So Ed Hearne going to foot the bill? The **** is looking for a freebie by the looks of it.
He can foxtrot oscar.
Good luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Quote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Yes she would. Easily. Get a decent undercard
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Maybe she would then... You can have my ticket 🎟
In the past, it sounded like the promoters wanted either the GAA or the government to take a bath on the cost of running the event.
Any more willingness from them this time around?
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Aye but not because people are genuinely interested in watching her. The people of this island are event junkies and would go to the opening of an envelope and it's x10 now in the Instagram era.
There had been zero evidence for years that KT could fill Croker. If it had been a realistic possibility it would have happened by now. Hearn has never wanted to pay the cost as he knew selling out wasn't going to happen, hence why you had the likes of McGregor saying he'd help foot the bill.
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AMYes she would. Easily. Get a decent undercard
Do you ever actually have evidence for anything you say or just make up whatever shit comes into your head and throw it out there? Nobody outside a tiny niche group of enthusiasts buys a ticket to watch boxing for anything on the undercard.
Anyone who thinks there is a market for 90,000 tickets for boxing in Ireland is deluded. While I don't doubt she could put on an event in the Point or similar, she risks losing her arse and retirement fund on this one.
Also I see that gobshite minister for sport putting himself in the middle of this. Don't worry lads, he won't stop it happening.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 07, 2026, 11:11:44 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Aye but not because people are genuinely interested in watching her. The people of this island are event junkies and would go to the opening of an envelope and it's x10 now in the Instagram era.
Every country is coming down with event junkies.
But event junkies, they revel in FOMO experiences.
What's the biggest boxing event ever held in Ireland? Maybe 15,000 people? I don't know. But hosting big boxing events isn't part of our culture. And my guess would be if there aren't enough hardcore followers of an event/experience to swing the scarcity pendulum towards FOMO, then the "influencers" aren't going to roll in behind it and force the issue.
Wouldn't watch women boxing live myself, men's boxing can be poor enough fair but 90 grand at Croker would be some event to pull off.
There are a handful of events that can attract 90,000 punters.
-AIF final
-AIH final
-Rugby v England when they are winning
-Ryder Cup
-Irish Open
But none of them actually can.
If there was a market for boxing events of this scale we would have them. Dunne's last fight in 2009 is the last big boxing event I can recall and that was ballpark 10,000 punters.
File under daft idea, but likely a stalking horse for somewhere else.
Try branding it as Katie Taylor Swift, should sell out no problem
Womens boxing is a hard watch as it is. Never filling Croke Park for a Katie Taylor fight.
I would love to see some of you boys get in the ring with Katie.
Bit of a broad brush to tar women's boxing with. Genuinely can't remember a bad Taylor fight. Certainly not in recent history.
If it was marketed as Farewell to Katie and thank you for the memories - and a meaninful match up, of course it would pack out Croke Park.
But apart from the premium seats youde need to be realistic about the prices.
Youde get 30 or 40k who would go if the ticket was 20 Euro....that mightnt go if they were 50 Euro.
Price realistically, and the place will be full to the rafters.
Nothing less than Katie deserves.
Quote from: laoislad on March 07, 2026, 07:34:06 PMI would love to see some of you boys get in the ring with Katie.
It wouldn't bring in 90k if she did so that makes no sense. Not surprised though
I seem to recall it was a struggle to sell out the 3 arena last time?
Quote from: bannside on March 07, 2026, 09:18:12 PMIf it was marketed as Farewell to Katie and thank you for the memories - and a meaninful match up, of course it would pack out Croke Park.
A complete fantasy. If it was that viable it would have happened already.
Really? In this sports mad country? Open the gates at 20Euro and there wouldnt be too many empty seats. Throw in a couple of crowd pleasers in the supporting bouts.
Quote from: bannside on March 08, 2026, 08:36:42 AMReally? In this sports mad country? Open the gates at 20Euro and there wouldnt be too many empty seats. Throw in a couple of crowd pleasers in the supporting bouts.
There isn't a massive interest in women's boxing.
A good chance that people who proclaim her greatness have never seen her fight and would not bother going to her last one.
A bit like the skort controversy. They same right-on crowd who were outraged by it, still don't go watch camogie.
Quote from: bannside on March 08, 2026, 08:36:42 AMReally? In this sports mad country? Open the gates at 20Euro and there wouldnt be too many empty seats. Throw in a couple of crowd pleasers in the supporting bouts.
What crowd pleasers exactly do you think would be on the undercard of a Katie Taylor fight where tickets would be 20 euro? Maybe Mayweather-Pacquiao III?
It is professional boxing. The point is to make money. Eddie isn't going paying for CP and then selling off tens of thousands of cheap tickets to give KT her final Kodak moment.
Quote from: snoopdog on March 08, 2026, 07:53:20 AMI seem to recall it was a struggle to sell out the 3 arena last time?
Shush. God forbid the millions of KT fans don't get to see the 'greatest sportsperson Ireland has ever produced'.
No doubt there would be plenty of tickets sold if it's at Croke Park, mainly for the novelty factor. But let's not pretend this is bigger than it is. The average sports fan wouldn't know the first thing about Katie Taylor or her career. If Eddie Hearn thought this was a goer financially then it would have happened a couple of times already. He has stadium fights Britain every few months over the past few years because he knows when the numbers work.
We aren't a sports mad country. Even GAA crowds are down.
Nobody is saying KT can't get a crowd in, but there simply aren't 90,000 boxing punters out there. Even the soccer team have struggled, the Hungary and Portugal games were the first sell outs in years. If soccer is happy to get 51,000 in, where are your 90,000 boxing fans coming from?
This is nothing to do with KT. This is the consequence of boxing going behind a pay wall. I remember my old man saying that up to the 80's there were a half dozen big, not to be missed, sports events on telly. The AIF and AIH finals, the FA Cup final, the European Cup final and the one or two heavyweight title fights. Boxing removed itself to go ppv and it drifted out of the mainstream. There are of course fans and a market, but the casual boxing fan is gone.
So, we are not a sports mad country then!
When it comes to supporting our own there isnt a country in the world that pro rata punches its weight as much as Ireland in supporting our sporting teams/stars.
Probably be 40k in Cheltenham this week.
I stand by what I said. Price seats accordingly and the place would be jumping.
Quote from: bannside on March 08, 2026, 12:14:46 PMSo, we are not a sports mad country then!
When it comes to supporting our own there isnt a country in the world that pro rata punches its weight as much as Ireland in supporting our sporting teams/stars.
I don't think that's is true. We don't support our, for example, track and field athletes. Boxing is very niche. How many went to the rowing?
Cheltenham is a hangover from the pubs being closed in Paddies day. And do I need to tell you it's overseas? How many Irish race events, which are generally higher quality, get 40k in?
Quote from: bannside on March 08, 2026, 12:14:46 PMSo, we are not a sports mad country then!
Unsubstantiated waffle.
Womens GAA dont get great crowds. Seen some match highlights lately, where there's only a few dozen , or on other occasions, maybe only a man in an Offaly jersey behind the goals
LOL. Take the drink out of Cheltenham and see how many attend.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 08, 2026, 12:36:17 PMQuote from: bannside on March 08, 2026, 12:14:46 PMSo, we are not a sports mad country then!
LOL. Take the drink out of Cheltenham and see how many attend.
A strange thing to point to with a view to bigging up Irish sports attendences all the same.
You wouldn't get 90000 at any mens boxing fight in Ireland, which is of a far higher standard, so never going to happen for a womens fight.
Living in Australia I can tell you that they support their sports stars just as much as we do.
I don't doubt that as a nation we love sport - but is it more so than most other nations? I wouldn't think so.
I see our hockey team have qualified for the world cup - does the casual sports fan care? Probably not. Let's not pretend we're any better than the rest of the world who also love sport as much as us.
