and ran round it lap after lap after lap. The doctor gave me this bandage and to this day, if I play a bit of fun football, I still have to wear a strap around that ankle. And he said to me, 'Tony, you have to run the pain out - keep going.' After a while the ankle would warm up and the pain would go out of it, but the first four laps out every night was a killer!"
Nothing was going to stop him winning that Ulster and All Ireland.
He takes umbrage with any Donegal supporter who questions whether Derry would have won that 1993 Ulster final if it hadn't been played in those monsoon conditions. "Sun, snow, rain, hurricanes - we were going to win that game!"
Across the table, McHugh nods.
"Derry were the hungrier and fresher team, just as we had been the year before. But I remember John Joe Doherty winning a ball 15 yards inside the line and he slid out over the line. I was captain that day and I'd said to [referee] Tommy McDermott going up for the toss, 'This game should not be played.' It didn't affect the outcome but football lost out. You were talking about the 1992 All Ireland champions against the 1993 All Ireland champions. The following year the 1993 champions [Derry] and the 1994 [Down] produced the greatest game of the year. Maybe we could have as well. I would always liked to have seen the two teams on a good day, 15 against 15 and a good referee just letting the two of us at it."
Both teams broke up soon after that, even if they would clash in a couple of league finals in the middle of the decade. At the end of '94 McEniff stepped down. That same year Coleman was forced out. In a way neither county has fully recovered from those dark months and in some quarters, some have never forgotten. Scullion noticed how recently Joe Brolly resurrected the fact that Scullion was the first senior player to return and play for Mickey Moran.
"Joe described me as a blackleg. I laughed it off, I'd take anything Joe says with a pinch of salt, but I tell you one thing - I'm very proud that I never refused the Derry jersey. I wasn't going to say no to Mickey Moran, I wasn't going to say no to nobody!
"I was playing for my county, whoever was in charge. I've done everything I could to get my second All Ireland medal and if Joe thinks he did everything to get it and can live with it, then I can live with it."
To the end he remained that backward wee boy with those holed socks that day in Bellaghy.
Today 30 other Derry men will put on that jersey to face Donegal in the first box office face-off of the summer. It won't be open football, he reckons. "I can see a lot of bodies working hard, getting tackles in, a lot of breaking ball, bodies around the ball. A man or two might even walk."
He hopes though today's soldiers will share the same bond with their adversaries like his generation do now. The year before last he was up in Noel Hegarty's club and stayed in John Joe Doherty's house. McEniff and himself team up to coach the Ulster Railway Cup team, not just Nell's. Two years ago those Donegal and Derry players from '92 and '93 played a charity game in Fanad and there was over 5,000 at it.
For McHugh, the respect is mutual. He notices how all the Derry lads, just like their Donegal counterparts, have given back to the game. "Enda Gormley is travelling down from Belfast to train his club under-14 team. I said to him, 'Have you a brother on the team or something?' He says, 'No. But sure they're my own club.'" For all their differences, they shared and still share a passion, be they from the Glen or from the hills.
Because in a way, they all came from the rushes.
marty duffy , oh no
Walsh 1-0 donegal
Derry looking sharp but not finishing. Donegal great on the burst. 2-0
how bad is martin carney, paddy bradley was stood on, jesus if i can see it on the replay why cant he
Bad hands from McGee there, good finish from bradley though...
1-02 to 0-03
Jesus - talk about opportunity knocks.
Donegal need to win a little more in the middle. They've got the boyos up front to do a little damage.
What a point from donegal, super catch from toye to start it all
7 wides according to Highland!
Lynch tracking Lacey, battle of the intellectuals there from the poly pair!
Big Joe can do some running, Joe Brolly probably drooling over him...
Another wide....
Haven't seen as much of gerard o kane as normal, is he match fit?
Neil Gallagher looks punctured. Slowing everything down.
Derry 10 wides
Donegal 2 wides :o
Quote from: hardstation on June 01, 2008, 04:28:29 PM
Crap shooting. Derry should be out of sight.
Glad i didn't back Derry now, was gonna do them minus two points, I wouldn't be happy if I did....
Will Derry collapse under the favourite tags?
Penalty!
well taken penalty for donegal but awful wides from derry 11 now and no score in 18 minutes
Quote from: hardstation on June 01, 2008, 04:31:10 PM
Goal.
McGuckian is a stupid player. He'll not last.
Are you spelling his name wrong on purpose?
1-07 to 1-04 half time
Great penalty form the young fella
great so see donegal winning even though i have went with derry on the spreads comp. should be a good second half it will be great to see the the smile wiped of joe brolly
martin mchugh just said that Derry are an absolute disgrace yet says that they are in total control of the match. Fcuk he is very very hard to listen to.
Decent enough game. Some great fielding in the centre. Terrible shooting by Derry. Initially thought penalty was a suspect decision - not so sure on second viewing.
o rourke "a small man should not be in charge of a big mans game.
I am no fan of duffy , but comments were over the top, especially when there is no way to reply or defend yourself. must be a little bit of history there.
Happy to be three up, but this game is a long, long way from over. The likes of the Bradleys are well capable of getting another goal and a quick string of points, all the more so given the possession they're winning. Donegal really need to up it around the middle, although they did improve there in the latter stages of the first half.
Derry just got 2 points they shouldn't have. The first, a free given to Bradley when he had obviously over-carried, the second, a ball picked off the ground.
What a point from Murphy, brilliant hope for the future
bad miss by McFadden, level and all to play for
Derry's to lose now
All square now!! Squeaky bum time for donegal! (hope all the contributors from the annoying phrase thread read this!!)
Barry McGuigan the whistler?
boring stuff in the first half really compared to meath and wexford on the web there. livened up a bit in the second half , really its been disappointing.
Finally gonna be a good finish in the ulster championship!! Come on donegal, make it interesting
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2008, 05:06:37 PM
What a point from Murphy, brilliant hope for the future
great point but he's missed a few sitters since
Derry toying with them here, donegal getting frustrated
ten from bradley, how many from play?
Derry were getting very handy frees towards the end. How can you possibly defend when the referee blow up so easily?
