GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: swagger on September 06, 2010, 02:20:18 AM

Title: anyone else shouting at the tv at rte's coverage of the hurling?
Post by: swagger on September 06, 2010, 02:20:18 AM
on the subject of pitch invasions, our gallant and decisive leader mr cooney has been harping on all week on how the celebration will be fantastic with a lap of honour to the winning team, giving them a chance to really connect with their supporters. Now I, as like many others watching on tv, wanted to watch tipperary do their lap of honour and share the moment with their supporters, to see if mr cooney was right in what he was saying. Instead, rte insisted on showing ger loughanne and co talk about the obvious, commenting on what we already knew for 10 mins, ignoring the events that were occuring behind them on the pitch!. I hope they change their broadcasting strategy for the football final on the 19th!
Title: Re: anyone else shouting at the tv at rte's coverage of the hurling?
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2010, 07:59:42 AM
It's is not about the action with RTE though, it all revolves around the "personalities". A complete misnomer in some cases. Prime example being the Sunday Game each week, three minutes of action and 10 minutes of McStay and the rest talking about "transitional phases", "three points equals a goal" and "serious bits of kit", all with a kind of satisfaction reserved for someone that has just discovered a cure for pancreatic cancer.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 06, 2010, 08:22:56 AM
On top of that when the hell are we ever going to move from having the minor finals commentated in Irish, annoying as hell.  There is a removal of more meaningful traditions within the Association (banning All Ireland Minor winning Captains and the Archbishop from making speeches) yet they still persist with commentating on a match in a language that 90% of the viewers can't understand.
Post by: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 09:05:02 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 06, 2010, 08:22:56 AM
On top of that when the hell are we ever going to move from having the minor finals commentated in Irish, annoying as hell.  There is a removal of more meaningful traditions within the Association (banning All Ireland Minor winning Captains and the Archbishop from making speeches) yet they still persist with commentating on a match in a language that 90% of the viewers can't understand.

I'd have thought that was an RTE thing rather than a GAA thing. I like it though. In fact they can do the senior game too for that matter.
Post by: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 09:14:29 AM
Quote from: swagger on September 06, 2010, 02:20:18 AM
on the subject of pitch invasions, our gallant and decisive leader mr cooney has been harping on all week on how the celebration will be fantastic with a lap of honour to the winning team, giving them a chance to really connect with their supporters. Now I, as like many others watching on tv, wanted to watch tipperary do their lap of honour and share the moment with their supporters, to see if mr cooney was right in what he was saying. Instead, rte insisted on showing ger loughanne and co talk about the obvious, commenting on what we already knew for 10 mins, ignoring the events that were occuring behind them on the pitch!. I hope they change their broadcasting strategy for the football final on the 19th!

Some suggesting the choice of song by the Tipp fans might have been a factor http://www.politics.ie/culture-community/137410-tipp-v-kilkenny-11.html

The Galtee Mountain Boy

I joined the Flying Column in 1916
In Cork with Seán Moylan, Tipperary with Dan Breen
Arrested by Free Staters and sentenced for to die
Farewell to Tipperary said the Galtee Mountain Boy

Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2010, 09:21:02 AM
I doubt it, they had swapped away before it started. Maybe they didn't swap back to it because it's too rebellious for these days.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 06, 2010, 12:34:47 PM
I was raging when I heard it in the background and they didn't go back to it.
Post by: bloodybreakball on September 06, 2010, 02:36:20 PM
heard them first couple of lines and was suprised but didnt know the song
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 02:58:19 PM

Most of the people that pay licence fees to RTE have gone through the education system here where Irish is taught for the guts of 14 years. The promotion of the Irish language is one of the stated functions of the GAA also. Maybe the fact that you don't understand Irish is more a reflection of your own lot....just a thougt like !
Perhaps you have a problem with us singing Amhrán na bhFiann as gaeilge also ?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 06, 2010, 03:09:15 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 02:58:19 PM

Most of the people that pay licence fees to RTE have gone through the education system here where Irish is taught for the guts of 14 years. The promotion of the Irish language is one of the stated functions of the GAA also. Maybe the fact that you don't understand Irish is more a reflection of your own lot....just a thougt like !

why dot they offer both options on commenatry, like a red button option? press the red button for english comentary. the bbc could offer alternative comentaries during the world cup, so i dont see why they could do that twice a year for the 2 finals
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:12:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 06, 2010, 03:09:15 PM

why dot they offer both options on commenatry, like a red button option? press the red button for english comentary. the bbc could offer alternative comentaries during the world cup, so i dont see why they could do that twice a year for the 2 finals

GAA finals are part of the protected games shown to all on the national broadcaster, red buttons aren't available on RTE as far as I know.
They tried the dual language commentry a few years back and it was annoying to one and all.
Post by: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 03:13:53 PM

What do you mean?
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:19:46 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 03:13:53 PM

What do you mean?

