So, if I understand it right, we have to beat Cork, and either Monaghan must loss to Laois at Portlaoise or Kildare must lose to Meath at Navan. Draws don't do us great favours because of the point differential. Can certainly be done, but will need Clarke and McKeever. Midfield remains a worry.
Any word on what the injury to McKeever is?
Haven't heard for sure, but radio commentator seemed to think it was a groin pull. If we're lucky, it'll heal in a couple of weeks.
Armagh doing us a favour is probably the best hope of Monaghan winning promotion. At least with Armagh winning today, there will still be incentive for them to go for a win against Cork.
Midfield was good today, and McKeever seemed ok after the incident that lead to him being taken off. It looked to me like it was precautionary more than anything
Good to hear on both accounts. To listen to the radio, it sounded as if the midfield was getting roasted, especially on kick-outs.
Quote from: Oraisteach on March 29, 2009, 07:43:05 PM
Good to hear on both accounts. To listen to the radio, it sounded as if the midfield was getting roasted, especially on kick-outs.
Big Ward caught a few of Toner alrite, but Vernon won a serious amount of ball in the first half from scrapping.
I though McKeever hurt his right knee.
apart from the kernans has anyone else from cross joined the panel yet ?
Quote from: naka on March 30, 2009, 09:55:01 AM
I was at the opposite side of the field from the dug out but there were no other Cross players called out over the PA system as being on the subs so I don't think so.
Whatever about promotion I think the last few weeks has shown who will make the cut on the 31st May and who won't. For what it is worth this would be my team for the Tyrone match.
McEvoy
A Mallon P Kernan B Donaghy
A Kernan C McKeever B Shannon
C Vernon K Toner
B Mallon P Toal M O'Rourke
S McDonnell
R Clarke K O'Rourke
Although B Mallon is going through a bad patch at the minute I would pick him with a view to the wing backs we will be playing against. D Harte and P Jordan will bomb forward at every opportunity and we will need wing forwards with the engine to track them back. For me, Peadar Toal has to make it to give our HF line some cutting edge and a scoring threat. The experiment of withdrawing Stevie back has worked well and I'd imagine will continue into the championship. As bc1 has said on the Meath thread we need a ball winner in the FF line along with Clarkie so K O'Rourke gets the nod ahead of R Henderson who I would bring on in the second half when there is a bit more room, same goes for SK. TK is a further option especially with his free taking.
The back line for me picks itself with Barry Shannon getting in ahead of Finn Mo at wing back. If Stephen o'Neill is fit then Ciaran McKeever will have to pick him up and PK could come out to CHB. I'd let B Donaghy pick Cavanagh up as I have that much confidence in him. AOR is the obvious casualty here but I think you have to pick horses for courses. I think his lack of mobility against Tyrone would be a big problem.
Midfield has been going fairly well in the last two outings and are in for a big test on Easter Sunday. If they do well there then they have earned the right to play championship football together as taking on the likes of Earley, Ward, Crawford and Nicolas Murphy will have stood to the very young pairing. McGrane would come on the second half when (hopefully) the game will be in the melting pot.
Overall it's a very mobile Armagh team something that we haven't always had but is now very important in today's game. It's a young team who probably won't win much this year but I really feel have a big future.
Mackers. That team is not too far away from one I would pick myself. When it comes to the crunch, however, it looks as if Toal and O'Rourke will have no chance starting and Finn Mo. will get on somewhere - I think he has started every game since McDonnell took over. Still after the Laois game we would have settled for where we are now. Maybe McDonnell will be like the two Brians and develop a team for someone else to bring on. Hopefully anyway.
PLEEEEAAAASE do us a favour good neighbours.. :D Looks like our Meath result may come back to haunt us.. ::)
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2009, 01:51:10 PM
PLEEEEAAAASE do us a favour good neighbours.. :D Looks like our Meath result may come back to haunt us.. ::)
No sweat. Can you lads do us an equally big favour and lose please? Cheers ;)
Quote from: mackers on March 30, 2009, 11:25:43 AM
Quote from: naka on March 30, 2009, 09:55:01 AM
I was at the opposite side of the field from the dug out but there were no other Cross players called out over the PA system as being on the subs so I don't think so.
Whatever about promotion I think the last few weeks has shown who will make the cut on the 31st May and who won't. For what it is worth this would be my team for the Tyrone match.
McEvoy
A Mallon P Kernan B Donaghy
C Vernon K Toner
B Mallon P Toal M O'Rourke
S McDonnell
R Clarke K O'Rourke
Although B Mallon is going through a bad patch at the minute I would pick him with a view to the wing backs we will be playing against. D Harte and P Jordan will bomb forward at every opportunity and we will need wing forwards with the engine to track them back. For me, Peadar Toal has to make it to give our HF line some cutting edge and a scoring threat. The experiment of withdrawing Stevie back has worked well and I'd imagine will continue into the championship. As bc1 has said on the Meath thread we need a ball winner in the FF line along with Clarkie so K O'Rourke gets the nod ahead of R Henderson who I would bring on in the second half when there is a bit more room, same goes for SK. TK is a further option especially with his free taking.
The back line for me picks itself with Barry Shannon getting in ahead of Finn Mo at wing back. If Stephen o'Neill is fit then Ciaran McKeever will have to pick him up and PK could come out to CHB. I'd let B Donaghy pick Cavanagh up as I have that much confidence in him. AOR is the obvious casualty here but I think you have to pick horses for courses. I think his lack of mobility against Tyrone would be a big problem.
Midfield has been going fairly well in the last two outings and are in for a big test on Easter Sunday. If they do well there then they have earned the right to play championship football together as taking on the likes of Earley, Ward, Crawford and Nicolas Murphy will have stood to the very young pairing. McGrane would come on the second half when (hopefully) the game will be in the melting pot.
Overall it's a very mobile Armagh team something that we haven't always had but is now very important in today's game. It's a young team who probably won't win much this year but I really feel have a big future.
Good team mackers, but even though I'd pick them, I can't see Paul Kernan or Peadar Toal getting the nod at this stage. It'll be even more difficult to see either feature against Tyrone if they don't start this last game against Cork. As Throw ball has hinted at, I'd be shocked if McDonnell dropped Finn Mo :-\
This is the team I think will line out, I'd have doubts over the guys in bold.
McEvoy
A Mallon B Donaghy B Shannon
F Moriarty A O'Rourke C McKeever
C Vernon K Toner
A Kernan
B Mallon M O'Rourke
S McDonnell
R Clarke
S Kernan
I know he's a talented lad, but I can't see the justification for starting Peader Toal to lead the attack against Tyrone.
The team I Think McDonnell will start v Tyrone (barring injuries)
McEvoy
A Kernan C McKeever F Moriarty
K Toner C Vernon
M O'Rourke B Mallon
S Kernan S McDonnell
R Clarke K O'Rourke
The team I'd start:
Hearty
A Mallon B Donaghy P Kernan
K Toner C Vernon
M O'Rourke J Lavery S Kernan
S McDonnell R Clarke T Kernan
There are still a few questionable positions that in theory should be up for grabs but i don't understand why anyone would suggest that P Toal or P Kernan should start against Tyrone. The thought of Paul Kernan starting would give me sleepless nights. Peadar Toal too, just hasn't earned his stripes yet. Lads need to get a few games under their belts with a few decent performances before we can start touting them up as starters. I don't really understand how Finian Moriarity hasn't been 'rested' or at least subbed by now. Strange one that. This league he has been skinned game after game. Shannon has done quite well and should be in with a shout. Brendan Donaghy has to be in that backline somewhere. Up front, outside Clarke, McDonnell, MOR, KOR, there's really any 2 of 5 or 6 players who could come in there. Vernon and Toner look the best midfield pairing, with a fit Paul McGrane to play a role (but not for a full 70 mins).