Some excellent scores by both teams, ref was one of the worst I have ever seen.
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 01, 2008, 05:43:42 PM
Fair play to the referee, he must surely be a contender for man of the match, he pulled Derry back into the game by giving them easy, scoreable frees time and again whilst ignoring most of their indiscretions. Doherty should have walked mid way through the second half and if I was a Donegal man I would feel robbed this evening.
Physcality is being taken out of the game by over zealous officials, players like Paddy Bradley are buying frees by going to ground while in posession because they know that the ref will give them a soft, scoreable free. The ref got the first decision wrong in the game when he gave a free out to Kevin McCloy, who had clearly over carried the ball and he didnt get too many right after, including the penalty.
To be fair, if Derry had been scoring in the first half, they would have been out of sight. Add that to a borderline penalty decision that went in Donegal's favour.
I do however agree with the handy frees won by Derry, especially towards the end.
Regarding Doherty, could he get a suspension if the ref doesn't have anything in his report?
When will refs learn people dont come to games to watch them. Far to many soft frees followed by ticks/yellows. Too many referees make it pay to foul. If a team is breaking up the pitch then you should foul them. The referee will give a free and then stop the play for long enough for you to get your men behind the ball. Referees penalise the team who gets fouled by slowing down there plays. Surely someone should tell them to allow the advantage to the attacking team.
How in Gods name did Docherty not get sent off for that swinging arm??? When a ref is giving yellow cards for fun and doesn't penalise that its disgraceful and then to listen to Brolly say he shouldn't have been sent off as no damage was done!!!
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 01, 2008, 05:53:50 PM
How in Gods name did Docherty not get sent off for that swinging arm??? When a ref is giving yellow cards for fun and doesn't penalise that its disgraceful and then to listen to Brolly say he shouldn't have been sent off as no damage was done!!!
Er, because he didn't see it perhaps?
maybe but you'd have to consider when he saw frees no-one else did, and missed the most important offence in the game, should he be there?
disappointing game, standard in ulster dropping rapidly unfortunately. pity the standard of refeereeing is getting even worse. he was poor today.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 01, 2008, 06:00:07 PM
maybe but you'd have to consider when he saw frees no-one else did, and missed the most important offence in the game, should he be there?
Yes, but that's not the argument. It would be different if he had words with, ticked or yellow-carded Doherty but not sent him off. He obviously didn't even know it happened. That's plausable to be fair - the ref can't see everything and it was a crowded area of the field. I'm not trying to defend the ref's overall game though.
disappointing game, standard in ulster dropping rapidly unfortunately.
How can you really judge the state of Ulster football when 4 counties have yet to play (including 2 of the big guns) and when no Ulster team has played a non-Ulster team yet?
Obviously gutted to lose, but Derry shaded it overall. The few minutes with McFadden's missed frees, the messed-up sideline kick, Doherty's slap and McCusker's apparent clean lift of the ground to make a score were the difference for me. Bradley definitely seemed to get a few handy frees at the end, but Derry will point to the penalty. My initial reaction was that it was a 13m free as Toye definitely seemed to be tripped, but the replays on RTE weren't exactly conclusive either way. I couldn't understand why Lacey wasn't put on Bradley either - our best defender by a mile and he was hardly seen all day as the game generally went straight from the midfield scraps into the full-forward lines. McGee was cleaned out, plain and simple, and should have been switched. And how many goals have we given up over the years from dropped balls in around the square?
Couldn't be arsed about the qualifiers at this stage, as we clearly have little prospect of making an impression on the All Ireland stage. Maybe the enthusiasm will return in a few weeks, particularly if we get an interesting draw. Games like last year's Leitrim or Westmeath ties are hard to get excited over though.
On the plus side, a good debut from young Murphy, while McFadden did well too, the two missed frees aside. Murphy's point early in the second half brought back memories of Martin McHugh riggling through defenders to score - let's hope he build's on the promise shown so far.
disappointing game, standard in ulster dropping rapidly unfortunately. pity the standard of refeereeing is getting even worse. he was poor today.
the standard in ulster is easily the best in ireland im afraid.
dont know about donegal feeling robbed, thought the referee was very keen to give frees to both sides at even the merest hint of contact.
was i the only one who thought the penalty was a couple of yards outside the area? even after he fell he didnt seem to be inside to me.
Thought the ref was too card happy and he did find in favour of Derry in all the bigger calls. Good match though. Now for an away win next week in Healey Park.
Quote from: clarshack on June 01, 2008, 06:24:00 PM
anyone else think ger canning is a sh*t commentator? he called derry 'tyrone' and at the end it was 'brian mceniff's' donegal not brian mcivor's. elementary mistakes for a 'professional'.
Agree wholeheartedly, absolutely inept commentator. Aswell as that was listening to michael o mhuirteagh gave the wrong score 3 times on the way home from club championship. First waterford were winnin 2-25 to 23 then it changed to clare and back to waterford. Had to wait till I got home and check text to be sure.
Marty duffy was useless today, whistle happy and fussy and got peno decision wrong and doherty should of been sent off. Brolly was a disgrace on sunday game. Talk about blinkered vision. Highlighting the donegal players reaction who IMO was damn right to go down. It was a closed fist swing back into the face.
Too many teams cop out of going for goals too. Donegal had fisted 2 points in the first half when the goal was gapping and men were free. Have some courage.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 01, 2008, 06:39:54 PM
anyone else think ger canning is a sh*t commentator? he called derry 'tyrone' and at the end it was 'brian mceniff's' donegal not brian mcivor's. elementary mistakes for a 'professional'.
Agree wholeheartedly, absolutely inept commentator. Aswell as that was listening to michael o mhuirteagh gave the wrong score 3 times on the way home from club championship. First waterford were winnin 2-25 to 23 then it changed to clare and back to waterford. Had to wait till I got home and check text to be sure.
Marty duffy was useless today, whistle happy and fussy and got peno decision wrong and doherty should of been sent off. Brolly was a disgrace on sunday game. Talk about blinkered vision. Highlighting the donegal players reaction who IMO was damn right to go down. It was a closed fist swing back into the face.
