GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Geoff Tipps on January 10, 2013, 11:41:23 AM

Title: Ciarán Kilkenny returns from Aussie Rules
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 10, 2013, 11:41:23 AM
Dubs will be glad to have him back:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6559534/Statement%20from%20Ciaran%20Kilkenny.pdf
Title: Re: Ciarán Kilkenny returns from Aussie Rules
Post by: ballinaman on January 10, 2013, 12:05:02 PM
Fair play to him. Couldn't have been an easy decision, great coup for the GAA in general, not only the Dubs.
Post by: orangeman on January 10, 2013, 12:11:03 PM
Major boost to the Dubs and to his club as well of course.

Ní glaise iad na cnoic ibhfad uainn igcónaí.

Says it all.

Post by: highorlow on January 10, 2013, 12:14:57 PM
That statement is class. Fair play to him.

Someone should post a copy to Seanie Johnson.
Post by: Rossfan on January 10, 2013, 12:17:03 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 10, 2013, 12:05:02 PM
great coup for the GAA in general.

Explain please????
Post by: Declan on January 10, 2013, 12:19:45 PM
Hope he sticks to the small ball myself but good luck to him
Post by: heffo on January 10, 2013, 12:23:07 PM
Fantastic news
Post by: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 12:31:05 PM
There's no question but that he's overrated, even so, it's good news for Dubh Linn and good luck to them and to him.
Post by: highorlow on January 10, 2013, 12:34:34 PM
QuoteThere's no question but that he's overrated

I don't think he is that hyped up (so far)?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 12:37:27 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 12:31:05 PM
There's no question but that he's overrated, even so, it's good news for Dubh Linn and good luck to them and to him.

Overrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Like Declan has said, I hope he plums for the hurlers at some point in his career, hard to do nowdays
Post by: theticklemister on January 10, 2013, 12:44:21 PM
Is he at college or anything? I reckon an oul coaching job may open up for him if he is unemployed!!!!lol!! Ah fair play to the lad.
Post by: snoopdog on January 10, 2013, 01:00:38 PM
Great boost fro the Dubs, Quality footballer from what ive seen.
I would probably think he was homesick and that was his main reason for returning.
Good to have him back will only be an asset to the GAA as a whole
Post by: Itchy on January 10, 2013, 01:16:11 PM
Breath of fresh air that statement and I wish him well.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on January 10, 2013, 01:31:04 PM
Great news for Irish sport in general and for gaelic games in particular.
Post by: Hound on January 10, 2013, 01:40:04 PM
Brave decision to do the u-turn. Delighted to have him back.
Personally I think he's a better footballer than hurler.
I think its fair comment to call him an underage star, but not all underage stars make the grade at senior intercounty level, so he'll have to prove his merits and deal with the very high expectations.

Hurling got plenty of mentions in his statement, so it'll be very interesting to see if he does try and be a dual player.

I believe DCU had offered him a scholarship, so I wonder does the offer still stand? 
Post by: heffo on January 10, 2013, 01:42:44 PM

You've either on the windup or you haven't seen much of him.
Post by: heffo on January 10, 2013, 01:43:37 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 10, 2013, 12:44:21 PM
Is he at college or anything? I reckon an oul coaching job may open up for him if he is unemployed!!!!lol!! Ah fair play to the lad.

Had a UCD scholarship, did a few weeks then went to Oz.

He'll go back to that next September and will do a bit of coaching in the meantime
Post by: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 02:05:01 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on January 10, 2013, 01:00:38 PM
Great boost fro the Dubs, Quality footballer from what ive seen.
I would probably think he was homesick and that was his main reason for returning.
Good to have him back will only be an asset to the GAA as a whole

A red haired pale Irishman having to run around in temperatures up to 50°C surely entered the equation as well.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 10, 2013, 02:11:18 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 10, 2013, 01:42:44 PM

You've either on the windup or you haven't seen much of him.

That kind of comment amazes me, he has played in 3 under-age All-Ireland finals, a senior All-Ireland semi-final where he scored 3 points and has had to live and play with the kind of social media pressure that no player has ever been exposed to. Yet his attitude and commitment has been exemplary, he is a credit to his family, club and county and more importantly to himself. Having had the pleasure of seeing him play minor against Kildare there is not one poster on this board I can't imagine who doesn't wish he was born in their county.

