Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:03:59 AM

Title: What does Iraq, Libya and Venezuela have in common?
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:03:59 AM
Imagine the horror, dismay and response if Venezuela carpet bombed a major city and airport in the USA and captured Trump and his Wife?
Title: Re: What does Iraq, Libya and Venezuela have in common?
Post by: jb77 on January 03, 2026, 10:29:47 AM
Step 1: Complete
Step 2: Install a generous president who gifts the US oil
Step 3: Civil War
Step 4: Another great CIA victory??
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2026, 10:35:14 AM
He's an absolutely terrible person but there is form on both sides of the house.

They are clearly meddling in Iran too.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:43:01 AM
I was thinking simply of a three letter word that begins with O and ends with L.

Open air slave markets exist in Tripoli since they murdered Gadaffi, life expectancy has never recovered, hospitals and vital infrastructure built during Gadaffi's era never rebuilt. Controlled by proxies and tribal gangs rather than a strong central government.

Iraq had up to 1,000,000 people killed. The once proud nation destroyed and became killing fields.

Venezuela has long battled with the extent of poverty and had been making good progress under Chavez until the coup and then his ultimate death. Replaced by Maduro, his social welfare programme has (too) slowly been distributing the wealth despite what you're going to hear in the foreseeable weeks and months by the propaganda machines in the media.

All, whilst very imperfect, were stable countries until the world's bullies came along with not one ounce of care for the people of said countries and all in search of that three lettered word covered up by lies like WMDs and drug boats.

The USA are up there with the most evil empires the world has ever known.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:45:17 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2026, 10:35:14 AMHe's an absolutely terrible person but there is form on both sides of the house.

They are clearly meddling in Iran too.

Trump is clearly an absolutely terrible person. I agree.

To attack anyone's national sovereignty is disgusting. Like all of history since the world wars, nothing has been made better by America's intervention.
Post by: Mourne Red on January 03, 2026, 10:45:31 AM
I've been completely out of the loop with World News/Social media.. Detox'd because it would depress ya.

Could some explain why Trumps actioned that on Venezuela? Obviously oil at the deep cause but what's been going on
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2026, 10:48:25 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on January 03, 2026, 10:45:31 AMI've been completely out of the loop with World News/Social media.. Detox'd because it would depress ya.

Could some explain why Trumps actioned that on Venezuela? Obviously oil at the deep cause but what's been going on

To protect our freedom.

God bless America.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2026, 10:57:04 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on January 03, 2026, 10:45:31 AMI've been completely out of the loop with World News/Social media.. Detox'd because it would depress ya.

They have been attacking Venezuelan ships for some time now on the basis that they were smuggling drugs into the US. The attacks were clearly a building block to allow to support a coup to access oil resources.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 03, 2026, 10:57:24 AM
America... F**k yeah!! Coming  along to save the motherf**kin' day, yeah!!

Tyrone's goldmines are next.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 10:57:40 AM

Because he's nuts, because they have oil, because theres strong evidence that he raped kids with his buddy Epstein and he wants a distraction from that in the news.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:03:58 AM
Black gold! There's your answer.

The USA have been trying to intervene in Venezuelan politics for years now.

They attempted a coup on Chavez (I'd recommend you to watch https://youtu.be/wF_5xZIstPw?si=bcWkmKroTMTRs3Yi about that attempted coup). It was made by RTE journalists who happened to be making a documentary about Chavez at the time.

Venezuela has been a socialist country since 1999 with the election of Hugo Chavez. In one of the most unequal countries in the world, he set about a series of economic reforms to distribute the wealth and to being about democratic participation.

Things have been poor economically there for the past few years because of what is referred to as the "resource curse": depending on oil prices and having only one source of revenue from it especially when the oil prices crashed in 2014. Hyperinflation was a massive issue and that combined with US economic sanctions have made it really hard on the country. They also have a very hardened and determined private media industry akin to USA funded by the rich - which Chavez or Madura never actually closed down for fear of being accused of censorship.

Put simply, the benefits outweigh the negatives for the people of Venezuela since Chavez and ultimately Maduro.

Poverty and inequality sharply fell and extreme poverty was cut by more than half during Chávez's first decade. The official poverty rate fell from over 50% in 2003 to around 27% in 2013.

Access to education expanded. Free public education was expanded. University enrollment doubled, and massive literacy and high-school completion missions were launched.  Healthcare Access became universal. The "Barrio Adentro" mission built thousands of free, community-based primary care clinics in poor neighborhoods, staffed largely by Cuban doctors, providing millions with first-time access to healthcare.

The government created a network of state-run stores selling staple foods at heavily subsidized prices to ensure affordability for the poor.

Through community councils and missions, many marginalized citizens felt politically included for the first time. A new constitution in 1999 expanded social rights.

Most importantly and what in my opinion annoyed the USA was the upscaling of National pride. Chávez championed Latin American independence from the USA, using oil wealth for diplomacy. This fostered a strong sense of national sovereignty and pride among his supporters.

So you're going to hear a shit load of anti-socialist, anti-Maduro propaganda in the next load of days, weeks and months. However, when you see this information in the same way that with the benefit of hindsight you could listen to Goebells' propaganda and scream at people that he's lying, the propaganda is then revealed for what it actually is.
Post by: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:05:35 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2026, 10:57:04 AM

They have been attacking Venezuelan ships for some time now on the basis that they were smuggling drugs into the US. The attacks were clearly a building block to allow to support a coup to access oil resources.

Yeah, doesn't like Americans being poisoned / killed by those importing cocaine #Hernández
Post by: LC on January 03, 2026, 11:05:49 AM
https://news.sky.com/video/ed-conway-explains-why-trump-cares-about-venezuela-s-oil-13482324

Fast forward towards the end, its all about oil.

Venezuela has more crude oil reserves compared to any country on the planet.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:08:46 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:05:35 AM

Yeah, doesn't like Americans being poisoned / killed by those importing cocaine #Hernández

I think America has had enough suppliers of Cocaine over the years and who didn't get bombed though that kind of puts a massive hole in that piece of propaganda you've bitten right into.
Post by: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:17:42 AM
Quote from: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:08:46 AM

I think America has had enough suppliers of Cocaine over the years and who didn't get bombed though that kind of puts a massive hole in that piece of propaganda you've bitten right into.

You've lost me
Post by: Rossfan on January 03, 2026, 11:20:45 AM
Absolutely disgraceful that the thug empire attacks another sovereign State.
And will get away with it.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:23:39 AM
Quote from: LC on January 03, 2026, 11:05:49 AMhttps://news.sky.com/video/ed-conway-explains-why-trump-cares-about-venezuela-s-oil-13482324

(https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/v2/D4D22AQHRdNqdQWINvw/feedshare-shrink_800/B4DZpXS2soGsAg-/0/1762401152599?e=2147483647&v=beta&t=hpVJAl1hssujW5d1IoiKmds5fNcKifayuxHNWvLnUc0)

Quote from: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:17:42 AM

You've lost me

Were you saying that there was justification based on the "drug boats"?  If I've taken that up wrongly, then I apologise.
Post by: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:37:28 AM
Quote from: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:23:39 AM
Quote from: LC on January 03, 2026, 11:05:49 AMhttps://news.sky.com/video/ed-conway-explains-why-trump-cares-about-venezuela-s-oil-13482324

(https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/v2/D4D22AQHRdNqdQWINvw/feedshare-shrink_800/B4DZpXS2soGsAg-/0/1762401152599?e=2147483647&v=beta&t=hpVJAl1hssujW5d1IoiKmds5fNcKifayuxHNWvLnUc0)

Quote from: JoG2 on January 03, 2026, 11:17:42 AM

You've lost me

Were you saying that there was justification based on the "drug boats"?  If I've taken that up wrongly, then I apologise.

Definitely not....Just pointing out the hypocrites in the White House👍. Gaslighting in overdrive
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 11:41:56 AM
Based on that chart it's surprising he hasn't taken out Canada
Post by: Rossfan on January 03, 2026, 11:45:56 AM
They'll be next......
Post by: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 12:02:33 PM
The same chaps who are all for Ukranian sovereignty have no care for Venezuela surprisingly.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 12:08:09 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 12:02:33 PMThe same chaps who are all for Ukranian sovereignty have no care for Venezuela surprisingly.

And the Russians who have no time for Ukrainian soverignity are suddenly so concerned for Venezuelas soverignity.
Post by: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 12:27:07 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 12:08:09 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 12:02:33 PMThe same chaps who are all for Ukranian sovereignty have no care for Venezuela surprisingly.

And the Russians who have no time for Ukrainian soverignity are suddenly so concerned for Venezuelas soverignity.