Too many teams cop out of going for goals too. Donegal had fisted 2 points in the first half when the goal was gapping and men were free. Have some courage.
Brolly was doing his piece fot his county. He is more than aware of how strongly the meeja will impact any DRA/disciplinary decisions
100% correct Clarsack....the man is a fool
Billy Morgan was right about Martin Duffy ! So was O'Rourke !
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001829b15e.jpg)
Quote from: Surreal Steve on June 01, 2008, 07:00:26 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 01, 2008, 06:39:54 PM
Brolly was doing his piece fot his county. He is more than aware of how strongly the meeja will impact any DRA/disciplinary decisions
I thought they get paid to be impartial anaylsis, I know its hard but he was unfair on the donegal player.
Although Martin Duffy had a very poor game overall he was NOT to blame for Fergal Doherty not getting sent off - he simply didn't see it and his linesman told him that the Donegal man was feigning injury.
Fair play to Derry for coming through in the end and winning a game that most people thought they could possibly lose. Scrappy enough game which was highlighted by fine displays of fielding. Derry looked pretty formidable when Doherty, Conway, Diver and Muldoon were all on at the same time. Thought Gilligan had a great game, getting on the ball alot and with good distribution. Thought Derry could have won this by 7-8 points if they had have brought their shooting boots first half.
Another incompetent display of officaldom. Forget aboout the Doherty incident, it was Kavanagh's fault for messing with the wrong man. These things are part of the game, I feel and he shouldn't have went down like Jenna Jamieson. What's more worrying was the number of soft frees given by the ref. Felt Diver got lots of frees by simply charging into donegal defenders and should have been given the other way. Thought when Bradley was given frees though most were genuine frees. I think his shorts and shirt can testify to that.
Don't think either team are far away from a pop at the all-ireland if they can both keep their heads
The first round is for getting over, Derry wont give a shite that they weren't great today, they will only get better. They showed a bit of fight that has been lacking in recent Derry teams, but they will probably have to take on Fermanagh without Doherty. They've little to fear outside of Kerry, and they've showed they are well capable of beating them.
Quote from: unforgiven on June 01, 2008, 07:55:12 PM
Forget aboout the Doherty incident, it was Kavanagh's fault for messing with the wrong man. These things are part of the game, I feel and he shouldn't have went down like Jenna Jamieson. What's more worrying was the number of soft frees given by the ref. Felt Diver got lots of frees by simply charging into donegal defenders and should have been given the other way. Thought when Bradley was given frees though most were genuine frees. I think his shorts and shirt can testify to that.
Biased? Binkered?
So it's fine for Doherty to do what he did because he's a big man and the opposition should know better than to challenge him? It's one thing going down easy when there's a bit of shoving and pushing, but in the case of a strike, i'm not so sure it's as OTT. Either way, Doherty was wrong and his actions have no place on the field.
And Donegal's frees were handy, but Derry's were fair enough? Cop yourself on. The referee was poor throughout, but it was the Derry frees near the end that were most dubious.
Quotethe standard in ulster is easily the best in ireland im afraid.
yeah, thats really been shown in the last two years hasn't it.
Watched the game on RTE.
In regards to the referee, Colm O Rourke said at half time( in relation to the penalty), "thats what you get putting a small referee in charge of a mans game" ( or thereabouts)
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 08:35:17 PM
Forget aboout the Doherty incident, it was Kavanagh's fault for messing with the wrong man. These things are part of the game, I feel and he shouldn't have went down like Jenna Jamieson. What's more worrying was the number of soft frees given by the ref. Felt Diver got lots of frees by simply charging into donegal defenders and should have been given the other way. Thought when Bradley was given frees though most were genuine frees. I think his shorts and shirt can testify to that.
Biased? Binkered?
So it's fine for Doherty to do what he did because he's a big man and the opposition should know better than to challenge him? It's one thing going down easy when there's a bit of shoving and pushing, but in the case of a strike, i'm not so sure it's as OTT. Either way, Doherty was wrong and his actions have no place on the field.
And Donegal's frees were handy, but Derry's were fair enough? Cop yourself on. The referee was poor throughout, but it was the Derry frees near the end that were most dubious.
Reread my post please. i think it's yourself that is blinkered.
the best team won in the end, never mind the ref the changing point in the game was the subs coming on
conway changed the flow of the game he won alot of ball and used it well
roper came on and had no impact on the game he's a "has been".
i can see derry going the whole way in ulster.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 01, 2008, 08:42:42 PM
Overall standard is much better Mike.
Quote from: unforgiven on June 01, 2008, 09:08:23 PM
Biased? Binkered?
Sorry, yes, i missed your contribution re Diver - well called. But there's no need to defend Doherty's actions (hence my charge of bias), and i stand by my view that Bradley won some handy enough frees.
Doirty Derry advance courtesy of Paddy Bradley winning frees you wud not see in netball and Doherty dishin the usual derry doirt and gettin away with it.... pity Donegal didnt have a Pascal Canavan to show the way to counter it like when he gave Barton the 'Ali' treatment iin '95........;) roll on clones! :D
I suppose with Donegal out and Armagh and Tyrone only able to meet in the semi, the final will be back in Clones again this year.
Paddy was getting fouled for his frees, but overall the referee was giving frees for anything, which was why I was happy anytime Diver got on the ball as you know he will run at the defence and inevitably win one, and Lynch drew a couple in the first half too. Thought PB looked a wee bit off the boil after he went down injured for the rest of the first half, but he showed what a class act he is the second period. His frees are a lot more consistent at the minute than they were in the past as well.
Was very impressed with Derry's ability to win primary possession, particularly given that a lot of the kickouts that Donegal did win were due to the accuracy of Durcan who landed a few on Kavanagh in the first half. I hope Doc doesn't get suspended, but despite the huge influence he has on games I'd still fancy us to beat Fermanagh without him. Conway looked good when he came on and took 2 catches, and Diver done well too so they'd be able to step up to the plate. McCloy was very poor again, got cleaned out by both men and has been getting sold very obvious dummies all year so far. If he doesn't get back his sharpness quick I think Crozier has a big call to make whether to drop him for the semi-final, I know he's the captain but Mickey McGoldrick and Sean Marty Lockhart are coming back so there's very capable replacements there.