If we are such a sports mad country then why are most county grounds three quarter empty most league games. I see the same faces at the games i go to. Theyre the sports mad element. Not those sitting in front of the tv or following the rugby team because theyre successful
Or filling out croke pk for an all ireland final. Very few go to more than a handful of games race meetings etc on a regular basis.
Those suggesting that Matchroom and Eddie Hearn should sell the majority of tickets at €20 must never of heard tell of Matchroom and Eddie Hearn before. The man would sell his own Granny for a pound note.
Quote from: square_ball on March 09, 2026, 08:38:42 AMThose suggesting that Matchroom and Eddie Hearn should sell the majority of tickets at €20 must never of heard tell of Matchroom and Eddie Hearn before. The man would sell his own Granny for a pound note.
Tickets for amateur boxing shows in leisure centres and local gyms are £25-£40. KT won't be fighting anywhere for £20 or anywhere near it.
Quote from: snoopdog on March 09, 2026, 08:20:48 AMIf we are such a sports mad country then why are most county grounds three quarter empty most league games. I see the same faces at the games i go to. Theyre the sports mad element. Not those sitting in front of the tv or following the rugby team because theyre successful
Or filling out croke pk for an all ireland final. Very few go to more than a handful of games race meetings etc on a regular basis.
Exactly. Now trying being a 'minority' sport, basketball, hockey, swimming, rowing athletics and so on. We probably overachieve sports wise, but most of the top athletes have to move overseas to train. Because there aren't the arses on seats to have professionalism.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0603/1576600-taylors-croke-park-finale-set-to-be-confirmed-on-friday/
So there may be progress here.
If she wants 80,000 there I suspect tickets will be close to free. If Hearne wants to make money off it they will need to start charging at a hundred. I genuinely wish KT all the best, but this seems like a mad auld idea.
Never underestimate an Irish bandwagon!
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:51:59 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0603/1576600-taylors-croke-park-finale-set-to-be-confirmed-on-friday/
If she wants 80,000 there I suspect tickets will be close to free. If Hearne wants to make money off it they will need to start charging at a hundred. I genuinely wish KT all the best, but this seems like a mad auld idea.
Does it have to be or does she want 80,000? Have it in Croke Park with the top tiers closed off and Hill 16 used as the entrance.
Muhammad Ali got in over 18,000 punters in 1972. The event was a disaster financially.
Then breakeven was 35k. I would imagine 40+k would be breakeven this time.
A tough ask methinks.
Seemingly they are going big with family tickets.
It'll also remove some elements ie McGregor fan types.
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 03, 2026, 06:23:26 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:51:59 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0603/1576600-taylors-croke-park-finale-set-to-be-confirmed-on-friday/
Does it have to be or does she want 80,000? Have it in Croke Park with the top tiers closed off and Hill 16 used as the entrance.
Then go to the RDS and not have to pay Croke Park prices
I'd be concerned that the tax payer isn't picking up some of this. Why all the begging about Croke Park and the price of it to the media, why were ministers talking about it. Has Katie got a special deal with CP because of government intervention. If they could afford it why wasn't it just done. Why the palava.
Hope it happens for her and that it sells out, least we could do for her as a country. Tickets should be made affordable and pushed through every boxing club in the country. Probably the greatest Irish sportsperson ever.
If they can make it a decent undercard at all, then there should be a good crowd at it. I dont suspect 80k though.
IMO though Croke Park is too big for boxing. Imagine being on the top deck, towards the back, and trying to make out what's happening in the ring. I suspect you would end up watching it on the big screens.
Quote from: lurganblue on June 04, 2026, 09:03:09 AMIf they can make it a decent undercard at all, then there should be a good crowd at it. I dont suspect 80k though.
IMO though Croke Park is too big for boxing. Imagine being on the top deck, towards the back, and trying to make out what's happening in the ring. I suspect you would end up watching it on the big screens.
Ah definitely, hard enough watching football from up there. If you priced the tickets right people would go for the atmosphere though and realistically to get a good crowd you're looking at very casual/non boxing fans. Would Croker be worse than Wembley for boxing?
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 04, 2026, 09:11:27 AMWould Croker be worse than Wembley for boxing?
Wembley is a Soccer stadium, you are a lot closer on all sides to the center of the pitch on a Soccer Stadium than in a Gaelic Stadium.
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 04, 2026, 09:11:27 AMQuote from: lurganblue on June 04, 2026, 09:03:09 AMIf they can make it a decent undercard at all, then there should be a good crowd at it. I dont suspect 80k though.
Ah definitely, hard enough watching football from up there. If you priced the tickets right people would go for the atmosphere though and realistically to get a good crowd you're looking at very casual/non boxing fans. Would Croker be worse than Wembley for boxing?
You would be closer to the center of the pitch and steeper in Wembley so marginally better view
It sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Hearn wanted the GAA to more or less give Croke Park over for a minimal fee last time.
He'll be lining his pockets either way, the wee bollox.
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Hearn wanted the GAA to more or less give Croke Park over for a minimal fee last time.
I assume he is spreading risk. If it's a flop the GAA get hee haw. If it's a success they get more than the flat rental fee. Watch as GAA clubs push these tickets....?
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
I assume he is spreading risk. If it's a flop the GAA get hee haw. If it's a success they get more than the flat rental fee. Watch as GAA clubs push these tickets....?
Why would GAA clubs push boxing tickets?
I don't recollect my club pushing tickets for Oasis or being asked to.
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Yeah Oasis tickets really needed pushing.
Didn't Tyson Fury want to fight on undercard?
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Because Oasis just hired the hall. There was never any question they would sell out.
I suspect this event will have the GAA as stakeholders. They could have a vested interest in it's success
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:59:14 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Because Oasis just hired the hall. There was never any question they would sell out.
I suspect this event will have the GAA as stakeholders. They could have a vested interest in it's success
I don't believe they've taken on such "risk" with any other booking, so why would they do if for this?
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 11:00:49 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:59:14 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
I don't believe they've taken on such "risk" with any other booking, so why would they do if for this?
Why then did they have the Katie for Croker campaign. Why not just book Croke Park. I'd concur that someone has taken on a proportion of the risk. Might be the security or Garda bill but there has to be a reason they were out begging for this to happen.
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 04, 2026, 11:11:10 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 11:00:49 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:59:14 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Why then did they have the Katie for Croker campaign. Why not just book Croke Park. I'd concur that someone has taken on a proportion of the risk. Might be the security or Garda bill but there has to be a reason they were out begging for this to happen.
I wasn't aware the GAA was directly involved in the "Katie for Croker" campaign..
There you go
If it works commercially for the GAA, or if the 'Katie for Croker' group want to stump up to make it so, no problem.
If not, it's essentially a gift from the GAA to Katie Taylor.
Which in an of itself is not a bad thing, but it's not Croke Park's (read Peter McKenna's) gift to give.
Should be a congress decision.
If/when Eddie Hearn talks about whatever the deal was with Croke Park I would take with a huge pinch of salt.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 08:39:05 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on June 03, 2026, 06:23:26 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:51:59 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0603/1576600-taylors-croke-park-finale-set-to-be-confirmed-on-friday/
Her dream is to fight in Croke Park and no where elsewhere. All to be confirmed this afternoon.
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 04, 2026, 09:14:24 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on June 04, 2026, 09:11:27 AMWould Croker be worse than Wembley for boxing?
Wembley is a Soccer stadium, you are a lot closer on all sides to the center of the pitch on a Soccer Stadium than in a Gaelic Stadium.
Wembley Stadium's pitch measures 105 metres by 68 metres, an area of 7,140 square metres,
The Croke Park pitch measures 145 meters long by 88 meters wide, roughly 15,000 square meters in total area.
