Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mrdeeds on August 25, 2024, 11:15:48 PM

Title: Oasis
Post by: mrdeeds on August 25, 2024, 11:15:48 PM
It's happening
Title: Re: Oasis
Post by: snoopdog on August 26, 2024, 08:50:50 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 25, 2024, 11:15:48 PMIt's happening
Definetly, maybe
Post by: screenexile on August 26, 2024, 10:40:44 AM
I liked Oasis back in the day but I saw them in 2008 and they were shite. I can't imagine it'll have improved much since!
Post by: thewobbler on August 26, 2024, 10:51:48 AM
Oasis are dirt. Rubbish music, mediocre performers, minus interest in their fans
Post by: NotedObserver on August 26, 2024, 11:01:00 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 26, 2024, 10:51:48 AMOasis are dirt. Rubbish music, mediocre performers, minus interest in their fans

Would agree their music mightn't be too fancy but sang with passion and a bit of style. Cant wait. Instantly back being one of the biggest bands about, especially with how little there is out there.
Post by: JoG2 on August 26, 2024, 11:05:29 AM
While there's a few gems in each of the albums after What's the Story, they weren't great. But, their first 2 albums are absolutely brilliant imo. If you like guitar music, can't see how even a few tunes off the first two albums don't strike a, ah hem, chord  ;D

If they play Ireland, I'd try and get a ticket, but if the rumours are to be true and it's Wembley / Heaton Pk, it's a no from me

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 26, 2024, 12:19:23 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on August 26, 2024, 11:01:00 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 26, 2024, 10:51:48 AMOasis are dirt. Rubbish music, mediocre performers, minus interest in their fans

Would agree their music mightn't be too fancy but sang with passion and a bit of style. Cant wait. Instantly back being one of the biggest bands about, especially with how little there is out there.

Did they ever get any traction in the states?
Post by: JoG2 on August 26, 2024, 12:31:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 26, 2024, 12:19:23 PM

I spent a couple of summers stateside, 95 and 96,their music was everywhere 
Post by: From the Bunker on August 26, 2024, 02:06:21 PM
Meath and Mayo heritage. No wonder they are bonkers!
Post by: RedHand88 on August 26, 2024, 02:07:51 PM
Pair of grumpy looking heures.
Post by: armaghniac on August 26, 2024, 02:08:03 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 25, 2024, 11:15:48 PMIt's happening

Today is gonna be the day
That they're gonna throw it back to you
Post by: Bogman on August 26, 2024, 04:25:32 PM
Love Oasis, great music, people that don't like them are usually dickheads.
Post by: smort on August 26, 2024, 04:35:46 PM
Oh
Post by: Bogman on August 26, 2024, 04:38:24 PM
Quote from: smort on August 26, 2024, 04:35:46 PMOh
You heard me....
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 26, 2024, 04:44:35 PM
Alright Liam calm down
Post by: Mourne Red on August 26, 2024, 05:07:19 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 26, 2024, 02:07:51 PMPair of grumpy looking heures.

They'd fit in well on the GAA board then 😅
Post by: JoG2 on August 26, 2024, 06:20:57 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 26, 2024, 04:44:35 PMAlright Liam calm down

Might be Peggy
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 26, 2024, 08:16:53 PM
Turf has just backed up my theory on the Gallagher's.. two nobs followed by bigger nobs ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on August 26, 2024, 09:11:18 PM
Quote from: Turf on August 26, 2024, 04:25:32 PMLove Oasis, great music, people that don't like them are usually dickheads.

You'd often wonder at linear statements like that.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 26, 2024, 11:36:16 PM
They were pretty crap for years before they split.

Liam Gallagher is a complete c**k too.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2024, 12:07:08 AM
The Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher was on the radio with US DJ Howard Stern who asked about their ongoing argument. When asked where the rivalry begun,

Liam said, "We shared a bedroom and he'd bought this new soundsystem."

''I'd been out drinking, I was 15, had too many sherries, and I'd come in, and had a spliff as well, the room is spinning, I'd got out of bed, couldn't find the light switch so thought, 'F**k it, I'm gonna have to go man'."

''So I whipped it out, p***ed all over his new soundsystem and he's gone 'What the f**k are you doing? That's my f***ing new f***ing stereo?' 'It's alright, it'll f***ing dry won't it'.

And I think he still holds a grudge from that and that was a long time ago."

''[The stereo] was the holy grail but when you gotta go, you gotta go, I ain't p***ing in my Paddington Bear pyjamas for no one.''

When asked by Stern whether he'd, you know, said sorry,

he replied, "I said listen mate, it was either the soundsystem or your f***ing head, and I know he sleeps with his mouth open, so you take it or leave it my son.''
Post by: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 08:17:20 AM
Croke Park August 16th/17th
Tickets Saturday morning
Post by: Bogman on August 27, 2024, 08:19:15 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 26, 2024, 09:11:18 PM
Quote from: Turf on August 26, 2024, 04:25:32 PMLove Oasis, great music, people that don't like them are usually dickheads.

You'd often wonder at linear statements like that.
Tis the truth mate....

https://youtube.com/shorts/gvypKtPhRU0?si=iFPjZAab13wihq4N
Post by: gallsman on August 27, 2024, 08:20:43 AM
They're gonna absolutely mail it in for what, €120 a head?
Post by: JohnDenver on August 27, 2024, 08:33:46 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 08:17:20 AMCroke Park August 16th/17th
Tickets Saturday morning

Would it be safe to assume they will release more dates, possibly the 14th and 15th?

I wonder how planning or croke park availability works for that.

Post by: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 08:39:15 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 27, 2024, 08:20:43 AMThey're gonna absolutely mail it in for what, €120 a head?

Acdc were 150 so I'd say at least that.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 27, 2024, 08:48:39 AM
Croke will need to learn from the AC/DC concert and hopefully some extra work has went into improving the Coldplay concert this week coming.

Coldplay have actually bought the pitch, they bought it before the AC/DC concert, they bought it for a million I'm led to believe.

With the concert fixed for August I'd say there won't be any games next year being played later, so the dates would be the same for the finals 
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2024, 09:06:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 27, 2024, 08:20:43 AMThey're gonna absolutely mail it in for what, €120 a head?
Sound business model.
Post by: bennydorano on August 27, 2024, 09:37:10 AM
A Fallout and cancellation has to be high up on the probability scale.

Was never a huge Oasis fan (& certainly wont be ticket hunting), bought albums but was always waiting on the Stone Roses to comeback and couldn't move on
Post by: Saffrongael on August 27, 2024, 09:42:02 AM
Noel Gallagher apparently looking at a £20m divorce bill, I wonder are the two things related
Post by: snoopdog on August 27, 2024, 09:48:54 AM
The toilet facilities for those on the pitch seriously need improvement. Pi55ing against a wall with a black netting around is not up to scratch. The ladies have a lot of queuing for porta loos.
Post by: thewobbler on August 27, 2024, 09:57:54 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 27, 2024, 09:37:10 AMA Fallout and cancellation has to be high up on the probability scale.

Was never a huge Oasis fan (& certainly wont be ticket hunting), bought albums but was always waiting on the Stone Roses to comeback and couldn't move on

I was thinking the same.

But they're getting back together because they need money, or at least that would seem to be the case. And the promoter must have in place a have-them-by-the-balls clause for no shows.

Post by: NAG1 on August 27, 2024, 10:00:50 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 27, 2024, 09:57:54 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 27, 2024, 09:37:10 AMA Fallout and cancellation has to be high up on the probability scale.

I was thinking the same.

But they're getting back together because they need money, or at least that would seem to be the case. And the promoter must have in place a have-them-by-the-balls clause for no shows.

This is their chance to secure generational wealth for their families if they haven't already.

I would say that's the main driver and what will make the shows happen regardless of the personalities involved.

Nothing more nostalgic to it than that, a simple money spinner for all involved.
Post by: armaghniac on August 27, 2024, 10:12:28 AM
For a few million it is worth putting up with a bollix for a summer.
Post by: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:16:34 AM

Hearing £130 for the UK dates, so I'm assuming €150

Being a Derry man, I'd say I'll be sick of the sight of Croke Pk by the time these gigs come 'round in 2025
Post by: DownFanatic on August 27, 2024, 10:16:53 AM
Was in attendance at Oasis' last gig in Belfast in the Odyssey in 2009. It descended into slight chaos as pints of beer/urine started flying about the arena etc. Liam remarked onstage that they would never play Belfast ever again.

I'd be a big fan and this tour whilst expected, will garner serious interest. It has me roped in from a nostalgic perspective.
Post by: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:18:34 AM

I was thinking the same.

How do you work that out? They've both wealthy men, Noel especially.

Maybe they just want to play again as Oasis..?
Post by: general_lee on August 27, 2024, 10:21:03 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on August 27, 2024, 10:16:53 AMWas in attendance at Oasis' last gig in Belfast in the Odyssey in 2009. It descended into slight chaos as pints of beer/urine started flying about the arena etc. Liam remarked onstage that they would never play Belfast ever again.

I'd be a big fan and this tour whilst expected, will garner serious interest. It has me roped in from a nostalgic perspective.
I was there as well, it was f**king crap, nearly forgot about that.
Post by: thewobbler on August 27, 2024, 10:29:23 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:18:34 AM

I was thinking the same.

How do you work that out? They've both wealthy men, Noel especially.

Maybe they just want to play again as Oasis..?