I was mightily impressed with Derry in most facets of the game, apart from hitting the target in the first half but it was just one of those days for them in the first 35. There is definitely a mental toughness about them now to match the undoubted talent. People say they're too reliant on Bradley, but so what. Tyrone were the same with O'Neill in 2005, Kerry on the Gooch. I can see Derry being thereabouts late August. They don't look like imploding this year.
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 10:34:22 PM
Biased? Binkered?
Sorry, yes, i missed your contribution re Diver - well called. But there's no need to defend Doherty's actions (hence my charge of bias), and i stand by my view that Bradley won some handy enough frees.
you're entitled to your opinion indeed. As am I. Not defending Doc cause i don't think there is much to defend. If Kavanagh hadn't have thrown himself on the ground I don't think there would be too much talk about the incident. If you were to send everyone off for that sort of thing there would be noone left on the pitch. Think the GAA would be a better game if they could stamp out that Barry McGuigan lookalike than bother investigating minor indiscretions like Doherty's.
But regardless of the Kavanagh's response (OTT or not), it was a strike - i'm not sure many would call it a 'minor indiscretion'.
I fully take and accept your comment re the ref, but i'm assuming it's a problem for the GAA because there simply aren't enough referees willing and able to take on the role. I wouldn't so it - would anyone on here?
Jesus what poor shooting in the first half. Watchin the tape off her here, what are people on about Bradley diving? I admit he got a couple of soft ones, but what ones do youse think he "dived" for?
Quote from: unforgiven on June 01, 2008, 10:57:27 PM
Biased? Binkered?
you're entitled to your opinion indeed. As am I. Not defending Doc cause i don't think there is much to defend. If Kavanagh hadn't have thrown himself on the ground I don't think there would be too much talk about the incident. If you were to send everyone off for that sort of thing there would be noone left on the pitch. Think the GAA would be a better game if they could stamp out that Barry McGuigan lookalike than bother investigating minor indiscretions like Doherty's.
So Dublin and Meath guys get 8 week bans for pushing and shoving and you want Doc to get off for striking a guy in the face???? Considering that the contact for that free was an awful lot more than what Bradley was getting frees for then you must be disgusted at how easy Bradley fell over when being tackled...
Jesus there was me thinking that younse Dublin boys were in this thread as neutrals, not with some vested disciplinary related interest ::)
Quote from: unforgiven on June 01, 2008, 10:57:27 PM
Biased? Binkered?
Not defending him then what do you call it. FFS such absolute Bullsh*t. I am sligoman so neutral, kavanagh had every right to react like that. It was a closed fist. You see alot in GAA but with open hand or shrug off but not closed fist. God gave you eyes, maybe you should use them.
I have yet to see a rule that says its fine to haul a player 180 by the jersey.
The ref had a poor game tes, but I dont think he was biased towards Derry. Just poor all round.
Derry were Brutal in the first half and missed far too many scoring opputunities, likewise the testicle ticklers in the second half. Conway really stedied the ship for our boys when coming on. Far too many Derry players were off colour today. I dont think there was one stand out performance from anyone. Save Diver and Paddy.
As regards Doherty. Probably deserved a red, but no more so than McGee(6) who tried to cut Bradley in two in the first half. Or Kavannagh, who just appeared to be happy to be a kn**ker for most of the game.
McIver will surely be crucified now for not having Brendan on the panel.
Referee spoiled what could have been a very free flowing game. Best team won although Donegal will feel that they let this one slip.
Couldnt keep Derry any any period of sustained pressure in second half. Interesting to see how well Mc Iver can keep them together over next 6 or 7 weeks.
Derry will be happy, into Ulster semi with plenty of room for improvement and competition for places now starting to hotten up. Full back line would be a serious cause for concern!!
Doherty incident was a clear strike, and typical of that clown of a refs performance that he missed it but yet was stopping the game and firing out yellows for totally inoccuous incidents!
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 01, 2008, 11:43:04 PM
Not defending him then what do you call it. FFS such absolute Bullsh*t. I am sligoman so neutral, kavanagh had every right to react like that. It was a closed fist. You see alot in GAA but with open hand or shrug off but not closed fist. God gave you eyes, maybe you should use them.
Indeed, and even if Kavanagh hadn't went to ground, it wouldn't have made any difference my take on the incident.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 01, 2008, 08:42:42 PM
Mike,
No one in their right mind could question that the last 2 years have belonged to Kerry.They have been head and shoulders above every other county, but Ulster as aprovince is harder/stronger/better than any other since the quallifier system has been introduced.
The munster championship is a joke,even your own players admit as much.
Quote from: the green man on June 02, 2008, 12:00:32 AM
As regards Doherty. Probably deserved a red,
What do you mean probably :D
You are a bit like Tohill
He deserved a red
What frees did Bradley dive for? Is someone going to tell me? A couple were soft but I can't see any where he dived or tried to buy it. Enlightened me please someone.
Tell me the minute of the frees he dived for.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0601/donegal_derry2.html?gaa (Video on right hand side)
Quote from: Doire abú on June 02, 2008, 12:36:25 AM
What frees did Bradley dive for? Is someone going to tell me? A couple were soft but I can't see any where he dived or tried to buy it. Enlightened me please someone.
Tell me the minute of the frees he dived for.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0601/donegal_derry2.html?gaa (Video on right hand side)
why is it saying derry isnt part of ireland and i cant watch is??
This never happened before.
why is it saying derry isnt part of ireland and i cant watch is??
For all its faults, Derry is a part of Ireland, but are you using a Derry based internet service?
lads you're kidding yourselves if you think the ulster championship is that great. i would have agreed with you 3years ago but not anymore. the opening games have been totally mediocre and we'll see if the others can improve on the current showings. in general across the board it's been a very poor opening to the championship.
Doherty did deserve a red, he struck. Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV. I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh. Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.
QuoteDoherty did deserve a red, he struck. Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV. I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh. Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.
