Anybody up for a Christmas gathering?
No problem!!! wolly toms this sunday morning... say 9am???
im sure el cuervo will be in attendance anyway and a few other likely lads... ;)
would this be a belfast gathering lecale?
Quote from: behind the wire on November 27, 2007, 11:37:27 AM
Aye. Why not? There's a right few poster work or live in the Belfast area.Others could get the bus in. Let's get together for a few beers.
hatfield house?
might consider it as long as fearon isnt in attendance!
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 27, 2007, 12:06:35 PM
Aye. Why not? There's a right few poster work or live in the Belfast area.Others could get the bus in. Let's get together for a few beers.
What about us half breed Mexicans ?
sounds like a plan Lecale, any ideas where and when?
Quote from: downredblack on November 27, 2007, 01:28:28 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 27, 2007, 12:06:35 PM
What about us half breed Mexicans ?
the new road is a great job!!ye'll be in belfast before the angelus bell!!
The Courthouse Bar in Lurgan. That would be halfway for all of us...
Quote from: illdecide on November 27, 2007, 02:05:41 PM
The Courthouse Bar in Lurgan. That would be halfway for all of us...
I will pass on that illdecide!
Sounds good, looks like your nominated as party organiser Lecale. ;)
Count me in. As long as I'm not out too late.
don't let ArmaghforSam near the guinness lads you know what happened his "friend" :D
Any nominations for a venue?
hatfield house. havent been down there since finished uni. good place for a nights craic, always plenty of gaa talk.
Has this been put in the GAA discussion section so Sammy G, Evil Genius et al won't see it?
there you go lecale, blasmere has caught you out.
10 sq.
I'd go along as long as there's no auld rough stuff. We should aim for somewhere in the city centre that won't get too crowded - otherwise we won't know who turns up.
Hatfield's full of students and anyway I've been bared since the fued.
would the rose and crown do then guillem?
in seriousness is there anywhere round belfast we could go?
The Rosie or Parador would be first class.
The Spaniard would probably be big enough to accommodate. Or if you want something a bot more traditional, Kelly Cellars, Morning Star, Front Page, Cosgroves, The Hercules, upstairs in Maddens, John Hewitt, the Crown, McHughs, Pat's Bar or the Rotterdam.
Not much choice really...
Lecale2, as the "Party Daddy", it is up to you to draw up a list of venues (alot have already been listed) and a date (that should be fun, trying to accomodate everyone - suggest you pick a date and stick with it, if it doesn't suit everyone then tough!).
Good luck! ;)
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 04:33:50 PM
If you left it until the new year.
Saturday 9th February.
Casement Park Social Club.
That would sort of negate the CHRISTMAS gathering theme
With Christmas dos and Birthday dos in December, there is no way I can make.
Dessie Farrell wants to come too.
Quote from: thejuice on November 27, 2007, 04:42:39 PM
Dessie Farrell wants to come too.
U can't beat a gud aul lynching, I'm in...
Perhaps now is a good time to start major discussion around ladies sports to try and get more ladies involved (in the interest of discussion of course).
I'll go if someone wants to pay for my flights :D
Mc hughs bar in Belfast would be as good a spot as any lads. It is in the cathedral quarters just up from the spaniard. Before anyone asks, yes they would let you in with santa hats. :) So is this going to happen or are we just talking shite about it?
While a part of me wants to attend, another part is scared...
Quote from: Rois on November 27, 2007, 05:29:06 PM
While a part of me wants to attend, another part is scared...
wouldn't blame ya for been scared rois :D
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 05:13:12 PM
What's wrong with Casement?
We all get liquored, Laoislad fiddles with the floodlights and we all go out and have a kickabout.
Jody Gormley approaches us and asks us to attend training the next day!
Maybe Jody posts as well?
Pre-Christmas or between the 26th-31st?
Right I've just got a PM from Mod. Anyone who doesn't attend the gathering will be banned for the whole month of January.
