Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Maroon Heaven on November 12, 2009, 04:12:48 PM

Title: Sea The Stars - BBC Sports Personality of the the Year
Post by: Maroon Heaven on November 12, 2009, 04:12:48 PM
Big rumour going about on a few knowledgable betting forums that Sea the Starts may be one of the 10 Athletes up for the Phone vote on the night. This is a very strong credible rumour from what I gather from sources inside BBC.

As a result in last few mins Totesport have Sea the stars at 25-1

Interesting then for RTE's Sports personality of the year where O'Driscoll is 1/10 on or 1.11 on BF. Surely a Lay
Title: Re: Sea The Stars - BBC Sports Personality of the the Year
Post by: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:20:32 PM
Is he the mane contender?
Post by: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:23:58 PM
Quote from: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:20:32 PM

Ya, heard he is going to race to an early lead.
Post by: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:26:21 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:23:58 PM

Personally I think it has neigh chance.
Post by: mountainboii on November 12, 2009, 04:29:42 PM
Quote from: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:26:21 PM

Would stirrup a fair bit of controversy if it did win.
Post by: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:31:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 12, 2009, 04:29:42 PM

Going to have to jockey for a good position in the studio......
Post by: Olaf on November 12, 2009, 04:35:12 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:31:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 12, 2009, 04:29:42 PM

Going to have to jockey for a good position in the studio......

They should have a gallup pole to see if people see this to be a likely outcome.
Post by: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:39:35 PM
Lads, just to back up the original post, a source tells me it is a horseshoe-in.
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2009, 04:39:50 PM
Quit horsing around
Post by: mountainboii on November 12, 2009, 04:41:17 PM
Quote from: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:39:35 PM
Lads, just to back up the original post, a source tells me it is a horseshoe-in.

Might not like being saddled with the favourite's tag.
Post by: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:44:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 12, 2009, 04:41:17 PM

Probably will try to keep a level head without blinkers on.....
Post by: Rudigar on November 12, 2009, 04:50:45 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 12, 2009, 04:44:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 12, 2009, 04:41:17 PM

Probably will try to keep a level head without blinkers on.....

Hope he wins it, he has wanted this award furlong time.
Post by: Caid on November 12, 2009, 04:57:53 PM

Bit of a nightmare alright. 

If David Hay attends with Sea The Stars try to eat him?
Post by: red hander on November 12, 2009, 05:36:51 PM
This is gonna cause a hell of a lot of confusion if Sue Barker is presenting the show ... how are we to tell them apart if Sea The Stars walks on stage to accept its prize
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 12, 2009, 05:38:08 PM
Sea The Stars isn't British so he'd have to be included in the international category! His best hope would be the Irish version:

QuotePunters back Sea The Stars for Irish Sports Personality of the Year

Bookie Paddy Power has been forced to install Sea The Stars into this year's Irish Sports Personality of the Year betting following requests from punters on the champion horse.

Such is the demand for John Oxx's colt the bookie has made the horse second favourite to win the award at 11/4.

Whilst it remains to be seen if competition rules will allow RTÉ to enter the horse for their annual award it would appear that such is the popularity of arguably the greatest horse ever seen that there may be a backlash from its thousands of supporters if they restrict the competition to two legged entrants only.

With Ireland winning their first rugby Grand Slam for 70 years and Leinster the Heineken Cup, the ever popular Brian O'Driscoll is understandably a hot favourite at 1/4 followed by Sea The Stars. And much like his season, the champion horse is a country mile ahead of all the other challengers.

Beyond those two champions, Kilkenny manager Brian Cody is the nearest challenger at 16/1 whilst star of this year's Cheltenham Festival Ruby Walsh is 28/1.

Paddy Power said: 'Sea The Stars has been well requested today since his historic 2000 Guineas, Derby, and Arc treble forcing us to make him a very live contender at 11/4. It's pretty much a two horse race - and it's the first time you can say, for once, that 50% of that old phrase is actually true!'

Horses have fared well in sports awards before with Bob Champion and Aldiniti winning Team of the Year in the BBC's 1981 honours.