LOL, that's quite a backward-logic analysis. Are you sure you didnt have 10 pints before your curry chip? :P
Quote from: under the bar on June 02, 2008, 09:01:32 AM
QuoteDoherty did deserve a red, he struck. Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV. I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh. Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.
LOL, that's quite a backward-logic analysis. Are you sure you didnt have 10 pints before your curry chip? :P
Its simple - either you want the ref to respond to the entire incident or you only want him to respond to the bit you didn't like. Its called consistency.
Quote from: currychip on June 02, 2008, 08:02:06 AM
Doherty did deserve a red, he struck. Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV. I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh. Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.
Your definitely drunk ! :D :D ;D ;D ;D
OK on the game... I thought Donegal had the right tactics to beat us on the day. They managed to isolate their 2 half forwards for kickouts and did well in the first half at winning primary possession in that area. McIver was ruthless in attacking his son's wing and in fairness to the Derry management they called it right to put Cartin on at half time.
We struggled in our full back and half back line but our MF and forwards made up for this. PC has a big decision to make as I thought the N McCusker at CHB experiment didn't work and it's looking like a Gerrard/Lampard situation where you can't have both on for the good of the team. It wll be interesting to see what happens against Fermanagh.
There's been a lot said about the Doherty incident. He struck, he should have went no argument. Referee was pretty bad but if nobody saw the incident then nobody saw it, he can't send someone off because a Donegal man said he was struck. Overall the ref was poor for both teams although I thought he was particularly hard on us where we had a lot of players on yellow cards that didn't deserve them yet Barry Dunnion was shoving and elbowing all day and got nothing against him (I was well impressed with him btw, a really tenacious player who completely snuffed out Gilligan in the first half). As shown on the Sunday game last night as well the ref was in the perfect position to give the penalty against us so no complaints.
As for PB diving? Utter nonsense! His man couldn't cope and was conceding frees end of... and as for his point at the end with the triple somersault and a twist before he knocked it over well that was just class.
People from Leinster and Munster talking about the relative merits or otherwise of our championship?? Give me a break! Neither province has been competitive in years and to tell me that there was more quality on show from Wicklow and Laois, or the Wexford Meath game is laughable... it's like comparing a 4-4 draw between Motherwell and Aberdeen with a 2-1 win for Real over Barca... sure it's entertaining but it's not quality!
All in all yesterday Derry showed we have the leaders to pull us out of a hole when we need it. Paddy Bradley, Fergal Doherty, Joe Diver and Muldoon were immense in that second half for us and even James Conway when he came on. Things have started off well and let's hope it continues!!!!
Quote from: currychip on June 02, 2008, 09:15:17 AM
Quote from: under the bar on June 02, 2008, 09:01:32 AM
Its simple - either you want the ref to respond to the entire incident or you only want him to respond to the bit you didn't like. Its called consistency.
Starting to look more and more of a cakewalk for kerry i'm afraid thsi year. Similar to Dublin i don't think derry are quite good enough. i was quite disappointed with them yesterday, as for dropping standards ,no ulster county made the last 4 last year but derry look a bit of a one man band. Excellent midfield but all it will take is to put a sweeper in front of Bradley and that will be that, he can't do it on his own. HIs brother takes some of the worst options i've ever seen, he just shoots on sight. they need to stick muldoon up front with Bradley to give themselves another option . I've backed them for Ulster but i'm starting to believe more and more it's there for Armagh in Ulster this year if they want it unless tyrone can revitalise themselves. should be a derry v armagh final.
QuoteYou are a bit like Tohill
Now that was funny, and wouldn't have looked out of place on Father Ted. After the Derry game, with reference to Doherty's punch, Tohill is wringing his hands pleading for refs to have common sense in application of the rules. After the Meath-Wexford game, with reference to the disallowed goal, he's saying that refs are only there to apply the laws as they're written. Does he ever listen to what's coming out of his bake? ::)
Quote from: screenexile on June 02, 2008, 10:26:47 AM
Nah it still doesn't work... it's them BT bastards with their feckin UK ip addresses!
I emailed RTE there,
wanting to know demanding to know, why we are excluded from watching it.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 02, 2008, 01:41:08 AM
lads you're kidding yourselves if you think the ulster championship is that great. i would have agreed with you 3years ago but not anymore. the opening games have been totally mediocre and we'll see if the others can improve on the current showings. in general across the board it's been a very poor opening to the championship.
Ulster's big guns have yet to play this year so maybe you should reserve judgement until you see Tyrone and Armagh ;)
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 02, 2008, 10:21:45 AM
QuoteYou are a bit like Tohill
Now that was funny, and wouldn't have looked out of place on Father Ted. After the Derry game, with reference to Doherty's punch, Tohill is wringing his hands pleading for refs to have common sense in application of the rules. After the Meath-Wexford game, with reference to the disallowed goal, he's saying that refs are only there to apply the laws as they're written. Does he ever listen to what's coming out of his bake? ::)
I have to admit that I had a lot of respect for Tohill on the Sunday game and then he goes and makes an arse of himself last night !
Seriously don't understand why you're all getting up in arms about Tohill last night! Tohill has never advocated anything but common sense from referees. He was obviously told to go away and analyse the Sheridan goal incident, which he did... he then found a rule which says you aren't allowed to grab a ball from a players hands. From memory (and I had a few pints in me) he didn't say it was the right call I think he was just trying to give a possible reason as to why the ref blew it up. In fairness if it had been a defender coming out with the ball it would never be a free.
As for the Doherty incident he said it was striking. At the lower end of the striking scale where I'm guessing McQuaid would be at the top of the scale and Drogba would be at the bottom but he said striking nonetheless. Striking is a month so he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month... I really don't understand the uproar here.
Quoteso he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month
I don't recall that, and that's why I was annoyed. Maybe you dreamt it screenexile!!
Never listen to a Screen man on the rip. :P :P
Quote from: the green man on June 02, 2008, 10:29:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 02, 2008, 10:26:47 AM
Nah it still doesn't work... it's them BT bastards with their feckin UK ip addresses!
I emailed RTE there, wanting to know demanding to know, why we are excluded from watching it.
Think you have to phone your ISP or something. Funny thing is it was working up to this week.
