Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Shrewdness on May 13, 2008, 12:32:23 PM

Title: 2008 CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL.....MANCHESTER UNITED v CHELSEA
Post by: Shrewdness on May 13, 2008, 12:32:23 PM
Instead of flicking between the United and Chelsea threads to view posts on this, i thought it made more sense to have one thread for all fans.

Fergie has stated that he faces a selection headache as he has a full squad of 26 FIT Players and reckons picking the subs will be harder than picking the team.

So, who do we think he should pick.

As for Chelsea, who is Grant likely to pick. Let's presume that Terry and Drogba will both be fit.
Title: Re: 2008 CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL.....MANCHESTER UNITED v CHELSEA
Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 13, 2008, 12:37:52 PM
I dont care who he picks to be honest...This has to be the worst final possible for neutrals....With both teams you either love them or hate them...I mean i don't want UTD to do the double and don't want Chelsea to win the European cup.....

How do you chose?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 13, 2008, 12:46:04 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 13, 2008, 12:32:23 PM
Instead of flicking between the United and Chelsea threads to view posts on this, i thought it made more sense to have one thread for all fans.

Fergie has stated that he faces a selection headache as he has a full squad of 26 FIT Players and reckons picking the subs will be harder than picking the team.

So, who do we think he should pick.

As for Chelsea, who is Grant likely to pick. Let's presume that Terry and Drogba will both be fit.

with utd have a full pack to pick from we can assume there will be no O'Shea in the squad..therefore no irish involvement
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on May 13, 2008, 01:19:50 PM
 I would love utd to Play the following team:
         Vds
Brown      Ferd      Vidic      Evra
                 Hargreaves          Scholes       Anderson

Ronaldo             Rooney              Tevez   

He seems to have gone off Anderson lately. I think he is a serious player and would be one of my first names down.   

I think Fergie will pick the following:
            Vds
Brown      Ferd      Vidic      Evra
Ronaldo        Fletcher              Scholes       Carrick      Park
            Rooney

I have a feeling he will pick Fletcher for this game. He is never afraid to throw him in for big games, plus he had a stormer earlier on in league at OT.   Don't think he will go with both rooney and tevez in starting 11, as who can you leave on bench to make impact if needed. Sicknote Saha??

Think Chelsea if all available will be:
            Cech
Essien      Terry         Carvalho      Cole
            Makelele
      Lampard         Ballack
   Cole                     Malouda
            Diver(sorry drogba)

Post by: Shrewdness on May 14, 2008, 11:10:43 AM
If United are going to win this, Ronaldo's form against Ashley Cole is going to have to improve big time.

In my opinion, Cole has always held the upper hand on Ronaldo, even going back to his Arsenal days.

We need Ronaldo at his brilliant best, worrying Chelsea, instead of a petulant, sulking performance where he's looking to the skies every 5 minutes.

From a sheer attacking point of view, the team i would pick is ......

Van der Sar

Brown                           Ferdinand                                   Vidic                             Evra

Ronaldo                       Carrick                                       Scholes                           Giggs

Tevez                                                  Rooney

However, that could leave us weak defensively on the flanks, as neither Ronaldo or Giggs is the greatest in the world at tracking back.

That's why i feel Fergie will again opt for Park Ji Sung on one wing.

If it does come to a choice between either Fletcher or Hargreaves playing, i'd opt for Hargreaves.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 04:24:41 PM
Don't hink Fletcher/Hargreaves have a chance of playing, and I'd be keen for a workhorse like Park to keep Cole busy all night. They offer little from right back so Ronaldo will play there, for the most part. Park will try to keep Cashley out of the game and think he could, given how much success Kuyt had on him in the semi-final.
Tevez cannot be left out, and all season Carrick has really developed at central midfield. Although I'm a big fan od Hargreaves Carrick is ten times a better passer of the ball going forward. Can't see it being anything other than this. Hargreaves and Giggs certs for the bench, probably Nani, Anderson and O'Shea also.

Van der Sar
Brown     Ferdinand       Vidic       Evra
Park          Scholes     Carrick    Ronaldo
             Tevez                    Rooney
Post by: lurganblue on May 14, 2008, 04:50:52 PM
i would agree withat team for united EG and if so i would have a concern, if i was a united fan, that makelele, lampard and ballack could control that midfield for long periods of the game

Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 05:08:05 PM
On paper you'd think that, but Park will put them under as much pressure as possible and Tevez will sit in his usual deep position to harry Makelele at every opportunity. Not going to be a typical 4-4-2 though. Both of them have the sheer energy to deal with that, I hope.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 15, 2008, 11:53:49 AM
After the stabbing of a Zenit fan last night in Manchester, i hope the yobs and police in Moscow won't get their wires crossed, and confuse United fans with Rangers fans, with the British link etc.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2008, 12:01:06 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 15, 2008, 11:53:49 AM
After the stabbing of a Zenit fan last night in Manchester, i hope the yobs and police in Moscow won't get their wires crossed, and confuse United fans with Rangers fans, with the British link etc.

Im sure if they behave themselves thay should be ok......
Post by: stew on May 15, 2008, 04:17:52 PM
Giggs should start before Park, Park shouldnt even be in the squad.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 15, 2008, 04:51:31 PM
The Home Office have issued a safety warning to Manchester United Fans travelling to Moscow:

Due to the poor areas which are prevalent in the city, they must guard against all of the following.......

Gun Crime. Stabbings. Assault. Robbery. Gang Violence. Pickpockets. Theft. Burglary. Rape.

Fans are therefore advised to take a properly licensed taxi to Manchester Airport to avoid these problems, and ensure a safe start to their journey to Moscow.

Couldn't help it :-)
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:55:08 PM
I hope both teams lose.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 17, 2008, 12:48:48 PM
Where the hell are all the United fans on this site ???

Just 4 days to go to one of the 3 biggest matches in our club's history so far, and i have to rescue this thread from halfway down Page 3 :o

On the other United thread, i see we're still boasting about our League win and slagging off Liverpool fans. We've got the summer long for that.

Come on lads and lassies, let's get talking about Moscow.

Are there any Chelsea fans out there prepared to offer a view.
Post by: new devil on May 17, 2008, 04:15:39 PM
Quote from: stew on May 15, 2008, 04:17:52 PM
Giggs should start before Park, Park shouldnt even be in the squad.

You obviously didn't watch the semifinal against Barca
Post by: full back on May 17, 2008, 04:33:17 PM
I honestly wouldnt have Giggs or Park on, but we can be sure Giggs will make an appearance if not starting.

Ronaldo has to start performing against the big teams. I think he can rightfully claim to be the best in the world if he has a stormer in final. But if he flops again against a big team it will prove he hasnt the stomach for a battle.

Hope Fergie doesnt go with this safety first bullsh1t again
Post by: new devil on May 17, 2008, 05:29:48 PM
I agree fullback i would start with nani before either off them two...but we no thats not going to happen

My team                                        VDS

HARGREAVES                  RIO                  VIDIC                     EVRA

RONALDO             SCHOLES          ANDERSON           NANI

ROONEY            TEVEZ

FERGIES TEAM

VDS

BROWN                       RIO                    VIDIC                    EVRA

CARRICK           SCHOLES                PARK                   GIGGS

RONALDO

ROONEY
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 17, 2008, 05:39:56 PM
Shrewdness, the match seems like ages away for me. I've 2 huge exams beforehand. :-\
Post by: gawa316 on May 17, 2008, 09:01:07 PM
Quote from: full back on May 17, 2008, 04:33:17 PM
I honestly wouldnt have Giggs or Park on, but we can be sure Giggs will make an appearance if not starting.

Ronaldo has to start performing against the big teams. I think he can rightfully claim to be the best in the world if he has a stormer in final. But if he flops again against a big team it will prove he hasnt the stomach for a battle.

So if he plays well he's the best in the world and if he doesn't he's not.... ???
Post by: full back on May 17, 2008, 09:17:56 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on May 17, 2008, 09:01:07 PM

So if he plays well he's the best in the world and if he doesn't he's not.... ???

I have never claimed he was the best in the world....he is a superb player, but for me he still has to prove himself against the top teams in order the be called the best player in the world. Too often he has went missing when the big games come around
Post by: gawa316 on May 17, 2008, 09:28:25 PM
Quote from: full back on May 17, 2008, 09:17:56 PM
I think he can rightfully claim to be the best in the world if he has a stormer in final. But if he flops again against a big team it will prove he hasnt the stomach for a battle.

I have never claimed he was the best in the world

So one performance will make him the best in the world...dead on :o :o
Post by: full back on May 17, 2008, 09:31:32 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on May 17, 2008, 09:28:25 PM
Quote from: full back on May 17, 2008, 09:17:56 PM
I think he can rightfully claim to be the best in the world if he has a stormer in final. But if he flops again against a big team it will prove he hasnt the stomach for a battle.

I have never claimed he was the best in the world

So one performance will make him the best in the world...dead on :o :o

FFS, when he does it on the big stage he will prove he has what it takes ::)
Post by: gawa316 on May 17, 2008, 09:45:42 PM
Quote from: full back on May 17, 2008, 09:31:32 PM
FFS, when he does it on the big stage he will prove he has what it takes ::)
[/quote

Yeah but one game isn't enough. He needs to do it on a consistant big game basis which he has failed to do. Just because he potentially plays well in a final doesn't mean shit. For f**k sake Traore had a blinded in '05 ???
Post by: Shrewdness on May 18, 2008, 02:53:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 17, 2008, 05:39:56 PM
Shrewdness, the match seems like ages away for me. I've 2 huge exams beforehand. :-\

Good luck this week Farrandeelin, hope you get the required result.......oh, and i hope your exams go well too ;D
Post by: full back on May 19, 2008, 06:12:36 PM
I see Rooney in the paper slagging off Drogba.
Hope the diving cnut doesnt do what he did to rafa
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2008, 06:30:19 PM
Quote from: full back on May 19, 2008, 06:12:36 PM

How ironic a United fan calling another teams player a diving ****  :D
Post by: full back on May 19, 2008, 06:32:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2008, 06:30:19 PM

No-one in the world compares to Drogba when it comes to diving, except maybe stevie g  ;)
Post by: turf123 on May 19, 2008, 06:55:13 PM

VDS

BROWN                    FERDINAND                          VIDIC                              EVRA

PARK                       CARRICK                              SCHOLES                           NANI

RONALDO

ROONEY

i think this is team fergie will play. anderson-although i rate him highly is a bit too inexperienced for a central role. carrick is solid enough, though i think hargreaves can do a better job. nani can cause problems on the wing and park is a workhorse. giggs, tevez and anderson should make an apperance and maybe hargreaves depending on how things go.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 19, 2008, 07:00:23 PM
Quote from: turf123 on May 19, 2008, 06:55:13 PM

VDS

BROWN                    FERDINAND                          VIDIC                              EVRA

PARK                       CARRICK                              SCHOLES                           NANI

RONALDO

ROONEY

i think this is team fergie will play. anderson-although i rate him highly is a bit too inexperienced for a central role. carrick is solid enough, though i think hargreaves can do a better job. nani can cause problems on the wing and park is a workhorse. giggs, tevez and anderson should make an apperance and maybe hargreaves depending on how things go.