Given works parties etc I reckon meeting up around tea time for a few scoops is probably the best bet. If we go for a day during the week we should avoid most parties. Any of the venues suggested by Donagh are OK by me.
How about meeting in Madden's between 5 and 6 on Wednesday 5th December?
QuoteHow about meeting in Madden's between 5 and 6 on Wednesday 5th December?
Only for an hour? I'm pre-ordering.
We'll meet between 5 and 6. You can stay as long as you're allowed.
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 27, 2007, 07:01:54 PM
We'll meet between 5 and 6. You can stay as long as you're allowed.
I'll be away befor I arrive then, cant do that time
I'll call in at that time next Wednesday.
Somebody should warn Ritchie to get extra staff on!
Pssst ... all non-nordies - what about changing the locks on this board when they're away?
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:20:32 PM
QuoteSomebody should warn Ritchie to get extra staff on!
And a rake of sandwiches and sausage rolls.
They'd be for the Down lads. According to Mighty Quinn they'll not be buying any drink!
Role call, who is gonna bethere? I will try and get a pass out
I could call in for a couple of hours but I'm not much of a drinker.
Where is Madden's anyway?
If Lecale2 is there I hear Johnnycool would be interested in meeting up with him! ;D
Never heard of Maddens but sounds like a dacent enough idea. Bit strange though but sure might give it a go!
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 06:57:43 PM
All day rip. 26/12/07. St. Paul's, Shaws Road. Errigal Ciaran v Rostrevor (maybe). Chaffed holes welcome.
You told me you were coming to Greencastle on that day!
Wednesday's not a great day for me. Try to leave any drinking to times when I don't have to work the following day – will be in 9 to 9 on the Thursday – if I'm still there at half eight get Richie to order me a taxi.
Every bar in Belfast will be packed with Christmas dos on the 7th or the 14th so if its going to be at the weekend Saturday night would be the only one feasible.
I'm going to regret this I'm sure.....
But what sort of place is it?!
The run is on St Stephen's Day hardstation
http://www.gotobelfast.com/thingstodo/viewdetail.cfm/TDVenue_Key/433/TDGenre_Key/3/level/page/category_key/197/Page_Key/279/parent_key/0/type/Page/PaGeName/Maddens_Bar.htm
what is the exact date, time and venue
will i bring the cup
Is Maddens that dive in Castle Street?
i would say i can make it to Madden's that day!!
Now where did i put that muzzle?
Quote from: SeanSouth on November 28, 2007, 09:42:26 AM
It's in Berry Street
Quote from: SeanSouth on November 28, 2007, 09:42:26 AM
No. If you read the directions posted 13 posts before you.
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:49:43 PM
Come out the side entrance/exit of Castlecourt. Turn right. After about 20 yards, cross the street. You're there.
Right I'll call in for a while an see how it goes.
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on November 28, 2007, 12:12:17 PM
Will you be the lad wearing the balaclava? ;)
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 28, 2007, 01:24:54 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on November 28, 2007, 12:12:17 PM
Will you be the lad wearing the balaclava? ;)
that's a good point, how will we know who is a member of the board when we get in to the bar, and who is just a Joe Public?
Quote from: stpauls on November 28, 2007, 01:42:55 PM
that's a good point, how will we know who is a member of the board when we get in to the bar, and who is just a Joe Public?
At 5pm on a Wednesday, you'll not have any problems telling the regulars from the GAABoard people.
Sure we'll all wear a carnation! ;)
Lecale are you going to extend the invitation to the members of OWC, as I think most of them are from the Belfast area?
Damn this sounds like fun. Pity I can't make it. It's early I know but how about a pre-championship piss-up to wish each other the best (or not). More time and all that. I'm really dissapointed here. Around League final day or something.