Having lived and worked in Australia it can be tough and hopefully he has made the right decision for himself. If any under age star can fulfill their potential at senior it will be Ciaran Kilkenny and I think everyone of us should be wishing his the best of luck in achieving that.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 10, 2013, 02:30:30 PM
Its not for everybody. John Heslin was only there a few months aswell, think Heslin would have been there longer.

Best of luck to Kilkenny, another option for Dublin, with Hudson showing well so far in the O Byrne Cup, Dublin will have good options in attack come the Championship
Post by: Declan on January 10, 2013, 02:35:18 PM
QuoteThat kind of comment amazes me, he has played in 3 under-age All-Ireland finals, a senior All-Ireland semi-final where he scored 3 points and has had to live and play with the kind of social media pressure that no player has ever been exposed to. Yet his attitude and commitment has been exemplary, he is a credit to his family, club and county and more importantly to himself. Having had the pleasure of seeing him play minor against Kildare there is not one poster on this board I can't imagine who doesn't wish he was born in their county.

Having lived and worked in Australia it can be tough and hopefully he has made the right decision for himself. If any under age star can fulfill their potential at senior it will be Ciaran Kilkenny and I think everyone of us should be wishing his the best of luck in achieving that.

+1 Dinny Good man
Post by: thejuice on January 10, 2013, 02:42:00 PM
Great see him back alright, I just hope it wasn't in haste under a bout of home sickness. Marty Clarke had a similar experience I remember.

Hope he sticks to hurling of course.  ;)
Post by: DuffleKing on January 10, 2013, 03:51:13 PM

Great to see the young fella back and will be displaying his skills in our games for hopefully a long time.

Nice bit of PR work on the statement to leverage the most out of what is obviously homesickness
Post by: Fuzzman on January 10, 2013, 03:51:39 PM
Am surprised how many of ye want to see him stick with the hurling.
I'd say with him, a new rejunvenaed hungry B.Brogan, a more mature & disciplined D. Connolly and young Caffrey coming along Dublin will have quite a potent forward line for the first time in decades and would have a great chance of winning another AI in 2013.

I'm not sure they'll get close to Kilkenny or Tipp in the hurling.

Interesting how many lads have went over to try it out and came back
How's young Walsh from Kerry getting on now?

Post by: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 10, 2013, 03:58:22 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 10, 2013, 03:51:39 PM
I'd say with him, a new rejunvenaed hungry B.Brogan, a more mature & disciplined D. Connolly and young Caffrey coming along Dublin will have quite a potent forward line for the first time in decades and would have a great chance of winning another AI in 2013.

Interesting how many lads have went over to try it out and came back
How's young Walsh from Kerry getting on now?

McCaffrey is a half back. Paul Hudson looks a gem of a player, u21 from last year. Worrying for every other county - Dublin starting produce so many top forwards.

Cormac Costelloe is another and Emmet O Conghaile.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 03:59:52 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.

Jimmy at that age and being a Dual player, the media hype these lads up not the players or clubs themselves
Post by: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM

Hmmm. Right.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 04:34:34 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM

Hmmm. Right.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 10, 2013, 05:09:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 04:34:34 PM

Hmmm. Right.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures

Think he's a better footballer than hurler to be honest from the limited amount I've seen of him. He has the potential to be a very good footballer. I don't think his ceiling is quite so high in hurling. Saw him play Galway in underage hurling a couple of times and while he was good he didn't particularly stand-out whereas I saw him play Galway in the minor All-Ireland football in 2011 and he basically won Dublin the game by himself in the last 7 or 8 minutes although he did have a significant size advantage over his marker. Am only going on a few games though so not exactly the biggest sample size.
Post by: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 05:11:20 PM

Hmmm. Right.

Earning an All-Ireland medal as a squad player would hardly compare with being MOTM in an All-Ireland final and winning an All-Star
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 10, 2013, 05:34:34 PM
Great news for Dublin.

Bad news for the rest of Leinster and beyond.
Post by: INDIANA on January 10, 2013, 10:15:03 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 10, 2013, 05:09:42 PM

Hmmm. Right.

Think he's a better footballer than hurler to be honest from the limited amount I've seen of him. He has the potential to be a very good footballer. I don't think his ceiling is quite so high in hurling. Saw him play Galway in underage hurling a couple of times and while he was good he didn't particularly stand-out whereas I saw him play Galway in the minor All-Ireland football in 2011 and he basically won Dublin the game by himself in the last 7 or 8 minutes although he did have a significant size advantage over his marker. Am only going on a few games though so not exactly the biggest sample size.