The thing about wealth is that it's always relative to income vs outgoings.

I doubt Noel would run out of money. The rest of them could. Unless they do this.
Post by: Mourne Red on August 27, 2024, 10:34:50 AM
Noel's lost a house and £20m in his divorce tbf so probably wouldn't mind a big payday to pay that off 😅.. Don't care what the reason is though, hopefully be able to get tickets on Saturday 🤞🏻
Post by: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 10:34:57 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:16:34 AM

Being a Derry man, I'd say I'll be sick of the sight of Croke Pk by the time these gigs come 'round in 2025

Why, have you many more concerts planned?
Post by: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:42:43 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 10:34:57 AM

M O'Rourke, live and unleashed
Post by: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 10:45:08 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 10:42:43 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 10:34:57 AM

M O'Rourke, live and unleashed

Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2024, 11:32:07 AM
Quote from: general_lee on August 27, 2024, 10:21:03 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on August 27, 2024, 10:16:53 AMWas in attendance at Oasis' last gig in Belfast in the Odyssey in 2009. It descended into slight chaos as pints of beer/urine started flying about the arena etc. Liam remarked onstage that they would never play Belfast ever again.

That's the gig I was at and the reason I won't be going to Croker next year. (Outside of all the Derry games that will be there obviously)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 27, 2024, 11:54:08 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 27, 2024, 11:32:07 AM
Quote from: general_lee on August 27, 2024, 10:21:03 AM

That's the gig I was at and the reason I won't be going to Croker next year. (Outside of all the Derry games that will be there obviously)

I'd also back this up. Decent gig, good to say you'd seen them etc but was hit with I'd say half a dozen pints and me at the seating part. Seriously off-putting. Still like them but deffo a few scumbags as fans
Post by: dec on August 27, 2024, 12:43:12 PM
The publicity pictures just show the two brothers, does that mean that is doesn't matter who the rest of the band are?
Post by: shark on August 27, 2024, 02:10:38 PM
Quote from: dec on August 27, 2024, 12:43:12 PMThe publicity pictures just show the two brothers, does that mean that is doesn't matter who the rest of the band are?

It absolutely does not matter. Their initial drummer couldn't keep time and was subsequently sacked. Noel played the drums for the recording of Definitely Maybe.
Post by: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 02:34:08 PM
Quote from: shark on August 27, 2024, 02:10:38 PM
Quote from: dec on August 27, 2024, 12:43:12 PMThe publicity pictures just show the two brothers, does that mean that is doesn't matter who the rest of the band are?

It absolutely does not matter. Their initial drummer couldn't keep time and was subsequently sacked. Noel played the drums for the recording of Definitely Maybe.

Eh? McCarroll is the drummer on all tracks on Definitely Maybe.
Post by: shark on August 27, 2024, 02:42:52 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 02:34:08 PM

He is on paper. In the Definitely Maybe documentary, from about 10 years ago, it was said that on the final recording Noel did all the drumming. It was probably Noel who said that mind you , so who knows.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2024, 04:03:32 PM
Nobody really turns up for Guigsy or Bonehead do they.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 27, 2024, 04:03:43 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 27, 2024, 08:17:20 AMCroke Park August 16th/17th
Tickets Saturday morning

A few journalists was speculating that All-Ireland football final in the 2025 could be pushed back to mid August, such speculation put to bed already.
Post by: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 05:30:58 PM
Quote from: shark on August 27, 2024, 02:42:52 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 27, 2024, 02:34:08 PM

He is on paper. In the Definitely Maybe documentary, from about 10 years ago, it was said that on the final recording Noel did all the drumming. It was probably Noel who said that mind you , so who knows.

I'd say Noel Gallagher couldn't tell you what a fill is, never mind play one!
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 27, 2024, 06:12:54 PM
(https://i.ibb.co/2t5QS0N/Screenshot-20240827-161311-2.png) (https://ibb.co/d27qtsg)
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 27, 2024, 06:45:43 PM
That's Noel Gallagher?
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 27, 2024, 07:38:49 PM
More like Phil Neville.
Post by: AustinPowers on August 27, 2024, 09:30:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 27, 2024, 07:38:49 PMMore like Phil Neville.

Looks more  like Albert Steptoe
Post by: bannside on August 28, 2024, 07:33:36 AM
It's well known that they spent numerous of their teenage summers with their grandmother in either Charlestown or Ballagh, where they would often be seen busking in or around that area.
Post by: David McKeown on August 28, 2024, 07:04:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 26, 2024, 12:19:23 PM

I saw them at Austin City Limits when I was living over there so either 2005 or 2006 and there was a sizeable crown
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2024, 10:33:46 PM
Applied for pre-sale ballot this morn on w separate email accounts and no word of any confirmation email
Post by: tbrick18 on August 29, 2024, 09:40:12 AM
I saw Oasis in Cork in '95 or '96.
They were good, but the Prodigy supported them who put on a brilliant show and so when Oasis came on it felt like a bit of an anti-climax.
Not sure I'd be bothered to go see them again, but my teenage kids are mad to get. But no way I'm paying that kind of money for a concert ticket. Not for them or anyone.
Always said I'd go see ACDC if they ever came back, but I just refuse to pay stupid money to listen to music.
Post by: gallsman on August 29, 2024, 09:41:58 AM
Not many live acts compare well with the Prodigy.
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on August 30, 2024, 10:47:56 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2024, 10:33:46 PMApplied for pre-sale ballot this morn on w separate email accounts and no word of any confirmation email

Got an email to say I was successful, only got it this morn. Said I'd get the code before 5pm today, assume that's what time the pre sale is on?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 10:50:13 AM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on August 30, 2024, 10:47:56 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2024, 10:33:46 PMApplied for pre-sale ballot this morn on w separate email accounts and no word of any confirmation email

Got an email to say I was successful, only got it this morn. Said I'd get the code before 5pm today, assume that's what time the pre sale is on?
Got my emails yesterday finally. When I win this Armagh house in Downings and a handful of Oasis tickets it is making for a good weekend!
Post by: lurganblue on August 30, 2024, 11:01:38 AM
I didnt even get a confirmation email following my entry so yous have done rightly hi
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 11:20:37 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 30, 2024, 11:01:38 AMI didnt even get a confirmation email following my entry so yous have done rightly hi
I got one in Junk and one in Inbox
Post by: JoG2 on August 30, 2024, 11:28:19 AM

Very good, I'm still awaiting that email!

Tony, that Downings house is mine BTW!  ;D
Post by: RedHand88 on August 30, 2024, 01:46:29 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 30, 2024, 11:28:19 AM

All successful applicants have now been emailed...
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 01:49:19 PM

If I don't win it I wish you good luck!
Post by: NotedObserver on August 30, 2024, 04:23:26 PM
Anyone know much about premium tickets for Oasis? When would you know you could get them?
Post by: Norm-Peterson on August 30, 2024, 05:00:08 PM
I don't find this reunion news that exciting. I have already seen Liam Gallagher live for €50 5 years ago and he even had the original Oasis guitarist playing. I am not much of a Noel fan although I appreciate that he was the brain behind those Oasis albums.

I am more interested in the Linkin Park reunion news next week with a supposed new singer. Also there is a rumour that Slipknot could be playing their debut album live at Download festival next year so I would rather save the money on something like that.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 30, 2024, 05:12:24 PM
This opinion piece is getting plenty of attention online, no doubt the writers main objective.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GWK-UC6XQAA_ofq?format=jpg&name=900x900)

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 05:14:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 30, 2024, 05:12:24 PMThis opinion piece is getting plenty of attention online, no doubt the writers main objective.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GWK-UC6XQAA_ofq?format=jpg&name=900x900)

He (if I'm allowed to call him that) doesn't look like an attention seeker  ::)
Post by: bennydorano on August 30, 2024, 06:18:15 PM
I like to read broadsheet newspapers, the Guardian is just an awful paper, such hard work every single time. Even the sport section disappoints.
Post by: JoG2 on August 30, 2024, 07:03:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 01:49:19 PM

I walked up around it a few weeks ago. It's some house!
Post by: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 08:06:39 PM
Got tickets on ballot. Absolutely buzzing. My absolute favourite band of all time.
Post by: Bogman on August 30, 2024, 08:11:17 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on August 30, 2024, 05:00:08 PMI don't find this reunion news that exciting. I have already seen Liam Gallagher live for €50 5 years ago and he even had the original Oasis guitarist playing. I am not much of a Noel fan although I appreciate that he was the brain behind those Oasis albums.

I am more interested in the Linkin Park reunion news next week with a supposed new singer. Also there is a rumour that Slipknot could be playing their debut album live at Download festival next year so I would rather save the money on something like that.
Thanks for letting us know 👍
Post by: square_ball on August 30, 2024, 09:01:52 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 08:06:39 PMGot tickets on ballot. Absolutely buzzing. My absolute favourite band of all time.

Well done. Did you have to go in a queue or what way did it work?

I never had any joy with the ballot. I'll try in the morning at 8 but wouldn't be very confident.
Post by: Mourne Red on August 30, 2024, 09:03:05 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 08:06:39 PMGot tickets on ballot. Absolutely buzzing. My absolute favourite band of all time.