As oppsed to "I cannot understand provide me with an English alternative" go out and learn some feckin Irish or put up with it.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 03:20:24 PM
It's just another piece of codology. This sort of shite allows GAA HQ to claim it's fulfilling its remit of promoting Irish by insisting on a clause in the RTÉ contract that the minor finals (and only the minor finals) be covered in Irish (and in Irish only).  Never mind that it's using the same compulsion that has almost killed the language. You'll learn Irish in school if we have to bate it into you and you'll watch the minor final in Irish whether you like it or not and whether you understand it or not. Do they not grasp the stupidity of making people resent the language as a pretence of promoting it and, in the same move losing 80%+ of the audience for underage football on the only occasion when it appears on TV? Of course they do, but they don't give a shite.

This is the same "policy" of language promotion that brings you a few phrases at the start of every GAA speech in pidgin Irish, the insistence on using the Irish language names of counties in passages of English and, of course, the tour de force that will have us all speaking the sweetest Irish within a generation - the insistence on the ludicrous "translation" of people's names into imaginary Irish versions. This is promoting Irish? Is it not just making a laughing stock of it?
Post by: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 03:31:48 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:19:46 PM

As oppsed to "I cannot understand provide me with an English alternative" go out and learn some feckin Irish or put up with it.

In what way does not speaking Irish reflect on his own lot?

I agree with Hardy on the Education of Irish in schools etc. and that the minor final is tokenism but I don't think the MF should be changed. If it was backed by more then it would be better but I don't think we should do away with it just because we're not doing enough.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 06, 2010, 03:33:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 03:20:24 PM
It's just another piece of codology. This sort of shite allows GAA HQ to claim it's fulfilling its remit of promoting Irish by insisting on a clause in the RTÉ contract that the minor finals (and only the minor finals) be covered in Irish (and in Irish only).  Never mind that it's using the same compulsion that has almost killed the language. You'll learn Irish in school if we have to bate it into you and you'll watch the minor final in Irish whether you like it or not and whether you understand it or not. Do they not grasp the stupidity of making people resent the language as a pretence of promoting it and, in the same move losing 80%+ of the audience for underage football on the only occasion when it appears on TV? Of course they do, but they don't give a shite.

This is the same "policy" of language promotion that brings you a few phrases at the start of every GAA speech in pidgin Irish, the insistence on using the Irish language names of counties in passages of English and, of course, the tour de force that will have us all speaking the sweetest Irish within a generation - the insistence on the ludicrous "translation" of people's names into imaginary Irish versions. This is promoting Irish? Is it not just making a laughing stock of it?

Well said Hardy.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:45:46 PM

Wrote from a totally negative view of all efforts to give any promotion to the Irish language, blame it all on it being forced and shoved in your face. Blame the language dying out on the method it is being taught. So it would be better to have some programme in Irish on at a time and place that will be out of earshot of all ? Not everyone dislikes the minor commentry in Irish ! You either have an association that stands for something or you purely have a sports organisation that caters to the elite footballers and hurlers.

You have the imaginary surnames thing a bit back to front, albeit in a more historical way than you were referring to, as many original Irish surnames were translated to English surnames that sounded similar etc.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:49:10 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 06, 2010, 03:33:33 PM

Well said Hardy.

That's quite funny, you agree with Hardy yet cannot understand the commentry in Irish. I'll be presumptious and assume that you were not forced to learn Irish at school in Tyrone !
Post by: ziggysego on September 06, 2010, 03:53:40 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:49:10 PM
That's quite funny, you agree with Hardy yet cannot understand the commentry in Irish. I'll be presumptious and assume that you were not forced to learn Irish at school in Tyrone !

When I was at school, Irish wasn't on the table. So unfortunately I never got a chance to learn the language. I'm desperate to someday.