Debatable. That was a star galway team and the dublin team had a mare on the day. He was unreal in the other games at hurling. A mile better then Keaney was at that age and he didn't turn out half bad.

He's proven at the football. Gave Mayo an awful time in the all-ireland semi despite never even playing an NFL game. Its bad news for other counties because he'll eventually or maybe right away concentrate on football. He's by far and away the best prospect we've had in recent years.

Underage success doesn't always translate so I wouldn't get the champagne out yet but Donegal will be the exception to have done very little at underage and win an- ireland. ( training 15 times a week can make up for a lot though)
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2013, 10:47:31 PM
Best Dublin player in the AISF and the only one to stand out at all when the Mayo onslaught was at full tilt. Impressive for an u21 making his first championship start.

Classy statement by him anyways and alongside the likes of Cormac Costello and Emmett O'Conghaile Dublin have one hell of a talented crop coming up through the ranks. Kilkenny is a huge boost for the u21s' chances of retaining the AI.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 10, 2013, 11:27:31 PM
Big boost to Dublin's hopes for this year, they won't be far away
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2013, 11:41:32 PM
Very good player and can be a very special one, will bring much needed spear head to the Dublin attack from likely No.11, there are one or 2 of the last years minor team who looked very good and it would be better for dublin to blood them early through the league and pick up 3 or 4 players who can cut it and add to their panel for another all-ireland assault. Again with Donegal, Cork, and Kerry, they be in the hunt for sam.
Post by: tyroneStatto on January 11, 2013, 12:03:57 PM
is that his club that will be playing in upcoming all-ireland junior semi final?
Post by: tommysmith on January 11, 2013, 12:07:00 PM
QuoteDid Murphy's team not get to an under 21 final, I would have used Kerry as an example of a county who have done very little underage compared to what they have achieved at senior over the last 12 or so years.

They did and only for him hitting crossbar with a last minute penalty they would have won it.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2013, 12:08:01 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 11, 2013, 12:03:57 PM
is that his club that will be playing in upcoming all-ireland junior semi final?

Yeah, Castleknock.
Post by: johnneycool on January 11, 2013, 12:08:13 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 10, 2013, 03:51:39 PM

Dublin hurlers had a collective mare last year with poor performances and injuries to key personnel. If Daly and Co can put that behind them then they'll certainly be a force, not sure if they'd have enough to win an AI just yet, but they're certainly going in the right direction and will only get better as they'd some clinker minors last year who came up short against a very talented Tipp team, Kilkenny being one of them.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 11, 2013, 01:03:12 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 11, 2013, 12:08:01 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 11, 2013, 12:03:57 PM

Yeah, Castleknock.

He'll be handy at that level!

Even if you don't appreciate "de boyiz in blooo" it's great for the GAA that such a potentially big star is now back to grace our games. The Aussie thing isn't for everyone and it's ok if lads don't go that route just as it's ok if they decide to go for it. As Kilkenny put it so well, our games do have their own unique benefits and we are often slow about outlining those for fear of appearing old fashioned or whatever.
Post by: Declan on January 11, 2013, 02:09:50 PM
Carlow star and former AFL recruit Brendan Murphy believes Ciarán Kilkenny did the right thing in deciding not to return to Australia and an AFL career with Hawthorn.
Murphy spent two years on the books of the Sydney Swans before refusing the offer of a contract extension and returned to Ireland in 2009.
Although he did not break in to the Swans first team he impressed in the reserves, despite a series of injuries, and the former Swans coach Paul Roos expressed his disappointment at Murphy's decision to return to Ireland.
The Rathvilly man, speaking to RTÉ Sport, said that he fully understood and empathised with Kilkenny's decision not to return to Australia.
"I was surprised at first when I read Ciarán's statement. I had heard he was going very well out there, but at the end of the day if he was not happy, and his heart was dragging him back to Ireland, than I think he made the right decision", said Murphy.
"Ciarán said in his statement, and I suppose I can relate to it, that it's great to be a professional and getting to play sport but, for me, pulling on the Sydney Swans jumper was just not the same as pulling on a Rathvilly or Carlow jersey.
"There is a lot to be said for lining out beside your brothers and the friends you've grown up with. For me it was just not the same in Australia and Ciarán obviously felt the same."
Questioned as to whether the respective contrasting states of the Australian and Irish economies would influence the decision to return to Ireland, Murphy was dismissive in his assessment of the financial factors involved.
"If your heart is telling you that it's not meant for you than it's just not meant for you. When I first came home people were saying to me that, with the way things are, would I not be better off staying in Australia.
"But it you're not happy in a place there is no point staying there just for the sake of money. It's not right. If you want to come home, and you feel that's the best place for you, than go for it."
"If your heart is telling you that it's not meant for you than it's just not meant for you" - Brendan Murphy
Homesickness is often alluded to as one of the big issues facing young Irish recruits in the AFL, and Murphy admitted that it was a factor for him, despite the support of everyone at the Sydney club.
"For me, at the Swans, they were brilliant. All the staff and players at the club made me feel really welcome. At the start the homesickness was a big thing.
"I remember flying back to Australia after my first Christmas and it was tough for the first two or three months.
"You are constantly thinking of home, and you would have a pain in your gut missing home. Everyone at the club makes you feel welcome but, at the end of the day, it's not home."
"It's not like playing for your club, and Ciarán obviously has a strong feeling about playing for his club (Castleknock) and loves it, and loves playing for Dublin and that must have been a big factor for him as well."

