Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 04:30:52 PM

Title: There are 9 genders in Ireland now. Imagine
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 04:30:52 PM
Per Regina Doherty

Male
Female
Trans female
Trans male
Nonbinary
Gender neutral
Pangender
Genderqueer
Agender

https://gript.ie/watch-senator-regina-doherty-says-there-are-9-genders/

The Bodach has been at work again.
Title: Re: There are 9 genders in Ireland now. Imagine
Post by: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 04:32:42 PM
Let people be themselves whatever they may be.
New Act passed in Scotland allowing people to change gender from age 16.
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 04:35:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 04:32:42 PM
Let people be themselves whatever they may be
Not if it impinges upon the rights of women and children.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 22, 2022, 04:36:59 PM
madness.
Post by: Mourne Red on December 22, 2022, 04:55:33 PM
When we are dug up in 200 years times they'll test our bones etc and determine if it was a female or male they dug up
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on December 22, 2022, 05:01:51 PM
There are two sexes, either your female or your male. Anything else is a mental illness. Regina Doherty and the people behind the curtain pulling her strings should be driven out of Ireland.
Post by: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 05:05:06 PM
Back to thec17th Century where you belong!
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on December 22, 2022, 05:11:02 PM
Western civilization is deliberately being destroyed. Incrementally every year it gets worse and worse.
Post by: J70 on December 22, 2022, 05:12:11 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on December 22, 2022, 05:01:51 PM
There are two sexes, either your female or your male. Anything else is a mental illness. Regina Doherty and the people behind the curtain pulling her strings should be driven out of Ireland.

Homosexuality was considered a mental illness until the 70s.

It was only decriminalized in Ireland 30 years ago.

No doubt there were plenty pontificating about driving gay people and their advocates out of the country back then too.
Post by: J70 on December 22, 2022, 05:17:15 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on December 22, 2022, 05:11:02 PM
Western civilization is deliberately being destroyed. Incrementally every year it gets worse and worse.

Yep.

All those different skin colours and LGBTQ people running amok like they have a share in the place.

Bring back the good old days!
Post by: J70 on December 22, 2022, 05:26:03 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 22, 2022, 05:13:49 PM
(Obligatory post pointing out that there is a difference between sex and gender)

And that even with something like genitalia it's not always clearly and neatly defined.

If hormones can blur the lines with anatomy, why would gender identity not also be subject to variation during development?

Nature doesn't place everything into neat pigeonholes.

That aside, I don't know wtf these people are so afraid of.

Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 05:32:42 PM
Tories may block it as Scottish certified trans would not be the same as English

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/msps-pass-gender-reforms-but-uk-government-threatens-block-42238900.html
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 07:57:50 PM
There is huge money in trans teenagers and all the surgery.
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 08:22:25 PM
More woke shite. You're a man or a woman. Male or female. End of story. This pronoun stuff is another pile of f**king shite.
Post by: Gmac on December 22, 2022, 08:29:22 PM
People can pretend to be whatever they want but the problem starts when you don't play along with them , Then the insults will fly
Post by: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 08:31:16 PM
Where did trailer get his/her qualifications I wonder?
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 08:37:54 PM
You can be a man and dress as a woman and vice versa. You can even change your genitalia. But you're either a man or a woman. Everything else is a child who wasn't told "No"
Post by: tyroneStatto on December 22, 2022, 08:45:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 08:31:16 PM

You don't need qualifications for this nonsense.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 22, 2022, 08:53:49 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on December 22, 2022, 08:13:51 PM
Social media has a lot to answer for. One of the worst inventions ever. All these influencers have a big sway on innocent minds and alot of this nonsense is a mental health issue. I'm all for everyone for themselves and live as how you want but there is a line to this ridiculousness.

