Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on April 08, 2008, 11:36:09 PM

Title: Dunphy v Brady
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 08, 2008, 11:36:09 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=dMTGmAZ0k4M (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=dMTGmAZ0k4M)

Title: Re: Dunphy v Brady
Post by: thebandit on April 09, 2008, 12:06:52 AM
As they'd say up my way 'it took out'
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 09, 2008, 12:10:05 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 08, 2008, 11:46:48 PM
Just had a look at the comments. What's the betting that 'dooop23' is our very own whiskeysteve?

probably from F365
Post by: downredblack on April 09, 2008, 08:45:06 AM
Was Brady on the Gargle ?
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 10:06:53 AM
Saw that last nite, was absolutely hilarious.
Post by: Evil Genius on April 09, 2008, 10:21:43 AM
Quote from: downredblack on April 09, 2008, 08:45:06 AM

Do you know, I saw his ROI Press Conference just prior to the RTE show and wondered whether he hadn't had a wee loosener. I'm not saying he was drunk (he wasn't), but neither did he seem entirely sober.

Still, I'd sooner trust a drunken Brady to talk more sense than a sober Dunphy... :D
Post by: mackers on April 09, 2008, 10:30:12 AM
I thought the low poiint of the debate was when Dunphy let his jealousy take over saying that if Brady wasn't doing press conferences with Ireland he would have been able to see they had lined up the piece on Wenger. Surprised Brady didn't walk or thump him.
Brady's a humpy sh1te though!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:08:29 AM
He said 'You've jumped the fence, baby', in other words because Brady works for Arsenal, he is now 'them' rather than Dunphy's studio 'us'.
Post by: stevo-08 on April 09, 2008, 11:22:28 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:08:29 AM
He said 'You've jumped the fence, baby', in other words because Brady works for Arsenal, he is now 'them' rather than Dunphy's studio 'us'.

I thought it was in reference to Brady becoming the "translator" for the Irish Team. So now, he's a member of a management team and cant be considered an unbiased analyst. Dunphy on the other hand is completely unbiased :P
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:28:25 AM
I suppose you could interpet it either way, but I thought it was because Brady was so staunchly defending Wenger, and against the stitch up last night, that Dunphy accused him of jumping the fence, in other words he is defending Arsene because he works for Arsenal, rather than being in on the joke with the lads.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 11:33:46 AM
its was hiliarious last night , dunphy could bairly contain himself from laughing at times .Brady wasn't too impressed with Wegner been compared to john cleese he mustn't like faulty towers ;) He came across as a grumpy old man last night. Souness didn't know what to do when the pair went at it
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:42:12 AM
Souness is a different man entirely on RTE. He's interesting and says interesting things. Compare and contrast with him on Sky, probably tonight. The 3 of them on Sky will be like a choir, all saying exactly the same thing. 'Are Roma shite?' 'Yes, Richard, Yes they are'. 'Are United Great?' 'Yes Richard, yes they are'. 'Was last night a fantastic advertisement for the Premiership?' 'Yes Richard, Yes it was'. 'Won't the Liverpool Chelsea tie be another great occasion?' 'Yes Richard, yes it will'. 'Are we Borg?' 'Yes Richard, We Are Borg'.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 11:47:33 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:42:12 AM
Souness is a different man entirely on RTE. He's interesting and says interesting things. Compare and contrast with him on Sky, probably tonight. The 3 of them on Sky will be like a choir, all saying exactly the same thing. 'Are Roma shite?' 'Yes, Richard, Yes they are'. 'Are United Great?' 'Yes Richard, yes they are'. 'Was last night a fantastic advertisement for the Premiership?' 'Yes Richard, Yes it was'. 'Won't the Liverpool Chelsea tie be another great occasion?' 'Yes Richard, yes it will'. 'Are we Borg?' 'Yes Richard, We Are Borg'.
Ye az he seems to enjoy himself on rte allright , has dunphy got a bet on that Richard Dunne will be going to Arsenal or something must have mentioned his name 3 or 4 times last night
Post by: stevo-08 on April 09, 2008, 11:59:48 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:28:25 AM
I suppose you could interpet it either way, but I thought it was because Brady was so staunchly defending Wenger, and against the stitch up last night, that Dunphy accused him of jumping the fence, in other words he is defending Arsene because he works for Arsenal, rather than being in on the joke with the lads.

could well be right AZ. I just thought the way he said "you've jumped the fence" sounded like a reference to a recent move by Brady, hence why I thought it was the Irish Job.