I really hope this is a sellout or as close to it. Katie deserves to go out on a massive send off! Even 70,000 would be amazing but don't underestimate Eddie Hearn, he will be out on every outlet and probably have Katie on too, (dont think Late Late is on though). I'll be in for sure be a brilliant event.
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 04, 2026, 01:22:27 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 08:39:05 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on June 03, 2026, 06:23:26 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:51:59 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0603/1576600-taylors-croke-park-finale-set-to-be-confirmed-on-friday/
Her dream is to fight in Croke Park and no where elsewhere. All to be confirmed this afternoon.
Agreed. But it could be a very, very, expensive dream.
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 11:00:49 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:59:14 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Have we seen a saga like this before?
Usually a promoter asks if Croker is available on day x and get a price. They take it or leave it. There is shenanigans in the background that crucially Croker haven't nixed. Something bespoke is rumbling
I hear she wants it moved to Inniskeen
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 04, 2026, 10:44:31 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:43:40 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 04, 2026, 10:37:38 AMQuote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2026, 10:13:23 AMIt sounds great in principle to give Katie a good send off and retirement package, but the practicalities of selling 80K tickets in Ireland for her would be a tough sell, and probably not feasible.
Yeah Oasis tickets really needed pushing.
Didn't Tyson Fury want to fight on undercard?
No. He talked about a Dublin fight a while back, but has made Tottenham his new home.
Also who would headline and undercard? If it's Taylors swansong she would. But you can't relegated a heavyweight title bout either.
He isn't part of this.
It's a pity McGregor turned out to be such a p***k. Him (at his pomp) and Katie would have been a serious occasion
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 04, 2026, 02:57:47 PMIt's a pity McGregor turned out to be such a p***k. Him (at his pomp) and Katie would have been a serious occasion
He was born a p***k
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 04, 2026, 02:47:10 PMI hear she wants it moved to Inniskeen
Supporters of the girl she is supposedly fighting are very angry with that call.
Quote from: square_ball on June 04, 2026, 03:26:12 PMQuote from: Dougal Maguire on June 04, 2026, 02:47:10 PMI hear she wants it moved to Inniskeen
Supporters of the girl she is supposedly fighting are very angry with that call.
Wouldn't be the first bit of boxing done up there.
Looks like this is now officially on.
Suggestion is that tickets will start at €38 and there will be family packages too.
Inexpensive tickets will see a good turnout here.
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on June 05, 2026, 03:02:47 PMLooks like this is now officially on.
Suggestion is that tickets will start at €38 and there will be family packages too.
Inexpensive tickets will see a good turnout here.
Ah thats good to see.
Confirmed:
QuoteKatie Taylor will fight Flora Pili in Croke Park on 5 September.
Ticket prices: From €38.70, with family ticket packages (seated in a non-alcohol area in the stadium) priced at €125.50.
Pitchside prices range from €106.25 to €1,505.50. On sale 10 June
Will be costing me €0.00
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 05, 2026, 03:19:06 PMConfirmed:
Ticket prices: From €38.70, with family ticket packages (seated in a non-alcohol area in the stadium) priced at €125.50.
Who the f**k is going to pay 1500 to watch Katie Taylor?! Even her biggest fan Laoislad would baulk at that.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2026, 07:12:55 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on June 05, 2026, 03:19:06 PMConfirmed:
Who the f**k is going to pay 1500 to watch Katie Taylor?! Even her biggest fan Laoislad would baulk at that.
'Tis only half a days wages sure...
Well worth it to see Ireland's greatest ever sports person.
Pricing not as bad as i thought,could fill it yet!
Eddie on the hard sell already. Katie was never good at the media stuff so it'll be up to Eddie to convince everyone to go.
I think the undercard is going to have to go some to get the tickets shifted to boxing fans as well. The main event will be one way traffic. It'll be an easy nights work for Katie.
Aiming it at the famiky market, namely women and kids.
Couldn't we have a GAA element, Micheál Burns vs Michael Murphy for instance?
Quote from: armaghniac on June 06, 2026, 01:03:51 AMCouldn't we have a GAA element, Micheál Burns vs Michael Murphy for instance?
Now that I'd pay to see.
Quote from: armaghniac on June 06, 2026, 01:03:51 AMCouldn't we have a GAA element, Micheál Burns vs Michael Murphy for instance?
Jarlath Burns v Ger Brennans solicitor
Quote from: square_ball on June 06, 2026, 08:20:56 AMQuote from: armaghniac on June 06, 2026, 01:03:51 AMCouldn't we have a GAA element, Micheál Burns vs Michael Murphy for instance?
Jarlath Burns v Ger Brennans solicitor
Or Burns V Gallagher
The Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
71% said they would not buy a ticket.
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2026, 05:03:57 PMThe Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
Don't underestimate the event junkie culture now, people going to arenas to listen to people who do podcasts ffs
Quote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 05:10:26 PMQuote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2026, 05:03:57 PMThe Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
Don't underestimate the event junkie culture now, people going to arenas to listen to people who do podcasts ffs
But people like podcasts. Huge market. We probably all do a couple.
Not sure the casual boxing fan is out there. I do hope she gets a crowd, and if she get get this on Netflix it won't matter as much, but I can't see it. Expect lots of competition give aways
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 06, 2026, 05:18:49 PMQuote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 05:10:26 PMQuote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2026, 05:03:57 PMThe Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
Not sure the casual boxing fan is out there. I do hope she gets a crowd, and if she get get this on Netflix it won't matter as much, but I can't see it. Expect lots of competition give aways
My point is would you go to an arena to listen to them talking ? I wouldn't but each to their own
I see Joanne Cantwell interviewing Katie at half time in Leinster Final here.
Quote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 06:54:33 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 06, 2026, 05:18:49 PMQuote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 05:10:26 PMQuote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2026, 05:03:57 PMThe Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
My point is would you go to an arena to listen to them talking ? I wouldn't but each to their own
I'd be the same. Like a podcast in the car to pass the time but I wouldn't listen to one in the house let alone go to a venue.
Quote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 06:54:33 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 06, 2026, 05:18:49 PMQuote from: Saffrongael on June 06, 2026, 05:10:26 PMQuote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2026, 05:03:57 PMThe Journal running a poll, 7500 votes so far.
Why go to an arena to listen to a band when you have them at home on CD?
People going to talks isn't new.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0610/1577778-over-40-000-tickets-sold-for-taylors-croke-park-fight/
Think I would tbf, haven't got a chance to go as have had other things on but would definitely like to get to the gaa social with McConville and Niblock live the next time it's on in Armagh. Haven't been and probably wouldn't go but Blindboy (rubberbandits) has a massively popular podcast and does live shows that regularly sell out
40,000 tickets sold
Sell the cheap seats and fill the place and then make more from premium seats etc
https://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2026/0610/1577778-over-40-000-tickets-sold-for-taylors-croke-park-fight/
Quote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 10:04:24 AM40,000 tickets sold
Sell the cheap seats and fill the place and then make more from premium seats etc
Ah that's brilliant to see. What is capacity with hill and nally taken out?
Quote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 10:04:24 AM40,000 tickets sold
...according to her promoter...
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 11, 2026, 11:14:44 AMQuote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 10:04:24 AM40,000 tickets sold
So who else would know?
Quote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 11:30:37 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 11, 2026, 11:14:44 AMQuote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 10:04:24 AM40,000 tickets sold
So who else would know?
Who else has a vested interest in making this a success?
Tickets are selling fast, get yours is an easier sell than tickets are not selling, get yours.
There may have been 40,000 tickets sold, but if Eddie Hearne told me it was raining I would look out the window.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 11, 2026, 12:42:40 PMQuote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 11:30:37 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 11, 2026, 11:14:44 AMQuote from: armaghniac on June 11, 2026, 10:04:24 AM40,000 tickets sold
So who else would know?
Who else has a vested interest in making this a success?