I'm not about Americans here. I'm should neo-liberals across the general West and Europe who pretend to care about humanity and freedom when it comes to Ukraine but I'm reality just wants power and control and Western aligned rulers.

This isn't just Trump, the US have been targeting Venezuela for decades. Why is criticism of the West illogically taken as support for Russia. You seem a bit conflicted by your own double standards?

Will the EU place sanctions on the US now? Or will they actually row in behind and legitimize another Western backed genocide, coup or land or resources grab?

The West have clearly brainwashed you into believing we are the good guys and kill people for liberty and freedom.
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 12:32:11 PM
Quote from: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:43:01 AMVenezuela has long battled with the extent of poverty and had been making good progress under Chavez until the coup and then his ultimate death. Replaced by Maduro, his social welfare programme has (too) slowly been distributing the wealth despite what you're going to hear in the foreseeable weeks and months by the propaganda machines in the media.

This is patently false. Know many Venezuelans, do you?

Barbaric stuff from the Americans, driven by the whims of a senile egomaniac.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 12:37:04 PM

f**king take a day off would ya?

Post by: J70 on January 03, 2026, 12:38:34 PM

Umm, I think JOG2's point is that the drugs is a bullshit figleaf.

Trump just released Juan Hernandez, former president of Honduras, last month, right at the start of a 25 year prison sentence for his involvement in drug trafficking through his country.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2026, 12:40:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 12:32:11 PM
Quote from: Casement on January 03, 2026, 10:43:01 AMVenezuela has long battled with the extent of poverty and had been making good progress under Chavez until the coup and then his ultimate death. Replaced by Maduro, his social welfare programme has (too) slowly been distributing the wealth despite what you're going to hear in the foreseeable weeks and months by the propaganda machines in the media.

This is patently false. Know many Venezuelans, do you?

Barbaric stuff from the Americans, driven by the whims of a senile egomaniac.

as predicted by himself the resident Venezuelan experts have arrived.

Kallas already out with an embarrassing EU statement
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 12:48:54 PM
Ah sure look who it is! What the flying f**k does a gobshite like you know about Venezuela or the Venezuelan people?! Absolutely f**king nothing.

Chavez pissed away his transformational legacy a few years after coming to power. Maduro made sure he drove it into the ground. Venezuela is, completely needlessly, a failed state, wracked by overwhelming poverty, corruption, state violence, crime and mass emigration.

None of which in anyway excuses or justifies the yankee imperialism. It's an oil grab. Nothing more.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 12:52:15 PM
I worked with a Venezuelan girl from 2014-15, her family had fled after Maduro came to power in 2013. He is not a nice guy.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2026, 12:53:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 12:48:54 PMAh sure look who it is! What the flying f**k does a gobshite like you know about Venezuela or the Venezuelan people?! Absolutely f**king nothing.

Chavez pissed away his transformational legacy a few years after coming to power. Maduro made sure he drove it into the ground. Venezuela is, completely needlessly, a failed state, wracked by overwhelming poverty, corruption, state violence, crime and mass emigration.

None of which in anyway excuses or justifies the yankee imperialism. It's an oil grab. Nothing more.

looks who immediately goes to insults.. where have i commented on it...

i just called out your hypocrisy... the resident board expert... you are the biggest pathetic knob going... god help those around around you if you are even tiny bit as obnoxious as you are on here...

i wouldnt usually go down the insult route but for you, ill make an exception
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:00:44 PM
Away and shite you absolute sap. Back to pray at the altar of your idolised socialist revolutionaries such as, um, Mick f**king Wallace. Ask him to pay his taxes while you're chatting to him. When it comes to anything beyond managing to wipe you're own hole you're about as knowledgeable as Danny Dyer FFS.

Leave the discussions on politics and world affairs to lads who achieved a reading level beyond the Beano.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2026, 01:06:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:00:44 PMAway and shite you absolute sap. Back to pray at the altar of your idolised socialist revolutionaries such as, um, Mick f**king Wallace. Ask him to pay his taxes while you're chatting to him. When it comes to anything beyond managing to wipe you're own hole you're about as knowledgeable as Danny Dyer FFS.

Leave the discussions on politics and world affairs to lads who achieved a reading level beyond the Beano.

bringing out the big insults now...

the big man on the forum...  you know nothing about me but as ever just demean, insult and dismiss

what an unbearable f**ker you must be for everyone in your life... pathetic little man.
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:08:31 PM
"Bringing out the insults" you yap about, having landed in here for the first time in weeks with nothing but ill-informed snark. Stick your misguided self righteousness up your hole, you absolute f**king loser.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2026, 01:12:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:08:31 PM"Bringing out the insults" you yap about, having landed in here for the first time in weeks with nothing but ill-informed snark. Stick your misguided self righteousness up your hole, you absolute f**king loser.

i need to post daily to share an opinion or comment now.. sorry master!!!

the snark was when you posted that the resident experts would be on to comment on Venezuela on the other thread  and then you yourself chime in here... hypocrite.. and then as always demean insult dismiss name call... deluded little man
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:19:25 PM
The difference is I do know things in relation to Venezuela. I work with Venezuelans. I live around them. My kids go to school with them.

You, on the other hand, and almost certainly all the other "experts" as, yes, I sarcastically belittled them, know nothing. Absolutely f**king nothing. Forming your opinions from Wikipedia and Twitter.  America = bad, therefore anyone America in conflict with = good. What are you, an infant?!

But by all means fire ahead and defend Maduro and the incredibly fair, just and equal socialist paradise that he was well on the way to building if only those pesky Americans hadn't got involved.
Post by: Truthsayer on January 03, 2026, 01:32:20 PM
Once you resort to personal insults your argument is defunct and by jees you go low when anyone has an alernative opinion. So much for 'discussion' board.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2026, 01:35:14 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:19:25 PMThe difference is I do know things in relation to Venezuela. I work with Venezuelans. I live around them. My kids go to school with them.

You, on the other hand, and almost certainly all the other "experts" as, yes, I sarcastically belittled them, know nothing. Absolutely f**king nothing. Forming your opinions from Wikipedia and Twitter.  America = bad, therefore anyone America in conflict with = good. What are you, an infant?!

But by all means fire ahead and defend Maduro and the incredibly fair, just and equal socialist paradise that he was well on the way to building if only those pesky Americans hadn't got involved.

you know venezuelans so nobody else can... the ones you know are better informed and their opinions are gospel accrording to Gallsman so no one else who know venezuelans can have other opinions or if they do they are alreasy dismissed by Gallsman as being know it alls that actually know nothing..

what a f**king ego.. what is infantile is your know it all expert attitude while sneering at others who you know nothing about, their education or knowledge while labeling them 'experts'..

who knows what South America might be without American interference...

Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:39:13 PM
Yes, the ones I know are absolutely better informed than the none theskull "Casement" knows, with his deep integration in the enormous, rabidly anti-Semitic Venezuelan population in Belfast.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 01:45:18 PM
End of the day America has inferred in another country with any inhouse approval on his policies. Talking of attacking Iraq again after a meeting with that war criminal from Israel. Ole trump not to quick to bck country under attack from Russia.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 01:46:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 01:45:18 PMEnd of the day America has inferred in another country with any inhouse approval on his policies. Talking of attacking Iraq again after a meeting with that war criminal from Israel. Ole trump not to quick to bck country under attack from Russia.
White House is claiming that Delta enforced an arrest warrant so don't need Congressional approval.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 01:50:23 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 01:19:25 PMThe difference is I do know things in relation to Venezuela. I work with Venezuelans. I live around them. My kids go to school with them.

Absolutely nobody has defended Maduro.

The conversation is about the kidnap of a head of state. His legitimacy is an aside. But is he more or less dubious than Putin, Netanyahu, MBS, Bolsinaro, Hernandez, Orban and so on? What are some hardmen in the club and him not?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 01:50:27 PM
Think u do,when u illegally enter with soldiers into another country to enforce it. There not a couple of international arrest warrants out for  people Trump recently met? Should the British Army have run around the republic after high level wanted persons back in the day?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 01:53:40 PM
I'm really starting to question the credibility of the Fifa Peace Prize

(Stolen)
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 01:55:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 11:41:56 AMBased on that chart it's surprising he hasn't taken out Canada
Sure wasnmt he looking to make it the 51st state?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 01:56:03 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 01:53:40 PMI'm really starting to question the credibility of the Fifa Peace Prize

(Stolen)
100% of the winners have directly attacked a sovereign nation..
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 01:56:18 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 01:50:27 PMThink u do,when u illegally enter with soldiers into another country to enforce it. There not a couple of international arrest warrants out for  people Trump recently met? Should the British Army have run around the republic after high level wanted persons back in the day?
Calm down. I'm not defending it. I'm repeating  what they are saying.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 03, 2026, 02:03:08 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 01:53:40 PMI'm really starting to question the credibility of the Fifa Peace Prize

(Stolen)

That "prize" was about as  relevant as Father Jack's  teacup award

He probably got it  the same way as Jack did.... AWARD! AWARD!
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 02:23:12 PM
@williamnhutton

And if and when Russian special forces capture Polish PM Donald Tusk or Moldova's PM Alexandru Munteanu, what will we say? Europe has real common interests, especially commitment to international law, very different to Trump's
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 02:48:56 PM
I've seen that there has been unified condemnation from Latin American nations and the usual "we're monitoring the situation" from those who can't bring themselves to condemn what is indefensible.