The thinking behind Paul Kernan was mobility, I wouldn't be throwing AOR on the scrap heap at all, just that if we're going to take Tyrone on we need a very mobile 15 on the pitch. I think he has improved dramatically since he got the run around against Cork in the u21 AI semi in Portlaoise and was one of the few Cross players to do themselves justice on Paddy's Day.
I know I'm reaching a bit with Peadar Toal but we badly need something the HF line and he is a very talented player, it's a pity his attitude doesn't match his talent. He was nowhere to be seen on Sunday last, has he gone AWOL or is he injured again?? The alternative seems to be SK who I would use as a sub when there are gaps to exploit with his passing, he simply won't win his own ball when things are frantic in the opening half of a match against Tyrone.
You cheeky bollox.
Ye were lucky ye even got a point! >:(
Team for cork with everyone available and with one eye on the bushes:
McEvoy
Mallon Donaghy P Kernan
McKeever O'Rourke Shannon
Toner Vernon
A Kernan O'Rourke McKenna
McDonnell Clarke Mallon
Quote from: Jinxy on March 31, 2009, 10:44:40 AM
You cheeky bollox.
Ye were lucky ye even got a point! >:(
Jaysus relax Jinxy. In what part of my statement did you read that we were lucky or otherwise?? Calm down man..
Sorry other posters..
Quote from: The GAA on March 31, 2009, 02:22:45 PM
Team for cork with everyone available and with one eye on the bushes:
McEvoy
Mallon Donaghy P Kernan
McKeever O'Rourke Shannon
Toner Vernon
A Kernan O'Rourke McKenna
McDonnell Clarke Mallon
maybe its just me but i wouldnt play aorwhilst he is a fine footballer( he lacks mobility ), my belief is that we should play cmck as centre half back,
with regard to pk and mc kenna does anyone know if any of the cross boys save for the kernans have joined the panel becauce once we have an idea as to who else is in the mix then we can start thinking about our championship team, with regard to mc grane would be seriously worried about his capabilities this summer his is still unable to train and we are only 9 weeks from the tyrone game
I usually consider centre back a pivotal position requiring much more awareness and cuteness than wing back but i don't think that will be important against tyrone. their approach will make all 3 half back jobs the same i reckon. i still haven't seen o'rourke exposed for pace or mobility - bit like bellew - but even if that was a worry he could easily be matched u against a dooher, mcmahon or mellon.
McGrane is a worry. i have only heard rumours this far but the signs aren't great for him coming back in i believe
His final year (I presume) could end up like Oisin's. :-\
Quote from: mackers on March 31, 2009, 03:37:16 PM
In the bookies :D Sorry couldn't resist that.
Team for cork. well acorrding to me anyway :D
McEvoy
Mallon Donaghy P Kernan
AK McKeever Shannon
Toner Vernon
O'Rourke Mallon McKenna
McDonnell Clarke Henderson / TK (Tough call)
Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:09:38 PM
NO.....Prompting Ballyhegan to a 20 point win over Clans. ;D ;D
Quote from: crossfire on March 31, 2009, 08:52:47 PM
NO.....Prompting Ballyhegan to a 20 point win over Clans. ;D ;D
Whats wrong with that... ??? Ballyhegan are an up and coming team and the Clans are on their way out so it's very possible...I take it you heard then!!!
Has anyone been able to confirm whether P Toal is still on the panel, been training or injured?
Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 02, 2009, 10:29:22 PM
Has anyone been able to confirm whether P Toal is still on the panel, been training or injured?
Have you any reason to believe that he is no longer on the panel?
Quote from: AFS on April 02, 2009, 10:32:35 PM
He's injured (again).
No reason to suspect he wasn't on the panel; ust hadn't heard mention of him being injured and time is running out for him to make a mark in the HF line. Seems to be very injury prone, but I think he has great abilty.
Could Forker do a job in the HF line and is it to early to expect Jamie Clarke's skill to show itself at senior intercounty level? Are any of the current U-21s, great prospects that they are, realistic senior material at the moment. Cumiskey looks a great prospect and there does appearbe a lot of talent in the county. It's a quandry as to who the best 15 are in the county in their positions or achieving the best blend. Good situ to be in.
Is K Toner likely to face Cork considering the U21 final is on the following Wednesday? Maybe a chance to see D McKenna in midfield, or experimenting in the HF line. He has tremendous pace and his height and fielding may yeild better results away from a congested middle?
Well you should have resisted it. p***k.
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 03, 2009, 01:20:21 PM
Well you should have resisted it. p***k.
Wasn't that bad TAC, just a stupid joke from Illdecide.
Bit of an over reaction there Tac... a jokes a joke
armagh v cork thread, lets keep it that way lads
Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 03, 2009, 10:24:44 AM
No reason to suspect he wasn't on the panel; ust hadn't heard mention of him being injured and time is running out for him to make a mark in the HF line. Seems to be very injury prone, but I think he has great abilty.
Could Forker do a job in the HF line and is it to early to expect Jamie Clarke's skill to show itself at senior intercounty level? Are any of the current U-21s, great prospects that they are, realistic senior material at the moment. Cumiskey looks a great prospect and there does appearbe a lot of talent in the county. It's a quandry as to who the best 15 are in the county in their positions or achieving the best blend. Good situ to be in.
Is K Toner likely to face Cork considering the U21 final is on the following Wednesday? Maybe a chance to see D McKenna in midfield, or experimenting in the HF line. He has tremendous pace and his height and fielding may yeild better results away from a congested middle?
Not sure about Forker in the HF line, the way we seem to be playing our HFs need to be absolute workhorses and although Forker is a very talented forward I'm not sure its his game to be scraping around for dirty ball in the HB line :-\ Probably a year or two early for Clarke, but I've really high hopes for him down the line. The whole HB line on that U21 team have tremendous pace, Cumiskey is the lad at Uni in Scotland though isn't he? Dunno how that might restrict development over the next couple of years for him :-\
The GAA, and the Ulster Council in particular, seem to be doing their bit for player burn out this season anyway. Ulster final, crucial league match, and then a potential AI semi final in the space of 7 days for Toner. Joke of a situation ::)
Not sure about Forker in the HF line, the way we seem to be playing our HFs need to be absolute workhorses and although Forker is a very talented forward I'm not sure its his game to be scraping around for dirty ball in the HB line
I agree. That's whay I'd like to see someone like Toal who has the ability to deliver an accurate pass. From what I've seen this year I don't think Mallon and MOR in the same has been successful. As someone pointed out earlier, they seem to be doing the same job, dropping back and foraging for ball. With Charlie snapping up a lot of loose ball, do we need two HFs committed to that role too? Then when we do pick up the breaks there's often an ocean of space into the FF line with no consistent and accurate delivery going in. A linking, scoring HF along with MOR is required, which is why I think Toal may produce a more coherent and productive line. KOR has also played HF for the U21s and I thought he got on the ball a lot and used it well.
My $0.02 worth.
Toal has gone from county panel, surprise surprise......but is going to concentrate on his club...... ::)
It is too early for the likes of Jamie Clark and possibly Forker, the advantage of the U-21 grade is to give players fairly high level competition rather than sitting on the bench of senior team. Their time will come and it is great that we have some talent coming through. We have Mallon SK, TK, KOR, MOR (jr) Feeney and Henderson, we just have to figure what is the best way to use these to best advantage.