Looks about right, but I can see him starting Tevez instead of Nani. Going to be someone very unfortunate from the squad not to even make the bench. O'Shea/Fletcher/Hargreaves/Saha, maybe even two of them.
Post by: new devil on May 19, 2008, 07:34:18 PM

More anti united shit talk LL....i think your more anti united than a liverpool fan
Post by: superblues on May 19, 2008, 08:14:16 PM
did anyone see the state off the pitch it will suit chelsea more than united its a joke
Post by: Square Ball on May 19, 2008, 08:21:07 PM
Quote from: new devil on May 19, 2008, 07:34:18 PM

More anti united shit talk LL....i think your more anti united than a liverpool fan

he is a Liverpool fan
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2008, 09:08:59 PM
Quote from: superblues on May 19, 2008, 08:14:16 PM
did anyone see the state off the pitch it will suit chelsea more than united its a joke

Its was layed by a company from Sligo...... explains it all really
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2008, 09:11:26 PM
Someone who can take a joke and a bit of friendly slagging

Quote from: full back on May 19, 2008, 06:32:55 PM

No-one in the world compares to Drogba when it comes to diving, except maybe stevie g  ;)

And someone who can't  ::)
Quote from: new devil on May 19, 2008, 07:34:18 PM

Post by: Yes I Would on May 19, 2008, 09:12:11 PM
Come on lads dont start blaming the pitch yet. At least wit till yous are beat on it!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 09:49:26 PM
Have you seen who the ref is?
Post by: Minder on May 19, 2008, 10:02:31 PM
in fairness to vidic and his criticism of drogbas diving,he is well qualified to comment as he comes up against rooney and ronaldo every day at training
Post by: new devil on May 19, 2008, 10:17:43 PM
Come on lads let's get a few songs going to cheer on the red devils

He plays on the left.... He plays on
the rrrrrrrright...... That boy ronaldo makes England look shite

Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 10:32:40 PM
He comes from the Ivory Coast Kalou, Kalou
He doesn't coke like Adrian Mutu, Kalou
In front of the Kop, from down the left
He put the ball on Riise's head
And that's why we love Soloman Kalou!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pp_-TwZ_yvQ&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pp_-TwZ_yvQ&feature=related)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 10:52:57 PM
Not long now....

Team selection. My main worry here is  that I get a 2000 Cup final feeling. We went into that game with doubts oveer several players Hasselbaink, and Babayaro I think. In addition Terry went down ill on the mornng of the game.
The whole game Chelsea looked ragged, and unfit.

My man concern is that Drogba, JT and Carvalho are 100% fit. The noise from the camp is that they are so fingers crossed.

I think the team fairly much picks itself.

Cech, Ashley Cole, JT, Carvalho...that's the easy bit.

Right back is almost certain to be Essien. However I'd be worried about Ferguson starting Ronaldo here for the first 20 minutes to test his defensive capabilities. Id be tempted to play Fererria, and bring Essien on on the hour mark for fresh legs.

Maka holding the midfield. Ballack and Lamps are gimmes.

Drogba up front.

Out wide I'd have the inconsistant Joe Cole, and it's 50/50 between Kalou and Malouda. Kalou for me, but I have a feeling that Malouda could be peaking at the right time.

Avram's 11: Cech, Cole, Terry, Percy, Essien, Maka, Ballack, Super Frank, Joe, Drogba, Malouda.
NT's 11: Cech, Cole, Terry, Percy, Ferreria, Maka, Ballack, Super Frank, Joe, Drogba, Kalou.

What's people's plans for the match. BBQ for me at 4pm, and to the pub at 6ish.....

Come on the Blues!
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 19, 2008, 11:06:26 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 10:52:57 PM
My main worry here is  that I get a 2000 Cup final feeling. We went into that game with doubts oveer several players Hasselbaink, and Babayaro I think. In addition Terry went down ill on the mornng of the game.

But you still won that bloody game!!  David James gifted you the Cup that day.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 11:08:01 PM
Sorry DB I meant 2002....the Arsenal one in Cardiff!

Where you for on Weds?
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 19, 2008, 11:12:59 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 11:08:01 PM
Sorry DB I meant 2002....the Arsenal one in Cardiff!

Where you for on Weds?

Thought 2000 was a bit early for Terry!

Probably the usual venue for me, same as yourself stick to what we know best!! Will be down early to wind up the Mancs but have to be honest part of me doesn't want your lot to win as we are still one EC ahead of you and the gooners!  Looking forward to a good game and have a wee sneaky feeling Ballcak will be the man for you as he has been great past few weeks and with the Euros coming up he will want to put down a marker.
Hope you enjoy the game (you probably won't) and will def see you for a pint soon enough.
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 01:08:32 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2008, 10:52:57 PM
Not long now....

Team selection. My main worry here is  that I get a 2000 Cup final feeling. We went into that game with doubts oveer several players Hasselbaink, and Babayaro I think. In addition Terry went down ill on the mornng of the game.

My man concern is that Drogba, JT and Carvalho are 100% fit. The noise from the camp is that they are so fingers crossed.

I think the team fairly much picks itself.

Cech, Ashley Cole, JT, Carvalho...that's the easy bit.

Right back is almost certain to be Essien. However I'd be worried about Ferguson starting Ronaldo here for the first 20 minutes to test his defensive capabilities. Id be tempted to play Fererria, and bring Essien on on the hour mark for fresh legs.

Maka holding the midfield. Ballack and Lamps are gimmes.

Drogba up front.

Out wide I'd have the inconsistant Joe Cole, and it's 50/50 between Kalou and Malouda. Kalou for me, but I have a feeling that Malouda could be peaking at the right time.

Avram's 11: Cech, Cole, Terry, Percy, Essien, Maka, Ballack, Super Frank, Joe, Drogba, Malouda.
NT's 11: Cech, Cole, Terry, Percy, Ferreria, Maka, Ballack, Super Frank, Joe, Drogba, Kalou.

What's people's plans for the match. BBQ for me at 4pm, and to the pub at 6ish.....

Come on the Blues!

Iam in New York NT...Ive the day booked off going to head to Nevada smiths...great soccer bar down town

cant wait to the game...completely 50/50 who ever has that bit of luck on the day will win it...just hope its us  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2008, 09:58:04 AM
Ronaldo has always been outstanding for Portugal in big tournaments also. I think Fergie will start him on the left to get him into the game early. Cashley has done well on him in the past so just play him the other side and let Park annoy the hole off Cashley.

Not happy with reports of the pitch. It will definitely favour Chelski. By the way, for our resident truth twister the company laying the pitch are not a Sligo company. Their CEO is from Sligo. Wouldn't be surprised if he couldn't see the difference so don't know why I bothered there.

Chelski will play for penalties like the FA Cup final last year and if it goes to pens they will probably win. Hopefully United can do it. 2-1 in extra time most likely, winner by Vidic.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 20, 2008, 10:25:00 AM
I'll be in church tomorrow at a concert which my 7 yr old is taking part in so, gratefully, I won't have to sit through it love.

x32 on the dvd recorder and then Dunphy slating Ronaldo at half and full time.

I reckon I'll do the important bits in 20 mins. 1 min of action and 19 of ranting.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 20, 2008, 10:58:07 AM
On Betfair, both Man U and the Chelski are 10/1 to win on penalties, could be worth backing both.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 20, 2008, 11:09:37 AM
Expect lots of empty seats tomorrow night. Word is that both clubs have plenty of unsold tickets on their hands, particularly United. A lot of fans put off by overall cost of the trip.

Would be very concerned if Nani plays.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 20, 2008, 11:48:21 AM
QuoteWould be very concerned if Nani plays.

Why?
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2008, 11:53:23 AM
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/home/features/d/content/images/2008/05/20/moscow_turf_ap2_626x260.jpg)
Post by: maxpower on May 20, 2008, 12:22:19 PM
I agree with AFS about Ronaldo's form in big games, alot of this myth i believe is based on his performance against Milan last year, but he is one of the few players who these big teams double up on in any position of the field.  That night gattuso was amazing and wasn't going to give a niave Ronaldo a sniff of it.  This yea against Barca i thought he performed well in a team performance.

On the match itself i would love to see fergie go 4-4-2 with rooney and tevez up front to really attack Chelsea, but i'm sure there will be 5 in midfield.  I can't really blame fergie as United do tend to get overrun at times by chelsea's midfield.

Tevez could be sprung from the bench and could prove decisive (i hope)

Possible Team

Van Der Sar
Brown       Vidic       Rio         Evra
                    Hargreaves
           Carrick       Scholes
Park                                Ronaldo
                      Rooney
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2008, 12:26:36 PM
Nail on the head maxpower. Think thats what the team will be.
Post by: Uladh on May 20, 2008, 12:37:18 PM

Agreed - thats the team fergie will go with.

i think nani may have started instead of hargreaves (unbelievable i know) if he hadn't proved himself a liability against west ham.

one adjustment to the set up is that hargreaves will be the most offensive of the three central midifelders.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 20, 2008, 12:59:21 PM
I get the feeling that Chelsea are in better shape for this - if Terry, Lampard and Drogba are fit.  I think their midfield is stronger, and the ability to snuff out the threats of Ronaldo and Scholes has been demonstrated recently.  I think Chelsea will fear Rooney most (the strength, the guile and ability to score from outside the box) - they'll take speedsters all day.  Funnily enough, if it had been Nani in 'the hole' instead of Hargreaves (if what Uladh reckons is true), there might be more threat - I can see Rooney coming out to that position if things aren't working, popping Tevez in on the box, and dropping Park.  I can't see Ronaldo appearing on the left all night - Ferguson may see his constant threat stopping (through caution) Essien's drives forward, which may blunt Chelsea's effectiveness on the right.

The more I think about it, it's looking scoreless.  I'd never call a penalty shootout in advance - will depend on the psychological condition of the players, which will depend on how the match goes.

If I had a punt, it would be Chelsea 1 Man U 0, Anelka tapping in after a Ferdinand mistake from a set piece.
Post by: Square Ball on May 20, 2008, 06:37:16 PM
Ashley Cole has been injured in a tackle with Claud Mackellee(sp) the extent of the injury has not yet known but he has been taken off the pich.
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 20, 2008, 07:59:28 PM
Ideal scenario:
A dreary deadlock broken only by a bizarre last minute Ronaldo own goal, followed by him drawing a magnum revolver from his shorts, pistol whipping Gary Neville a couple of times on the bench, before feeding Boozy Nose Ferguson a lead repast, shouting 'you fcuked up communism, you stupid, stupid Russians' and then turning the gun on himself. Maybe to finish it off, have the lovely Amy Winehouse come on in bikini and sing 'YNWA'.
Probably won't happen though.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 20, 2008, 10:04:28 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 20, 2008, 06:37:16 PM
Ashley Cole has been injured in a tackle with Claud Mackellee(sp) the extent of the injury has not yet known but he has been taken off the pich.

tackle on sky sports news there - jesus it would get a red card any saturday !
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 10:29:10 PM
What about fat frank....is he going to inter?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 20, 2008, 10:32:11 PM
Quote from: new devil on May 20, 2008, 10:29:10 PM
What about fat frank....is he going to inter?

Hypocritical at its best..You cant say anything about donkey Rio without new devil throwing his toys out of the pram but yet he feels its ok to slag a excellent Pro and great footballer just because he isn't a Man U player
Strange that  ???
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 10:39:54 PM
Thats just a pet name for him LL  :D...i didn't say anything about his footballing ability...i actually agree with you hes a great footballer

You going to cheer us on tomorrow night? ;)

Post by: Bensars on May 20, 2008, 10:41:28 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 20, 2008, 10:58:07 AM
On Betfair, both Man U and the Chelski are 10/1 to win on penalties, could be worth backing both.

That could be great bet.  Think i will have a few quid on it
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 10:45:22 PM
Ive got a 100 on ronaldo to score first at 6-1...penalty in 35th minute  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 20, 2008, 10:48:21 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2008, 09:58:04 AM
Ronaldo has always been outstanding for Portugal in big tournaments also. I think Fergie will start him on the left to get him into the game early. Cashley has done well on him in the past so just play him the other side and let Park annoy the hole off Cashley.

Not happy with reports of the pitch. It will definitely favour Chelski. By the way, for our resident truth twister the company laying the pitch are not a Sligo company. Their CEO is from Sligo. Wouldn't be surprised if he couldn't see the difference so don't know why I bothered there.

Chelski will play for penalties like the FA Cup final last year and if it goes to pens they will probably win. Hopefully United can do it. 2-1 in extra time most likely, winner by Vidic.

Your a laugh a minute you are  :D...And thanks for the new title you gave me  :)
The companies CEO as you rightly pointed out is indeed from Sligo...But you also failed to mention one of their main offices is in Sligo along with other offices in England and Holland and a number of the fellas who layed the pitch were from Sligo as per the newspaper the other day..
But sure thanks for the hissy fit you threw it gave me a good laugh

Anywhoo fellas I'm off down Laois for a few days to start a job i got a contract for so will be staying with me Ma and Da for a few days and alas the internet hasn't found them yet
Best of luck to Chelsea tomorrow night i hope they win obviously  if they don't sure it's only a game  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 20, 2008, 10:49:35 PM
I've 20 quid on chelsea so united will probably win. 