RTE Irish Sports Personality of the Year
1/4 Brian O'Driscoll
11/4 Sea The Stars
16/1 Brian Cody
20/1 Olive Loughnane
28/1 Ruby Walsh
33/1 Tommy Walsh
33/1 Katie Taylor
50/1 Robbie Keane
80/1 BAR

Source:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2009/1006/paddypower_isp_seathestars.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2009/1006/paddypower_isp_seathestars.html)

He was taken out of the betting a few days after this story was released and PP had put Kinane and Oxx into the betting instead of him. RTÉ must have put their foot down  >:(
Post by: stew on November 12, 2009, 05:48:58 PM
Its a pity he was pulled from consideration, he really had the bit between the teeth for this one.
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 12, 2009, 06:30:34 PM
One horse race if you ask me
Post by: Skiddybadoo on November 12, 2009, 07:58:36 PM
I knew this had to be somone foaling around. 
Post by: Maroon Heaven on November 12, 2009, 08:28:12 PM
Looks like there could be a few obstacles in the way alright. Its was never going to be an easy race.

I for one can't wait for its victory speech if Sea the Stars win.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2009, 08:30:00 PM
wont be the first horse to win it, so i don't think it's a big deal.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2009, 08:33:51 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2009, 08:30:00 PM
That's no way to talk about Princess Anne.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2009, 08:34:47 PM
 ;D ;D
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 12, 2009, 08:41:13 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 12, 2009, 05:36:51 PM
This is gonna cause a hell of a lot of confusion if Sue Barker is presenting the show ... how are we to tell them apart if Sea The Stars walks on stage to accept its prize

You kidding? I've rode a few horses in my time but I'd swap them all for a jump with Sue. I think she is attractive then again I'm in her age range  :-\ 
Post by: red hander on November 12, 2009, 11:38:41 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 12, 2009, 08:41:13 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 12, 2009, 05:36:51 PM

You kidding? I've rode a few horses in my time but I'd swap them all for a jump with Sue. I think she is attractive then again I'm in her age range  :-\

Jaysus, and I thought foxes had good eyesight  :P
Post by: The Worker on November 29, 2010, 10:26:32 PM
2010 contenders:

Mark Cavendish
Tom Daley
Jessica Ennis
David Haye
AP McCoy
Graeme McDowell
Graeme Swann
Phil Taylor
Lee Westwood
Amy Williams
Post by: BennyHarp on November 29, 2010, 10:33:06 PM
Has to be McCoy this year!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 29, 2010, 10:43:21 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 29, 2010, 10:33:06 PM

McCoy and McDowell and Irish 1-2 with Swann maybe 3rd.
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2010, 10:49:46 PM

The usual grand national sentiment.
Post by: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 10:52:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 10:49:46 PM

What?
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:02:29 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 10:52:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 10:49:46 PM

What?

Not a pundit?
Post by: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:12:52 PM
Usual Grand National sentiment?Well for 1 thing i can't remember any other Grand national winning jockey winning Bbc sports personality award.
Even if it was the Grand National that has brought him to the attention of the general public he still thoroughly deseves it! For the 15th year running he has been at the top of his game,he's won 6 grade 1s this year and goes out day in day out,wind rain hail or snow dragging absolute pigs of horses home in front that noone else could possibly win with!
I'm very biased because i think the man is an absolute legend but i think he is the man that should win!
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:18:02 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:12:52 PM
Usual Grand National sentiment?Well for 1 thing i can't remember any other Grand national winning jockey winning Bbc sports personality award.
Even if it was the Grand National that has brought him to the attention of the general public he still thoroughly deseves it! For the 15th year running he has been at the top of his game,he's won 6 grade 1s this year and goes out day in day out,wind rain hail or snow dragging absolute pigs of horses home in front that noone else could possibly win with!
I'm very biased because i think the man is an absolute legend but i think he is the man that should win!

I wasn't even trying to win you up.

Did you notice  a lot of puns on the thread?
Post by: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:21:58 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:18:02 PM

I'll close the door on my way out! ;D
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:30:10 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:21:58 PM

stable
I'll close the ⋏ door on my way out! ;D

Fixed that.
Post by: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:43:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:30:10 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:21:58 PM

stable
I'll close the ⋏ door on my way out! ;D

Fixed that.