I'd go as  far as to say the internet was the worst  invention ever.  If I woke up in the morning  and the whole thing was blown up , id be delighted. It is a feckin  scourge  on society

Just thought I'd  put my feelings out there in case  it does happen
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 22, 2022, 08:59:09 PM

So-called left-handed children should have their left hands tied to the desk and forced to write with their right hands. It's God's will! ~sarc
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 22, 2022, 09:00:38 PM
Social media has a lot to answer for. One of the worst inventions ever. All these influencers have a big sway on innocent minds and alot of this nonsense is a mental health issue. I'm all for everyone for themselves and live as how you want but there is a line to this ridiculousness.

So gender-ambiguous people didn't exist before the internet, eh? Tell me more...
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 09:07:03 PM
The trans project is a lot bigger than the transsexual community. It's all self ID so anyone can claim to be a woman. It's a culture war against women.
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 09:07:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 08:31:16 PM

Heard it all now. Need a qualification to tell a penis from a vagina.

Wise up.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 22, 2022, 09:08:11 PM
Is the ultrasound machine programed nowadays to show up more than just male or female genders?
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 09:08:21 PM
Her Penis
His Vagina

People want to normalise this f**king shite.

Just tell the child no.
Post by: burdizzo on December 22, 2022, 10:04:35 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 22, 2022, 09:00:38 PM

So gender-ambiguous people didn't exist before the internet, eh? Tell me more...

Humpf. No, I'm sure they did, but there were far, far fewer. It wasn't 'normalised', and nor should it be.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on December 22, 2022, 10:42:22 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 22, 2022, 07:07:19 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 22, 2022, 05:26:03 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 22, 2022, 05:13:49 PM
(Obligatory post pointing out that there is a difference between sex and gender)

And that even with something like genitalia it's not always clearly and neatly defined.

If hormones can blur the lines with anatomy, why would gender identity not also be subject to variation during development?

Nature doesn't place everything into neat pigeonholes.

That aside, I don't know wtf these people are so afraid of.

From my knowledge & understanding, sex is a biological construct while gender is a social & language one. I'd guess that fits somewhat into near-modern feminist theory.

For sex (at least as it goes for humans), the general mode is male & female derived from the sex chromosomes, normally either XX or XY. Of course there are occasions where this does not easily fit for some people due to DNA corruption at some point during early pre-birth development e.g. Turner syndrome or Klinefelter syndrome. In some cases, sex chromosomes are not absolute defining characteristics but they usually don't cause medical issues either for themselves or their offspring. With the current technology, we don't have anything that can change a persons sex and until we are able to realistically approach that potential goal, there is no debate to be hand on this.

Gender OTOH whilst historically derived from sex, isn't rooted in science itself although a lot of language makes significant links to it. On the whole issue behind it, the be honest it's a case of "I'm not going there" for the simple reason that any time I've discussed it (elsewhere), both sides of the matter I've found have zealots that make any rational,frank debate almost impossible. While it can be easy to dismiss "both side-isms" in a lot of cases, unfortunately this is my experience. Now on on hand you have people whom are openly anti-trans; if you had a venn diagram you'd likely get a significant overlap between them and those with other hard-right/alt-right/"alt-lite" talking points/causes, (though there's a number right across the political spectrum). I know that an awful lot of them are c**ts in general, so that's to be expected. However I've also got both barrels from "the other end" as well where if you don't agree 100% with their view on trans identity, you're anti-trans & a bigot etc. even if you're just asking questions to try and learn more from peoples experiences and to compare them with others - one person labelled me as such during a discussion of voter ID simply because I mentioned that in the 20 years its been in force I have never heard of a story either in person on trying to find one online where this was an issue to a trans person looking to vote in NI (or anywhere else in Europe that has such rules of their own) when said person, resident in GB, claimed that it would be a potential risk to trans people. To me it's like the Israeli government claiming that anyone critiquing any of their actions are anti-Semitic, let alone anti-Zionist.