Quote from: thebandit on March 30, 2009, 10:50:54 PM
I know he's a talented lad, but I can't see the justification for starting Peader Toal to lead the attack against Tyrone.
The team I Think McDonnell will start v Tyrone (barring injuries)
McEvoy
A Kernan C McKeever F Moriarty
K Toner C Vernon
M O'Rourke B Mallon
S Kernan S McDonnell
R Clarke K O'Rourke
The team I'd start:
Hearty
A Mallon B Donaghy P Kernan
K Toner C Vernon
M O'Rourke J Lavery S Kernan
S McDonnell R Clarke T Kernan
dont see the justification of lavery starting tbh never mind at centre half forward.really seems be struggling this year, after his injury
Peadar has left (or was pushed depending on which version you listen to) the Armagh panel alright. Pity for Armagh but great news for the Harps. Hear he was deadly today in the Killeavey 7's, scored 0-10 (from 0-13)as Harps beat Cross in a group game and contributed 2-20 or something in the four games he played (and missed most of one of them afer going over on his ankle). I dont think I'd be doing him an injustice by saying he just cant be arsed, just the way he is unfourtunately.
Yeah benny, pity that, as I know he is a class act alright
Still, it's better he leaves now than just before the business end...
That lad Toal seems to have trouble getting his right, he obviously has talent and prob a lot more than guys on the panel but we all know if your attitude's not right and focused 100% then talent is not enough. Good news for Harps though as he'll be there every week to send them back up to Div 1...
Tac your a bit out of order there saan, it was a joke as stated so less of the insults there are enough tools on the board without adding another wan to the list. >:(
As for the Cork game and the rest of the year i think we're shaping up ok, i'd say 11 or 12 positions are clear enough with just 1 in defence, 1 in midfield and 1 in attack to maul over and the fitter the lads get and the more the ground firms up these positions will become more clearer...
Personally I think its a lot more out of order to mock somebody's addiction, especially when its somebody who has given as much to Armagh supporters as Oisin has over the years.
No point in going on about it though.
Quote from: bennydorano on April 04, 2009, 07:56:48 PM
Peadar has left (or was pushed depending on which version you listen to) the Armagh panel alright. Pity for Armagh but great news for the Harps. Hear he was deadly today in the Killeavey 7's, scored 0-10 (from 0-13)as Harps beat Cross in a group game and contributed 2-20 or something in the four games he played (and missed most of one of them afer going over on his ankle). I dont think I'd be doing him an injustice by saying he just cant be arsed, just the way he is unfourtunately.
this is very disappointing. I'll hold my hands up and say that I have not followed the county as much as I should over the past couple of years but before this years league started i was intent on getting to as many games as possible and that was mainly to get seeing peadar. now as I know he played at the w/e in the 7's and he isnt injured, there is obviously some sort of disagreement somewhere about something between him and someone.
if the notion about peadar is that he just cant be arsed is floating around then thats a bit unfair. as most of us know he is naturally talented has natural fitness, the works, he's probably the type of lad who could do nothing for a whole year, grab his boots, go out on to field and skin all around him. we all know that these county teams are training almost like professional teams nowadays. now for lads in peadars category of ability(&mentality), to have to go out and put in the kind of training that is currently in place might all seem a bit unnecessary. its v v easy for us on the sidelines to be saying "for the love of the county" and that but some of the training might be a step too far...but i do know if he's thrown a jersey he can do things.
I don't know yet why he's no longer on the panel but all i can say is, that this is a big loss for us, v disappointing...at the end of the day we need new men coming in and having a full squad of men to call on...i'll still be in cork at the weekend though
Sure just let him come and go as he pleases ???
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 05, 2009, 02:30:33 PM
Personally I think its a lot more out of order to mock somebody's addiction, especially when its somebody who has given as much to Armagh supporters as Oisin has over the years.
Yeah can see what you mean, but we all know Illdecude and that he is a big softy, I doubt he meant any harm, but probably best to keep those jokes off.
BTW meant to pull you up on this. You said McEvoy trying to punch the ball from behind the nets was cheating. Surely even if he punches through the net if the ball has not crossed the bar it is not a point?
Anyway, it is an advantage like trying to take an extra step forward in a free kick or taking five steps. Wouldn't label it as cheating.
I wonder will there be three keepers on the panel. TBH Rodgers has not done much wrong either.
in my opinion having 3 keepers would be a waste of a player on the panel. 2 keepers is quite sufficient. Hearty and Mc Evoy will be the keepers.
I hear that the panel will be cut down to 30 within the next week or so. It will be interesting to see what the 30 will be. it would be hard for us to name our 30 as we do not have the opportunity to see all the players in training and in matches amongst themselves. I think the panel at the minute is pretty strong and if we get a bit of luck who knows what could happen.
Quote from: davo on April 06, 2009, 10:45:38 AM
Hearty and Mc Evoy will be the keepers.
You never know...
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2009, 09:36:56 AM
you've misread me there i think.
when i'm saying about how some current county setups are run almost as if our footballers are expected to be professionals now that in turn can lead to some players not wanting to be part of it or have the hunger for it - either not having time (thru work commitments which is happening throughout the length and breadth of the country) / or just wanting to concentrate on other matters outside of the county football.
believe you me Peadar would want to be sticking the jersey on for his county as much as every other man on the panel but maybe he feels he doesnt have to run through walls 2 or 3 nights a week just to prove to someone he's committed to the cause.
Quote from: Abble on April 06, 2009, 12:41:31 PM
when i'm saying about how some current county setups are run almost as if our footballers are expected to be professionals now that in turn can lead to some players not wanting to be part of it or have the hunger for it - either not having time (thru work commitments which is happening throughout the length and breadth of the country) / or just wanting to concentrate on other matters outside of the county football.
believe you me Peadar would want to be sticking the jersey on for his county as much as every other man on the panel but maybe he feels he doesnt have to run through walls 2 or 3 nights a week just to prove to someone he's committed to the cause.
I know what your saying and believe me every club has guys like that who are naturaly fit and are gifted footballers but unfortunatley in Peadar's case it's a team game and while he'd like to train when it suited him (your words, not Peader's) the rest of the panel who are busting their ass 3-4 nights a week would not stand for this attitute and it would cause grief in the squad..."All for one and one for all" and all that sh!t...Know what i'm saying...
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2009, 12:49:30 PM
I know what your saying and believe me every club has guys like that who are naturaly fit and are gifted footballers but unfortunatley in Peadar's case it's a team game and while he'd like to train when it suited him (your words, not Peader's) the rest of the panel who are busting their ass 3-4 nights a week would not stand for this attitute and it would cause grief in the squad..."All for one and one for all" and all that sh!t...Know what i'm saying...
i dont think i said anywhere "peadar prefers to train whenever it suits him" ? maybe you know something i don't
in an ideal world where these boys didnt have to do a days work on top of their other sporting/family commitments then i'm sure there wouldnt be a problem, so just ease up on these boys. most of us can sit up with our cocoa in front of coronation street at the end of a days work and slabber away here all we like but at the end of the day thems the boys has to put the extra work in so i dont think anyone can fault them
You're right, of course, Abble, supporters have no right to demand that players put in the hours that they do. It's completely up to Peadar, as a supporter I'm disappointed as he had something to offer the team, but it's his own choice.