They've taken Maduro to NY and are going to hit him with shit loads of conspiracies.

I'm going to ignore those who have attacked my opinions personally and focus on the benefits of participative democracy programmes for the poor, the obvious increase in literacy, government funded subsidized food programmes for the poor in an LEDC country etc. They are indisputable facts. And as stated, as imperfect as they are, the poor in those countries have benefitted more than they would have with right wing Yankee loving governments of the past.

Anyway, the world's bullies with the biggest fists can do what they like. International law does not exist when it comes to the USA and the UN are useless.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 02:53:12 PM
What excate arrest warrant was out for him, an American one or international one?
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 03:07:48 PM
"In a statement posted on X, US Attorney General Pam Bondi said Maduro and his wife have been indicted in the Southern District of New York.

"Nicolas Maduro has been charged with Narco-Terrorism Conspiracy, Cocaine Importation Conspiracy, Possession of Machineguns and Destructive Devices, and Conspiracy to Possess Machineguns and Destructive Devices against the United States. They will soon face the full wrath of American justice on American soil in American courts," she said."

I don't know what 'legislation' they have used. I doubt any has been used. Something obscure within their constitution will no doubt be used.
Post by: Sportacus on January 03, 2026, 03:20:19 PM
If you were in Greenland and hadn't been taking the Trump threats seriously, you would be now.
Post by: Banks of the Bann on January 03, 2026, 03:37:59 PM

Speaking of Ukraine, don't forget to hand in your homework over on the Russian Invasion thread.

You know, the discussion we were having that you so highly craved.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 03:59:55 PM
Jees if ye tipped in here looking for some info on what all happening you'd be in the wrong place

Same old people point scoring from shit elsewhere. Tiresome
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 04:11:12 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 03:59:55 PMJees if ye tipped in here looking for some info on what all happening you'd be in the wrong place

Should be banned from engaging with each other. Ruin every thread
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 04:12:23 PM
100%
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 04:16:50 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 04:11:12 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 03:59:55 PMJees if ye tipped in here looking for some info on what all happening you'd be in the wrong place

Should be banned from engaging with each other. Ruin every thread

Mods used to have a rule for this before they all fucked off lol
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 04:19:24 PM
Angelo and Sid are back..
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 04:19:54 PM
Where the mods disappeared to, even bad language would been checked, seens these days they thrown in behind Trump. Say whay u want!!
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 04:21:27 PM
Why on earth would you come into the GAAboard looking for some updates on current affairs FFS?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 04:34:08 PM
Quote from: Casement on January 03, 2026, 03:07:48 PM"In a statement posted on X, US Attorney General Pam Bondi said Maduro and his wife have been indicted in the Southern District of New York.

"Nicolas Maduro has been charged with Narco-Terrorism Conspiracy, Cocaine Importation Conspiracy, Possession of Machineguns and Destructive Devices, and Conspiracy to Possess Machineguns and Destructive Devices against the United States. They will soon face the full wrath of American justice on American soil in American courts," she said."

I don't know what 'legislation' they have used. I doubt any has been used. Something obscure within their constitution will no doubt be used.
So they are charging him with his personal protection firing back? You have to admire the arrogance
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 04:41:35 PM
Some absolute scenes on the ground in Venezuela. I predict a baby boom in 9 months!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 04:57:23 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 04:21:27 PMWhy on earth would you come into the GAAboard looking for some updates on current affairs FFS?

Just to you know get a quick overview. We don't all have time to be experts on all the world matters mate
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 05:07:28 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 04:57:23 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 04:21:27 PMWhy on earth would you come into the GAAboard looking for some updates on current affairs FFS?

Just to you know get a quick overview. We don't all have time to be experts on all the world matters mate

Turn on the radio. Look up the BBC or RTE or any paper that can even pretend to employ actual journalists.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 05:09:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 05:07:28 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 04:57:23 PM

Turn on the radio. Look up the BBC or RTE or any paper that can even pretend to employ actual journalists.

Done that. Some would say BBC not the most  reliable
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 05:12:43 PM
Yes, they're famously an inferior and less reliable source than the GAAboard.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2026, 05:15:13 PM
Jees I'm sorry I started now. Could you go argue with someone else now Mr angry
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 05:33:21 PM
Even Fox are questioning the line that the US will run Venezuela until a suitable government emerges.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 05:34:57 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on January 03, 2026, 03:20:19 PMIf you were in Greenland and hadn't been taking the Trump threats seriously, you would be now.
Exactly. Bombing the boats was MAGA seeing could they get away with it. They did. This is MAGA seeing can they get away with it. If they do...?
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 06:11:47 PM
@jasonhickel
·
2h
Bombing Venezuela while coordinating a genocide in Palestine while threatening to attack Iran (again) while destabillizing Somalia while carrying out a heist in the DRC... US imperialism is the greatest threat to peace and security in our world today and it's not even close.

Pete Buttigieg
@PeteButtigieg
·
It's an old and obvious pattern. An unpopular president - failing on the economy and losing his grip on power at home - decides to launch a war for regime change abroad. The American people don't want to "run" a foreign country while our leaders fail to improve life in this one.
Post by: dec on January 03, 2026, 06:25:46 PM
Remarkably honest press conference from Trump and Hegseth.

"We are going to run the country"

"Getting back the oil that was stolen from us"
Post by: AustinPowers on January 03, 2026, 06:51:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 06:11:47 PM@jasonhickel
·
2h
Bombing Venezuela while coordinating a genocide in Palestine while threatening to attack Iran (again) while destabillizing Somalia while carrying out a heist in the DRC... US imperialism is the greatest threat to peace and security in our world today and it's not even close.

Pete Buttigieg
@PeteButtigieg
·
It's an old and obvious pattern. An unpopular president - failing on the economy and losing his grip on power at home - decides to launch a war for regime change abroad. The American people don't want to "run" a foreign country while our leaders fail to improve life in this one.

The American people  don't want to do alot of  things. Their government, and  those funding/lobbying  them, do.

In the past, they at least tried to dress it up as  some sort of liberation for  X country's inhabitants.  With Trump , he  doesn't  even try to  hide what they're at.
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 06:53:41 PM
Quote from: dec on January 03, 2026, 06:25:46 PMRemarkably honest press conference from Trump and Hegseth.

"We are going to run the country"

"Getting back the oil that was stolen from us"

Marjorie Taylor Greene might find herself falling out of a window soon enough.
Post by: bennydorano on January 03, 2026, 06:59:57 PM
What happened the US's plan for their version of 'splendid isolation?'
Post by: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 07:13:30 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on January 03, 2026, 03:37:59 PM

Speaking of Ukraine, don't forget to hand in your homework over on the Russian Invasion thread.

You know, the discussion we were having that you so highly craved.

It's interesting not a word of condemnation from you about rogue terrorist attack from the West, another coup, another regime changes in a sovereign nation and you don't care.

Post by: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 07:15:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 12:37:04 PM

Take a hike yourself. You shameless apologist for imperialism.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 07:29:27 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 07:15:38 PM

In other news, the amount of twats on here who change their names is embarrassing

Why bother?
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 07:32:25 PM
https://x.com/ChrisLynnHedges/status/2007514574275362951

Chris Hedges
@ChrisLynnHedges
·
1h
The kidnapping of Venezuelan president Nicolas Maduro and his wife solidifies America's role as a gangster state. Violence does not generate peace. It generates violence. The immolation of international and humanitarian law, as the U.S. and Israel have done in Gaza, and as took place in Caracas, generates a world without laws, a world of failed states, warlords, rogue imperial powers and perpetual violence and chaos. If there is one lesson we should have learned in Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria and Libya, it is that regime change spawns Frankensteinian monsters of our own creation. The Venezuelan military and security forces will no more accept the kidnapping of their president and U.S. domination — done as in Iraq to seize vast oil reserves — than the Iraqi security forces and military or the Taliban. This will not go well for anyone, including the U.
Post by: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 07:54:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2026, 07:29:27 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on January 03, 2026, 07:15:38 PM

In other news, the amount of twats on here who change their names is embarrassing

Why bother?