If they do I won't mind too much.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 20, 2008, 11:19:55 PM
Ronaldo (on ITV) says Manchester is his house and only God knows the future. 

Doesnt sound like he's moving.

Comes across as a likeable fella.
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 11:45:17 PM
Watched a DVD of his a few weeks ago pints and he does come across as a very down to earth lad

He will be at united for a few years yet i hope
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 20, 2008, 11:52:58 PM
Quote from: new devil on May 20, 2008, 11:45:17 PM
Watched a DVD of his a few weeks ago pints and he does come across as a very down to earth lad

He will be at united for a few years yet i hope

Well it was a DVD about him..by him
They were hardly gonna protray him as a bollix now were they
Post by: new devil on May 20, 2008, 11:58:09 PM
It wasn't by him it was  about different players....Stevie G included..he seems like a jumped up p##t right enough..but thats just my option  :)

ALEX FERGUSON'S RED AND WHITE AAAAARMY
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 21, 2008, 12:00:03 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 20, 2008, 11:58:09 PM
It wasn't by him it was  about different players....Stevie G included..he seems like a jumped up p##t right enough..but thats just my option  :)

ALEX FERGUSON'S RED AND WHITE AAAAARMY

Option  ???  :P
Post by: new devil on May 21, 2008, 12:06:15 AM
 >:( >:( spell check f**ked me  ;D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 21, 2008, 12:12:52 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 20, 2008, 10:39:54 PM
Thats just a pet name for him LL  :D...i didn't say anything about his footballing ability...i actually agree with you hes a great footballer

You going to cheer us on tomorrow night? ;)

MOD, MOD...quick someone has hacked in new devil's account  ;D

Well...I'll probably not be back on here until Thursday. Looking forward to a good night out, but I know I'll not enjoy anything until 9:30pm at least.

Enjoy chaps.
Post by: new devil on May 21, 2008, 12:33:54 AM
 :D :D very good NT

Yea i no what u mean....but hopefully come 5 O'Clock tomorrow i will enjoy my self for a day or 2   ;)

good luck NT (but not to much) :P
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 21, 2008, 06:16:14 AM
Really getting anxious about this one now . . . Have deferred posting because I really don't want to think too much about this or I'll be eaten up by it. Living in Australia helps in that regard!
But I'm thinking of nothing else now and work is on the long finger

Very hard to know what team Ferguson will start. Naturally the back five pick themselves, so do Rooney, Ronaldo and Scholes.
Carrick will get the nod for the second central midfield spot (out of two or three central spots, depending on).

I think he'll reward Park's superb form by starting him on the right wing and it'll be a good tactic to keep Ashley Cole quiet. I don't think he can consider starting Nani - too big a game for someone like him to start on with his often questionable decision making, lack of cover at times and potential for petulance. Great option to have though to bring on when things are opening up or when (hopefully not) United are pushing for an equaliser.

That's ten so picked. The last player on the teamsheet, imho, will determine United's approach. For me its a straight selection between Tevez and Hargreaves. Personally I'd have both in (at the expense of Carrick) but we know that won't happen.
Tevez, imho, has been better than Rooney this year and his workrate is made for games in Europe and means United aren't playing 4-4-2 when Chelsea are on the ball. He'll hound Makelele and the full-backs and that's key.
More importantly I think, as much as Rooney, he has the class to unlock the Chelsea defence and starting him and Rooney and Ronaldo will send out a signal that we want to win the game.
On the other hand Hargreaves is an exceptional midfielder with a big game temperament. With Ballack and Lampard both trying to push on, the worry for United will be Scholes and Carrick's ability to deal with it. An extra body, particularly Hargreaves, will ease that problem no end. But are we worried about stopping Chelsea or winning it ourselves?

Imho we have more quality in our team and should look to focus on going for it. That's why I think he should start Tevez. My gut instinct however tells me he'll go for Hargreaves. Time will tell.

The bench is going to be some tussle. You'll have Silvestre, O'Shea, Kuzscak (spel?), Fletcher, Nani, Saha, Tevez/Hargreaves and the legend that is Giggs. What two do you leave out. I'd say it'll be O'Shea and Saha if Tevez doesn't start. If Hargreaves doesn't start I think Fletcher will miss out.

The butterflies are bouncing now. Here we go! C'mon United!
Post by: Over the Bar on May 21, 2008, 09:10:48 AM
Couple of bets I did due to my tortured dreams of late......

Rooney 1st goal 2-0     50-1

Tevez last goal 2-0       60-1

Been trying to do a combo of rooney 1st / tevez last & 2-0  but havent got an online bookie to take it yet!

Brown 1st goal 1-0        200-1   

Vidic last goal  2-1         150-1
Post by: Uladh on May 21, 2008, 10:52:04 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 20, 2008, 10:32:11 PM
a excellent Pro and great footballer[/quote]

Frank Lampard is a great footballer? Give me a break
Post by: Shrewdness on May 21, 2008, 12:16:56 PM
Here's a true story about the 1999 Champions League Final to lighten the mood.

An acquaintance of mine sat down in front of the TV to watch the match, in a very nervous tense state. :-[

After just 6 minutes, Basler scores for Munich :o

This man is gutted and can't stand the tension and agony of watching United try to break down the German defence, so gets up, turns off the telly, and walks out of the house. He actually went down the field to have another look at the cattle, even though he had already seen them an hour earlier.

When he thinks it's half time, he puts the telly on to check on the score and is gutted to see it's still 1-0 >:(......Turns telly off again in despair.

Keeps checking his watch again in second half, and chances another look at the telly. Heart sinks as he sees 72 mins gone, still 1-0 to the Germans. Telly off again and walks out of the house gutted, thinking that 2 out of 3 trophies wasn't bad.

Then he realises that his family and friends will all be talking about the game, asking his views etc, and he hasn't seen 10 mins of it.

Decides to watch after match studio discussion so that he can talk about the main points.

Turns on the telly expecting to see Bayern celebrating. It's not over. His heart sinks when the screen shows time up and still 1-0 to Bayern.

He looks at the screen and sees Beckham placing the ball for a corner :'(

Please God let them score. Seconds later, Sheringham scores ;D

Relief, joy, near panic attack.

Will he watch the extra time, or turn off the telly again, and look at the cattle again.

Before he decided, another corner, another goal :o

Final whistle, Christ, we've won it..........Sheer ecstasy.

That story has never been told before to anyone. That person was me.

As i look out the back window, the cattle are taking bets on how many times they'll be checked this evening :D
Post by: Hound on May 21, 2008, 01:34:36 PM
Hard to know what team Ferguson will pick.

I'd have Hargreaves and Anderson alongside Scholes in the middle, but Ferguson seems to think Anderson is finished for the season and Carrick is rated higher than Hargreaves. If Hargreaves doesnt start tonight, youd have to wonder why the hell they bought him. But I presume he will play - he is the best man to track Ballack, who's finally finding his best form.

Ronaldo will play down the middle. Cole regularly has him in his pocket, so no point taking that risk. Terry is playing rubbish at the moment and Carvalho isnt 100% fit, so Ronaldo running at them is United's best form of attack. Gawd knows where Rooney will end up - probably on the left wing with the instruction to annoy the fack out of Essien.

Have to laugh at a BBC Radio 5 preview saying Drogba v Ferdinand will be a key battle. What utter nonsense. Rio will keep as far away from Drogba as he possibly can. Vidic on the other hand is one of the few defenders around who'll probably look forward to a battle against the Ivorian.

If AV Grant was clever enough to play a midfield 3 of Essien, Balllack and Lampard - they would destroy a midfield containing Scholes and Carrick. However its likely that Essien will be relegated to full back (its beyond my comprehnesion how the best central midfielder in the world plays more at right back!) with Makelele in to the middle, to cancel out Scholes lack of movement!

I've rarely seen Ferguson look so confident ahead of a big game. Presumably because he figures there is no way an idiot like Grant could out-think himself and Queiroz, and it'd be hard to disagree. So long as he doesnt do one of his "European masterstrokes" where he does something nobody would thought of to make himself look clever.

I predict a 1-0 win for united.
Post by: T O Hare on May 21, 2008, 01:43:25 PM
should be some craic around the pubs tonight!!! there will be some fegs smoked!!!!
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 01:45:19 PM
6 hours to go.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on May 21, 2008, 01:49:30 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on May 21, 2008, 01:43:25 PM
should be some craic around the pubs tonight!!! there will be some fegs smoked!!!!

Just hope all the bets are honoured.... ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on May 21, 2008, 01:52:14 PM
QuoteIf AV Grant was clever enough to play a midfield 3 of Essien, Balllack and Lampard - they would destroy a midfield containing Scholes and Carrick.

I can't see this not happening, i.e. Essien not playing in his best position.  It would be madness.  Granted his fullbacks (Belletti and Ferreira) aren't brilliant, but the battle's to be won in the middle, and this is much less likely to happen for Chelsea without Essien.
Post by: T O Hare on May 21, 2008, 02:25:00 PM
Quote from: spiritof91and94 on May 21, 2008, 01:49:30 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on May 21, 2008, 01:43:25 PM

Just hope all the bets are honoured.... ;)

i think your getting me mixed up with the older T O Hare Mister Mc Veigh  ;)
Post by: Abble on May 21, 2008, 02:59:51 PM
Chelsea 2 Scum Utd 0

Men against boys tonight....
Just been looking at a few pictures in the papers, great one of avram grant smiling in the background as he watches makelele try to break coles legs during lasts night kickabout...whereas in another picture the 'devils' are doing ring-a-ring a rosie
Post by: new devil on May 21, 2008, 03:08:58 PM
So how did the "boys" win the league...and the "men" didn't  ???
Post by: Hound on May 21, 2008, 03:10:29 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 21, 2008, 01:52:14 PM
QuoteIf AV Grant was clever enough to play a midfield 3 of Essien, Balllack and Lampard - they would destroy a midfield containing Scholes and Carrick.

I can't see this not happening, i.e. Essien not playing in his best position.  It would be madness.  Granted his fullbacks (Belletti and Ferreira) aren't brilliant, but the battle's to be won in the middle, and this is much less likely to happen for Chelsea without Essien.
Indeed it would be madness, but the only time Essien plays in midfield is when one of Ballack, Lampard, Makelele is unavailable or rested. He was right back in the second leg v Liverpool and I'm expecting him to be right back tonight.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 21, 2008, 03:18:00 PM
Well with little interest in either team winning the nite I decided to opt for a couple of bets instead to add a bit of spice for me. £5 on United win 2-0 with scoles first scorer at 80-1 and another with Drogba first scorer and cheski to win 2-0 at 60-1.
Post by: Minus15 on May 21, 2008, 03:26:00 PM
team predictions
Chelsea: Cech Essien Terry Carvalho Makelele Lampard Ballack Cole Malouda Drogba
Man U: Van Der Sar Brown Ferinand Vidic Evra Hargreaves Carrick Scholes Ronaldo Rooney Tevez

1-1 after 90 mins
1-1 AET
Chelsea to win 4-2 on penalties.
Goals from Rooney for Man United and Drogba for Chelsea.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 21, 2008, 03:47:19 PM
I'm out of here now. Best of luck to United tonight, and hope all United fans have every reason to celebrate tonight.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 21, 2008, 03:49:25 PM
Under 4 hours

UNITED
Post by: Davitt Man on May 21, 2008, 03:50:21 PM
NEWS ALERT......

Manchester fertility clinics fear a shortage of sperm donations this Wednesday as 40,000 of their regular w@nkers head for Moscow :-)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2008, 04:12:18 PM
Ah sure they can always use the blue half Davitt Man! :D

Can't call it to be honest. Hopefully Utd will do it but I'd be worried about the centre-field area. I hope Tevez starts but he will hardly as Ferguson will try to pack the middle and frustrate Chelsea. Park will probably start on one wing with Ronaldo on the other with Rooney on his own up front. That is my prediction as to how Utd will line up in the attacking stakes.