As for Irish commentary during the Minor games, I say keep it.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 03:54:50 PM
i far prefer listening to ó'sé than morrissey, canning and co.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:56:06 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 03:31:48 PM

For him to say that the commentry should not be in Irish I think that the fact he does not understand it is a bigger point.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:59:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 06, 2010, 03:53:40 PM

When I was at school, Irish wasn't on the table. So unfortunately I never got a chance to learn the language. I'm desperate to someday.

This I find very interesting in comparison to what Hardy was on about with it being taught wrongly.
Post by: ziggysego on September 06, 2010, 04:04:03 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:59:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 06, 2010, 03:53:40 PM

This I find very interesting in comparison to what Hardy was on about with it being taught wrongly.

I didn't go to the same school as Hardy.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 04:14:36 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:45:46 PM

Wrote from a totally negative view of all efforts to give any promotion to the Irish language, blame it all on it being forced and shoved in your face. Blame the language dying out on the method it is being taught. So it would be better to have some programme in Irish on at a time and place that will be out of earshot of all ? Not everyone dislikes the minor commentry in Irish ! You either have an association that stands for something or you purely have a sports organisation that caters to the elite footballers and hurlers.

You have the imaginary surnames thing a bit back to front, albeit in a more historical way than you were referring to, as many original Irish surnames were translated to English surnames that sounded similar etc.

What's the Irish for Moses Muzalewa? Piotr Crzewinski? Are we going to attract immigrant kids to the sport by starting off by telling them their names don't match up to our racial purity requirements? You can't be on our team because we don't like your name.

John Power is John Power and Sean Óg de Paor is not. If Jack Stack's parents had meant to call him Sean de Staic, they'd have put that on his birth cert., same as Aodán Mac Gearailt's put what they meant on his. When Mickey Black goes to Germany, he doesn't expect people to start calling him Mikel Schwartz and when Johann Schmidt comes the other direction he'd be taken aback if we called him Seán MacGabhann.

My point is that names are not translatable and that the GAA's ludicrous insistence on "Irish" names is cynical tokenism, the same as the pidgin Irish phrases and the nonsense with the commentaries in Irish. They're designed for one purpose only - to PRETEND that the GAA administration is promoting Irish. It's not. It's making a laughing stock of it. As someone who supports the regeneration of Irish, I resent that.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 04:42:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 04:14:36 PM
What's the Irish for Moses Muzalewa? Piotr Crzewinski? Are we going to attract immigrant kids to the sport by starting off by telling them their names don't match up to our racial purity requirements? You can't be on our team because we don't like your name.

John Power is John Power and Sean Óg de Paor is not. If Jack Stack's parents had meant to call him Sean de Staic, they'd have put that on his birth cert., same as Aodán Mac Gearailt's put what they meant on his. When Mickey Black goes to Germany, he doesn't expect people to start calling him Mikel Schwartz and when Johann Schmidt comes the other direction he'd be taken aback if we called him Seán MacGabhann.

My point is that names are not translatable and that the GAA's ludicrous insistence on "Irish" names is cynical tokenism, the same as the pidgin Irish phrases and the nonsense with the commentaries in Irish. They're designed for one purpose only - to PRETEND that the GAA administration is promoting Irish. It's not. It's making a laughing stock of it. As someone who supports the regeneration of Irish, I resent that.

The names being in Irish is not such an important issue for me to be honest, would be better probably for the commentators to have it in the preferred/normal version of the names. All very amusing your translations of the Smiths/Shmitz/MacGabhann but as you know foreign names are non-translatable, Moses Muzalewa and Piotr Crzewinski won't be put off by the attempts to have their names into Irish, more likely to be put off for other reasons.

You keep saying that the commentry for the minor match is tokenism but it is real and live. People want to watch the minor match in good numbers so it is in fact a real effort ! How is this making a laughing stock of it ? Who is laughing ? Sure the GAA administrators could do more but if they do nothing at all what then ??

Is having no exposure to Irish better than hearing a hurling and football minor All Ireland commentry in Irish once anually ?
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 04:51:27 PM
What does it achieve?
Post by: joemamas on September 06, 2010, 04:54:20 PM
thought the overall coverage was poor, I remember on of the most exciting parts of the entire game was the respective fans reaction when the teams first came on the field, RTE in my minfd failed miseribly in that regards, the overhead shot was pathetic, no shot of any of the fans, who is in charges of production, the need to show more of what is going on on the field too many breakaways to the studio and other analysts.
Post by: del_carroll on September 06, 2010, 05:09:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 04:51:27 PM
What does it achieve?