Nice  :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 30, 2010, 12:17:00 AM
I don't see why the British racing media are making such a fuss about how important it is for the sport that McCoy wins this award.

No one really gives a sh1t about it and I'm sure AP himself isn't bothered. The guy is a legend and deserves recognition but I wouldn't agree that he's the best jockey we've ever seen. The most driven and determined without doubt but the likes of Dunwoody, Norman Williamson, Carberry, Ruby and Adrian Maguire were/are more naturally talented riders as far as I'm concerned.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 30, 2010, 06:50:30 AM
It's not called the BBC's most naturally talented sportsman award. AP sums up what a great sports personality is, dedication, skill, unrivalled desire to win and unbelievable longevity and determination to remain at the top of his game. I agree, McCoy probably doesn't care if he wins the award but that still doesn't mean he doesn't deserve it. A feckin show jumper won a few years ago ffs and the list this year is hardly full of stand out perfomers!
Post by: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM
I don't normally bet on stuff like this but I've had a few bob on him on Betfair at 1.91. Looking at the list and the fact that the media are solidly behind him, there can only be one winner. You subjects of her majesty/hostages in occupied territory (delete according to your self image) can help by voting in your dozens.
Post by: bcarrier on November 30, 2010, 11:01:36 AM
I have backed Phil Taylor. I dont think he has been on the list before and I suspect that darts fans are more likely to unite behind him than racegoers behind AP.  AP's achievements are remarkable but most racegoers/supporters have their own favourite jockeys and the whole campaign is largely a racing-for-change invention. The little spat with Lydia/ Racing UK wont have helped either.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 30, 2010, 12:27:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM
I don't normally bet on stuff like this but I've had a few bob on him on Betfair at 1.91. Looking at the list and the fact that the media are solidly behind him, there can only be one winner. You subjects of her majesty/hostages in occupied territory (delete according to your self image) can help by voting in your dozens.

Any price for Anthony Knott Hardy?

Now there's a personality.
Post by: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 12:28:52 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 30, 2010, 12:27:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM

Any price for Anthony Knott Hardy?

Now there's a personality.

Definitely Knott!
Post by: deiseach on November 30, 2010, 02:47:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2009, 08:33:51 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2009, 08:30:00 PM
That's no way to talk about Princess Anne.

An oldie but a goodie - only half of which applies to Princess Anne
Post by: screenexile on November 29, 2011, 11:36:51 AM
Anyone seen the new list for Sports Personality 2011?? It's a bit pishy I think!! I will give my own opinion on the candidates:

Mark Cavendish: Won the green jersey on Tour de France . . . is it really that big a deal? He should be on the list but I don't think he should win.

Mo Farah: Won the World Championship. Fair play he should be there.

Darren Clarke: Won the British Open in a freak occurence. No way should he be there!

Alistair Cook: He had a good Ashes against a shit Aussie team. Was found out against India in the ODI's, shouldn't be there.

Luke Donald: Had an amazing year. World No. 1 and top of both the USPGA and the European PGA money lists. He hasn't won a major though but he's in with a good shout to win it.

Dai Greene: Won the World Championship. He should be there.

Amir Khan: Is somebody having a laugh? He owes McCloskey a rematch before he can regain any credibility!

Rory McIlroy: Sensational in the US Open and the youngest to win for a long time. Currently World no. 2. Hard to call who deserves it more between him and Donald.

Andy Murray: Again is somebody having a laugh? They keep talking about him as one of the 'fab four'. He is not!! There is the 'fab three' and then Andy Murray comes a long way behind that. He should not be on this list.

Andrew Strauss: Won the Ashes against the poorest Aussie side in memory. Not having that!