Because of the above paragraph, I'm out when it comes to it. For me, I'll take each individual issue as it comes. In a world which has become hotly polarised, where anti-intellectualism has grown to uncomfortable levels, where people who don't like what they see or read is hand-waved away as "fake news" and where Orwellian undertones (mainly in language but also a bit in the realms of authority or those seeking it) are incrementally increasing without effective checks & balances, I ended up getting tired of all of the shit going on. All I can do is vote and hope that reasonable people whom want to make the world a better place - even where I'd might disagree with a lot of what they say/do but actually have some f**king competence in public service - take the reigns sooner than later rather than being "ruled" by parafascists and/or people who think its all a big laugh while raiding the public purse for themselves & their mates.

Great post
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 22, 2022, 11:14:57 PM
Quote from: trailer on December 22, 2022, 08:22:25 PM
More woke shite. You're a man or a woman. Male or female. End of story. This pronoun stuff is another pile of f**king shite.

Hermaphrodite. I'll save you the trouble of looking it up.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3418019/ (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3418019/)

Post by: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 11:37:55 PM
Some posters here would have no trouble getting jobs in Iran's "morality police".
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2022, 11:41:51 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2022, 11:37:55 PM
Some posters here would have no trouble getting jobs in Iran's "morality police".
Male, Female, Other is sufficient. The rest is just bollocks.
Post by: burdizzo on December 22, 2022, 11:42:48 PM

Whereas others just want to subvert morality.
Post by: SaffronSports on December 23, 2022, 12:17:31 AM
Probably an issue that the GAA, LGFA or Camogie Association will come across soon if they haven't already. Was it a New Zealand weightlifter that had the case that went to court?
Post by: armaghniac on December 23, 2022, 01:36:56 AM
I hope all these genders will stick to their own changing rooms and not try and barge into normal ones.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 23, 2022, 03:27:09 AM
Never even heard of haif them, what the hell is non-binary?
Post by: Armagh18 on December 23, 2022, 05:41:01 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 23, 2022, 03:27:09 AM
mental illness
Post by: Armagh18 on December 23, 2022, 05:42:01 AM
Quote from: SaffronSports on December 23, 2022, 12:17:31 AM
Probably an issue that the GAA, LGFA or Camogie Association will come across soon if they haven't already. Was it a New Zealand weightlifter that had the case that went to court?
was some fella who thought he was a woman playing in Dublin lately i think, big bald head on him and all
Post by: RedHand88 on December 23, 2022, 06:33:39 AM
Women's sport is doomed. Just as it was starting to get somewhere.
Post by: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 08:31:28 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 22, 2022, 11:42:48 PM

Who's morality?
Yours?
Ayatollah's?
Free Presbyterians?
Post by: burdizzo on December 23, 2022, 08:37:37 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 08:31:28 AM

Who's morality?
Yours?
Ayatollah's?
Free Presbyterians?

Nature's.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2022, 08:58:50 AM
Let people be what they want to be, it won't have too much burden on your lives and if it comes to your door don't close it in their face..

Young ones are different now, I've really had to change my approach when these subjects come up in the house, as we are from a different generation and only coming to terms with these new terms.

If someone wants to identify as non binary then let them

I'm not sure if the link to this is social media, in that it has allowed knowledge of these new genders to be labeled and accepted more.. But not too long ago during punk or the fashion trends of the early 80's people were not afraid to be who they wanted to be
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2022, 09:09:56 AM
Some day a man will marry a man. Mark my words.
Post by: HiMucker on December 23, 2022, 09:19:51 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on December 22, 2022, 05:11:02 PM
And my TV keeps getting bigger and thinner and the picture clearer, and I watch it in utter despair.
Post by: Mourne Red on December 23, 2022, 09:20:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 23, 2022, 09:09:56 AM

And they'll be as miserable as the men married to women
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2022, 09:37:12 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on December 23, 2022, 09:20:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 23, 2022, 09:09:56 AM

And they'll be as miserable as the men married to women

Gets easier when you nod your head and just continue to do what you want..
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 10:41:52 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 23, 2022, 08:37:37 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 08:31:28 AM

Who's morality?
Yours?
Ayatollah's?
Free Presbyterians?