In any case, it does provide entertainment and at least the rte guys arent afraid to speak their minds. Compare it to, as you say, the usual stuff churned out time & time again by Sky & the BBC.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 09, 2008, 12:10:58 PM

:D :D :D

Just watched it there, I was expecting it to be a lot more than it was. Pure storm in a teacup stuff and nothing more
Post by: Rossie11 on April 09, 2008, 12:19:25 PM
Thought dunphy was a complete Jack ass last night
As a pool fan I thought it was a 50/50 game and 2 dodgy calls cost the Gunners the tie.
If they had gone the other way Dunphy would have been praising Wenger for his style of football and ability to get young players to show maturity in such an atmosphere. They didnt get the credit they deserved last night in my opinion.
The John Cleese comments were a disgrace. Like something you would see in The Sun.
Anyone deserved to be compared to Cleese its Dunphy. A clueless buffoon
Post by: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 12:27:02 PM
I didn't see the clash last night and can't view youtube in work but from what I hear my sympathies lie with Brady. It seems like it was a bit of s stitch up.

Dunphy has a penchant for going over the top and especially when something happens that he doesn't like or when a core belief of his gets crushed. He feels let down that "the beautiful game" he loves represented by Arsenal has been vanquished by mechanical, sterile, cautious play represented by Liverpool and needs to vent his frustration. Wenger gets it because he has failed "the beautiful game" in Eamo's eyes as only his ineptitude could let the inferior styled Liverpool progress. I think this is as close as you can get to explaining Dunphy's logic on this matter. He's an extremist.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 12:31:23 PM
In fairness Seanie, the tag of sterile and cautious couldn't be levelled at Liverpool last night. In fact Rafa took a big gamble with the selection and they were decent going forward after they scored their equaliser. Even at 2-1 they continued to push onto Arsenal, which actually led to Arsenal's 2-2 goal, as Walcott seized on a loose ball after Gerrard had fresh aired a volley. The quality was still lacking, especially in the passing game, but the attitude was positive last night.

But I take your point in general, and you are probably right. Dunphy probably feels let down as another team he would see as being far superior to Liverpool bites the dust. It's probably the same way we felt when Armagh and Tyrone won their All Irelands :D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 12:52:03 PM
I didn't see most of the game last night and in my post above was only offering an opinion as to Dunphy's motivation. He has frequently castigated Liverpool in terms I used above so I was using them in that context.
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 12:56:13 PM
Say what you like about Dunphy but, although he may sometimes get it wrong, he is always prepared to ask the hard and unpopular questions. Unlike the rest of those wishy-washy pundits on MOTD or Sky. Makes great television too!
Post by: Rossie11 on April 09, 2008, 01:01:46 PM
There is no comparison between RTE and the rubbish on Sky but when John Cleese is dragged into analysis after a cracking champions league 1/4 final it begins to lose a bit of creditability..
If Arsenal won had they another tape in the can comparing Rafa to Manuel??
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 01:06:24 PM
I think they probably expected liverpool to win so i doubt they had very much of an equivalent nature prepared. also i don't see how they could? although it was done distastefully I could see the point dunmphy was trying to make? How aresnals season had collapsed in a somewhat farsical way. Just looking back to Gallas's ridiculous crying on the pitch weeks ago and how Wenger seems to be living in his own wee bubble where every referee is out to get arsenal.
Post by: Hound on April 09, 2008, 01:08:56 PM
Souness made a decent enough point about Wenger acting a little bit strangely recently but Dunphy's clips and comments were just comical. In fairness he didnt make Wenger do the funny Cleese walk, but I'm not sure what Dunphy's point was, if he had one. I think overall it was a big over-reaction by Brady, albeit understandable given he would have been feeling pretty sick at the result.
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 01:12:06 PM
Yes.. i think generally the point was made well by souness and Dunphy's antics were just some sort of comical representation of this. Souness stopped short of saying Wenger was losing the plot and Dunphy went further and tried to portray this (wrongly) with clips of his frustration and agitation.
Post by: J70 on April 09, 2008, 01:18:36 PM
I'm not sure what else people expect Brady to do. He's employed by Arsenal, so he would face fairly harsh questions if he returned to London not having said a word about Dunphy's ridiculing of Wenger.
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 01:22:56 PM
Yes and clearly the producers/dunphy knew he would react that way and in his absence where he was unable to object to the edited clips I suppose you could say he was "set-up" but all the same it was brilliant to watch.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2008, 01:26:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 09, 2008, 01:18:36 PM
I'm not sure what else people expect Brady to do. He's employed by Arsenal, so he would face fairly harsh questions if he returned to London not having said a word about Dunphy's ridiculing of Wenger.