County teams are probably putting their players through a lot but I'd much rather players did what Peadar is doing than moan about "pay for play".
Quote from: corn02 on April 06, 2009, 10:18:15 AM
Yeah can see what you mean, but we all know Illdecude and that he is a big softy, I doubt he meant any harm, but probably best to keep those jokes off.
BTW meant to pull you up on this. You said McEvoy trying to punch the ball from behind the nets was cheating. Surely even if he punches through the net if the ball has not crossed the bar it is not a point?
Anyway, it is an advantage like trying to take an extra step forward in a free kick or taking five steps. Wouldn't label it as cheating.
I wonder will there be three keepers on the panel. TBH Rodgers has not done much wrong either.
As far as I could see the ball was on top of the net and therefore must have been a point. Maybe cheating is a bit harsh a word to use but it and stealing yards are deliberately breaking rules to gain an advantage so its splitting hairs a bit. I'm not trying to undermine the fella's character! I just have a personal vendetta against this sort of thing as I got myself into any awful row in one match over giving a goal when a goalkeeper claimed he'd punched it clear.
My main concern with what he did was the likelihood Meath would have scored a goal from the loose ball if the umpire hadn't given the point
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 06, 2009, 02:06:13 PM
As far as I could see the ball was on top of the net and therefore must have been a point. Maybe cheating is a bit harsh a word to use but it and stealing yards are deliberately breaking rules to gain an advantage so its splitting hairs a bit. I'm not trying to undermine the fella's character! I just have a personal vendetta against this sort of thing as I got myself into any awful row in one match over giving a goal when a goalkeeper claimed he'd punched it clear.
My main concern with what he did was the likelihood Meath would have scored a goal from the loose ball if the umpire hadn't given the point
For your second point. He would have looked brave and foolish if they had got a goal out of it.
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 06, 2009, 02:06:13 PM
It may be a moot point but from where I was i thought the ball had gone over the bar and then hit the post that was holding the netting up inside the goal and rebounded off it. I would have been very close to that net though so my angle wouldnt have been great but there sounded like ball on post as well
Dunno what the situation is with Paul McGrane but i reckon his starting 15 against Cork should will be there or there abouts regarding his championship team. The U21's playing during the week could maybe upset his plans a we bit but the last 1-2 league games usually give you an indication of the championship team...
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2009, 03:40:38 PM
Dunno what the situation is with Paul McGrane but i reckon his starting 15 against Cork should will be there or there abouts regarding his championship team. The U21's playing during the week could maybe upset his plans a we bit but the last 1-2 league games usually give you an indication of the championship team...
think mc grane is still injured( believe its his knee)
i would say he will not start toner nor forker in cork as they have an ulster final next week, we might get to see mc kenna and kernan,
i wonder will he approach mc entee for some experience /leadership around the middle now that mc grane is struggling, considering Armagh are playing a
3-3-3-2-1-2 formation
with 3 guys playing around the nmiddle
Nah i don't think thats gonna happen. Has John Mac not already clarified his situation regarding Armagh, i think he said something along the lines of my legs are gone for county football and even struggling with Cross
I'm a bit confused about the toal thing? Is it that he didn't want to train 2 or 3 nights a week?
Quote from: naka on April 06, 2009, 03:49:55 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2009, 03:40:38 PM
think mc grane is still injured( believe its his knee)
i would say he will not start toner nor forker in cork as they have an ulster final next week, we might get to see mc kenna and kernan,
i wonder will he approach mc entee for some experience /leadership around the middle now that mc grane is struggling, considering Armagh are playing a
3-3-3-2-1-2 formation
with 3 guys playing around the nmiddle
Mcgrane would be a good man to bring on late on to catch a few balls but I think he will struggle to start.
New Armagh poster to this forum so apologies if i don't hit the ground running. have heard a lot about the place and on first viewing i have to say its not as negative and critical as i expected! i'm an avid follower of the county for more than 40 years - challenge, league and championship.
Regarding armagh, i would be anxious over the direction the team is taking at the minute and i feel we are carrying quite a few passengers. in the league this year, only the form of a crucial 3 or 4 has consistently kept the head above water. there is a lot of work to be done to carry a threat to tyrone in may.
The most alarming thing to me is that the armagh management appear to want to mirror the tyrone style of play despite that, in my view, not emphasizing our own county's strengths. much of the football is short, laboured and indirect.
I'm also alarmed at the deterioration over the last two season of armagh's capacity to win ball in the middle third and defensive capabilities of our defensive unit. is this down to coaching? i do think there was been more variety introduced into the forward play and arguably armagh are less predictable in that department.
Going forward and looking towards making strides in the championship, i'd like to see something along the lines of the following for cork
McEvoy, Mallon, McKeever, Donaghy, an other, o'rourke, kernan, toner and vernon, o'rourke, an other, McKenna, McDonnell, Clarke, Mallon.
looking at how the forward line has been set up, it seems the 11 is dropping into midfield looking to win ball and service the full forward line - a bit like john mcentee played, with McDonnell dropping out an functioning as a centre forward. for that type of 11 we need a strong ball winner who can see and pass well. i'm not sure o'rourke (who has been doing this role) has the final quality on his passing and is needed at wing forward for his workrate in any case. steven kernan is an uncomfrotable solution, as are mcdonnell and mallon. so i don't know really.
we also need a wing back - preferebly a defensively competent one given kernan on the other wing. some of those who have been looked at extensively to date don't cut the mustard for me. on both an others i don'tthink management have looked hard enough at viable alternatives. could donnelly do a job a wing back. kas always seemed defensively suspect to me but not sure.
i think none of us would deny there is work to be done but the potential is in this squad and future squads to do great things with a minor team doing ok and an under21 team in the ulster final
The McGrane thread doesn't seem like the place to discuss this so:
A lot of players have walked away from armagh in the last fortnight. Not dropped or push but walked away. that is very alarming indeed at this time of year.
Aside from McGrane's unfortunate ijuruy circumstances, having done what enquiring i can those that have apparently quit include paddy mckeever, eugene McDonnell, francie bellew, paedar toal, barry mcdonald, barry toner, shorty clarke, neil o'rourke and mal mackin.
That is alarming to say the least.
Quote from: The GAA on April 09, 2009, 11:25:46 AM
A lot of players have walked away from armagh in the last fortnight. Not dropped or push but walked away. that is very alarming indeed at this time of year.
Aside from McGrane's unfortunate ijuruy circumstances, having done what enquiring i can those that have apparently quit include paddy mckeever, eugene McDonnell, francie bellew, paedar toal, barry mcdonald, barry toner, shorty clarke, neil o'rourke and mal mackin.
Maybe they knew the writing was on the wall with the squad due to be cut back next week anyway.
Quote from: The GAA on April 09, 2009, 11:25:46 AM
The timing is certainly strange but its time to have a squad of young dedicated players.
Maybe. For the sake of a week you'd hang on and hope for the best surely?
I'd say they got the indicators.
Time for Mallon, McKeever, MOR to stand up and become the new leaders.
Team?
McEvoy
Mallon Donaghy Shannon
Finn Mo AOR McKeever
Toner Vernon
MOR AK Barnsey
Mallon Clarke McDonnell
Yes, possibly. the paddy McKeever one sits awkwardly though.
Not a bad team corn but not comfortable with moriarty at wing back and barnsy at wing forward.