I think it's a toss up between Donald and McIlroy and personally I think I would give it to Donald for that consistency throughout the year where McIlroy has been just a bit too erratic.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 29, 2011, 11:49:35 AM
Donald IMO should not get it.  I reckon it will be either McIlroy or Farah, and to be honest McIlroy probably deserves it due to the nature of the victory he had especially after the meltdown two months earlier which overshadowed the fact that he had lit up Augusta for the previous 3 rounds.  Donald, whilst being consistent, has not done it when it matters.   
Post by: thejuice on November 29, 2011, 12:10:12 PM
Stephen Cluxton for RTE Sports award surely.
Post by: AQMP on November 29, 2011, 01:01:20 PM
Cavendish also won the World Champs Road Race.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 29, 2011, 01:20:36 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 29, 2011, 11:49:35 AM
Donald IMO should not get it.  I reckon it will be either McIlroy or Farah, and to be honest McIlroy probably deserves it due to the nature of the victory he had especially after the meltdown two months earlier which overshadowed the fact that he had lit up Augusta for the previous 3 rounds.  Donald, whilst being consistent, has not done it when it matters.   

a McIlroy victory would give Norn Iron back to back victories. Darren Clarke runner up would give Norn Iron back to back runners up. Cant see the english public voting for it all the same !
Post by: Don Johnson on November 29, 2011, 03:26:33 PM
Stan James' view:

Cavendish, Mark    11/10
Clarke, Darren    15/8
McIlroy, Rory    8/1
Farah, Mo    8/1
Donald, Luke    16/1
Green, Dai    33/1
Cook, Alistair    50/1
Strauss, Andrew    66/1
Murray, Andy    100/1
Khan, Amir    100/1

Frankel had a better year than most of these, personality was porbably better than some on the list too.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 05:41:27 PM
I think Cav deserves it, fair enough the world championship was a team event and they worked hard to get it to a sprint finish but the Green jersey is savage, first Brit to win it, it's a huge achievement, I think both coupled means he deserves it
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2011, 05:42:36 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 05:41:27 PM
I think Cav deserves it, fair enough the world championship was a team event and they worked hard to get it to a sprint finish but the Green jersey is savage, first Brit to win it, it's a huge achievement, I think both coupled means he deserves it

Jebus they would faint in orgasm at the likes of Roche and Kelly then.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 06:09:05 PM
At least Cav is clean!
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2011, 06:19:57 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 06:09:05 PM
At least Cav is clean!

Yes, yes he is.

All cyclists are.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2011, 06:30:03 PM
Donald would argue that "it matters" when you play in every tournament and not just the Majors. Is it more of an achievement for Man City or United for example to win the Premier League over the course of several months than it is to win a one-off match? Of course it is!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 06:39:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2011, 06:19:57 PM
At least Cav is clean!

Yes, yes he is.

All cyclists are.

Muppet I thought you were above wind-up comments like that.

In fairness to Cav there's never been any questions about whether he's clean or not
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2011, 08:23:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 06:39:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2011, 06:19:57 PM
At least Cav is clean!

Yes, yes he is.

All cyclists are.

Muppet I thought you were above wind-up comments like that.

In fairness to Cav there's never been any questions about whether he's clean or not

You made the comment as a derogatory remark regarding Kelly and Roche.

If unproven allegations are an argument then cycling as a whole is fair game. Which is probably fair enough.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2011, 08:56:04 PM
Well the evidence against Roche is in black and white in a rough ride.

You'd hope Kelly is the freak people say he was, a pure animal but if he wasn't Irish we'd be definitely be questioning him. I hope he wasn't, he was a real hero of mine
Post by: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 08:52:57 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2011, 06:30:03 PM
Donald would argue that "it matters" when you play in every tournament and not just the Majors. Is it more of an achievement for Man City or United for example to win the Premier League over the course of several months than it is to win a one-off match? Of course it is!

You cannot compare the Premier League and Golf.  Tournaments are not worthless but when it comes down to it nobody talks about the run of the mill tounraments a player has won when analysing their achievements really - in golf and tennis you are judged on how well you do at the big ones.  Donald is a number one presently, but he will be still a solid tour player with no majors this time in 5 years.  Its a bit like the situation in womens tennis where you have had Safina and Wozniaki at number 1 in the rankings but nobody seriously considers them to be the best in the game.