I think it's a bit unfair on Brady anyway to have to act as pundit towards the team he played for and that currently employs him.

He was close to tears last night and Dunphy smelt blood in the water and being the arch wind up merchant he is went to town on poor chippy.
Post by: Billys Boots on April 09, 2008, 01:30:07 PM
Quoteit was brilliant to watch

I'd disagree, I thought it was an embarrassing, pathetic and puerile display by a man (Dunphy) who certainly doesn't like it put up to himself.  For tonight they should do a medley of all the ridiculous predictions and hissy-fits he's thrown over the years - would put the Ministry of Silly Walks in its place.  ::)
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 01:33:03 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2008, 01:26:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 09, 2008, 01:18:36 PM

I think it's a bit unfair on Brady anyway to have to act as pundit towards the team he played for and that currently employs him.

He was close to tears last night and Dunphy smelt blood in the water and being the arch wind up merchant he is went to town on poor chippy.

what exactly is chippies role with Arsenal  i know he is involved with the youths but does he scout for them or train them?
Post by: nifan on April 09, 2008, 01:47:46 PM
Brady didnt exactly stick up for those done by hatchet job clips in the past did he?

When they where wheeling out clips of Christiano Ronaldo making mistakes and laughing about how it proved Dunphy was right and he was a terrible footballer I didnt hear him complain.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 01:51:15 PM
Quote from: nifan on April 09, 2008, 01:47:46 PM
Brady didnt exactly stick up for those done by hatchet job clips in the past did he?

When they where wheeling out clips of Christiano Ronaldo making mistakes and laughing about how it proved Dunphy was right and he was a terrible footballer I didnt hear him complain.

True enough nifan, but I think he felt betrayed by the lads on the panel, especially Dunphy and Billo last night, and in fairness he would have a point. HE works for Arsenal, and Wenger is his de facto boss. It was a stitch up of Brady as much as Wenger, because if word got back to Wenger that Brady was on a panel that was pulling the piss out of Wenger, I can't imagine the boss would be too happy. I just thought it was cheap, and a nasty enough hatchet job on Brady.
Post by: nifan on April 09, 2008, 01:57:20 PM
I agree - it should be a football show, not a bloody reality tv show of such drivel.
Problem is Dunphy has been pantomime for some time as far as i can see!
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2008, 01:58:10 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=bID4UqKaHo4&feature=related
Thats the famous one the RTE panel they did on Ronaldo

I don't think it compares to last night, the montage is from the game they were watching
and they were not laughing or mocking at the stuff in the montage

It also has Brady doing his best Apres Match impression "He´s had a great SEEAASON Bill"
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 01:59:47 PM
lads it great TV...thats what we pay our money for...to be entertained, entrolled...either way we got and it hit home because were on here discussing it
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2008, 02:08:15 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 01:59:47 PM
lads it great TV...thats what we pay our money for...to be entertained, entrolled...either way we got and it hit home because were on here discussing it

Ah yeah it was fantastic stuff. Everyone is talking about it today. Maybe Dunphy pushed Brady a bit further than he normally would knowing that Brady is soon to be leaving them anyway because of his Ireland commitments.

The RTE pundits can talk a load of cobblers at times too but when they are good they are brilliant. The anti-Redknapps.
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2008, 02:10:56 PM
Discussing it?
because the embarrassment tabloidesque levels have been lowered even further.

If I want to be entertained by sarcastic abuse presented in a comic format I can watch Podge and Rodge.

Post by: Rossie11 on April 09, 2008, 02:14:35 PM
Shoe on other foot when they stitched up Dunphy about Keane. Brady cut down keane and Eammo spat the dummy and nearly walked out. Lost the plot totally.
Thought Brady was very dignified and calm actually against such a cheap shot.