Nature's.

Tell us more.
Post by: general_lee on December 23, 2022, 11:02:40 AM
Live and let live. Some lads on here strike me as the type that only have sex with socks on and the lights off
Post by: Mourne Red on December 23, 2022, 11:09:10 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 23, 2022, 11:02:40 AM
Live and let live. Some lads on here strike me as the type that only have sex with socks on and the lights off

It does be cold these nights and cost of energy is through the roof
Post by: Rudi on December 23, 2022, 11:20:19 AM

Sure if lads on here want to have sex with their socks on  & lights off, what about it. Live and let live or is that only on your terms.
Personally on the more than 2 genders, I couldn't give a f**k, if a duck quacks it's a duck.
Post by: trailer on December 23, 2022, 12:22:51 PM

No problem but when someone with a c**k wants to play in my daughters ladies football team, I think we can all agree that is wrong. The clue is in the title. LADIES football.
"What a point from Dave. She taking her marker Mary to the cleaners. Little know fact... she also has a penis"
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 12:47:43 PM
Quote from: trailer on December 23, 2022, 12:22:51 PM

No problem but when someone with a c**k wants to play in my daughters ladies football team, I think we can all agree that is wrong. The clue is in the title. LADIES football.
"What a point from Dave. She taking her marker Mary to the cleaners. Little know fact... she also has a penis"

Charming.

Let's just hope for their sake that it's not your child or grandchild who has to deal with gender identity issues.
Post by: laoislad on December 23, 2022, 12:55:36 PM
Leaving your socks on is for the amateurs, I leave my steel toe cap boots on.
Post by: whitey on December 23, 2022, 01:13:22 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 12:47:43 PM

Charming.

Let's just hope for their sake that it's not your child or grandchild who has to deal with gender identity issues.

I know 4 kids who are supposedly transgender

I hate to say but from my vantage point it's just oddball kids looking for attention and acceptance

One  kid is a complete weirdo who was adopted and went completely off the rails when his parents got divorced. Before he became transgender he was stalking and harassing elderly neighbors at nighttime wearing a mask (pre pandemic) Very disturbing behavior
Post by: trailer on December 23, 2022, 01:26:24 PM
Quote from: whitey on December 23, 2022, 01:13:22 PM

Charming.

I hate to say but from my vantage point it's just oddball kids looking for attention and acceptance

One  kid is a complete weirdo who was adopted and went completely off the rails when his parents got divorced. Before he became transgender he was stalking and harassing elderly neighbors at nighttime wearing a mask (pre pandemic) Very disturbing behavior

I accept people who want to transition. Whatever floats your boat. Go for it. But it's this nonsense of non binary and them/those pronouns. And then when Men want to compete in Women's sport. I draw a hard line at that point. It's children who have been over indulged and have developed a mental problem.
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 01:28:19 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 23, 2022, 03:27:09 AM
Binary refers to 2 sexes. Non binary refers to somewhere on a scale between man and woman that can't be measured. Eddie Izzard claims to be female some of the time.

« The question is , said Alice, whether you can make words mean so many things « .
« The question is », said Humpty Dumpty, which is to be master- that's all ».
Post by: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 02:19:55 PM
Trailer seems way over qualified for this board  ::)
Post by: trailer on December 23, 2022, 02:25:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 02:19:55 PM

You don't seem intelligent enough to understand what a "discussion board" is.

Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 02:31:16 PM
Kids with problems are probably not going to fix them via surgery.
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 02:52:02 PM
Quote from: trailer on December 23, 2022, 01:26:24 PM

Charming.

I accept people who want to transition. Whatever floats your boat. Go for it. But it's this nonsense of non binary and them/those pronouns. And then when Men want to compete in Women's sport. I draw a hard line at that point. It's children who have been over indulged and have developed a mental problem.