You are a twat alright. A right f**king stupid one.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 08:37:58 PM
Machado
https://x.com/BenjaminNorton/status/1988937942933598578
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 08:46:05 PM
https://www.ft.com/content/43888865-8e3c-44fa-8901-54b8d21103f6

But regime change is a departure. As with Iraq, Trump's grounds for taking over Venezuela are manifold and shifting. On Iraq, Bush variously talked about seizing Saddam Hussein's weapons of mass destruction, his alleged links to al-Qaeda, spreading democracy to the Middle East and striking the axis of evil. On Venezuela, Trump has talked about a war on narco-terrorism, combating gang warfare on America's streets and retrieving what he describes as American territory and oil. Venezuela nationalised its foreign oil operations earlier this century. To those causes could be added the animus of his secretary of state Marco Rubio towards Cuba's communist regime. Cuba gets its oil from Venezuela and has thousands of paramilitary "advisers" stationed there. At more than 300bn barrels, Venezuela has the largest reserves in the world. For Cuba's regime, this moment could be existential. Two questions leap out. The first is whether Trump's appetite for military adventurism will continue to spread. He has advertised designs on Canada, Panama, Greenland and the Gaza Strip. On Saturday, he implied Mexico was also in his sights. "She's a good woman," Trump said of Mexico's president Claudia Sheinbaum. "But the cartels are running Mexico. She's not running Mexico . . . Something is going to have to be done with Mexico." Mexico, not Venezuela, supplies almost all of America's fentanyl. Trump on Saturday also warned Gustavo Petro, Columbia's leftwing president, to "watch his ass". Colombia, not Venezuela, supplies most of America's cocaine. The second question is how Trump plans to govern Venezuela. Should he be serious about running the country, US boots on the ground will be essential. Even if Trump thinks he can run the place by remote control, reality will intervene. The country is awash with weapons, militias and supporters of "Chavismo", the brand of thuggish Venezuelan socialism named after Maduro's predecessor. Should Russia, China or another adversary wish to bog Trump down in his own quagmire, they have an opportunity. At his Mar-a-Lago press conference on Saturday, Trump betrayed no concern about the scale and complexity of the task he has set himself. The priority, he kept insisting, would be to restore Venezuela's infrastructure so that it could start pumping oil to its full potential. The expanded flow of oil revenues would be used to compensate US oil companies and fund Venezuela's reconstruction. Quite how America's oil companies could accomplish this without heavy US military protection Trump did not specify. Either way, leaders in the western hemisphere and beyond will be sleeping less easily from now on. Trump is getting increasingly comfortable with the awesome firepower that he has at his disposal. The consequences of his disregard for both international and US constitutional law will take time to manifest. So too will the precise nature of how he plans to run Venezuela. Whatever way that pans out, Trump's new world order is now very much a reality. It consists of no obvious rules, does not respect allies, celebrates the jungle and is almost always about money. There is a lot of wealth under Venezuela's soil. Trump is now committed to extracting it. 
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 08:53:51 PM
TLDR

Venezuelans look delighted. I'm happy for them.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 09:12:49 PM
General rule of thumb- if you aren't sure on an issue, look at what pedo Trump thinks about it- if you think the exact opposite then you'll most likely be right.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 09:20:19 PM

Tobias Elwood.
https://x.com/PeterStefanovi2/status/2007559134544371995
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2026, 09:21:22 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 03, 2026, 08:53:51 PMTLDR

Venezuelans look delighted. I'm happy for them.
Any estimate on how many died in the attack?

If you think this was done for the benefit of ordinary Venezuelans you are a cretin.
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 09:24:49 PM
Yes Seafoid. As bad as this is going to be on the poor of Venezuela, Cuba rely heavily on Venezuela due to the US embargo and are going to be in serious trouble now. They've already been struggling since COVID as they were relying so much on the income from tourism. Bad times ahead.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2026, 09:29:01 PM
Bastards. Doubtful it will get much better even if the orange mongrel croaks
Post by: Tubberman on January 03, 2026, 10:18:52 PM
https://x.com/WhiteHouse/status/2007543726521155938 (https://x.com/WhiteHouse/status/2007543726521155938)

What a pathetic fall for what was once a great country.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2026, 10:40:11 PM
https://x.com/RepMTG/status/2007485346913607836

I've served on the Homeland Security Committee for the past three years. I'm 100% for strong safe secure borders and stopping narco terrorists and cartels from trafficking deadly drugs and human trafficking into America. Fentanyl is responsible for over 70% of U.S. drug overdose deaths and fentanyl comes from Mexican cartels made with chemical precursors from China and trafficked across the U.S. Mexico border. Mexican cartels are primarily and overwhelmingly responsible for killing Americans with deadly drugs. If U.S. military action and regime change in Venezuela was really about saving American lives from deadly drugs then why hasn't the Trump admin taken action against Mexican cartels? And if prosecuting narco terrorists is a high priority then why did President Trump pardon the former Honduran President Juan Orlando Hernandez who was convicted and sentenced for 45 years for trafficking hundreds of tons of cocaine into America? Ironically cocaine is the same drug that Venezuela primarily traffics into the U.S. The next obvious observation is that by removing Maduro this is a clear move for control over Venezuelan oil supplies that will ensure stability for the next obvious regime change war in Iran. And of course why is it ok for America to militarily invade, bomb, and arrest a foreign leader but Russia is evil for invading Ukraine and China is bad for aggression against Taiwan? Is it only ok if we do it? (I'm not endorsing Russia or China) Regime change, funding foreign wars, and American's tax dollars being consistently funneled to foreign causes, foreigners both home and abroad, and foreign governments while Americans are consistently facing increasing cost of living, housing, healthcare, and learn about scams and fraud of their tax dollars is what has most Americans enraged. Especially the younger generations. Boomers and half of Gen X will cheer on neocon wars and talking points, but the other half of Gen X and majority on down see through it and hate it. Americans disgust with our own government's never ending military aggression and support of foreign wars is justified because we are forced to pay for it and both parties, Republicans and Democrats, always keep the Washington military machine funded and going. This is what many in MAGA thought they voted to end. Boy were we wrong. As the baby boomers slip away both in votes and power, the electoral future will be decided for candidates that focus on American economic populism and promising prosperity for Americans only. As of right now, neither party is offering the solution.
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 10:49:14 PM
She'll either decide not to run or they'll primary her.
Post by: gawa316 on January 03, 2026, 11:21:31 PM
What is the reaction from the Venezuelan people to this?
Post by: Casement on January 03, 2026, 11:30:04 PM
Depends on which people get air time.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 11:57:17 PM
Ireland seriously need look at their love in with the US too. Overreliance on big tech companies and american input. Need spread out nxt 5/10yrs as all the eggs in 1 basket will bite them.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2026, 11:58:47 PM
Did some presidents not run on the basis of no more wars.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 04, 2026, 01:26:57 AM

I'm with ya. Been in a news diet since he got re-elected. Hopefully after the midterms I can pay more attention.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 08:19:27 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 04, 2026, 01:26:57 AM

I'm with ya. Been in a news diet since he got re-elected. Hopefully after the midterms I can pay more attention.
This explains it. It's long but worth it.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2026/01/03/we-will-regret-the-dawn-of-a-might-makes-right-world/?WT.mc_id=tmgoff_tw_post_a-might-makes-right-world/

It has finally happened. After months of military build-up in the Caribbean, the illegal killing of more than a hundred people on Venezuelan fishing boats – many of them civilians – and the equally illegal seizure of Venezuelan oil tankers, the Trump administration has dramatically escalated its aggression against Venezuela.
Advertisement
In the early hours of Saturday morning, US forces launched a large-scale military attack on several sites, including the capital Caracas, that resulted in the capture – or more accurately, the kidnapping – of Venezuelan president Nicolás Maduro.
The groundwork for this operation has been laid for months. Chief among the justifications was the claim that Venezuela is a "narco-terrorist" state at the centre of the fentanyl trade responsible for the US overdose crisis, an accusation that has been thoroughly debunked.
Other allegations were quickly added to the mix: that the country hosts "Iran-backed terrorists" (another unsubstantiated claim) and, inevitably, the assertion that regime change is about bringing "democracy" and "freedom" to the Venezuelan people.
Advertisement
But ultimately, once all the layers of propaganda are stripped away, this attack boils down to just one thing: a completely unprovoked and blatantly illegal act of aggression against a country that posed no real threat to the United States.
The real objectives are transparent. First, to gain control over Venezuela's vast oil reserves – the largest in the world. Second, to topple a key ally of the non-Western geopolitical bloc aligned with China and Russia. In short, this is yet another regime-change war, from a president that campaigned precisely on putting an end to the US's "forever wars".
In this sense, the attack is revealing not only for what it does, but for what it signals about the evolving nature of US foreign policy. According to several analysts, the recently published US National Security Strategy – along with Trump's efforts to negotiate a settlement in Ukraine and to scale down military commitments in Europe – signals a sober acceptance of the emerging multipolar order and a move away from Washington's traditional reliance on direct military containment of rival great powers.