Murphy has no doubt that Kilkenny would have made it in the AFL, and dismissed notions that Kilkenny's contrasting profile in Ireland and Australia was an issue.
"I have no doubt that Ciarán would have made the grade in AFL because he is that sort of a talent. He is one of the best young lads coming up through GAA.

"Some people might say that (he was a small fish in a big pond in Australia) but you would not worry about people like that. Ciarán has a massive opportunity now with his club in an All-Ireland semi-final and, of course, with Dublin."
"Dublin are one of the best teams in the country so coming home, for him, gives him the chance to fulfil every dream he ever had as a child."
Murphy was emphatic when asked if he was happy, in hindsight, with his decision to return home. "I'm delighted," he insisted.
Post by: Syferus on January 11, 2013, 02:29:41 PM
It all makes me wish the GAA would get off their hands and make the schedule of games work for the players and not just have the intent of just fulfilling a set of fixtures by the end of the year.

If Ciaran was at college here right now he'd be splitting time between training with his college team, the u21 panel, the senior panel and his club.

That is ridiculous even for a professional player, let alone someone doing it simply for a love of the game.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 11, 2013, 02:41:21 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 10, 2013, 02:30:30 PM
Its not for everybody. John Heslin was only there a few months aswell, think Heslin would have been there longer.

Best of luck to Kilkenny, another option for Dublin, with Hudson showing well so far in the O Byrne Cup, Dublin will have good options in attack come the Championship

Heslin went back after the Christmas break until Feb/March. Helped Westmeath stay up after a horrendous start to the league.

Some boost for the Dubs, would hope he concentrates on the small ball as well  :P
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2013, 03:01:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 11, 2013, 02:29:41 PM
It all makes me wish the GAA would get off their hands and make the schedule of games work for the players and not just have the intent of just fulfilling a set of fixtures by the end of the year.

If Ciaran was at college here right now he'd be splitting time between training with his college team, the u21 panel, the senior panel and his club.

That is ridiculous even for a professional player, let alone someone doing it simply for a love of the game.

According to the Star, he is able to resume the Arts course he was studying in UCD. Fresher Football starts in Feburay I think.

It said he will be eligible for 10 teams in 2013, Freshers football and Hurling. County Senior Football and Hurling, County U21 football and Hurling, Club football and Hurling ,and Club u21 Football and Hurling.
Post by: Orchardman on January 11, 2013, 06:35:00 PM
Cant believe someone wudnt even stick it out for 6 months til the summer at least, just experience the life when you are there of a professional, the training would do you no harm. At the same time, he has the chance to win the only all ireland he will likely win with his club castleknock.

People talk about the GAA needing to sort out the calender, and i give out about it myself, but he doesnt HAVE to play for all these teams. I really think the GAA have an impossible job in the fixture calander in terms of the amounts of teams to be considered
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 05:00:52 AM
Easily dealt with by preventing dual players at county level and players representing more than one grade at IC level. If, as in Ciaran's case, you're good enough to play senior football with the Dubs then he should not play U21.

Delighted to see him back (as a football fan), his ball to brogan for the goal opportunity against Mayo was one of the best passes I've ever seen and gives lie to those claiming kicking has deteriorated in the modern game.
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 12:55:10 PM
Why??
Post by: INDIANA on January 12, 2013, 03:47:40 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 05:00:52 AM
Easily dealt with by preventing dual players at county level and players representing more than one grade at IC level. If, as in Ciaran's case, you're good enough to play senior football with the Dubs then he should not play U21.