Post by: ONeill on April 09, 2008, 02:15:58 PM
I thought it was great. RTE can mix the serious ith the surreal but riveting viewing as well. Brady can be a wee bit up his arse sometimes. Shared a pint with the man too in Belfast. Asked him if he was the first man to say 'codswhallop' on TV.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 02:17:19 PM
QuoteIf Arsenal won had they another tape in the can comparing Rafa to Manuel??

No. Everyone knows Benitez is a FAT waiter!
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 02:17:19 PM
QuoteIf Arsenal won had they another tape in the can comparing Rafa to Manuel??

No. Everyone knows Benitez is a FAT waiter!
disagree
everyone knows, as bad as manuel is - at least he will EVENTUALLY deliver sometime!  :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:24:20 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on April 09, 2008, 10:21:43 AM
Quote from: downredblack on April 09, 2008, 08:45:06 AM

Do you know, I saw his ROI Press Conference just prior to the RTE show and wondered whether he hadn't had a wee loosener. I'm not saying he was drunk (he wasn't), but neither did he seem entirely sober.

Still, I'd sooner trust a drunken Brady to talk more sense than a sober Dunphy... :D
the missus commented on that too - she reckoned that brady was half drunk

also thought it was a disgrace that 'we license payers fund that kind or rubbish'

then again she hates football and soccer anyhow!
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:28:35 PM
lads it great TV...thats what we pay our money for...to be entertained, entrolled...

whats this WE paleface
you pay feck all !  :D
Post by: hectorsheroes on April 09, 2008, 02:32:01 PM
Fair play to Liam Brady. He was exactly 100% right. That wizened little junkie journo's attempts at character assasination of a man very righteously frustrated by his teams mistakes and genuine bad luck this season with penalty decisions would drive anyone to distraction. To try and portray him as John Cleese was pathetic and a cheap shot. Every respect to Brady for not tolerating it. However fair play to the panel and Souness for not being afraid to speak their mind. Giles being completely correct in mentioning Gerards stroppiness and toys out of pram football last night. On ITV he was captain marvel of course. Liam Brady take a bow for not resorting to tabloid goading and telling it the way you see it as a proper football man
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 09, 2008, 03:23:19 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on April 09, 2008, 01:30:07 PM
Quoteit was brilliant to watch

I'd disagree, I thought it was an embarrassing, pathetic and puerile display by a man (Dunphy) who certainly doesn't like it put up to himself.  For tonight they should do a medley of all the ridiculous predictions and hissy-fits he's thrown over the years - would put the Ministry of Silly Walks in its place.  ::)

Jaysus, that would only feed the monster...
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:28:35 PM
lads it great TV...thats what we pay our money for...to be entertained, entrolled...

whats this WE paleface

you have to pay for your TV licence..well I do anyway
Post by: North Longford on April 09, 2008, 04:14:50 PM
It was going on from before the game.
Bill mentioned to Brady that he would soon be leaving the panel due to his role with Ireland. Quick as a flash Dunphy retorts.....he could be back soon too!
Brady didn't really like that either................Dunphy is just a pure wind up merchant
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 04:28:13 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:28:35 PM

whats this WE paleface

you have to pay for your TV licence..well I do anyway
your sterling goes towards paying the BBC and your queen
not our RTE and Irish channels !

that reminds me - must start a thread on you impoverished northerners and brits
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2008, 04:34:42 PM
I thought you were a northerner Lynchboy?
or is there some sort of exorcism you can go through?
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 09, 2008, 04:34:42 PM
I thought you were a northerner Lynchboy?
or is there some sort of exorcism you can go through?

what part of the North or NI is Dublin in ? ;)
Post by: Harps 21 on April 09, 2008, 04:40:34 PM
While Dunphy did go over the top, it's moments like last night which make you appreciate all the more RTE's coverage with the lads compared to ITV and SKY's colourless drivel - could you honestly see Gary Lineker or Jamie Redknapp coming up with cracks like that??
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 04:40:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 09, 2008, 04:36:25 PM
I always thought that he was from England. Just seems English. Maybe it's just me....
you lads always get touchy when we kick your asses...
eg stuttgart 1988 and I'll leave Mr Fearon to come up with the rest of the historical victories

no need to be so bitter just because our Euro is wiping the floor with Mrs. Windsors pocket posters!  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 09, 2008, 04:40:59 PM

Jees you have me in stitches :D :D :D :D :D but your are right.
Post by: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 08:26:12 PM
Quote from: Harps 21 on April 09, 2008, 04:40:34 PM
While Dunphy did go over the top, it's moments like last night which make you appreciate all the more RTE's coverage with the lads compared to ITV and SKY's colourless drivel - could you honestly see Gary Lineker or Jamie Redknapp coming up with cracks like that??