The attack on Venezuela, however, suggests a different conclusion: that the US remains determined to slow or stall the transition to multipolarity, albeit not through head-on conflict with China or Russia, but by doubling down on a globalised proxy-war strategy that targets the weaker links of the rival system. Venezuela fits this logic perfectly.
The operation marks the extension of a model already tested elsewhere, where escalation is displaced onto peripheral theatres: any vulnerable country that refuses alignment with the US and its allies becomes a potential target, especially those located in what Washington once again is claiming as its "God-given" sphere of influence: the Western Hemisphere. This amounts to a revival of the Monroe Doctrine in updated, openly militarised form.
Advertisement
This points not to the end of great-power confrontation, but to a shift in how it is managed by the US: through permanent destabilisation and engineered chaos, where even the most elementary rules of international coexistence are discarded.
In this sense, the attack on Venezuela is perhaps the clearest demonstration yet of the collapse of the so-called "rules-based order". One might object that this order was always a fiction. International law, sovereignty and non-intervention were routinely violated by the US and its allies, even as they were selectively enforced against others. From covert coups to bombing campaigns to outright invasions – Grenada, Panama, Iraq – Washington has long disregarded the very rules it claimed to uphold.
Yet there is a qualitative difference today. In the past, the US at least attempted to cloak its actions in legal or moral language and to manufacture domestic and international consent, however fraudulent. That restraint is gone, reduced to lip service that few believe. 
The Trump administration also acts regardless of public opinion. Recent polls show overwhelming US opposition to military action against Venezuela, just as there was strong opposition to the bombing of Iran and to Western complicity in Israeli mass killing in Gaza. None of this has mattered.
This normalisation of barbarism carries grave consequences. Internationally, it accelerates the descent into outright anarchy, where "might makes right" is the only remaining rule. This is especially dangerous in a world where the United States no longer holds the monopoly on global violence, as Russia's invasion of Ukraine demonstrated. Indeed, the attack on Venezuela – and the EU's silence about it – lays bare the hypocrisy of Western narratives on Ukraine, further undermining them in the eyes of much of the world.
Advertisement
It also raises an obvious question: on what moral or legal basis could, for example, the West oppose Chinese action against Taiwan, when Washington has just applied the same logic to Venezuela – pre-emptive violence within a self-declared sphere of influence? 
That China is unlikely to follow this path only underscores the contrast: Beijing's global appeal rests in part precisely on its commitment to building a new world order based on non-intervention and sovereign equality, the very principles the West is in the process of demolishing.
Ultimately, this latest assault will drive even more countries away from the Western system, even as the US responds by escalating threats against those who do. 
Advertisement
And the consequences will not be limited to geopolitics. As Western elites discard legal and moral restraints abroad, they will feel increasingly justified in doing so at home, accelerating the erosion of constitutional safeguards and civil liberties. 
This process is already well underway. The question is no longer whether the so-called rules-based order has collapsed, but how much destruction will be wrought, abroad and at home, before Western societies are forced to reckon with consequences of the lawlessness unleashed by their elites
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 08:26:15 AM

Bernie Sanders

https://x.com/SenSanders/status/2007572736399327666
Post by: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 09:08:01 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 04, 2026, 01:26:57 AM

Will he even let midterms happen?
Post by: RedHand88 on January 04, 2026, 09:18:25 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on January 03, 2026, 11:21:31 PMWhat is the reaction from the Venezuelan people to this?

A dictator has been removed. They are delighted.
Post by: Rossfan on January 04, 2026, 09:28:56 AM
Saudi Arabia next.......
Post by: JoG2 on January 04, 2026, 09:32:44 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 04, 2026, 09:18:25 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on January 03, 2026, 11:21:31 PMWhat is the reaction from the Venezuelan people to this?

Oh yes, the Venezuelan people will have seen how well it has worked out for other countries, and delighted they will be
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2026, 09:36:19 AM

and replaced by another one.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 09:39:13 AM
Colombia will be next.

It'll probably take a mass revolt from within the US military to stop these lunatics because lets face it no one else has the firepower.
Post by: Banks of the Bann on January 04, 2026, 09:58:39 AM
I would imagine US friendly RW military dictatorships will be the order of the day.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 10:06:29 AM
Question is will he remember about Greenland. And if so what does Europe do?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2026, 10:09:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 10:06:29 AMQuestion is will he remember about Greenland. And if so what does Europe do?
He will take Greenland. Europe will complain, bit of chit chat in the UN Security Council etc. but ultimately nothing will happen and he'll move onto the next thing. He's the head of the world's biggest crime family.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 10:12:42 AM

How did the post invasion work in Iraq and Libya?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 11:14:17 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 10:12:42 AM

How did the post invasion work in Iraq and Libya?
Absolutely.

How long is it since America sticking their noses into another countries affairs actually benefitted that country?
Post by: Denn Forever on January 04, 2026, 11:26:26 AM
https://www.facebook.com/reel/1517740762672354
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 11:43:00 AM
https://x.com/BenjaminNorton/status/2007665390420406419

Ben Norton
@BenjaminNorton
·
3m
The US attack on Venezuela is part of a larger US imperialist assault on all of Latin America. This is the US empire's plan. It was spelled out clearly in the Trump administration's 2025 National Security Strategy. The US seeks to forcibly impose its hegemony in the entire western hemisphere, reviving the colonial Monroe Doctrine (now known as the "Donroe Doctrine"). The plan is for US corporations to control all of the region's strategic natural resources, including critical minerals and rare earth elements. The US wants to create a new supply chain in the western hemisphere that cuts out China, to prepare for future conflict with Beijing. Trump administration officials recognize that manufacturing jobs are not actually coming back to the US, so they admit in the National Security Strategy that they want to "near-shore manufacturing" to Latin America. US corporations hope to exploit low-paid Latin American workers to make their products, cutting out China. This is also why a new US-dominated supply chain in the western hemisphere is needed: not only because the US military-industrial complex needs to remove China from the supply chain for the weapons that it is making to prepare for a potential future war with China; but also because Washington wants to economically decouple from China, and thinks Latin America can help it do that. Moreover, the US empire seeks to control all of the strategic infrastructure in the region. So the Trump administration is going to brazenly threaten Latin American countries to force China to sell any investments it has in infrastructure projects. Trump already forced Panama to pressure the Hong Kong company that owned ports surrounding the Panama Canal to sell them to Wall Street giant BlackRock. It is likely that the US will also target Peru's Port of Chancay, one of the most important ports in the region, which was built by China. Washington could even blackmail Latin American governments to force them to impose restrictions on Chinese investment in the region. The National Security Council shows how the Trump administration is obsessed with trying to force the countries of Latin America to cut off their ties with China. This is Cold War Two. In his first trip abroad as secretary of state, Marco Rubio went to Panama, where he forced the country to withdraw from China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI). The Trump administration is going to massively increase its pressure on other countries in the region to withdraw from the BRI. Likewise, Trump blatantly meddled in Honduras' election in 2025 and backed an electoral coup d'etat. Honduras' new right-wing US puppet regime will likely formally break diplomatic ties with the People's Republic of China. The US also wants to use Honduras as a base of operations for attacks on the Sandinista government in neighboring Nicaragua. After bombing and occupying Venezuela, Trump and Marco Rubio want to carry out similar imperialist regime-change wars on Nicaragua and Cuba. Rubio has dedicated his entire career to overthrowing their socialist revolutions. It is a political crusade for him. The Trump administration's goal is simple: to impose right-wing US puppet regimes in every country in Latin America, which will obediently serve the interests of Washington and Wall Street, and sell off their assets to US investors. Two important elections are coming up in 2026 in countries with left-wing governments: Brazil (in October) and Colombia (in May). It is guaranteed that the Trump administration is going to meddle in those elections to try to put in power obedient right-wing US puppets (like Javier Milei in Argentina). Trump is also threatening to bomb Mexico, which has a very popular left-wing, independent government. Mexico has strongly opposed these US threats, saying they would be an attack on Mexico's sovereignty. But the US empire doesn't care a bit about sovereignty. The superficial, puerile rhetoric about "democracy" that we hear from Western officials and pundits is ridiculous. It is impossible for the countries of Latin America (and the Global South as a whole) to practice democracy when the world's most powerful and deadliest empire is constantly interfering in their elections, attacking them, imposing sanctions on them, and sponsoring coups. True democracy is impossible while imperialism exists
Post by: Banks of the Bann on January 04, 2026, 12:02:45 PM
Imagine if there was a military alliance that all these Latin American countries could join that would make it next to impossible for the US to bully, threaten, intimidate and invade them.