Delighted to see him back (as a football fan), his ball to brogan for the goal opportunity against Mayo was one of the best passes I've ever seen and gives lie to those claiming kicking has deteriorated in the modern game.

i agree with the u21 and senior idea.

i dont with the dual player - thats up to the individual in an amateur game
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 04:59:06 PM
Well there's 3 Wexford lads trying it this year I think, one or two Wicklow lads afaik, a few Limerick lads tried it, a few Waterford boys gave it a go too so it isn't as uncommon as you think. There's quite a few doing it a u21 most years, Damien Cahalan for example will do it for cork at u21 this year.

Let's take Damien as an example, he plays for the Barrs in hurling and Castlehaven in football and this year he'll play football for Cork between u21 and senior from now until August/September and hurling for the u21's through the summer (depending on their progress) so how many players between both clubs and both codes is he affecting?

More importantly, if you played the IC u21 football and hurling championships at the same time both would be over in 3 months thus clearing up more weekends for clubs and freeing up a lot of lads for their clubs. Do something similar and you would free up many weekends for the clubs. As you say, dual IC players are a small minority so why should they be allowed affect so many? They can still play both for their clubs but let them choose which one they want to play IC.

The point isn't to legislate for the small number of dual IC players but to legislate for the many clubs affected by them.
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 05:20:41 PM
No club will play without their best players and the more IC teams players can play for the less scope there is for CB's to fix games. Dual players can force players/clubs who don't even play the code in question to twiddle their thumbs for months on end waiting for the dual player(s) to finally finish up. This isn't a CB's problem as they've no choice but to wait and then games are crammed in left right and centre. Most lads now choose one anyway but if both codes were fixed for the same weekend at all levels nobody could play both and clubs would have more time yo play games. In addition other lads would get to experience IC in the code not chosen by the dual player.
Post by: INDIANA on January 12, 2013, 05:49:59 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 05:20:41 PM
No club will play without their best players and the more IC teams players can play for the less scope there is for CB's to fix games. Dual players can force players/clubs who don't even play the code in question to twiddle their thumbs for months on end waiting for the dual player(s) to finally finish up. This isn't a CB's problem as they've no choice but to wait and then games are crammed in left right and centre. Most lads now choose one anyway but if both codes were fixed for the same weekend at all levels nobody could play both and clubs would have more time yo play games. In addition other lads would get to experience IC in the code not chosen by the dual player.
[/quote

yeah to be fair cant argue with that
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 06:48:40 PM
Cadogan just announced he's playing football solely this year too.
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2013, 07:51:18 PM
So you advocate forcing clubs to play without their county players? Maybe I'm misunderstanding you but I can't the logic in forcing clubs to play without their best players, that benefits nobody. The clubs are treated too shabbily as it is, to insist they play championship games without their best players would make a complete mockery of them altogether.
Post by: Hound on January 14, 2013, 08:20:05 AM
So Kilkenny will not be involved with the Dublin senior hurlers this year, according to Jim Gavin. But he will play both codes at U21 level. Will rejoin the Dubs senior footballers panel after Castleknock finish up in Junior championship
Post by: Declan on February 27, 2013, 08:13:24 AM
Nice interview in the Indo - refreshing attitude

LISTEN to Ciaran Kilkenny for just a few moments, as he articulates his reasons for dropping his anchor in Dublin for once and for all last Christmas, and the old cynic in you quickly fades away.

Is this the game blighted by so much deliberate foul play that it has warranted six months of work from a committee to overhaul it, that he's talking about?

Is this one of the games that has required tough legislation on sideline numbers to avert the potential for maelstrom?

Is this really a game under threat from other professional sports and suffering from the absence of a regular payroll?

Something else becomes apparent as you listen. Dublin football, and maybe even Dublin hurling, is in very secure hands for the next decade.

Kilkenny's belief that he was "raised to win All-Irelands" and not Grand Finals many thousands of miles away is a chilling shot across the bows of all of Dublin's potential rivals.

This young man, not yet 20 years of age, is sure of the direction he is taking in every aspect of life.

At Croke Park yesterday, where he was unveiled as one of the ambassadors for gaelicboots.com, a commercial initiative between the GAA and Gaelic Players Association – the profit from which will benefit player welfare – Kilkenny gave perhaps the most positive testimony for being a Gaelic footballer imaginable.

Even his intention to get an arts degree – Maynooth, UCD and St Pat's will be vying for that enrolment – in Irish and history so that he can teach these subjects is a variation on the same theme.