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 02, 2008, 11:09:44 AM
Quoteso he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month
I don't recall that, and that's why I was annoyed. Maybe you dreamt it screenexile!!
Well he said "it was on the lower end of striking"... I took that to mean he agreed Doherty struck which in turn would mean he acknowledged the punishment that would accompany that.
QuoteWell he said "it was on the lower end of striking"... I took that to mean he agreed Doherty struck which in turn would mean he acknowledged the punishment that would accompany that.
Well I don't speak Derriere, so I'll have to take your word for it. :P
Doherty deserved to walk, penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), Derry men going down like Italian primadonna soccer players great tactics Crozier - the Walter Smith of gaelic football lets play for the foul!!
Donegal backs lost their shape badly in the last ten minutes, but overall we won more kickouts, breaking balls and scored more points from play, Derry of course scored 9 points from frees to our 3!
I'm absolutely gutted, but not dispondant, as Cass can have his wedding and we will regroup for the qualifiers and produce more disciplined displays. Murphy great prospect for the future, McFadden had an outstanding game, disappointed with the McGees inability to cope with the Bradley's.
On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football.
That'll do me alright Billy!
As for this Bradley diving thing I'll have to have another look at it on Setanta but from what I saw he had the beating of his man every time and he was getting fouled more often that not but in fairness I was at the wrong end for the 2nd half so I didn't have a great view of our last few frees, when I get a decent look at it I'll say more about it.
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 11:44:14 AM
Doherty deserved to walk, penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), Derry men going down like Italian primadonna soccer players great tactics Crozier - the Walter Smith of gaelic football lets play for the foul!!
Donegal backs lost their shape badly in the last ten minutes, but overall we won more kickouts, breaking balls and scored more points from play, Derry of course scored 9 points from frees to our 3!
I'm absolutely gutted, but not dispondant, as Cass can have his wedding and we will regroup for the qualifiers and produce more disciplined displays. Murphy great prospect for the future, McFadden had an outstanding game, disappointed with the McGees inability to cope with the Bradley's.
On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football.
What an embittered post!! Can you not admit after Derry's second half performance they deserved to go through? Donegal just didn't have that killer instinct
::) ::) ::) ::) Is that you wee Martin??
As for Anti football I think you'll find Derry got 3 of the best points yesterday and played some excellent football in the 2nd half... as for quoting Derry's 9 points from frees to your 3 well it's hardly Derry's fault that McFadden and Murphy missed their share... bring back Tony Boyle he might have kicked them for ye!!!
Bitter! I'm sure Paddy won't be too worried about the likes of you.
Donegal done plenty of pulling and dragging so its not unreasonable that they'd give away plenty of frees. You boys also got plenty of soft frees, but I suppose you've blanked those out?
It always make me laugh when I hear this nonsense about scores from play versus those from frees. They count exactly the same you know.
Nothing bitter about my post, was giving my opinion on the match, and my views on some of the players/incidents.
If you don't like them - I really couldn't give a shite!
And I stand by what I said. ;)
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 12:17:14 PM
Nothing bitter about my post, was giving my opinion on the match, and my views on some of the players/incidents.
Yep, like I said .. bitter ;)
GDA, what's your view on Kavannagh strangling Diver over by the sideline?
How did Mc Fadden miss that 14/21 yd free ? He scores the hard ones and misses the easy ones ?
I thought the Mc Gees were awful yesterday -
Donegal seemed to lose the plot in the second half - In my opinion Donegal were more than a match but failed to convert in the second half - the miss by Mc Fadden was huge.
I wouldn't agree that Derry won't win anything this summer - they'll win Ulster at least.
Quote from: the green man on June 02, 2008, 12:21:37 PM
GDA, what's your view on Kavannagh strangling Diver over by the sideline?
Didn't see it. ;) :D
What a load of shite, Derry got some soft frees but none of them were as a result of diving, referees fault not ours. Take your blinkers off. As for "anti-football", how do you explain that? The game not being a great spectacle had everything to do with the referee and nothing to do with Derry.
Quote from: Rav67 on June 02, 2008, 02:46:16 PM
What a load of shite, Derry got some soft frees but none of them were as a result of diving, referees fault not ours. Take your blinkers off. As for "anti-football", how do you explain that? The game not being a great spectacle had everything to do with the referee and nothing to do with Derry.
Care to comment on the Doherty incident? Donegal were winning up until then and had the ref or his linesman seen the incident properly (not accusing Kavanagh of diving as was stated earlier) then the match would have had a different outcome.
I didn't say the Derry players dived, I was commenting on their "going down" easy, their inability to stay upright even after the softest challenge, their tactics seemed to be to hump the ball up and play for the free (IMO), and the referee duly obliged.
Quote from: hardstation on June 02, 2008, 02:51:47 PM
GDA - Keep that anti-football nonsense for the Celtic and Rangers threads.
Was using it as a description of what I felt was Derrys tactic of playing for the foul - and before everyone jumps on me, this is my opinion and how I viewed the game yesterday - it's not to be taken as gospel! ;) :)
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 02:53:31 PM
Care to comment on the Doherty incident? Donegal were winning up until then and had the ref or his linesman seen the incident properly (not accusing Kavanagh of diving as was stated earlier) then the match would have had a different outcome.
I didn't say the Derry players dived, I was commenting on their "going down" easy, their inability to stay upright even after the softest challenge, their tactics seemed to be to hump the ball up and play for the free (IMO), and the referee duly obliged.
Doherty struck and should have got a red card. that the ref and linesman missed it has nothing to do with derry. Forwards going down easy is widespread throughout the game and is no more prevalent in derry than anywhere else. Again, that the ref misinterpreted such incidents is nothing to do with Derry.
In any case I though the game was by and large played in good spirit and there was certainly relatively few instances of anything that would be deemed cynical.
i.e. you are making mountains from molehills.
We are now faced with a very interesting situation. Doherty certainly raised his fist and swung at his man making minimal contact (note the fatal ever so slight hesitation between the contaact - hplding of face - and falling to ground) - the ref consulted his linesman and appeared to decide it was little more then handbags( one of his view common sense decisions) and play acting and we now have pundits calling for action against doherty for striking.
