I see 'HARTE-PRESENCE IS THE ONLY THING'...been well trumphed in Irish News today with ads on two different pages for it.
Apparently.."In his candid and forthright autobiography MH pulls no punches, uncovering the truth behind some of the the contraversies that have dogged his career and revealing for the first time the stories behind the tensions within the Tyrone camp in 2004."
Has anyone read it? The Fox is getting a bit tight with the ££s and would want to hear what it is like first. I've a feeling 'some' may be the operative word regarding the contraversies. It couldn't be in his interest to reveal all. As for 2004, is that about his son Mark playing or what? I remember he played in replacement for Brian McGuigan when Tyrone lost quarter final to Mayo. Although he did come on in 2005 Ulster final against Armagh and it was his last outing for the county. I would have put 2004 as imposible to focus on winning Sam after the sad death of Cormac in March however.
I think the plan might have been to be siting beside Brian Cody on Late Late Show last night as two winning All Ireland managers :'(
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 10, 2009, 03:00:20 PM
I see 'HARTE-PRESENCE IS THE ONLY THING'...been well trumphed in Irish News today with ads on two different pages for it.
Apparently.."In his candid and forthright autobiography MH pulls no punches, uncovering the truth behind some of the the contraversies that have dogged his career and revealing for the first time the stories behind the tensions within the Tyrone camp in 2004."
Has anyone read it? The Fox is getting a bit tight with the ££s and would want to hear what it is like first. I've a feeling 'some' may be the operative word regarding the contraversies. It couldn't be in his interest to reveal all. As for 2004, is that about his son Mark playing or what? I remember he played in replacement for Brian McGuigan when Tyrone lost quarter final to Mayo. Although he did come on in 2005 Ulster final against Armagh and it was his last outing for the county. I would have put 2004 as imposible to focus on winning Sam after the sad death of Cormac in March however.
I think the plan might have been to be siting beside Brian Cody on Late Late Show last night as two winning All Ireland managers :'(
The word on the street, at the time, was that certain players weren't too impressed after Harte's 'diary' was released in 2003 - what's said in the changing room stays in the changing room - I wonder what the reaction will be to this one?
Was there not a disagreement between Harte and Paddy Tally in 2004 as well. Maybe this will feature alot.
In 2004 v Mayo Brian McGuigan was a late withdrawl for the game. Think it was Ciaran Gourley who replaced him. Mark Harte was there on merit that year. Had great games v Derry in Ulster then v Down and Laois in the qualifers.
I will await tomorrows Sunday Times to see if there is anything of interest . I hope he will give the readers a good insight into what makes him and Tyrone tick although I would expect him not to be so forthright in voicing his true feelings as he is still involved
Apparently the queen is upset that she doesn't get a mention in it after all she's done to bring Sam to Tyrone.
Quote from: thejuice on October 10, 2009, 05:07:18 PM
Apparently the queen is upset that she doesn't get a mention in it after all she's done to bring Sam to Tyrone.
Dont think there'll be a big pile revealed. He wouldn't want to shit on his own doorstep now , would he
His last book was poor. There is no doubt he has a fascinating an insightful story to tell but he is not the sort of character to tell it while he is still in the game. He won't offer any forthright opinions that might harm his relationship with his players or that may be used as motivation by other teams.
Sizeable extracts in The Times today. Fascinating for Tyronnies, maybe not for outsiders. He intimates that Cavanagh didn't start v Cork for a variety of personal reasons.
Have the book ordered from Amazon so going to avoid the newspaper items over the next day os so.
Will be bloody difficult !!!!!
Quote from: Gaffer on October 11, 2009, 10:49:25 AM
Have the book ordered from Amazon so going to avoid the newspaper items over the next day os so.
Me too. Can someone delete this thread please to stop me reading it.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on October 11, 2009, 11:01:13 AM
The cross-dressing bit was a real eye-opener.
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2009, 11:27:45 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on October 11, 2009, 11:01:13 AM
The cross-dressing bit was a real eye-opener.
Get away!! They would never do that! Wear Armagh shirts?
Might go and get it today.
Was thinking of going today to see if could get it but is it in shops yet cos on amazon it seemed to indicate it wasnt being released until 13th
Was in the local bookshop there and yea its not out to the 13th.
Quote from: long sleves on October 11, 2009, 01:01:56 PM
Read the "exciting" extracts in today's Sunday Times and you'll not be ruuning out to buy this bland dross!
Quote from: Sandy Hill on October 11, 2009, 06:00:20 PM
Read the "exciting" extracts in today's Sunday Times and you'll not be ruuning out to buy this bland dross!
Months ago I said I would buy it when it came out, after reading the extracts I will save the money for something worthwhile
Can anyone post them?
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 06:02:01 PM
Months ago I said I would buy it when it came out, after reading the extracts I will save the money for something worthwhile
Whats wrong with them?
Boring?
pints, it's worse than watching paint dry
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 08:06:18 PM
I expected it to be but was pleasantly surprised that it dealt with the 03 semi-final, the 05 final and build up as well as the Cork game this month. Mickey's not a tabloid slabber - he'll always be steady and measured but I thought the tasters today were promising.
Do you watch paint dry, ardmhachaabu?
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2009, 08:11:31 PM
I expected it to be but was pleasantly surprised that it dealt with the 03 semi-final, the 05 final and build up as well as the Cork game this month. Mickey's not a tabloid slabber - he'll always be steady and measured but I thought the tasters today were promising.
I can see why a Tyronie would enjoy it, I suppose he is playing to his own audience in it very much...
Gaffer, are you so insecure that you have to reply to every perceived slight on Harte or Tyrone in general?
I gave my opinion on Harte's book, which I am allowed to do as this is a forum for sharing ideas thoughts etc
If you read the excerpts and have a different opinion, I might like to hear it rather than your stupid comments :)
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 08:38:01 PM
Gaffer, are you so insecure that you have to reply to every perceived slight on Harte or Tyrone in general?
I gave my opinion on Harte's book, which I am allowed to do as this is a forum for sharing ideas thoughts etc
If you read the excerpts and have a different opinion, I might like to hear it rather than your stupid comments :)
You came on to have a dig at Harte like
some of your fellow county men . Watching paint dry is pretty stupid in my view.
Quote from: Gaffer on October 11, 2009, 08:46:10 PM
You came on to have a dig at Harte like some of your fellow county men . Watching paint dry is pretty stupid in my view.
gaffer, I know you and others may not like it but I am entitled to state my opinions just as much as you and any Tyronie are. I already said I had intended to buy the book when it came out but won't now because the excerpts I read have been as boring as watching paint dry. I have also acknowledged that it may be only aimed at Tyronies, hence my boredom at reading the excerpts.
Now, have you anything to add to that or take away from it?
If not, don't waste my time by replying again, thanks.
Tyronies are very funny
Quote from: Gaffer on October 11, 2009, 09:13:10 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 08:56:58 PM
You came on to have a dig at Harte like some of your fellow county men . Watching paint dry is pretty stupid in my view.
gaffer, I know you and others may not like it but I am entitled to state my opinions just as much as you and any Tyronie are. I already said I had intended to buy the book when it came out but won't now because the excerpts I read have been as boring as watching paint dry. I have also acknowledged that it may be only aimed at Tyronies, hence my boredom at reading the excerpts.
Yup, something to add. Get over 03 and 05.
yes, you are another stupid Tyronie, or Tymoanie, I should say
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 09:15:08 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on October 11, 2009, 09:13:10 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 11, 2009, 08:56:58 PM
Yup, something to add. Get over 03 and 05.
yes, you are another stupid Tyronie, or Tymoanie, I should say
Go easy on us Tyrone folk, Ardmhachaabu. We re not that bad !!! :( :( :(
Read it myself but in fairness lads its not as bad as the shit in the Irish News every Friday....he should have got Brolly to ghost write it...now that would be best seller :D
If the book is as boring and uninformative as this thread ... God help us.
Imagine how boring it might otherwise have been had we only won one, measly, pathetic SAM! ::) :P
Good extracts in today's Irish News. Great line from Dooher as well from half time in the 2003 final.
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 12, 2009, 09:47:56 AM
Good extracts in today's Irish News.
Indeed, surprisingly good.
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 12, 2009, 09:47:56 AM
Great line from Dooher as well from half time in the 2003 final.
QuoteWe're not f**king knocking on heaven's door, we're diving under it.
Can anyone post the article from todays Irish News?
That wasn't the line I read?
Up there with what he said to Logie when he interviewed him at Aughnacloy last year.
Looking forward...
Harte: Presence is the only thing
FOR me, the show will continue. I have one more year left with Tyrone and if it feels right I don't feel any need to step back. The only title I never won at home with Errigal Ciaran was an All-Ireland club title. The ambition nags at me sometimes, but not these days. Sometimes I think about the system of play and the ethos we have created among our players and wonder if it might work just as well somewhere else.
Promoting a set of core values among my players was always central to creating a team, but it takes time and the ability to absorb victory and defeat in the same way. We have also been blessed in Tyrone with a marvellous generation of talent, but I still believe the basic principles of team-building – trust, loyalty, good practice, communication can deliver results anywhere.