Would Mexico, Colombia, Cuba etc joining such a hypothetical alliance be 'warmongering' and poking the US Bear?

Post by: AustinPowers on January 04, 2026, 12:15:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2026, 10:09:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 04, 2026, 10:06:29 AMQuestion is will he remember about Greenland. And if so what does Europe do?
He will take Greenland. Europe will complain, bit of chit chat in the UN Security Council etc. but ultimately nothing will happen and he'll move onto the next thing. He's the head of the world's biggest crime family.

Can't help feeling a  big line  has been crossed here with Venezuela. And as you say ,  nothing will happen. No rules, no  consequences . A rogue state  doing  what it wants.

The world is f**ked. Let's just enjoy it while we can , until  that mushroom cloud appears over the horizon.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2026, 12:21:00 PM
It no surprise that the global powers have and continue to 'muscle' in on smaller nations to take their essential minerals. Even before oil was a thing countries were doing that.

China has been 'controlling' plenty of Africa, they ain't doing it for the craic, Russia been doing it for years, and looking to take Ukraine and it's not much to do with the 'nazi' they claim runs the county but it's natural resources and it's positioned sea ports.

They were in Afghanistan, it was the USSR purely to use the countries workers and minerals, it didn't work out but he wants it back

America who meddled in many countries (still do) are now looking to do the same as the other super powers are doing/done and are non apologetic about now, and blatantly going full on..

Expect Taiwan to submit to China soon..

Instead of countries engaging in a whole earth approach of helping each other it's preparing for earth destruction..

A good meteorite will solve it
Post by: Truthsayer on January 04, 2026, 12:28:24 PM
"America can project our will anywhere anytime"... US Secretary of War: Pete Hegseth.
Sounds more like: "You ain't seen nothing yet..."
Bets: Greenland next.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 12:33:28 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2026/01/03/trump-is-about-to-make-his-biggest-gamble-yet
Yet, as the US and its allies learnt to their cost in both Iraq and Afghanistan, achieving regime change is a great deal easier than establishing a new administration in America's image.
Both the military campaigns to remove the Taliban in Afghanistan, and Saddam Hussein in Iraq, achieved their goals in a relatively short space of time and with minimal Western casualties. But subsequent efforts to establish pro-Western governments in Kabul and Baghdad proved immeasurably more difficult, plunging both countries into civil war and costing the US and its allies heavily in terms of blood and treasure.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2026, 12:33:31 PM
Where Whitey to defend his President he voted for!!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2026, 12:41:57 PM
Here Americans had vote in that Clown Trump. As somebody had said on here a long time ago, problem is, hes a dangerous clown. Timing with the epstein files coming out is very suspicious, and from a long term view, maybe the reason they didnt bck Ukraine.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2026, 08:21:13 PM
https://x.com/implausibleblog/status/2007896040918102174
Post by: Franko on January 05, 2026, 09:08:07 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2026, 05:12:43 PMYes, they're famously an inferior and less reliable source than the GAAboard.

Well you've certainly positioned yourself as a reliable source.  With your deep knowledge of Venezuelans
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 09:39:35 AM
Surely someone in Europe grow a set and stands up to the **** over Greenland.

Then Putin gets his wish of separating NATO and the US. Add to the fact that Trump's 350 million dollar "ball room" is almost certainly a nuclear bunker and you'd have to fear for where we're going in the next few years.
Post by: Banks of the Bann on January 05, 2026, 10:43:54 AM
https://x.com/ChrisO_wiki/status/2007899574518915096?s=20

1/ Vladimir Putin's heavy investment in the regime of Venezuelan former President Nicolás Maduro has been a costly and disastrous failure, according to Russian commentators. They admit that Russia is too weak to stop its allies from being picked off one by one by the West

2/ Maxim Kalashnikov is scathing about what the fall of Maduro means for Russian foreign policy, saying that it "marks the collapse of the Russian leadership's long-standing PR-fueled foreign policy."

3/ "For a long time, it resembled a fireworks display: much noise and hype, but no real benefit to the development and industrialisation of the Russian Federation, or to the reunification of the Russian people.

4/ "Let's just dump $20 billion into the "black hole" of raw materials-fueled pseudo-socialism in Venezuela, never to be recouped.Let's bury a comparable amount of resources in Syria, which we absolutely do not need...

5/ ...(but then miss the chance for Novorossiya and completely neglect the migration problem in Russia). Let's create naval bases in Syria and Sudan, for which we don't even have a navy. But we'll lose the chance to take Odesa and unite with Transnistria...

6/ "All of this has ended in a predictable fiasco. Now there is no Syria, no Sudan, no Venezuela. Odesa, Kherson, and Mykolaiv are in Banderite [Ukrainian] hands, Transnistria is blockaded and hanging by a thread.

7/ "Russia has been swept out of the Transcaucasus and is being removed from Central Asia. The enormous resources squandered on "foreign policy pyrotechnics" can no longer be recovered. NATO has now been reinforced by Finns and Swedes.

8/ "After all, you can't count your chickens before they hatch. And now, this "autumn for the patriarch" [i.e. Putin] is upon us.

9/ "It's a shame. The chances we've had since 2000 were magical. And it's a shame they've been relegated to the category of lost victories. A gloomy time lies ahead..."

10/ Alexander Kartavykh is similarly scathing about the waste of resources that the Maduro regime represented for Russia:

11/ "Even Maduro wouldn't have given us anything; have you seen what's happening with the economy? They didn't even pay the security forces anything. Because they're idiots, not so much greedy as stupid. That's why they were abandoned so easily, actually.

12/ "In short, they might as well have given a homeless guy working on a heating main a few grand in "investments." And then expect him to drink it all away, start a new life, and one day give back every penny.

13/ "Don't bother me, write off the expenses, and move on. Optionally, you can hang those who lobbied for this loan, because it didn't seem worthwhile even before the invasion. And in any case, don't interfere with enjoying the best post-New Year's show of 2026."

14/ 'The Ghost of Novorossiya' criticises Venezuela's apparent lack of preparedness for the US intervention, and comments that from a geopolitical perspective, "I would say the picture is grim."

15/ "At the end of 2024, the Assad regime falls in Syria; in the summer of 2025, American-Israeli efforts inflict colossal damage on Iran; now Venezuela is being sidelined.

16/ "The Western bloc is methodically identifying weak elements among the so-called "revisionist powers" and eliminating them precisely when they are most difficult to help.

17/ "This avoids a disadvantageous frontal clash with Russia and China, allowing for small changes in the international balance of power for tougher negotiations with Moscow and Beijing in the future.

18/ "In this context, it's appropriate to predict a further increase in tensions in regions where Russian interests are present, but which are also peripheral, far away, and of significantly lower priority compared to the main Ukrainian issue.

19/ "These are regions where our allies face a number of acute socioeconomic challenges, where the potential for rebellion by the hostile opposition is high, and where our rivals find it convenient to sponsor provocations.

20/ "I don't rule out that sooner or later, they will try to push us out of Africa using this strategy. Will we be ready for this?"

21/ The 'Russian People's Militia (RND)' asks and answers the question of "Why didn't Russia help its strategic partner in South America? Was it really impossible to do anything?"

22/ "You won't like the answer.

Russia has long been past the point of assistance in America, Africa, or the Middle East. We need to help ourselves, at least, to get out of the Special Military Operation in a draw.

23/ "The most we can do in a situation like Maduro's is to "puff ourselves up," expressing deep concern and resolute protests at the UN.

And, of course, write off billions in debt to African countries and those same South and Latin America as "brotherly aid."

24/ "Bashar al-Assad, now sitting in front of the TV in Moscow, watching the handcuffed Maduro, probably thinks he got off easy, having completely lost his country and fled it in time.

25/ "As for the Americans, they couldn't care less what their various [European] partners think of them. Even if those partners roll out thousands of protest notes and hundreds of concerns.