Hearty
Mallon AOR Shannon
AK Donaghy McKeever
Toner Vernon
Mckenna MOR
Mallon McDonnell
Barnsey Clarke
Has it occurred to anyone that perhaps these players simply do not fit into the way that Peter McDonnell wants to operate? Like when any player leaves/retires/is dropped the squad will still go on. Perhaps on their performances at training a decision was made not to give them any game time. Armagh started off the league campaign poorly and could have fallen into the relegation trap. Now they are in the position to get promoted and that is only a good thing. Playing against better quality teams brings a player on more than playing against lesser teams.
I doubt if anyone on here knows what went on at training but I am sure if they fitted into the plans they would still be there. Of the names posted Francie, McKeever and McGrane retired. Line drawn under them. Peader Toal has bags of ability but that only takes you so far at championship level. Even when I was playing in Cross, and this is 3-4 years ago, I was told he would not make it(by a Harps man) because of his attitude. From what I know of the other players mentioned I think they are good, but they a cut below senior county level. It may not have been done in the best way but who really cares in the long run. If these players take the hump and cry into their beer, they are not worth having around the team.
Move on and lets hope for a good result on Sunday and for the other results to go our way. I have heard a few rumblings of discontent in Cork also.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 09, 2009, 03:08:44 PM
Has it occurred to anyone that perhaps these players simply do not fit into the way that Peter McDonnell wants to operate? Like when any player leaves/retires/is dropped the squad will still go on. Perhaps on their performances at training a decision was made not to give them any game time. Armagh started off the league campaign poorly and could have fallen into the relegation trap. Now they are in the position to get promoted and that is only a good thing. Playing against better quality teams brings a player on more than playing against lesser teams.
I doubt if anyone on here knows what went on at training but I am sure if they fitted into the plans they would still be there. Of the names posted Francie, McKeever and McGrane retired. Line drawn under them. Peader Toal has bags of ability but that only takes you so far at championship level. Even when I was playing in Cross, and this is 3-4 years ago, I was told he would not make it(by a Harps man) because of his attitude. From what I know of the other players mentioned I think they are good, but they a cut below senior county level. It may not have been done in the best way but who really cares in the long run. If these players take the hump and cry into their beer, they are not worth having around the team.
Move on and lets hope for a good result on Sunday and for the other results to go our way. I have heard a few rumblings of discontent in Cork also.
Cork in discontent shock :o
Say it ain't so.
I agree with BC on this one. We as supporters do not know what has been going on in training over the last 3 months. When the management pick their panel it will be the best 30 or so lads they feel will do the best for armagh. This will be based on the mckenna cup, league, club and their own internal training and matches.
Looking forward to Cork. I have a feeling that the team will change from the last day because although we won it wasnt convincing. Should be a good weekend.
Bit harsh BC are you saying they were perhaps dropped or am I picking it up wrong as is usually the case?
I know McGrane and Bellew would certainly have been welcomed with open arms. Don; know what the craic with McKeever was.
I would agree with that bc, Paddy McKeever is the only departure that I would query, but of the lads that left of their own accord, it's fairly obvious that they wouldn't be making the squad anyway. Some people do like the conspiracy theories though.
Quote from: Abble on April 06, 2009, 08:17:03 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 04, 2009, 07:56:48 PM
this is very disappointing. I'll hold my hands up and say that I have not followed the county as much as I should over the past couple of years but before this years league started i was intent on getting to as many games as possible and that was mainly to get seeing peadar. now as I know he played at the w/e in the 7's and he isnt injured, there is obviously some sort of disagreement somewhere about something between him and someone.
if the notion about peadar is that he just cant be arsed is floating around then thats a bit unfair. as most of us know he is naturally talented has natural fitness, the works, he's probably the type of lad who could do nothing for a whole year, grab his boots, go out on to field and skin all around him. we all know that these county teams are training almost like professional teams nowadays. now for lads in peadars category of ability(&mentality), to have to go out and put in the kind of training that is currently in place might all seem a bit unnecessary. its v v easy for us on the sidelines to be saying "for the love of the county" and that but some of the training might be a step too far...but i do know if he's thrown a jersey he can do things.
I don't know yet why he's no longer on the panel but all i can say is, that this is a big loss for us, v disappointing...at the end of the day we need new men coming in and having a full squad of men to call on...i'll still be in cork at the weekend though
cant see the logic in your post.what is his type of mentality meant mean??im good so i dont train? the lad maybe talented and i for 1 would love to have him on the panel but better off rid of players like that.
Quote from: corn02 on April 09, 2009, 04:47:02 PM
Bit harsh BC are you saying they were perhaps dropped or am I picking it up wrong as is usually the case?
I know McGrane and Bellew would certainly have been welcomed with open arms. Don; know what the craic with McKeever was.
Reading between the lines corn I would say it was a case of jumping before being pushed. I don't see how what I say is harsh. Players come and players go. Some are good enough, some are not. If the management did not think that the players merited more regular football then why should he play the, to keep keyborad warriors like us happy? Now is the time to get the championship team ready so the lads that were there who were not likely to make the cut are better off being out of the squad at this stage.
Move on now.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 09, 2009, 09:44:08 PM
Quote from: corn02 on April 09, 2009, 04:47:02 PM
Reading between the lines corn I would say it was a case of jumping before being pushed. I don't see how what I say is harsh. Players come and players go. Some are good enough, some are not. If the management did not think that the players merited more regular football then why should he play the, to keep keyborad warriors like us happy? Now is the time to get the championship team ready so the lads that were there who were not likely to make the cut are better off being out of the squad at this stage.
Move on now.
I am certain McGrane and Bellew would not have been dropped.
Any word on a team?
Quote from: The GAA on April 10, 2009, 10:52:08 AM
Any word on a team?
Have we any players left ??? :P
They are all on strike
Quote from: illdecide on April 10, 2009, 10:54:54 AM
Any word on a team?
Have ye yer boots? whats size are ye - boots and dress?
Quote from: The GAA on April 10, 2009, 11:00:03 AM
Any word on a team?
I sure have but i'm afraid to travel down to Cork...fecking scary place that...
I'm assuming he'll play his full hand in this game (including the U21 guys) I know their final is coming next week but whats more important...winning in Cork and getting promotion to DIvision 1 or winning the Ulster U21's...???????????
Quote from: illdecide on April 10, 2009, 11:49:29 AM
Quote from: The GAA on April 10, 2009, 11:00:03 AM
Any word on a team?
I sure have but i'm afraid to travel down to Cork...fecking scary place that...
I'm assuming he'll play his full hand in this game (including the U21 guys) I know their final is coming next week but whats more important...winning in Cork and getting promotion to DIvision 1 or winning the Ulster U21's...???????????
I don't think gaining promotion is a priority, division 2 is just as competitive. Sunday is all about further preparation for the tyrone game and the players putting in a good display, promotion is merely a bonus. The u21's continuing through the championship will only benefit the seniors in the future because of the experience they will gain.
if you can see promotion is achievable then you must go for it....div 2 is competitive alright but I think there is a bit of a gap opening up between 1 and 2 and 1 is where you need to be at
It's only really Toner though isn't it?
I know Rodgers is as but I don't think he would have started anyway.
Personally, i'd like to see Forker in the team too
I personally think Div 1 is much stronger and Armagh's young players would benifit more playing there than in Div 2, this has to be Armagh's target for this weekend (at all costs) I know we need other teams to do us a favour but i think playing in Div 1 next year would be better than winning the Ulster U21's
However promotion to Div 1 is not entirely within our control, we need Laois or Meath to step up to the plate. Either way we need to be putting it up to Cork to have any prospects for the summer.