But I also know that if I left Tyrone now, I'd only try and fill the void with something else. Why leave this situation, when you're operating with the best?
Experience tells me I have known far worse than this. I think of 1997 so much. Sometimes I wonder if anything changed me as much as that year. Nothing influenced my sporting life like it, for sure. If we had won that All-Ireland minor final, where would I be now? I would have retired from management, no question. Would I have ever managed the Tyrone seniors? Would the same players have come through? Would the blend have been right for 2003?
Would I have followed the same journey and learned the lessons I have? Would my life have been illuminated by Wooden, Jackson, Zalucki, De Mello? By Owen Mulligan's charm and good humour? By Cormac McAnallen's rare humility and relentless ambition? By Peter Canavan and Stevie O'Neill's genius? By Gavin Devlin's personality? By Kevin Hughes's hats? By Tony Donnelly's friendship and wisdom, and the dedication of so many players and people in the background through the years? By the joy and excitement our adventures inspired for Marian and the children?
After losing Paul McGirr and seeing the All-Ireland slip away in 1997, I never thought any good could come from that. Instead, that year created a whole new life for us all. Defeat never meant the end to me again. It is a fresh beginning.
We are in a new place now, but still driven by the same convictions. We will never surrender.
As you think, so you shall be.
Together, we move on.
The day Tyrone kicked down the door to heaven
FOR all the hype that accompanied this final, we knew that winning would come down to simple things. No rabbits were going to be pulled from a hat.
We knew Armagh. We knew what we had to deal with. We were going into the game with our eyes open.
We had prepared as well as we possibly could. Sometimes people look at me on the biggest days in Croke Park and wonder why I seem so detached. It's a sign of contentment, I suppose. I know we can't do any more. I also know that any sign of panic from me if things stray off course transmits the wrong message to the players.
Inside, though, I rarely find my emotions churning over. That day in 2003, none of us felt even a tingle of nerves. We didn't even see defeat as a threat. There was no fear. No worry that we might choke. Michaela had written it all down in 1997. The mix in that team was special. We were blessed to have it for that day...
By half-time we were 0-8 to 0-4 ahead. Time to give Peter a break.
I told the players to forget the score. It's nil-all. Start again.
Then, Peter ratcheted up the intensity before the players headed back out.
"We've been knocking on heaven's door for 35 minutes, boys, and she's opening. Now keep knocking, and inside will be heaven.''
"We'll not be f******' knocking,'' replied Brian Dooher. "Start kicking it, boys! We'll go through her!''
The second half turned into a pitched battle. Too many fouls.
No room. We squandered goal chances all day that would have made life much easier for us. We were ahead by the end and hanging on, but the boys remembered our focus on the last 10 minutes. We weren't fading. We were rising to the occasion...
As the final few moments drew in, we were ahead by three points. One last chance for Armagh. Cormac and Sean Cavanagh go for the one ball. It breaks off them. Armagh get it to Steven McDonnell in front of goal. The world pauses for a second.
In that moment between victory and defeat, someone needs to come forward and decide it. McDonnell shoots. From nowhere, Conor Gormley dives on his foot, deflecting the ball away. It was miraculous. It said everything about our mindset that day: there was no such thing as a lost cause.
Soon after, we finally heard the whistle. The noise engulfed everything, but in that precious moment, I had something else on my mind. Michaela. We had made an agreement that if we won, I had to see her first. Brian Carthy came looking for a radio interview. I didn't want to talk to anybody. I didn't even enjoy the moment till I found her.
I finally saw Michaela, battling to get through the security cordon. It was a special moment. We had talked about it so much, anticipated what this moment would be like. A wave of satisfaction was breaking over me. She was near delirious. Matthew was there too, with that bright, beaming grin. We gathered in a spot near the tunnel in front of the Hogan Stand and watched Peter collect the Cup. This felt right to me. This was how I wanted to cherish the greatest moment in my sporting life.
The whole family had been an integral part of everything from the very beginning in 1991. It had become their way of life as much as mine. They were part of what this entire group was about. It was so special...
Suffering the slings and arrows of adversity
Mickey Harte is Ulster's most successful football manager with All-Ireland triumphs at every level of the game. In his new autobiography, 'Harte: Presence is the only thing', he reveals the stories behind those successes and how Tyrone have responded to the jubilation of victory and the devastating tragedies that have come their way. Today, The Irish News carries edited extracts of the book which give a unique insight into how Harte inspires his team and deals with the tough decisions his role brings, as well as looking at the challenges the future will bring ...
By 2008, Mickey Harte and his close-knit panel of players had experienced that many highs and lows that they weren't going to let a first round Ulster Championship defeat to Down derail them from their ultimate goal. In this extract, Harte reveals how dealing with that loss to the Mournemen, and criticism of him and his team, helped galvanise Tyrone...
I COULD sense the archers taking aim outside. We were getting no credit for being part of two classics. How could it be deemed such a great victory for Down, and such a bad defeat for us?
We were being undervalued again, but those matches had told me plenty about the true worth of this team. After the match I pulled the players together in the dressing-room.
"We're not a team that wants to be blown away or put out of existence," I said. "If we did, we had a great opportunity to do it tonight. That opportunity was at 0-16 to 0-12. We could've said, 'We've had our day, let's go home now.' We proved we weren't taking that. That suggests to me there's more in this team. We start the business of doing that now."
Backs stiffened. Heads started to lift. We offered them the week off to clear their heads and spend some time with their clubs. The players declined. They wanted to meet Monday night and train Tuesday. It reminded me of a day back in 2002, when I took an Errigal Ciaran team to play Crossmaglen in the Ulster club championship. It was at the end of a year that had seen Armagh win their first All-Ireland title, partly built on the back of Crossmaglen's mighty dominance of the club scene in Armagh, Ulster and beyond.
That day we went into the dressing-room at half-time in Crossmaglen nine points down. In my mind, though, the game was only beginning. A few moments before half-time, a Cross shot was blocked by a pair of our backs. The deflected shot might still have gone in, but our goalkeeper John Devine stretched to make the save. We were nine down, but we weren't dead. The same feelings were running through me that night in Newry. Players were refusing to accept defeat. They were demanding more. Outside that dressing-room, the Tyrone public were already mourning the loss of another season. We felt resurrected...
The following day I was thinking of Ryan McMenamin. He had started the year with doubts. Now he had made a mistake that handed a crucial goal to Down. Having done so many wonderful things for Tyrone over the years, he had no need to beat himself up over this. He needed to know that.
I sent him a text, told him he had nothing to worry about after years spent bailing us out. Stick with it, said the message, we're going to win the All-Ireland.
AT a team meeting that night the players split into groups to outline some thoughts on what the team needed to focus on now. The results on the flipchart were encouraging:
* Prove people wrong
* We did perform well against Down
* We have a lot more to offer
* The systems are good
* We're fighting for our own good name
* 2005 is history.
I had no fears about our structures either. Communication between every level was now excellent.
Fergal McCann's training was superb and the players were flinging themselves into the work. With players coming back from injury, the panel was starting to look stronger. The most important thing now was to communicate with them using the language of positivity.
They had reacted well to defeat against Down, but we still had to choose our words carefully. Positive language doesn't guarantee positive results, but negative language will guarantee defeats. Our videos from now on would highlight our good play. I was more vocal at training. I nudged players a little harder and commended them when they responded.
The players were more vocal too. It wasn't all effing and blinding about the opposition either. They were pushing each other to do things
better, quicker. If there was a drill that involved a pass count, they'd challenge each other to top their tallies in the next one. Different people would push the right buttons: Brian Dooher, Philip Jordan, Colin Holmes, Kevin Hughes, Ricey, Packie McConnell, John Devine. The mood was perfectly pitched.
Beyond the training camp, the county was in turmoil about the team. There are plenty of supportive people out there, but the critics are never far away, even at home. All I know is, the farther I get from Tyrone, the more respect I seem to earn. It's something like the old cliche about never being a prophet in your own land. I can live with that, but sometimes you have to wonder. Those enlightened, anonymous souls that keep The Irish News's 'Off the Fence' column going every week were busy agitating for my removal. Martin McHugh threw his two cents on the BBC one evening. He reckoned it was time for me to step down. I had been there too long, he said.
Essentially, he said, the team was the victim of same-voice syndrome.
After 11 successful years with Tyrone teams, I found that insulting. How would I have survived 11 years transmitting my message using the same voice? It told me nothing about my situation, but confirmed that Martin didn't know what was needed to last 11 years in this job. To survive, you always have to change. You might be delivering a similar message but you always needed new ideas and a new way to get that message across. Martin's theory didn't reflect on me. I wasn't that person.
I wasn't stuck in a time-warp. I knew that. Crucially, the players knew that.
Others were more supportive. Peter Canavan backed me in his newspaper column. Joe Kernan said some kind things too.
When the issue came up with the players in interviews, they rowed in with their endorsements of our system and quietly let me know during training that things were good too. It brought us all closer together. The team ethos was strengthening. Now we just needed to win a few games...
Quote from: Mickey Harte
Michaela had written it all down in 1997.
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 12, 2009, 11:04:19 AM
Quote from: Mickey Harte=topic=14062.msg659934#msg659934 date=1255338541
Michaela had written it all down in 1997.