Switch to the MeathWexford game where there was the most disgraceful assult by Reilly with his elbow which nearly decapitated his opponent. It was seen, a free awarded and reilly given a yellow . All pundits agree that it should have been a straight red but no calls for action against Reilly. Strange
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 02:53:31 PM
You hadn't commented on the Doherty incident in the previous post so I didn't address it, but yes he should have walked. As for men going down like Italian soccer players, I can't recall one example of this in the game bar, um, Rory Kavanagh.
The referee gave soft frees when forwards ran at defenders so Derry did this, that's definitely not cheating. The Derry defenders also adjusted to the referee in the second half- look at Murphy's point when he waltzed past about 3 defenders who were obviously shit-scared to touch him for fear of giving away a free 30 yards in front of the posts. If Pat McEneaney was in charge of that game Murphy wouldn't have been let score that point. Maybe the likes of McGee should have a bit of sense to react to picky referees.
I think that's harsh zoyler... I looked at the Reilly incident and the man was falling and he stuck his shoulder out. If he had done it intentionally he would have thrown the elbow out and then we would be doing more serious talking. Doherty struck... it's not a grey area you strike you go and for the record I don't think Kavanagh took a dive and the point is irrelevant anyway.
The ref by all accounts didn't see it but apparently he can look at the video evidence and decide if the incident should be 'revisited' by the CCC. We will just have to wait and see.
Doc will get a month. Rightly or wrongly he will def get a month. It was not dealt with by the ref and the TV caught it perfectly and broacasted it for the nation to see and all the pundits agreed that it was striking so the GAA can not be seen to ignore it. Month is a cert ;)
Quote from: zoyler on June 02, 2008, 03:12:54 PM
the ref consulted his linesman and appeared to decide it was little more then handbags( one of his view common sense decisions) and play acting and we now have pundits calling for action against doherty for striking.
I love that some people appear to know what the ref and his linesman were discussing. As I recall there were a number of "handbag" incidents in that short space of time that they could have been discussing, I would say that neither saw the strike because I have a feeling that that particular ref would have had no problem in sending him off.
Anyway, there was a very competent assessor watching him ;)
What do these assessors actually do??
We seem to get the same clowns every year. Didn't Duffy have a poor game last year in Tyrone v Fermanagh. Please God, don't let Frank Flynn from Leitrim back near a Championship match. If the assessors are doing their job, he won't be.
Doc's fate depends on what the linesman said to the ref. If the refs report said the linesman didn't see the incident then Doc's banjaxed. If the linesman said that he saw the incident and that he didn't think (incorrectly) that there was much in it then it the matter will be deemed to have been delat with and he'll get away with it.
Quote from: fer fox ache on June 02, 2008, 05:57:03 PM
Doc's fate depends on what the linesman said to the ref. If the refs report said the linesman didn't see the incident then Doc's banjaxed. If the linesman said that he saw the incident and that he didn't think (incorrectly) that there was much in it then it the matter will be deemed to have been delat with and he'll get away with it.
Doesn't always hold fer fox ache. When the tyrone chb (gavin devlin I think) stood on the Laois man Parkinson in 2003, Ref gave him a yellow card, but the CDC came back after a widespread media uproar and gave him 3 months.
Doherty deserved to walk, i agree
penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, again i agree
Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. personal comments like this not acceptable - class told in the 2nd half
Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), he was bad for both teams
On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football. sounds like sour grapes - have a pint to ease your sorrows ;D
Quote from: glenullinabu on June 02, 2008, 08:52:39 PM
Doherty deserved to walk, i agree
penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, again i agree
Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. personal comments like this not acceptable - class told in the 2nd half
Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), he was bad for both teams
On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football. sounds like sour grapes - have a pint to ease your sorrows ;D
Tell this computer illiterate amadan how to do that. But explain it like I'm a 6 year old please?
Fcuk you green man :P
Anyway, good article in sunday tribune
http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=Tribune%2FSport%2FGAA&id=88812&SUBCAT=Tribune%2FSport
Wee Mc Hugh and the scud talkin about the early 90s et al
Was talkin to a mate an he told me that wee mc hugh was absolutely vitriolic at half time on the championship yesterday. Anybody got the text or footage of same? I checked the beeb website, but apart from some rehearsed speil from the man in question, I cant find anything?
Quote from: jodyb on June 02, 2008, 09:19:30 PM
http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=Tribune%2FSport%2FGAA&id=88812&SUBCAT=Tribune%2FSport
Class article - thanks for that jodyb !
by jaesus there's some serious begrudgers on here! Half of them aren't even from Donegal!
Derry had a terrible first half. Donegal had done their homeowork and found a way of minimising the effect of the Derry midfield by targeting their own half forwards on kickouts. It kept Donegal with at least 50% possesion and with quality ball going into McFadden he was always going to score a few. McFadden is one of those "marquee" forwards people talk about and he was on form against an out of form McCloy. The penalty decision was 50/50 at best. I thought Derry had an equal penalty plea in the second half with Gilligan fouled in the box but it wasnt given. At the time I though Kavanagh made a meal of the Doherty thing, but having seen it again on TV Doc was lucky....though so was Kavanagh, he had just fouled Doherty for a shirt pull which would have been his second yellow so to the letter of the law they should both have walked. So I dont think there's much point in complaining about Doc not getting a red.
Derry made the necessary changes of personel and tactics at half time to secure the win. Surprisingly Crozier won the tactical battle with McIvor. In the second half instead of shooting on sight Derry tried to work the ball into a better scoring position than they did in the first half. This is the only reason Derry won more frees....Donegal could not get the ball back and resorted to fouling. The Derry defence was reshuffled and were more disciplined than their counterparts conceding fewer frees in the second half and the introduction of Conway for an ineffective Paul Murphy (worst game I've seen from him which is a worry). We won more midfield possession and Donegal just could not cope with midfield or Paddy Bradley which left McFadden starved of quality ball...and hence the Derry victory.
Derry have a lot to improve on if they are to win Ulster...but at this stage it's too early to be thinking about anything other than Fermanagh. Another manager who knows the Derry players and a team with no shortage of talent...though their forwards need improving.