26/ "So the "cooks" can curse "Vaska the Cat" [Russian UN ambassador Vasily Nebenzya] in the UN building as much as they want. He'll listen to them (with one ear) and silently devour the supplies "in the house."

Libya, Iraq, Syria, Iran, Venezuela.

Who's next?" /end
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on January 05, 2026, 10:45:39 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 09:39:35 AM
Surely someone in Europe grow a set and stands up to the **** over Greenland.

Then Putin gets his wish of separating NATO and the US. Add to the fact that Trump's 350 million dollar "ball room" is almost certainly a nuclear bunker and you'd have to fear for where we're going in the next few years.

Noone will stop the US if they want Greenland. There is a space base already there so I'm sure it's full of military personnel who can take Greenland today if needed. The people in Greenland don't want the Danes so I can't imagine Denmark doing much other than writing a letter and making a few speeches to the UN about how angry they are. They should increase their own presence there at least make it a little bit more embarrassing for the states when they act.

Taiwan is a different matter. It is an island armed to the teeth. China if they want will take it but it will be costly - they either flatten it from the air which won't look great or try to take it with naval landings. The latter would result in ridiculous number of casualties for the Chinese
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2026, 10:54:09 AM
Where does it end though? Greenland, Canada, Mexico the Caribbean including Cuba?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 10:56:48 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2026, 10:54:09 AMWhere does it end though? Greenland, Canada, Mexico the Caribbean including Cuba?
Hopefully he'll croak it soon enough but who knows?

Cuba in bother now apparently as they'd been relying on Venezuelan oil. He's welcome to Tyrone though :D
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2026, 10:59:38 AM

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2026/01/03/trump-is-about-to-make-his-biggest-gamble-yet

The clinical military operation that resulted in the capture of the Maduros reflects Trump's preference for conducting surgical strikes whenever his administration is faced with major global security challenges.
His preference is always for the US military to carry out highly sophisticated precision strikes that achieve his administration's overall objectives without having to rely on large-scale military deployments.
The Maduro operation is not the first time Trump has resorted to targeted strikes to weaken his enemies. The assassination of Qasem Soleimani, the head of Iran's elite Quds Force in Baghdad in 2020, was in response to a series of hostile actions undertaken by the Iranian military, including the shooting down of a US Navy drone. Rather than responding with conventional military force, Trump preferred to target Soleimani, the primary architect of Iran's attacks against the US whose demise proved to be a catastrophic blow for the Iranian regime.
Advertisement
Trump saw Maduro as a similar threat, after he accused the Venezuelan leader of indulging in narco-terrorism, even if the evidence to support this claim was somewhat sketchy.
Nevertheless, Trump's willingness to authorise such a daring mission will send a clear message to America's rivals that his administration is not afraid to use military force when necessary.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 05, 2026, 11:05:30 AM
It ends wherever Trump & Co want it to end. Sure he can do whatever he wants as per Venezuela.

The only real thing that could stop him would be taking on China and they could hurt the economy for the 'folks back home'. It's funny how America First is now totally different to what all MAGA said it was first.
They are all rolling themselves out to say that going after other countries is America First.

It's hilarious listening to Dems talk about the USA as a beacon of democarcy in the past and this is not what the country is about - many a country who had dictatorships installed by the CIA would argue otherwise!

It really shows up how ineffectice Europe is as a bloc nowadays too.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 05, 2026, 11:06:00 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 10:56:48 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2026, 10:54:09 AMWhere does it end though? Greenland, Canada, Mexico the Caribbean including Cuba?

Cuba in bother now apparently as they'd been relying on Venezuelan oil. He's welcome to Tyrone though :D

I'd imagine there's another psychopath to  continue the madness

I'd  blow up the sperrins  rather than let the hoors near it
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 11:07:07 AM
Think Europe need to cut all ties (as much as possible) with the US while the lunatics are still in charge of the asylum. Even at that, the Democrats are scum as well, look at Gaza even before Trump.
Post by: Banks of the Bann on January 05, 2026, 11:07:50 AM

If he dies then it's Vance, who may be worse.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 11:08:55 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 05, 2026, 11:06:00 AM

Vance, but he wouldn't have the same God like status with the MAGA clowns.

Can you really picture the c***ts allowing another election though? They own practically every media outlet and  social media platform anyway.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 05, 2026, 12:49:11 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 11:08:55 AM

Can you really picture the c***ts allowing another election though? They own practically every media outlet and  social media platform anyway.

CNN, MSNBC, ABC, CBS, NYT, Washington Post, BlueSky all have a left wing slant.
Go outside for a walk!
Post by: J70 on January 05, 2026, 01:54:41 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 05, 2026, 12:49:11 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 11:08:55 AM

CNN, MSNBC, ABC, CBS, NYT, Washington Post, BlueSky all have a left wing slant.
Go outside for a walk!

Blue sky is irrelevant. Progressive echo chamber. Not sure when I last saw anything quoted from there, unlike Twitter.

CBS is moving right under the management of Bari Weiss, who was installed by the Ellisons as they suck up to Trump in the hopes of getting approvals for more mergers and acquisitions. Weiss shelved an expose on the Salvadoran gulag a couple of weeks back right before it was due to be broadcast.

WP is keeping a very tight rein on its journalists because Bezos doesn't want to piss off Trump. Plenty have quit this year.

We'll see how long CNN lasts. If the Ellisons get Warner, CNN is included. Apparently purging the ranks is part of the pitch they're making to Trump to get his approval ahead of Netflix, who also want Warner.
Post by: Rossfan on January 05, 2026, 03:21:10 PM
What passes as "left"(sic) in yankland would be moderately right wing in Europe.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2026, 05:07:21 PM
Meehole with the typical spineless tatement.
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2026, 06:04:11 PM
https://www.ft.com/content/e4d84f5f-0e7c-423d-8026-33f78331f06eNicolás Maduro has pleaded not guilty to drug trafficking charges in a New York court on Monday, after being captured in Caracas in an extraordinary US raid.Prosecutors say Maduro ran an organisation that dispatched thousands of tonnes of cocaine to the US and enabled corruption that enriched his family.
Post by: Rossfan on January 05, 2026, 06:41:17 PM
"Captured"
He was ILLEGALLY ABDUCTED or KIDNAPPED.
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2026, 07:51:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2026, 06:41:17 PM"Captured"
The legal case against Maduro is fake.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 05, 2026, 08:36:56 PM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.
I don't like Trump as a person but it is ridiculous how people here are jumping though hoops to defend an actual dictator just because Trump was the one who got him.
Post by: Franko on January 05, 2026, 08:42:34 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 05, 2026, 08:36:56 PM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.
I don't like Trump as a person but it is ridiculous how people here are jumping though hoops to defend an actual dictator just because Trump was the one who got him.

Arrested?

On the authority of whom?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 06, 2026, 12:52:49 AM
Is there a international arrest warrant out for him or just the one from the wanbee Worlds policeman.
Post by: Rossfan on January 06, 2026, 09:19:34 AM
Just the Thug States of America turning Venezuela into a vassal State colony.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 09:26:36 AM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.
He was kidnapped.

Disgusting that anyone would believe a word the orange clown says. Or that anyone thinks this is a good idea given America's track record in removing leaders of other countries.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 09:52:41 AM
Read today that although Venezuela has any amount of oil, it's very difficult to extract and maybe not all that profitable to do so.
Post by: johnnycool on January 06, 2026, 11:04:41 AM
Not sure how Venezuela is going to play out for Trump and the US in the immediate term let alone the long term.

This new Venezuelan leader hasn't toned down her rhetoric during the inauguration.  That may be for the die hards loyal to Maduro but for Trump to get his oil there will almost certainly need to be US boots on the ground and then the fun begins in the oil regions heaving with heavily armed militias  .

Guerilla warfare in terrain these lads know like the back of their hands could make this an expensive and yet another stupid foray for the US army as the body bags start arriving back in the US.

Trump is yet another evil **** to be in the hot seat of the US presidency and military interventions in Latin America, coups funded by the CIA have been going on for decades so this is nothing new, he's just more brazen.

Post by: bennydorano on January 06, 2026, 11:13:52 AM
Venezuelan flag wavers out in Belfast last night. I'll be disappointed if there's no counter demo by Jamie and the boys at some point.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 11:15:44 AM
CNN just aired this devastating montage highlighting the deep contradictions between Donald Trump's campaign promises and his governing.

https://x.com/DemocraticWins/status/2008372678701314508
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 11:25:46 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 06, 2026, 11:13:52 AMVenezuelan flag wavers out in Belfast last night. I'll be disappointed if there's no counter demo by Jamie and the boys at some point.
They'll get the confederate flag out probably
Post by: weareros on January 06, 2026, 11:42:50 AM
The big question is if the annexing of Greenland happens before or after the World Cup. If the latter (to avoid a boycott), then it will coincide with Ireland's presidency of the EU, and Trump also set to arrive in Doonbeg for the Irish Open in September. If before then will UEFA and European teams have the balls to boycott; if after, what's Ireland reaction. A bit of soft chat from Micheál most likely.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2026, 12:16:04 PM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.