Fixed that for you.
In yesterday's Sunday Times article, there was a major chunk on Cavanagh's absence from the starting line up against the Rebels. Not one dicky bird about a stomack bug, flu, the squirts. The way it read to me was that big Shan had lost his marbles. He goes to Harte and says he hasn't had a wink of sleep all night, he's feeling the pressure, all this stuff. What's that all about? Our key man didn't fancy it... I'll have to read the book to make sure this wasn't taken out of context, but this is a real thunder bolt if true.
Can anyone post sunday times extract from yesteday?
Quote from: goal and a point on October 12, 2009, 01:54:06 PM
Can anyone post sunday times extract from yesteday?
ardmhacaabu won't mind typing it up, he can't get enough of it, apparently.
Mickey seems to be drawing those conclusions. It seems that Sean looked out-of-sorts and Mickey then proceeds to write about the pressure he was under with the GPA responsibility, wedding plans, etc. To be fair, as Mickey states, Sean has played in almost every major occasion from the age of 19 for Tyrone seniors so it wasn't a question of bottle.
Not stirring here, but I thought it was an odd tale to tell so soon - don't know how Sean would feel about it.
On the day, when the announcement broke (the starting team), I had a feeling that something wasn't quite right. Perhaps it was the absence beforehand of any intimations or rumblings, but the fact that he came on as a sub in the second half and was our major scoring threat only served to confirm those misgivings.
He's only human, and no surprise that it might all be a little overwhelming from time to time. MH knows what he's at I'd say, and the big lad will be all out to make blistering amends in 2010.
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on October 12, 2009, 02:43:02 PM
QuotePerhaps it was the absence beforehand of any intimations or rumblings
Very wrong.
Rephrased: Perhaps it was the absence beforehand of any
general intimations or rumblings (may have been different for clubmates).
Whatever was wrong with Sean, he was main reason we won All Ireland in 2008 and was a massive loss against Cork. He has give Tyrone so much... BUT that GPA position does him no good and was such a distraction. Dessie and the GPA were using his profile big time. Have it on good authority another leading Tyrone player hung up the phone when he was called to spaek for them. He did right. Sean would be best to concentrate on football as Tyrone boys are well looked after.
I'd be even more concerned at them charging for an underage presentation night :)
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on October 12, 2009, 03:52:04 PM
As much as I abhor the GPA, I dont think it is any of our business to decide what players do in their own free time - if it was affecting his preparations/training etc then it would concern me - I'd be more concerned with players going out and drinking the heads of themselves.
Or getting poleaxed and writing grafitti on local houses.... >:( >:( >:(
As much as I abhor the GPA, I dont think it is any of our business to decide what players do in their own free time - if it was affecting his preparations/training etc then it would concern me - I'd be more concerned with players going out and drinking the heads of themselves.
Harte mentions his GPA involvement as one of the pressures on Sean before Cork game... so, guess it is our business. As well his GPA involvement is very much our business as members of the GAA.
Blame the GPA?
Good for Mickey to slip that one in a context, the move of a cute hoor.
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 12, 2009, 03:56:16 PM
Or getting poleaxed and writing grafitti on local houses.... >:( >:( >:(
Tell us more please
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 11, 2009, 09:44:48 PM
Imagine how boring it might otherwise have been had we only won one, measly, pathetic SAM! ::) :P
A valid, if poorly thought out point. Is this the boring, one, measly, pathetic SAM book to which you refer?
http://www.amazon.com/Kicking-Down-Heavens-Door-Football/dp/0954661613 (http://www.amazon.com/Kicking-Down-Heavens-Door-Football/dp/0954661613)
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 08:02:16 PM
A valid, if poorly thought out point. Is this the boring, one, measly, pathetic SAM book to which you refer?
http://www.amazon.com/Kicking-Down-Heavens-Door-Football/dp/0954661613 (http://www.amazon.com/Kicking-Down-Heavens-Door-Football/dp/0954661613)
Get with the times, you're six years out of date (in relation to the subject of this discussion). Well thought out, eh?
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 08:23:31 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 08:02:16 PM
Get with the times, you're six years out of date (in relation to the subject of this discussion). Well thought out, eh?
Yes. Your original point appears to refer to books about teams that won only one All-Ireland. I gave you such an example. The six years and two All-Ireland titles won by Tyrone after the publication of the book are irrelevant to both my point and your original one.
Hope this helps.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 08:28:30 PM
Yes. Your original point appears to refer to books about teams that won only one All-Ireland. I gave you such an example. The six years and two All-Ireland titles won by Tyrone after the publication of the book are irrelevant to both my point and your original one.
Hope this helps.
It seems you're hopelessly confused again. Let me help (again): MH is writing a book about his time as manager of Tyrone, all the way from the Minors, to U21, and finally to Seniors, during which time he has accumulated 1 Minor All-Ireland, 2 U21 All-Irelands, and 3 Senior All-Irelands. If in all that time he'd only won one Senior, you may indeed have had a point. But he didn't, so you haven't.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 08:34:17 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 08:28:30 PM
Hope this helps.
It seems you're hopelessly confused again. Let me help (again): MH is writing a book about his time as manager of Tyrone, all the way from the Minors, to U21, and finally to Seniors, during which time he has accumulated 1 Minor All-Ireland, 2 U21 All-Irelands, and 3 Senior All-Irelands. If in all that time he'd only won one Senior, you may indeed have had a point. But he didn't, so you haven't.
You appear to be the one who is confused. I am not talking about the new book. You mentioned how boring a book would be if a team had only won one All-Ireland. I highlighted a possible example, written after a team won one All-Ireland. That the bulk of that squad have stayed together and won another tworemains irrelevant to my counterpoint to your original flawed point. Are you saying Knocking Down Heaven's Door was boring from 2003 to 2005 and as soon as Brian Dooher lifted Sam in '05 it was no longer boring?
Strange.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 08:42:07 PM
You appear to be the one who is confused. I am not talking about the new book. You mentioned how boring a book would be if a team had only won one All-Ireland.
Wrong (still), look back at my original remark, it's plain English, and was in relation to the immediately preceding discourse, which was about this
particular book of Harte's, which covers a good few years. Swap you a fork for that spade?
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 08:46:31 PM
Wrong (still), look back at my original remark, it's plain English, and was in relation to the immediately preceding discourse, which was about this particular book of Harte's, which covers a good few years. Swap you a fork for that spade?
Yes, you claim this particular book of Harte's would have been boring had it been about a single All-Ireland win. I give you an example of a different book of Harte's about a single All-Ireland win. By extrapolating the logic in your original point it is fair to assume that you consider the original book a somewhat boring tome.
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2009, 09:03:03 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14075.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14075.0)
He still hasn't forgiven me for standing him up in the Fruithill bowling club. Truth is I took one look at his sandals and turned on my heels.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 09:00:21 PM
Wrong (still), look back at my original remark, it's plain English, and was in relation to the immediately preceding discourse, which was about this particular book of Harte's, which covers a good few years. Swap you a fork for that spade?
Yes, you claim this particular book of Harte's would have been boring had it been about a single All-Ireland win.
Bravo, well grasped.
I give you an example of a different book of Harte's about a single All-Ireland win. By extrapolating the logic in your original point it is fair to assume that you consider the original book a somewhat boring tome.
That's not extrapolating, since the subject of the discussion was well defined, that's going off at a tangent. And as it happens, that
other book you refer to wasn't boring, no matter how much you would really, really like it to be. It's possible to win SAM only once in
any given year.
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2009, 09:12:55 PM
He was on his holidays to Bil-fast. A bum bag with him too.
You feckers have the tree-hugger for an MP, not me.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 09:14:05 PM
Yes, you claim this particular book of Harte's would have been boring had it been about a single All-Ireland win.
Bravo, well grasped.
A tad clumsy on my part. The Yes refers to the first part of your post, not as it may appear to your swapping question. Apologies for the ambiguity.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 09:14:05 PM
I give you an example of a different book of Harte's about a single All-Ireland win. By extrapolating the logic in your original point it is fair to assume that you consider the original book a somewhat boring tome.
That's not extrapolating, since the subject of the discussion was well defined, that's going off at a tangent. And as it happens, that other book you refer to wasn't boring, no matter how much you would really, really like it to be. It's possible to win SAM only once in any given year.
A hypothetical question then, not sure if it is tangential, but had Harte's book detailing his entire playing / managerial career been released in 2003 or 2004, would you have considered it boring?
Personally, I would prefer that neither book was seen as boring. Mickey Harte's life in the GAA would certainly be one of the more interesting and has the potential to be a really fascinating read.
Tell you what, when ONeill is finished with his, I'll read it. Then I'll let you know if it's boring or not. As I have said above the excerpts so far have surprised me.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 09:26:23 PM
A hypothetical question then, not sure if it is tangential, but had Harte's book detailing his entire playing / managerial career been released in 2003 or 2004, would you have considered it boring?
No, probably not, since he had a Minor All-Ireland, 2 U21s, and 1 Senior at that point. Plus, there was the whole shenanigans about the fall out with the County Board and being without a club for those years (7, I think), which would be interesting, in a parochial kind of way. But if I were from, say, Armagh, it's quite possible that I'd find it boring (hypothetically of course).