Really looking forward to it. I don't know what I'll do if it goes to penos. Probably have to leave. Hopefully UTD fans will be celebrating anyway.
Post by: gawa316 on May 21, 2008, 04:49:55 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on May 21, 2008, 03:26:00 PM
team predictions
Chelsea: Cech Essien Terry Carvalho Makelele Lampard Ballack Cole Malouda Drogba
Man U: Van Der Sar Brown Ferinand Vidic Evra Hargreaves Carrick Scholes Ronaldo Rooney Tevez

1-1 after 90 mins
1-1 AET

Chelski just going for the 10 players then? Cocky bastards! ;D

I have to say Makelele has went up in my estimation after that tackle on cashley. Well done that man
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 05:50:36 PM
1 hour and 55 mins to go.

Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 06:25:17 PM
80 minutes to kick off
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 06:33:05 PM
We can all tell the time square ball  ::)
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 06:37:12 PM
Go to the BBC news front page and tell me if you think that very small picture of some UTD fans are holding a UTD flag that says 'Donegal' on it? Where the headline is English fans await Moscow Final.

www.bbc.co.uk/news (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news)

I can't seem to find a large version of the picture anywhere... I threw up a little bit of sick in my mouth when I saw it.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 06:49:41 PM
55 minutes to go.

it sure as hell looks like Donegal, i copied and pasted it, then enlarged it, a bit wavey but it does look like Donegal
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 06:52:20 PM
Scandalous

Below what appears to be an England flag too.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 06:52:47 PM
Manchester United: Van der Sar, Brown, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Carrick, Hargreaves, Scholes, Ronaldo, Rooney, Tevez. Subs: Kuszczak, Anderson, Giggs, Nani, O'Shea, Fletcher, Silvestre.
Chelsea: Cech, Essien, Terry, Carvalho, A Cole, Makelele, Ballack, Lampard, Malouda, J Cole, Drogba. Subs: Cudicini, Shevchenko, Mikel, Kalou, Alex, Belletti, Anelka.
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 06:56:27 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44675000/jpg/_44675964_fansbanners66i_pa.jpg)

Very small and hard to make out.
Post by: J70 on May 21, 2008, 07:03:56 PM
For anyone who is stuck at work in the states, ESPN Go are showing it on the net (US only), so you might be able to sneak a peak every now and again.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 07:05:39 PM
where are people watching this?

House, pub, toilet, from behind a cushion?

first half house until the wife gets in from work then the pub

Post by: Mhic Easmuint on May 21, 2008, 07:05:57 PM
I like United's tam, really gonna go for it.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 07:26:03 PM
the best team he could have picked, feel sorry for Park, just realised that he wasnt even in the subs.

Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2008, 07:30:16 PM
Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on May 21, 2008, 07:05:57 PM
I like United's tam, really gonna go for it.

what the hell is that ?
are you a bit scottish
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 07:36:10 PM
Couldn't believe some thought Salax would pick Park for the final.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 07:38:32 PM
Thought Park might have started, he started both legs in the semi final. Can't believe he's not even on the bench
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 07:39:44 PM
Here's Fergie on picking Owen Hargreaves over Ji-Sung Park: "Owen's been in fantastic form. He's reaching a peak for us. It was difficult one because Ji-Sung Park has contributed a tremendous amount and we're very proud of that. It's not easy - but I hope I'm right."

me too
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 07:43:46 PM
Frank Lampard is c**k-eyed. So is Giggs.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 07:55:06 PM
10 mins. Chelsea haven't settled. Utd could take advantage.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 07:58:30 PM
Pitch slippy. Carrick-Scholes passing well.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:00:19 PM
Ive a feeling it'll be a long night.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:00:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 21, 2008, 07:59:27 PM
Why do Chelsea have their names in wee writing on the backs of their shirts?

To make Utd players squint.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:01:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:00:19 PM
Ive a feeling it'll be a long night.

I ll be blocked
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:02:16 PM
Ronald makes a dick outta Essien. Ominous for him.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:12:43 PM
yyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssss
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:13:48 PM
Now we've a game.

How ironic - a goal from utd's big game bottler, made by utd's weak link  :D

Will someone tell grant to take Essien off ronaldo ffs.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:15:50 PM
Even Jody Gormley would have taken Essien off Ronald by now.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 21, 2008, 08:17:51 PM
get off the ground - you big jessie
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:20:46 PM
Holy f**k that would have been some goal!
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:27:00 PM
Malouda's first touch is fairly shi'ite
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:32:03 PM
f**k that's lucky!
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:34:02 PM
Ronaldo's crying. Now he's OK.

Makapaka is a bit hyper.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:36:08 PM
fat fecking frank and two deflections, and a keeper on the floor, as pints said what a mess... missed two great chances and look what happens

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 21, 2008, 08:37:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 21, 2008, 08:33:19 PM
Rough challenge on Ronaldo.

from a fellow countryman no less
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:37:41 PM
Why did Utd start to go down the right after the goal? Utd were crucifying them on the left.
Post by: stpauls on May 21, 2008, 08:38:25 PM
is it just me or is that pitch a bit shit, a number of players have had their feet come out from under them, most importantly Van Der Sar for Chelsea's goal!!
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:43:20 PM
will Scholes start the second half?

played a great first one but has a busted coupen and booked, have a go at makaleeleeee, he will loose the bap
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:46:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:15:50 PM
Even Jody Gormley would have taken Essien off Ronald by now.

Post by: DirtyDozen12 on May 21, 2008, 08:47:48 PM
Quote from: stpauls on May 21, 2008, 08:38:25 PM
is it just me or is that pitch a bit shit, a number of players have had their feet come out from under them, most importantly Van Der Sar for Chelsea's goal!!
No the pitch looks in great shape,vds is the one who is a bit shit
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:50:10 PM
Malouda = crap

What was Fergie saying to the ref?
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 08:51:14 PM
Have feeling chelsea will steal it now.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:52:53 PM
Malouda = dung
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:57:25 PM
Michael Ballack takes out Cristiano Ronaldo right under the referee's nose. When I say he took him out, I mean that he knocked him over, he didn't kill him or bring him to a restaurant and then the cinema.

Guardian
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 08:59:15 PM
Pitch crap too. Goalies walking on ice.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 08:59:48 PM
vds need lomger studs
Title: .
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 09:00:12 PM
VDS slips again when a shot goes in  :-\
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 09:02:01 PM
chelsea starting to take control

Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 09:05:46 PM
Essien bombing forward now. Where's Ronald?
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 09:09:38 PM
Surely Malouda has to go.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 09:11:54 PM
Utd could be very dangerous now on the counter. Chelsea dominating.
Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 09:12:10 PM
is Rooney playing?

Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 09:13:01 PM
Rio fecked?

Post by: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 09:14:54 PM
cant take any more, away to the pub. no doubt I will be blockin flocked
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 09:23:14 PM
Was just thinking he's been quiet.
Post by: Midman on May 21, 2008, 09:37:59 PM
Squeaky bum time now ;D
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 21, 2008, 09:43:44 PM
Quote from: Midman on May 21, 2008, 09:37:59 PM
Squeaky bum time now ;D

I hate that expression.
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 21, 2008, 09:47:11 PM
Munich hit the post twice and lost, Chelsea hits the post twice and.....

Feck me this soccer is quare boring shite
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2008, 09:49:34 PM
What the feck is the Russian Army at?
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2008, 09:54:24 PM
Dull old sport this
Post by: Midman on May 21, 2008, 09:59:48 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on May 21, 2008, 09:43:44 PM
Quote from: Midman on May 21, 2008, 09:37:59 PM
Squeaky bum time now ;D

I hate that expression.

Thought it was apt given the contenders! How is this game still at one one?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:03:54 PM
11 minutes left. United to win on pens
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:07:11 PM
In theory I think Chelsea have the better penalty takers, Ballack, Lampard, Drogba, Anelka and proabably Kalou (possible weak link).
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:10:04 PM
Compare that to Ronaldo, Tevez, Giggs, Nani and ???? not sure who the other one will be. Lets pray for Rio Ferdinand and he blazes it over.

u'd have to fancy Chelsea if it goes to penalties
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:10:49 PM
Drogba off!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:11:06 PM
Its written in the script for either Giggs or Ronaldo to miss a penalty.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:12:08 PM
Madness. all over a stupid throw in
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2008, 10:14:17 PM
Very harsh, in a stupid moment
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:14:34 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:11:06 PM
Yes I think so too.  Can't see utd winning on penalties at all, I've still a feeling it won't go to that.

Glad that hateful **** Drogba went - and that other hateful **** Terry blowing snots on tevez.  tr**p.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:17:02 PM
Ashley the wee w*nker has been brilliant tonight

Good match that is going to be overshadowed a bit by the scuffle over the throw in
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:18:37 PM
Right ok, its probably just a toss of a coin in it but call it..

I'm going Chelsea.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:21:07 PM
Chelsea - Ronaldo or Giggs to miss.
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:22:16 PM
Better than listenin to the whole army of c***ts celebrating for the next 20 years.
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:22:29 PM
Van Der saar to save 2, Cech to save 1.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2008, 10:22:38 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 20, 2008, 10:58:07 AM

Which I did  ;D
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:23:02 PM
Jesus thats brilliant.
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:23:08 PM
It would be a complete injustice if Ashley Cole wins a Champions league medal. Money grabbing, permantley whinging little sh**e
Post by: Minder on May 21, 2008, 10:24:41 PM
Money grabbing Premiership footballer? Who would have thought........Should only players of impeccable character be allowed to win one?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:26:03 PM
Good pens Tevez & Ballack
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:26:11 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on May 21, 2008, 03:26:00 PM
team predictions

1-1 after 90 mins
1-1 AET

Has the first bit right anyway.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:28:02 PM
Beautiful
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:28:17 PM
holy f**k
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:28:51 PM
Ronaldo=Bottler
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:29:04 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:21:07 PM
Chelsea - Ronaldo or Giggs to miss.
:-\
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:29:16 PM
what was it like?
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:30:02 PM
He tried a John Aldridge....didnt work
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:30:21 PM
Fair fucks to hargreaves.great pen

should vds have got lamps pens....& cole's??
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:30:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:14:34 PM
Yes I think so too.  Can't see utd winning on penalties at all, I've still a feeling it won't go to that.

Glad that hateful **** Drogba went - and that other hateful **** Terry blowing snots on tevez.  tr**p.

Think thats where you first got it.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:31:18 PM
Terry to miss!!
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:32:12 PM
Holy f**k
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:32:19 PM
ah no
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:32:53 PM
hes missing. cert
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:33:17 PM
Kalou.great pen.well done
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:30:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:14:34 PM

Think thats where you first got it.

Look I'm saying chelsea all night!

here's giggs - he'll miss too
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:33:55 PM
why in the name of f**k would you let terry take a penalty?
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:34:54 PM
anelka miss man u win
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:35:00 PM
nnnoooooooooooooooooooooo

f*ck u JT
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:35:19 PM
centre backs shudnt be allowed to hit pens
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:35:32 PM
Fucksake.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:36:05 PM
Yeah see, told yous all along.

Well done utd.

Another 20 quid goes in to paddy powers pocket but worth it to see that. 
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:36:20 PM
Feel sorry for Anelka actually
Post by: heganboy on May 21, 2008, 10:36:49 PM
can you believe an ex Liverpool player missed the penalty that won Man U the big cup...

Post by: Tatler Jack on May 21, 2008, 10:37:32 PM
Quote from: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:35:19 PM
centre backs shudnt be allowed to hit pens

Dave O'Leary?
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:37:38 PM
Yeah but if i had to pick any Chelsea player to miss a penalty I'd pick Terry.
Post by: fred the red on May 21, 2008, 10:37:57 PM
Le Sulk was a cert to miss, if drogba was on he wudda scored pen no 5
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:38:34 PM
Hard to see Ronaldo the cnut jumping dancing about.