Will there be more Armagh people there than Corkonians?
Quote from: The GAA on April 10, 2009, 12:32:43 PM
Forker is not gutsy enough for it, he needs wing mirrors, bags of skill though
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 10, 2009, 02:11:17 PM
Quote from: The GAA on April 10, 2009, 12:32:43 PM
Forker is not gutsy enough for it, he needs wing mirrors, bags of skill though
Lacks the pace to be a top inter-county forward from what I've seen of him.
Quote from: bennydorano on April 10, 2009, 04:25:24 PM
If Forker lacks pace then the rest of Armagh forwards are snails. The few times I have seen him play he looked strong, quick and very skillful.
It might be worth giving the lad a chance before writing him off as yellow or slow.
Quote from: armaghniac on April 10, 2009, 01:57:02 PM
However promotion to Div 1 is not entirely within our control, we need Laois or Meath to step up to the plate. Either way we need to be putting it up to Cork to have any prospects for the summer.
Will there be more Armagh people there than Corkonians?
with Cork having a chance of promotion I'd expect a decent turn out from the home support.
I wouldn't expect a big Cork crowd to be honest though in fairness the Cork footballing heartland is in west Cork so they have a bit further to travel than most other home supporters. In saying that their support is a disgrace and they really should start making an effort as they have a fine team on their hands. They are big strong and have plenty of scoring forwards, if they can bring through some of their most talented players from the recent U21 sides expect Cork to start dominating the footballing scene.
Munster rugby match and Mallow races on same day. Pairc Ui rinn is a much better venue for a small crowd.
Lads is there still no team news yet for tomorrow's game?
Quote from: HalfFitHalfBack on April 10, 2009, 07:44:27 PM
If Forker lacks pace then the rest of Armagh forwards are snails. The few times I have seen him play he looked strong, quick and very skillful.
It might be worth giving the lad a chance before writing him off as yellow or slow.
Might be worth winding your neck in.
Quote from: bennydorano on April 11, 2009, 05:08:32 PM
Quote from: HalfFitHalfBack on April 10, 2009, 07:44:27 PM
Might be worth winding your neck in.
:D :D :D :D
any links for todays game?
Don't know, but I hope FiveFM is carrying it--but more likely they'll carry the Down game.
its the game on TG4?
Delayed coverage, according to Donagh.
Anyone have the team?
Team started
Hearty
Mallon
Donaghy
Shannon
Kernan
McKeever
McClelland
Lavery
Vernon
T Kernan
A O'Rourke
B Mallon
McDonnell
Feeney
Clarke
Looked like a very flat performance on the tv. Awful in fact. Don't think they got more than 3 or 4 scores from play. Seemed really poor throughout the field. Cork cut through at will. Clarke couldn't get into the game at all and few of the forwards provided any threat. Anything like that level of performance against Tyrone and we'll be embarassed.
That was awful today, as bad as Ive ever seen an Armagh team. Hard to know what system Armagh were supposed to be playing as they were shambolic. I thought Vernon did ok mind. In defense though I dont think Armagh were ever closer than 3 yards to there men who were able to score at will.
going to stick a few quid on cork. they are ready for it now in my view- genuine contenders.
Feking shite. And to think I had a bonus on Armagh in the spreads
I think with the team and the performance today told the tale of our ambition for promotion.
We should have been beaten by at least 20 points today if Cork had taken their scores.
I'm afraid that headless chicken performance comes from management. Totally inept. More shape to a beanbag. In saying that even where management had no hand i.e. when men were one-on-one with their opponent there was worrying signs. Donaghy was beaten for pace quite often and that is one of his strong points. What would Sean Cavanagh make of that in May? Brian Mallon despite his two points was ineffective, and I single him out only because it is a trend. Joe Feeny won't cut it in the Summer, but this is only his first year. Hearty was responsible for a number of points though he did make a brave stop. Is Paul Kernan injured?
We simply don't have the forwards (although Henderson should have gotten much longer). Never thought Id hear myself say it, but MOR is a vital part of the team. Can Toal not be persuaded to come back?
Charlie tried hard all day and was the pick and I thought Tony Kernan had a good first half.
Cork should have won by 20.
Despair.
I kinda thought all performances were shocking today, bar T.Kernan, C.McKeever and C.Vernon.
Back 6 were woefull. When I seen the team on tg4, I thought they had made a mistake with A.O'Rourke named at CHF.
Unfortunately it was not a mistake..........
If in county Armagh, if we have to play a 20 stone, well past his best, cetre half back at centre half forward, then I don't know!
Disappinted not to see McEvoy between the posts, thought he has done more than enough to make the jersey his own.
Hearty put 3 over the side line, and gifted 3 points by inconsitent kickouts, average day at the office for him!
Clarke looked injured, why did K.O'Rourke or R.Henderson not start in the corner?
agree with whats been said, so disappointing to see such a lack of ambition. Hearty was a mess and the whole time lacked structure.
Quote from: Benny Barnaveld on April 12, 2009, 08:37:13 PM
I kinda thought all performances were shocking today, bar T.Kernan, C.McKeever and C.Vernon.
Back 6 were woefull. When I seen the team on tg4, I thought they had made a mistake with A.O'Rourke named at CHF.
If in county Armagh, if we have to play a 20 stone, well past his best, cetre half back at centre half forward, then I don't know!
Disappinted not to see McEvoy between the posts, thought he has done more than enough to make the jersey his own.
Hearty put 3 over the side line, and gifted 3 points by inconsitent kickouts, average day at the office for him!
Clarke looked injured, why did K.O'Rourke or R.Henderson not start in the corner?
k o rourke,mc cellend,feeney, jus not good enough jp donnelly was poor..Would like to have see mc Evoy start i think he's the best keeper we have!
should have stayed at home..dont think shannon can man make either was poor also..
I think gents we have to look at the bigger picture.
Look at the players who we have lost in recent years;
McGrane, McKeever, Bellew, McNulty, McEntee x 2, Marsden, McConville etc, S.McCDonnell is a shadow of his former self
Players like these don't come acround very often. Who have we to replace them?
We just should have won more when we had these players.
Now we have a pretty average bunch in comparison. Harte has proven he can win AI with average players, but I don't think McDonnell can.
20 stone?? Be serious...
Was that a pre-championship wake up call or what?
Number of things stood out today in my eyes...
1. How much did we miss MOR? Bigtime...I have been critical of him on many occasions but to be honest i now feel that he is one of our most important players.
2. A number of those who started today are jus simply not good enuf......McClelland / AOR lacked serious pace...Feeney / Lavery Just not good enuf
3. Hearty in my eyes now is def not 1st choice...one good save 2day but his distribution of kickouts is not in the same league as Philly...
4. Vernon countinues to impress and jus hope he can carry this form into the championship.
5. Of the rest TK was prob one of the better players on show for us 2day...I'd imagine he will be a championship starter and our free kick taker.
6. From a managment point of view I am disspaointed that Peter has not given PK, McKenna (Mayb is carrying an Injury) some game time...
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 12, 2009, 09:43:10 PM
20 stone?? Be serious...
Lol. Okay maybe not 20. But he is certainly not as mobile and fit as he outta be.
An All Ireland winner for your county vy the way so show a bit of respect.
Did not see the game but heard the same that was said on here. Heraty's kickouts poor, back line bar McKeever skint to a man, Vernon only man who looked interested.
Just as our good win in Kildare did not make us the ones to beat again, this one should not rule us out either. It is our Navan from last year.