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 12, 2009, 09:26:23 PM
Tell you what, when ONeill is finished with his, I'll read it. Then I'll let you know if it's boring or not. As I have said above the excerpts so far have surprised me.
That'll do.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2009, 09:38:35 PM
But if I were from, say, Armagh, it's quite possible that I'd find it boring (hypothetically of course).
Can't believe Harte has relased this book while still manager. This is a huge mistake by someone who is obviously otherwise fairly intelligent. Players just wont be able to trust him after this.
Quote from: Rav67 on October 12, 2009, 11:16:37 PM
Can't believe Harte has relased this book while still manager. This is a huge mistake by someone who is obviously otherwise fairly intelligent. Players just wont be able to trust him after this.
Good point he had exactly the same bother after his last book. He only won two All-Irelands!
"well young fella, we would like you to join the Tyrone senior Panel"
"Sorry, Mickey, i will have to decline as a result of these book releases, i just dont trust you !" ::) ::) ::) ::)
Quote from: Bensars on October 13, 2009, 09:55:04 AM
"well young fella, we would like you to join the Tyrone senior Panel"
"Sorry, Mickey, i will have to decline as a result of these book releases, i just dont trust you !" ::) ::) ::) ::)
Rav67 is right and you Tryone rednecks can roll your eyes all you want but anyone with an ounce of sense knows its bad form to release a book while you are still involved with a team, some people would even believe that it is bad form to ever release details of how you have built the bonds friendship, trust, togetherness and respect but sure aif theres a pound in it.
I see that the Indo have picked up on this today ...
Don't think Sean will be too happy to see this in his book ...
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/revelations-put-harte-on-collision-course-with-cavanagh-1911503.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/revelations-put-harte-on-collision-course-with-cavanagh-1911503.html)
Revelations put Harte on collision course with Cavanagh
Tuesday October 13 2009
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte could be on a minor collision course with his star player Sean Cavanagh over the reasons for his non-start in this year's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Cork.
Cavanagh did not feature in the game until the last 20 minutes when Tyrone were chasing a lead Harte's charges just weren't going to overturn.
At the time, it was understood that the 2008 Footballer of the Year had withdrawn because of a stomach bug.
But in his autobiography, to be released this week, Harte offers a different perspective on that morning, suggesting "the roof simply caved in" on his player with the weight of the pressure on him.
In weekend extracts of the book, Harte admitted to being "puzzled" when Cavanagh came to him on the morning of the game and told him that he was "wrecked", wasn't "feeling good" and hadn't slept at all that night.
"I needed to try and see things from his perspective. Apart from a few isolated flashes of brilliance, his form hadn't been great all season.
"Why was that?" he asked.
"As a player Sean had always delivered. He was an icon for us and that greatness had been rewarded in 2008. Maybe the pressure was stemming from that recognition," he suggested.
Harte acknowledged there was a lot going on in his life from an impending marriage to his role as secretary of the GPA and media and commercial commitments. "Had we addressed all those pressures properly during the year? Had our support structure been strong enough to share his burden?
"This moment (his belief that he couldn't last 70 minutes) seemed the culmination of a year's worth of pressure and expectation leaning on him. In the end the roof simply caved in."
- Colm Keys
Irish Independent
Motivation for mickey sharing.? Was it to give sean some support and scotch rumours, was it simple honesty as part of the story of that day or a wee kick up the ass for a gpa posterboy? You wonder did mickey and sean discuss this beforehand
Was chattin to Longball last night who still occassionally reads the board and he wanted me to point out his quote before the Antrim game re Sean Cavanagh, he is trying to claim that he is not so slow, he seen it coming, you dont cross the boss, EVER, just ask Roy Keane, Japp Stam, Nigel Reo-Coker to name but a few :D :D :D :D :D
QuoteQuote from: longball on July 10, 2009, 11:41:57 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 10, 2009, 11:04:38 AM
Quote from: longball on July 10, 2009, 10:44:22 AM
What odds will anyone give me on Sean Cavanagh not playing against Antrim!
Have you an inside track lb??
No i dont AQMP, not really but heard few things. Sean has himself caught up in GPA debate and foolish interviews with paper maybe his head isnt in it at the mo. I think he will be named but ive a funny feelin he will not start. But due to the injury to McGinley it could save him.
I only read the Irish Times article yesterday and it sure makes for interesting reading.
Of course we could be all on the wrong track but I noticed myself last year how Sean seemed to have quite a few differences of opinion with Mickey and he's not one to keep his head down and say nothing.
He seemed very vocal on the GPA and did I read he wouldn't be opposed to pay per play or am I wrong?
He knows Harte is very much the other side of this coin and sees winning AI's or even being able to wear the Tyrone jersey as an honour in itself. I suppose when you're used to success from an early age and winning all stars and medals every other year you don't appreciate the hard times Tyrone went through.
Also I thought Big Sean was kinda rubbing Harte's nose in the winning of the International rules a little too much.
I think I heard him say after the match that he was so proud to captain his country and that he loves this sport despite what others think.
As someone said above its a wee bit like Keano & McCarthy where the player is losing the run of himself a little, even if he is one the best players we've ever had. He could learn a lot from Mr Dooher and keep yer head down, work hard and let your performance on the field do your talking.
This is just my own opinion of course and no-one knows for sure was Sean really sick that night or was he just feeling the pinch that he was the main Plan A that day and if he failed the team then people would point the finger at him. I doubt it somehow.
Undoubtably sick that day. Its was an easy option of Harte to blame Sean, Harte had a stinker on the line and his tactics were predictable and challangeable. Lets look at Seans influence on the year, average against Armagh, Derry, Kildare. Good against Antrim when he was afforded room to manouvre. Cork would not have gave him any space either so I don't think his exclusion had much of an effect. I know for a fact Sean was unwell, could he have played? Probably, but we are told its a 30 man squad constantly and for a sick man to take the place of a fit healthy man is unfair.
There is a massive elephant in the room here. What is Harte's motive in this book? How can a manager criticise a player for looking GPA money yet jeapordise the harmony of his squad with a book for the one and only reason of making money?
Will the panel now stay together for the 09/10 season?
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 13, 2009, 11:28:14 AM
There is a massive elephant in the room here. What is Harte's motive in this book? How can a manager criticise a player for looking GPA money yet jeapordise the harmony of his squad with a book for the one and only reason of making money?
That's something he's going to have to square with the panel, particularly his motive (will some of the sales profits make their way to the players' fund?).
Yes. Despite the stink none will walk, though there are fences to be mended.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 13, 2009, 11:38:24 AM
That's something he's going to have to square with the panel, particularly his motive (will some of the sales profits make their way to the players' fund?).
Yes. Despite the stink none will walk, though there are fences to be mended.
Harte has always been a very meticulous planner, therefore i would be very surprised if he hadnt spoken to those involved before letting this book go to press! I personally think it is not a good idea to release a book while still in position - however the tone of that extract on Cavannagh seemed to me, to be more reflective of Hartes's role in not, in his opinion, helping Sean in the way he should throughout the year and not noticing how the pressure was building on him and impacting on his performances! I dont really think he was very critical of Sean at all - so therefore wouldnt really pose a problem for next year!
Undoubtably sick that day. Its was an easy option of Harte to blame Sean, Harte had a stinker on the line and his tactics were predictable and challangeable. Lets look at Seans influence on the year, average against Armagh, Derry, Kildare. Good against Antrim when he was afforded room to manouvre. Cork would not have gave him any space either so I don't think his exclusion had much of an effect. I know for a fact Sean was unwell, could he have played? Probably, but we are told its a 30 man squad constantly and for a sick man to take the place of a fit healthy man is unfair.
Final whistle takes a swipe at his Messiah Harte!! You must not criticise our Sean!! :o lol
Mickey Out!
Paddy O'Rourke in
This is controversial to say the least.
Harte questions Cavanagh's non-start
Tyrone's Sean Cavanagh
13 October 2009
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has sensationally questioned the reasons for star player Sean Cavanagh's inability to start this year's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Cork.
The 2008 Footballer of the Year did not feature in the game until the last 20 minutes. The official line at the time was that he had been unable to start because of a stomach bug.
But in his autobiography to be released this week, Harte offers a different perspective on that morning, suggesting "the roof simply caved in" on his player with the weight of the pressure on him.
Harte admits to being "puzzled" when Cavanagh came to him on the morning of the game and told him that he was "wrecked", wasn't "feeling good" and hadn't slept at all that night.
"I needed to try and see things from his perspective. Apart from a few isolated flashes of brilliance, his form hadn't been great all season. Why was that?" he asked.
"As a player Sean had always delivered. He was an icon for us and that greatness had been rewarded in 2008. Maybe the pressure was stemming from that."
Cavanagh is expected to miss the early rounds of next year's National League after undergoing surgery recently
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 13, 2009, 11:56:34 AM
Harte has always been a very meticulous planner, therefore i would be very surprised that if he hadnt spoken to those involved before letting this book go to press! I personally think it is not a good idea to release a book while still in position - however the tone of that extract on Cavannagh seemed to me, to be more reflective of Hartes's role in not, in his opinion, helping Sean in the way he should throughout the year and not noticing how the pressure was building on him and impacting on his performances! I dont really think he was very critical of Sean at all - so therefore wouldnt really pose a problem for next year!