Wednesday, 05 December 2007
Barclays Premier League
Newcastle v Arsenal, 19:45
Believe me lads you will know the members of the Gaa board in the bar it will be the lads who walk in with the shifty look . we will be looking for the bollox that we have argued with the whole year :) but then once we get a few pints in then the debates will start again but it will be good craic, especially the guys who were asking others to meet up for fights :). To these guys who say they are not big drinkers then as far as i know maddens flogs orange juice and it is also rumoured they have had the odd sighting of 7 up. Get it into you.
Not sure who I'll go as.
O Neill do you look the same as you did 15 years ago but just with a new shiny dome.
There will probably be about 3 people at it as O Neill is probably about 4 or 5 of the people that have posted on this thread.
Is that steak knifes we brother then?
Fecking love christmas at home. The fact that Id be missing this monumentous occasion is just adding to the misery.
Will someone take pictures?
Quote from: hardstation on November 28, 2007, 03:26:11 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 03:23:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 28, 2007, 03:10:41 PM
Not sure who I'll go as.
forkinknife, maybe?
Fcuk sake, Sam.
Anyway, I hope he goes as the peelers.
Feckin got his entire network banned (so I'm told) for some of his posts, did the bould forkinknife.
I won't make it,as I once told a joke about Slaughneil and I would be worried that some of them would turn up looking for me and they would do a bit of digging.
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 28, 2007, 09:56:48 PM
Lads, surely if you are serious about a get together, next Wednesday in Belfast is not the time or the place. It only suits the Frankies and those working in Belfast. Donagh could probably arrange a sleep over in Connoly House though.
You won't be able to suit all 1821 members, so it would probably be best to organise regional get togethers. You could organise one in the Newry / south Armagh / Louth region at a time that suits the target audience.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 29, 2007, 08:22:48 AM
You won't be able to suit all 1821 members, so it would probably be best to organise regional get togethers. You could organise one in the Newry / south Armagh / Louth region at a time that suits the target audience.
There you go 5Times, you could have Francie Molloy and the Prentice brothers as special guests
I'm in Belfast so I don't mind going to Madden's next week. I'd go to one in the Newry area as well mind!
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 08:48:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 28, 2007, 03:26:11 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 03:23:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 28, 2007, 03:10:41 PM
Not sure who I'll go as.
forkinknife, maybe?
Fcuk sake, Sam.
Anyway, I hope he goes as the peelers.
Feckin got his entire network banned (so I'm told) for some of his posts, did the bould forkinknife.
I won't make it,as I once told a joke about Slaughneil and I would be worried that some of them would turn up looking for me and they would do a bit of digging.
Well there's no point me going now
Quote from: Donagh on November 29, 2007, 08:57:17 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 29, 2007, 08:22:48 AM
There you go 5Times, you could have Francie Molloy and the Prentice brothers as special guests
Is that informer Molloy Donagh?
Lads is this gathering actually going to happen??
Thats the stuff south armagh a man up for a party not only one but two that's the christmas spirit we wnat here. :)
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 29, 2007, 03:22:34 PM
What are you looking a gilt-edged invitation?
Quote from: Donagh on November 29, 2007, 04:04:25 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 29, 2007, 03:22:34 PM
What are you looking a gilt-edged invitation?
No Donagh, just confirmation that it's going ahead! :P
ho about close to the border to accomodate a few our our southern brethern (mexicans)
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 05:12:44 PM
Just had a look at my map. Couldn't find this place. Is it near Galway? That would be a bit far away for me.
keep talking smartarse.maybe you wud like it in tyrone? or maybe not,we wudnt want to bump into your woman ;)
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 29, 2007, 05:22:36 PM
Brilliant idea, lets have it in Dundalk.
Ah, come on up 5Times. You can stay in the spare room with Hardy and Hill is Blue.
Will yous be wearing GAA shirts or coaches jackets or something. How will I know who is who?