If you're left school like me for 20years+, then you'll probably find most of the irish that you still know and recognise comes from watching the minor matches in Irish, county names, the numbers, buailte go hard agus go tríd...(though TG4 excellent coverage of the club scene also increases exposure hugely)

It's only 70 minutes for crying out loud, what kind of Gaels are ye, to get all stroppy at being "forced" to listen to the language of your forefathers for the course of the game. If you ask me Irish is dying out mainly becasue of indifference among Irish people toward their own heritage and culture; too happy to blame the school system (which they all left many years ago), for their own basic laziness.

Slán
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 05:22:04 PM
No answer to my questions !

What does it achieve?

It shows people that the language is still alive, albeit not well. It also allows Moses Muzalewa and Piotr Crzewinski realise that the language they are forced to learn in school can be combined with their interest in hurling ! It gives the likes of myself and others an opportunity to listen to our games in our native tongue. How is this tokenism ?

QuoteAs someone who supports the regeneration of Irish
How would you support the regeneration ? You are not happy with the way it is being taught, when something is done you call it tokenism, you say not enough is being done by the heads in the GAA. Do you support the regeneration of Irish the same way I support my English soccer team; from afar and half arsed !
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:24:07 PM
Quote from: del_carroll on September 06, 2010, 05:09:57 PM
What does it achieve?

If you're left school like me for 20years+, then you'll probably find most of the irish that you still know and recognise comes from watching the minor matches in Irish, county names, the numbers, buailte go hard agus go tríd...(though TG4 excellent coverage of the club scene also increases exposure hugely)

It's only 70 minutes for crying out loud, what kind of Gaels are ye, to get all stroppy at being "forced" to listen to the language of your forefathers for the course of the game. If you ask me Irish is dying out mainly becasue of indifference among Irish people toward their own heritage and culture; too happy to blame the school system (which they all left many years ago), for their own basic laziness.

Slán
I'm not a "Gael" at all, because I never knew what that meant. Less still do I know what a true gael is, though I see many people labelled as such. Is it a term meant to exclude people?

I have no problem listening to Micheál Ó Sé. He's a fine commentator and I enjoy his commentaries in Irish. I'm just saying that the convention of presenting the minor finals in Irish is just codology and tokenism and some weird echo of the compulsory Irish we had in school. And since an alternative is not available for non-Irish speakers, this can only mean the GAA doesn't really care about presenting the minor games themselves to the widest available audience but wants to pretend it's promoting Irish.

What does the GAA REALLY do to promote Irish? Where are the Irish language courses? Has anyone ever heard of one of these in a club? Ever? Publications in Irish? Are there any? (I'm not talking about a few words of pidgin Irish in an English language publication or the linguistic comedy routine that tells you in English that today An Mhí are playing Cill Dara). Can anyone post here the details of how their club fulfils the remit of promoting Irish and how it's assisted in that by GAA central administration?
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:29:13 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 05:22:04 PM
How would you support the regeneration ? You are not happy with the way it is being taught, when something is done you call it tokenism, you say not enough is being done by the heads in the GAA.

See my immediately previous post. If the GAA is not just pulling our legs about promoting Irish, don't you think that Irish lessons/courses in clubs would be the very basic starting point?

Do you support the regeneration of Irish the same way I support my English soccer team; from afar and half arsed !

Pretty much. No defence offered, except to say that at least I'm not pretending to be promoting Irish by engaging in eyewash and codswallop.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 05:36:55 PM

errr, yes they are. the vast majority of surnames on this island are derived from irish. so they are translatable. now i dont particularly care about what the GAA does on the translating front, it doesnt bother me but to say that is ridiculous
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 06, 2010, 05:43:15 PM
Could they not have commentary on the minor match in English on the radio, then punters could listen in there with the volume on the telly turned down, or vice versa. On the subject, was it my telly or was there a sound problem with the commentary on the Sunday Game last night
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 05:50:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:29:13 PM
How would you support the regeneration ? You are not happy with the way it is being taught, when something is done you call it tokenism, you say not enough is being done by the heads in the GAA.

See my immediately previous post. If the GAA is not just pulling our legs about promoting Irish, don't you think that Irish lessons/courses in clubs would be the very basic starting point?

Do you support the regeneration of Irish the same way I support my English soccer team; from afar and half arsed !