That would be my reading of things also.
Quote from: amigo on October 13, 2009, 11:59:05 AM
Final whistle takes a swipe at his Messiah Harte!! You must not criticise our Sean!! :o lol
Not at all boy. Dont have me to pull out your Mickey Harte quotes.
You know the one Im on about where you "stated" you and SON were great buddies and that SON would never play for Harte again after Harte screwed him over.Point of note, I did not criticise Harte Amigo, I wouldn't dare. Just seems to me that it was an end of career passage not one that would give you the greatest preparation for another AI assault. But in saying that Harte knows how to get the best from the players and hopefully by including this statement in his book it will show Sean how strongly Harte feels he should be concentrating on his football and return him to the form which seen him swing 5 majestic points over the bar against Kerry in an AI Final, Win Player of the Year 2008, Lift the Cormac McAnallen Cup, Captain his club to the Div 2 League title, Win the GPA Player of the year and return himself to number 1 player in the GAA.
I have no doubt that he will and you amigo can continue lurking in the shadows of the GAA Board corridors afraid to come in and argue your point.
Indeed it sounds reflective but I think its cleverly trying to ask himself what he could do but it still leaves this underlying feeling that Sean has got himself into too much crap now and it sounds like he can't deal with it.
Its weird that he doesn't even mention the stomach bug at all which by its absence surely speaks volumes.
No matter what way you look at it I don't think Sean will take it with a pinch of salt.
Maybe he's not pleased at Colm getting a rough deal. He surely should have got more match time this year.
Quote from: Fuzzman on October 13, 2009, 12:24:29 PM
Indeed it sounds reflective but I think its cleverly trying to ask himself what he could do but it still leaves this underlying feeling that Sean has got himself into too much crap now and it sounds like he can't deal with it.
Its weird that he doesn't even mention the stomach bug at all which by its absence surely speaks volumes.
No matter what way you look at it I don't think Sean will take it with a pinch of salt.
Maybe he's not pleased at Colm getting a rough deal. He surely should have got more match time this year.
He gets too much already if you ask me!
No Fuzz your incorrect there, Colm has been injured all year, similar to Sean and Ryan Mellon which both received surgery on last week. Both Sean and Colm carried injuries which curtailed their action in last years football.
what is the story with sean oneil and hartes fall out? heard son got shafted by harte when they were working for the same company but no sure if it is just rumours
Quote from: Overthebar! on October 13, 2009, 12:52:22 PM
what is the story with sean oneil and hartes fall out? heard son got shafted by harte when they were working for the same company but no sure if it is just rumours
That's a new one on us, please do tell.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 13, 2009, 01:44:04 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on October 13, 2009, 12:52:22 PM
That's a new one on us, please do tell.
Do you mean Stevie O'Neill? If so you're better off leaving it there.!
sorry meant stevie o'neil. not trying to stir shit just wondered what the story was and if harte was going to talk about it in his book...
That was the story that was started by Amigo on here. Got about some length but in the end up destroyed his credibility and now he only turns up for brief moments before scuttling back down to his rat nest somewhere in Pomeroy! :)
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 13, 2009, 12:21:13 PM
Not at all boy. Dont have me to pull out your Mickey Harte quotes. You know the one Im on about where you "stated" you and SON were great buddies and that SON would never play for Harte again after Harte screwed him over.
Point of note, I did not criticise Harte Amigo, I wouldn't dare. Just seems to me that it was an end of career passage not one that would give you the greatest preparation for another AI assault. But in saying that Harte knows how to get the best from the players and hopefully by including this statement in his book it will show Sean how strongly Harte feels he should be concentrating on his football and return him to the form which seen him swing 5 majestic points over the bar against Kerry in an AI Final, Win Player of the Year 2008, Lift the Cormac McAnallen Cup, Captain his club to the Div 2 League title, Win the GPA Player of the year and return himself to number 1 player in the GAA.
I have no doubt that he will and you amigo can continue lurking in the shadows of the GAA Board corridors afraid to come in and argue your point.
I find this strange. Why would you not dare to criticise Harte? Surely there have been occasions since 2003 (and even before) when criticism would be appropriate?
Quote from: Overthebar! on October 13, 2009, 02:14:30 PM
sorry meant stevie o'neil. not trying to stir shit just wondered what the story was and if harte was going to talk about it in his book...
Stevie was knackered with injuries at the time, that's all, though there were all sorts of rumours circulating trying to make something out of it that didn't actually exist.
But buy the book anyway just to reassure yourself ;)
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 13, 2009, 02:20:55 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 13, 2009, 12:21:13 PM
Not at all boy. Dont have me to pull out your Mickey Harte quotes. You know the one Im on about where you "stated" you and SON were great buddies and that SON would never play for Harte again after Harte screwed him over.
Point of note, I did not criticise Harte Amigo, I wouldn't dare. Just seems to me that it was an end of career passage not one that would give you the greatest preparation for another AI assault. But in saying that Harte knows how to get the best from the players and hopefully by including this statement in his book it will show Sean how strongly Harte feels he should be concentrating on his football and return him to the form which seen him swing 5 majestic points over the bar against Kerry in an AI Final, Win Player of the Year 2008, Lift the Cormac McAnallen Cup, Captain his club to the Div 2 League title, Win the GPA Player of the year and return himself to number 1 player in the GAA.
I find this strange. Why would you not dare to criticise Harte? Surely there have been occasions since 2003 (and even before) when criticism would be appropriate?
When you live as close to Armagh as we do and endure what we had to in 2002 then when Harte came in and won it in his first year it provided him with carte blanche. 05 and 08 have cemented his place in folklore, the man is a success and will go down in history as the greatest manager ever to have graced ULster. 09 was not to be, however to win it every 2/3 years is a blessing and we should thank God that we have had so much success recently.
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 13, 2009, 02:17:38 PM
That was the story that was started by Amigo on here. Got about some length but in the end up destroyed his credibility and now he only turns up for brief moments before scuttling back down to his rat nest somewhere in Pomeroy! :)
Not sure that "rumour" was started by Amigo. I heard it from a Tyrone man in work. He reckons it is not "rumour", but sure who knows.
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2009, 04:23:47 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 13, 2009, 02:17:38 PM
Not sure that "rumour" was started by Amigo. I heard it from a Tyrone man in work. He reckons it is not "rumour", but sure who knows.
No it was all my fault!! I was the fire starter :D :D :D Final whistle knows best lol
Finally you have seene the sense Amigo, but is it too late for him...... ???
Maybe Cavanagh getting a cut of profits for Mickeys book. He allowed Mickey to publish a controversial story so people will buy it or start discussing the book at least. Cavanagh always been know to be found of the £ within Tyrone circles - he would get alot of slagging from Tyrone players on this part i believe.
Quote from: goal and a point on October 14, 2009, 10:16:09 AM
Maybe Cavanagh getting a cut of profits for Mickeys book. He allowed Mickey to publish a controversial story so people will buy it or start discussing the book at least. Cavanagh always been know to be found of the £ within Tyrone circles - he would get alot of slagging from Tyrone players on this part i believe.
What are you talking about? ???
Jees! He's talking about his life, but can't seem to get that through to you. He's not just talking about one person, he's talking about everybody. He's talking about form. He's talking about content. He's talking about interrelationships. He's talking about God, the devil, Hell, Heaven. Do you understand... FINALLY? :o
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 14, 2009, 12:38:08 PM
Jees! He's talking about his life, but can't seem to get that through to you. He's not just talking about one person, he's talking about everybody. He's talking about form. He's talking about content. He's talking about interrelationships. He's talking about God, the devil, Hell, Heaven. Do you understand... FINALLY? :o
;D Does seem a bit Cuckoo alright!!
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 14, 2009, 01:34:31 PM
;D Does seem a bit Cuckoo alright!!
You got it! ;)
If they ever make a film out of it, they could get Ewan McGregor to play the lead role. Sounds like few lines he would come out with.
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 12:37:36 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D You're right there Sideline...
Quote from: Paddy1804 on October 14, 2009, 03:30:33 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D You're right there Sideline...
Quote from: Paddy1804 on July 19, 2008, 10:05:17 AM
Eoin Bradley shouldn' start - he's a huffy, selfish wee shite and he really isn't that good - overrated
OK Paddy, if you say so....... ::)
Why were Darran O'Sullivan and Michael Fennelly in the publicity shots for the Harte's book?
id 2nd that
Dear Customer,
Greetings from Amazon.co.uk.
We regret to inform you that your order will take longer to fulfill than originally estimated. Our supplier has notified us that there is a delay obtaining stock for the following items you ordered on October 06 2009.
Mickey Harte "Harte"
We are awaiting a revised estimate from our supplier, and will email you as soon as we receive this information.
Dam!!!! Anyone else get this?