At the end of six weeks in Australia doing pre-season with Hawthorn, who had won the race to sign him, Kilkenny just knew that the AFL wasn't for him.

The lure of Gaelic games back home was too magnetic and that was the basis for his decision.

"Just the free-flowing flair that's in the GAA, just the end-to-end, just the passion in the game is phenomenal," he explained.

"That everyone out there is playing out of love of the game, and the love of their county.

"Just the passion, a jam-packed Croke Park, 82,000. It's unreal playing out there in Croke Park and I couldn't hide my love for the game at the end of the day.

"In AFL they take the mark and they go back and then when you're tackled, it's a ball-up or whatever.

"In GAA, it's just so free-flowing and it's so intense, and you can't really beat that.

"I'm glad I went out because it made me appreciate how much I cherish Ireland and how much I cherish the GAA.

"Homesickness wasn't an issue. It wasn't that at all. I didn't really miss my parents when I was out there!

"It was just the whole ... the connections and interactions you'd make playing for five or six teams, your club, your county. It's just brilliant.

"The whole GAA – you can go to the other side of the country and talk to a random person about the GAA, and you can be there for two or three hours.

"I could never hide the love or passion I have for the games. That was one of the main things that influenced my decision."

The average AFL contract is worth Aus$180,000 (e140,000). As a young international rookie with all the qualities to make it and already in the lead group for any of the endurance tests he did at Hawthorn, Kilkenny could probably have risen above that in time to come.

But a professional life of sport just wasn't for him, that realisation franked one day when he was checked from running out on to a field to do some extra kicking practice, a prohibition completely at odds with his free spirit.

"Just the whole professional lifestyle probably wasn't for me, because I just enjoy playing so much just purely for the love of the game.

"I remember when I was out in Australia, it was because I wanted to do well that I was going to do extra kicking and they said 'don't go out and do that'.

"And I was kind of like, the only way I feel I can get better is go out and kick a thousand balls and perfect my game.

"So I'd rather play the game I love out of pure enjoyment rather than it being my job.

"I thought I would have had a good chance of making it because I was doing pretty well at all the endurance aspects.

"I would be in the top group fitness-wise over there, so I thought I would have had a good chance.

"But at the end of the day I weighed up would I rather win All-Irelands in football and hurling and titles with my club and college and all these other aspects or win the Grand Final.

"I was raised to win All-Irelands. That was embedded in me – the whole tradition of my dad playing and my cousins and everything.

"I'm proud about our history and our culture, and I'd rather win All-Irelands than win Grand Finals."

Even before he left for Australia in late October, he admits he was having second thoughts.

"I think if I played any other game, I'd always want to just come back to the GAA because even when I was going, a week before I was about to go, I said to my parents 'Look, I think I'm going to stay'.

"But they said you might as well give it a go and have no regrets.

"I'm just glad that I went out – it made me appreciate what I have here and made me realise how much I love the GAA."

He hasn't ruled out the possibility of hurling with the Dublin seniors in the future but said his priority on his return was his club, Castleknock, and their All-Ireland junior club semi-final and then the Dublin U-21 footballers. Later this year he will commit to the U-21 hurlers.

"When I came back it was a bit of an emotional roller coaster. I've never hidden my love for the hurling, I love the hurling game and I'm not ruling that out."
Post by: spuds on February 27, 2013, 12:29:41 PM
Comes across a level headed guy. Is he any relation to Tony & Ollie Kilkenny that played hurling for Galway and Kiltormer back in the 80s?
Post by: heffo on February 27, 2013, 12:32:28 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 27, 2013, 12:29:41 PM
Comes across a level headed guy. Is he any relation to Tony & Ollie Kilkenny that played hurling for Galway and Kiltormer back in the 80s?

Don't think so - he's a relation of some sort to Sean Purcell though - his family are Galway not sure if it's parents or grandparents
Post by: snoopdog on February 27, 2013, 12:38:37 PM
Pity Marty Clarke and Caolan Mooney didnt feel the same.
But in fairness its hard to deny the lads earning a living as a professional athlete even if it is to the detriment of Down football.
Post by: spuds on February 27, 2013, 12:41:35 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 27, 2013, 12:32:28 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 27, 2013, 12:29:41 PM

Don't think so - he's a relation of some sort to Sean Purcell though - his family are Galway not sure if it's parents or grandparents
Serious lineage if a relation of Seán Purcell.