Tickets are selling fast, get yours is an easier sell than tickets are not selling, get yours.
There may have been 40,000 tickets sold, but if Eddie Hearne told me it was raining I would look out the window.
I would be inclined to go along with this way of thinking too. Hearn is a salesman first and foremost.
50% of the capacity does seem a high proportion of tickets to be on a pre-sale for any event whether sport or music. Although I did see people online saying there was 10s of thousands in the queue for tickets so maybe the demand is there to make it a sell out. I was sceptical they would get there but maybe they will reach the 80k.
Anyone able to get sorted this morning?? Only looking for 2 and cant get anything!! Surely not sold out already
Sold out according to Sports Joe.
Absolutely delighted for her, some smart f**ker on here a while back thought she hadn't a hope of a decent crowd. Any chance they look at opening the Hill/Nally?
Be class to allow people on the hill to even if just half fill it. Its about being there for the occasion, FOMO will definitely kick in for some people. She totally deserves it in a world and sport were greed is number 1 Katie always went above it.
Plenty of experts on here looking a bit foolish now !
Quote from: laoislad on June 12, 2026, 03:03:26 PMPlenty of experts on here looking a bit foolish now !
Absolutely- called it completely wrong
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 12, 2026, 03:47:24 PMQuote from: laoislad on June 12, 2026, 03:03:26 PMPlenty of experts on here looking a bit foolish now !
Absolutely- called it completely wrong
Ahh at least you've admitted it :D
Always thought she'd get a good crowd but maybe struggle to sell out especially as quickly as it has done.
Novelty factor plus she seems relatable for the public.
How many have been to a boxing event?
Wouldnt watch it on TV never mind pay to see it but then people pay to see coldplay. "Let those without sin" etc
Chauvinists outed and embarrassed. Go on Katie
Do you think she'll do 2 nights now?
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 12, 2026, 06:54:13 PMDo you think she'll do 2 nights now?
With this girl she's fighting, don't rule it out as being a possibility.
Quote from: laoislad on June 12, 2026, 03:03:26 PMPlenty of experts on here looking a bit foolish now !
Further evidence that people would go to the opening of an envelope if their neighbours are going and/or they can put it on Insta.
Sold out but not sold out
Very, very surprised. Fair play and happy to be proved wrong.
What prices were tickets? How many given away?
Surprised also. A top mens fight would struggle to sell out Croke Park, even with a decent undercarriage.
Never underestimate a bandwagon or Irish peoples desire to support one of their own.
Top deck near hill 16 side, £35 friend apparently got a couple.
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 13, 2026, 05:26:14 PMNever underestimate a bandwagon or Irish peoples desire to support one of their own.
'Or' doing a lot of work there
https://www.independent.ie/incoming/katie-taylors-hometown-pushes-for-public-screening-of-sold-out-croke-park-fight-as-black-market-ticket-prices-top-3k/a/159919685.html
Has there ever been a demand like this? Looks like it could have sold out twice over!
Katie Taylor's hometown fight at Croke Park will be shown live on Irish national broadcaster RTÉ, according to the station.
The 39-year-old light-welterweight will end her decorated career at the Dublin venue on September 5th, knowing victory over Flora Pili will see her crowned undisputed world champion for the third time.
RTÉ's head of sport announced on Wednesday morning that the broadcaster will stream the fight after months-long negotiations with DAZN and Matchroom Boxing, but refused to say how much it had paid for the rights.
It's a sporting event like no other involving an athlete like no other
Declan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
He said: "I think there is a sense that this is somehow different. It's a sporting event like no other involving an athlete like no other.
"It is, I think, by all accounts, going to be one of those national moments."
RTÉ will take DAZN's feed of the event but will add its own presentation, including having its own personnel on the ground.
Asked on RTÉ's Morning Ireland how much it had paid for the rights, Mr McBennett said it was "commercially sensitive".
Pressed on whether Government support was being provided to RTÉ for the fight, he said it was not.
However, he acknowledged there were "probably areas elsewhere" in the organisation "that will maybe not have as much wriggle room as they wanted to".
Croke Park is an 82,300-capacity Gaelic Games venue which has not hosted boxing since Muhammad Ali's victory over Al "Blue" Lewis in 1972.
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
He said: "I think there is a sense that this is somehow different. It's a sporting event like no other involving an athlete like no other.
Ah jes, yer mans a balloon, they're trying to recreate Italia 90 energy
You could sell out Croke for The Corrs ffs
Fair play to Katie for sending that insta message to Eddie Hearn and fair play to Eddie for playing the Oirish like a fiddle
Quote from: bannside on August 17, 2026, 07:55:34 AMhttps://www.independent.ie/incoming/katie-taylors-hometown-pushes-for-public-screening-of-sold-out-croke-park-fight-as-black-market-ticket-prices-top-3k/a/159919685.html
Has there ever been a demand like this? Looks like it could have sold out twice over!
Maybe have a wee bit of respect for the men on here who are raging? ;D
Quote from: tiempo on August 20, 2026, 09:17:16 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
Fair play to Katie for sending that insta message to Eddie Hearn and fair play to Eddie for playing the Oirish like a fiddle
He has pissed off every sport, which means he is either very good or very bad at his job.
I can see a commercial argument here, although buying it second hand seems messy, but there is a limited public service argument as it's already on tv.
But regardless, his priorities are a mess. No money to show, say, Shels v Ajax, which like it or not would attract a huge audience, but can show Celtic v Lask. The last Irish club game in Europe RTE showed was Rovers v Milan. In 2020.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 20, 2026, 11:22:04 AMQuote from: tiempo on August 20, 2026, 09:17:16 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
He has pissed off every sport, which means he is either very good or very bad at his job.
I can see a commercial argument here, although buying it second hand seems messy, but there is a limited public service argument as it's already on tv.
But regardless, his priorities are a mess. No money to show, say, Shels v Ajax, which like it or not would attract a huge audience, but can show Celtic v Lask. The last Irish club game in Europe RTE showed was Rovers v Milan. In 2020.
I'll take your word for it.
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 20, 2026, 11:25:47 AMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 20, 2026, 11:22:04 AMQuote from: tiempo on August 20, 2026, 09:17:16 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
I'll take your word for it.
Did you see Shels v Ajax or vice versa on RTE? The games were both on Dutch tv, they just needed to buy the feed (or sell the Dublin leg feed to the Dutch).
There is no way even RTE could have lost money on it.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 20, 2026, 11:22:04 AMQuote from: tiempo on August 20, 2026, 09:17:16 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
Have Rte not rights to show champions league games on Wednesdays as part of their package
So had the game as part of the rights ?
Quote from: naka on August 20, 2026, 12:29:49 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 20, 2026, 11:22:04 AMQuote from: tiempo on August 20, 2026, 09:17:16 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2026, 06:51:55 PMDeclan McBennett said RTÉ would also show the weigh-in and the pre-fight press conference.
Have Rte not rights to show champions league games on Wednesdays as part of their package
They also had the Rovers CL rights. Zero additional cost.
Lets not get lost in a soccer tv thing. My point is RTE sport are a shambles. Lots of stuff not getting shown anymore because of costs, but they found the budget to show this. And bought from DAZN instead of the promoter, so at a huge premium.
Paddy loves a good bandwagon!
A clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 20, 2026, 01:32:07 PMHave Rte not rights to show champions league games on Wednesdays as part of their package
They also had the Rovers CL rights. Zero additional cost.
Lets not get lost in a soccer tv thing. My point is RTE sport are a shambles. Lots of stuff not getting shown anymore because of costs, but they found the budget to show this. And bought from DAZN instead of the promoter, so at a huge premium.