Quote from: Gaffer on October 15, 2009, 08:56:18 AM
Dear Customer,
We regret to inform you that your order will take longer to fulfill than originally estimated. Our supplier has notified us that there is a delay obtaining stock for the following items you ordered on October 06 2009.
Mickey Harte "Harte"
We are awaiting a revised estimate from our supplier, and will email you as soon as we receive this information.
yeah got the same thing this morning >:(
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 15, 2009, 08:57:10 AM
Dear Customer,
Mickey Harte "Harte"
yeah got the same thing this morning >:(
Still, you're saying 30% on the marked price. Which is nice.
When does it hit the shops?
Would Easons in Craigavon be nearest place to get it from here? Begleys would hardly do it would they
But i want it today im impatient
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 15, 2009, 10:26:15 AM
But i want it today im impatient
There are websites for that sort of thing.
At the Garvaghey Patron launch last week ( www.clubtyrone.com - log on and buy some pixels ;) ) Logie kept asking Mickey about the book.
He kept telling Logie that he was there to discuss Garvaghey and that the book discussions would keep to another day. I was mightily impressed. Logie sounded like he was on commission - kept dropping it into conversation.
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:34:14 AM
Plastered all over Easons (O Connell St) yesterday. Also due to the fact that the signing podium was well stcoked with this tome, I'm guessing Mickey will be on a signing session there on Saturday, whoch also means he'll be on the Late Late tomorrow night.
He's there tomorrow. That's Bertie Ahern and his daughter who also writes have signed books there. Do you think Michaela will be there some day too as I believe she has done some writing?
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 15, 2009, 09:07:10 PM
Apart from the Carlisle, are there any good bookshops in Tyrone?
Sheehys in Cookstown
Also Treetops in Dungannon at the bottom of Perry Street at the roundabout.
Quote from: Rois on October 15, 2009, 10:30:59 AM
Logie sounded like he was on commission - kept dropping it into conversation.
What does Logie do for a living now thats he's quit TV?
Quote from: Zapatista on October 15, 2009, 09:16:17 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:34:14 AM
Plastered all over Easons (O Connell St) yesterday. Also due to the fact that the signing podium was well stcoked with this tome, I'm guessing Mickey will be on a signing session there on Saturday, whoch also means he'll be on the Late Late tomorrow night.
He's there tomorrow. That's Bertie Ahern and his daughter who also writes have signed books there. Do you think Michaela will be there some day too as I believe she has done some writing?
He's signing copies in Eason's in Belfast tomorrow (Saturday). Which is nice.
Mickey Harte
signing copies of Harte My Autobiography
Donegall Place, Belfast
Saturday, 17 October 2009
02:00 PM
Donegal Plaice
Aye, remember thon eejit.
"You may be beautiful but they're keeping my idea on file, in a filing cabinet."
Bought it today despite myself :D
Will read it and give an honest appraisal of it
Quote from: ONeill on October 16, 2009, 10:09:32 PM
Mickey Harte
signing copies of Harte My Autobiography
Donegall Place, Belfast
Saturday, 17 October 2009
02:00 PM
Wonder will Sean Cavanagh be in the queue?
I took a scoot down. A steady stream of autograph hunters.
Paddy Tally was in the lifestyle section reading up on martial arts. Sean was in the Mind and Body area, perusing the book on Coping With Your Boss. Ricey was in the Children's Corner reading Little Red Riding Hood and laughing. Dooher was reading in the Agricultural Section and practising fisting something. Musgy was at the Lads' Mags with Hub.
Quote from: ONeill on October 17, 2009, 09:29:56 PM
Paddy Tally was in the lifestyle section reading up on martial arts. Sean was in the Mind and Body area, perusing the book on Coping With Your Boss. Ricey was in the Children's Corner reading Little Red Ridding Hood and laughing. Dooher was reading in the Agricultural Section and practising fisting something. Musgy was at the Lads' Mags with Hub.
I must admit to paying my own respect to the man in person today - I am no devotee and certainly no Tyrone fan by any means, got a signed copy of his book and had a few words with him - he was very taken aback at an obvious Armagh fan saying hello. He accepted my words anyway and wished me well as I did him
From what I have read so far, no complaints, it's way better than his Friday column in the IN - that just bores me to tears
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 17, 2009, 09:35:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 17, 2009, 09:29:56 PM
Paddy Tally was in the lifestyle section reading up on martial arts. Sean was in the Mind and Body area, perusing the book on Coping With Your Boss. Ricey was in the Children's Corner reading Little Red Ridding Hood and laughing. Dooher was reading in the Agricultural Section and practising fisting something. Musgy was at the Lads' Mags with Hub.
I must admit to paying my own respect to the man in person today - I am no devotee and certainly no Tyrone fan by any means, got a signed copy of his book and had a few words with him - he was very taken aback at an obvious Armagh fan saying hello. He accepted my words anyway and wished me well as I did him
From what I have read so far, no complaints, it's way better than his Friday column in the IN - that just bores me to tears
You should have told him that :P
Gaelic Games and Irish Transport
By Mattie Lennon
John Cassidy is a voluntary steward in Croke Park and as such he has witnessed spectacular victories, defeats and draws in football, hurling and camogie.
He is a Donegal man who won't let you forget that his county won the all-Ireland final in 1992. His day job is as a supervisor with Dublin Bus, one of the CIE group of companies. In October 2008 he was responsible for bringing CIE Transport Gaels to Gaelic Park, New York, to play teams from the NYPD and FDNY; the first time any CIE team played in America. (In October 2010 he is bringing his team to Boston.)In his memoir he has written of how his childhood interest in Gaelic games was honed, "In McGettigan's field in Clogher" and how, "two older boys would select the opposing teams: every one present was included which meant we often played twenty a side. As our pitch consisted of the entire field this was no problem. With the goalposts (four jackets) in place the game would begin. It would end for one of the following reasons: Hunger, darkness or a pitch invasion by Mc Gettigan's cattle."
John Cassidy's experiences, literary ability and research skills have been, once again, juxtaposed to bring us his latest publication.
"Buses, Trains and Gaelic Games" is a history of Gaelic games in Irish transport from 1885 to the present day. The author traces the path of Gaelic football, hurling, handball and camogie teams from the days of Charles Bianconi (the father of public transport, in Ireland) to the twenty-first century.
Since the foundation of Coras Iompar Eireann (CIE) in 1945 every section of the company, urban and rural, contributed to Gaelic sports and provided players at county, national and international level.
In his foreword, CIE Chairman John J. Lynch, says, "I deem it a high honour and privilege to be invited to contribute a Foreword to the history of the many CIE G.A.A. clubs nationwide." He goes on to praise, " . . . the great sporting bodies within the CIE family " and refers to the fact that their achievements " both on and off the field, testify to the dedication of so many people . . . , which stands as a testimony to the organisational skills and tremendous sense of purpose which CIE has harnessed throughout its existence. Running a sporting organisation is a time consuming business but with the continued voluntary involvement of managers, coaches, administrators, players and supporters CIE will pass on a substantial legacy for future generations to build upon."
Through, dedication, interviews and the relentless pursuit of source-material the author has given us a comprehensive and colourful account of clubs, teams and individual players associated with Irish transport over the generations. Some of these didn't get the coverage they deserved, from the media, during their careers. One such, who features in this publication, was the most decorated player in the history of Gaelic games. Camogie player Kathleen Mills made her debut with the Great Southern Railway Club, Dublin, in 1938. In 1941 she played for Dublin, when they were beaten by Cork, in the All-Ireland final. She was on the winning Dublin team which beat Cork in 1942 and 1943. She went on to win all-Ireland medals in 1948, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954 and 1955. She was Captain when Dublin beat Tipperary in 1957.
More All-Ireland medals were to follow in 1959, 1960 and 1961. The 1961 final was on her 38th birthday and it was the last time she wore the Dublin jersey. In retirement she was known as "the Christy Ring of the camogie world". She died in August 1996.
Every parish in Ireland has its sporting heroes and almost every townland has someone who works, or worked, in CIE. And John Cassidy hasn't neglected the "sporting ballad." Many clubs and individual players are lauded in such compositions as, "Kelly's Heroes", "Thirteen Men From CIE" and "Transport Gaels." "A Tribute to Sean Kelly" by Christy Fitzgerald immortalises a legend.
Einstein said, "If I knew what I was looking for I wouldn't call it research." Well, the gems that John Cassidy didn't expect to find in the National Library, publications as diverse as "The Freeman's Journal" and "Ireland's Eye" and the conversations of ordinary people, are now recorded for posterity between the covers of "Buses, Trains and Gaelic Games".
This history of Gaelic games in Irish transport over a century and a quarter plus more than a hundred photographs is a book not to be missed.
"Buses, Trains and Gaelic Games" is available (Price €15, including postage) from; Original Writing, Spade Enterprise Centre, North King Street, Smithfield, Dublin 7.
www.originalwriting.ie or you can get an autographed copy from the author, John Cassidy, 4 Ardmore Avenue, Dublin7. And you can contact him at; johncassidy92@yahoo.com
he was very taken aback at an obvious Armagh fan saying hello.
I am sure it must have been your respectful and dignified demeanour that would have distinguished you as an obvious Armagh fan.
Or the stench of Buckfast and urine.