Like I said, let's hope for their sake it never arrives on your doorstep.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 23, 2022, 03:29:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 02:31:16 PM

This is the thing. Surgery is portrayed as this wonder cure and it really isn't. They are just as miserable after.
Post by: whitey on December 23, 2022, 03:40:35 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 02:52:02 PM

Charming.

Correct

But I hate to say that in at least two of the cases I know of,  the parents actively encouraged this behavior in an effort to bring attention to themselves and get plaudits on social media
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 03:47:06 PM
Before the second world war 2 institutions in particular divided the people- Tammany Hall and the Ku Klux Klan. Neither survived into the 50s.
They were broken by a united working class.
Because the economic system changed.
Trans will probably be the same. There will be infertile women in their 40s  with male chests   and people will wonder what happened.
Post by: burdizzo on December 23, 2022, 04:14:50 PM
Quote from: whitey on December 23, 2022, 03:40:35 PM

Charming.

Correct

But I hate to say that in at least two of the cases I know of,  the parents actively encouraged this behavior in an effort to bring attention to themselves and get plaudits on social media

Exactly. Responsible parenting would cut a lot of it out. I personally only know one 'trans' teenager, but I have to say, the parents gloried in being such "look at me, I'm open-minded'"-liberal parents that if you had to pick one family, it'd be them. Remember, if anything goes, then anything will come.
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 04:44:53 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 23, 2022, 03:29:26 PM

This is the thing. Surgery is portrayed as this wonder cure and it really isn't. They are just as miserable after.

Is there data to back this statement up (genuine question)?
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 04:53:48 PM

Charming.

Correct

Assuming for the sake of argument that this is true, so what?

It doesn't mean that these are not real issues or that the deniers are correct.

No matter what the issue or how genuine and worthy it is, there will always be someone trying to use it to their advantage.

Look at Steve Bannon and "the wall". Or those BLM leaders who were lining their pockets. Their corruption is completely separate from the issues they were profiting from.

Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 04:57:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 04:44:53 PM

I dunno but Anorexia is treated with months of therapy while gender dysphoria is not. Patients are shunted towards surgery.
Anorexia generates very little money. Gender dysphoria is lucrative.
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 04:59:10 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 23, 2022, 04:14:50 PM

Charming.

Correct

Exactly. Responsible parenting would cut a lot of it out. I personally only know one 'trans' teenager, but I have to say, the parents gloried in being such "look at me, I'm open-minded'"-liberal parents that if you had to pick one family, it'd be them. Remember, if anything goes, then anything will come.

So the parents should have hid themselves in shame?

Maybe they should have done what my next-door neighbour did with their pregnant (late) teenage daughter when I was a kid.

Kept her in the house once she started to show, until after she'd given birth.

It's Not like it wasn't widely known. But sure it still had to be downplayed and treated as a source of shame and embarrassment in 80s Ireland.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2022, 05:01:38 PM

Probably just first hand experience
Post by: JoG2 on December 23, 2022, 05:02:27 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 04:57:26 PM

I dunno but Anorexia is treated with months of therapy while gender dysphoria is not. Patients are shunted towards surgery.

You are a walking talking tabloid headline

Live and let live. This place is a mini version of twitter these days, fierce levels of anger and hatred
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 05:05:48 PM

I have honestly no idea if that's true or where it's true, so I'll leave that alone.

The rights and wrongs of how it is dealt with is, to me, a separate argument from whether gender identity is a genuine real issue that should be looked upon with compassion rather than bigotry and denial.
Post by: whitey on December 23, 2022, 05:39:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 04:59:10 PM

Charming.

Correct

Maybe they should have done what my next-door neighbour did with their pregnant (late) teenage daughter when I was a kid.

It's Not like it wasn't widely known. But sure it still had to be downplayed and treated as a source of shame and embarrassment in 80s Ireland.