Totally agree!

Quote from: ONeill on April 09, 2008, 02:15:58 PM
I thought it was great. RTE can mix the serious ith the surreal but riveting viewing as well. Brady can be a wee bit up his arse sometimes. Shared a pint with the man too in Belfast. Asked him if he was the first man to say 'codswhallop' on TV.

I love these people who are always "sharing a pint" with famous people.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 09, 2008, 09:13:02 PM

Must have been more than a pint.
Post by: ONeill on April 09, 2008, 09:47:13 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 08:26:12 PM

Why do you love me?

Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 09, 2008, 10:09:35 PM
It wasnt just Rte who brought up the John Cleese comparison. Tommy Smith brought it up during the game on ESPN only he called him Manuel  :D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 11:26:38 PM
Tommy Smith on ESPN is simply the stupidest and worst commentator I have ever heard. A complete clown.
Post by: Main Street on April 10, 2008, 12:14:45 AM
Empty chair on the RTE panel tonight where Liam should have been.
Only Giles and the decrepit lizard were there along with Bill.

Anyway Liam looks the part along with Tardelli in the Ireland set up and the Great One still has to make his entrance there.

Post by: gawa316 on April 10, 2008, 12:21:11 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 11:26:38 PM
Tommy Smith on ESPN is simply the stupidest and worst commentator I have ever heard. A complete clown.

Who is this boy or where did he come from? Has he ever played football?

I think he's hilarious.

'In the back of the old onion bag!'
Post by: mayo51 on April 10, 2008, 01:54:55 AM
he used to be the   g.a.a  commentator in gaelic park about 10 years ago until he was discovered by espn  ;)he also does the commentry on the   st. patricks day parade on ch.9 and was the parade  grand marshall   this year.he has improved quite a bit over the years from what he was but i still would not rate him
Post by: J70 on April 10, 2008, 02:13:39 AM

He's all right when you get used to him. Personally, I think the Louth accent is part of his problem! ;D
Post by: gawa316 on April 10, 2008, 02:41:46 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 10, 2008, 02:13:39 AM

He's all right when you get used to him. Personally, I think the Louth accent is part of his problem! ;D

When I heard Tommy Smith was commentating I was expecting a broad scouse accent.

Robbie Mustoe also commentates I think
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 02:43:54 AM

Which one of you bought the pint ?
Post by: Puckoon on April 10, 2008, 04:38:18 AM
He is absolutely terrible - I cringe when hes on. Gets funny when that Eric Winalda and him are disagreeing.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:34:12 AM
Quote from: dodo on April 10, 2008, 02:43:54 AM

Which one of you bought the pint ?

It was an odd experience. He was doing some kind of promotion in the Bot for the 2002 World Cup - a Q&A session - hardly anyone turned up as it was at 12pm and was scarcely advertised. I didn't even know he was going to be there. Utd were playing Chelsea I think and this was to be followed by an Arsenal game at 3. He dandered to the front bar, sat down beside a couple of us and watched the game. He took great pleasure in Utd losing - I think they lost 3-0. Anyways he wanted to stay on and watch the Arsenal game and probably would've only that the bar started to fill up with people who just stared at him or would ask for autographs. Plus his PA (fine rack) kept reminding him that he needed to be at Highbury that evening. I wouldn't say he was the warmest of blokes and a bit aloof but not too prima-donna-ed in that he did sit with the unwashed.
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2008, 11:18:03 AM
Quote from: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 08:26:12 PM

You'll be glad to know I'm attending a private champagne reception with a selection of famous people on Saturday 19th April.
Post by: doire na raithe on April 10, 2008, 10:06:04 PM
and who would that include?
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 11:51:45 PM
Whole clip - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPgxJXRly5g