Pretty much. No defence offered, except to say that at least I'm not pretending to be promoting Irish by engaging in eyewash and codswallop.
So you support the regeneration of Irish in a half arsed way but yet seem upset about the bit of exposure it gets on All Ireland sunday ! You get involved in a discussion you really don't give a damn about and try to claim the high moral ground with the
Quoteat least I'm not pretending to be promoting Irish by engaging in eyewash and codswallop.
Quite pathethic really.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:52:13 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 05:36:55 PM

errr, yes they are. the vast majority of surnames on this island are derived from irish. so they are translatable. now i dont particularly care about what the GAA does on the translating front, it doesnt bother me but to say that is ridiculous

Perhaps I should have said names are not usually translated - hence my German examples, etc. Jasus I could go to the most totalitarian state in the world and they'd let me in without trying to translate my name into Korean or Spanish. Can you give me any other examples of situations in which people present the name on their birth certificates only to be told that it's unacceptable and that they have to change it to a substitute name provided by the group they're asking to join? I can only think of two occasions when it happened to me - on my first day in school and on my first appearance on a team sheet.

Most sensible people have stopped that nonsense by now. For instance, Irish speakers address people by whatever name they present and TG4 uses players' real names, not ones made up by some politburo of cultural acceptability.,
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:52:53 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 05:50:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:29:13 PM

So you support the regeneration of Irish in a half arsed way but yet seem upset about the bit of exposure it gets on All Ireland sunday ! You get involved in a discussion you really don't give a damn about and try to claim the high moral ground with the
Quoteat least I'm not pretending to be promoting Irish by engaging in eyewash and codswallop.
Quite pathethic really.

Why are you trying to start a row with me?
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2010, 05:56:46 PM
Get him Hardy.
One in, all in.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:57:53 PM
Ya see spuds. I'll have me brothers here in a minute too, so watch yerself.
Post by: winsamsoon on September 06, 2010, 05:58:51 PM
Speak little to no Irish of which i am not proud but to me it isn't really about the language. For me it is symbolism, i always remember when i was a child and my da and cousins would sit in the kitchen and watch the minor football final. Now none of us knew what they were saying but we could get the gist of it and could see the match. This is a tradition that has always stayed the same throughout the years whilst other things have changed . It is just the symbolism of the whole day that starts off with the minor game in Irish and to me this sets the day up in a clinking way.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 06:04:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:52:53 PM

What's your problem? Why are you trying to start a row with me?

Not trying to start a row with you, just pointing out your complaints about the Irish commentry on the minor game is strong, you claimed to be all on for the language's regeneration and then admit you are half arsed about it. Your main point seemd to be a problem with Irish getting any expiosure and then clapping yourself on the back with the
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 06:09:28 PM

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF19/020198.jpg)
Post by: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 06:15:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:52:13 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 05:36:55 PM

Perhaps I should have said names are not usually translated - hence my German examples, etc. Jasus I could go to the most totalitarian state in the world and they'd let me in without trying to translate my name into Korean or Spanish. Can you give me any other examples of situations in which people present the name on their birth certificates only to be told that it's unacceptable and that they have to change it to a substitute name provided by the group they're asking to join? I can only think of two occasions when it happened to me - on my first day in school and on my first appearance on a team sheet.

Most sensible people have stopped that nonsense by now. For instance, Irish speakers address people by whatever name they present and TG4 uses players' real names, not ones made up by some politburo of cultural acceptability.,

i can't give you any other examples, it doesn't bother me. i just felt the need to clear up what you said, and you did that there, that's fine
Post by: Rossfan on September 06, 2010, 06:26:02 PM
Taithníonn sé go mór liom go bhfuil an tráchtaireacht ar na Cluichí Ceannais Mionúir i nGaeilge.
Ach cén fáth nach mbíonn Tráchtaire Connachtach agus Ultach gach tríú bliain?
Ceapann a lán daoine gur Gaeilge na Mumhan an t-aon saghas Gaeilge atá sa tír mar sin an las a cloiseann siad an t-am go léir ar RTE.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 06:40:45 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 06:04:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 05:52:53 PM

What's your problem? Why are you trying to start a row with me?

Not trying to start a row with you, just pointing out your complaints about the Irish commentry on the minor game is strong, you claimed to be all on for the language's regeneration and then admit you are half arsed about it. Your main point seemd to be a problem with Irish getting any expiosure and then clapping yourself on the back with the

Yep. You're definitely trying to get a row going.

I didn't complain about the Irish commentary. I said I like it. And how could you have thought I have a problem with Irish getting exposure? My problem is it's not getting enough. I complained about hypocrisy.