I don't know if you have first hand experience of this-but I have (3 classmates of my sons, all kids of teachers and a kid who lives 5 houses away)

In all 4 cases -it's flat out attention seeking. If the parents had  actually done their jobs in the first place they wouldn't be dealing with this now
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2022, 05:42:36 PM
Yeah attention seeking !! f**k me
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 06:08:19 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 05:05:48 PM

I have honestly no idea if that's true or where it's true, so I'll leave that alone.

The rights and wrongs of how it is dealt with is, to me, a separate argument from whether gender identity is a genuine real issue that should be looked upon with compassion rather than bigotry and denial.
In the Tavistock case in London the majority of female trans surgery cases were either lesbian  or autistic teenagers. Some aspects of it are quite sinister.
Post by: J70 on December 23, 2022, 06:34:58 PM
Quote from: whitey on December 23, 2022, 05:39:26 PM

Charming.

Correct

I don't know if you have first hand experience of this-but I have (3 classmates of my sons, all kids of teachers and a kid who lives 5 houses away)

In all 4 cases -it's flat out attention seeking. If the parents had  actually done their jobs in the first place they wouldn't be dealing with this now

There's not much I can do or say about your anecdotes whitey. I've no idea how qualified or informed you are to make the determinations you have.

But again, assuming it's all exactly as you say, what does that mean?

That it's all bullshit?

Anyway, we're probably going to get reported again to the mods for ruining the thread.
Post by: Saffrongael on December 23, 2022, 07:22:09 PM
As an SNP politician said "if a fox says they are a chicken, will you let them into the henhouse"
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 07:27:24 PM
One interesting aspect is that the trans movement is much stronger in English speaking countries. France has far lower incidence...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2022, 07:30:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 23, 2022, 07:27:24 PM
One interesting aspect is that the trans movement is much stronger in English speaking countries. France has far lower incidence...

That's great, we should move all those attention seekers to France
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 23, 2022, 08:15:20 PM

Charming.

Correct

Yeah suppressing worked so much better as we know here in Ireland. 🤨

Post by: RedHand88 on December 23, 2022, 08:56:29 PM

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3043071/ (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3043071/)

I also read somewhere that the suicide rate has been observed to be the same in populations before and after surgery.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 23, 2022, 09:01:16 PM
Merry Christmas!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 23, 2022, 10:10:05 PM
I had actually first hand experience of this and tread carefully as wasn't sure what to do. Girlfriend at the time oldest girl ( 10) at the time, always seen herself as a tomboy. It moved from there to wishing she was a boy, and feels like a boy, to wanting to be addressed as a boys name and called him. Parents had split and I at the time, put abit of it down to that. And she grow out of it, she never changed 5yrs later, even though I don't see the mother any more. So it's more than a phase. Didn't like me calling her name, and I found it hard to call her a boys name, so u just try to work round it. Situation for her mum was awkward, as its strange coming from one so young at the time. But that how people feel and you have to accept all people are different.
Post by: whitey on December 23, 2022, 10:20:13 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 23, 2022, 06:34:58 PM

Charming.

Correct

There's not much I can do or say about your anecdotes whitey. I've no idea how qualified or informed you are to make the determinations you have.

But again, assuming it's all exactly as you say, what does that mean?

That it's all bullshit?

Anyway, we're probably going to get reported again to the mods for ruining the thread.

This is a discussion board and people share OPINIONS on discussion boards

My OPINION is, that the 4 people I know who are transitioning, are motivated by a desire to seek attention and to receive positive reinforcement from others on social media.

Other posters may have different OPINIONS based on their lived experiences

That being said, I make sure to address them by their chosen names and correct pronouns if I happen to run into them or their parents.

Either way, regardless of their motivations for transitioning, it must be difficult for all involved

Post by: general_lee on December 23, 2022, 11:12:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 23, 2022, 02:19:55 PM
It's nice to get the BNP viewpoint now and again
Post by: tonto1888 on December 24, 2022, 07:02:51 AM

the trans movement. Wise up
Post by: tonto1888 on December 24, 2022, 07:04:40 AM

Charming.

fingers crossed
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 08:28:14 AM
There should really be 32 genders for Ireland.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 24, 2022, 08:56:26 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on December 24, 2022, 07:02:51 AM

It's what they call themselves.