As for Cavendish, pretty crazy to even consider giving the award to him considering he finished something like 130th in the race.   
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 08:59:48 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 08:52:57 AM

You cannot compare the Premier League and Golf.  Tournaments are not worthless but when it comes down to it nobody talks about the run of the mill tounraments a player has won when analysing their achievements really - in golf and tennis you are judged on how well you do at the big ones.  Donald is a number one presently, but he will be still a solid tour player with no majors this time in 5 years.  Its a bit like the situation in womens tennis where you have had Safina and Wozniaki at number 1 in the rankings but nobody seriously considers them to be the best in the game.

As for Cavendish, pretty crazy to even consider giving the award to him considering he finished something like 130th in the race.  

Well that's a stupid comment for a start!

As for Donald being a 'solid tour player' well you're also having a laugh there. He is a fantastic golfer and at the age of 33 has plenty of time to get his major and I fully expect him to.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 09:14:29 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 08:59:48 AM

As for Donald being a 'solid tour player' well you're also having a laugh there. He is a fantastic golfer and at the age of 33 has plenty of time to get his major and I fully expect him to.

He has plenty of time to get one, doesn't mean he will.  At present he is a solid tour player who is very consistent. 

Regarding Cavendish, how is that a stupid comment.  He was in a race and he finished well down the final standings.  Its a bit like awarding a man who finished 25th in a marathon race some kind of prize because he happened to bust his balls and run the 7th mile of the race quicker than anyone else.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 30, 2011, 12:06:42 PM
Not too sure any of the golfers will get it, possibly Donald, I reckon the vote will be split between McIlroy and Clarke.
Post by: AQMP on November 30, 2011, 01:03:59 PM

Cavendish is the current World Road Race Champion.
Post by: AQMP on November 30, 2011, 01:09:03 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 09:14:29 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 08:59:48 AM

He has plenty of time to get one, doesn't mean he will.  At present he is a solid tour player who is very consistent. 

Regarding Cavendish, how is that a stupid comment.  He was in a race and he finished well down the final standings.  Its a bit like awarding a man who finished 25th in a marathon race some kind of prize because he happened to bust his balls and run the 7th mile of the race quicker than anyone else.

It's more like recognising the achievement of Usain Bolt if he ran a marathon after having won the 100m
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 02:37:57 PM
That's not a fair comparison at all, if you said he had to race the 100m then continue straight into the marathon and finish to get his 100m medal it would be more comparable.

Sprinters are in their own separate comp in the TdF, while they race the whole thing on mountain days the groupette is usually made up of a group of sprinters who are just happy to make the time limit and then push on the flat routes, just doing that is tough enough but they spend a couple of extra hours in the saddle and then are expected to sprint the following day.
To comment on his general classification is to miss the point of the green jersey altogether, it's a completely different comp.
The bigger teams, such as sky next year, will have two leaders, one on GC, wiggins for sky, who the team will help in the mountain stages, and the other a sprinter, Cav, who will have lead out men for the sprints. GCs are generally lighter, wiry riders, sprinters all about the power.
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 02:47:38 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 02:37:57 PM
That's not a fair comparison at all, if you said he had to race the 100m then continue straight into the marathon and finish to get his 100m medal it would be more comparable.

Sprinters are in their own separate comp in the TdF, while they race the whole thing on mountain days the groupette is usually made up of a group of sprinters who are just happy to make the time limit and then push on the flat routes, just doing that is tough enough but they spend a couple of extra hours in the saddle and then are expected to sprint the following day.
To comment on his general classification is to miss the point of the green jersey altogether, it's a completely different comp.
The bigger teams, such as sky next year, will have two leaders, one on GC, wiggins for sky, who the team will help in the mountain stages, and the other a sprinter, Cav, who will have lead out men for the sprints. GCs are generally lighter, wiry riders, sprinters all about the power.

My point exactly... nrico you are talking about Cavendish finishing 130th when you clearly do not understand the ins and outs of cycling in which case you should keep quiet.

Your comment about Donald being a solid tour player doesn't hold up either. He's no.1 in the world and top of the Money list in Europe and America... a feat which has never been achieved. A solid tour player for me would be a Justin Rose or a Dustin Johnson. Donald is a level above these guys at present and has had a phenomenal year!
Post by: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 03:46:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 02:47:38 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 02:37:57 PM

My point exactly... nrico you are talking about Cavendish finishing 130th when you clearly do not understand the ins and outs of cycling in which case you should keep quiet.