Cech should have got Nani's!!!
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:40:41 PM
will that be Fergie gone now? If he has any sense it will.
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:41:38 PM
I hate Chelsea. I really do.  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:42:25 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:41:38 PM
I hate Chelsea. I really do.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

So do I, an awful collection of c***ts.
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:43:10 PM
Nearly as bad as Silverbridge.
Post by: Rav67 on May 21, 2008, 10:43:20 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:40:41 PM

he wants to surpass Liverpool's 18 league titles before he goes- Man Ure currently have 17
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:45:45 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:43:10 PM
Nearly as bad as Silverbridge.
What's your problem
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:46:43 PM
who me?
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:47:05 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on May 21, 2008, 10:43:20 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:40:41 PM

he wants to surpass Liverpool's 18 league titles before he goes- Man Ure currently have 17

True, another two titles and thats him. And sure hes bothered about winning Europe again. He's got his 2 triumphs
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:47:44 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:46:43 PM
who me?
Yeah

where's drogba the p***k? Sulking?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on May 21, 2008, 10:49:10 PM
Yeah HS you did. from the united fans.
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:50:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:47:44 PM
who me?
Yeah

I don't have any problem pointsofgayness
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:50:08 PM
The only pleasing thing about tonights game is that there were 4 ex West Ham players on show. We truely are "Football's Acadamy"
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:50:51 PM
Do you think Terry now regrets choosing Chelsea over Utd?
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:51:48 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:50:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:47:44 PM
who me?
Yeah

I don't have any problem pointsofgayness

You drunk?
Post by: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:53:14 PM
Not sure, you can ask your ma tomorro
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:54:22 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 21, 2008, 10:53:14 PM
Christ...
Post by: J70 on May 21, 2008, 10:56:26 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 21, 2008, 10:50:51 PM

He wouldn't have missed the penalty if he played for United?
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:02:07 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 21, 2008, 10:56:26 PM

I'm not saying he wouldn't have missed. I saw something on Sky Sports a few years ago, when it said that he was up at United playing before Chelsea came along. A man must live and die by his decisions I suppose.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on May 21, 2008, 11:03:08 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeee hhhhaaaaaaaaaaa. :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Damn that was hard to watch.
Some noise in our house for a while
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2008, 11:06:01 PM
I fell asleep so much was my interest.  Imagine the feeling of delight as I awoke to see the crying face of Ronaldo as he had just missed the penalty.  I didn't care who won but I did enjoy seeing his face.  Then as poor old JT slipped my feelings were close to ecstacy.  I didn't care, in fact i wanted both to lose but that obviously is impossible. :P  Seeing JT miss though was enjoyable as he epitimises all I dislike in "Eng-Ur-Land" football.  Dunphy may have called him the greatest porfessional footballer(I think he was on the Glenfiddich) but he is a thug who bullies referees and tries to intimidate his way around.  I could just imagine him in a Para's unifrom as a field Sergeat in the field round Carnally dictating to some poor 17 year old sap who hadn't the brains or sense to do anything else but join up.  When you stand up to pricks like him they're all talk no balls, so there!
Post by: Yes I Would on May 21, 2008, 11:08:52 PM
Ive just been physically sick after watching that!
not for any great love of Chelsea but more so for them jammy bastards stealing another European cup!!
I would have slept better tonite had they lost! Ah f**k it!
Post by: slow corner back on May 21, 2008, 11:09:11 PM
Great to see a proper game of football for a final, thought it was end to end stuff from utd scored. a million miles from last years fa cup final. Utd should have been three up at half time.
Chelsea best in  the second half, extra time about even. drogba is a tit and deserved his red card. Van der sar at 38 wins the champions league, who said it was a young mans game, he got his hands on two penalties before he saved that one , su f*ckin perb well done on your second medal edwin.
Post by: J70 on May 21, 2008, 11:10:42 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:02:07 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 21, 2008, 10:56:26 PM

I'm not saying he wouldn't have missed. I saw something on Sky Sports a few years ago, when it said that he was up at United playing before Chelsea came along. A man must live and die by his decisions I suppose.

I doubt very much if anyone would see a trophy lost in such a manner as cause to regret not playing for another team. He'll be devastated that they lost because of his miss, but I doubt very much if "what if I had signed for United instead" would even enter his head. Why would it? He's at a top club, he's winning trophies, he's playing for England, he's wealthy beyond his wildest dreams.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 11:11:09 PM
Bad news for Celtic too. Rangers and Utd victories seem to go hand-in-hand.
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:11:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:54:22 PM
Christ...

I'd leave it POG. No use in getting worked up for thon
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 11:13:06 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:11:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 21, 2008, 10:54:22 PM
Christ...

I'd leave it POG. No use in getting worked up for thon
Oh I know. 

Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:16:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 11:11:09 PM
Bad news for Celtic too. Rangers and Utd victories seem to go hand-in-hand.

We will have none of this spoke on our forum thank you very much
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 21, 2008, 11:17:58 PM
United still have to win the World Club Championship, so that's another goal for Ferguson.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 11:34:05 PM
(http://img27.picoodle.com/img/img27/4/5/21/f_terryuo1m_dfa11e7.jpg)
Post by: The Corporal on May 21, 2008, 11:35:47 PM
Quick off the boil there O'Neill!!

Plenty of joke texts going about shortly no doubt!!
Post by: theskull1 on May 21, 2008, 11:37:29 PM
Jesus what a bore

How anybody enjoys live football is beyond me.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2008, 11:44:14 PM
f**k i thought it wasnt bad - your comparing it to a dunloy hurling match so thats not fair its alwys going to come second !
great to see terry missing that pen, no love for utd but a choice of ferdinand or terry lifting the cup i would go for ferdinand
ferguson definately influences ref;s, did you see him at HT
Post by: slow corner back on May 21, 2008, 11:47:29 PM
as someone who has played against dunloy for a few loosing armoy teams can i just sat i am f*ckin delighted
Post by: the green man on May 21, 2008, 11:48:17 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2008, 11:44:14 PM
f**k i thought it wasnt bad - your comparing it to a dunloy hurling match so thats not fair its alwys going to come second !
great to see terry missing that pen, no love for utd but a choice of ferdinand or terry lifting the cup i would go for ferdinand

jaysus didnt he, with some authority. Drogba seemed to suss him.

Post by: J70 on May 21, 2008, 11:49:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 11:34:05 PM
(http://img27.picoodle.com/img/img27/4/5/21/f_terryuo1m_dfa11e7.jpg)

Now that was fast!
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2008, 11:49:45 PM
Come on Zenit St. Petersburg. Bring it home, in August.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2008, 11:55:32 PM
he has been a crying hoor for years and the refs are shit scared of him
but the way terry, cole, and them chelsea wankers behave over the season, then tonight is the lesser of two evils
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 22, 2008, 12:00:41 AM
(http://awooga.org/images/30qjx0zqd3ftpgm5mop.jpg)

Couldn't happen to a nicer bunch.
Post by: slow corner back on May 22, 2008, 12:01:12 AM
I trhought u only watched rugby hoof?
Post by: slow corner back on May 22, 2008, 12:02:04 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 22, 2008, 12:00:41 AM
(http://awooga.org/images/30qjx0zqd3ftpgm5mop.jpg)

Couldn't happen to a nicer bunch.
Great photo by the way owenmore
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 22, 2008, 12:03:31 AM
a great anayser an exponent of all sports corner back ;)
Post by: stew on May 22, 2008, 12:08:51 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2008, 11:44:14 PM

I saw him and i thought he made a tit out of himsel, united couldnt buy a decision for twenty minutes after that. There were some poor decisions made for both side but overall the ref acquitted himself well.

United deserved to win...................just.

Terry's clearance off the line from Giggs was tremendous however Giggs should have hit it with his right foot rather than with the outside of his left. Carricks miss was a woeful effort, he had time to take a touch and stick it in the corner and instead he bottled it and hit it straight at the keeper.

Anyhow, fitting that United win it 50 years after the Munich crash. Bobby Charlton got to se United win their third European Championship crown, fair play to him.
Post by: stew on May 22, 2008, 12:14:55 AM
I took a half day off work and watched the game at home with twelve other paddies in the basement at our house, the drink was flying and then one of the league of Ireland fans broke out with the following:

ten men went to bed, went to bed with ashley, ten men, nine men, eight men, seven men, six men, five men, four men, three men, two men, one man and his phone, went to bed with ashley. Spot the arse supporter. :P

Some of those sawker songs are just wrong.
Post by: Square Ball on May 22, 2008, 12:50:41 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 21, 2008, 09:14:54 PM
cant take any more, away to the pub. no doubt I will be blockin flocked

as stated above

Post by: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 01:26:04 AM
The shootout was full of twists. Ronaldo and that penalty run up - what the f**k was he thinking?

Kinda felt sorry for John Terry - if only because I dislike ronaldo so much. Im almost sure that the footage shown over here after the game showed Giggs telling Ronaldo to never hit a penalty like that again. Serious arrogance to put your team mates on the line like that in the shootout for the champions league final. Youve missed the last penalty son, get your head down and bury it. Stop arseing around like John Aldridge with Huntingdons Chorea.

BC1 doesnt like Terry - I do. Hes one of the few that remind me of Stuart Pearce. There was a man that had pride in his country. And couldnt hit a penalty well either!

Post by: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 01:35:33 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 22, 2008, 01:32:24 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 01:26:04 AM
BC1 doesnt like Terry - I do. Hes one of the few that remind me of Stuart Pearce. There was a man that had pride in his country. And couldnt hit a penalty well either!
Psycho screaming, three lions on a shirt!!!

He made me hate England more than anything. A fecking Thatcher Nazi bastard.

He didnt make me think anything different about England. A man who would probably die for his team mates and his pride in the shirt of his country. Whats not to admire? Watched a documentary on him a few years back. A great leader. If he was Irish we'd have loved him more than anyone else.

Now that I think of it, I shouldnt compare him to JT in the slightest.
Post by: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 01:46:55 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 22, 2008, 01:41:31 AM
To me, he represented all that was wrong with the Brits. I could just picture him in the stand at Landsdowne Road, giving his salutes and that British 'we are the people' mentality, before wrecking the place.
A horrible figure.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7809.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7809.0)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2008, 06:44:42 AM
What about thon wee bollicks lying crying face down in the middle of the pitch during the last penalty and shortly thereafter?

He hates being the centre of attention, eh?

(http://i30.tinypic.com/fubej5.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 22, 2008, 07:54:13 AM
Yeah I'd say attention was the only thing in his head at that stage gab.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 22, 2008, 08:15:15 AM
Couldn't have fallen nicer in the end.
Drogba, Terry and Anelka causing Chelsea's downfall.
Pity Ashley Cole didn't miss his penalty too.

If Terry wasn't a professional soccer player, he looks like the kind of guy who'd be in uniform with a rifle defending Queen and country in Belfast or Basra or God knows where.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 22, 2008, 08:41:31 AM
There is a big difference between Pearce and Terry.  Pearce would be a player I would have great respect for.  He was an honest to goodness, tough man, Terry to me is a bully and a sneak.  He is the sort of lad would hit you a judas slap and run away and if you stood up to him he would cow down. 

I am glad people see him for what he is, maybe it's years of having the fcukers stuck in your face makes you dislike them that small bit more.  I can just imagine him standing there sneering as he lined me up through the sight on his M16, hunkered in a corner of a shop on the Square.  Bad cess to him and all his sort >:(
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 22, 2008, 08:49:34 AM
I have to say I was absolutely delighted for John Terry last night - one for lippy black monkeys everywhere to enjoy.

But I also have to say that Chelsea's behaviour throughout the entire game (what with their diving, intimidating the referee, questioning every single decision, starting melees etc.) reminded me of the worst excesses of Mickey Harte's Tyrone teams.
Post by: Minder on May 22, 2008, 09:19:58 AM
I dont know if this has been mentioned as i have avoided these threads like the plague, but does anyone think Drogba got sent off as to avoid taking a penalty........? I would have put the house on Anelka missing.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 22, 2008, 09:31:46 AM
Quotehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIRQY04_xM4&feature=related

Some tenson last night. Chelsea were the better side in the second half but United created more in the first. United were lucky towards the end though. Penalties are always 50 / 50. Had turned away when terry went to take his but what a ending!
Post by: passedit on May 22, 2008, 09:34:37 AM
QuoteI have to say I was absolutely delighted for John Terry last night - one for lippy black monkeys everywhere to enjoy.