And if I was going to clap myself on the back, I'd find something better than that.

Ya fecker.

Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 07:20:12 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 06:40:45 PM

And if I was going to clap myself on the back, I'd find something better than that.

Ya fecker.
T'was a poor effort alright !
You were giving out about the tokenism of it, about not enough being done and then saying that you are half arsed about the whole thing yourself. Summarises succintly the way the language has got to this stage !

Ya demon ya
Post by: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 11:11:35 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:56:06 PM

For him to say that the commentry should not be in Irish I think that the fact he does not understand it is a bigger point.

Maybe you should ask why he doesn't understand it and place blame (if you're looking for someone to blame) were it should be rather than spout off about it being a bad reflection on anyone. Would you go to South America and blame individuals for speaking Spanish rather than their native languages if they are lucky enough to exist?

Too many people prepared to get angry at others over the language and use it as a football. This is the most unattractive aspect to the Irish language.
Post by: ziggysego on September 06, 2010, 11:30:00 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 06, 2010, 08:48:57 PM
Yesterday I thought the presentation was all the better without the crowd invasion.
The Tipp players were able to recover and celebrate with their team mates and mentors who've they've been on the road with for months and years. The team was then able to do the lap of the stadium and let everyone see the cup.
The Kilkenny players were also given a bit of peace, rather than being caught up in the throng.

My guess is the players, though not wanting to publicly heard dissing supporters, would rather this, than be set on and saddled by a 16 stone human jockey who happens to be most determined to burst onto the field first.

Which scenario would the players prefer?

A:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/4d/1a/78/474764c8480da26ae9c249ce48.jpg)

B:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/7a/12/45/89e8286630c883d8447f888d748b8deaea28f0fe6b.jpg)

Which scenarios indeed?

A:
(http://www.sportingvisions.com/imgdir/249110634/321506.jpg)

B:
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/0003aab8-674.jpg)
Post by: spuds on September 07, 2010, 12:44:34 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on September 06, 2010, 11:11:35 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 06, 2010, 03:56:06 PM

Maybe you should ask why he doesn't understand it and place blame (if you're looking for someone to blame) were it should be rather than spout off about it being a bad reflection on anyone. Would you go to South America and blame individuals for speaking Spanish rather than their native languages if they are lucky enough to exist?

Too many people prepared to get angry at others over the language and use it as a football. This is the most unattractive aspect to the Irish language.
I know why he doesn't understand it, he didn't get taught it in school and hasn't picked up any more since. So we should change the commentry to suit him ? What colonial South Americans understand is another story Zapatista ! Forgive me if I don't go about the country being all understanding to all those that haven't Irish and bend over backwards to facilitate their every whim. Little enough servive has been provided over the years to promote the language so when one of the better traditions is threathened I feel the need to speak for it to be upheld.

I'm not using it as a football, just giving my tuppence worth. Are we to have all programmes on TG4 in English also to appeal to those who do not understand. Oh ye, we pay the license fee too !  :P
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 07, 2010, 10:54:19 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 06, 2010, 06:26:02 PM
Taithníonn sé go mór liom go bhfuil an tráchtaireacht ar na Cluichí Ceannais Mionúir i nGaeilge.
Ceapann a lán daoine gur Gaeilge na Mumhan an t-aon saghas Gaeilge atá sa tír mar sin an las a cloiseann siad an t-am go léir ar RTE.

Aontaím leat Rossfan, má tá Gaeilge Chonnachta uait, éist le Seán Bán Breathnach ar Raidio na Gaeltachta. Ba mhaith liom tuiscint Gaeilge Ultach chomh maith, ach ní dóigh liom go mbeidh mé ábalta.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2010, 02:25:45 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on September 06, 2010, 03:54:50 PM
i far prefer listening to ó'sé than morrissey, canning and co.

You know what, I agree and what I know in Irish you could write on the back of a feg packet.

Post by: Rossfan on September 07, 2010, 07:50:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 07, 2010, 10:54:19 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 06, 2010, 06:26:02 PM

Aontaím leat Rossfan, má tá Gaeilge Chonnachta uait, éist le Seán Bán Breathnach ar Raidio na Gaeltachta. Ba mhaith liom tuiscint Gaeilge Ultach chomh maith, ach ní dóigh liom go mbeidh mé ábalta.