Congrats deeds! What are prices like?
Post by: gallsman on August 30, 2024, 09:06:34 PM
€168e plus fees for GA I'm hearing.
Post by: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 10:35:55 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on August 30, 2024, 09:03:05 PM

Just over 700 for four tickets standing beside stage.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2024, 11:01:08 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 10:35:55 PM

Golden circle?
Post by: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 11:03:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2024, 11:01:08 PM

Golden circle?

No it's a normal standing ticket. The pitch area at stage is dearer than back of pitch. Had same ticket last night for coldplay and view brilliant.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2024, 11:12:26 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 30, 2024, 11:03:42 PM

Golden circle?

No it's a normal standing ticket. The pitch area at stage is dearer than back of pitch. Had same ticket last night for coldplay and view brilliant.

At AC/DC they just had golden area and pitch.. is there separate parts on pitch?

Mate at Coldplay tonight in Cusack lower. From his pics he's in line with the outer stage

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 11:24:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2024, 11:12:26 PM

Golden circle?

At AC/DC they just had golden area and pitch.. is there separate parts on pitch?

Mate at Coldplay tonight in Cusack lower. From his pics he's in line with the outer stage

Im too old for standing tickets and fucked if I'm paying for upper stand or Canal End as can't imagine either the view or the sound will be up to much.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2024, 12:20:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2024, 11:24:14 PM

Golden circle?

Im too old for standing tickets and fucked if I'm paying for upper stand or Canal End as can't imagine either the view or the sound will be up to much.

Think if there is a middle standing area it might be the ticket, atmosphere was good around that area for AC/DC tbf, but lower hogan or cusack towards Hill 16 is the best seats
Post by: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 07:00:00 AM

Golden circle?

There is three areas on pitch. Front left, right and rest of pitch.
Post by: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 07:01:14 AM
Quote from: square_ball on August 30, 2024, 09:01:52 PM

I never had any joy with the ballot. I'll try in the morning at 8 but wouldn't be very confident.

Got the presale code, logged on early. Initially in a waiting room and the second it was open, clicked on about 45 minutes before and was 2000 in queue.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on August 31, 2024, 07:26:28 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 07:01:14 AM

Got the presale code, logged on early. Initially in a waiting room and the second it was open, clicked on about 45 minutes before and was 2000 in queue.

You could have logged in from 7pm last night and tried to buy your tickets then!
Post by: shark on August 31, 2024, 07:31:01 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on August 31, 2024, 07:26:28 AM

You could have logged in from 7pm last night and tried to buy your tickets then!

I also had presale code. Which I presumed meant it would be easy to get my tickets. Logged in at about 2 mins past. Was 15,000th in the queue. I got seated tickets in the end , as standing were all gone. I won't complain!
Post by: Mourne Red on August 31, 2024, 07:35:00 AM
Prepared to have my day ruined by 8:05am this morning 😅.. Ticketmaster website already dicking about
Post by: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 07:55:01 AM

That's what I done.
Post by: Mourne Red on August 31, 2024, 08:03:33 AM
420k people ahead of me in the queue.. might have to join that Ireland is full crowd 😂
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 31, 2024, 08:11:00 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on August 31, 2024, 08:03:33 AM420k people ahead of me in the queue.. might have to join that Ireland is full crowd 😂
481349 in front of me as only joined at 7.58. I forgot you had to join a queue rather than being randomly allocated a chance of tickets at 8am. Ah well - Downings here I come  ;D
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 31, 2024, 08:19:29 AM
I was 26,000 in the queue. Was getting the breakfast and took my eye off the phone. Phone went to sleep. TM kicked me out of the queue. Not overly bothered but the wife said she wanted to go. I'll tell her I was Tony's queue number.
Post by: square_ball on August 31, 2024, 08:20:59 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 31, 2024, 08:19:29 AMI was 26,000 in the queue. Was getting the breakfast and took my eye off the phone. Phone went to sleep. TM kicked me out of the queue. Not overly bothered but the wife said she wanted to go. I'll tell her I was Tony's queue number.

Yeah or tell her it was ticketmasters fault.

I'm at 80k for the Saturday. No chance id say. People will be buying up the 4 tickets.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on August 31, 2024, 08:29:58 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 07:55:01 AM

That's what I done.

Ah good enough then!
Post by: Mourne Red on August 31, 2024, 08:40:47 AM
Quote from: square_ball on August 31, 2024, 08:20:59 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 31, 2024, 08:19:29 AMI was 26,000 in the queue. Was getting the breakfast and took my eye off the phone. Phone went to sleep. TM kicked me out of the queue. Not overly bothered but the wife said she wanted to go. I'll tell her I was Tony's queue number.

I'm at 80k for the Saturday. No chance id say. People will be buying up the 4 tickets.

Ticketmaster crashed so that's you out of the dog house lol
Post by: RedHand88 on August 31, 2024, 08:41:59 AM
People at the top being told no tickets available
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on August 31, 2024, 08:53:49 AM
Quote from: square_ball on August 31, 2024, 08:20:59 AM

With Ticketmaster that'll not too much of a hard sell.
Post by: WT4E on August 31, 2024, 09:00:00 AM
My wife joined waiting room at 7.20. She got a numer 460000 in queue. I joined waiting room at 7.55 and got a queue number of 300000.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 31, 2024, 09:32:06 AM
I know of someone who was 7000 at 8am and still didn't get.
Post by: Jim Bob on August 31, 2024, 09:45:02 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 30, 2024, 07:03:29 PM

I have a ticket as well. Here's hoping.
When did the tickets go on sale for it? I only came across it after the AIF but surely to raise the money they had had to be selling long before that
Post by: Mario on August 31, 2024, 09:51:16 AM
I got through pretty soon after 8am. Clicked find tickets and looked at a circle loading for an hour before giving up
Post by: Itchy on August 31, 2024, 09:55:23 AM
Got 10 tickets this morning. Only need 1 and mightnt even bother going, they're only an average band.
Post by: andoireabu on August 31, 2024, 10:20:42 AM
Managed to get two seats, wasn't able to get 4. Joined the queue after herself had joined with a number in the 200000s. My number was in the 4000s. Got through and when it took me to the payment bit it crashed three times. Hit refresh and got back to the same screen again. Very lucky to get them but what a sh1t system.
Post by: Sportacus on August 31, 2024, 10:23:49 AM
It would've been a nice night to queue outside your local small-town record store.  Different world.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 31, 2024, 10:39:25 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on August 31, 2024, 10:20:42 AMManaged to get two seats, wasn't able to get 4. Joined the queue after herself had joined with a number in the 200000s. My number was in the 4000s. Got through and when it took me to the payment bit it crashed three times. Hit refresh and got back to the same screen again. Very lucky to get them but what a sh1t system.

System does my head in. They could make it work for that scale of people when they needed to if they really wanted.
Post by: square_ball on August 31, 2024, 10:51:58 AM
It'll be the same shitshow on ticketmaster if/when they announce extra shows. Some of the ticket prices I've seen people offered once they get in to buy are scandalous.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 31, 2024, 11:49:34 AM
Quote from: square_ball on August 31, 2024, 10:51:58 AMIt'll be the same shitshow on ticketmaster if/when they announce extra shows. Some of the ticket prices I've seen people offered once they get in to buy are scandalous.
Chatting to a fella there and he got 3 tickets but only ones available were platinum at E400 a pop. He reckons he'll keep 2 and sell one to cover his costs. A lot of people need to be careful as when the immediate hype dies down the arse tends to fall out of the market
Post by: giveherlong on August 31, 2024, 11:58:52 AM
Same
Only got "Official platinum' tickets
2 tickets including the fees e1000
Post by: WT4E on August 31, 2024, 12:29:05 PM
Still.in the queue now at 80000 take it this is nonsense as they are all gone?
Post by: armaghniac on August 31, 2024, 12:59:39 PM
Quote from: WT4E on August 31, 2024, 12:29:05 PMStill.in the queue now at 80000 take it this is nonsense as they are all gone?

Considering that this is their main business, Ticketmaster are a shite organisation.
Post by: WT4E on August 31, 2024, 01:08:32 PM
Got to the end and it took me back to join the queue message. Lol
Post by: From the Bunker on August 31, 2024, 02:14:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 31, 2024, 12:59:39 PM
Quote from: WT4E on August 31, 2024, 12:29:05 PMStill.in the queue now at 80000 take it this is nonsense as they are all gone?

Considering that this is their main business, Ticketmaster are a shite organisation.

And a hefty service charge for that shite service.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 31, 2024, 02:35:05 PM
Touts with their software snapping up tickets while the rest are locked out in long queues again?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 31, 2024, 02:47:06 PM
Reading a lot about in demand pricing. So 400 plus quid tickets went up to because they are "in demand". Ticketmaster are the touts now.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 31, 2024, 02:48:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 31, 2024, 02:47:06 PMReading a lot about in demand pricing. So 400 plus quid tickets went up to because they are "in demand". Ticketmaster are the touts now.

And Oasis
Post by: RedHand88 on August 31, 2024, 03:32:43 PM
Liam Gallagher played boucher Road a few weeks ago for £60(?) a ticket. It didn't sell out and he spent half the night playing Oasis songs.
Post by: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 06:13:40 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on August 31, 2024, 09:45:02 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 30, 2024, 07:03:29 PM

I have a ticket as well. Here's hoping.
When did the tickets go on sale for it? I only came across it after the AIF but surely to raise the money they had had to be selling long before that

A good few months ago. Serious money spinner, hope Armagh make a load. Originally the tickets were £100 but there wasn't much traction,so those who had dipped at £100,they got 5 tickets, and it then pushed on at £25 / ticket.
Post by: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 06:15:19 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on August 31, 2024, 02:48:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 31, 2024, 02:47:06 PMReading a lot about in demand pricing. So 400 plus quid tickets went up to because they are "in demand". Ticketmaster are the touts now.