I'd hope Mickey isn't burdened by such a dour Tyrone-like sourpuss wit.
Does Mickey spin a good yarn? any funny stories?
Quote from: Main Street on October 18, 2009, 11:30:32 AM
he was very taken aback at an obvious Armagh fan saying hello.
I am sure it must have been your respectful and dignified demeanour that would have distinguished you as an obvious Armagh fan.
:)
I was respectful and dignified, even shook the man's hand - what would have given the fact that I am an Armagh fan was probably the jacket with the Armagh crest on it...
ONeill, thanks :P
- Mickey Harte states in his book that he felt it might have been the pressure as much as anything else that made Cavanagh unwell for the semi-final against Cork.
- Tadgh Kenelly states in his book that before the game he told Galvin he would set out to injure a Cork player in the first minutes of the final and then blind-sides someone with an elbow to the jaw which he says he "executed perfectly".
Which statement gets jumped on by the southern media??
I see the Sunday Times today are trying to stir the pot even further.
Quote from: under the bar on October 18, 2009, 10:21:43 PM
- Mickey Harte states in his book that he felt it might have been the pressure as much as anything else that made Cavanagh unwell for the semi-final against Cork.
- Tadgh Kenelly states in his book that before the game he told Galvin he would set out to injure a Cork player in the first minutes of the final and then blind-sides someone with an elbow to the jaw which he says he "executed perfectly".
Which statement gets jumped on by the southern media??
And Cusack with the sexuality. The next GAA man to bring out a book is under some pressure to top these!
As sensations go
1. Donal Og
2. Tadgh
3. Mickey
In the next few days I expect a revelation from Mickey Harte ....
"I have GHEYS on my Tyrone Team - read all about it in chapter 69 of my book."
Harte's in New York at the moment..few off us meeting him tonight for dinner..hope he has a few books with him ;)
New Devil - What is taking him to America? Is it part of the book promotion?
Quote from: sizzler on October 20, 2009, 11:31:41 AM
I would have thought so!
Thanks for that mattielennon. I met John Cassidy a few times as I used to work for CIE
He's great craic.
Quote from: new devil on October 20, 2009, 07:29:32 AM
Harte's in New York at the moment..few off us meeting him tonight for dinner..hope he has a few books with him ;)
Where about's is he at New Devil? (so I'll know where to avoid for dinner this evening)
Quote from: sizzler on October 20, 2009, 11:31:41 AM
No nothing to do with his book...Was asked to speak at the Irish consulate..Don't even think he has books with him
Tried to order one on amazon yesterday but couldnt find any..Anyone like to send me one :)
Dear Customer,
Mickey Harte "Harte"
Just got Email from Amazon to tell me that my book is on its way ;D
Started it yesterday. It's a little weird. I need to forget the opinion I have built up of him over the years. Not easy to do. I'm usually very cynical as it is.
Quote from: Caid on October 20, 2009, 04:05:25 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 20, 2009, 07:29:32 AM
Where about's is he at New Devil? (so I'll know where to avoid for dinner this evening)
Sure I found out his agenda for meself in the end...
YesterdayIrish Consulate (I was there earlier in the day but thankfully it must have been a near miss)
Dinner for c.10 in Rosie O'Gradys
TodayOut in the Bronx Irish community
Drinks in the evening for three in Rosie O'Grady's
Don't no were you got your info..but its all wrong :D :D
Quote from: new devil on October 22, 2009, 05:01:51 AM
He was at the bar in Rosie O'Grady's tongiht when I left and the bar manager had said earlier (before he came in tonight) that he was in last night for dinner and was meant to be in the Bronx today.
Pretty much from the horse's mouth.
He had a NY jersey with him tonight fuelling rumors of a lucrative offer being made by the NY-Irish business men he was with to take over the reins at Gaelic Park in the future
Quote from: Caid on October 22, 2009, 05:20:52 AM
He was at the bar in Rosie O'Grady's tongiht when I left and the bar manager had said earlier (before he came in tonight) that he was in last night for dinner and was meant to be in the Bronx today.
He had a NY jersey with him tonight fuelling rumors of a lucrative offer being made by the NY-Irish business men he was with to take over the reins at Gaelic Park in the future
He's been to London a dozen times and has just about every bit of gear available, don't see him ever taking control of a game in Div 4 somehow or other! He's even taken the odd session with the team .... still don't see him taking the job. Lucky some of you guys don't work on the tills in Tescos ... the way you add things up we'd never get the right change.
Quote from: irunthev on October 22, 2009, 07:18:35 AM
Quote from: Caid on October 22, 2009, 05:20:52 AM
He's been to London a dozen times and has just about every bit of gear available, don't see him ever taking control of a game in Div 4 somehow or other! He's even taken the odd session with the team .... still don't see him taking the job. Lucky some of you guys don't work on the tills in Tescos ... the way you add things up we'd never get the right change.
I think they were only joking!
It's interesting to note Hartes anticipated tactics for this game had Cavanagh been 100% fit and ready to start. He wanted Cavanagh and Mc Ginley to switch roles with Cavanagh playing the more ortodox midfielder and Enda playing a more roving role between HF and Midfield. Would have been interesting to have seen this in action.
Quote from: omagh_gael on October 22, 2009, 12:45:22 PM
It's interesting to note Hartes anticipated tactics for this game had Cavanagh been 100% fit and ready to start. He wanted Cavanagh and Mc Ginley to switch roles with Cavanagh playing the more ortodox midfielder and Enda playing a more roving role between HF and Midfield. Would have been interesting to have seen this in action.
Then we can probably understand Harte's frustration when the keystone to his team tactics comes and tells him he may not be fit to play the morning of the game!
anyone going to type this book up and put it online for the rest of us?
"word has it...."
As in you made that up yourself.....
Will there be an audio version of the book, read by the man himself?
Mickey is the Pat Kenny radio show now.
Doing the best he can.
Good enough read but i enjoyed his first book better!!!!!!!!!!
Pleasantly surprised by this book. I really enjoyed it. I actually began to like Harte the person during it, that's a turrnaround for me.
Tell us more Zap.
Did you not like him before and what changes yer mind in the book.
Quote from: Fuzzman on October 28, 2009, 11:22:27 AM
Tell us more Zap.
Did you not like him before and what changes yer mind in the book.
I come from a long line of Harte skeptics and I keep some of them in my company often. I was never a fan of him using Tyrone to feed his ego and personal ambition. I now think his ego and ambition fed Tyrone and led to winning.
The rumour mill has never stopped since he took over and I often give the rumours credit but Harte deals with a lot of them well. He asks simple questions I never tought of to dispel some rumours. Some of the football decisions he made over the last number of years which i had issue with are dealt with too. Usually backed up with statistics I can't argue with.
I had an opinion of him as a person as someone who should be judged on his deeds rather than words. The media seem to follow much of what he says rather than what he does. I thought he was portrayed wrong in the media but he just seems to have a calculated approach to everything and everyone.
I don't think there was anything too controversial in the book. It was an easy read and left me with plenty to think about. There are parts of it that seem like a 'self help book' dressed up as a sports book but I guess that part of Harte's approach to life.
Took this book on holidays with me last week and loved it. Far more interesting and insightful than many other similar type sports books I have read in the past.
Can't say I'm surprised to hear you say that its more of a self help type of book cos I could spot that theme in the last one also.
Found myself comparing his way of handling people & situations and trying to apply it to myself
So you've sold it to me to buy it now rather than wait for someone to get it for me for Christmas.
Just finished it today myself. A very good read and a must read for any serious GAA fan. It's hard to describe what type of person Mickey is after reading it, but one thing for sure is not many can doubt him. Mentions a few good light hearted moments within the squad as well that you wouldn't normally hear when he talks about Hubs hats, Hub singing Boyzone songs, Horse going mad before the U-21 final etc. What struck me was the amount of praise he has for Horse. He said he had an enormous influence on the team when he was and wasn't playing, and if he had more pace he would have been the best defender about. He also has high hopes for Mulgrew and said it's only a matter of time before he starts to deliver on his potential.
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 28, 2009, 04:19:01 PM
He also has high hopes for Mulgrew and said it's only a matter of time before he starts to deliver on his potential.
Would be my sentiment too, if a little tardy with the delivering of it.
Horse is held highly. I think he fitted into that team Harte saw as 'perfection' at the time. I think it was a case of Horse being a the right 'Horse for a course' at the time but once that was found out he had to make way.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 28, 2009, 04:36:39 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 28, 2009, 04:19:01 PM
He also has high hopes for Mulgrew and said it's only a matter of time before he starts to deliver on his potential.
Would be my sentiment too, if a little tardy with the delivering of it.
You've been saying that for years Fear. Are ye nearing the disappointment stage yet?
True Zap, but it's just so difficult to banish class completely ;)
I felt this book was the most annoying book i have ever read. It really is a book of how Mickey sees himself. Well thats what i get from it anyways
Just about to start it.
Chapter One: Sean is sick.
Ah damn, there's a prologue.