Plaidhc ceart Gaillimheach nach bhfuil focal maith a rá faoi Ros aige. >:(
An bhfuil éinne as do chontae a bhfuil Gaeilge ó dúchas aige/aici a mbeach in ann tráctaracht a dhéanamh?
Tá Gaeilge Mhaigh Eo an cosúl leis an saghas Gaeilge a mhúinter dúinne sa mbunscoil.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 07, 2010, 07:53:50 PM
My old club used to do Irish lessons, I found them deadly handy when I was at primary school.  Gave me a great head start when I went to secondary school and had a year up on everyone else that was starting Irish.  That said, things fell apart five years later when I got a vicious and abusive incompetent teacher who put me off it for a long time. I've forgotten over half of what I learned.

Some people talk about the GAA in terms of "them", "those other people, over there."  If you feel strongly enough about promoting Irish, go and get a bit of teacher training and then run an Irish class at your local club. It's a volunteer association, you're free to volunteer to do your bit to help the language.  I used to "wish" the GAA would produce videos to explain what Gaelic games are, and when they finally did, they did an awful job.  I could have bitched about it, but instead I eventually took matters into my own hands and made my own movies.  I took positive action.

This business of pointing fingers and blaming people for the sorry state of the Irish language isn't going to do much good.  Some of this thread reminds me of when I was in school and teachers would give out to us and tell us we were "a disgrace" because we knew so little about our own country. Well excuse me Mr teacher sir, but how do you expect us to know this stuff if we're not taught? 

Ever go to a football match in the north?  Listen to the sound of the crowd singing the national anthem.  There is no sound. People don't know the words to it. Why? Because they're not taught anywhere. Parents think it's the schools' job to teach that sort of thing. Schools think it's up to the parents. GAA clubs don't think it's in their remit, or if it is they're too busy thinking about winning this year's championship to bother with such things.  Everybody looks at everybody else, waiting for someone else to do the work and then we wonder why it doesn't get done.

So if you want to see something done, take positive action. Don't just bitch about it and complain that somebody else didn't do it for you! Come up with a plan for teaching Irish, even if it means paying a teacher to come to your local club or clubs for a couple of hours a week.  Set some goals, like getting class members qualified to sit the Junior Cert (or GCSE in the north) within a fixed time frame and run a course over a fixed period of months leading up to it.  Run different lessons for specific age groups. Get primary school youngsters learning it. Come up with a fee that you can charge for taking the class, if people pay up front they'll be more likely to finish the course.  Cost it up, write up a plan, and submit it to your club committee or county board and see if you can get a bit of funding for it. Be positive and proactive.

Back on topic.  RTE used to piss me off with their build-up to the match where you'd hear over an hour of speculation from the experts almost right up the last minute and get to see nothing of the pageantry on the field, until Michael Lyster says "And we have to stop you there Cyril because the teams are now on the field."  So the explosive moment when the teams burst onto the field one at a time (which the GAA does better than any other sport including international soccer and American football) was completely overlooked.

The camera work leaves a lot to be desired too.  I seem to remember watching hurling on RTE years ago and you got to see a lot more close-up action. Now it all seems to be long-range stuff, so you can see where everyone is on the field but where the hell is the sliothar? And with the puckouts, they used to show the keeper actually hitting the ball before cutting to the long view, now they cut to the long view just before he hits it. Very annoying.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 07, 2010, 11:32:02 PM
Oh, and that rule about translating names into their Irish equivalents doesn't apply to foreign names that don't translate.

It's still a silly rule though. Pedro Delgado the cyclist was never called Peter Thin in the anglophone media. Your name is what your name is in whatever language your parents used to name you.
Post by: del_carroll on September 09, 2010, 02:45:51 PM
Eamonnca1,
You've summed up exactly what I mean. I've started scraping away at Irish to get back into it, it's a bit of a slog, but it is very possible.

@Hardy: Having the games commented on in Irish is, based on the feedback on the discussion board, wanted by a lot of people, so would you still be against it? I would say Irish is, for various reasons, very much a minority language now, but it is a fundamental part of our heritage and is deserving of its slot on the big day. I think it would be an awful shame to drop it. The fact that it is wanted by a substantial portion of viewers (not necessarily 50%), means that showing it is not just tokenism.