And Oasis

It's called 'surge pricing' apparently. Robbing bastards the lot of them, Ticketmaster and Oasis. Leaves a sour taste and I got a reasonably priced ticket (well it's all relevant after today's sh1t show)
Post by: NotedObserver on August 31, 2024, 06:23:34 PM
I ended up with 2 surge price tickets for Wembley. Probably only band about I would do that for
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2024, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on August 31, 2024, 06:23:34 PMI ended up with 2 surge price tickets for Wembley. Probably only band about I would do that for

How much once you put in travel accommodation and food drinks .....
Post by: marty34 on August 31, 2024, 08:00:30 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on August 31, 2024, 10:23:49 AMIt would've been a nice night to queue outside your local small-town record store.  Different world.

Remember that. Nostalgia.

Does that not happen any more?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2024, 08:55:04 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 31, 2024, 08:00:30 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on August 31, 2024, 10:23:49 AMIt would've been a nice night to queue outside your local small-town record store.  Different world.

Remember that. Nostalgia.

Does that not happen any more?

Brought my wee sister down to Makintracks in Belfast at 5 in the morning to queue for tickets for Bros when they first came to Belfast at their height!

Was some craic
Post by: Itchy on August 31, 2024, 10:24:06 PM
I hate to tell ye but Oasis will be shite live.
Post by: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 31, 2024, 10:24:06 PMI hate to tell ye but Oasis will be shite live.

No they're not, thought they were unreal in Marley Park. Also thought Liams last two tours in 3Arena brilliant and Noel in Kilmainham last year.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 31, 2024, 10:41:00 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 31, 2024, 10:24:06 PMI hate to tell ye but Oasis will be shite live.
I disagree with both sentiments.
Post by: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 11:03:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2024, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on August 31, 2024, 06:23:34 PMI ended up with 2 surge price tickets for Wembley. Probably only band about I would do that for

Life is for living
Post by: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 11:06:12 PM

Nonsense, when Morning Glory or FITB belts out to start , and classic after classic follow, 6 beers deep, it'll be some night  ;D
Post by: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 11:06:52 PM
But, the hoors have ripped the hole out of it price wise. Not a good luck
Post by: mrdeeds on August 31, 2024, 11:07:01 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 31, 2024, 11:03:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2024, 07:50:01 PM

Life is for living

Exactly, there's no hitch on a hearse.
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2024, 12:11:33 AM
Why do some people think they might be playing in their garden?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 12:22:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 01, 2024, 12:11:33 AMWhy do some people think they might be playing in their garden?
They'd be wasting their time as the homeowners will refuse to watch them. They may not even draw their curtains.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 01, 2024, 09:27:52 AM
Liam and Noel have been trudging around the place singing the same aul shite separately for 15 years to small to medium crowds.

Now suddenly they join forces again and the great unwashed go mental.

Feck me but that makes no sense.

But that said what happended yesterday was legal gouging at its finest.

€400+ for a pitch ticket. I would only pay that to see The Beatles or Elvis on a reunion tour.
Post by: AustinPowers on September 01, 2024, 10:28:41 AM
The promoters could charge €1,000 per ticket , and a lot of  people would  happily pay it    and not think twice about it

People's fear of missing out these days , will blinker  their  sense of  what is too much , and  their inability to see when  they're being  taken to the cleaners.

The  promoters are lapping it up.

I do like Oasis , but  not enough to pay the  price of a feckin' holiday  to see them
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 10:55:14 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 01, 2024, 10:28:41 AMThe promoters could charge €1,000 per ticket , and a lot of  people would  happily pay it    and not think twice about it

People's fear of missing out these days , will blinker  their  sense of  what is too much , and  their inability to see when  they're being  taken to the cleaners.

I do like Oasis , but  not enough to pay the  price of a feckin' holiday  to see them
Ireland is some place for event junkies. I wonder is every other country like it. Half the country was mad for Garth Brooks and I can guarantee you the vast majority of punters wouldn't have one song of his on their Spotify playlist. Is it FOMO or driven by looking for clout on social media - look how many people attend concerts at 100 quid a pop and then watch it thought their phone.
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:37:21 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 10:55:14 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 01, 2024, 10:28:41 AMThe promoters could charge €1,000 per ticket , and a lot of  people would  happily pay it    and not think twice about it

Ireland is some place for event junkies. I wonder is every other country like it. Half the country was mad for Garth Brooks and I can guarantee you the vast majority of punters wouldn't have one song of his on their Spotify playlist. Is it FOMO or driven by looking for clout on social media - look how many people attend concerts at 100 quid a pop and then watch it thought their phone.

It also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.
Post by: tintin25 on September 01, 2024, 12:50:35 PM

Went to the Coldplay concert on Friday night and there was people next to me who had the phone in the hand the whole night, even when the band asked people to put the phones away for one song they continued to film anyway.  As for FOMO, heard a girl behind me who must have been no more than 18/19 on the phone to her mate talking about the Oasis concert and how they'd need to be looking about tickets also.
Post by: tyroneStatto on September 01, 2024, 01:08:18 PM

It's all about the social media likes. It never seemed to be an issue getting tickets years ago. I hate the Instagram and Tik Tok generation!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 01:10:54 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 01, 2024, 01:08:18 PM

It's all about the social media likes. It never seemed to be an issue getting tickets years ago. I hate the Instagram and Tik Tok generation!
I saw a video of some Armagh "influencer" at the AIF videoing herself saying her husband was nervous as there was only 90 seconds left. What f**king genuine Armagh or indeed sports fan was taking their eyes off the end of the match with a point in it?!
Post by: tyroneStatto on September 01, 2024, 01:14:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 01, 2024, 09:27:52 AMLiam and Noel have been trudging around the place singing the same aul shite separately for 15 years to small to medium crowds.

Now suddenly they join forces again and the great unwashed go mental.

Feck me but that makes no sense.

But that said what happended yesterday was legal gouging at its finest.

€400+ for a pitch ticket. I would only pay that to see The Beatles or Elvis on a reunion tour.

Queen too if Freddie Mercury was still around.
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 01:20:22 PM
Really not sure there's any event, anywhere that would encourage me to part with £400.

Actually I think I'd feel the same about £200. And I'm not a cautious person with money.

Whatever it is that's the opposite of FOMO, I have it. Give me a quiet pub every time instead.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 01, 2024, 02:36:57 PM
400?  Try 6K.  https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cj62dg8zgp9o

Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 01, 2024, 02:43:09 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 01:20:22 PMReally not sure there's any event, anywhere that would encourage me to part with £400.

Actually I think I'd feel the same about £200. And I'm not a cautious person with money.

Whatever it is that's the opposite of FOMO, I have it. Give me a quiet pub every time instead.

Anyone who's ever followed a soccer team abroad, or gone to a tournament, or flown home to see an AIF has paid way more than $400 for an event though.  If music, rather than sport, is your thing, why not?

That said, there's not many musical acts I'd pay that for.  Maybe Fugazi or Dead Kennedys with Biafra back on vocals, but those are pretty unlikely reunions, and the tickets wouldn't reach close to that price anyway.

I did reschedule a flight one year so I could see The Stooges at Kilmainham, so that probably cost close to $200 (between ticket and the cost of rebooking the flight).  Well worth it too. Great gig, never to be repeated, unfortunately.
Post by: tyroneStatto on September 01, 2024, 05:58:34 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:37:21 AMIt also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.

A lot of money or a lot of debt...

"I'll be stuck paying it off on the credit card," she said, adding that she doesn't get "any extras" despite paying a higher price. "It's just greed."

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c2kj3742jxwo.amp
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 01, 2024, 06:01:50 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 01, 2024, 05:58:34 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:37:21 AMIt also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.

A lot of money or a lot of debt...

"I'll be stuck paying it off on the credit card," she said, adding that she doesn't get "any extras" despite paying a higher price. "It's just greed."

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c2kj3742jxwo.amp

It's bizarre, woman claiming she's being ripped off but voluntarily spending over £400 quid?

Some people are not wise
Post by: bennydorano on September 01, 2024, 06:13:19 PM
But won't go without. A lot of the country are living on the never never, absolutely no doubt about it.
Post by: WT4E on September 01, 2024, 08:36:46 PM
It be the same people crying about not being able to afford to save for a house and are forking out 400 quid for a ticket.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 01, 2024, 08:40:39 PM
Making memories  ;D
Post by: Itchy on September 01, 2024, 08:52:16 PM
Working class hero's our Gallaghers.
Post by: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 10:28:25 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 01, 2024, 06:13:19 PMBut won't go without. A lot of the country are living on the never never, absolutely no doubt about it.

To be fair. The never never is a perhaps the only way to live a happy life nowadays. Working 9-5 just to pay off your mortgage and utilities is no way to live.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 10:39:14 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 10:28:25 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 01, 2024, 06:13:19 PMBut won't go without. A lot of the country are living on the never never, absolutely no doubt about it.