As for you Monaghan/Donegal begrudgers...dry your eyes, you still have the qualifiers to look forward to. ;) ;D
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 02, 2008, 11:55:18 PM
by jaesus there's some serious begrudgers on here! Half of them aren't even from Donegal!
Derry had a terrible first half. Donegal had done their homeowork and found a way of minimising the effect of the Derry midfield by targeting their own half forwards on kickouts. It kept Donegal with at least 50% possesion and with quality ball going into McFadden he was always going to score a few. McFadden is one of those "marquee" forwards people talk about and he was on form against an out of form McCloy. The penalty decision was 50/50 at best. I thought Derry had an equal penalty plea in the second half with Gilligan fouled in the box but it wasnt given. At the time I though Kavanagh made a meal of the Doherty thing, but having seen it again on TV Doc was lucky....though so was Kavanagh, he had just fouled Doherty for a shirt pull which would have been his second yellow so to the letter of the law they should both have walked. So I dont think there's much point in complaining about Doc not getting a red.
Derry made the necessary changes of personel and tactics at half time to secure the win. Surprisingly Crozier won the tactical battle with McIvor. In the second half instead of shooting on sight Derry tried to work the ball into a better scoring position than they did in the first half. This is the only reason Derry won more frees....Donegal could not get the ball back and resorted to fouling. The Derry defence was reshuffled and were more disciplined than their counterparts conceding fewer frees in the second half and the introduction of Conway for an ineffective Paul Murphy (worst game I've seen from him which is a worry). We won more midfield possession and Donegal just could not cope with midfield or Paddy Bradley which left McFadden starved of quality ball...and hence the Derry victory.
Derry have a lot to improve on if they are to win Ulster...but at this stage it's too early to be thinking about anything other than Fermanagh. Another manager who knows the Derry players and a team with no shortage of talent...though their forwards need improving.
As for you Monaghan/Donegal begrudgers...dry your eyes, you still have the qualifiers to look forward to. ;) ;D
It took donegal 35 minutes to figure out midfield. Derry took them to the cleaners in the first half in that department. How else do you be put in a position to hit double figure wides in the first half if you arent getting a foothold in midfield?
???
Quote from: Will Hunting on June 02, 2008, 05:47:23 PM
What do these assessors actually do??
We seem to get the same clowns every year. Didn't Duffy have a poor game last year in Tyrone v Fermanagh. Please God, don't let Frank Flynn from Leitrim back near a Championship match. If the assessors are doing their job, he won't be.
The assessors have a standard "marking sheet" that they work to and note down performance in all aspects of the game. They think about it from the perspective of what the ref can actually be expected to see, and do not make their analysis with the benefit of replays and tv coverage as the ref doesn't have that either.
I think rather than it being a question of the assessors doing their job, it is more a matter of whether those who appoint referees have taken the views of the assessor into account. It isn't the ref assessors who appoint the refs.
Quote from: jodyb on June 02, 2008, 09:08:43 PM
Tell this computer illiterate amadan how to do that. But explain it like I'm a 6 year old please?
highlight your text and select the <-M <- moving box in th toolbar
its easy ;D
Interesting article in the Irish News today by Denise Martin showing the pluses and minuses in Donegal and Derry game -
Quote from: jodyb on June 02, 2008, 09:19:30 PM
Excellent article as always from Shannon. And good memories! ;D
Derry will be happy enough with that win, esp in the 'Boffey.
Thought Donegal lorded the midfield in the 1st half.
Alot of Derrys big name players didnt show in the first 35 mins and a fortunate enough Eoin Bradley goal kept the scores close enough.
Actually missed the Doc / Kavanagh incident. But I didnt miss Kavanagh involved in nearly all other off the ball altercations, which was to Donegals detriment as himself and Toye had a super first half, stick to the football lad
Paddy Bradley is some pup, as is big Diver. Enjoyed big Joe tapping Rory Kavanagh on the shoulder after their sideline cafuffle to say no hard feelings for some other Donegal brut te put the should in on Big Joe...settle sir
PQ
Quote from: EC Unique on June 02, 2008, 04:48:12 PM
Doc will get a month. Rightly or wrongly he will def get a month. It was not dealt with by the ref and the TV caught it perfectly and broacasted it for the nation to see and all the pundits agreed that it was striking so the GAA can not be seen to ignore it. Month is a cert ;)
Told you so :D :D
Quote from: EC Unique on June 05, 2008, 04:59:30 PM
You're obviously a genious
Quote from: unforgiven on June 05, 2008, 05:15:15 PM
Take out the 'o' and you will be one too
Quote from: whiskeysteve on June 05, 2008, 11:07:19 PM
Quote from: unforgiven on June 05, 2008, 05:15:15 PM
Take out the 'o' and you will be one too
:D :D :D
From a Donegal perspective I thought that McFadden, Gallagher and Rory Kavanagh did pretty well. However apart from 2 of the aforementioned, we just couldn't compete in the air at midfield. We were really struggling to win possession. Up front we can only rely on Murphy and McFadden for scores, and both are either too young/inconsistent to be relied on all the time. Defense was reasonably good, although I thought we should've tried dropping someone in front of Paddy Bradley.
We've got the qualifiers, but it's hard to get extra excited, as we're probably not going to suddenly discover a few men of 6'2"+ to play around midfield, and another lethal forward. Still if we get a kind draw we can make the quarter-finals, and then who knows...
I thought Derry were very impressive. They've serious possession winning power in the middle of the park. If you want to win an All-Ireland, you've got to be good between numbers 5 and 12. Derry have the ingredients to be very competitive here against anyone. I wouldn't worry about kicking 11 wides in the first half ... it's good to be in the position to kick those wides in the first place. I thought Paddy Bradley was very good, out in front _every_ time, and was cute enough to win his frees. Eoin Bradley has serious potential, and if he fulfills his potential Derry will go a very long way this year.
Another thing to note, Derry had a very big support at the game in Ballybofey. They were really vocal too. That's good to see, as it's important for the game that a little bit of hype gets into a county with the 4th biggest city on the island, where the GAA has a very small footprint.