It was a poor performace alright and there a few lads on the team can now not be considered for our championship team. James Lavery is a cart horse with no pace whatsoever, i don't like singeling out anyone as they were all terrible with only C Vernon coming out slightly on top...It's gonna be a short summer lads
Only watched it on TV in a pub myself, so missed bits and pieces. Was a bit taken aback with that lineout, AOR at CHF? surely we are not that badly stuck for forwards? The lineout sent out a message that we dont give a shite if we win this game or not and that was reflected in the team's performances. Thought McKeever, Mallon and especially Vernon did well.
Hearty should not start come championship, the big hit and hope hoof into MF isn't going to do for us at the minute, McEvoy has shown far more versatility with his placed kick outs.
Plenty to work on, and situation with the forwards looks worrying.
Quote from: corn02 on April 13, 2009, 09:07:47 AM
Did not see the game but heard the same that was said on here. Heraty's kickouts poor, back line bar McKeever skint to a man, Vernon only man who looked interested.
Just as our good win in Kildare did not make us the ones to beat again, this one should not rule us out either. It is our Navan from last year.
Ok...............
Aidan has been a good player for us, in the past. I was pointing out that his fitness is not there at the moment.
I have respect for all players who are willing to give it a try, but I no longer think he is worth his place in team, whether he won 0 or 10 AI titles.
Quote from: Benny Barnaveld on April 13, 2009, 11:28:27 AM
Quote from: corn02 on April 13, 2009, 09:07:47 AM
Ok...............
Aidan has been a good player for us, in the past. I was pointing out that his fitness is not there at the moment.
I have respect for all players who are willing to give it a try, but I no longer think he is worth his place in team, whether he won 0 or 10 AI titles.
And that is a belief you are very much entitled too, I was not saying you should not be thinking that was just no need for the 20 stone comment.
Perhaps my wording was poorly chosen and meant in jest, I did not mean to suggest that he actually weighs 20 stone.
Nor did I intend to offend. So Aidan if you are reading, I apologise!
Quote from: Benny Barnaveld on April 13, 2009, 11:52:53 AM
Perhaps my wording was poorly chosen and meant in jest, I did not mean to suggest that he actually weighs 20 stone.
Nor did I intend to offend. So Aidan if you are reading, I apologise!
Apology accepted....I mean I'm sure he accepts.
Didn't get to the match yesterday and only just finished watching the TG4 coverage. As corn has said a bit of perspective is needed here. First of all, Cork are a serious team with a big chance later in the year, they have a lot of talent coming through. Secondly, we had several players who were WAY off the pace who will not be near the starting 15 come the 31st May. Lavery, McClelland and (sorry corn) AOR simply can't play against Tyrone. We only thought we got a cuffing yesterday, if we go out without pace and mobility against Tyrone.
Paul Hearty was back to his worst and McEvoy has to start in nets, when your midfield are getting stuffed you need accurate kickouts and that never was Hearty's strong point.
Why did McDonnell not put C McK onto Kerrigan who was doing most of the damage?
MOR was badly missed as Vernon fought a lone battle in the midfield sector and only for Charlie it would've been worse.
I still think Aidan will start at six against Tyrone.
Don't apologise Mackers, everyone entitled to their opinion.
Obviously I would like to see McEvoy in but if Hearty started yesterday I would imagine he will be in goals on May 31.
Today Irish Examiner says CIT Victory in Sigerson is beginning to show fruits. 4 of that team played yesterday with a few more on the Cork under 21 team as well. That CIT team got up at 6 in the morning to be at training for 7 and at lectures for 9. They have state of the art facilities out there.
Anyways
Now that the league is over, how many positives do we reckon we can take on into the Tyrone game?
Quote from: mackers on April 13, 2009, 01:35:01 PM
Secondly, we had several players who were WAY off the pace who will not be near the starting 15 come the 31st May. Lavery, McClelland and (sorry corn) AOR simply can't play against Tyrone. We only thought we got a cuffing yesterday, if we go out without pace and mobility against Tyrone.
Paul Hearty was back to his worst and McEvoy has to start in nets, when your midfield are getting stuffed you need accurate kickouts and that never was Hearty's strong point.
I'd agree with pretty much all of that mackers. Speed and mobility are key but apart from that we need to be able to trust our players to deal with their positions i.e. mark their men as defenders and use possession creatively in the forwards. This nonsense of the likes of Ciaran McKeever hvaing the sweep in front of perceived weak links will leave us completely hamstrung. I really want us to play with 6 forwards as if we sacrifice an attacking player completely, I simply don't think we'll get enough scores to win big championship matches.
One player I'm in two minds over in terms of starting in the championship is Tony Kernan. I'm not sure he contributes enough from player (though he got one fine score yesterday) but since th loss of Oisin we lack a long range free taking which is where TK excells. If he is able to score 2 or 3 long range frees or 45s per match, which would be outside Stevie's range then it may be worth starting him. Also interesting that Finn Mo didn't start yesterday. Was he injured? If not that's probably the first time he's been dropped by McDonnell.
I'd leaning towards a team somewhere along these lines;
McEvoy
A Mallon
B Donaghy
B Shannon
JP Donnelly / Paul Duffy (not a player McDonnell fanices it seems though)
C McKeever
F Moriarty
C Vernon
K Toner
M O'Rourke
S McDonnell
A Kernan
B Mallon
R Clarke
K O'Rourke
Brian Mallon to play slightly withdrawn from the full forwards and Marty O'Rourke to do with job he does best around the middle area i.e. winning possession. Alternatively (and possibly preferably) take Duffy / Donnelly out, put Aaron back to half back and start Tony Kernan. Its a real pity Henderson hasn't been able to kick out since the Wexford match but for whatever reason he doesn't seem to have been given enough game time in the second half of the league. Would certainly see him as a viable option coming on.
More good news >:( I see that McKenna is off for an AFL trial...
I suppose too there are few players that might have been in and around the team that did not get game time for one reason or another,
The likes of P.Kernan, P.McKeown, D McKenna etc interesting to see where they would have fitted in. I cant see the manager changing much from the sorta teams he has been picking.
Probable team McDonnell will pick
Hearty
Finn Mo Donaghy Mallon
C.McKeever A.O'Rourke A.Kernan
Toner Vernon
M O'Rourke Mallon McDonnell
S.Kernan Clarke K O'Rourke
what happened that Marty wasn't playing on sunday.
Who was marking Kerrigan yesterday?
Tony McClelland started on him, he was replaced by JP Donnelly who didn't fare much better.
Brian Mallon to play slightly withdrawn from the full forwards and Marty O'Rourke to do with job he does best around the middle area i.e. winning possession. Alternatively (and possibly preferably) take Duffy / Donnelly out, put Aaron back to half back and start Tony Kernan. Its a real pity Henderson hasn't been able to kick out since the Wexford match but for whatever reason he doesn't seem to have been given enough game time in the second half of the league. Would certainly see him as a viable option coming on.
That's effectively what we been doing for a number of years. It's not working and will deliver nothing on this year's showing. We need change, not this. Brian Mallon hasn't impressed since his injury. He'll drop deep and MOR will be sweeping back and same old same old blah blah. I can't take another year of watching that non-existant HF line, it's going to put me in Lookies! ;D I'd only have McDonnell in the HF line if we had players to pop the ball over the bar. We don't, so we need Stevie in there. Henderson can score but hasn't been given enough game time, for whatever reason. But he can take a score. Prescious commodity in the orchard. Peter, Benny Dennis can the Toal situ not be resolved? I know he didn't leave of his own accord, show your management strength and get him back; he offers something different.