To be fair. The never never is a perhaps the only way to live a happy life nowadays. Working 9-5 just to pay off your mortgage and utilities is no way to live.
Bit like that myself over the past few years. Could spend money on doing up the house or spend it doing nice things. If I was on my deathbed I know which one I'd be glad of! I had an uncle who worked away and went nowhere and did nothing and ended up dying a death from cancer a couple of years ago that you wouldn't wish on your worst enemy.
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2024, 10:46:25 PM
Plenty of Armagh ones spent much, much more than this over the summer.
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:18:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 01, 2024, 10:46:25 PMPlenty of Armagh ones spent much, much more than this over the summer.

and were glad of the opportunity, although the bet at 33/1 helped defray some expenses.
Post by: Itchy on September 01, 2024, 11:18:50 PM
Timmy Dooley, FF TD, thinks the GAA should set rules to stop the ticket price gouging. Certainly it's not the role of government to set rules.
Post by: JoG2 on September 01, 2024, 11:25:11 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 01, 2024, 11:18:50 PMTimmy Dooley, FF TD, thinks the GAA should set rules to stop the ticket price gouging. Certainly it's not the role of government to set rules.

Like many, I've been in the mad mix of trying to secure tickets for certain concerts / festivals, but that craic yesterday was absolutely ridiculous on so many levels. The 'surge', the 'dynamic' the 'in demand' craic, obscene. Shame on Oasis and their promoters.
Post by: tyroneStatto on September 01, 2024, 11:25:28 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 01, 2024, 11:18:50 PMTimmy Dooley, FF TD, thinks the GAA should set rules to stop the ticket price gouging. Certainly it's not the role of government to set rules.

Both are at fault possibly. A concert ticket should not be worth more than an All Ireland Final ticket in any given year.
Post by: JoG2 on September 01, 2024, 11:27:51 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 01, 2024, 11:25:28 PM

Both are at fault possibly. A concert ticket should not be worth more than an All Ireland Final ticket in any given year.

Paul Heaton tweeted yesterday that a standard £35 / ticket for a stadium gig will still make all involved a hefty profit
Post by: From the Bunker on September 01, 2024, 11:32:02 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 10:28:25 PM

Governments don't reward people who save their money. They tax them, make them ineligible for welfare stuff. Saving money is for mugs.
If you are going to save it or invest it - Hide it!
Post by: From the Bunker on September 01, 2024, 11:37:33 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 01, 2024, 11:27:51 PM

Paul Heaton tweeted yesterday that a standard £35 / ticket for a stadium gig will still make all involved a hefty profit

Seen Paul in The Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney - €40 a ticket! And I did see him - there was no depending on Big Screens!
Post by: JoG2 on September 01, 2024, 11:39:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 01, 2024, 11:37:33 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 01, 2024, 11:27:51 PM

Seen Paul in The Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney - €40 a ticket! And I did see him - there was no depending on Big Screens!

The man's a legend in that business
Post by: marty34 on September 02, 2024, 07:42:09 AM
Are Oasis themselves not guilty in regards to these ticket prices?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 02, 2024, 07:51:27 AM
Quote from: marty34 on September 02, 2024, 07:42:09 AMAre Oasis themselves not guilty in regards to these ticket prices?

They are. Plenty of ex-wives and big houses to support so they need the few extra bob.

But feck them and their 'treat them like mugs' attitude.

Post by: imtommygunn on September 02, 2024, 08:49:41 AM
They are a pair of wankers and always have been. This doesn't change that.

(I still like a lot of their music though!)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 02, 2024, 09:02:46 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 02, 2024, 08:49:41 AMThey are a pair of wankers and always have been. This doesn't change that.

(I still like a lot of their music though!)

To the point and accurate 🤝
Post by: highorlow on September 02, 2024, 11:12:31 AM
I know it's Ed..... but he's honourable

https://x.com/dubslife1/status/1830178549283623003?t=ayLHJyr8BI_WDRQgI_sv3A&s=08

Post by: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 03:22:02 PM
So this "dynamic" ticket pricing is a conscious choice of the artists rather than just Ticketmaster putting the arm in??

I'd presume Croke Park is a set fee rather than a % of gross ticket income, so the hoors are raking it in.

Go for it if it's your thing. I just think it's crazy money.

Post by: tiempo on September 02, 2024, 03:33:11 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 03:22:02 PMSo this "dynamic" ticket pricing is a conscious choice of the artists rather than just Ticketmaster putting the arm in??

I'd presume Croke Park is a set fee rather than a % of gross ticket income, so the hoors are raking it in.

Men of the sheeple

Think 20-30-40 years into the future. What a joy it will be to show the grandkids the pics vids likes and shares of being there, "which pixel is Noel" they'll ask, and you'll be damned if you can remember 🤦�♂️
Post by: JoG2 on September 02, 2024, 03:58:42 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 03:22:02 PMSo this "dynamic" ticket pricing is a conscious choice of the artists rather than just Ticketmaster putting the arm in??

Management agree to it. In the past some bands weren't aware eg The Cure. Once they were made aware punters were reimbursed whatever they overpaid using the 'dynamic pricing model'. It's a complete and utter greedy gouge. Must be a huge percentage (relatively speaking) of people offloading tickets in the cold light of day. A know a couple selling theirs at £360 each (that's face value!)
Post by: north_antrim_hound on September 02, 2024, 04:07:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:18:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 01, 2024, 10:46:25 PMPlenty of Armagh ones spent much, much more than this over the summer.

and were glad of the opportunity, although the bet at 33/1 helped defray some expenses.

Yeah and that's probably better odds than you'd get for Liam and Noel joking each other before they've even lifted a guitar.
Post by: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 05:02:21 PM
Quote from: tiempo on September 02, 2024, 03:33:11 PM

Men of the sheeple

Think 20-30-40 years into the future. What a joy it will be to show the grandkids the pics vids likes and shares of being there, "which pixel is Noel" they'll ask, and you'll be damned if you can remember 🤦�♂️

20-30 (not 40  ;D  ) years in the past I went to plenty of concerts to see bands in their prime.

Not sure this nostalgia thing is for me.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 02, 2024, 05:55:34 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 05:02:21 PM

Men of the sheeple

20-30 (not 40  ;D  ) years in the past I went to plenty of concerts to see bands in their prime.

I can go back 50 years when I went to see some bands in their prime. I can go back the same number to see others who were past their prime then but are still playing now.
Post by: johnnycool on September 03, 2024, 08:39:54 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 02, 2024, 05:55:34 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 02, 2024, 05:02:21 PM

Men of the sheeple

I can go back 50 years when I went to see some bands in their prime. I can go back the same number to see others who were past their prime then but are still playing now.

I'd prefer to remember the bands in their prime than past their prime now, dialing it in TBH.
Post by: theskull1 on September 03, 2024, 08:46:50 AM
Two hateful hoors pulling a band together purely to make a few pound and throngs are clambering over each other to see them.
BLOWS MY MIND
Post by: Taylor on September 03, 2024, 10:08:34 AM
I did want tickets but didnt get them.
If I had got through the queue after waiting for hours I would have paid the dynamic pricing for them - purely because of how long I had waited.

But in the cold light of day I am delighted I didnt end up paying that amount for tickets.

The two happy go lucky chappys who are all about the fans are absolute leeches who have fucked over those same fans
Post by: armaghniac on September 03, 2024, 01:05:10 PM
Quote from: Taylor on September 03, 2024, 10:08:34 AMI did want tickets but didnt get them.
If I had got through the queue after waiting for hours I would have paid the dynamic pricing for them - purely because of how long I had waited.

But in the cold light of day I am delighted I didnt end up paying that amount for tickets.

The two happy go lucky chappys who are all about the fans are absolute leeches who have fucked over those same fans

You may still see another date added in Croke Park and then the week before the event plenty of tickets knocking around.
Post by: laceer on September 03, 2024, 02:59:35 PM
It will be the same as Garth Brooks - big panic when tickets come out then closer to the gig there will be a ball of them available.

No-one is being held at gunpoint and forced to buy tickets for a concert at any price. Some amount of hand-wringing going on.

Have one for Manchester myself and will pick up one for Dublin the week before - waited 15 years so will make the most of this. The Stone Roses comeback didn't last forever and doubt Oasis' will either.
Post by: AustinPowers on September 05, 2024, 11:47:53 AM
I couldn't help thinking of this clip  ever since  the ticket fiasco

Post by: RedHand88 on September 05, 2024, 12:22:12 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 05, 2024, 11:47:53 AMI couldn't help thinking of this clip  ever since  the ticket fiasco

I actually thought that was an edit but it's real. Astounding.
Post by: tiempo on September 05, 2024, 02:45:39 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't they just a T-Rex tribute band?
Post by: laceer on September 05, 2024, 04:30:01 PM
Am sure T-rex have songs that were influenced by the music they heard growing up.

No matter your opinion on their music, Oasis are hugely popular.
Post by: armaghniac on September 05, 2024, 04:45:38 PM
Quote from: laceer on September 05, 2024, 04:30:01 PMAm sure T-rex have songs that were influenced by the music they heard growing up.

No matter your opinion on their music, Oasis are hugely popular.

Noel Gallagher admitted recycling T-Rex "Get it on", which shows excellent taste.

Play the first 30 seconds of this

However, T-Rex are extinct, while you can still pay surge pricing to hear their riff.
Post by: AustinPowers on September 05, 2024, 08:14:19 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 05, 2024, 12:22:12 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 05, 2024, 11:47:53 AMI couldn't help thinking of this clip  ever since  the ticket fiasco

I actually thought that was an edit but it's real. Astounding.