It's alright RTE are government funded anymore, and if they overpay for this - Their paymasters won't be able to highlight it as it is a popular national event.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 04, 2026, 08:29:21 PMA clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
It shouldn't be blocked. Simple as.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 04, 2026, 08:29:21 PMA clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
Whose decision was it? Don't particularly care about this fight but I hate the geo blocking in general
Sure Rugby and the soccer geo blocked, hell think the old home and away may been blocked to.
Entirely predictable.
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2026, 10:34:33 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 04, 2026, 08:29:21 PMA clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
Whose decision was it? Don't particularly care about this fight but I hate the geo blocking in general
DAZN. Rte have rights for the 26 only. In the 'UK' it's ppv
Lads you can't blame RTÉ for geoblocking. That is a way bigger issue than a small national broadcaster can handle.
On social media and even YouTube there often ROI-only bits as Meta and Google don't play ball with island of Ireland.
In terms of the fight and the event she is handling it all so well and it will just cement her legacy even more. I presume she will win, or how tough a fight is expected?
She should win fairly handily. Stoppages aren't that common in women's boxing so if she doesn't stop her it'll be a unanimous win on the cards. This girl has only fought 12 times and this is the 1st time fighting outside of France. She would be no where near the level of some of her previous opponents.
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2026, 10:25:40 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 04, 2026, 08:29:21 PMA clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
It shouldn't be blocked. Simple as.
From the perspective of pay per view sport and the slow death of public service broadcasting, absolutely.
But here in the real world RTE bought the rights for the 26 and have the technology to block it outside of that, it has to be done.
The politicians are making out like some bureaucrat switched off the feed out of partionist malice.
If there is nothing else on tv at the time of the fight I might watch it. I have never really understood all the hype around Taylor. It is only ladies boxing at the end of the day but if people want to watch it and fill Croke Park more power to them.
How many at this event tonight ever attended a woman's boxing event before tonight?
https://youtu.be/Fvcfj9W-pRo?si=GqEdQZ8-9kYZoGW3
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/boxing/2026/09/05/everything-about-katie-taylors-career-was-impossible-until-she-did-it/
Even after that ban was lifted, it took until 1998 and the landmark Jane Couch case for women to actually be granted a licence to box in Britain. The British Boxing Board of Control had refused to grant a licence, with one of their stated justifications arguing that being a woman, premenstrual syndrome made her "too unstable to box". This was the position of the boxing authorities, declared in public court, around the time Katie Taylor was entering her teens.
She was aiming herself at something that had no bullseye, diving off a high board into a pool that was only starting to fill with water. Women weren't part of the European Amateur Boxing Championships until 2001. The first ever women's World Championships took place in that same Halloween week that Taylor had her debut fight. She was 15 years old
Above all else, that's been the Katie Taylor calling card. At every step along the way, she has reconfigured people's idea of what success looks like. The very top of her sport, that sainted place she said she wanted to get to as a little girl, stopped being an aspiration for her after a while. Instead, it became something defined entirely by what she did.
And so one European gold medal became six. And one world gold medal became five. And the tentative introduction of women's boxing at London 2012 became the most raucous, most ear-splitting gold medal of the whole Games. Her excellence forced continual reassessment of what the sport could be.
There were three Olympic weight divisions for women in 2012. By the time Paris came around in 2024, there were six. In LA in two years, there will be seven – same as the men. Katie Taylor didn't do all that but she did more than anyone else to set the weather for it. It's not a reach to say that she changed women's amateur boxing, not just in Ireland but across the world. That would have been a life's work for anyone else.
But again, that's a judgment based on precedent, based on a set of facts and norms that existed before her. You only needed to look around the Ireland of the early 2010s to see the change she was bringing to places beyond the tiny world of amateur boxing.
She became a role model, beloved by families across the land. She redefined what danger means in the minds of people who would otherwise recoil at the idea of fighting for sport. Parents who'd fret at the sight of their little one climbing a tree suddenly thought nothing of pointing at a woman who punches people in the face and holding her up as a hero.
She became the landmark figure in Irish women's sport, the Eiffel on the cityscape. Go to any women's football or camogie All-Ireland for the past 15 years and the match programme will often include Q&As with some of the competing players. By a distance, the name cited most frequently as sporting hero is Katie Taylor, someone who outside of the occasional photo op has neither kicked an O'Neills nor swung a hurley in her life.
It took a while but eventually the whole of Irish sport copped on. There's a throwaway line in Anthony Daly's autobiography, about a dressing down he gave the Dublin hurlers in early 2014. They had beaten UCD the previous week in the Walsh Cup but it had been a closer affair than their dominance had deserved. So the next time he saw them, he gave it to them between the eyes.
When Katie Taylor is fighting a poor opponent," he asked them, "does she win 19-17? No, she performs. It's about how Katie performs. I know it's the one word that kills ye but ye were amateurish on Tuesday night." Daly didn't cite Leinster Rugby or Man City or even, closer to home, the still-rampant Kilkenny teams that were ritually disembowelling teams under Brian Cody. Katie Taylor was who he reached for.
so now here we are. Croke Park in front of 80,000 people. "We bleed Croke Park," she told the English DAZN interviewer on Tuesday. Nobody else would have tried so hard to get it done, nor would mountains have been moved to make it happen for anyone else. But Katie Taylor stands alone.
Every part of this was impossible. Taking up the sport when it wasn't there to take up. Training herself to fight when there had never been a fight put on. Winning gold medals when Irish women had never even entered competition. Making the Olympics happen for women worldwide 108 years after they had first happened for men.
Making parents everywhere check their own prejudices and reconsider what they can tolerate for their daughters in sport. Convincing ruthless millionaire promoters that they could make bank off her name. Making several lifetimes' fortunes for herself along the way.
There will never be another Irish sporting life like it.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 05, 2026, 01:09:16 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2026, 10:34:33 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 04, 2026, 08:29:21 PMA clearly concerted social media campaign from nationalist politicians to have RTE overturn their 'decision' to geoblock the fight in the 6c.
Who wants to tell them
DAZN. Rte have rights for the 26 only. In the 'UK' it's ppv
I'd love to see the PPV stats for people who will actually pay rather than use a Firestick. This entire thing is an oddity. Apart from weirdos like Laoislad the vast majority of people liked seeing her do well but wouldn't get out of their own road to see her live or even on tv and now she's in Croke Park with people crying about a geoblock!
f**k you Baloney 😂
I don't care about geo blocking as it usually is just the Irish soccer team and I don't watch them anyway. I actually hope they are beat every game. I don't like their fan base you see.
I remember once a Tyrone game was geo blocked on Sky suring extra time because an Irish soccer match was scheduled to start.
NORMMMMMMMMMM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 05, 2026, 06:10:40 PMHow many at this event tonight ever attended a woman's boxing event before tonight?
People complain about band wagoners in every Croke Park event it seems, maybe you would prefer if it is was half empty.
I won't be watching anyway, I'm not a virtue signaler who wants to prove what a big feminist I am.
You seem like a delightful person norm.
Think am picking up rte 2 on ch716
An east nights pay for Carty and Allen.
Quote from: square_ball on September 05, 2026, 09:09:03 PMAn east nights pay for Carty and Allen.
Seemingly a bizarre end to the main undercard but we're have not seen it on RTE !
The previous bout lasted 4 of 10 rounds - a bloody spectacle and a mismatch.
A lot of padding needed before the main bout - what will the Croker crowd make of it ?
Just switched over for the pure cringe Martin Morrissey and Michael Flatley piece.
We should be watching Up for the Match and looking forward to All-Ireland Hurling Final tomorrow :(
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2026, 09:15:22 PMJust switched over for the pure cringe Martin Morrissey and Michael Flatley piece.
Marty does cringe with a cherry on top.
He has a talent at doing cringe.
This thread is epic..moanometer in the red zone, move over The Late Late Show thread 🥳
Looks like RTE have resorted to who can we find that's a celebrity of some sort hanging around and let's interview them with nonsensical questions to fill in time.