Your comment about Donald being a solid tour player doesn't hold up either. He's no.1 in the world and top of the Money list in Europe and America... a feat which has never been achieved. A solid tour player for me would be a Justin Rose or a Dustin Johnson. Donald is a level above these guys at present and has had a phenomenal year!

I have a fair understanding of cycling but as I said he finished 130th in the Tour De France. 

Donald has done well to top the money lists, but again that is not the criteria you ever hear being thrown about when people are analysing golfs big winners.  Did Montgomery not win the European money list for a good number of years in a row and look at how his career is regarded?  My point is that there should be no contest when it comes to this years SPOTY with regards to Donald and McIlroy - one has had a very good year and been very consistent while the other has set the golfing world on fire and won a major at 22 while coming close on another. 
Post by: deiseach on November 30, 2011, 03:49:46 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 30, 2011, 03:46:23 PM
My point is that there should be no contest when it comes to this years SPOTY with regards to Donald and McIlroy - one has had a very good year and been very consistent while the other has set the golfing world on fire and won a major at 22 while coming close on another.

Now there's a glass-half-full way of looking at what happened at Augusta
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 04:21:17 PM
Nrico if you did understand cycling you'd realise that his coming 130th in the tour means nothing, basically 130th in a competition he wasn't entered in (well other than the obvious fact he has to enter to win the green jersey)
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2011, 04:29:55 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 04:21:17 PM
Nrico if you did understand cycling you'd realise that his coming 130th in the tour means nothing, basically 130th in a competition he wasn't entered in (well other than the obvious fact he has to enter to win the green jersey)

When Sean Kelly won his 4 Green Jerseys he finished 15th, 7th, 4th & 9th on General Classification.

130th me arse.
Post by: deiseach on November 30, 2011, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2011, 04:29:55 PM

When Sean Kelly won his 4 Green Jerseys he finished 15th, 7th, 4th & 9th on General Classification.

130th me arse.

How far up GC would Cavendish have to finish to not be sneered at in this fashion? The first Brit to win the green jersey. The first Brit to win the rainbow jersey who wasn't on enough drugs to kill a horse (or a man). A worthy winner of SPotY
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 05:25:56 PM

130th me arse.

14th loser, 6th, 3rd & 8th loser in that case
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2011, 05:28:25 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 30, 2011, 05:25:56 PM

130th me arse.

14th loser, 6th, 3rd & 8th loser in that case

So, in conclusion, Sean Kelly was a loser while Cav is a worthy winner?
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 30, 2011, 06:44:15 PM
They're all losers.
You can drive that circuit in less than 30 hours.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2011, 09:18:44 PM
Comparing the green jersey to the yellow jersey is an apples and oranges job.  To win the yellow jersey these days you need to be a decent climber who can build up a big enough lead to hold off any challenges in the time trlals, or else a good time trialist who can hang with the big hitters in the mountains.  To win the green jersey you have to be on top of your game on every single flat stage and there's no such thing as cruising across the line in a group surrounded by your teammates, you have to have the leadout train set up and you and your boys have to be able to slug it out in the sprints.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 21, 2022, 09:03:33 PM
G, how bad has Sports personality of the year got, 6 nominees, half are ladies for our equal gender equality. Half I don't know, must been one of the worst years ever.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 21, 2022, 09:07:28 PM
Agreed. Said same earlier. Mustve been a piss poor year for UK sport
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 10:44:54 PM
Rory mcilroy world number one not even mentioned in top ten?
Post by: Saffrongael on December 21, 2022, 10:45:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 10:44:54 PM

Must be something to do with the zero majors
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 10:52:13 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 21, 2022, 10:45:39 PM

He has four, but yeah I see your point
Post by: Saffrongael on December 21, 2022, 10:56:56 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 10:52:13 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 21, 2022, 10:45:39 PM