Do the DUP and SF not have a joint publication now ????? ;) :D ;D
Are the shops open late in Belfast. If they are I could maybe persuade the missus to drive me up for a bit of shopping then nip in for a few. I'd hate to miss a gathering like this.
I'd say Donagh will be sitting at the bar looking menacing.
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:MnVy32kq8nva-M:http://www.chicagopride.com/photos/filebox/149/may1.jpg)
Just be careful with your oul salutes SkyBlues, the natives might not take kindly to them
(http://www.victims.org.uk/oduffy1.jpg)
(http://www.silviapecota.com/media/1A_Salute/Salute.jpg)
Why don't you like women Donagh?
I would like to go on Wednesday evening but I've got a dental appointent in Newry at 3.30. I could, perhaps, send my teeth in to the dentist by recorded delivery and that way I could keep both appointments. What do you think??
Quote from: Sky Blue on November 29, 2007, 06:16:42 PM
Why don't you like women Donagh?
I was going to send you an email there to explain BlueSack until I seen it had a '.co.uk' address.
Coming to Belfast indeed, that West Brit wannabe would shit himself crossing the Boyne.
You'd be the only sane one there Mighty Man!
Quote from: Sky Blue on November 29, 2007, 05:42:12 PM
Are the shops open late in Belfast. If they are I could maybe persuade the missus to drive me up for a bit of shopping then nip in for a few. I'd hate to miss a gathering like this.
Shops are open till 10pm during the week in December. You could have a look around the Christmas Market and go on the Belfast Eye while you're up here.
Quotego on the Belfast Eye while you're up here.
Its like the London Eye
But its in Belfast
I'm sorry Donagh you've lost me again. ???
What are you on about? I've been to Belfast many times and I've also been in Banbridge & Newry & Omagh. Most of us aren't as obsessed with the River Boyne as you Nordies are ;D
Now let me enjoy my pint in peace.
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/nottingham/content/images/2005/08/25/tramp_master_361x470.gif)
Who's 100% cast-iron going?
I'll be there. God willing.
Pssst. What about taking up a wee collection for Lecale 2 for organising this. Obviously we'll have to keep it quiet from him as if he found out that we were organising such a thing he'd be very embarrassed. Say £2 of €3 per head and sure if you don't get any head you can always get your money back
unless some thing happens between now and next week i will be there!
I want to go 2. i cant there before 6 but will yous all still be there ???
I'll not be in Madden's on Wednesday. Going to the meeting in the Elk instead. Sorry.
There's an idea!
ok, with the chief organiser heading to the Elk tomorrow, is the 'gathering' going to go ahead?
Quote from: hardstation on December 04, 2007, 05:09:33 PM
On or off?
looks like it is off as no-one seems to want to go, if the lack of replies is anything to go by!
Quote from: hardstation on December 04, 2007, 05:32:52 PM
He got his dates mixed up again.
Its not as funny when you set yourself up hardstation....
What am I saying, that was still funny :D :D :D :D
Didn't really kick off this due to the day (middle of week). Still thinking of heading out though to watch Arse.
won't be at the gathering, the missus' aunt has died and i will be at the wake tomorrow evening, have a good night if it goes ahead!!
Might head there meself, if only to give a Lourgan perspective on things.
Jez lads, youse are dropping like flies!
I'll be there anyway.
So far 3 going - anymore for going?
couple of us.
myself, Faidoir Ard Macha, not sure about Tyroneman or Donagh
I'll take a run down once the traffic dies down a bit.
Be there about 5.30
How'd it go?
If it didn't - what about a real push for the period between Christmas and New Year - say Sat 29th.
Quote from: ONeill on December 05, 2007, 11:22:43 PM
How'd it go?
If it didn't - what about a real push for the period between Christmas and New Year - say Sat 29th.
Aye, somewhere in Beal Feirste then.
Quote from: Orior on December 05, 2007, 11:58:30 PM
How'd it go?
Aye, somewhere in Beal Feirste then.
sounds good, will hopefully be able to make it this time!!