I don't know why this offends you.
Post by: Saffrongael on December 24, 2022, 09:27:19 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 24, 2022, 08:56:26 AM

Hate speech

Reported
Post by: armaghniac on December 24, 2022, 12:34:14 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 24, 2022, 09:27:19 AM

Hate speech

Reported

Post by: burdizzo on December 24, 2022, 02:57:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 24, 2022, 12:34:14 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 24, 2022, 09:27:19 AM

Hate speech

Reported

Sad thing is, he's jests you not. I've already been banned form this board for stating the obvious.
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 03:21:56 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 23, 2022, 10:10:05 PM
I had actually first hand experience of this and tread carefully as wasn't sure what to do. Girlfriend at the time oldest girl ( 10) at the time, always seen herself as a tomboy. It moved from there to wishing she was a boy, and feels like a boy, to wanting to be addressed as a boys name and called him. Parents had split and I at the time, put abit of it down to that. And she grow out of it, she never changed 5yrs later, even though I don't see the mother any more. So it's more than a phase. Didn't like me calling her name, and I found it hard to call her a boys name, so u just try to work round it. Situation for her mum was awkward, as its strange coming from one so young at the time. But that how people feel and you have to accept all people are different.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/e1356292-ebdd-11ec-8821-d2e916a7eab3?shareToken=4c905a432d1f2dabc2accc0c1919825b

"Line one, page one of any psychotherapeutic approach – be it Freudian, Kleinian, Jungian, it doesn't matter – is what you get is not what there is. There's something else beneath the manifest.

Most trans kids need therapy to find out what the problem is.
If I had a  trans daughter I would not approve the removal of her breasts if I wasn't sure what the problem was. You must be joking.

Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 05:12:25 PM
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/news/more-than-500-children-referred-to-gender-identity-specialists-in-northern-ireland-42241018.html

More than 500 children have been formally referred to doctors for gender identity issues.
Of the 540 total, less than 10 percent, or 45 children, were entered onto a programme that in the past used puberty blockers.
The statistics were given to TUV leader Jim Allister, who has previously raised concerns about the matter.
The North Antrim MLA, who believes sex is determined at birth, referred to the controversy over the Tavistock Clinic in England, which is to close next year and be replaced by two regional centres.
Post by: Rossfan on December 24, 2022, 05:23:28 PM
I'd be examining my conscience Seaf if I found myself on the same side of anything as that archbigot.
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 05:27:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 24, 2022, 05:23:28 PM
I'd be examining my conscience Seaf if I found myself on the same side of anything as that archbigot.
The left has lost the plot on this, Ross. Some of the best stuff comes from right wingers.
Post by: Saffrongael on December 24, 2022, 05:48:01 PM
Alex Massie had a very good column about it in the Times, you couldn't argue with it. Unless you were MR2  ;)
Post by: whitey on December 24, 2022, 06:03:26 PM
Ill share another "anecdote" with you

My wifes niece has long been in the shadow of her older sister

About 4 years she developed all these mysterious illnesses.  After extensive diagnoses by some of the best doctors in the world, the conclusion was that it was all a cod

Then two years ago, she wrote an essay at school about killing herself......immediate intervention, again the best healthcare professionals......conclusion......more attention seeking

Then last Labour Day weekend at a family cookout (which is the first weekend in September) she announced that she was really looking forward to going back to school and was in particular looking forward to joining an "affinity group" where the broader school body showed solidarity with the non binary, trans and queer students.

I said to my wife on the way home, that if I was a betting person, a big announcement was imminent

So far shes just in the affinity group but has several friends who are non binary, trans and queer.  While her parents are liberals, they have already dealt with the attention seeking behavior so know how to handle this.