Indeed and club doormen as well. tr**p of the highest order, a silver lining in a horrible night. I watched the first half in the office and was pondering who i'd like to lose more and it was a toss(er) up who it would turn my stomach more to see lifting the cup between Terry and the Drug cheat. I wandered out to the local pub in deepest hertfordshire (Spurs or at a pinch Arsenal heartland) for the second half. The pub was stuffed full of cockney w**ker Manu fans and i found myself almost hoping that chelsea would win (in the absence of a meteorite hitting the stadium) to put some brakes on this nauseous bandwagon.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 09:35:46 AM
Fair play to United, and I thought it was actually a good game. United should have been 3 up at half time, but after the goal Chelsea started to dominate midfield, and Essien wasn't under as much pressure, and started bombing forward himself. Chelsea the better team after half time.

Penalties is a lottery, but fair fucks to Anderson and Belletti, who came on, never touched the ball, and both scored their penos.

Drogba is an idiot.

Ronaldo was class for 40 minutes, and then got starved of the ball, but didn't seem interested in tracking Essien either.

All in all, I enjoyed it, and I think, in all fairness, the best team in Europe has become European champions, so as a neutral that's about as good as you can hope for.

Still hard to take as a Liverpool fan, but it would have been hard had Chelsea won it as well.
Post by: Hound on May 22, 2008, 09:44:49 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 09:35:46 AM
Fair play to United, and I thought it was actually a good game. United should have been 3 up at half time, but after the goal Chelsea started to dominate midfield, and Essien wasn't under as much pressure, and started bombing forward himself. Chelsea the better team after half time.

Penalties is a lottery, but fair fucks to Anderson and Belletti, who came on, never touched the ball, and both scored their penos.

Drogba is an idiot.

Ronaldo was class for 40 minutes, and then got starved of the ball, but didn't seem interested in tracking Essien either.

All in all, I enjoyed it, and I think, in all fairness, the best team in Europe has become European champions, so as a neutral that's about as good as you can hope for.

Still hard to take as a Liverpool fan, but it would have been hard had Chelsea won it as well.
Other than Ronaldo's hilarious effort, I thought Anderson's was the one other pen that Cech could have saved. VDS should have saved both Lampard's and Cole's. .

Drogba's a hatful hoor, but he didnt deserve red for that IMO. He gave Vidic a sarcastic pat on the face, he didnt slap him. I don't believe he would have taken one of the 5 pens - but probably would have gone before Anelka.

If Grant had brought Belletti on with 20 minutes left and pushed Essien to midfield, I've no doubt Chelsea would have won.

I don't think Terry's slip had anything to do with his miss. The ball was well on its way before he went on his hole. Hopefully it keeps him awake at night for years to come...   
Post by: liihb on May 22, 2008, 09:46:27 AM
For me the presentation showed the difference between the clubs, and why I would cheer anybody ahead of Chelsea.
As a rep from the club, Utd send up Bobby Charlton, club ambassador, gentleman, and a legend of the game.
Chelsea send up Peter Kenyon, a Utd supporter making loads of cash at their club.
Post by: gallsman on May 22, 2008, 09:55:37 AM
Congrats Utd. prob deserved it over the course of the season.

On a completely different note, how Joe Cole didn't ened up punching the referee or linesman is beyond me. The amount of decisions he didn't get was ridiculous!
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 22, 2008, 10:26:10 AM
My take on proceedings from last night.
First of all congratualtions to Man U, commisserations to Chelsea think no one can claim to have 'deserved' to win on their performance it was a cliched game of 2 halves.  Great start by United and could easily have scored 1/2 more plus I had a tenner on Ronaldo at 9/2 for first goal.  Lucky break just before HT handed Chelsea the initiative and they had a good second half.
Just seemed inevitable as time went on that we were going to penalties though if Lampard's effort went in or Giggs used his right foot could have been different.

Regarding the penalties, some great penatlies but do think it was massive error sending Terrry up to hit the deciding penalty - he obviously wanted to hit it though and you can't fault him for that but I can't recall him scoring too many goals with his feet down the years and just felt (like everyone else I am sure) that we was going to miss. 

Was a good cup final for a change and very entertaining, but WTF is Drogba like?  Never stopped crying all night, a bloody mercenary who Chelsea should ship out in the Summer, much like Anelka who does not give a flying fcuk about any team he plays for.

So Norf, the elusive Holy Grail escapes you for another year.  Hard luck, your opinions have been honest (most of the time!) over the season and refreshing to read. Villa still should have took 6 points of you lot though!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 22, 2008, 10:37:59 AM
QuoteOh and the only person in the Chelsea camp I would feel for is Grant

I also have a lot of respect for Makelele - he had another great game last night, and was in the thick of it for the whole game (unlike many of his more lauded teammates).
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 10:51:43 AM
QuoteIMO this was a combination of them gaining some belief and the fact that Scholes was clearly tiring.

I would say Scholes influence was moreso affected by the fact that he probably had his nose broke and his breathing would have been affected even greater as he already has a respiratory condition.  Maybe I'm wrong.  I would have loved to have seen Anderson thrown into the mix or even Hargreaves moved back into the centre a bit earlier as he was not bought to play as a right winger. 

United ruled the 1st half and Chelsea the 2nd, and I would say extra-time was even too.  Glad United won but penalties should be done away with altogether.  Felt sorry for Grant but then he rants about dominating the match etc and I lose sympathy.  They were fortunate to get the goal and they only had a few efforts on target (both hit the woodwork) whereas United had the better chances and should have scored more than once. 

A very noticeable element to Chelseas attitude last night was again their whinging.  Every time Drogba lost the ball or was dispossessed you could see him flinging his arms up or moaning about something.  He deserved a red for striking another player on the face - those are the rules and everyone knows it - it all came about because Tevez kicked the ball out of play instead of giving it back to Chelsea.  That was Chelseas own fault as United had earlier given the ball back to Chelsea in similar circumstances until Chelsea twice kicked the ball out instead of giving it back to the reds.  As for Joe Cole, I liked him as a pro until last night as he is another whining bollox.  He ran to the ref scratching his head vigorously as if he had lice ffs whenever it was obvious that the linesman made the call to give a goal kick instead of the corner.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 22, 2008, 11:03:49 AM
QuoteIf Grant had brought Belletti on with 20 minutes left and pushed Essien to midfield, I've no doubt Chelsea would have won.

Like we were saying yesterday Hound, if Essien had played in midfield, Chelsea would probably have won.  Essien at fullback didn't make a great handle of Ronaldo in the first half - the commentary team kept referring to his poor placement in open play and at corners.  Though in the few moments when Essien got a chance to push forward he looked very dangerous, and he had a very good chance with the shot on his left - he should have placed low instead of going for the piledriver, he was in a perfect position to curl it in to Van der Sar's right, instead he went high to his left.  At that point Ronaldo had faded somewhat from the game - the change Hound suggested would have made perfect sense for the last 20-30 mins, and in my opinion was why Chelsea didn't win in 90 mins.  They could also have asked Makelele to push out further to his right, as there was nothing coming through the middle from Utd.  Tactically poor from Chelsea, I thought, though big-red-nose didn't excel himself tactically either.
Post by: screenexile on May 22, 2008, 11:06:10 AM
As a neutral (Well as neutral as an ABU can be). I thoroughly enjoyed last night's match. End to end, chances red cards, diving, penalties it had absolutely everything you could want from a final. Unfortunately I missed all but the last 5 mins of the first half so I didn't get to see United's dominance up to this point which is why I probably thought Chelski deserved it. Either way a draw and a replay would have been the best way to settle it but with a final of that magnitude it is not really practical to settle it in this way.

As for the players well I didnt' see Ronaldo in the first half and after this he was largely ineffective and made a meal of a few tackles but sure we've come to expect that. Drogba was awful and he's a dickhead, played very poorly last night and still almost got a goal. The sending off was completely warranted as he should know he can't raise his hand... total handbags of course but as a great man once said "you strick strack... you must go!" I think the incident was caused because Tevez had kicked the ball out for a throw in (as Chelsea had done previously) but instead of letting them throw it back in and pass it back to the keepr Tevez motioned at the rest of the team to press the throw in which I think the Chelsea players took issue over... stupidity of the highest order really!

Chelsea's midfield definitely had the measure of Utd in the 2nd half and Fat Frank, Claude and Ballack were very good but unfortunately Drogba couldn't do anything in front of them. I was fairly disappointed in Carrick and Rooney's performance but I'm sure neither of them will be too worried as to what I thought about them.

As for both defences I thought they were awesome! JT and Vidic were out of this world and it was a pity one had to lose. I feel sorry for JT with that slip. He'd sent the keeper the wrong way and everything only for the pitch to decide it for him. His clearance off the line was immense that time.

As for all this "chelsea whingers blah blah blah". You lads have to be kidding me! Ronaldo, Rooney, Anderson and Ferdinand all have no trouble mouthing at referees the same way Chelsea do so give it a break!

Fair play to Man Utd (Ugh I feel dirty) they were the best team this year and not many can deny it. Let's just hope Arsenal show their true promise next season and win all round them!!! (Yeah I'm a Blackburn fan but Arsenal are the only team out of the top 4 I could stomach winning anything)
Post by: maddog on May 22, 2008, 11:16:27 AM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on May 22, 2008, 11:07:42 AM
Has Grant said anything yet about why he bucked his runners up medal into the crowd?

Who does he think he is? Joe Kernan
Post by: Uladh on May 22, 2008, 11:25:12 AM
More or less everything has been covered. i'd add-

Vidic was mom by a mile.

VDS should have saed at least 2 pens.

had tevez tucked his header away in the first half it'd have been one of the best goals i've ever seen.

Giggs should retire. Opportunities like this to go out on a high won't return.

Rooney was very poor.

Essien is the best midfielder in the chelsea squad, and thank fcuk he was at right back.

Chelsea had the winning of the game for the entire last 20 minutes of normal time and i was surprised united held on.

Chelsea had settled for penalties as soon as it went to extra time, even before drogba got the road.

Post by: magpie seanie on May 22, 2008, 11:38:14 AM
Wow - that was some roller coaster. Think United caught Chelsea a bit off guard early on by going with 4-4-2 and actually played some really brilliant stuff in the first half. You'd rarely see Chelsea cut open as often as they were in the first half last night. Then along comes a shitty goal and the game changes. Chelsea then controlled the game for the second half though United defended well. Both sides had chances with Giggs' one being a real sitter. Then at the end of extra time a huge overreaction by Chelsea and Drogba gets sent of for slapping the lip he split a few weeks earlier. He really is the worst kind of coward. Pretended to confront Vidic on the way off too. If thats what he wants why don't we lock the two of them in a room for half an hour? He wouldn't be so tough then the jessie.

So to pens. Was 100% convinced United would lose on pens. Felt Ronaldo was going to miss. His penalty technique is crap. Was worried about Giggs but he did well. Don't like Terry so was happy enough for him to miss and no-one likes Anelka. So VDS did the business at 38 with the final save.

Ref was pretty good throughout. Thought Fergie's interjection at HT seemed to backfire. Curiously the officials got a large number of throws and corners/goal kicks wrong for both teams from what I could see. Am biased but thought Makalele and Essien could also have walked. Makalele for kicking Scholes in the face (I think there was intent) and elbowing Hargreaves and fouling and Essien was a lucky boy to only get booked as late as he did. People might say Evra could have gone for his tussle with Cole but I think the contact was accidental and minimal (I would though, wouldn't I).

United have endured a lot of bad luck in this competition (the Dortmund and Leverkusen semi finals spring to mind) so the bit of luck required to win is well due. 50 years on from Munich and 40 years on from that night in Wembley the legend grows still further.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 11:40:51 AM
Quote(Yeah I'm a Blackburn fan but Arsenal are the only team out of the top 4 I could stomach winning anything)

Why, I seem to remember Wenger often complaining about Blackburns attitude etc in matches against the gunners.

Rooney played a few delightful passes including the cross-field one to Ronaldo which was crossed for Tevez plus he also hit a delightful low cross into the box for Tevez.  Rooney has been injured for much of late so he was never going to be at his best.

Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 11:42:11 AM
He was very disappointed to be taken off. He pegged the jersey on the ground, but someone had given it back to him for the celebrations :D

Did anyone else notice Terry 'snotting' on Tevez as the handbags died down? Karma is a bitch JT.
Post by: Square Ball on May 22, 2008, 11:45:23 AM
agree with most of the MON picks, Vidic was fantastic.

Loved Fergies quote on the future, "I will look into each players eyes to see if they still have the hunger" he has thats for sure, also said its a great team young team that will get better.

Post by: North Longford on May 22, 2008, 11:46:48 AM
Decent game which could have gone either way and I was able to watch it without any inkling of a preference to who won which surprised me as an ABU. Some of the Chelsea boys must have gotten to me more than I thought.
Good points....Ronaldo and Terry missing penalties and Drogba getting sent off........to nicer chaps it could not happen.....some sort of Karma there I think.
On the Joe Cole running to the ref I actually wouldn't blame him. They were 2 desperate poor decisions given against him amd I though it was very obvious in both cases they were wrong. I noticed United players questioniong the odd decision too so its not an exclusive club either !!!
Couple of coontroversies that haven't been mentioned and I wonder on opinions.....
Was Ferdinand not the last man when he obstructed Lampard at the edge of the box in the 1st half and got a yellow?
And what was the story with the linesman raising his flag and putting it down again near the end when Ferdinand came across Cole in the box. It was definitely a high challenge but couldn't believe how little was made of the up down flag. Andy Gray made a brief mention but continued on pretty quicky.
Was delighted for Scholes, he seems are very unassuming chap and almost embarrassed up on the podium.
Post by: Uladh on May 22, 2008, 11:47:03 AM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on May 22, 2008, 11:34:54 AM
Quotehad tevez tucked his header away in the first half it'd have been one of the best goals i've ever seen.

QuoteRooney was very poor.

Just a hint of contradiction as it was the best pass of the night. Its a game Rooney would like to forget, he gave quite a few balls away but got in a couple of good passes in the first half. Completely disappeared in the second.

Agreed. He hit a couple of super balls early on but you couldn't gauge his overall contribution as anything other than poor. and i am a big rooney fan.
Post by: EC Unique on May 22, 2008, 11:47:42 AM
On a night of European glory, Cristiano Ronaldo gave Reds fans even more reason to celebrate when he quashed rumours that he could join Real Madrid this summer by pledging his future to United.

When asked by a TV reporter whether he would be leaving the club with which he has already achieved so much in his short career, Ronaldo gave the emphatic reply all Reds fans wanted to hear.

"No, no, no. I'm going to stay," he said.

It was a fitting end to an emotional night for the Portuguese winger who opened the scoring in the 26th minute, but then missed his spot-kick in the dramatic penalty shoot-out.

"When I missed the penalty, I thought we were going to lose," he said.

"I played well in the game and I scored a goal, but I missed the penalty. I thought it was going to be the worst day of my life.

"But the lads did their jobs. They believed they were going to score, and they scored. Penalties is a lottery, you never know who is going to win, but I think we deserve to win because we played better in the game.

"It means everything to me because we won both trophies, the Champions League and the League, so I feel very happy. It is one of the most happy days of my life. I feel very, very proud."

(http://www.jon44w.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/woohoo.gif)

Post by: the Deel Rover on May 22, 2008, 11:48:52 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 11:42:11 AM
He was very disappointed to be taken off. He pegged the jersey on the ground, but someone had given it back to him for the celebrations :D

Did anyone else notice Terry 'snotting' on Tevez as the handbags died down? Karma is a bitch JT.

Ye i thought he did that Az looked like he was having a word  him and then let fly, don't know why can't stand Jt so i was glad he missed the penalty
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 11:49:27 AM
He definitely did it. You could see Tevez wiping his neck straight away.
Post by: Uladh on May 22, 2008, 11:52:39 AM
Has to be said too - fantastic header from CR.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 22, 2008, 11:57:06 AM
You could see Terry was up to something on Tevez which he was trying to cover up with his sleeve.

Good match last night. Some of them boys sum up what is wrong with soccer - Terry, Carvalho, Cole, Makalele, Drogba, Ronaldo etc.

Has to be said though Ashley Cole did play excellent last night. On that form one of the better LBs in the world. Definitely much better under Grant than Mourinho. Vidic also is a superb defender.He did get away with plenty before being booked but it was on Drogba so you worry less.

I think Ferguson should walk out on a high now. It's the right time.

Anelka was p*ss poor when he came on.

Will be interesting to see how many Chelsea lose for next season.

Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 12:01:15 PM
QuoteDid anyone else notice Terry 'snotting' on Tevez as the handbags died down? Karma is a bitch JT.

I never seen that and I actually was feeling sorry for Terry after the match.  The incidenet which led to Cole going crazy was a bad decision but it was his reaction that was terrible, plus he ran to the ref when it was obvious for any half wit that the linesman made the call.  There were a couple of other dubious decisions and one of those was when United got a corner near the end froma Ronaldo left foot shot at the corner of the box.  As for the flag up and down - strange.  Good to see Darren Fletcher in charge for the presntation - he was the one who designated himself as director of operations.
Post by: Uladh on May 22, 2008, 12:03:48 PM
Major clear out and investment at chelsea this summer i suspect.

Only one manager has three european cups - bob paisley - so fergie will be firmly focussed on equalling that record before he goes anywhere. i also suspect he'd like to at least equal liverpool's number of championships before he goes on.

my highlight of last night was 606 on 5live. w**ker green had to host it and laud united through gritted teeth. if word would come through of nolan's happy passing in his sleep then all in the owrld would be right.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 22, 2008, 12:05:38 PM
just wondering how many of them get medals does neville get one . i also forgot about wright philips been with chelsea untill i saw him coming out at half time is he injured?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2008, 12:10:06 PM
Congrats United fans. Probably best team over the course of the season although probably second best last night. I think that should end any whingeing about "lucky Liverpool" anyway. Two European Cups won under Ferguson in games where United were outplayed for long periods and the opposition hitting the woodwork twice in both finals. And that's even before Terry slipped on his hole.

Hard luck Norf Tyrone. Must be sick as a parrott today.
Post by: EC Unique on May 22, 2008, 12:19:46 PM
That game should finish all talk of Ronaldo not performing in big games. He had a fantastic first half and not so bad in the second either.. :)
Post by: imtommygunn on May 22, 2008, 12:21:44 PM
Ronaldo had a good game - not that of a best in the world material player I'd have said though.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 12:22:26 PM
Hmmm. I thought Ronaldo was MOTM in the first half, and couldn't understand why Essien was being hung out to dry on him. However, in the second half, largely due to Chelsea's dominance, he was fairly anonymous, and his workrate was dodgy, in that he rarely bothered tracking Essien, who obviously decided attack is the best form of defence.

Overall, I thought Ronaldo was a 7/10, which is good, but he is still lacking 'something' in his attitude.

IMHO.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2008, 12:42:05 PM
Ronaldo was alright. Not great but not bad either. Great header for the goal albeit a completely free header. Good cross for Tevez too but didn't see much of him after that as Essien obviously decided "sod this let him chase after me for a change".

Can count himself lucky that Terry blew it as Cech psyched him out for his penalty miss.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 01:03:41 PM
Cech did out pysche him, fair dues.  But Im sure Ronaldo is in better form today than Cech!
Post by: mannix on May 22, 2008, 02:38:06 PM
Glad United won but I thought they were shagged, chelsea were alll over them at times.Van der sar will finish now and giggs,scholes and ferguson will leave soon too, either other clubs or retire.
Post by: orangeman on May 22, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
Quote from: mannix on May 22, 2008, 02:38:06 PM
Glad United won but I thought they were shagged, chelsea were alll over them at times.Van der sar will finish now and giggs,scholes and ferguson will leave soon too, either other clubs or retire.

Where does Giggs and Scholes go after United ???
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2008, 02:45:26 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 22, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
Quote from: mannix on May 22, 2008, 02:38:06 PM

Where does Giggs and Scholes go after United ???

The golf course.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 22, 2008, 02:48:21 PM
QuoteWhere does Giggs and Scholes go after United

I heard that Blackburn have made offers to their agents.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 03:12:44 PM
As previously mentioned, Fergie will not be going anywhere.  Why would he go considering the bulk of this side is so young and are starting to win things?  It would be different if they were an old side.  Expect to see more of Anderson and Nani next year, plus hopefully Hargreaves will be available all year and at his best.  Bye bye Louis Saha and add another striker.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 22, 2008, 03:26:04 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 12:01:15 PM
QuoteDid anyone else notice Terry 'snotting' on Tevez as the handbags died down? Karma is a bitch JT.

I never seen that and I actually was feeling sorry for Terry after the match.  The incidenet which led to Cole going crazy was a bad decision but it was his reaction that was terrible, plus he ran to the ref when it was obvious for any half wit that the linesman made the call.  There were a couple of other dubious decisions and one of those was when United got a corner near the end froma Ronaldo left foot shot at the corner of the box.  As for the flag up and down - strange.  Good to see Darren Fletcher in charge for the presntation - he was the one who designated himself as director of operations.

David May used to assume that role nrico. He always managed to get in front with the trophy despite only playing a handful of games each season.
Post by: Barney on May 22, 2008, 03:32:08 PM
i think that's an unjustified criticism of Davy May

(http://m.gmgrd.co.uk/res/581.$plit/C_71_article_1024899_image_list_image_list_item_0_image.jpg)
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 03:34:41 PM
I read about that the other day and how May said his dad encouraged him to get his head in beside the cup and the hoore did well for himself.
Post by: T O Hare on May 22, 2008, 04:15:12 PM
does anyone know where i could see highlights online
Post by: nrico2006 on May 22, 2008, 04:42:52 PM
http://blog.soccerslave.com/2008/05/21/manchester-united-vs-chelsea-champions-league-final-highlights-2008/
Post by: Main Street on May 22, 2008, 06:30:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 22, 2008, 12:22:26 PM
Hmmm. I thought Ronaldo was MOTM in the first half, and couldn't understand why Essien was being hung out to dry on him. However, in the second half, largely due to Chelsea's dominance, he was fairly anonymous, and his workrate was dodgy, in that he rarely bothered tracking Essien, who obviously decided attack is the best form of defence.

Overall, I thought Ronaldo was a 7/10, which is good, but he is still lacking 'something' in his attitude.

IMHO.
The Ronaldo effect was obvious because it was Essien and not Cole in the first half. Fergusen put Ronaldo away from A Cole.
A Cole has easily has the measure of Ronaldo in previous games.

In the 2nd half I think it was J Cole assisted Essien and paid more attention to Ronaldo and marked him out the game until Ronaldo moved more central and regained some potency with a few of his attacking runs.

Post by: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 07:31:04 PM
Did anyone see the banner at the game yesterday that read

SCOUSE FREE ZONE!

?

Thought it was funny myself.
Post by: fred the red on May 22, 2008, 07:40:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 07:31:04 PM

SCOUSE FREE ZONE!

?

Maybe explains wayne rooneys dissapearance.
Post by: Square Ball on May 22, 2008, 10:51:21 PM
Quote from: fred the red on May 22, 2008, 07:40:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 22, 2008, 07:31:04 PM

SCOUSE FREE ZONE!

?

Maybe explains wayne rooneys dissapearance.

very good
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 22, 2008, 11:52:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2008, 12:10:06 PM
Congrats United fans. Probably best team over the course of the season although probably second best last night. I think that should end any whingeing about "lucky Liverpool" anyway. Two European Cups won under Ferguson in games where United were outplayed for long periods and the opposition hitting the woodwork twice in both finals. And that's even before Terry slipped on his hole.

Totally gutted. There are very few times in my life that football has made me feel as depressed as I am today...

Well done United..

Was in the pub from 6:30, and depsite it being fairly packed it was eerilly silent due to the tension. First half and all my concerns from a few pages back re Essien came home to roost. Ronaldo wasn't at his best, but he didn't to be to exploit the Ghanian. This battle put Chelsea on the back foot early on, and truth be told only a wee bit of luck and the goal changed that around.