Theres so much to unpack here.. The bit in bold, thou doth protest too much
Post by: Truthsayer on January 06, 2026, 12:29:29 PM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.
What is mental is that anyone would think this is about Trump serving justice on a dictator while he hosts and funds a war criminal in Netenyahu. He gives a fuc about the people of Venezuela... oil oil oil... where next?
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 12:43:30 PM
https://x.com/ChrisLynnHedges/status/2008299007760629994
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 06, 2026, 12:56:44 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 05, 2026, 08:42:34 PM

This is a mental take.
He was arrested.

Arrested?

On the authority of whom?
This all unravels very fast.

The DEA report for 2025 was issued a couple of days before the attack. Venezuela was not mentioned once. Lots of Mexico, Colombia and even Canada. But the Maduro led cartel was so secret even the DEA were unaware of it.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 02:28:21 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2026/01/05/how-venezuela-spin-out-control-indirect-rule/The 1989 invasion of Panama, when the United States took down not only Manuel Noriega but his entire regime, involved around 27,000 American troops.

The invasion of Iraq involved more than 160,000. In 1983, Ronald Reagan invaded and overthrew the government of Grenada with 7,000 troops – but that island is just 21 miles long.

Venezuela, says Robert A Pape, a professor of political science at the University of Chicago and one of America's leading academic experts on political violence, has "perfect terrain for insurgency and terrorism", as well as multiple armed militias and criminal networks numbering in the tens of thousands.

Advertisement

"Venezuela hosts numerous armed groups, including colectivos, who are pro-government militias used for repression; Colombian guerrillas like the ELN [National Liberation Army] and remnants of FARC [Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia]; major criminal networks like Tren de Aragua; and elements of the Venezuelan military operating semi-autonomously," Pape tells The Telegraph.

"America will discover enormous apathy and significant opposition among the mass public. Ordinary people don't like their resources going to benefit a foreign country. Trump's gleeful promise to send in US oil companies to 'operate' Venezuela's oil smacks of Western imperialism that is sure to trigger the worst images of the 'ugly American' that so many in the region know all too well," he adds.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 06, 2026, 05:19:10 PM
It looks like the fix is in with the Vice President getting the job. Nothing much will change, but the oil will flow.

Machado looks to have been discarded.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 06:51:02 PM
https://x.com/MarcoFoster_/status/2008607993651450092

Bernie Sanders: "This is rank imperialism. Trump campaigned on an America First platform. He claimed to be the peace candidate. It is time for the president to focus on the crises facing this country. Trump is failing in his job to run the United States. He should not be trying to run Venezuela."
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 08:54:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 06:51:02 PMhttps://x.com/MarcoFoster_/status/2008607993651450092

Bernie Sanders: "This is rank imperialism. Trump campaigned on an America First platform. He claimed to be the peace candidate. It is time for the president to focus on the crises facing this country. Trump is failing in his job to run the United States. He should not be trying to run Venezuela."
America missed a beat not having that man as President. Very rarely misses.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 09:24:57 PM

CNN is reporting that Big Oil companies have told Trump they are not interested in jumping into Venezuela. After invading the country Trump is without a partner.https://x.com/DougWahl1/status/2008558633282662500
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2026, 10:11:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 09:24:57 PMCNN is reporting that Big Oil companies have told Trump they are not interested in jumping into Venezuela. After invading the country Trump is without a partner.https://x.com/DougWahl1/status/2008558633282662500

So his paymasters aren't interested? Apparently it's got plenty of crude oil but very difficult to drill?

And who guarantees the worker's safety?

Cluster f**k
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 10:28:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2026, 10:11:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 06, 2026, 09:24:57 PMCNN is reporting that Big Oil companies have told Trump they are not interested in jumping into Venezuela. After invading the country Trump is without a partner.https://x.com/DougWahl1/status/2008558633282662500

So his paymasters aren't interested? Apparently it's got plenty of crude oil but very difficult to drill?

Cluster f**k
Costing that much to drill it's not profitable enough apparently. Plus they probably dont trust Trump to not totally flip on the whole thing in a month anyway
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2026, 11:03:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 10:28:01 PM

Cluster f**k
Costing that much to drill it's not profitable enough apparently. Plus they probably dont trust Trump to not totally flip on the whole thing in a month anyway
He'll find some way to coerce them. Anyway it seems the infrastructure for pumping oil in Venezuela is so poor it will take years and years to rectify, by which stage Donnie will hopefully be pushing up daisies.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 06, 2026, 11:55:24 PM
There was some lad start of last year say on the American politics threas that Trump be no worse than Biden lol.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 07, 2026, 12:08:01 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2026, 11:03:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 06, 2026, 10:28:01 PM

Cluster f**k
He'll find some way to coerce them. Anyway it seems the infrastructure for pumping oil in Venezuela is so poor it will take years and years to rectify, by which stage Donnie will hopefully be pushing up daisies.
So how come they have that much of it?
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2026, 09:05:54 AM

Cluster f**k

It's like the oil in Canada
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2026/01/06/trump-maga-pirates-venezuelan-plunder-is-almost-worthless/

Trump may think he has scored a coup by gaining arms-length control over the world's largest known oil reserves, but the extra-heavy tar sands of the Orinoco Belt are barely worth anything at current global oil prices near $60 a barrel
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2026, 09:10:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2026, 09:05:54 AM

Cluster f**k

It's like the oil in Canada
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2026/01/06/trump-maga-pirates-venezuelan-plunder-is-almost-worthless/

Trump may think he has scored a coup by gaining arms-length control over the world's largest known oil reserves, but the extra-heavy tar sands of the Orinoco Belt are barely worth anything at current global oil prices near $60 a barrel

Be more profitable to keep the cocaine coming into America then
Post by: Rossfan on January 07, 2026, 04:56:05 PM
In an act of piracy the Thug States of America have seized a Russian flagged ship in International waters.....   
Post by: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 08:36:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 07, 2026, 04:56:05 PMIn an act of piracy the Thug States of America have seized a Russian flagged ship in International waters.....   

You could at least tell the actual story before spouting nonsense.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 07, 2026, 09:01:57 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 08:36:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 07, 2026, 04:56:05 PMIn an act of piracy the Thug States of America have seized a Russian flagged ship in International waters.....   

Not sure what he's said thats not true...
Post by: tyrone08 on January 07, 2026, 09:03:46 PM

https://news.sky.com/story/greenland-trump-white-house-live-venezuela-maduro-capture-strikes-colombia-latest-13489831

It isnt far wrong. Uk and us siezed ship registrated in Russia
Post by: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 09:59:52 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on January 07, 2026, 09:03:46 PM

https://news.sky.com/story/greenland-trump-white-house-live-venezuela-maduro-capture-strikes-colombia-latest-13489831

A stateless ship given temporary registration on Christmas eve by Russia (wonder why) after being linked with several operations where it broke Iranian oil sanctions.
It was breaking the law.
Post by: JoG2 on January 07, 2026, 10:04:28 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 09:59:52 PM

A stateless ship given temporary registration on Christmas eve by Russia (wonder why) after being linked with several operations where it broke Iranian oil sanctions.
It was breaking the law.

Sure that's grand, no? Laws don't seem to matter much these days
Post by: Armagh18 on January 07, 2026, 10:06:42 PM

It was breaking the law.

The law according to who? America? Ffs
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2026, 10:13:52 PM

"The bottom line is this - their plan is insane: take Venezuela's oil at gunpoint and use it run the country from DC. America is nation building again."

https://x.com/ChrisMurphyCT/status/2008964530194330104
Post by: RedHand88 on January 07, 2026, 10:50:46 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 07, 2026, 10:04:28 PM

It was breaking the law.

Sure that's grand, no? Laws don't seem to matter much these days

Not with many here, no.
Post by: Rossfan on January 07, 2026, 11:29:27 PM
International Law being broken regularly by the Thug States of America and the War Criminal Government of Israel.
But a ship sailing in International waters.....
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 08, 2026, 01:41:35 AM

It was breaking the law.

The consequences for a ship being used in sanctions busting have never been a military seizure in international waters. Especially since the thing was empty.