How'd it go?
Feck that, I'll be in Newry that night. Don't suppose anyone will be about the Bridge?
Quote from: hardstation on December 12, 2007, 11:09:41 PM
Bringing this back up to give some people a bit of respite from the GPA/Grants/Malcontents.
I'm happy with the date.
Does anyone have a venue in mind?
Copper Face Jacks :)
QuoteI'm happy with the date.
Does anyone have a venue in mind?
Didn't think the date was the best meself. Would a lot of people on the board who are based in belfast not be from the country and be at home over the festive period?
By that date ye'd be lookin out of it again. There's only so many re-runs of Datsun Donaghy and driving over badgers a man can take.
Where's Copper Faced Jacks?
I hear Madden's has been sold because we didn't turn up last week.
Quote from: Guillem2 on December 13, 2007, 10:10:44 AM
Nah, Ritchie has had to go and get another jar of pickled eggs because we ate the all.
Quote from: Donagh on December 13, 2007, 10:37:47 AM
Nah, Ritchie has had to go and get another jar of pickled eggs because we ate the all.
Ah the pickled eggs - they were lovely.
what year is the christmas gathering taking place lads?
It is on Harcourt street in Dublin. It has a reputation of been a country night club and full of female guards, nurses and teachers. So basically a great place to pull the ladies
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on December 13, 2007, 05:34:24 PM
It is on Harcourt street in Dublin. It has a reputation of been a country night club and full of female guards, nurses and teachers. So basically a great place to pull the ladies
A deserved reputation at that! Only time you should pull a bird in Coppers is if you want stabbed or to get your walletnicked the next morning!
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on December 13, 2007, 05:34:24 PM
Yep a great place to pick up a ban-garda or a nurse...Ah those were the days ;)
God this is far to far over my head. Give me the Slaughtneil disco.
Richtie handed over the reins today. They reckon the new man from Ardoyne won't change anything...
You fellas could not organise a piss-up in a Brewery, in fact youse make our MLAs look dynamic.At your current rate this gathering might possibly be organised in time for the boards Centennial Celebrations, but i wouldnt bet on it taking place
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 15, 2007, 12:32:54 PM
If there is to be a Board Gathering, why not have it on All Ireland Final day. No excuses for not being in Dublin on that day, everyone has plenty of advance warning and it will give the Armagh fans their first chance of getting to Dublin in 2008.
Do you need directions 5times?
Did you know there is a new road?
For those who want to gather, the night befoe the AIF
Quote from: Pangurban on December 15, 2007, 04:06:55 AM
You fellas could not organise a piss-up in a Brewery, in fact youse make our MLAs look dynamic.At your current rate this gathering might possibly be organised in time for the boards Centennial Celebrations, but i wouldnt bet on it taking place
Pangurban, there was a gathering on the original date, but it was only attended by a select few!
Would be dubious about any other planned gatherings happening, as there seems to be a lack of commitment regarding attendance.
Quote from: Donagh on December 15, 2007, 01:44:35 AM
Richtie handed over the reins today. They reckon the new man from Ardoyne won't change anything...
Give it time. It wasn't sold for nothing. I'd expect that area to be redeveloped within a couple of years.
Quote from: Guillem2 on December 17, 2007, 12:09:29 PM
Quote from: Donagh on December 15, 2007, 01:44:35 AM
Give it time. It wasn't sold for nothing. I'd expect that area to be redeveloped within a couple of years.
? can you elaborate??
QuoteA Board meeting on the night before the All Ireland would be a good idea,
A logical idea alright. Should be a good few about Dublin that weekend.
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 17, 2007, 01:41:05 PM
QuoteA Board meeting on the night before the All Ireland would be a good idea,
A logical idea alright. Should be a good few about Dublin that weekend.
Only Kerry Mike and Mikey Sheehy can confirm their attendance at this point. The rest of us will have to wait