Armagh vs. Cork Sunday, April 12

Started by Oraisteach, March 29, 2009, 06:49:10 PM

There are still a few questionable positions that in theory should be up for grabs but i don't understand why anyone would suggest that P Toal or P Kernan should start against Tyrone.  The thought of Paul Kernan starting would give me sleepless nights.   Peadar Toal too, just hasn't earned his stripes yet. Lads need to get a few games under their belts with a few decent performances before we can start touting them up as starters. I don't really understand how Finian Moriarity hasn't been 'rested' or at least subbed by now. Strange one that.  This league he has been skinned game after game.   Shannon has done quite well and should be in with a shout.  Brendan Donaghy has to be in that backline somewhere. Up front, outside Clarke, McDonnell, MOR, KOR, there's really any 2 of 5 or 6 players who could come in there.  Vernon and Toner look the best midfield pairing, with a fit Paul McGrane to play a role (but not for a full 70 mins).

The thinking behind Paul Kernan was mobility, I wouldn't be throwing AOR on the scrap heap at all, just that if we're going to take Tyrone on we need a very mobile 15 on the pitch. I think he has improved dramatically since he got the run around against Cork in the u21 AI semi in Portlaoise and was one of the few Cross players to do themselves justice on Paddy's Day.
I know I'm reaching a bit with Peadar Toal but we badly need something the HF line and he is a very talented player, it's a pity his attitude doesn't match his talent. He was nowhere to be seen on Sunday last, has he gone AWOL or is he injured again?? The alternative seems to be SK who I would use as a sub when there are gaps to exploit with his passing, he simply won't win his own ball when things are frantic in the opening half of a match against Tyrone.

Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2009, 01:51:10 PM
PLEEEEAAAASE do us a favour good neighbours..  :D Looks like our Meath result may come back to haunt us..  ::)

You cheeky bollox.
Ye were lucky ye even got a point! >:(

The GAA

Team for cork with everyone available and with one eye on the bushes:

McEvoy

Mallon       Donaghy   P Kernan

McKeever  O'Rourke   Shannon

Toner          Vernon

A Kernan   O'Rourke   McKenna

McDonnell   Clarke       Mallon

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: Jinxy on March 31, 2009, 10:44:40 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2009, 01:51:10 PM
PLEEEEAAAASE do us a favour good neighbours..  :D Looks like our Meath result may come back to haunt us..  ::)

You cheeky bollox.
Ye were lucky ye even got a point! >:(

Jaysus relax Jinxy. In what part of my statement did you read that we were lucky or otherwise?? Calm down man..

Sorry other posters..

Quote from: The GAA on March 31, 2009, 02:22:45 PM

Team for cork with everyone available and with one eye on the bushes:

McEvoy

Mallon       Donaghy   P Kernan

McKeever  O'Rourke   Shannon

Toner          Vernon

A Kernan   O'Rourke   McKenna

McDonnell   Clarke       Mallon
maybe its just me but i wouldnt play aorwhilst he is a fine footballer( he lacks mobility ), my belief is that we should play cmck as centre half back,
with regard to pk and mc kenna does anyone know if any of the cross boys save for the kernans have joined the panel becauce once we have an idea as to who else is in the mix then we can start thinking about our championship team, with regard to mc grane would be seriously worried about his capabilities this summer his is still unable to train and we are only 9 weeks from the tyrone game

The GAA

I usually consider centre back a pivotal position requiring much more awareness and cuteness than wing back but i don't think that will be important against tyrone. their approach will make all 3 half back jobs the same i reckon. i still haven't seen o'rourke exposed for pace or mobility - bit like bellew - but even if that was a worry he could easily be matched u against a dooher, mcmahon or mellon.

McGrane is a worry. i have only heard rumours this far but the signs aren't great for him coming back in i believe

His final year (I presume) could end up like Oisin's. :-\

Quote from: mackers on March 31, 2009, 03:37:16 PM

In the bookies :D Sorry couldn't resist that.

Real1995

Team for cork. well acorrding to me anyway  :D

McEvoy

Mallon       Donaghy    P Kernan

AK          McKeever    Shannon

Toner          Vernon

O'Rourke     Mallon     McKenna

McDonnell   Clarke      Henderson / TK (Tough call)
Nice guys always finish second!

crossfire

Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:09:38 PM

NO.....Prompting Ballyhegan to a 20 point win over Clans.  ;D ;D

Quote from: crossfire on March 31, 2009, 08:52:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:09:38 PM

NO.....Prompting Ballyhegan to a 20 point win over Clans.  ;D ;D

Whats wrong with that... ??? Ballyhegan are an up and coming team and the Clans are on their way out so it's very possible...I take it you heard then!!!

Skiddybadoo

Has anyone been able to confirm whether P Toal is still on the panel, been training or injured?

Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 02, 2009, 10:29:22 PM
Has anyone been able to confirm whether P Toal is still on the panel, been training or injured?

Have you any reason to believe that he is no longer on the panel?

Quote from: AFS on April 02, 2009, 10:32:35 PM
Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 02, 2009, 10:29:22 PM

Have you any reason to believe that he is no longer on the panel?

He's injured (again).