The word Gael gets chucked around a lot on the site, so i suppose I would use it to define someone who takes an interest in supports and practices Irish Culture with their time, effort and money....this would include the language, the games, the music.....so yes it excludes those who don't ;- ). I would find it hard to reconcile the idea that a supporter of Irish culture would begrudge 120 mins of exposure via sports to the language.
Post by: Hardy on September 09, 2010, 03:02:11 PM
Quote from: del_carroll on September 09, 2010, 02:45:51 PM
@Hardy: Having the games commented on in Irish is, based on the feedback on the discussion board, wanted by a lot of people, so would you still be against it?
Where did I say I was against having the games commentated on in Irish?

Eamonnca1: I agree with nearly all you say. I just want to point out that my posts were railing against the hyposcrisy of "official" GAA - i.e, the administrators in HQ, in pretending to fulfil the remit of promoting Irish while actually achieving the opposite and, in the process, inhibiting the promotion of under-age gaelic games. Full marks to any club that takes the initiative in Irish lessons, etc. I'm just pointing out the lack of any incentive or support from HQ for such initiatives and asking can anyone here think of one single thing GAA central administration has done in the last, say 50 years to promote Irish REALLY?
Post by: seafoid on September 10, 2010, 04:13:31 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Gaeltacht_1926.jpg

Very interesting map. Most of Mayo, Galway and Clare, Donegal, Kerry and Waterford would have been Gaeltacht in 1926.

I think it's great to have the minor match as Gaeilge. It's no worse than any other strand of hypocrisy in Ireland. i think say the treatment of travellers or the saving of money for the taxpayer by pumping 25bn into Anglo are worse, TBH.
Gaelgeoiri don't need the approval or the unwilling participation of Bearloiri to keep talking.   
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 11, 2010, 01:06:10 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 09, 2010, 03:02:11 PM
Eamonnca1: I agree with nearly all you say. I just want to point out that my posts were railing against the hyposcrisy of "official" GAA - i.e, the administrators in HQ, in pretending to fulfil the remit of promoting Irish while actually achieving the opposite and, in the process, inhibiting the promotion of under-age gaelic games. Full marks to any club that takes the initiative in Irish lessons, etc. I'm just pointing out the lack of any incentive or support from HQ for such initiatives and asking can anyone here think of one single thing GAA central administration has done in the last, say 50 years to promote Irish REALLY?

Not much apart from the lip-service of having official minutes from Central Council written half in English and half in Irish.

AFAIK, Scór is the official 'cultural' arm of the GAA, but all it seems to do is organise competitions for song, and dance. It doesn't actually deal with anything that might directly involve teaching these things, so it's up to the clubs to make their own arrangements to make sure that this stuff is taught to their competitors.  That said, there is some merit in incentivising people to learn these activities by giving them a competition in which they'll be useful, and Scór taps into the inter-club and inter-county rivalries that the GAA has built up over the years to keep people interested.  For song and dance it seems to work reasonably well.  I dunno how popular Scór is now but when I was a kid I remember it being a huge big deal, every Sunday night it would get huge crowds up north.  Sure what else would you be at on a Sunday night?

The speaking of Irish is something that doesn't generally come in useful at Scór though.  It's been a long time since I went to one but in the bad old days of the endless Question Time round there was one round in which a question would be asked of each team in Irish to be answered in Irish. If there was three teams in it then that would be the three times in the whole night when you'd hear Irish spoken.

Learning a language isn't easy, and teaching a language is a skilled job.  At my old club we had someone that was a decent teacher at first, but later my Godfather took over. He passed away a few years back and he was the nicest man you'd ever meet and he knew his Irish inside out, but bless his heart back in the day he didn't know much about how to teach.  The GAA's volunteer base just doesn't have much in the way of expertise to deliver a specialised service like that, and there's no structure in place that's capable of addressing the issue. 

Maybe it's time to ask if it's time to set up a dedicated GAA wing that can put the systems in place to teach Irish through the network of clubs.  Set aside a budget, and use the money to hire paid Irish teachers who actually have the latest teacher training.  Charge students a nominal fee for attending the classes to keep the drop-out rate low, let them pay for their own books, and run the course over a fixed period and then qualify students to sit actual exams and get real government-endorsed qualifications.  After that you could organise social nights at the club where instead of learning Irish, you'd just use it.  Play board games and other activities where everything is done through the medium of Irish.  For example, translate the Monopoly Board into Irish and teach the kids all the vocabulary they'd need to know to play a complete game of Monopoly in Irish.  Board games would be great because there's a lot of interaction and speaking involved.

Instead of spreading the money thin all over the country from the start, concentrate on a few "centres of excellence" where you think you're likely to get good measurable results and prove the concept first before you roll out a national plan.

Just an idea.