Oh it's real alright

And very accurate
Post by: laceer on September 06, 2024, 12:01:17 PM

Up there with their best tunes for me. On their very first setlists in early 90s and still sounds class.
Post by: NotedObserver on September 06, 2024, 02:12:18 PM
Quote from: laceer on September 06, 2024, 12:01:17 PM

Up there with their best tunes for me. On their very first setlists in early 90s and still sounds class.

Bring it on down another great too
Post by: laceer on September 06, 2024, 03:00:47 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on September 06, 2024, 02:12:18 PM
Quote from: laceer on September 06, 2024, 12:01:17 PM

Bring it on down another great too

Went to see the Definitely Maybe gig in Belfast. If you like their stuff it sounded really good.
Post by: weareros on September 06, 2024, 04:22:55 PM
Some entertaining X/Twitter replies there from Liam.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2024/0906/1468721-liam-gallagher-says-oasis-reunion-attitude-stinks/
Post by: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 11:59:08 AM
Got couple of premium level tickets for oasis. Anyone ever been to gig on premium level? To be honest always been standing at gigs
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 08, 2024, 12:15:49 PM
It's shite. You should probably try and offload them. To me.
Post by: snoopdog on September 08, 2024, 04:06:19 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 11:59:08 AMGot couple of premium level tickets for oasis. Anyone ever been to gig on premium level? To be honest always been standing at gigs
The sounds pretty poor but the bar and toilet facilities are top notch.  Plenty of FOMOs will snap them up so they can take a selfie for their social media.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 08, 2024, 04:33:07 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on September 08, 2024, 04:06:19 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 11:59:08 AMGot couple of premium level tickets for oasis. Anyone ever been to gig on premium level? To be honest always been standing at gigs
The sounds pretty poor but the bar and toilet facilities are top notch.  Plenty of FOMOs will snap them up so they can take a selfie for their social media.
It's Oasis so the sound will be poor anyway. Premium Level would be my dream ticket (seat, toilets, drinks, chance of an early escape) - good luck to you N.O.
Post by: JoG2 on September 08, 2024, 04:53:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 08, 2024, 04:33:07 PM
It's Oasis so the sound will be poor anyway. Premium Level would be my dream ticket (seat, toilets, drinks, chance of an early escape) - good luck to you N.O.

Tickets prob cheaper than standing
Post by: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 09:55:21 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 08, 2024, 12:15:49 PMIt's shite. You should probably try and offload them. To me.

Why so poor? I'm down near the hill end so not expecting great sound
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 08, 2024, 09:59:43 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 08, 2024, 04:53:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 08, 2024, 04:33:07 PM

Tickets prob cheaper than standing
€240
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 08, 2024, 10:01:46 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 09:55:21 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 08, 2024, 12:15:49 PMIt's shite. You should probably try and offload them. To me.

For a noted observer, you're not doing a great job observing everything in that post.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 08, 2024, 10:24:37 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 08, 2024, 10:01:46 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on September 08, 2024, 09:55:21 PM

For a noted observer, you're not doing a great job observing everything in that post.
Always seems to me
You only see what people want you to see
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2025, 10:29:40 PM
First gig together tonight for 16 years.  Many here going to the Croke Park shows in 16th/17th of August?

The setlist from tonight in Cardiff

Hello
Acquiesce
Morning Glory
Some might Say
Bring it on Down
Cigarettes and Alcohol
Fade Away
Supersonic
Roll with It
Talk Tonight
Half the world away
little by little
D'you know what I Mean
Stand by me
Cast no Shadow
Slide Away
Whatever
Live Forever (Dedicated to Diogo Jota and his Brother)
Rock N Roll Star

Encore

The Masterplan
Don't look back in Anger
Wonderwall
Champagne Supernova

Post by: mrdeeds on July 04, 2025, 10:33:45 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 04, 2025, 10:29:40 PMFirst gig together tonight for 16 years.  Many here going to the Croke Park shows in 16th/17th of August?

The setlist from tonight in Cardiff

Hello
Acquiesce
Morning Glory
Some might Say
Bring it on Down
Cigarettes and Alcohol
Fade Away
Supersonic
Roll with It
Talk Tonight
Half the world away
little by little
D'you know what I Mean
Stand by me
Cast no Shadow
Slide Away
Whatever
Live Forever (decicated to Diogo Jota and his Brother)
Rock N Roll Star

Encore

The Masterplan
Don't look back in Anger
Wonderwall
Champagne Supernova

Yeah heading the 16th. Think that's a great setlist. Maybe few tweaks such as Born to be Idle or Shock of the Lightning. Poignant tribute to Jota too.
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2025, 10:36:40 PM
Had tickets for the gig tonight, we spent more on them than we should have, shifted them on at face value once we factored in the total cost of the trip across.
Watched the gig, zero emotions re not being there. In these expensive days, they bogged the arm in no end, greedy hoors. Working class, yes, heroes to many, but definitely not working class heroes these days

(first 2 albums, 10/10 BTW)

Post by: laceer on July 04, 2025, 11:44:09 PM
Setlist looks great. Heading to Manchester in 2 weeks. Huge buzz around these gigs.
Post by: Norm-Peterson on July 05, 2025, 02:17:36 AM
The listing on Setlist FM is a funny read. Saying "first time played since 1996", etc even though they have sang the songs for years in their solo careers. As far as I can see most songs on the setlist have been played on solo tours. Noel playing the guitar and singing backing vocals must be what people are paying to see.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 05, 2025, 07:22:27 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2025, 10:36:40 PMHad tickets for the gig tonight, we spent more on them than we should have, shifted them on at face value once we factored in the total cost of the trip across.
Watched the gig, zero emotions re not being there. In these expensive days, they bogged the arm in no end, greedy hoors. Working class, yes, heroes to many, but definitely not working class heroes these days

Where/how did you watch the gig?
Post by: shark on July 05, 2025, 07:53:19 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 05, 2025, 07:22:27 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2025, 10:36:40 PMHad tickets for the gig tonight, we spent more on them than we should have, shifted them on at face value once we factored in the total cost of the trip across.

There was a guy live streaming it on YouTube. Had about 100k viewing when I looked. Quality was obviously not great. Looked like a good athmosphere. Closed roof helps.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2025, 09:21:09 AM
Seems to have got good reviews which is a good sign as I'd say reviewers were primed to give it a kicking.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2025, 10:02:17 AM
I wouldn't watch them playing in my backyard.. two faces you wouldn't tire from slapping
Post by: AustinPowers on July 05, 2025, 11:00:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2025, 10:02:17 AMI wouldn't watch them playing in my backyard.. two faces you wouldn't tire from slapping

I wouldnt mind seeing them  but it's the  many dicks in the crowd I'd  end up slapping. One big  tiktok/selfie-fest. The music is secondary. It's  all about being seen to have been there.

You wouldn't have  seen that  in my day , back in 19-dickety-two .
Post by: NotedObserver on July 05, 2025, 11:17:27 AM
What a catalogue of belters they have. Brilliant band and will be in croke park on 16th to see them
Post by: Sportacus on July 05, 2025, 01:16:16 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on July 05, 2025, 11:17:27 AMWhat a catalogue of belters they have. Brilliant band and will be in croke park on 16th to see them
If they haven't split by then.
Post by: NotedObserver on July 05, 2025, 01:25:55 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 05, 2025, 01:16:16 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on July 05, 2025, 11:17:27 AMWhat a catalogue of belters they have. Brilliant band and will be in croke park on 16th to see them
If they haven't split by then.

No chance. Liam well controlled now. Not much drinking and fairly professional since being solo
Post by: JoG2 on July 05, 2025, 01:27:02 PM

Twitter, there's was around 950k watching it. Video obviously not great but the audio was spot on
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 05, 2025, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 05, 2025, 11:00:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2025, 10:02:17 AMI wouldn't watch them playing in my backyard.. two faces you wouldn't tire from slapping

I wouldnt mind seeing them  but it's the  many dicks in the crowd I'd  end up slapping. One big  tiktok/selfie-fest. The music is secondary. It's  all about being seen to have been there.

You wouldn't have  seen that  in my day , back in 19-dickety-two .
Back in your day a cigarette lighter held in the air for the slow songs? of course replaced by mobile phone lights nowadays.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2025, 01:04:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 05, 2025, 01:27:02 PM

Twitter, there's was around 950k watching it. Video obviously not great but the audio was spot on

I'd never even think of that.  ;)
Post by: Dag Dog on August 15, 2025, 02:37:57 PM
Anyone heading this weekend? It's gonna be hot, lots of chilled cider needed to stay hydrated.
Post by: mrdeeds on August 15, 2025, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on August 15, 2025, 02:37:57 PMAnyone heading this weekend? It's gonna be hot, lots of chilled cider needed to stay hydrated.

Yeah heading tomorrow, on the pitch. Can't wait. Got premium standing but it appears going by previous gigs it's first come first served for up at stage and general admission to standing. Anyway can't wait. Haven't seen them since 2005, although being to a few of the solo stuff. Be tough keeping the bag of tins cool.
Post by: laceer on August 15, 2025, 10:29:33 PM
Saw them in Manchester a few weeks back. Unreal. Very jealous of those heading this weekend - kept an eye out for a stray ticket but couldn't justify  €500. Enjoy all who are going - it'll live up to the hype and then some.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 17, 2025, 12:42:17 AM
Anyone here attend tonights first concert in Croke Park?

Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 17, 2025, 12:53:16 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 17, 2025, 12:42:17 AMAnyone here attend tonights first concert in Croke Park?

Yeah I was there. Great gig
Post by: DownFanatic on August 17, 2025, 02:37:46 AM
That was an unreal gig in Croke. Oasis were phenomenal. The professionalism and execution from them was something else. Liam also got an ode to Charlestown!
Post by: Ronnie on August 17, 2025, 08:06:15 AM
Great gig.  Fantastic venue.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 17, 2025, 10:09:14 AM
What were stage times like. I'm heading so want to be in and settled for all of Richard Ashcroft.
Post by: NotedObserver on August 17, 2025, 10:37:42 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 17, 2025, 10:09:14 AMWhat were stage times like. I'm heading so want to be in and settled for all of Richard Ashcroft.

Ashcroft on at 7. Oasis 815 and they are bang on time. Enjoy was at it last night and unbelievable. It being in croker is extra special
Post by: shark on August 17, 2025, 10:43:34 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 17, 2025, 10:09:14 AMWhat were stage times like. I'm heading so want to be in and settled for all of Richard Ashcroft.

Ashcroft was very good. Well worth getting in place for.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 17, 2025, 10:51:23 AM
Cheers lads!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 17, 2025, 01:01:52 PM

Ashcroft was excellent. I thought it was just gonna be a solo acoustic set but he had a full backing band with him. Get in early and enjoy him, you won't get a chance to do this again tomorrow
Post by: mrdeeds on August 17, 2025, 01:22:02 PM
Was on pitch. Concert amazing but was a shambles at start and missed Richard Ashcroft. Went in gate with ticket and went to go into pitch and stopped cause no wrist band. So had to go back against crowd and they had run out of wrist bands. A lot of frustration and anger in crowd. Eventually wrist bands came and got in eventually.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 17, 2025, 01:26:42 PM
Get in for Cast. Excellent band.
Post by: Dag Dog on August 18, 2025, 04:10:15 PM
Oasis were excellent last night, it was one banger after another. The good weather, the great atmosphere, the lack of scumbags in the crowd all contributed to it being one of the best gigs seen in Ireland.
I'm still recovering from the hangover today.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 18, 2025, 05:09:06 PM
They had the crowd rocking. Brilliant singalong set and the screens were class looking.
Just good vibes and lots of families there too.
Post by: Dag Dog on August 18, 2025, 05:25:53 PM
It shows how bad the modern music landscape is. Thirty years later, Oasis haven't had many successors.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 18, 2025, 06:02:16 PM
For all their 'bangers' are there two bigger twats in music?

By all accounts from ones I know that went, said it was a cracking concert, but personally I can't have them, I don't think I'm high up in their list too ;D
Post by: mrdeeds on August 18, 2025, 06:04:59 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on August 18, 2025, 05:25:53 PMIt shows how bad the modern music landscape is. Thirty years later, Oasis haven't had many successors.

Coldplay maybe but they rely on the spectacle rather than the content. Bands like Kasabian excellent and at one stage you would be thinking Artic Monkeys would be heir to the throne but appears not. I have high hopes for Fontaines. But the concert Saturday was the best I've ever being at and that includes a previous Oasis concert. The atmosphere before on streets and insole unparalleled. Maybe because there was a wide range of ages and original fans going with kids plus the songs are all iconic. Even later Oasis stuff is top class such as Gas Panic, Importance or Being Idle, I'm Outta Time,etc.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 18, 2025, 06:26:25 PM
Im wondering did the price keep away the rougher element. Nothing but great reviews online
Post by: mrdeeds on August 18, 2025, 06:34:54 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 18, 2025, 06:26:25 PMIm wondering did the price keep away the rougher element. Nothing but great reviews online

Did the rougher crowd that followed them not just all grow up?
Post by: AustinPowers on August 18, 2025, 10:07:57 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on August 18, 2025, 05:25:53 PMIt shows how bad the modern music landscape is. Thirty years later, Oasis haven't had many successors.

The music  industry  is absolutely dire. I don't think there is  one  band that emerged  since  about 2000 I  would  even remotely want to see  live (Don't say Coldplay )

i think that's why  there's still a market for 80's/90's bands, and people  obviously crave  that nostalgia too,  seeing bands from their youth.  And wisely  the Gallaghers sensed that  too , kissed and made up,   and cashed  in
Post by: mrdeeds on August 18, 2025, 10:13:54 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on August 18, 2025, 10:07:57 PM

The music  industry  is absolutely dire. I don't think there is  one  band that emerged  since  about 2000 I  would  even remotely want to see  live (Don't say Coldplay )

i think that's why  there's still a market for 80's/90's bands, and people  obviously crave  that nostalgia too,  seeing bands from their youth.  And wisely  the Gallaghers sensed that  too , kissed and made up,   and cashed  in

Pulps new stuff is brilliant too. Spike Island case in point.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 18, 2025, 10:15:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 18, 2025, 06:02:16 PMFor all their 'bangers' are there two bigger twats in music?

By all accounts from ones I know that went, said it was a cracking concert, but personally I can't have them, I don't think I'm high up in their list too ;D
I think you're basing your opinion on 30 years ago, and mainly Liam.

Anyway, for fun, I'll raise you Jedward.
Post by: ONeill on August 18, 2025, 10:18:21 PM
Music died when Roxette ended.
Post by: Mario on August 18, 2025, 10:33:33 PM
We are all middle aged men in here, I wouldn't expect us to like new music, just like my parents and grandparents didn't like Oasis in the 90s and thought the music from the 60s was far better.

I was at the gig on sat night, inside the 2 point arc id say. My main thought as I looked around the packed stadium was can you imagine playing here in a big game.

As for the gig it was very good but the way some people are going on about it is a bit over the top. Maybe I'm emotionally stunted.
Post by: JoG2 on August 18, 2025, 10:34:53 PM

There's an absolute mountain of brilliant music out there. Creedon, McClean, McAuley on these shores, across the water, KCRW, KEPX, Tiny Desk.. If you're still looking to get spoon fed by BBC radio 1, 2FM etc, that's on you

And the beauty is, these bands will play mid sized venues and you won't get financially gouged

Post by: ONeill on August 18, 2025, 10:35:52 PM
Thought Oasis were better in the second half with the wind behind them.
Post by: thewobbler on August 18, 2025, 10:52:38 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 18, 2025, 10:34:53 PM

There's an absolute mountain of brilliant music out there. Creedon, McClean, McAuley on these shores, across the water, KCRW, KEPX, Tiny Desk.. If you're still looking to get spoon fed by BBC radio 1, 2FM etc, that's on you

And the beauty is, these bands will play mid sized venues and you won't get financially gouged

I honestly don't believe we were ever spoon fed by radio stations.

Don't get me wrong, they can kickstart a musical career, and they can stall a musical career.

But radio stations rely on star power more than star power needs radio plays, imho.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 18, 2025, 10:56:35 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 18, 2025, 10:15:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 18, 2025, 06:02:16 PMFor all their 'bangers' are there two bigger twats in music?

I think you're basing your opinion on 30 years ago, and mainly Liam.

Anyway, for fun, I'll raise you Jedward.

I think I was just that year or two older for that 'Brit' music culture and more into going to Shine, Arts College or Vico's

The songs are iconic but yeah they were are pricks
Post by: JimStynes on August 18, 2025, 11:02:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 18, 2025, 10:35:52 PMThought Oasis were better in the second half with the wind behind them.

They're much better with the new rules.
Post by: JoG2 on August 18, 2025, 11:45:19 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 18, 2025, 10:52:38 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 18, 2025, 10:34:53 PM

I honestly don't believe we were ever spoon fed by radio stations.

Don't get me wrong, they can kickstart a musical career, and they can stall a musical career.

But radio stations rely on star power more than star power needs radio plays, imho.

I'd disagree. For a lot of people who would enjoy music but not be mad into it, who would buy the odd album etc back in the day took their lead from the likes of BBC radio 1. If commercial radio stations pushed a band / solo artist, then that's who alot of people got into
So, when dig dag grumbles about the sate of todays musical landscape, he's actually giving out about the the fact that commercial radio stations now play predominately pop / r 'n b etc, not rock, indie, grunge etc that all stations played on repeat in the 90s..

Now, if he was into his music, he'd know there's a world of class bands / singer-songwriters out there, always has been and there's more / easier access to the there has ever been

How can radio stations stall a career?

The last line, you'll get bands in today's world who will be youtube stars that radio stations will pick up on, and this number will increase but the vast vast majority will have been made stars by radio stations. Word of mouth back in the day, fanzines, touring small venues in a Transit etc only got you so far, it was commercial radio that done the heavy lifting 

Post by: thewobbler on August 19, 2025, 12:01:39 AM
JoG2 my basic argument would be this. The income of a commercial (music) radio station is solely dependent on the music they play ie if they're not playing on the public consciousness, then they're going out of business.

You might argue (and indeed could do so successfully) that they themselves create public consciousness. But that's not really how capitalism works. Marketing only makes a difference when all products are (roughly) at the same level. And what I'm saying is that it's in commercial radio's interests to find a different edge ie more of the shit that people actually want to hear.

—-

The BBC is of course an outlier in all this. But the BBC has zero or limited influence on the USA. And much as I dislike for example Green Day or REM, they didn't appear on American airwaves because radio wanted them. It was because radio needed them. And then over here we went with it.