Other parents might handle this differently and "encourage" or "indulge" this behavior and end up with a kid taking measures that are completely unnecessary
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 06:09:41 PM
Interesting uses of quotation marks.
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 08:43:07 PM
I would have more time for trance

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD9-XpDeeOg
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 24, 2022, 08:56:23 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 24, 2022, 02:57:14 PMI've already been banned form this board for stating the obvious.

You can't say anything anymore or "they" will arrest you

What were you banned for?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 24, 2022, 09:11:44 PM
Temp ban? or u like the Ole Bomber destro running under false alias.
Post by: burdizzo on December 24, 2022, 09:20:44 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 24, 2022, 08:56:23 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 24, 2022, 02:57:14 PMI've already been banned form this board for stating the obvious.

You can't say anything anymore or "they" will arrest you

What were you banned for?

Well, obviously I shan't repeat the offence! A one month ban. Had to do with Polish border guards supposedly only allowing white Ukrainians cross the border. It was probably 'fake news' anyway.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2022, 10:14:52 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 24, 2022, 05:48:01 PM
Alex Massie had a very good column about it in the Times, you couldn't argue with it. Unless you were MR2  ;)

Post it, the wife's finding it hard to sleep, I'm sure it'll do the job
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 26, 2022, 11:53:22 AM
You do get that sex and gender are not the same thing?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 26, 2022, 11:59:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2022, 10:14:52 PM

I keep reading that as Alex Maskey. I wonder what his views on the subject are ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 12:17:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 26, 2022, 11:59:33 AM

I keep reading that as Alex Maskey. I wonder what his views on the subject are ;D

I initially thought same lol...

Get to a stage in life when you don't care either way..
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2022, 12:19:16 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 26, 2022, 11:59:33 AM

Like his Party leader I'm sure he's all for inclusiveness.
Post by: whitey on December 26, 2022, 05:04:26 PM
This reminds me of something that happened in my local area

One of the Libs in an adjoining town has a daughter who came out as non binary. The daughter was instrumental setting up a support group at the local high school for LBGTQ youth.

The local newspaper ran a very nice story about the daughter and the group.

Someone then put a link to the story up on the local Facebook page and it got a bunch of likes and comments

And this is where the fun began.

People who were genuinely supportive, started making comments like:

"your DAUGHTER is amazing"

"I always knew SHE would accomplish great things"

"that GIRL is an inspiration to us all"

Well of course, these are gender specific pronouns and are offensive to non binary people (and their parents)

The mother started replying to these comments, correcting people  and lecturing them about the correct use of pronouns and other gender specific terms. She ended each response with..."we all need to do better" which has now essentially entered the local vernacular as a snarky response you make to someone you disagree with.

Then some local Trump supporters got wind of the post and they all started chiming in......pretending to be supportive, but of course using all the wrong terms.

Post eventually got locked by the admins

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 05:21:30 PM
Quote from: whitey on December 26, 2022, 05:04:26 PM
This reminds me of something that happened in my local area

One of the Libs in an adjoining town has a daughter who came out as non binary. The daughter was instrumental setting up a support group at the local high school for LBGTQ youth.

The local newspaper ran a very nice story about the daughter and the group.

Someone then put a link to the story up on the local Facebook page and it got a bunch of likes and comments

And this is where the fun began.

People who were genuinely supportive, started making comments like:

"your DAUGHTER is amazing"

"I always knew SHE would accomplish great things"

"that GIRL is an inspiration to us all"

Well of course, these are gender specific pronouns and are offensive to non binary people (and their parents)

The mother started replying to these comments, correcting people  and lecturing them about the correct use of pronouns and other gender specific terms. She ended each response with..."we all need to do better" which has now essentially entered the local vernacular as a snarky response you make to someone you disagree with.

Then some local Trump supporters got wind of the post and they all started chiming in......pretending to be supportive, but of course using all the wrong terms.

Post eventually got locked by the admins

It's called trolling, generally happens on the US thread, you should go on it sometimes