Can JP Donnelly really cut it at this level? He was exposed against Cross last year and he is a liability temperament wise. His time has passed. Shannon has been OK, but to suggest he has been anything more than that would be an exageration, but perhaps he's the best we have? Paul McKeown/Paul Kernan were prob the only two to show anything on St Patrick's day and both did well on Vaughan and Davoren, a reasonable test to gauge their abilities at senior inter-county?
Fortune favours the brave, so experiment away until your heart's content, because we still don't appear to have any sort of settled system or team. If anyting we know less than ever. If in the last game of the League you decide, "I know, we'll put an aging CHB into CHF, that'l work." WTF, WTF. A player who has played all of his inter county career and the vast majority of his club football defending suddenly to be thrown in to a creative role. This isn't even hindsight. I haven't spoken to anyone who didn't think that that was a crazy decision even before the ball was thrown in.
Ronan Clarke around the middle. Was this lesson not learnt some time ago? Evidently not.
While I don't want the showings of one game to be blown out of proportion there was too much evidence that the 'line' hasn't got it. And that scares me as much as anything.
The team I'll not see agianst Tyrone:
McEvoy
Mallon Donaghy McKeown
P Kernan McKeever A Kernan
Toner Vernon
Toal (never to be seen again) MOR Forker/J Clarke
McDonnell Clarke KOR/Hendy
Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 13, 2009, 09:58:18 PM
That's effectively what we been doing for a number of years. It's not working and will deliver nothing on this year's showing. We need change, not this. Brian Mallon hasn't impressed since his injury. He'll drop deep and MOR will be sweeping back and same old same old blah blah. I can't take another year of watching that non-existant HF line, it's going to put me in Lookies! ;D
In fairness I didn't suggest that we retain the same system. Basically last year we dropped with at least 7 in defence and about 3 in midfield. I agree that doesn't work which is why I said that I'd like to us to play with 6 forwards. I don't really want to see Aidan O'Rourke starting because the consequence of that is that antoher player gets dropped back to cover for him. What I meant by a slightly withdrawn role for Brian mallon would be play him around the 40, leaving himself Aaron and Stevie playing as creative forces. Certainly I don't want him playing as deep as he has been. Brian Mallon's strength is getting the ball in the half forward line and running at defenders and/or distributing into the full forwards. I agree he hasn't been in the best of form but I still think he is a better option than the potential alternatives. Toal has had chances for Armagh this year and hasn't produced, on that basis alone, starting him against Tyrone is a non-starter. He needs to go away, get a year's club football behind him and hopefully come back next year in a better position to make a contribution. Whether that's something he will do, I have no idea.
Just home from a very enjoyable weekend in Cork. Its just a pity the match was the only blimp on the whole weekend, jaysus it was rubbish. Ive been running around after armagh for years and to say it was totally inept would be understatement.
I dont blame the players. Ive tried to avoid criticising the management setup but i dont see a single positive coming out of this years league. Does anyone know exactly what way we are trying to play? Some players seem to be just running around. And as for Aidan Orourke at centre half forward, is this what we've reosrted to?
McDonnell doesnt help his image with some of the muppets he has around him on the line. O'Kane and Hollywood seem to just walk about behind him scratching their heads, shouting the odd stupid instruction. And dont start me on that Spa they have carrying water, he seems to think at times hes the manager. We're rapidly becoming a laughing stock.
Im really worried about the match with our neighbours.
Quote from: border rabbit on April 13, 2009, 10:42:18 PM
Just home from a very enjoyable weekend in Cork. Its just a pity the match was the only blimp on the whole weekend, jaysus it was rubbish. Ive been running around after armagh for years and to say it was totally inept would be understatement.
I dont blame the players. Ive tried to avoid criticising the management setup but i dont see a single positive coming out of this years league. Does anyone know exactly what way we are trying to play? Some players seem to be just running around. And as for Aidan Orourke at centre half forward, is this what we've reosrted to?
McDonnell doesnt help his image with some of the muppets he has around him on the line. O'Kane and Hollywood seem to just walk about behind him scratching their heads, shouting the odd stupid instruction. And dont start me on that Spa they have carrying water, he seems to think at times hes the manager. We're rapidly becoming a laughing stock.
Who is the Armagh water-carrier?
The Harps or Mullabrack chaps may divulge his name, but to see him giving instuctions from the line is embarassing!
Cheers, TAM. My concern would be that we won't know how to play a different system without a change in personnel. The non-traditional HF line we've operated seems to be ingrained. The reason I suggest both Paul McKeown and P Kernan is that they are defenders first and foremost negating the need for continual cover. At least if we break a move down we would have players in the former no man's land HF line to receive the ball.
A tricky one indeed. We pretty much know that Tyrone will be a well drilled outfit, working hard to win back the ball when defending and attacking in supporting numbers when in pocession. A fear of this system makes me think McDonnell will continue to be very reserved and not play with 6 forwards in any formation.
Look at the great scores we have taken over the last few League seasons esp. the Dublin & Roscommon games last year. We played with an attacking abandon, that seemed natural and devoid of tactics because there was no need for any. Get the ball, give it qucikly to someone better placed and support. Sounds simple, but on those occasions they made it look simple by playing freely.
Is the modern game too tactical? Does it need to be over complicated? Wexford last year to me at least didn't need to have any plan to beat Armagh, we contributed to our own downfall by playing 'systems'. Westmeath didn'temploy any system of note in the game they nearly overtured Tyrone in this year.
Traditional positional football. Is there still a place for it?
I can apprecite your comments on Toal. And setting aside my club loyalties - I believe he's as talented aplayer about our club since Corvan - I know he can easily deliver at this level and so does McDonnell.
P.S. All the very best of luck to the U21s on Wednesday night.
Agree with this.
Vernon has been a big plus though.
I also thought Henderson in particular was going to bring omething to the table, but he has not really featured in the last few games.
In several of the matches, he was changed very early, even though there was no ball coming in. Which is not his fault
McDonnell does not seem to be able to get anything like the best out of his players.
And dont start me on that Spa they have carrying water, he seems to think at times hes the manager. We're rapidly becoming a laughing stock.
No pun intended, I'm sure. :o
Lol
Another point from Sunday.
I know Cork are a big team, but they physically dominated us.
Same with Meath, and Monaghan. The days of Armagh being as the rte commentators would call "a big physical team", appear to be waning.
Very poor performamce on sunday. Its been a long time since I have seen an Armagh team simply give up. The team was a shambles, physically inferior to Cork (Is it me or have we no big men in the county?) Cork chould have stuck over 20 points....
Midfield was wiped out, Vernon tried v hard but was completely over run. Its been a long time since I have seen Andy Mallon get a roasting like that, likewsie Donaghy, shannon, indeed all the backs..
Clarke looked disillusioned .... Mc Donnell looked like he was trying, but I think all the retirements has affected him....
To be fair to the manager, the team is in a period of transition & will be for the next few years... don't expect too much
God help us in the first round
Was at game. A lot of people there were remarking how big and strong Cork looked. Martin Carney on Today Fm said man for man they are probably the biggest team around. Ray Silke was at the Laois match and he walked through them while they warming up . He said he felt tiny himself in comparsion. The other thing people were remarking about was their speed. Miskella , O Neill , Cussen and Kavanagh were not playing at all . They are all pretty big as well
nothing to do with there performance against Armagh, but I really fancy Cork to make the AIF this year...