If you were giving out All Stars at this stage, who would be shoo ins ?

Started by orangeman, August 11, 2008, 02:56:25 PM

Quote from: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 08:56:18 PM
Will Mc Grane get a nomination ?

Definitely has to. Him, Clarke and an outside chance of McDonnell. Clarke will have serious competition for the forward division though he is their best chance. If you take Donaghy, O'Sullivan, Brogan, Forde, Meehan, even possibly Sherlock, Keaney, Cooper, Masters, Joyce, Cavanagh, Bradley, young Murphy of Donegal, Freeman, Doyle, Cussens, etc etc - I'd imagine this weekend's game will cement a decision one way or the other on Cavanagh.

I think Clarke is a certainty to get one at this stage - he has carried Armagh through the Ulster c'ship !

Always going to be an argument but here's my tuppence worth. A few positions like full-back with no outstanding performer. All still to be won, about 5/6 shoo-ins out of that (O'Mahony/Ryan/Forde/Clarke/Meehan/Star)

1. Ronan Gallagher (Fermanagh)

2. Andrew McLoughlin (Kildare)
3. Francie Bellew (Armagh)
4. Dermot Duggan (Cork)

5. Anthony Lynch (Cork)
6. Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry)
7. Adrian Morrissey (Wexford)

8. Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
9. Shane Ryan (Dublin)

10. Redmond Barry (Wexford)
11. Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
12. Alan Brogan (Dublin)

13. Matty Forde (Wexford)
14. Ronan Clarke (Armagh)
15. Michael Meehan (Galway)

I cant believe how anyone would say with a straight face that Bellew is the best full back in Ireland at the minute. He is an average defender who always gives a 100%, thats it. Any time he has marked a top class forward with pace he has been found out. A half fit Forde destroyed him in the second half on Saturday. The tv cameras didnt even pick Francie up for the goal he was that far of Forde.

Forde was absolutely nowhere to be seen for an hour of that game. Francie misjudged one high ball then Forde hit two stunning points as Armagh foundered. He hasn't been brilliant but has looked more comfortable in that position than any other I've seen this year.
Who are his rivals at number 3? Tom O'Sullivan/Justin McMahon/Ross McConnell/Finnian Hanley/JP Mone/O'Neill of Kildare, Wexford had two defenders on Clarke and still couldn't stop him.
Do you need a person for every position or is it just any six top defenders? Wouldn't have him in if that's the case, but as has been seen for a few years now the game has very few good specialist full-backs at the minute.

I doubt Francie will be getting an All-Star this year to be honest.

JMohan

Quote from: ExiledGael on August 11, 2008, 09:46:43 PM
Always going to be an argument but here's my tuppence worth. A few positions like full-back with no outstanding performer. All still to be won, about 5/6 shoo-ins out of that (O'Mahony/Ryan/Forde/Clarke/Meehan/Star)

1. Ronan Gallagher (Fermanagh)

2. Andrew McLoughlin (Kildare)
3. Francie Bellew (Armagh)
4. Dermot Duggan (Cork)

5. Anthony Lynch (Cork)
6. Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry)
7. Adrian Morrissey (Wexford)

8. Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
9. Shane Ryan (Dublin)

10. Redmond Barry (Wexford)
11. Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
12. Alan Brogan (Dublin)

13. Matty Forde (Wexford)
14. Ronan Clarke (Armagh)
15. Michael Meehan (Galway)

Good list tho, I would probably give Dooher an All Star in stead of Donaghy on that list and McGrath at Midfield.

Though I think Francie was very good this year McCusker is still the years best Full-back IMO

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 11, 2008, 10:47:41 PM

So do I. Infact I really hope he doesn't. There's a good few matches to go, the most inflential in terms of All-Star selection, but at this stage, as the thread states, I see few alternatives.

Quote from: ExiledGael on August 11, 2008, 10:51:44 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 11, 2008, 10:47:41 PM

So do I. Infact I really hope he doesn't. There's a good few matches to go, the most inflential in terms of All-Star selection, but at this stage, as the thread states, I see few alternatives.

Didn't see enough of McCusker to judge but I would have Finian Hanley ahead of Bellew. Hanley went out after two great performances against Mayo and Kerry. Bellew went out after getting the run around in the final 30 minutes from a less than fully fit Mattie Forde.

In the end probably none of them will get it though as they'll probably give it to one of the semi-final full-backs although none of them have really stood out yet.

galwaybay - hanley ahead of bellew isn't an issue. its a no-brainer.

Bellew looks a good fullback when he is basically covered for by his half back line ensuring no space in front of him...anytime he is exposed against a good forward one on one (which is when a good defender copes) then he is in serious trouble....Forde was seriously unfit and still kicked 1-5 and won another few frees and yet people think Francie was good???

Cluxton/Gallagher
Henry  
Hanley
Keane
O'Se
O'Mahony
Cullen
Ryan
O'Se/Whelan (could be decided by who wins Sam)
Cavanagh
Doyle
Brogan
Forde
Donaghy
Meehan

Yes I Would

Shoo ins for me at this stage.

Finnian Hanley, Aidan O Mahony, Shane Ryan, Ronan Clarke, Sean Cavanagh.

10 positions still up for grabs, and you can be assured at least 7 or 8 of these will come from the finalists.

Admittedly haven't seen much of Hanley, Saturday being my first real look at him. Did well enough but Donaghy contributed a lot for Kerry assist wise.
Honestly don't think Doyle has been brilliant, but Kildare will probably get one, though I fancy one of the defenders for that.
Keane and any Derry player I would imagine, despite NFL success, have no chance due to their Championship fate.
Henry could be a good shout depending on here on in.
Tommy McGuigan is another in the wings still in the mix, him and Henry could be facing off for a nomination on Saturday

Quote from: Yes I Would on August 11, 2008, 11:07:53 PM
Shoo ins for me at this stage.

Finnian Hanley, Aidan O Mahony, Shane Ryan, Ronan Clarke, Sean Cavanagh.

10 positions still up for grabs, and you can be assured at least 7 or 8 of these will come from the finalists.

True a fella can have a great final after an average championship and get himself an All-Star.

hanley with no sweeper held the form footballer in the country at the moment very quiet by his standards. he also cleaned out the mayo lads in the connacht final, had a good league Francie with a massed defence conceded 1-4 from play on mattie forde a similar standard player to donaghy?
Its not an issue, i like francie funny enough but Hanley has been better this year.