A bit like the format of The Late Late Show!
Quote from: JoG2 on September 05, 2026, 09:26:00 PMThis thread is epic..moanometer in the red zone, move over The Late Late Show thread 🥳
It's glorious. From the begrudgers who said she would never fill Croke Park to the gobshites falling over themselves telling everyone they won't be watching 😂
I can guarantee there are some just hoping she loses so they can come on and gloat about it. Sad fucks the lot of ye .
Great excitement -there's the Dart coming into Bray again :)
Westlife filler piece now.
Quote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 09:32:00 PMQuote from: JoG2 on September 05, 2026, 09:26:00 PMThis thread is epic..moanometer in the red zone, move over The Late Late Show thread 🥳
It's glorious. From the begrudgers who said she would never fill Croke Park to the gobshites falling over themselves telling everyone they won't be watching 😂
I can guarantee there are some just hoping she loses so they can come on and gloat about it. Sad fucks the lot of ye .
I hope she wins so she can give us one of her usual rousing speeches ;D
She'll have plenty of dough in her pocket and she'll not give a shite about us lads (including you 😉 )!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 09:37:51 PMQuote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 09:32:00 PMQuote from: JoG2 on September 05, 2026, 09:26:00 PMThis thread is epic..moanometer in the red zone, move over The Late Late Show thread 🥳
I hope she wins so she can give us one of her usual rousing speeches ;D
She'll have plenty of dough in her pocket and she'll not give a shite about us lads (including you 😉 )!
You think any of Liverpool players give a shite about us ?!
She's a fantastic ambassador for this country and deserves every bit of this.
I also genuinely believe if she was from the 6 counties more on her would respect her.
Some sight. Fair play to her.
Christ she ll need to win after all this !!
Croker looks fantastic and I'm sure the roar when she appears will be unbelievable.
No matter about women's boxing being poor or whatever she's just sold out an 80k stadium so she's leaving it in a much better place than than when she found it!
One of Ireland's best ever sportspeople!!
Quote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 09:42:40 PMI also genuinely believe if she was from the 6 counties more on her would respect her.
A boxer she is not one of those gals from the red light district.
80+ thousand singing Grace, magical moment in fairness
Rousing (because of the 80k people) yet appalling (because this pair haven't a note in their heads) rendition of Grace ;D
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 09:51:35 PMRousing (because of the 80k people) yet appalling (because this pair haven't a note in their heads) rendition of Grace ;D
Mary Black was more appropriate than her daughter.
You would be yourself given the occasion, she looks very emotional - Hopefully that won't be a negative for her performance
In fairness the way 26 counties are fired up watching this, we could take back the occupied 6 tonight.
Just a pity the lads in 6 are geo blocked
Is that f**king Henry Pollock in the crowd? He's part of the matchroom stable.
An Olé Olé Olé crowd I see.
A gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
Quote from: weareros on September 05, 2026, 10:22:34 PMAn Olé Olé Olé crowd I see.
Terrible isn't it, people enjoying themselves. They should stay silent like at the snooker.
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:25:35 PMA gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
Was it supposed to be competitive? I thought this was the equivalent of a testimonial.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 10:27:13 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:25:35 PMA gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
Was it supposed to be competitive? I thought this was the equivalent of a testimonial.
Yes unbeaten fighter is her opponent although Katie appears a big step up.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 10:27:13 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:25:35 PMA gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
No, see the bit where I said the gulf in class was flagged from the beginning but even allowing for it Pili has nothing to offer.
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:33:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 10:27:13 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:25:35 PMA gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
No, see the bit where I said the gulf in class was flagged from the beginning but even allowing for it Pili has nothing to offer.
People in this country will watch any oul shite if there is a bandwagon hitched to it.
Do the two over excitable RTE commentators know what they are talking about? Is Taylor winning as comprehensively as they make out?
There are worse bandwagons to hitch oneself to.
This has always been about the send-off rather than the fight.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on September 05, 2026, 10:37:10 PMDo the two over excitable RTE commentators know what they are talking about? Is Taylor winning as comprehensively as they make out?
Yes. She might have lost the 7th but that's it. She's lightyears ahead.
A comfortable win Croke Park, happy retirement to Katie.
Quote from: Brendan on September 05, 2026, 09:51:17 PM80+ thousand singing Grace, magical moment in fairness
The arse has been ripped out of that song the past few years.
Oh dear - Marty should be doing the post-fight interview :(
Some year for Wicklow in Croke Park.
Everyone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on September 05, 2026, 10:37:10 PMDo the two over excitable RTE commentators know what they are talking about? Is Taylor winning as comprehensively as they make out?
She was winning very clearly but the 2 lads were getting very excited whenever Katie threw a punch whether it landed or not.
Jesus that was a hard watch. Commentators made it sound like fight of the decade.
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
This sums it up to a tee.
Doubtless it was a testimonial for Katie with there being 6 degrees of separation between her and her opponent. But Katie has had her many battles in the ring, some of them truly fierce, she has never taken a backward step when it came to taking on the toughest of opponents in her class and putting everything on the line. She has had some career in women's boxing.
Does she get to keep all them belts?
Is that not what they supposed to do. U never hear the commentry for the Sea Biscuit v War Admiral 1938 race of the century, most could only hear it on the radio. Made 1 lap sound like the Chariots of fire.
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 05, 2026, 10:44:17 PMQuote from: Brendan on September 05, 2026, 09:51:17 PM80+ thousand singing Grace, magical moment in fairness
Has become unlistenable as a result
Same as the aul triangle
An appropriate anthem (https://youtu.be/cL7jyXCQ2Zc)
I thought it was decent entertainment as a fight. Most professional boxing I have seen is awful. Commentators should have shut up occasionally and the continued hype is getting embarrassing. Still a bit of happiness in the world is hardly a bad thing.
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
And it's pissed off a lot of backward thinking begrudging c***ts on here so yeah, great work all around.
Well done to Katie for all the great memories and being a decent person and Ambassador.
Tonight was about the party and a big send off.
It wasn't exclusively for the Boxing fraternity.
There was always going to be a dose of cringe when you open up a Sport to the general public.
And you have to appreciate it for what it was.
Hear, its a tour de force, when u look at some of the fights that clown Jake Paul got the american and the UK crowd to buy into.
Quote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 11:00:16 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
And it's pissed off a lot of backward thinking begrudging c***ts on here so yeah, great work all around.
Someone who wears a poppy on British TV should never, ever get a payday in Croke Park. Take that shite to the Aviva.
Was lucky enough to see her box live at Wembley Stadium roughly 10 years ago. A great athlete and ambassador and was given a fitting send off.
Quote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 11:00:16 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
I'm glad she got her reward after all the years of pleasure she has given you.
Quote from: Main Street on September 05, 2026, 10:56:40 PMDoubtless it was a testimonial for Katie with there being 6 degrees of separation between her and her opponent. But Katie has had her many battles in the ring, some of them truly fierce, she has never taken a backward step when it came to taking on the toughest of opponents in her class and putting everything on the line. She has had some career in women's boxing.
Does she get to keep all them belts?
She keeps all the belts she has ever won.
That was a great night. A living legend and she's Irish.
Deserved that easyish night for the wars she fought over the years.
Quote from: weareros on September 05, 2026, 11:05:52 PMQuote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 11:00:16 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
Someone who wears a poppy on British TV should never, ever get a payday in Croke Park. Take that shite to the Aviva.
Was Lansdowne Road famously a bastion of the British Army or the RIC or something? Put the warm Stella down and go to bed you mad pillock.
QuoteJust switched over for the pure cringe Martin Morrissey and Michael Flatley piece.
A lot of falseness under Flatley's Plastic Paddy persona. I bet he's a right c**t behind it all
QuoteCroker looks fantastic and I'm sure the roar when she appears will be unbelievable.
