All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

QuoteMayo have nothing to lose

Yeah nothing apart from All-Ireland final. Why people still use lines such as that and free shots,bonus territory etc when 70 minutes away from winning All-Ireland I'll never know.

This final reminds me of the 2022 final when the odds was similar,Kerry was just as confident and the lads from the west unsure if they would even be competitive.  It turned out to be a fine margin contest with debatable calls late on getting Kerry over the line.  Ryan O'Donoghue is well capable of matching Shane Walsh final display from 4 years ago. Curb his influence then it will be harder for Beirne,McDonald to have a big influence be interesting to see has Jack O'Connor and co have their homework done.

ClubScene13

I shouldn't let one man colour a whole county but David Brady and his nonsense in 2021 really put me off Mayo. His complete lack of respect for Tyrone and general attitude of we'll only have to turn up and roll these boys over was a farce. Tyrone had played better than Mayo did in the All Ireland semi finals in 2021 I am adamant about that

He is back this week in the Examiner I see - still painting a picture of Tyrone being some sort of no marks who miraculously turned them over. Absolutely bizzare. Anyway - I think I am just about over it - good luck to Mayo I hope this is the year, it would be special to see it - all the best

"It's not Kerry that has left their brand on Mayo but Tyrone", insists the Castlebar man. "The county is still scarred from Tyrone in '21. It's not the same county – I wouldn't be saying it too loud – and it's not the same supporter base either."

"We can say we're the same but that final defeat knocked back the players and the county a long step. Because of that, I definitely feel this team has to just be in a final and then use that experience."

DaleCooper

Brady has always been a mouthy bollix but part of the charm of the Mayo folk. Brady fancied himself a hard man and was annoyed by priors with Tyrone.

They get carried away and big themselves up only to fall on their face. I do be worried for them with some of the chat from veterans around them, I am sure Andy will have them primed.

Always felt Mayo too nice, or self regarding. Kerry will test that.

JollyGreenGiant

I'm not entirely sure convinced this won't be another 2004 or 2006. Even when Kerry have looked under the cosh, they have not necessarily looked like losing games. Mayo on the other hand have lost to both Roscommon and Tyrone. They also beat a Louth team in the semi who lost to a poor (at the time) Dublin team quite heavily.

I wish them luck here, but Kerry have been preparing for this all season and no team has really been able to match them.

From journalist Jack Madden

Since 2000 teens that have played In the senior football All-Ireland final.

2000 - Joe Bergin
2002 - Colm Cooper & Ronan Clarke
2005 - Darran O'Sullivan
2010 - Ciaran Sheehan
2012 - Paddy McBrearty
2013 - Jack McCaffrey
2014 - Darrach O'Connor
2025 - Finnbarr Roarty

AustinPowers

Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on July 24, 2026, 04:41:47 PMI'm not entirely sure convinced this won't be another 2004 or 2006. Even when Kerry have looked under the cosh, they have not necessarily looked like losing games. Mayo on the other hand have lost to both Roscommon and Tyrone. They also beat a Louth team in the semi who lost to a poor (at the time) Dublin team quite heavily.

I wish them luck here, but Kerry have been preparing for this all season and no team has really been able to match them.

Yeah  I have that feeling too.

Mayo usually  seem to perform well in QFs and semis , beating defending champions, putting in huge performances to then  go and lose the final ,  usually in spectacular circumstances. Such as giving away a silly penalty (Hennelly), stupid sending off (Vaughan),  missing penalties (RO'D) and easy frees (AOS), or  giving away  soft goals  especially when they're on top .

I sense a big  Kerry victory without them really hitting  top form. I really hope I'm wrong,  but I  have cheered on Mayo in  countless finals in the past  only to be disappointed (God knows how their own   fans feel), and I'm not sure  if I can muster up enough energy  to go again. 

Look-Up!

You'd have to fancy Kerry but wouldn't write Mayo off. The way I look at it, all bets are off as to where previous results earlier in the championship stand. Sometimes a team can look out of place and you just know or sometimes a team can struggle initially but really grow into a competition and find their feet. Mayo have a hint of that at the moment. Haven't grown their beards out like Tyrone in 08 or anything like that, but they've definitely grown in stature for me of late. Nice balance to them too and if they can show half the fight of previous Mayo teams, they've got a few more strings to their bow in hurting a top opponent where it counts.

You just never know.

Quote from: DaleCooper on July 24, 2026, 04:32:39 PMBrady has always been a mouthy bollix but part of the charm of the Mayo folk. Brady fancied himself a hard man and was annoyed by priors with Tyrone.

They get carried away and big themselves up only to fall on their face. I do be worried for them with some of the chat from veterans around them, I am sure Andy will have them primed.

Always felt Mayo too nice, or self regarding. Kerry will test that.

Nobody in Mayo listens to a word David Brady says, he's not in any Mayo papers or podcasts (of which there are several) because everyone knows he's a loudmouth bullshitter.
But having said that, he's probably good ould craic!

SouthDublinBro

McNally as ref for the final? Surely there were better options there.

I think its always a bit pointless talking about past Finals.

Mayo are so young they dont have real battle scars so it's not an issue.

Also parking back to older teams, Mayo were up against that awesome Dublin team who would beat the current Kerry side 9 times out of 10.

Brady was a fair decent footballee, remember Mayo putting him on Donaghy all too late one day at full bck.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on Today at 01:27:46 AMBrady was a fair decent footballee, remember Mayo putting him on Donaghy all too late one day at full bck.

Yeah that was 06, he said afterwards he was "sent in to look for survivors".

A good line in fairness!

Quote from: Gael85 on July 24, 2026, 03:12:40 PMWould expect Kerry to win this well. Mayo teams always wilt against Kerry in a final. Mayo team 1-9 no where near level of team last decade. Like Limerick last week Kerry will go after Mayo on the kickout and when in possession in own half. Mayo have avoid same mistakes as Galway did when in possession.

Paul Geaney could have speech written by time enters the field. Will he give speech in Irish or English?

Mayo haven't played against Kerry in a final in 20 years

DaleCooper

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 01:02:41 AMI think its always a bit pointless talking about past Finals.

Also parking back to older teams, Mayo were up against that awesome Dublin team who would beat the current Kerry side 9 times out of 10.

Yup absolute manure.

It all comes down to the young lads meeting the challenge. I think andy has to put all his chips on table in first half tbh, blitzkrieg from the get go. Look at how Kerry killed Donegal last year.

Its a coolish day so Kerry will be playing at higher tempo as well.

Bradys Off the Ball Live appearance is essential viewing, he is a good sport.

Quote from: DaleCooper on Today at 10:33:50 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 01:02:41 AMI think its always a bit pointless talking about past Finals.

Yup absolute manure.

It all comes down to the young lads meeting the challenge. I think andy has to put all his chips on table in first half tbh, blitzkrieg from the get go. Look at how Kerry killed Donegal last year.

Its a coolish day so Kerry will be playing at higher tempo as well.

Bradys Off the Ball Live appearance is essential viewing, he is a good sport.
Almost 0 chance Mayo come out and blitz Kerry like that but even if they do go into a lead early you'd imagine Kerry have enough experience and calm heads there to get back into it. Really hope it isn't Kerry who blitz Mayo early