Cannot understand the negative comments about the book - i know there are many on here who speak positively, and i would have to side with them.
he approaches the subject of Paul McGirrs death with great dignity - well written and with great emotion.
he narrates the heartache of the defeats until 98 without overloading in detail or faux emotion
The Glencull thing is well covereed and really interesting
The references he pulls from are all sporting greats in their own areans - Wooden / basketball etc...and he sits comortably amongst them, in my opinion.
he has an opinion on Cavanagh..big deal?
Great book
Quote from: No way ref on October 28, 2009, 09:12:36 PM
I felt this book was the most annoying book i have ever read. It really is a book of how Mickey sees himself. Well thats what i get from it anyways
This is the most annoying post I've ever read! Imagine an autobiography detailing how a person sees HIMSELF? What a crazy idea! Do you even understand what an autobiography is?
Quote from: Zapatista on October 28, 2009, 08:34:26 PM
Horse is held highly. I think he fitted into that team Harte saw as 'perfection' at the time. I think it was a case of Horse being a the right 'Horse for a course' at the time but once that was found out he had to make way.
Sorry, who's Horse? ???
Gavin Devlin from Ardboe. Played centre half back for Tyrone seniors 2003 - 2005 as well as being involved in 1998 minor team and 2000/2001 U-21 teams.
The praise for Devlin surprised me too. If you believed the rumours at the time they 'fell out'. Must be a rule that if you no longer play for Tyrone you must of fell out with Mickey.
Good book. But did anyone else find the jumping from season to season annoyingly hard to follow. At one time, I had to flick back to see what season he was talking about.
He jumped to 2009 now and then. The book begins in 09 and then starts again at the begining. He jumps to 09 now and again but I liked that as this is when he is telling the story. I'd say he thought he might have another AI in 09 when the decision to do this was made and this format would have been better if he had. I don't think it backfired though.
I know that this isn't about his book, but Harte gave an interview to the "Money" section of yesterday's Sunday Times. His answer to the question "How many credit or debit cards do you have?" was "I have 3; one for a southern bank, one for a northern one and a credit card. There is a wee Padre Pio relic there too". Strange answer I thought.
He also says in the interview that he had £50 on Tyrone at 33/1 for last year's AI - nice!
Quote from: Sandy Hill on November 02, 2009, 12:38:23 PM
I know that this isn't about his book, but Harte gave an interview to the "Money" section of yesterday's Sunday Times. His answer to the question "How many credit or debit cards do you have?" was "I have 3; one for a southern bank, one for a northern one and a credit card. There is a wee Padre Pio relic there too". Strange answer I thought.
He also says in the interview that he had £50 on Tyrone at 33/1 for last year's AI - nice!
He gambles? Is that not a sin???
Very enjoyable read. If he thinks so much off Mulgrew i believe he has to play him consistently in next years league at 11.
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 30, 2009, 10:29:34 AM
Quote from: No way ref on October 28, 2009, 09:12:36 PM
This is the most annoying post I've ever read! Imagine an autobiography detailing how a person sees HIMSELF? What a crazy idea! Do you even understand what an autobiography is?
Why don't you enlighten me then you arrogant pr**k.
I don't think that Micky Harte is
solely responsible for all the good that has happened in Tyrone football since 1997. I think that Harte thinks he is and thats what i get from the book, and thats what annoys me.
At what stage last year did he get 33-1? I don't think they were even that far out after the Down game?
Quote from: Caid on November 03, 2009, 01:14:37 AM
At what stage last year did he get 33-1? I don't think they were even that far out after the Down game?
My bad "Kerry may be favourites for a third successive title but Tyrone have already upset the odds, having been written off as 33-1 outsiders at one point."
Picture from the paper worth looking at http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/tyrone-fans-are-painting-the-town-red-and-white-13979079.html
Just finshed the book, a very enjoyable read. Sometimes got a wee bit tedious with the mantras from other sporting 'philosophers' but didn't dtract too much overall. I, like others, was surprised by how much regard horse devlin was held by Mickey.
Also highlights how some 'fans' can be such scumbags at times, particularly the fella who ran up and give him a load of abuse following the game against Laois, what did he expect an AI with half a team crocked? Also surprised there was no mention of the abuse after 08 game v down in the marshes.
Looking forward to seeing if raymie mulgrew can push on this year and nail a spot down, he appears to be firmly in the plans and was very close to packing it all in at one Stage this year.
Again, a very good read with a lot of interesting insights a lot of ridiculous rumours laid to rest and challenges laid down to squad players for next year as he states that people will lose their place in the squad to bring in fresh faces.
Just finished it, and skimmed it again to make sure I wasn't misinterpretating it.
Positives:
Very open with tactics, ideas, thoughts on players and staff.
I loved the philosophical stuff and will read further on those he mentioned
Liked the unique narrative. 2009-2008-youth to now - interspersed with this year again.
Very readable.
Clever man
Negatives.
Very sore on Paddy Tally, 'The Disease of Me'
Veiled criticism of a few of his players for non-footballing reasons.
Too, what's the word, messiah-like in all his life experiences - almost without fault whilst others are.
All-in-all I found it unputdownable for a couple of days. I'm not comfortable with his refusal to admit to mistakes (that working harder thing doesn't count) but he's still, by far, thee most influential man in the history of Tyrone GAA and tries to do what's best the majority of times. The Glencull story doesn't read too well on his behalf and I totally abhor his treatment of Tally in the book when Paddy has no real right to replay.
All-in-all - get it.
O'Neill, I dont know if this thread matters if you throw a spoiler up, but my copy isnt getting here til christmas
Whats the lowdown on the tally story if you could condense it for us?
The suspenders have been killing me ever since Paddy Tally left the set up.
The jist is this:
Mickey begins the chapter on 2004 talking about some life philosopher who writes about the 'Disease of me', i.e someone who thinks that their opinion/worth can rise from 20% input to 80% after a successful event. He then coldly moves on to Paddy Tally. To summarise, Paddy (according to MH) was talking to players about tactics and line-ups which was outside of his remit. Mickey began to take tighter control of training affairs as he didn't trust PT and after a few aborted attempts in September, he finally told Tally his services were not needed. It was probably the coldest, and most calculated, example we have to describe Mickey's single-mindedness in the book.
I think you can infer who Tally was talking about.
Thanks.
Dont think there was ever any doubt as to the mans ruthless streak to get the job done.
Quote from: ONeill on November 07, 2009, 12:44:49 AM
The jist is this:
Mickey begins the chapter on 2004 talking about some life philosopher who writes about the 'Disease of me', i.e someone who thinks that their opinion/worth can rise from 20% input to 80% after a successful event. He then coldly moves on to Paddy Tally. To summarise, Paddy (according to MH) was talking to players about tactics and line-ups which was outside of his remit. Mickey began to take tighter control of training affairs as he didn't trust PT and after a few aborted attempts in September, he finally told Tally his services were not needed. It was probably the coldest, and most calculated, example we have to describe Mickey's single-mindedness in the book.
I think you can infer who Tally was talking about.
Remember it being mentioned on a course. Think it is by former Lakers coach Pat Riley.
Correct Tony
Pat Riley charts the "Seven Danger Signals of the Disease of Me." Here they are:
Inexperience in dealing with sudden success.
Chronic feelings of underappreciation.
Paranoia over being cheated out of one's rightful share.
Resentment against the competence of partners.
Personal effort mustered solely to outshine a teammate.
A leadership vacuum resulting from the formation of cliques and rivalries.
Feelings of frustration even when the team performs successfully.
I have a lot of reservations about Harte's ruthlessness, ego, content of his books, newspaper columns, what he did on Cavanagh etc but if the choice is someone
everyone loves who can't win an All Ireland or Harte with his way of going on, well, so be it... I've enjoyed Sam coming here three times since he took over. Can't have it both ways it seems....
The county board deserve a lot of praise for appointing him in '91 despite practically falling out with him for much of the previous decade! They saw in him what we are reaping as supporters now. Thank God Mickey 'respects our ignorance'!!!
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 10:13:38 AM
I have a lot of reservations about Harte's ruthlessness, ego, content of his books, newspaper columns, what he did on Cavanagh etc but if the choice is someone
everyone loves who can't win an All Ireland or Harte with his way of going on, well, so be it... I've enjoyed Sam coming here three times since he took over. Can't have it both ways it seems....
Exactly. Who cares if he's a p***k.
Quote from: ONeill on November 07, 2009, 10:35:16 AM
The county board deserve a lot of praise for appointing him in '91 despite practically falling out with him for much of the previous decade! They saw in him what we are reaping as supporters now. Thank God Mickey 'respects our ignorance'!!!
Aye, statements like that from him can be very nausiating.
I see he's a big fan of Anthony De Mello, a man almost outlawed by the present Pope!
Quote from: ONeill on November 07, 2009, 01:25:21 PM
I see he's a big fan of Anthony De Mello, a man almost outlawed by the present Pope!
I find the whole mysticism and psychobabble thing very strange for an "ordinary man" from Tyrone. Is it real or does he surround himself in this so he can coin it in as a motivational speaker?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2009, 02:58:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 07, 2009, 01:25:21 PM
I find the whole mysticism and psychobabble thing very strange for an "ordinary man" from Tyrone. Is it real or does he surround himself in this so he can coin it in as a motivational speaker?
Personally, I'm into that shit too.