No matter about women's boxing being poor or whatever she's just sold out an 80k stadium so she's leaving it in a much better place than than when she found it!
One of Ireland's best ever sportspeople!!
But there's a lot of needy, insecure people out there who need to advertise themselves at big occasions like this.
Quote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 11:22:47 PMQuote from: weareros on September 05, 2026, 11:05:52 PMQuote from: laoislad on September 05, 2026, 11:00:16 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:48:55 PMEveryone seems to have had a great time, Katie got the moment she clearly wanted so much and the GAA will have made a tidy little sum off it.
Great work all round.
Was Lansdowne Road famously a bastion of the British Army or the RIC or something? Put the warm Stella down and go to bed you mad pillock.
It's a cold Hoyne actually in tribute to the Croker Olé bandwagon.
QuoteQuote80+ thousand singing Grace, magical moment in fairness
Funny that Rod Stewart covered it , then declares his love for the British armed forces. Did he actually know what he was singing bout?
QuoteSome year for Wicklow in Croke Park.
Their ladies lost the Junior football final to Antrim.
So, an average enough year
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 05, 2026, 11:26:23 PMQuoteJust switched over for the pure cringe Martin Morrissey and Michael Flatley piece.
A lot of falseness under Flatley's Plastic Paddy persona. I bet he's a right c**t behind it all
The **** was at Classiebawn Castle recently to give a musical performance in memorial of Mountbatten.
QuoteQuoteQuoteJust switched over for the pure cringe Martin Morrissey and Michael Flatley piece.
The **** was at Classiebawn Castle recently to give a musical performance in memorial of Mountbatten.
Ah well , there you go then
Fair dues, Ireland stood up to give the girl the send off of all send offs. Be a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
Take a big bow Katie.
Quote from: bannside on September 05, 2026, 11:48:33 PMBe a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
Good old Michelle Smith. 🥇🥇🥇🥉
Ah that was unbelievable. Super night and delighted for Katie.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 06, 2026, 12:25:04 AMQuote from: bannside on September 05, 2026, 11:48:33 PMBe a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
McIlroy
Obviously Croker (or any big stadium) not ideal for actually watching the fight given how far most seats are from the ring, but my god what a venue and what an atmosphere.
As corny as it sounds it was genuinely one of those nights that made you proud to be Irish. A well deserved send off, everything was perfect from the music, the fight itself and the atmosphere from the crowd
Eddie Hearn intimated that Croker should go full time as a boxing arena. It could be a goer.
The likes of Semple could fulfil any particular GAA requirements after the Croker rebrand.
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 06, 2026, 11:07:04 AMEddie Hearn intimated that Croker should go full time as a boxing arena. It could be a goer.
The likes of Semple could fulfil any particular GAA requirements after the Croker rebrand.
I'd say our weather would put a stop to that lol
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 06, 2026, 11:07:04 AMEddie Hearn intimated that Croker should go full time as a boxing arena. It could be a goer.
Either you or Eddie are on the wind up.
Between the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
I wonder if a Champions League Final in Dublin might happen at some stage?
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Unlikely. There isn't a soccer venue big enough
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 10:35:48 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:33:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2026, 10:27:13 PMQuote from: gallsman on September 05, 2026, 10:25:35 PMA gulf in class was flagged from the moment the fight was announced but this is embarrassing. Pili has absolutely no business being in there with a fighter of KT's level or experienced, even if she's somewhat diminished from her peak.
People in this country will watch any oul shite if there is a bandwagon hitched to it.
To be fair, that is the GAA's business model.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 11:41:51 AMQuote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Probably down to the fact that soccer in Ireland is shite and no real interest in it by the natives
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2026, 12:06:44 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 11:41:51 AMQuote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Probably down to the fact that soccer in Ireland is shite and no real interest in it by the natives
I think you're out of touch with League of Ireland soccer anyway. It had improved significantly in recent years - younger players cannot move to English clubs until they are 18. This has helped the LOI and attendances at LOI matches show an upward trend.
The LOI's real problem is that most clubs were traditionally based in Dublin and a few in Cork, Waterford and Limerick. The clubs don't have very large fanbases.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 11:41:51 AMQuote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Champions league final attendance last year was 64,327 and 2019 it was even less 63,272. For Croke Park to host the final it would require temporary seating in Hill 16 and the capacity would be roughly 70,000 with that adjustment.
Quote from: Blowitupref on September 06, 2026, 12:45:54 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 11:41:51 AMQuote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Champions league final attendance last year was 64,327 and 2019 it was even less 63,272. For Croke Park to host the final it would require temporary seating in Hill 16 and the capacity would be roughly 70,000 with that adjustment.
Why would the FAI involve themselves in this?
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
The suits in the GAA would rent out Croke Park for the Champions League after the League. They are a crowd of money grabbers.
I think Croke Park is the 4th biggest stadium or something like that in Europe.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 01:02:04 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on September 06, 2026, 12:45:54 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 11:41:51 AMQuote from: JollyGreenGiant on September 06, 2026, 11:23:31 AMBetween the NFL, boxing, concerts and not soccer (Man U v Leeds) we are seeing far more general use of Croke Park as a venue.
Why would the FAI involve themselves in this?
Why not if they ever get the opportunity.
Ah sure lads it was a great wee night although I did struggle with Bono's shite, that did test my resolve.
French girl only really threw anything of note in the 7th round, maybe a draw in a few others rounds.
Eddie Hearn was crying all the way to the bank.
Wondering if he took the opportunity to visit his mate in the Joy while he was in Dublin?
Quote from: johnnycool on September 06, 2026, 01:25:09 PMAh sure lads it was a great wee night although I did struggle with Bono's shite, that did test my resolve.
French girl only really threw anything of note in the 7th round, maybe a draw in a few others rounds.
Wondering if he took the opportunity to visit his mate in the Joy while he was in Dublin?
What sorta dough is Katie pocketing?
Katie Taylor is estimated to have earned a minimum guaranteed purse of €3 million (£2.5 million / $3.5 million) for her victory over Flora Pili at Croke Park.
There are supposed to be add ons from sponsors that could bring it up to €4m.
Flora Pili got €900,000
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 06, 2026, 01:46:32 PMKatie Taylor is estimated to have earned a minimum guaranteed purse of €3 million (£2.5 million / $3.5 million) for her victory over Flora Pili at Croke Park.
There are supposed to be add ons from sponsors that could bring it up to €4m.
Flora Pili got €900,000
The taxman will get his taste but still not bad for a night's work. Presumably she can now use her Sportsperson's Relief as she has retired which will amount to a tidy sum.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2026, 01:30:59 PMQuote from: johnnycool on September 06, 2026, 01:25:09 PMAh sure lads it was a great wee night although I did struggle with Bono's shite, that did test my resolve.
What sorta dough is Katie pocketing?
According to the Irish Times she is worth €20 million.
The fees from the boxing woukd pay for Casement !
Nothing pay Casement, its a money pit.
What sort of cut would Heearn get from that boxing match ?
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 06, 2026, 11:13:25 AMQuote from: Aaron Boone on September 06, 2026, 11:07:04 AMEddie Hearn intimated that Croker should go full time as a boxing arena. It could be a goer.
I'd say our weather would put a stop to that lol
Exactly. Had it been last sat night it wouldve been miserable.
Aviva (Landsdowne) a better venue - tighter and everyone is closer to the action. Easier to sell out with the smaller attendance.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 06, 2026, 01:15:09 PMQuote from: square_ball on September 06, 2026, 07:56:19 AMQuote from: Captain Obvious on September 06, 2026, 12:25:04 AMQuote from: bannside on September 05, 2026, 11:48:33 PMBe a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
McIlroy
When did Rory become a her?
It was pretty obvious to everyone except Captain Obvious that he said anybody.