—-

And when you talk about a world of brilliant music out there now, all undiscovered. It's not that I'm shutting you out and saying I don't believe  you. But I just don't believe it can be as brilliant as you say. For if it was, it would be easy to monetize.
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2025, 12:13:47 AM
Why do you dislike REM?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 19, 2025, 12:25:51 AM
Good to know the main reason for a split season is to accommodate concerts. Not a gaa game played on it from now to nxt year,
Post by: mrdeeds on August 19, 2025, 10:52:36 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 19, 2025, 12:25:51 AMGood to know the main reason for a split season is to accommodate concerts. Not a gaa game played on it from now to nxt year,

I enjoyed the concert Saturday night and watching my club playing in championship Sunday.
Post by: square_ball on August 19, 2025, 12:05:33 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 19, 2025, 12:25:51 AMGood to know the main reason for a split season is to accommodate concerts. Not a gaa game played on it from now to nxt year,

Was there split seasons in these years?

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
9 June 2006 Robbie Williams
6 October 2007 The Police
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
14 June 2008 Neil Diamond                
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
26 June 2012 Red Hot Chili Peppers
23 May 2014 One Direction     
24 May 2014 One Direction
25 May 2014 One Direction
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
27 May 2016 Bruce Springsteen    
29 May 2016 Bruce Springsteen
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
17 May 2018 The Rolling Stones
15 June 2018 Taylor Swift
16 June 2018 Taylor Swift
7 July 2018 Michael Bublé
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

Post by: AustinPowers on August 19, 2025, 01:04:21 PM
Some  ideas for the top 3  music thread anyway.... ;)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 19, 2025, 01:11:33 PM
Don't know how we missed Buble 😜
Post by: mackers on August 19, 2025, 01:22:48 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 19, 2025, 01:11:33 PMDon't know how we missed Buble 😜
Was going to say that was a real low point for the Association.....letting that knob in through the gates.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2025, 01:50:49 PM
Quote from: square_ball on August 19, 2025, 12:05:33 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

U2 played there in 1987 as part of their Joshua Tree Tour. The concerts took place on June 27th and 28th

I was 15, My da dropped me off with my older bro! He caught me coming outta the offy with large bottles of cider lol! The look on his face lol.

Not sure if that was a split season ;D
Post by: lurganblue on August 19, 2025, 01:58:32 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

Only went to 3 of these, with the Stones as the highlight. Need to up my game here
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 19, 2025, 02:00:23 PM
Quote from: mackers on August 19, 2025, 01:22:48 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 19, 2025, 01:11:33 PMDon't know how we missed Buble 😜
Was going to say that was a real low point for the Association.....letting that knob in through the gates.

I thought the heure only came out at Christmas 🤣
Post by: Mourne Red on August 19, 2025, 02:05:52 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

Wasn't Garth brooks down for 5 nights too? Obvs cancelled but pretty sure that was in July
Post by: AustinPowers on August 19, 2025, 04:17:23 PM
QuoteGood to know the main reason for a split season is to accommodate concerts. Not a gaa game played on it from now to nxt year,

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2   
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife   
18 June 2011 Take That   
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife   
23 June 2012 Westlife   
20 June 2015 The Script   
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran   
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé   
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

U2 played there in 1987 as part of their Joshua Tree Tour. The concerts took place on June 27th and 28th

I was 15, My da dropped me off with my older bro! He caught me coming outta the offy with large bottles of cider lol! The look on his face lol.

Not sure if that was a split season ;D
If he split the cider  over your head,   , then it was :D
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 19, 2025, 06:38:41 PM
Before the split season they were only allowed three concerts per year.

2022 was the first year of July All Ireland finals and I believe they had 7 concerts in Croke Park that year and had 6 last year.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 19, 2025, 08:51:02 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

None of those gigs were in August...
Post by: Armagh18 on August 19, 2025, 10:36:57 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 19, 2025, 08:51:02 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

So now the gigs are in August/September and the games are in June/July. Whats the difference?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 19, 2025, 10:45:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 19, 2025, 10:36:57 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

So now the gigs are in August/September and the games are in June/July. Whats the difference?
The difference is previously concerts were fit in around the championship. Now the championship has been fit in to accommodate concerts.

That was an easy one.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 19, 2025, 10:55:12 PM
I don't think the season was changed to suit concerts. Even if it was, who cares? Money for the GAA, certainty around fixtures for the people that matter most i.e. club players. It's a win win.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2025, 11:23:31 PM
f**k! This lad does some mental  gymnastics to put down GAA!

Like a continuous broken record, spinning the same shite lol!

Give your head a wobble

Post by: JoG2 on August 19, 2025, 11:31:00 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 19, 2025, 10:45:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 19, 2025, 10:36:57 PM

24 June 2005 U2
25 June 2005 U2
27 June 2005 U2
20 May 2006 Bon Jovi
31 May 2008 Celine Dion
1 June 2008 Westlife
13 June 2009 Take That
24 July 2009 U2    
25 July 2009 U2
5 June 2010 Westlife    
18 June 2011 Take That    
19 June 2011 Take That
22 June 2012 Westlife    
23 June 2012 Westlife    
20 June 2015 The Script    
24 July 2015 Ed Sheeran    
25 July 2015 Ed Sheeran
9 July 2016 Beyoncé    
8 July 2017 Coldplay
22 July 2017 U2
24 May 2019 Spice Girls
5 July 2019 Westlife
6 July 2019 Westlife

The difference is previously concerts were fit in around the championship. Now the championship has been fit in to accommodate concerts.

That was an easy one.

Could be in the running for the most ludicrous post of the year.. You're in my hole a member of a GAA club
Post by: Blowitupref on August 31, 2026, 03:50:02 PM
Anyone here in attendance last night in Croke Park for Bon Jovi and the Boomtown Rats?

(https://i.ibb.co/kg5nVNDV/FB-IMG-1788128123557.jpg) (https://ibb.co/tMQfwV2w)

Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2026, 01:05:25 AM
Yip, some crowd at it, was very good.
Post by: laceer on September 03, 2026, 04:44:55 PM
Celtic Park gig?
Post by: AustinPowers on September 03, 2026, 08:04:00 PM
QuoteCeltic Park gig?
If they've any  decency in them , they'd play McHale Park

With  the Saw Doctors  as support, obviously 
Post by: RedHand88 on September 04, 2026, 09:08:26 AM
Quote from: laceer on September 03, 2026, 04:44:55 PMCeltic Park gig?

Saw the reasoning behind the rumour. It's either Celtic fans being absolutely crazy or a genius piece of marketing.
Post by: JoG2 on September 04, 2026, 11:51:06 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 04, 2026, 09:08:26 AM
Quote from: laceer on September 03, 2026, 04:44:55 PMCeltic Park gig?

Saw the reasoning behind the rumour. It's either Celtic fans being absolutely crazy or a genius piece of marketing.

Apparently they'll be at least 3 nights at Celtic Pk. Same with the City ground, Munich, Stade de France etc...the dynamic gouging machine is thirsty
Post by: Blowitupref on September 05, 2026, 12:02:58 AM
5 gigs in Slane for Oasis August next year.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 05, 2026, 01:12:07 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on September 05, 2026, 12:02:58 AM5 gigs in Slane for Oasis August next year.
My hole. It's a potential venue hold document and Slane is already booked.
Post by: laceer on September 05, 2026, 01:40:40 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on September 05, 2026, 12:02:58 AM5 gigs in Slane for Oasis August next year.

Hopefully not
Post by: Armagh4sam2024 on September 05, 2026, 02:23:41 PM

AI bollix. I get the whole natural amphitheater thing but it's a shithole otherwise ehich turns into a giant pigsty h&s hazard after 2 concerts so no chance of 5 getting approved.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 05, 2026, 08:49:10 PM
They try to fleece fans again, i wonder!
Post by: NotedObserver on September 05, 2026, 09:02:36 PM
Anyone at croke park last year? Was there the sat night and thought it was outstanding. The sound, weather and vibe was top
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 06, 2026, 05:32:54 PM
Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on September 05, 2026, 02:23:41 PM

AI bollix. I get the whole natural amphitheater thing but it's a shithole otherwise ehich turns into a giant pigsty h&s hazard after 2 concerts so no chance of 5 getting approved.
It isn't a thing. What was leaked was an early draft potential dates list.
Post by: Blowitupref on September 14, 2026, 09:25:38 PM
Quote from: laceer on September 05, 2026, 01:40:40 AM

Hopefully not

Just the two confirmed.

QuoteOasis are set to return to Ireland and have announced that they will play Slane Castle in 2027.

Announced on the band's social media at 4pm, it was confirmed they will perform at Slane Castle on September 4 and 5 next year.

Standard ticket prices will be fixed and range between €181.25 to €501.25 including booking fee.

Each ticket subject to max €10.50 service charge. Tickets limited to four per person. Fans must register before Thursday, September 17, at 4pm for a chance to buy tickets

Post by: DaleCooper on September 15, 2026, 12:39:53 AM
"Standard ticket prices will be fixed and range between €181.25 to €501.25"

Nothing sadder or more pathetic than geriatric bands skinning idiotic fandoms.

"Rock and roll mannnn"
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2026, 12:42:51 AM
500 quid is eyewatering

So all the 20 year olds will be going to this instead of a nightclub