Second half and I thought Chelsea were awesome. Time and time again these players meet a challange head on, and a special word of praise here for the much maligned Ashley Cole who had his best game in a Blue jersey last night. I think one of the key factors last night came on 70 minutes. Ferdinand went down with cramp, and the 2 or 3 minute delay give United time to regroup. Was it a ploy by Ferdinand? Who knows but surprised at him cramping so early.

Thought Chelsea shaded the extra time, but it had penalties written all over it by the end of the first period.

When JT stepped up I was convinced he'd score. But it was not to be, and but for a few millimeters of wood, and a dodgy piece of turf we'd be champions of Europe today. After that I knew it was gone....and Anelka looked so not up for it!

The United fans out and about the pub last night were gracious in victory. Enjoyed their night, but didn't rub it in..credit to them. Don't get the same warm glow on here unfortuantely.

It took North Longford on page 20 to bring up a couple of major incidents. The linesman who gave the 'ghost goal' at Anfield gave United a couple of 'ghost' goal kicks that he was only yards from, Ferdinand last man when fouling Lampard, and the big one being (End of normal time I think) Ferdinand's head high challange on Joe Cole...how the f**k do you give advantage at that, and then after doing so not bring Ferdinand back for a yellow!

There is also some serious character assasination going on here. John Terry is a legend. The fella wears his heart on his sleeve, and captains Chelsea with passion. His Englishness appears to be a problem for some on here from what I can see. In addition this spiting incident that an Arsenal fan has seen fit to start a new thread about (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98)) is inconclusive, and no-one has made a complaint about including Tevez! Remember this is the same Tevez that took no time to accuse Chelsea ground staff of racism a few weeks back! I see nothing in that footage bar maybe JT calling Tevez a wee c**t or whatever.

Chelsea's crowding of the refs that people talk about is, as I have said before, something the club needs to address. I don't think it was as bad as usual last night, but I could be wrong. But geez lads take off the rose tinters. I remember on at least two occasions, United players running to the ref last night, and Fergie at half time! Is there a differance? Look back to the game in OT earlier in the year, and when Mikel fouled whoever it was to get a red card how quickly the United players are around the ref...

Anyway...congratulations gents.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2008, 08:38:03 AM
QuoteThere is also some serious character assasination going on here. John Terry is a legend. The fella wears his heart on his sleeve, and captains Chelsea with passion. His Englishness appears to be a problem for some on here from what I can see. In addition this spiting incident that an Arsenal fan has seen fit to start a new thread about (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98) is inconclusiv

I'm an Arsenal fan, so what, fail to see the relevance. Everyone here can see what a tr**p John Terry is, I have no idea why Tevez hasn't made a complaint although the fact that he is a Premier League and Champions League winner probably means he couldn't be arsed and would let his winner medals do the talking for him. As for John Terry, he is a dispicable person, the epitomy of everything that is wrong with your avearage Premiership footballer, greedy, over-rated, believes his above reproach and quite simply removed from reality.

The best thing about Terry missing that penalty was that it saved Ronaldo from a torrid of abuse from the English media, Ronaldo is worthy of our adulation, Terry is not.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 23, 2008, 09:29:02 PM
I think Nani deserves great credit for scoring his penalty the other night under immense pressure. He was the last of United's 5 penalty takers, and if he missed, Chelsea would have won it without Terry having to even take his kick.

Was surprised that Essien didn't take one before Terry. Essien has a great shot on him, and if he had gone for the power approach to a penalty, i wouldn't fancy facing it.

If Anelka had scored, the  remaining penalty takers for each team would have been Ferdinand, Evra and Vidic for United, and only Essien and Carvalho for Chelsea as Drogba had been sent off.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2008, 10:13:29 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 23, 2008, 09:29:02 PM
I think Nani deserves great credit for scoring his penalty the other night under immense pressure. He was the last of United's 5 penalty takers, and if he missed, Chelsea would have won it without Terry having to even take his kick.

Was surprised that Essien didn't take one before Terry. Essien has a great shot on him, and if he had gone for the power approach to a penalty, i wouldn't fancy facing it.

If Anelka had scored, the  remaining penalty takers for each team would have been Ferdinand, Evra and Vidic for United, and only Essien and Carvalho for Chelsea as Drogba had been sent off.

Academic I know, but I don't think that's correct. In the case of a man being sent off, one of the opposition has to 'volunteer' to *not* be on the roster. Both teams have to have the same number of eligible personnel. I'm sure United would have 'de-selected' Van der Saar, and Cech would have been Chelsea's 10th.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2008, 10:22:41 PM
Actually I'm wrong, looks like Van der Saar would not have been allowed off the hook. One of the other 3 lads would have had to step down.

"No player is allowed to take a second kick from the penalty mark until all other players on his team (who have not received a red card) have taken a kick from the penalty mark (including the goalkeepers). However, if at the beginning of kicks from the penalty mark one side has more players on the pitch than the other, then the side with more players shall select an appropriate number of players who will not take part. For example, if Team A has 11 players but Team B only has 10, then Team A will choose one player who will not take part. Note that it is not allowed to deselect a goalkeeper from having to take part in kicking from the penalty mark. Players deselected cannot play any part in the procedure."
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2008, 10:45:40 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 23, 2008, 09:29:02 PM

Essien had sai beforehand that he would not take a peno. The last time in a shoot out he missed for Lyon, and his ma had a heart attack!
Post by: David McKeown on May 24, 2008, 12:16:31 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 22, 2008, 11:52:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2008, 12:10:06 PM

Totally gutted. There are very few times in my life that football has made me feel as depressed as I am today...

Well done United..

Was in the pub from 6:30, and depsite it being fairly packed it was eerilly silent due to the tension. First half and all my concerns from a few pages back re Essien came home to roost. Ronaldo wasn't at his best, but he didn't to be to exploit the Ghanian. This battle put Chelsea on the back foot early on, and truth be told only a wee bit of luck and the goal changed that around.

Second half and I thought Chelsea were awesome. Time and time again these players meet a challange head on, and a special word of praise here for the much maligned Ashley Cole who had his best game in a Blue jersey last night. I think one of the key factors last night came on 70 minutes. Ferdinand went down with cramp, and the 2 or 3 minute delay give United time to regroup. Was it a ploy by Ferdinand? Who knows but surprised at him cramping so early.

Thought Chelsea shaded the extra time, but it had penalties written all over it by the end of the first period.

When JT stepped up I was convinced he'd score. But it was not to be, and but for a few millimeters of wood, and a dodgy piece of turf we'd be champions of Europe today. After that I knew it was gone....and Anelka looked so not up for it!

The United fans out and about the pub last night were gracious in victory. Enjoyed their night, but didn't rub it in..credit to them. Don't get the same warm glow on here unfortuantely.

It took North Longford on page 20 to bring up a couple of major incidents. The linesman who gave the 'ghost goal' at Anfield gave United a couple of 'ghost' goal kicks that he was only yards from, Ferdinand last man when fouling Lampard, and the big one being (End of normal time I think) Ferdinand's head high challange on Joe Cole...how the f**k do you give advantage at that, and then after doing so not bring Ferdinand back for a yellow!

There is also some serious character assasination going on here. John Terry is a legend. The fella wears his heart on his sleeve, and captains Chelsea with passion. His Englishness appears to be a problem for some on here from what I can see. In addition this spiting incident that an Arsenal fan has seen fit to start a new thread about (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98)) is inconclusive, and no-one has made a complaint about including Tevez! Remember this is the same Tevez that took no time to accuse Chelsea ground staff of racism a few weeks back! I see nothing in that footage bar maybe JT calling Tevez a wee c**t or whatever.

Chelsea's crowding of the refs that people talk about is, as I have said before, something the club needs to address. I don't think it was as bad as usual last night, but I could be wrong. But geez lads take off the rose tinters. I remember on at least two occasions, United players running to the ref last night, and Fergie at half time! Is there a differance? Look back to the game in OT earlier in the year, and when Mikel fouled whoever it was to get a red card how quickly the United players are around the ref...

Anyway...congratulations gents.

Not sure I agree as far as the dodgy piece of turf goes, as it was the same part of the pitch where Van Der Sar slipped in the first half before Lampard scores, if Van Der Sar didnt slip Chelsea may not even have been in the game.  Same token they may have won it.

Cant seem to find the incident you refer to at OT but from memory was it not Terry who tried to take the red card out of the refs hand as the ref tried to justifiably send Mikel off

Of course I know very little about football Im a Gillingham fan.  Says it all really
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2008, 12:37:04 AM
Not sure if the Terry card thing was the same game, but the first instance was the United players to the ref.

I a thran fecker so I'll hunt the clip out.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 24, 2008, 10:08:37 AM
Can someone clariry this matter for me.

When the Chelsea players went up to collect their runners up medals, Drogba did not go up with them, and stayed down on the pitch.

Was that because he had been sent off, and wasn't allowed up, or was he just acting the p***k ???
Post by: Shrewdness on May 24, 2008, 03:03:31 PM
I noticed that when Bobby Charlton collected the plaque from Platini, he declined to let Platini place the medal around his neck, and took it in his hand instead.

He probably didn't feel that it was fitting to wear it as he's not a player. But that didn't stop Peter Kenyon wearing his though.

Surely Chelsea could have found a more fitting ambassador to accept the plaque than Kenyon.
Post by: stew on May 24, 2008, 07:49:43 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 24, 2008, 10:08:37 AM
Can someone clariry this matter for me.

When the Chelsea players went up to collect their runners up medals, Drogba did not go up with them, and stayed down on the pitch.

Was that because he had been sent off, and wasn't allowed up, or was he just acting the p***k ???

It has long been a tradition and a rule that if sent off when the tin is being handed out the offending player cannot accept his medal and instead someone has to collect it for him.

Grant probably threw his own medal away, no way he threw Drogba's away on him.

Drogba is a disgrace to the game.
Post by: Uladh on May 24, 2008, 09:29:10 PM

Grant has been sacked to round of his fortnight
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2008, 10:54:46 PM
QuoteSurely Chelsea could have found a more fitting ambassador to accept the plaque than Kenyon

I thought that was disgraceful.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 25, 2008, 08:16:33 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 24, 2008, 03:03:31 PM
I noticed that when Bobby Charlton collected the plaque from Platini, he declined to let Platini place the medal around his neck, and took it in his hand instead.

He probably didn't feel that it was fitting to wear it as he's not a player. But that didn't stop Peter Kenyon wearing his though.

Surely Chelsea could have found a more fitting ambassador to accept the plaque than Kenyon.

I didn't know why Kenyon was going up the steps, but if he was the choosen ambassador that was a stupid move. There were plenty more worthy choices, Steve Clarke for one.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 25, 2008, 01:06:00 PM
Quote from: MAGPIE on May 24, 2008, 10:22:11 AM
i see that avram grant threw a medal into the crowd. Possibly Drogbas medal ! Or maybe just doing the Jose Mourinho

Saw this footage again last night. After Platini placed the medal around Grant's neck, he handed him another medal and had a word in his ear, presumably saying that this is Drogba's medal.

Afterwards, Grant is clearly shown on 2 occasions throwing a medal into the crowd.

The question is.....did Drogba decline to accept the medal from Grant, hence 2 medals thrown into the crowd, or was Grant so pissed off with Drogba, he thought '' f**k him'' :o
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 26, 2008, 05:28:05 AM
For those that asked for it, or said they never seen it happen...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JreilozpNE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JreilozpNE)

Tight call to see if it was inside or outside the box, but no doubt a 2nd yellow for Rio! I still can't believe the fecker gave an advantage!!
Post by: lurganblue on May 26, 2008, 07:49:07 AM
i never saw that incident during the game (must have been at the toilet or something) but that was a definate foul. What was the craic with the linesman lifting his flag then putting it down again?
Post by: David McKeown on May 26, 2008, 11:51:04 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 26, 2008, 05:28:05 AM
For those that asked for it, or said they never seen it happen...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JreilozpNE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JreilozpNE)

Tight call to see if it was inside or outside the box, but no doubt a 2nd yellow for Rio! I still can't believe the fecker gave an advantage!!

This goes back to what I said on another thread about diving.  Cole was clearly fouled but because he stayed on his feet he didnt get the foul and the second booking for ferdinand, until referees start gving frees and subsequent cards when players dont go down then diving is going to persist.  Definite free kick that one