He has four, but yeah I see your point

So you want him to win 2022 SPOTY for Majors he won 10 years ago ?   :-\
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 11:07:56 PM
No, I don't think I said that but carry on With your mental gymnastics
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2022, 02:03:30 AM
Not a great year for UK sport
Post by: Armagh18 on December 22, 2022, 07:35:05 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 11:07:56 PM
What relevance have they to this year lol
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 22, 2022, 07:48:29 AM
In fairness Rory McIlroy has had a very good year. If Andy Murray the dour bstard had a similar yr in tennis he would walk it. Likewise Lewis Hamilton has won a couple for simply having the fastest car. The spoty has run its course and has lost its relevance some 30 yrs ago.
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 08:56:33 AM
An absolute load of woke shite.
Post by: Taylor on December 22, 2022, 08:58:26 AM
I remember it used to be a staple of a Sunday night not long before Xmas.

Now it is all about including certain types of people and ignoring the actual sporting achievements for an individual.

It has run its course
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2022, 08:59:56 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 22, 2022, 07:35:05 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 21, 2022, 11:07:56 PM
What relevance have they to this year lol

Eh? Relevance?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 22, 2022, 09:01:49 AM
No matter what people think of him here in golf you get your main PR from winning majors. I like him but he's not enough in the public eye this year without the majors to be in the mix here.
Post by: screenexile on December 22, 2022, 09:08:56 AM
Probably because he's Irish!
Post by: Armagh18 on December 22, 2022, 09:30:06 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 22, 2022, 09:08:56 AM
was just gonna post that.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 22, 2022, 09:48:46 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 22, 2022, 09:01:49 AM
No matter what people think of him here in golf you get your main PR from winning majors. I like him but he's not enough in the public eye this year without the majors to be in the mix here.

He won 2 majors in 2014 and still didn't win. Golf gets fairly screwed by this nonsense. He came second that year losing out to Hamilton, 2nd an accolade shared by such world greats as Jordan Henderson, Jenson button and Leigh halfpenny :o. If it's an Olympic year any gold medalist will get it, noone else gets a look in. Raducanu won it too for 1 tournament and has pretty much done nothing before or after. Time to bin it. The days of excitement watching des lynam and all the sports stars actually in the studio are long gone.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 22, 2022, 09:55:33 AM
Just looking at past winners. I forgot Andy Murray has actually won it 3 times ffs
Post by: imtommygunn on December 22, 2022, 10:11:22 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 22, 2022, 09:48:46 AM

He won 2 majors in 2014 and still didn't win. Golf gets fairly screwed by this nonsense. He came second that year losing out to Hamilton, 2nd an accolade shared by such world greats as Jordan Henderson, Jenson button and Leigh halfpenny :o. If it's an Olympic year any gold medalist will get it, noone else gets a look in. Raducanu won it too for 1 tournament and has pretty much done nothing before or after. Time to bin it. The days of excitement watching des lynam and all the sports stars actually in the studio are long gone.

We're too small over here and not considered as much either tbh. If it was some of the English golfers they'd be more likely to be in it.
Post by: Taylor on December 22, 2022, 10:19:07 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 22, 2022, 10:11:22 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 22, 2022, 09:48:46 AM

We're too small over here and not considered as much either tbh. If it was some of the English golfers they'd be more likely to be in it.

Matt Fitzpatrick would disagree
Post by: trailer on December 22, 2022, 10:39:25 AM
Whenever Fergie singlehandedly won it for Ryan Giggs the gig (pardon the pun) was up. Giggs has no personality for a start. Pile of woke shite. Disabled - tick, Women - tick, Black or Brown people - tick.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2022, 10:48:26 AM

McGuigan won in 85 and he's Irish, my point is being world number one doesn't mean much in golf going by Rory not even getting into the top ten sports persons for his years achievements all be it not winning a major.

By the same token I wasn't saying he deserved it either I just put his name up, other people get triggered by it so all good  ;D
Post by: Armagh18 on December 22, 2022, 11:13:04 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2022, 10:48:26 AM

McGuigan won in 85 and he's Irish, my point is being world number one doesn't mean much in golf going by Rory not even getting into the top ten sports persons for his years achievements all be it not winning a major.

By the same token I wasn't saying he deserved it either I just put his name up, other people get triggered by it so all good  ;D
Your work here is done ;)