Admittedly I was wrong when I said she wouldn't sell out last night, but this was as much a farewell to Katie (Westlife ffs) as a boxing event. About 100 were in for the first bouts.
It was a once off, won't be done again.
So what?
Quote from: bennydorano on September 06, 2026, 06:10:37 PMSo what?
Why are people talking about this being a regular thing?
Yeah, that's not happening
Is she going to have an annual retirement fight?
Quote from: bannside on September 05, 2026, 11:48:33 PMFair dues, Ireland stood up to give the girl the send off of all send offs. Be a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
Take a big bow Katie.
Paul Brady's achievements surpass this for me. Not given the same spotlight of course
The night was not helped by the second last bout ending in a farcical short time. This left RTE recycling the "Isn't Katie great and there'd be no women in sport only for her" to a point where many of us lost the will to live.
It's hard to remember back now to Katie in her amateur days. In those days mostly she brought pride wearing the green jersey.
The professional boxing game always feels different. You're fighting for yourself and to fill the coffers. That doesn't mean you are still not flying the flag - but it doesn't feel as wholesome.
Anyway thanks Katie for all the great memories and enjoy retirement and family life.
Have to say was one of the weirdest nights 'entertainment' ever.
As a nation we just seem to jump from the current event to the next one no matter what it is.
I'm sure she will enjoy her retirement now in the US.
Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on September 06, 2026, 08:04:00 PMQuote from: bannside on September 05, 2026, 11:48:33 PMFair dues, Ireland stood up to give the girl the send off of all send offs. Be a long time waiting for anything or anybody surpassing her achievements on a national or world stage.
Take a big bow Katie.
Paul Brady's achievements surpass this for me. Not given the same spotlight of course
Bernadette McAliskey .
The Stardust Families had to beat Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil over 10,000 rounds.
Quote from: NAG1 on September 07, 2026, 09:27:04 AMHave to say was one of the weirdest nights 'entertainment' ever.
As a nation we just seem to jump from the current event to the next one no matter what it is.
I'm sure she will enjoy her retirement now in the US.
I have had no interest really in Katie Taylor's career or women's boxing. I didn't even know it was live until someone told me a few hours before, so I tuned in purely for the occasion.
It was a strange night. A bit like St Patrick's day, up for the match and BBC NI's All Ireland final half time celebrity chat, all rolled into one big weird extravaganza.
The boxing itself wasn't great. The commentators seemed to see Taylor punches landing that nobody else could see. Pili didn't offer much going forward but she kept Taylor out particularly in early rounds.
Then you had the crowds shots. Fake tan, turkey teeth, lip fillers (And that was just the men), selfies/recording everything on their phones. Although AI finals are the same now.
I heard €150 a ticket? Madness
Westlife were great though. Are they on the Top 3 list yet? ;D
RTÉ have confirmed peak viewership figures of 1.6 million from Saturday's historic fight at Croke Park.
There was an average of 973,000 viewers plus 552,000 streams via the RTÉ player.
For comparison, RTÉ's peak viewing figures of the Ireland v Czechia World Cup playoff also hit 1.6 million people at peak time.
I was nice of you to tune in. Austin. Otherwise the viewing figure would have only been 1.599,999.
You saved the day.
One of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
Fair play to her , she got the send off she deserved, Whatever your opinion on women's boxing but she has also done so much for women's sport in general and is an inspiration to many young girls around the country and world,and she is a great ambassador for this country of ours.
Quote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
Fair play to her , she got the send off she deserved, Whatever your opinion on women's boxing but she has also done so much for women's sport in general and is an inspiration to many young girls around the country and world,and she is a great ambassador for this country of ours.
I'd like to see the stats on female sports participation off the back of Katie Taylor's career. As for one of the greatest events ever to take place in Croke Park... Are we to presume you mean non-GAA events?! Last Saturday won't even make the footnotes in the history of Croke Park.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
I'd like to see the stats on female sports participation off the back of Katie Taylor's career. As for one of the greatest events ever to take place in Croke Park... Are we to presume you mean non-GAA events?! Last Saturday won't even make the footnotes in the history of Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 06:36:57 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
Come on now, if people say silly stuff they should be challenged on it. It's important to learn from one's mistakes...
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:40:14 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 06:36:57 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
Come on now, if people say silly stuff they should be challenged on it. It's important to learn from one's mistakes...
She got 600,000 more of a tv crowd than the AIFF....
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 07:00:06 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:40:14 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 06:36:57 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
Have you included the figure that watched it on BBC?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 07, 2026, 07:56:00 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 07:00:06 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:40:14 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 06:36:57 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
No, because the BBC refused to disclose the figure. Do you think it will materially impact on my point?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 07, 2026, 07:56:00 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 07:00:06 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:40:14 PMQuote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 07, 2026, 06:36:57 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2026, 06:36:19 PMQuote from: ArmaghTastic on September 07, 2026, 06:06:32 PMOne of the greatest events to ever take place in Croke Park.
That's the spirit Tony
Many more around the world would have watched the fight on DAZN, I presume the above figures are for RTE only so doubt the BBC figures for the AIFF would make a difference to the gap in viewers.
BBC said they had over 800,000 viewers for the All-Ireland football final a few years ago.
The point was on television station viewers so clearly RTE takes a hit on viewers when people also has the choice of BBC to watch the All-Ireland final.
DAZN on the other hand is on-demand streaming service.
Quote from: bannside on September 07, 2026, 06:01:51 PMI was nice of you to tune in. Austin. Otherwise the viewing figure would have only been 1.599,999.
You saved the day.
Ach it was nothing really :-[
Quote from: Blowitupref on September 07, 2026, 04:25:02 PMRTÉ have confirmed peak viewership figures of 1.6 million from Saturday's historic fight at Croke Park.
There was an average of 973,000 viewers plus 552,000 streams via the RTÉ player.
For comparison, RTÉ's peak viewing figures of the Ireland v Czechia World Cup playoff also hit 1.6 million people at peak time.
I was one of the 1.6m RTE viewers - the coverage of the undercard was abysmal.
From extra.ie - viewers complain (https://extra.ie/2026/09/06/sport/rte-viewers-complaint-katie-taylor-carty)
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on September 07, 2026, 10:33:06 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on September 07, 2026, 04:25:02 PMRTÉ have confirmed peak viewership figures of 1.6 million from Saturday's historic fight at Croke Park.
I was one of the 1.6m RTE viewers - the coverage of the undercard was abysmal.
From extra.ie - viewers complain (https://extra.ie/2026/09/06/sport/rte-viewers-complaint-katie-taylor-carty)
Irish folk complaining? I'm not having that
- it won't happen
It's announced
- it won't sell out
It sells out
- well it won't happen again
- better events have happened in Croke Pk
(Kevin and Perry wouldn't have a look in 🤣)
McGregor lol, looking a send off, loser!!
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 07, 2026, 11:59:22 PMMcGregor lol, looking a send off, loser!!
The worrying thing is there are 83,000 vermin out there.
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 08, 2026, 02:25:01 AMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on September 07, 2026, 11:59:22 PMMcGregor lol, looking a send off, loser!!
The worrying thing is there are 83,000 vermin out there.
I'd hope the GAA wouldn't platform that tosser. Then again as we've seen with Allianz, money talks...
Although if you're the right opponent, I'm sure plenty would pay to see him get his face smashed in. :D
Jesus, less of the c**k measuring shíte lads ffs.
It was a good night, 20 minutes of boxing and a bit of a do to send her off into retirement.
No big deal.
We better see a few more bob for coaches up North though! ;)
Thought ye purists up North wouldnt be lowering yerselves to want money😇
Quote from: Rossfan on September 08, 2026, 11:16:53 AMThought ye purists up North wouldnt be lowering yerselves to want money😇
Call it reparations.